View Full Version : Most entertaining Hibs game you've seen
11-02-2024, 12:12 PM
Yesterday at Inverness was a properly enjoyable day, from the much improved performance on the park, to the joyous atmosphere in the hibs end. It made me realise how few truly enjoyable days there have been over the last few years where going to the game has really been a bit of a chore a lot of the time. Football should be entertaining and when you get a really good game it can leave you on a high and smiling for days.
What games involving hibs can you think of that that you walked out feeling rejuvenated and lucky to have witnessed it, win lose or draw?
Obvious contenders for me would be the 6-6 at motherwell (after the rage wore off I could appreciate it for what it was) and the 5-5 against Rangers. Probably also the 6-2 against hearts for the sheer quality of our play that night and some stupendous goals.
darwenhibby
11-02-2024, 12:14 PM
4-3 Scottish cup v celtc 1986
It had everything
Hibeesdaft16
11-02-2024, 12:18 PM
Lenny aeroplane game was mad. 4-4 at their bit was totally gutting in the pissing rain. Grant Brebner perfect hat trick game Tannadice in the cup, two up cruising then 2-2 and the winner was amazing also.
The stand out for some reason was 3-3 v the huns when Boozy played sweeper under JC. Sure Kevin McCann scored a complete peach that day. The football on show from both teams was outstanding.
snedzuk
11-02-2024, 12:20 PM
6-1 Sporting Lisbon. Whenever Im asked about my favourite game, I always pick that one (even after 2016).
May21/05/216
11-02-2024, 12:22 PM
0 7
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
11-02-2024, 12:28 PM
A game that always sticks in my mind outside of the obvious was a 3-3 draw v St Mirren at ER in horrendous conditions when Gordon Hunter and Torfasson scored a couple of brilliant goals.
The first two away games of the 1987 season resulted in 3-3 draws with Mickey Weir being imperious in the summer sunshine prior to his transfer down south.
darwenhibby
11-02-2024, 12:31 PM
A game that always sticks in my mind outside of the obvious was a 3-3 draw v St Mirren at ER in horrendous conditions when Gordon Hunter and Torfasson scored a couple of brilliant goals.
Was it no 4-3 hibs
Evans last minute
We were 3-1 down at one point
Hibeesdaft16
11-02-2024, 12:33 PM
We drew 3-3 or 4-4 at home to Aberdeen just after the new West was built also midweek that was a great game. De La Cruz had his best attacking game for us and his worst defensive game.
11-02-2024, 12:34 PM
The 6-1 at Motherwell was the most enjoyable 90 minutes I've had watching Hibs, when you genuinely felt we were levels above. 3-0 at Ibrox in the cup also up there.
The 2-2 Celtic game in 2006, 2-0 up then blew it, was the best standard of football over both sides I've seen in a Scottish game.
Random one, seeing how Aberdeen plodded along yesterday, was the 8-1 Bonnyrigg game. We were incredibly lucky to get to win the cup then immediately a risk-free chance to lord it at Tynecastle in our first game as holders. Great day.
Hibs3-2
11-02-2024, 12:37 PM
4-2 away to killie in scottish cup. 2013 i think. Griffiths hatrick
11-02-2024, 12:39 PM
5-3 against Kilmarnock was class, some great goals and always felt like we were going to win despite Killie almost clawing it back a couple times
HendoDelivered
11-02-2024, 12:40 PM
Hibs 5-5 Rangers
11-02-2024, 12:41 PM
5-3 against Kilmarnock was class, some great goals and always felt like we were going to win despite Killie almost clawing it back a couple times
Was just about to mention that one too.
DIXIHIBS
11-02-2024, 12:42 PM
Mid 80s we put Celtic out both cups. 4-3 in the Scottish and a win on penalties after 4-4 draw in league cup. 2 cracking games and loads a goals.
11-02-2024, 12:47 PM
Was it no 4-3 hibs
Evans last minute
We were 3-1 down at one point
Looks like it probably was that game, didn't remember it that well, looks like Torfasson never scored either. 🤭
berwickhibee
11-02-2024, 12:58 PM
3-3 at Dunfermline, first game of the season.
Beautiful day, crowd about 18,000😲💚
Late 80s
11-02-2024, 01:02 PM
Late 80s
So hot the paint on the crush barriers melted/blisterd after obviously just being painted. Ruined a perfectly good catalogue jumper that day 😂
11-02-2024, 01:04 PM
5-3 v Kilmarnock under Lennon. What a game. Two teams that were flying going at each other.
Mid 80s we put Celtic out both cups. 4-3 in the Scottish and a win on penalties after 4-4 draw in league cup. 2 cracking games and loads a goals.Two teams going all out, toe toe to toe. Rip snorters.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Cardinal G
11-02-2024, 01:13 PM
It had everything
Aye good shout it was a cracker, mind the 4 to 4 league cup game in the same season I think was also a belta
11-02-2024, 01:26 PM
Two teams going all out, toe toe to toe. Rip snorters.
On first reading I was trying to remember a late player with the nickname "snorters" 😂
On first reading I was trying to remember a late player with the nickname "snorters" [emoji23]Aye, god bless 'um. [emoji846]
Loads of games to choose from over the years, for different reasons, but one of my favourites is our win against the Huns in Souness's first game.
A great game that had everything in it, blood and snotters, goals, red cards and the end result being 3 points against that lot.
11-02-2024, 02:20 PM
Hibs 4-3 Falkirk.
11-02-2024, 02:29 PM
Hibs 4 v 3 Celtic
11-02-2024, 02:31 PM
5-5 v Huns, an unbelievable game and at 3-0 it’s the second most elated I’ve been watching Hibs after the Scottish cup. I genuinely thought we were going to turn them over and bag the goals we needed.
Donegal Hibby
11-02-2024, 02:34 PM
6-2 hertz game :thumbsup:
Septimus
11-02-2024, 02:34 PM
Seven at a wee ground in West Edinburgh springs to mind but an away game against Dunfermline in which Gordon Smith ran through them like butter probably inspired me more. No idea of the score or the date. I suppose I was sixteen or so.
11-02-2024, 02:37 PM
We drew 3-3 or 4-4 at home to Aberdeen just after the new West was built also midweek that was a great game. De La Cruz had his best attacking game for us and his worst defensive game.
We got beat 4-3 that night, Sauzee was manager for us, Skovdahl for Aberdeen - the latter said it was like watching two boxers who couldn’t defend themselves.
11-02-2024, 02:41 PM
Hibs 4 Dundee 4
Donegal Hibby
11-02-2024, 02:42 PM
My dad's was at Dunfermline , 6-5 to Hibs .
11-02-2024, 02:42 PM
Some really good shouts so far. I’d also add a 2-2 draw at home to Motherwell around 1994/95 when Michael O’Neill scored THAT volley (which I think was described incorrectly in Trainspotting).
Jim Leighton also had an amazing save from a Steve Kirk free kick in injury time. Two cracking teams going for it.
My Dad and Brother were in hospitality that day, and the referee said afterwards that it was the best game he’d ever officiated.
11-02-2024, 02:46 PM
Late 80s
My first ever away game, in 1987. Great day out in scorching heat.
Crazy start to that season - we drew our first two away games 3-3 (second was away to Morton) and sandwiched in between were two home games: a 1-0 win over Rangers and a 4-0 defeat to Dundee (where I think they were four up at HT). Wright and Coyne destroyed us that day, IIRC.
Hibeesdaft16
11-02-2024, 02:49 PM
Hibs 4 Dundee 4
Should have been 5-4 that day, still annoys me "that" volley was given offside :grr:
11-02-2024, 02:51 PM
Jim Leighton saving 3 pens in the shoot out against Partick Thistle in the league Cup after drawing the game 2-2.
Pretty sure we thumped them 5-1 at Easter Rd around about that time too.
11-02-2024, 02:53 PM
6-1 Sporting Lisbon. Whenever Im asked about my favourite game, I always pick that one (even after 2016).
This...
HibbyDave
11-02-2024, 03:17 PM
Hibs 5 Celtic 3 Drybrough cup finall.
After leading 3-0 they got back to 3-3 but we scored twice in extra time.
Gotta say that 90 mins time up came at the right time for us. A chance to regroup and sort out the players heads!
11-02-2024, 03:28 PM
Surprised the Scottish Cup Final hasn’t had a mention.
It was obviously unbelievable for a variety of reasons but the game itself was the best final in recent memory.
Hibeesdaft16
11-02-2024, 03:31 PM
Surprised the Scottish Cup Final hasn’t had a mention.
It was obviously unbelievable for a variety of reasons but the game itself was the best final in recent memory.
I think it's the ultimate obvious answer for any of us that were there or watched. :agree:
11-02-2024, 03:37 PM
My first ever away game, in 1987. Great day out in scorching heat.
Crazy start to that season - we drew our first two away games 3-3 (second was away to Morton) and sandwiched in between were two home games: a 1-0 win over Rangers and a 4-0 defeat to Dundee (where I think they were four up at HT). Wright and Coyne destroyed us that day, IIRC.
I mentioned those 2 away games earlier, cracking entertainment.
MikeyS
11-02-2024, 03:38 PM
Hibs v Dundee when we had Agathe playing. They had started the season really well with juan Sara, Nemsadze, Caballero etc and we destroyed them.
Hibeesdaft16
11-02-2024, 03:39 PM
Hibs v Dundee when we had Agathe playing. They had started the season really well with juan Sara, Nemsadze, Caballero etc and we destroyed them.
Caballero scored a peach for them to go 1-0 up, get game though.
MikeyS
11-02-2024, 03:41 PM
Caballero scored a peach for them to go 1-0 up, get game though.
He got sent off for punching Matty Jack too! The game had everything.
11-02-2024, 03:51 PM
Yup, that era of Dundee team were great to play against. Had some great players, couldn't defend for **** and usually got a man sent off.
Motherwell also, we had a season early 00's where I think 3 out of the 4 games were 2-2 draws.
andrew_dundee
11-02-2024, 03:59 PM
League Cup final win under Collins was a cracker.
seanshow
11-02-2024, 04:05 PM
League Cup final win under Collins was a cracker.
Another under Collins as mentioned above @ Motherwell, I always remember the 1-6 win over them rather than the 6-6 draw.
I wonder why :)
sproule and boozy were fantastic during that victory.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6157774.stm
11-02-2024, 04:11 PM
Yup, that era of Dundee team were great to play against. Had some great players, couldn't defend for **** and usually got a man sent off.
Motherwell also, we had a season early 00's where I think 3 out of the 4 games were 2-2 draws.
Think Dundee at one point had a front pairing of Claudio Cannigia and Willie Falconer!
11-02-2024, 04:13 PM
Another under Collins as mentioned above @ Motherwell, I always remember the 1-6 win over them rather than the 6-6 draw.
I wonder why :)
sproule and boozy were fantastic during that victory.
I stayed in the pub in Motherwell that day but, at least I had a 10er ew on Scott Brown @ 14s for first scorer.
11-02-2024, 04:15 PM
It had everything
Great game as was 4-4 league Cup game.
6-2 versus mutants was best in terms of football played that night
LewysGot2
11-02-2024, 04:27 PM
Most of the best atmospheres have been away from home over the last decade or so.
I think the last 10 minutes of the 2-2 at The Bus Shelter in 2016 has to be right up there. I honestly couldn't sleep that night and the SJM song was in my napper for days.
Ibrox away straight after we won the cup, where they were looking for blood and we went behind - absolutely white noise at that point - but then we turn things round and have them spitting blood by the end.
Obviously, Villa away - not in any sense of both the above but definitely in terms of the party atmosphere.
ChilliEater
11-02-2024, 05:01 PM
Mine would be that 4-4 draw and penalty shoot out win against Celtic in the 1985 Skol cup win. The 4-3 win against them later that season in the Scottish would be a close second.
11-02-2024, 05:10 PM
Most of the best atmospheres have been away from home over the last decade or so.
I think the last 10 minutes of the 2-2 at The Bus Shelter in 2016 has to be right up there. I honestly couldn't sleep that night and the SJM song was in my napper for days.
Ibrox away straight after we won the cup, where they were looking for blood and we went behind - absolutely white noise at that point - but then we turn things round and have them spitting blood by the end.
Obviously, Villa away - not in any sense of both the above but definitely in terms of the party atmosphere.
The opening 10 minutes of that game at Ibrox was probably the loudest noise I’ve ever heard at a game of football. They were absolutely crazed, they’d clearly not forgotten the cup final. Their players got totally caught up in it.
11-02-2024, 05:14 PM
Mid 80s we put Celtic out both cups. 4-3 in the Scottish and a win on penalties after 4-4 draw in league cup. 2 cracking games and loads a goals.
One of my first footballing memories is that league cup game, pretty sure it was Pearse O’Learly that ballooned his penalty over the bar for us to win🤔
11-02-2024, 05:16 PM
Cup game away to Ibrox was a special day out, not the Ivan hatrick game…..the other one🤔😂
Greensunshine
11-02-2024, 05:23 PM
6-2 against them at Easter Road.
it shoulda could a been a lot more but wee Russell’s sublime volley was the cherry on top!
3-2 Rangers Scottish cup Final 2016
Never to be beaten.
MikeyS
11-02-2024, 05:24 PM
Steele it shoulda could a been a lot more but wee Russell’s sublime volley was the cherry on top!
Never to be beaten.
Anti Niemi was different class that night.
Greensunshine
11-02-2024, 05:35 PM
Anti Niemi was different class that night.
I was genuinely gutted we allowed them to score two goals that night.
Hibeesdaft16
11-02-2024, 05:40 PM
League Cup Semi against the huns was an extremely entertaining game that had a bit of everything including penalty saves in normal time and of course the shoot out and a win for the good guys. :flag:
LewysGot2
11-02-2024, 05:58 PM
The opening 10 minutes of that game at Ibrox was probably the loudest noise I’ve ever heard at a game of football. They were absolutely crazed clearly not forgotten the cup final. Their players got totally caught up in it.
It was a mental game. Shattered after it. The 800 Hibernian Spartans who braved that first quarter of an hour will never forget it. I honestly could not hear myself think and yet i could hear my heart beat - as the adrenalin was firing it up.
The banner in our end probably helped things along 🤣
11-02-2024, 06:10 PM
Hibs v Barcelona 1961 …… my go to game for thrills and spills.?
andyf5
11-02-2024, 08:01 PM
Hibs v Barcelona 1961 …… my go to game for thrills and spills.?
I saw the programme in the Nou Camp museum. Obviously memorable for them. Link here
https://photos.app.goo.gl/yrbTqmezPd8PUS9y5
11-02-2024, 08:03 PM
it shoulda could a been a lot more but wee Russell’s sublime volley was the cherry on top!
Never to be beaten.
Found this about the 6-2 game and was surprised to see the attendance was just under 13k
https://thehiblog.wordpress.com/2018/05/03/hibs-6-2-hearts-22-october-2000/
11-02-2024, 08:15 PM
2 cup wins against Celtic in 85 / 86 already mentioned here .
2 home games against Dundee United , a 3 v 3 including a Brian Rice volley into Cave end which was one of goals of season and a 3 v 2 win with a Gareth Evans hattrick .
Surprised noone`s mentioned 4 v 3 cup semi v Falkirk in 2013 .
In Europe 6 v 1 v Sporting and 5 minutes v Juventus when we went ahead briefly before losing 2 v 4 . 4 v 2 v Hadjuk Split was entertaining too .
Bakerman
11-02-2024, 08:17 PM
For pure tension, thrills, atmosphere, and sensational outcome - it simply has to be 21/05/2016. It was for me easily the most entertaining match I've ever been to. I feel lucky that I was there. An amazing experience.
11-02-2024, 08:20 PM
For pure tension, thrills, atmosphere, and sensational outcome - it simply has to be 21/05/2016. It was for me easily the most entertaining match I've ever been to. I feel lucky that I was there. An amazing experience.
I think I was too busy biting my nails for most of it to really enjoy the entertainment!
11-02-2024, 08:25 PM
My dad's was at Dunfermline , 6-5 to Hibs .
Also mine, though I'm not him.
Runner up 5-0 v Napoli. Bobby Duncan scored from St Clair Street.
11-02-2024, 08:27 PM
Found this about the 6-2 game and was surprised to see the attendance was just under 13k
Capacity of ER was about 17k then. It was played at 6pm on a Sunday because of Sky’s weird schedule and the Jambos were “boycotting” because they knew they’d get beat. :wink:
Also I think we were still reporting attendance as folk actually turning up in those days.
11-02-2024, 08:33 PM
Capacity of ER was about 17k then. It was played at 6pm on a Sunday because of Sky’s weird schedule and the Jambos were “boycotting” because they knew they’d get beat. :wink:
Also I think we were still reporting attendance as folk actually turning up in those days.
You know what, I'm still annoyed we gave them that late consolation goal. Scoring two that night gave them far more dignity than their performance deserved!
11-02-2024, 08:38 PM
I saw the programme in the Nou Camp museum. Obviously memorable for them. Link here
https://photos.app.goo.gl/yrbTqmezPd8PUS9y5
Even more memorable for us, andyf5. The hero for us was Bobby Kinloch. My dad kind of knew him, as a relation of his, stayed round the corner from us in Graham Street, Leith. I lived in Pitt street. For me, Bobby was a legend for his part in this game. A bit about him here, in his obituary.
https://www.scotsman.com/news/obituaries/obituary-bobby-kinloch-hibernian-footballer-1527758
11-02-2024, 08:42 PM
Hearts 0 v Hibs 7
Who could ask for more?
Well, we did sing ‘we want ten’ but we were just being greedy.
11-02-2024, 08:52 PM
The 4-3 game against Falkirk has to be up there for me
vuefrom1875
11-02-2024, 09:25 PM
0 7
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Zero- 7....
11-02-2024, 09:28 PM
Souness's debut at ER, AEK Athens, 6-2.
Bakerman
11-02-2024, 09:30 PM
Hearts 0 v Hibs 7
Who could ask for more?
Just before my time, but my older family were all there. A scoreline that will probably never be seen again, especially when it was at their home ground. Doesn't get any better than that. Beautiful.
12-02-2024, 01:51 AM
Dunfermline 5 Hibs 6
The classic.
12-02-2024, 02:03 AM
The 4-3 game against Falkirk has to be up there for me
Might have to have a seperate thread for most entertaining half, certainly didn't enjoy the first half.....:greengrin
expresso
12-02-2024, 10:50 AM
9-2 V St Johnstone 1976?
Travelled over from Belfast and my uncle took me through from Glasgow on the train.
Had 2 pies in Waverley afterwards was on such a high.
linlithgowhibbie
12-02-2024, 11:04 AM
One game not mentioned yet which had football of the highest standard was the 0-0 draw at Elland Road where we totally bossed the best team Leeds have ever had. Performance and crowd were absolutely immense, only for Tony Higgins our 6'3" centre forward to miss an absolute easy header near the end denying us what would have been a well deserved victory.
(PS early 70s)
12-02-2024, 11:30 AM
One game not mentioned yet which had football of the highest standard was the 0-0 draw at Elland Road where we totally bossed the best team Leeds have ever had. Performance and crowd were absolutely immense, only for Tony Higgins our 6'3" centre forward to miss an absolute easy header near the end denying us what would have been a well deserved victory.
(PS early 70s)
Another in a very long list of 'if only's
12-02-2024, 11:39 AM
The 6-6 at Fir Park. Just mental, and not in a good way for us. Only Hibs could have done that.
big gogs
12-02-2024, 11:54 AM
If memory serves,the hearts end was quite empty at the start of the game.
big gogs
12-02-2024, 11:58 AM
Hearts 0 v Hibs 7
Who could ask for more?
One of the many many memorable games ,obviously the cup final,the derby at Easter road,the hearts fans were singing we are invincible,we won two nil,boozy and o,Connor.
Frogga
12-02-2024, 02:13 PM
The post split fixtures of our first season back in the SPL were mental... the 2-1 with Celtic, 5-3 Killie and 5-5 Rangers. That whole period was amazing to watch.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
bournehibby
12-02-2024, 02:59 PM
March 65 SCQF at Easterr Road Hibs2 Rangers1
Willie Hamilton RIP was majestic
Jim Baxter first game back after injury.
Hibs schooled the hun that day
bh
Hillsidehibby
12-02-2024, 03:36 PM
One of the many many memorable games ,obviously the cup final,the derby at Easter road,the hearts fans were singing we are invincible,we won two nil,boozy and o,Connor.
They were also singing "We shall not be moved". How unfortunate that they also got knocked off top spot that game.
Earlydelivery
12-02-2024, 03:44 PM
The best game I’ve ever seen apart from the obvious was the Sporting Lisbon game ‘ we should have won the CWC that year
12-02-2024, 05:09 PM
March 65 SCQF at Easterr Road Hibs2 Rangers1
Willie Hamilton RIP was majestic
Jim Baxter first game back after injury.
Hibs schooled the hun that day
bh
Certainly did. The best Baxter on the park that day was our John.
12-02-2024, 05:45 PM
So hot the paint on the crush barriers melted/blisterd after obviously just being painted. Ruined a perfectly good catalogue jumper that day 😂
My first away game.
Prices were £2.50 for the Grandstand and £1.50 for the terracing.
Still Smiling
12-02-2024, 05:50 PM
0-7 against Hearts at Tynecastle and winning the cup against Sevco in 2016.
Bakerman
12-02-2024, 05:53 PM
0-7 against Hearts at Tynecastle and winning the cup against Sevco in 2016.
The two greatest games in Hibernian history. To beat the jambos at their home ground 0-7, and the gers in Glasgow to win the Scottish Cup. There's no comparisons.
12-02-2024, 05:54 PM
The best game I’ve ever seen apart from the obvious was the Sporting Lisbon game ‘ we should have won the CWC that year
No one in Europe could have lived with us second half that night wave after wave of Hibs attack going down the slope
A brilliant season with lots of fantastic Hibs performances defeating Rangers 3-0 Celtic 2-1 Hearts 0-7 Aberdeen 3-2
One that goes under the radar is Ayr United 8-1 an almost perfect performance
Ally MacLeod Ayr Manager had a cunning plan to stop the green machine but it only lasted one minute when Sodjer scored
We thought it would always be like this
12-02-2024, 06:35 PM
Falkirk 4-3
Motherwell 6-6
Huns 5-5
Killie 5-1 final
Celtic 4-3 cup and 4-4 won on pen same season( has Celtic ever been knocked out both cups by the same team)
AEK Athens 3-2
Hearts 6-2
Huns 4-0
Huns semi 3-1
That day 3-2
Norrieg
12-02-2024, 06:48 PM
1967 Home tie against Napoli 5-0 with the great Dino Zoff in goal. He never even saw Bobby Duncan's shot go past him till it was too late.
Great night.
12-02-2024, 06:58 PM
Falkirk 4-3
Motherwell 6-6
Huns 5-5
Killie 5-1 final
Celtic 4-3 cup and 4-4 won on pen same season( has Celtic ever been knocked out both cups by the same team)
AEK Athens 3-2
Hearts 6-2
Huns 4-0
Huns semi 3-1
That day 3-2
Motherwell 6 6 is never a highlight
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-02-2024, 07:06 PM
Moment in Scottish football history that game, was absolute carnage
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-02-2024, 07:08 PM
Not a classic Hibs team performance but the Conrad Logan semi final will live with me until the day I die, the best individual performance from any Hibs player I can remember tbh. In saying that I’m only 25 so if all the auld yins could hold off giving me it right because they saw Joe Baker or the Tornadoes, that’d be great[emoji23] the final wasn’t bad either
StirlingHibee
12-02-2024, 07:22 PM
Hibs v Raith Rovers around 1993/1994. I took a couple of visiting English colleagues and I just hoped that it would be a game that showed Scottish football in good light. It was a hugely entertaining game 3-2 with a terrific performance and super goal from Kevin McAllister. Stevie Crawford (playing for Raith - was man of the match I think). Both my English pals came away buzzing!
12-02-2024, 07:31 PM
Entertaining yes, highlight no.
ChilliEater
13-02-2024, 03:43 AM
Hibs v Raith Rovers around 1993/1994. I took a couple of visiting English colleagues and I just hoped that it would be a game that showed Scottish football in good light. It was a hugely entertaining game 3-2 with a terrific performance and super goal from Kevin McAllister. Stevie Crawford (playing for Raith - was man of the match I think). Both my English pals came away buzzing!
Good shout with that one. End to end stuff all night with the ball rarely coming off the ground. Definitely one for the football purists. Michael O'Neill's chipped goal is the one that sticks in my mind.
13-02-2024, 04:13 AM
We thought it would always be like this
serious question - so breaking up the Tornadoes too soon contributed but what was it that made us fall completely out the picture? Lack of interest, funding, poor ownership what was it that lead to our sustained demise and falling standards?
13-02-2024, 06:58 AM
serious question - so breaking up the Tornadoes too soon contributed but what was it that made us fall completely out the picture? Lack of interest, funding, poor ownership what was it that lead to our sustained demise and falling standards?
Excellent book out just now The Rise and Eventual Fall of Turnbull’s Tornadoes by Tom Wright
Well worth a read
Eddie Turnbull was an excellent Coach well before his time but his man management skills were sadly lacking
When Turnbull arrived most of the Tornadoes were already here he only had to add the final pieces of the jigsaw Herriot Gordon and Edwards
The demise can be traced back to his infatuation with Joe Harper and the break up of the deadly spearhead of the Tornadoes Gordon and O’Rourke that led to the eventual demise of the Tornadoes
Turnbull did recruit well initially bringing through Bobby Smith and signing Iain Munro and Des Bremner but some might say that other recruits were not of a similar quality
Perhaps Tom Hart wanted an immediate return on his substantial investment at the time on Joe Harper from Everton who admitted he did not come up here for less money and that must have led to some discontent within the squad though he was an excellent striker once match fit leading to the sale of Gordon O’Rourke and Cropley to help balance the books
Turnbull would fall out with players over trivial issues often ignoring them for weeks and demoting them to the Reserves and would find his relationship with Tom Hart under increasing strain
Turnbull himself later admitted he broke up a brilliant side too early
Anyway no spoilers :greengrin
Lester B
13-02-2024, 07:50 AM
Good shout with that one. End to end stuff all night with the ball rarely coming off the ground. Definitely one for the football purists. Michael O'Neill's chipped goal is the one that sticks in my mind.
I can't be the only one that has the obligatory 'best Hibs goal you've ever seen' conversation after a couple of pints after a match. I always mention that one. IIRC it was the winner too?? Most people don't remember it. God knows why. Thing of beauty that one
Dobosz83
13-02-2024, 08:00 AM
Hibs 3 AEK Athens 2
One of the best atmosphere's at a game I've experienced.
When Paco Luna made it 2-0, it was carnage. He missed a sitter for his hat trick as well. Then we got undone in extra time by two goals, one direct from a corner. Up steps David Zitelli to hammer a rocket past their keeper to give us a win on the night.
I remember Franck Sauzee having to come out at full time to visit some of us in the old East Stand that refused to leave and just sang Hibs songs. A magic night, despite us bowing out of the UEFA Cup.
sauzee1989
13-02-2024, 08:05 AM
Hibs 4-2 Kilmarnock 2-0 down at ht! The best football I remember hibs playing in my 34 years for one half.
13-02-2024, 08:32 AM
Hibs 4-2 Kilmarnock 2-0 down at ht! The best football I remember hibs playing in my 34 years for one half.
Was at this game and we were brilliant in the second half. Blew killie away with wave after wave of attack, oh how I miss those days watching great football.
13-02-2024, 08:52 AM
5-1 Killie final was almost the perfect cup final performance. I also don't think SOL after it has been bettered to this day.
Norrieg
13-02-2024, 10:29 AM
Certainly did. The best Baxter on the park that day was our John.
The problem with us oldies is that there are too many to pick from, but that game is up there. If I remember correctly we beat those huns 3 times that season with a certain Real Madrid in between put to the sword by the magnificent Mr. Willie Hamilton. :not worth:not worth
13-02-2024, 11:32 AM
Yep right up there with my favourites. Also really enjoyed the 4-0 game v the Huns in the Championship. Scotty Allan was unplayable that day
Langlee Hibs
13-02-2024, 12:21 PM
The 6-3 friendly win against Celtic always sticks in my mind. Maybe because Ally Brazil banged in a hatrick :tee hee:
Fuzzywuzzy
13-02-2024, 12:29 PM
5-5 Huns is mine.
darwenhibby
13-02-2024, 12:52 PM
I can't be the only one that has the obligatory 'best Hibs goal you've ever seen' conversation after a couple of pints after a match. I always mention that one. IIRC it was the winner too?? Most people don't remember it. God knows why. Thing of beauty that one
Was at the game remember the score but can’t t remember any of the goals
What I do remember was a healthy crowd for Raith Rovers mid week because they gave out vouchers for the cup final the previous game v Dundee Utd
Folk expecting the same
Hibs 5 Celtic 3 Drybrough cup finall.
After leading 3-0 they got back to 3-3 but we scored twice in extra time.
Gotta say that 90 mins time up came at the right time for us. A chance to regroup and sort out the players heads!
It was great to beat them after the Scottish cup final in May I remember thinking at 3-3 they're going to win now. I remember Eddie Turnbull had all the players sitting round him at the break before the extra time. After Jimmy scored I thought that's it we've won it and Arthur's goal was just the icing on the cake.
(PS early 70s)
We were there that day it was my 21st birthday and the bus broke down had to hitch a lift to one of the places outside Leeds and get a bus to Leeds. we were still in the supporters club for about 4 or 5 o'clock. Really annoyed with Higgins missing that header though. We should have won the second game too Bremner played a blinder that game.
We were there that day it was my 21st birthday and the bus broke down had to hitch a lift to one of the places outside Leeds and get a bus to Leeds. we were still in the supporters club for about 4 or 5 o'clock. Really annoyed with Higgins missing that header though. We should have won the second game too Bremner played a blinder that game.We might have won the 2nd game. Gordon's header disallowed for a mystery whatever.
13-02-2024, 07:56 PM
Casper game.
greiggy
13-02-2024, 08:24 PM
Two teams going all out, toe toe to toe. Rip snorters.
Didn’t we beat them 6-3 in a friendly that year too with Benny getting a hat trick?
Sent from my iPad using TapatalkI think the went nap against us during that year or so too.
13-02-2024, 08:49 PM
Excellent book out just now The Rise and Eventual Fall of Turnbull’s Tornadoes by Tom Wright
Well worth a read
Eddie Turnbull was an excellent Coach well before his time but his man management skills were sadly lacking
When Turnbull arrived most of the Tornadoes were already here he only had to add the final pieces of the jigsaw Herriot Gordon and Edwards
The demise can be traced back to his infatuation with Joe Harper and the break up of the deadly spearhead of the Tornadoes Gordon and O’Rourke that led to the eventual demise of the Tornadoes
Turnbull did recruit well initially bringing through Bobby Smith and signing Iain Munro and Des Bremner but some might say that other recruits were not of a similar quality
Perhaps Tom Hart wanted an immediate return on his substantial investment at the time on Joe Harper from Everton who admitted he did not come up here for less money and that must have led to some discontent within the squad though he was an excellent striker once match fit Leading to the sale of Gordon O’Rourke and Cropley to help balance the books
Turnbull would fall out with players over trivial issues often ignoring them for weeks and demoting them to the Reserves and would find his relationship with Tom Hart under increasing strain
Turnbull himself later admitted he broke up a brilliant side too early
Anyway no spoilers :greengrin
Not sure that ET was infatuated with Joe Harper, I'm sure I read way back that ET thought we were too soft hence buying Harper to add a bit of aggression and nastiness which he had in spades. Terrific striker all though his career was Harper but he couldn't really succeed at Hibs with O'Rourke and Gordon being broken up. Always hated seeing O'Rourke in a Motherwell shirt.
13-02-2024, 09:14 PM
Not sure that ET was infatuated with Joe Harper, I'm sure I read way back that ET thought we were too soft hence buying Harper to add a bit of aggression and nastiness which he had in spades. Terrific striker all though his career was Harper but he couldn't really succeed at Hibs with O'Rourke and Gordon being broken up. Always hated seeing O'Rourke in a Motherwell shirt.
Agree that Turnbull wanted to toughen us up and go for the League
The players said that he stepped up Training to double sessions after 1-1-73 in a push for the League where they felt they really needed to just concentrate on games as they were match fit and just needed ticking over
Of course we had Onion’s leg break early January so we brought in Des Bremner add Alex Edwards’ eight week suspension so the dynamic changed but I suppose the massive disappointment of Hajduk Split finally made up his mind for him to break up the side and go for Harper as he was a big success for him at Aberdeen scoring 70:100 league games for him
As Wee Jimmy said ‘ there was only room for one wee fat bassa at Easter Road’
Pretty sure Turnbull said he planned to keep all three but it didn’t quite work out that way probably with falling attendances etc they had to balance the books and sell Crops Gordon and O’Rourke
Eddie Turnbull tried to buy the wee man back from Motherwell but Motherwell wouldn’t sell to a competitor
13-02-2024, 09:36 PM
In terms of atmosphere, it has to be the Falkirk game Alan Freeland refereed.........first time I thought that a ref would get lamped
13-02-2024, 10:22 PM
Got to give a mention to the 4-0 game v the Rangers back under Stubbs. Thoroughly enjoyed that game, Scott Allan was superb.
I also think I had one of the best seats in the house to witness SDG score his screamer into the top corner, I happened to be sat in the West lower directly behind him when he hit it.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
ChilliEater
14-02-2024, 01:33 AM
I think the went nap against us during that year or so too.
I think it was on the Saturday after the league cup win? 5-0 defeat at home? I was at the cup game - thought I was going to pass out during extra time - but was working on the Saturday and couldn't believe the score when it came through. Weird season - started with something like 6 straight defeats in the league, but scoring for fun on the way to the league cup final.
Chorley Hibee
14-02-2024, 06:29 AM
In terms of atmosphere, it has to be the Falkirk game Alan Freeland refereed.........first time I thought that a ref would get lamped
I thought it might have been me that lamped him at one point.
Easily the worst refereeing performance I've ever witnessed.
The closest I've seen to starting a riot.
cheltenhamhibee
14-02-2024, 08:06 AM
It's always going to be 21/05/16, nothing will eclipse that for me, AEK Athens was a cracker as well , the 6-2 is right up there also & my first ever game (as a wee laddie) at ER in 72/73 season when we pumped Ayr United 8-1
147lothian
14-02-2024, 03:12 PM
The 5 all game at Easter Road, the icing on the cake was Lenny's airplane pitch invasion.