View Full Version : What changes would you make for Wednesday?

Donegal Hibby
05-02-2024, 12:51 PM
I'd like to see him change the 442 though that's more than likely not going to happen .
Surely he'll change the midfield? . Is there any other changes you'd make ? . Will Boyle , Miller and Rocky be available?.

05-02-2024, 12:56 PM
I'd like to see him change the 442 though that's more than likely not going to happen .
Surely he'll change the midfield? . Is there any other changes you'd make ? . Will Boyle , Miller and Rocky be available?.

Assume Miller and Boyle will be available not Rocky though as his team still in tournament. Boro brought on a guy yesterday Silvera who was in Oz squad. Maybe play three at the back as Celtic good at playing through teams centrally

Fuzzywuzzy
05-02-2024, 01:05 PM
Be tempted to take out Marshall

sean
05-02-2024, 01:11 PM
Marshall

miller fish Hanlon Stevenson
Boyle newell welsh obita
marcondes
vente/ Malouda

Torto7
05-02-2024, 01:12 PM
GK
Miller Fish Obita
Cadden if fit Newell
Moriah Wells Stevenson
Marcondes
Boyle
Vente

This is a bit mental but the teams pish atm. I'd put Lewis in midfield just for his tackling ability. Newell can play left mid/LWB.

Lee Marvin
05-02-2024, 01:14 PM
Remove Monty and Kensall

hibsforeurope
05-02-2024, 01:17 PM
We have to get an extra body in the centre of the park somehow. If that’s 3-5-2, 4-5-1, whatever but we can’t be outnumbered again. Especially with the quality Celtic have in their team.

Chipper1875
05-02-2024, 01:18 PM
GK
Miller Fish Obita
Cadden if fit Newell
Moriah Wells Stevenson
Marcondes
Boyle
Vente

This is a bit mental but the teams pish atm. I'd put Lewis in midfield just for his tackling ability. Newell can play left mid/LWB.

Newell isn’t nearly athletic enough to play there

05-02-2024, 01:19 PM
The manager

Chipper1875
05-02-2024, 01:21 PM
Marshall

miller fish Hanlon Stevenson
Boyle newell welsh obita
marcondes
vente/ Malouda

Based on who is available and decent fitness levels, this is probably the strongest team available to make us hard to beat

McGruber
05-02-2024, 01:21 PM
Got to have qn extra body in the middle. I'd go with Amos, Newell and Moriah-Welsh as the 3. Wouldn't have Jair playing. Would start there

05-02-2024, 01:23 PM
Said on a different thread but he cant play more than one of Marcondes, newell or levitt. All three are good players in their onw right but not quick, energetic or athletic enough.

I am not sure this problem has been addressed but it would have to be Amos, Welsh and Marcondes for me. With guys that are willing to stop crosses out wide.

Don't care about the defence as i dont think that is the problem.

Donegal Hibby
05-02-2024, 01:25 PM
Assume Miller and Boyle will be available not Rocky though as his team still in tournament. Boro brought on a guy yesterday Silvera who was in Oz squad. Maybe play three at the back as Celtic good at playing through teams centrally

3 at the back would allow us to have a strong midfield too . If Cadden could play you could have him right midfield with Boyle up top though maybe abit to soon for him yet to be starting.

LunasBoots
05-02-2024, 01:35 PM
Hoping Miller and Boyle are back and ready to start, a real miss for us for quite some time, i'd also drop Levitt for Amos. Jair ive never seen perform great in the bigger games so i'd drop him also, Hopefully we turn up on Wednesday but cant say im hopeful, Celtics GD and our GD tell a telling story.

ruthven_raiders
05-02-2024, 01:39 PM
Said on a different thread but he cant play more than one of Marcondes, newell or levitt. All three are good players in their onw right but not quick, energetic or athletic enough.

I am not sure this problem has been addressed but it would have to be Amos, Welsh and Marcondes for me. With guys that are willing to stop crosses out wide.

Don't care about the defence as i dont think that is the problem.

Yeh Amos and Welsh have permanent contracts so makes sense to get them up to speed, so it's between Newell and marcondes for the other place, with vente and Alf up front, hopefully boyle out wide, but who knows what team will be picked.....

05-02-2024, 01:43 PM
Levitt, Nectar, Jair in the stand. Whittaker on the bench. We might have a fighting chance then.

Torto7
05-02-2024, 01:45 PM
Newell isn’t nearly athletic enough to play there

Hence Obita. I just want someone who will do a basic job in covering runners. Joe can do that. It's far from perfect I agree.

GreenPJ
05-02-2024, 01:45 PM
Having 5 in midfield I think is a must - in terms of who am not really sure (I thought Amos would have had a few more mins by now) but I know who should not be starting is Youan, Tavares and Whittaker. Youan and Tavares are not geared to the roles they have been asked to play and Tavares performances in particular have regressed. Youan makes numerous wrong choices but at least he has or has looked for the ball to make mistakes, Tavares is not even doing that, would love to know how many times he actually touched the ball on Saturday. Whittaker is just not ready and think we are in danger of setting him back. Megwa is still not fully ready but is significantly ahead of Whittaker at this moment in time - don't understand why Whittaker was started on Saturday.

05-02-2024, 01:46 PM
Wollacott
Megwa Fish Hanlon Obita
Boyle Amos Moriah-Welsh Maolida
Vente Marcondes (roaming)

sean
05-02-2024, 01:47 PM
Based on who is available and decent fitness levels, this is probably the strongest team available to make us hard to beat

We need to do our very best to shore it up out wide, blindly going on like this leaving our fullbacks so exposed is a recipe for complete disaster.

05-02-2024, 01:47 PM
Yeh Amos and Welsh have permanent contracts so makes sense to get them up to speed, so it's between Newell and marcondes for the other place, with vente and Alf up front, hopefully boyle out wide, but who knows what team will be picked.....

Problem is if Amos is athletic and a runner. Looks like Welsh is.

We also need to get guys out wide that will stop crosses.

rb of Miller and Cadden at rw would do that.

Slight issue at lw but Obita is one of our best defenders so should not be a problem.

I really hope NM is puzzling out these things and does not assume Levitt can play on Wednesday.

He has a problem as well on wed because if we are chasing shadows on Wed, we will be shattered on Saturday. And that is arguably far more important.

Willis1875
05-02-2024, 01:51 PM
Marshall
Miller Fish Hanlon Obita
Cadden Welsh Amos Newell
Emiliano
Vente or Boyle
2 banks of 4

05-02-2024, 01:55 PM
451, ALF as the lone striker, Gie the baw tae Emiliano as much as possible.

05-02-2024, 01:57 PM
Marshall
Miller Fish Hanlon Obita
Cadden Welsh Amos Newell
Emiliano
Vente or Boyle
2 banks of 4

The most they had expected of Cadden on Saturday was 15 minutes so I can’t see him starting on Wednesday.

Willis1875
05-02-2024, 02:02 PM
The most they had expected of Cadden on Saturday was 15 minutes so I can’t see him starting on Wednesday.

A traffic cone instead then,can’t be any worse than the alternatives

05-02-2024, 02:03 PM

🤣. Sadly you aren’t far wrong.

05-02-2024, 02:10 PM
Removing the manager would be a massive step in the right direction

Gloucester Hibs
05-02-2024, 02:16 PM
We need to do our very best to shore it up out wide, blindly going on like this leaving our fullbacks so exposed is a recipe for complete disaster.

Correct. If he was fully fit I'd maybe even be tempted to put Chris Cadden in Boyle's position and have MB occupying one of the 2 forward roles. It would be pretty negative but needs must.

Hibiza
05-02-2024, 02:23 PM
The manager and coaches.

Bushwoof
05-02-2024, 03:30 PM
The team that finished on Saturday wouldn't be too far off the mark, with the exception of Hanlon (if he's well) in for either Fish or Nectarine, Miller in at RB, and Boyle for the young Spanish lad. Nectarios had a very mixed debut, but could be fine with an experienced CH next to him, and likewise as his RB. Fish has been found wanting all season and doesn't really deserve a place, so:

Marshall
Miller Nectar Hanlon Obita
Boyle Newell Moriah-welsh
Vente Emiliano
ALF

Looking at that gives me the fear though!

05-02-2024, 03:33 PM
Marshall

Miller Fish Hanlon Obita

Boyle Amos Moriah-Welsh Mayenda

Marcondes Le Fondre

andrew70
05-02-2024, 03:39 PM
If I could I’d play Johnson but I feel the place is too toxic for that.

So in that case

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Triantis
Obita

Amos
Moriah-Welsh

Boyle
Emiliano
Myziane

Vente

cekim
05-02-2024, 03:45 PM
Can we drop all of them and play the women or is that against the rules.

05-02-2024, 03:57 PM
Moriah-Welsh and Amos must play in the middle of the park.

Hanlon (I can’t believe I’m saying that) back in.

Miller and Boyle back in.

Youan and Levitt in the stand. Need to make a point that such a lack of effort won’t be tolerated.

Victor
05-02-2024, 04:42 PM
Anyone, as long as Youan and Levitt don’t start and someone above 20 plays at right back.

05-02-2024, 04:57 PM
Cadden would be my first choice to come in but if he's not ready then it's Miller. That's the first obvious one. I want to persist with Triantis but that debut was just so so bad that, and I can't believe I'm saying it, Hanlon comes back in to partner Fish.

Midfield should become instantly better putting Boyle in for the imposter Jair. I personally don't want to see him again in a Hibs top. And I'd also bring in ALF to partner Vente up top and move Myzaine to the wing to take Youans place.

05-02-2024, 05:01 PM

We didn't play a 4-4-2 on Saturday. It was a 4-2-3-1

BlackSheep
05-02-2024, 05:58 PM
I’d go 532/352 with

Marshall

Obita LWB

Triantis CB
Hanlon CB
Fish CB

Cadden RWB

Amos CM
Moriah-Welsh CM
Marcondes ACM

Vente ST
ALF ST

i don’t care about the rest of them right now… that team covers all scenarios in my opinion.

5 at the back when defending and then 5 to win the midfield
Marcondes supplying an intelligent ALF letting Vente poach and start scoring goals.

Pipe dream I know but I live in hope

05-02-2024, 06:00 PM

He has to realise he’s out the door unless he does drop this 442, and now

05-02-2024, 06:02 PM
Marshall

Miller Fish Hanlon Obita

Boyle Amos Moriah-Welsh Mayenda

Marcondes Le Fondre

I'd be happy with that, especially the front two.

Let's see how the new guys get on.

05-02-2024, 06:03 PM
Wallacot

Miller…..Fish…..Hanlon…..Obita

Amos……….Moriah-Welsh

Boyle…….Marcondes……Myziane

Vente

Svengali
05-02-2024, 06:03 PM
I’d go 532/352 with

Marshall

Obita LWB

Triantis CB
Hanlon CB
Fish CB

Cadden RWB

Amos CM
Moriah-Welsh CM
Marcondes ACM

Vente ST
ALF ST

i don’t care about the rest of them right now… that team covers all scenarios in my opinion.

5 at the back when defending and then 5 to win the midfield
Marcondes supplying an intelligent ALF letting Vente poach and start scoring goals.

Pipe dream I know but I live in hope

This is team i’d be thinking about but maybe changing Newell for ALF (who can come on). 3 man midfield of Amos, Welsh, Newell, Marcondes (AM)

As someone else said Youan & Levitt don’t get a strip, needs to make a statement based on that level of commitment on Saturday, Especially Youan.

Donegal Hibby
05-02-2024, 06:27 PM
He has to realise he’s out the door unless he does drop this 442, and now

I don't think this is the game to play it , Celtic seem to play 433 with O'Riley, McGregor and Bernardo in midfield . They are a lot better than our midfield players so going with only two midfielders we will have our work cut out for us , if we go with Newell and levitt again , God help us !.

05-02-2024, 06:39 PM
Why are some people dropping Marshall? Especially for a guy who’s hardly played any football this season. Marsh is the least of our worries.

05-02-2024, 06:41 PM
Why are some people dropping Marshall? Especially for a guy who’s hardly played any football this season. Marsh is the least of our worries.

I thought the same. Been one of our few decent performers this season.

andrew70
05-02-2024, 06:43 PM
I don't think this is the game to play it , Celtic seem to play 433 with O'Riley, McGregor and Bernardo in midfield . They are a lot better than our midfield players so going with only two midfielders we will have our work cut out for us , if we go with Newell and levitt again , God help us !.

We’ve not played 442 for weeks. We never played 442 against Celtic at home last time. We won’t play 442 tomorrow. This formation nonsense is becoming a .net myth.

We do need good midfielders for a 4231 though. Amos and Moriah-Welsh.

yerauldda
05-02-2024, 06:56 PM
Wallacot

Amos……….Moriah-Welsh

Vente

I like this

05-02-2024, 06:56 PM

Disagree. His lack of commanding his 6 yard box has cost us goals, a fair few of them. He has a 67% save percentage, 8th worst in league and has an average game rating of 6.65 this season.

Yeah, I’ll take a gamble on Jojo but confident that Monty won’t.

05-02-2024, 07:04 PM
Any combination of XI has to take into account the cup game on Saturday. If Boyle/Miller need more timeout I’d have them on the bench to come on 2nd half if /when required. Get some more minutes into all the new signings, only way to get them sharper for the weekend. Youan/Levitt on the bench also, that 45min performance cannot be rewarded with a spot in the starting XI.

Skol
05-02-2024, 07:30 PM

We lined up 4-2-3-1 on Saturday so we cannot blame 4-4-2. I haven’t been at a game for a while but apparently it’s been 4-2-3-1 for a few games now. Perhaps going back to 4-4-2 might be an idea.

rowan3633
05-02-2024, 07:31 PM
I would have made eleven changes at half time on Saturday

I think Wallacott deserves a chance to show that he at least has the potential to be our number one, Marshall is not a dominant keeper, his effort at the third on Saturday was pathetic as was not coming for the cross for the second by Killie.

I'd pick that back four simply for the height and athleticism which I think we'll need

None of the midfield from Saturday deserve to keep their place but neither Jair or Youan should be picked over Maolida and Boyle walks back in if he's fit to play.

Marcondes stays in based on his performance against Killie and I've no idea why Vente was left out at the weekend

Wallacott

Miller
Fish
Nectar
Obita

Boyle
Moriah-Welsh
Amos
Maolida

Marcondes

Vente

05-02-2024, 08:02 PM
It should be a back 3 IMO.

Marshall

Megwa

Fish
Triantis
Obita

Lewis

Amos
Mor-Welsh
Newell

Marcondes
Vente

If we’re sticking with a back 4 then I’d keep same midfield 3 as above and push Marcondes to a wide left role. He already looks a luxury in a midfield 3 - until we can sort the defence at least.

sauzee1989
05-02-2024, 08:14 PM
After Saturday he needs to make a statement and not play players out of form or clearly not fit. Guys like Tavares Youan and fish had enough games recently showing nothing

Johnson
Miller
Bevan
Hanlon
Obita

Newell
Welsh
Amos
Marcondes
Boyle

Vente

TrinityHFC
05-02-2024, 08:29 PM
We lined up 4-2-3-1 on Saturday so we cannot blame 4-4-2. I haven’t been at a game for a while but apparently it’s been 4-2-3-1 for a few games now. Perhaps going back to 4-4-2 might be an idea.

I think some just haven’t paid much attention from the start. It is 442. Always has been, we just usually play it with one or sometimes both of the forwards very deep. Call it whatever, it is the same approach with different players having been tried. It’s still slow, we play or wide players too narrow and deep and our forwards too deep.

Yeah Emilio sits a bit behind the other striker just now. Save as Vente did before when Boyle played up. Same as Campbell did. Same as his first game when Doidge played there and was trying to win the ball deep.

I don’t think people hugely care what it is called, they care that the way we play it is boring and isn’t working.

We played 442 at home to Luzern and it was brilliant so the name itself doesn’t matter.

McGruber
05-02-2024, 08:36 PM

It's not so much the fornation it's how they are set up with the areas they take up and the play not moving forward quickly enough, coupled with a real lack of movement off the ball and cohesion with it.

Compare Monty's usual 4 4 2 with Johnson's - the middle 2 under Monty are virtually starting yards off the centre backs - both of them. The full backs start deeper and as we've seen with Vente, our striker drops deeper more often. The posession build up is too slow and isn't purposeful enough. You just need to look at the Luzern home game to see that the 4 4 2 can be utilised better in a different shape. As much as Johnson had to go, his team got forward quicker and with more purpose - hence more goals scored (defending under Johnson another matter).

St Mirren commentary mentioned it a number of times in the first half, that we kept giving them time to get back in shape with our customary 3 or 4 square passes at the back.

Lovell mentioned on Hibs commentary few weeks ago the same, we look for safe passes too often when first thought should be playing forward. With the pace we have wide it's even more beneficial.

I know that's not anything new from what's already been said

05-02-2024, 09:05 PM
I wonder what the answer will be if the question is what changes will Monty make. Surely even he won’t start Newell and Levitt together. Will he start Whittaker. I’d sack him now but as that’s unlikely to happen hopefully he will at least try to shake things up after Saturday.

GreenPJ
05-02-2024, 09:23 PM
I wonder what the answer will be if the question is what changes will Monty make. Surely even he won’t start Newell and Levitt together. Will he start Whittaker. I’d sack him now but as that’s unlikely to happen hopefully he will at least try to shake things up after Saturday.

He cannot possibly start Whittaker, its not fair to the lad, the team or the support. I am sure he has the potential for a good career ahead of him but he is not ready to play from the start or even on the bench now that Megwa, Cadden and Miller can at least play some part.

05-02-2024, 09:29 PM
Surely quite a few need dropping

Marshall
Cadden Fish ??? Obita
Boyle Amos Welsh or Newell MM
Vente Emiliano

Donegal Hibby
05-02-2024, 09:36 PM

The bulk of our matches under Monty have been 442 . Last couple of weeks it's been 4231 with Newell and levitt dropping deep and the wingers coming back to help the fullbacks at times Marcondes playing as a 10 and its similar to the other imo .

Biggest problem with either formation is we only play with two midfielders who since the 8 of Nov have mainly been Newell and levitt even though at times we come up against 3 midfielders .

Interesting to see what changes he makes for Wednesday . We will probably go with two in midfield again against there 3 in O'Riley, McGregor and Bernardo

hibsboy69
05-02-2024, 10:28 PM
I'd change the seats.........to make them face away from the pitch :tee hee:

DinkyTwo
05-02-2024, 10:44 PM
Marshall
Miller Fish Hanlon Obita
Cadden Welsh Amos Newell
Emiliano
Vente or Boyle
2 banks of 4I think that is a fairly solid looking team.

Marshall

Miller
Fish / Rocky
Hanlon
Obita

Cadden
Welsh / Amos
Newell
Boyle

Alf
Vente / Maolida

We need Whittaker, Tavares, Levitt dropped. All miles off it.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

05-02-2024, 10:56 PM
Pointless debating it.

It’ll be the same formation, same tactics and the same duo starting in midfield

05-02-2024, 10:59 PM
Pointless debating it.

I'd honestly be shocked if Levitt and Newell start. No chance I reckon. Really hope so at least.

05-02-2024, 11:01 PM
Pointless debating it.

Certainly won’t be the same two in the middle of the park. Not a chance.

06-02-2024, 06:51 AM
Pointless debating it.

I sincerely hope you’re wrong, if you’re right it’s another black mark against NM.

06-02-2024, 07:52 AM
Wollacott
Megwa Fish Hanlon Obita

Maolida in a wide role offers zero protection to the left back (Obita) as he won't track back, and he maybe doesn't work hard enough off the ball going forward too.

He looks like another lad, with a small modicum of talent, who has lacked a figure in his life to teach him "hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard"

Fwiw I like the rest of the team (apart from Megwa)

I'd say Newell out left in place of Maolida in your XI
And given Palma always cuts in, I'd play Stevenson (as a one off) at right back, to defend against Palma, especially as Boyle is horrendous these days at helping out his mates at full back

snedzuk
06-02-2024, 07:55 AM
Wollacott
Megwa Fish Hanlon Obita

Bit unfair on Marcondes. Just in the door and gets hit with a big phone bill.

06-02-2024, 08:05 AM
Bit unfair on Marcondes. Just in the door and gets hit with a big phone bill.

It's sound, Bournemouth are paying for it

Paulie Walnuts
06-02-2024, 08:17 AM
Certainly won’t be the same two in the middle of the park. Not a chance.

I agree.

I’d be stunned if Levitt and Youan start. I think Newell will though.

21sMay
06-02-2024, 08:57 AM
Marshal

Megwa fish Hanlon obita
Boyle Welsh Amos Newell
Marcondes
Vente

Bakerman
06-02-2024, 09:04 AM
Marshall
Miller Fish Hanlon Obita
Cadden Welsh Amos Newell
Emiliano
Vente or Boyle
2 banks of 4

Probably, a good shout. I've been critical of Miller especially, out of that team, but he's probably more solid a player just now, than the younger guys. Cadden brings back in a level of quality, and experience. I'm a fan of Levitt, and there's a good quality player there, but maybe does need a spell on the bench to recharge the batteries, and find his true form. Tough game against Celtic, but you never know. They've not been at their best recently either. Could be one of those unexpected glory nights for the Hibees.

06-02-2024, 09:25 AM

Would probably move about more than Levitt.

06-02-2024, 09:31 AM
Marshall
Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita
Boyle
Amos
Welsh
Emiliano
Newell
Vente

A 4-5-1 system to frustrate and keep us in the game with the hope we can hit them on the break and create a few chances.

Willis1875
06-02-2024, 09:32 AM
Would probably move about more than Levitt.

On the flip side of that Celtic could put 11 traffic cones out on Wednesday and I still wouldn’t bet on Hibs.
Youan would beat the cone,cut back and beat the cone again and then just run the ball out of play

06-02-2024, 09:32 AM
I'd honestly be shocked if Levitt and Newell start. No chance I reckon. Really hope so at least.

I’d be amazed if they ever started as a pair together for us again.

In fairness to Monty - he changed it at half time and may have felt before the game that he had no option other than to go with them due to the fitness of the new arrivals.

H18S NX
06-02-2024, 10:32 AM
On the flip side of that Celtic could put 11 traffic cones out on Wednesday and I still wouldn’t bet on Hibs.
Youan would beat the cone,cut back and beat the cone again and then just run the ball out of play.....Very good:top marks:aok:

06-02-2024, 10:47 AM
Personally think it will be

…………….……….Marshall………

Miller…………Fish………….Triantis…..Obita….

Boyle….Moriah-Welsh…Newell……..Jair..

………………………Marcondes….
……………………….Maolida…

06-02-2024, 10:54 AM
What changes would you make for Wednesday?

A change in the weather, say 6 inches of snow and game off, would be a positive.:greengrin

06-02-2024, 10:54 AM
I’d have

Marshall

Megwa Fish Hanlon Obita

Maolida Moriah-Welsh Newell(Amos if anywhere near match fit) Boyle

Marcondes

Vente

However no doubt we’ll see Whittaker at full back, Triantis, plus the imposters that are Levitt, Jair and Youan in.

VoltaireHibs
06-02-2024, 11:20 AM
Marshall

Cadden Fish Bevan Obita

Newell

Boyle Moriah-Welsh Amos

Emiliano

Maolida

The new guys need minutes, it's a game we rarely win, so may as well get them up to speed.

Chorley Hibee
06-02-2024, 11:21 AM
Shuffling deckchairs on the Titanic is a phrase that springs to mind when looking at the pretty hopeless squad we've been left with.

There's pretty much no side or formation that fills me with any hope or excitement, just a fear of the inevitable, and a loathing of the people responsible for the mess we're in.

06-02-2024, 11:51 AM
Personally think it will be

…………….……….Marshall………

Miller…………Fish………….Triantis…..Obita….

Boyle….Moriah-Welsh…Newell……..Jair..

………………………Marcondes….
……………………….Maolida…

I think we need to play a natural centre forward be it ALF or Vente. The rest are more wide players who can play up front but we need someone to just be in the right areas and occupy the centre halves, especially with Marcondes floating around. Basically, the same as what we did at Killie because, with the ball, we actually played quite well and created numerous chances.

Don’t think any of the three hooked at half time on Saturday will play.

06-02-2024, 12:14 PM
Pointless debating it.

NM can just get his coat if that’s the case

Dobosz83
06-02-2024, 01:47 PM
The first thing I'm doing is dropping Youan and Tavares in the wide areas, they both offer zero protection to whoever the full backs are.

I'm also removing Whittaker, just to protect the lad, whether it be Miller/Megwa (I cannot see Cadden being anywhere near ready for a game like this).

This should go without saying, but I'm not starting Newell and Levitt together, in any capacity. Levitt in the stand and go with three in the middle.

Marshall

Miller, Fish, Hanlon, Obita,

Amos, Moriah-Welsh, Newell.

Boyle, Marcondes, Maolida

I'd be making it clear to Boyle and Maolida to track back and offer themselves deeper for passes across the middle of the park too, not a gung-ho- 3 up top. The issue is, none of our attackers is all that willing to do the bit without the ball....

Paul1642
06-02-2024, 01:49 PM
Wallacot

Amos……….Moriah-Welsh

Vente

Hanlon hasn’t trained as far as I know but otherwise this is the team I want to see. I also doubt we will see Wallacot and I’m not sure why. Marshal’s performances have improved on the face of it but I’d like to think Wallocot could orchestrate the defence better.

06-02-2024, 01:52 PM
The Obita at CH and Stevenson at LB axis seemed to work to pretty decent effect against Rangers. In the absence of Paul Hanlon, I'm surprised there aren't more suggestions that we look to repeat that.

06-02-2024, 01:55 PM
The Obita at CH and Stevenson at LB axis seemed to work to pretty decent effect against Rangers. In the absence of Paul Hanlon, I'm surprised there aren't more suggestions that we look to repeat that.

Decent effect? We got pumped 3-0 😂

06-02-2024, 02:05 PM
Decent effect? We got pumped 3-0 😂

None of the problems or goals that night came down that side and both players played well.

If Obita had been skinned like he was at the weekend and we'd had a 20 year old making his debut at CH then we might have lost by 7 or 8.

06-02-2024, 02:15 PM
None of the problems or goals that night came down that side and both players played well.

If Obita had been skinned like he was at the weekend and we'd had a 20 year old making his debut at CH then we might have lost by 7 or 8.

I’d argue both could have done better at the 2nd goal and Obita could do better at the 3rd

Donegal Hibby
06-02-2024, 02:43 PM
Monty frustrated but not concerned.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13065232/hibs-vs-celtic-nick-montgomery-looking-for-reaction-vs-celtic-change-is-hard

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/montgomery-on-celtic-boyle-miller-more

Might be harsh though it actually annoyed me abit listening to him on about players away on international duty and new signings needing time to gel which I get though there's no excuse for a performance like the St Mirren game . None whatsoever imo .