View Full Version : Ben Kensell

ChuckNor
03-02-2024, 07:59 PM
LEAVE. This charlatan has to go. He should be no where near a CEO level of anything, never mind one of the biggest clubs in Scotland. The damage he has done to our football club is incredible. I don’t trust the Foley deal purely because he supports it. An absolute fool.

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 08:04 PM
This one I agree with although pretty certain he’ll be here for the foreseeable

SickBoy32
03-02-2024, 08:10 PM
Absolutely hopeless in his role leading a football club.

Sat today and watched a million different adverts flash round the park, and what felt like a million different players.

Has cost us years on the park through his incompetence.

Sadly the recent statement from the Gordons was way OTT in its’ praise of Kensell, so I fear we’re stuck with him for a while.

Like other I fear the effect of the Bournemouth deal on our club, not least because a few incompetents in our ‘leadership’ think it’s a good idea.

03-02-2024, 08:17 PM
You think??

We are pish on the grass. But he’s done his side of the bargain. We just need a ***in not sheet coach.

MikeyS
03-02-2024, 08:20 PM
You think??

We are pish on the grass. But he’s done his side of the bargain. We just need a ***in not sheet coach.

He's appointed the last 3 goons! Course he is culpable. I won't knock his work on the corporate side but it's been atrocious work picking managers.

SickBoy32
03-02-2024, 08:20 PM
You think??

He picks the managers. Wouldn't say he’s done his side of the bargain whatsoever.

He is the epitome of fur coat and nae knickers

Doh Rae Me
03-02-2024, 08:21 PM
Needs to have a big long look in the mirror.

03-02-2024, 08:24 PM
Needs to have a big long look in the mirror.

I think that's the problem, he spends too much time admiring his own work!

MikeyS
03-02-2024, 08:26 PM
I think that's the problem, he spends too much time admiring his own work!

An exceptional hand shaker & sweetie wife in the Albion Bar. We should all be seriously concerned if he gets to pick another manager.

03-02-2024, 08:29 PM
I don't know enough about the process of appointing a manager but the folk doing it shouldn't be in charge again.

Thats too many failures in a row to keep going without reflecting on why bad choices were made.

Torto7
03-02-2024, 08:54 PM
Nah he must stay. Finance actually matters and he's shown up the clowns who ran the financial side before.

03-02-2024, 08:56 PM
You think??

He’s in a more senior position than sales manager.

03-02-2024, 08:57 PM
Nah he must stay. Finance actually matters and he's shown up the clowns who ran the financial side before.

And the “clowns” before have shown him up on how to run a football club.

There’s a difference between making money and sustainably running a business. Footballing wise we are in tatters.

03-02-2024, 08:59 PM
Aye let’s see what Rod is up to these days. Burn the witch. Tell Bill to GTF and thank the NHS on our shirts.

Chorley Hibee
03-02-2024, 09:00 PM

There’s a difference between making money and sustainably running a business. Footballing wise we are in tatters.

Any money we make on the commercial side is being poured down the drain on paying off ***** managers and recruiting a litany of dreadful players.

I still suspect a substantial loss on the next set of accounts too.

03-02-2024, 09:01 PM
Aye let’s see what Rod is up to these days. Burn the witch. Tell Bill to GTF and thank the NHS on our shirts.

Ironically that season with Thank You NHS we finished third in the league after signing a litany of players proven to work in this league.

That again, please. That sounds like luxury.

03-02-2024, 09:02 PM
Any money we make on the commercial side is being poured down the drain on paying off ***** managers and recruiting a litany of dreadful players.

I'm still suspect a substantial loss on the next set of accounts too.

Totally agree with your second point and it would explain a lot.

Although maybe not the Dubai trip.

03-02-2024, 09:12 PM
OK let’s get rid of Kensell, his replacement will guarantee our next manager is a success. We could ask Cormack at Aberdeen for advice, he’s done so well appointing managers. Or maybe Budgie ?

Willis1875
03-02-2024, 09:13 PM
OK let’s get rid of Kensell, his replacement will guarantee our next manager is a success. We could ask Cormack at Aberdeen for advice, he’s done so well appointing managers. Or maybe Budgie ?

Going by the success rate of our last 3 managers if hazard a guess that we already seek out Budges advice 😭

03-02-2024, 09:15 PM

Kensell and Ian Gordon have a zero for three record IMO

Our next manager may not be a success but at least we stand a chance that we might just appoint the right person or have a coherent mid term strategy for the club going forward.

03-02-2024, 09:17 PM
Do we think his next role will be linked to Bournemouth?

Do a good job at Hibs (off the pitch) and back down to England EPL club?

03-02-2024, 09:17 PM
Going by the success rate of our last 3 managers if hazard a guess that we already seek out Budges advice 😭

🤣 aye you could well be right.

It’s not easy to get it right though. I don’t know how many managers we’ve had in my time supporting Hibs but it’s fair to say the majority have been failures.

03-02-2024, 09:20 PM
Kensell and Ian Gordon have a zero for three record IMO

Our next manager may not be a success but at least we stand a chance that we might just appoint the right person or have a coherent mid term strategy for the club going forward.

I think Monty was a BMcD appointment though, or at least he heavily influenced it.

Willis1875
03-02-2024, 09:25 PM
Do we think his next role will be linked to Bournemouth?

Do a good job at Hibs (off the pitch) and back down to England EPL club?

Or a job in the footballing group they have created

LewysGot2
04-02-2024, 09:04 AM

We're 19 points behind their latest project boss so maybe not the best time for that gag 🤔😊

04-02-2024, 09:08 AM

Finance matters but his role goes way beyond that.

There aren't many lines of work in which success in one part but abject failure in another will see you immune from criticism. In most it would see your arse out the door.

Willis1875
04-02-2024, 09:08 AM
We're 19 points behind their latest project boss so maybe not the best time for that gag 🤔😊

It wasn’t meant in the sense that Hearts pick bad managers it was more meant in the way that our last 3 managers have been that bad that it could only be an arch rival advising on who to appoint

LewysGot2
04-02-2024, 09:09 AM
It wasn’t meant in the sense that Hearts pick bad managers it was more meant in the way that our last 3 managers have been that bad that it could only be an arch rival advising on who to appoint

Gotcha 🤣

TrinityHFC
04-02-2024, 11:21 AM
A reminder to some that posts on the PM board don’t stay secret.

There’s a discussion about how there’s a group of fans on Twitter in particular who are mates with BK or who have drinks with him in the Albion Bar and in return run to defend him.

A debate I had with a poster has been used as an example.

I’ve never met BK, I’m not on Twitter. I’ve never been in the Albion Bar.

The discussion point was misrepresented. I said that not having run a ‘football department’ does not mean you can’t be a CEO of a football club. A CEO needs to have the commercial and operational skills to run a business, which of course means oversight of all areas. It doesn’t mean being an expert in all those areas.

BK has worked in football for many years. He hasn’t run a football dept. The argument seemed to be that this means he has no experience in football. Of course he has.

Football doesn’t just mean the coaching and selecting of players. Not sure there’s many football CEOs who have done that. Football experience when talking about running the club includes all the commercial and operational aspects.

I can’t answer for myself on the PM board, so hopefully that clears it up.

Torto7
04-02-2024, 03:34 PM

Have they? When exactly? Multiple failed promotion attempts, relegations and bottom six finishes under the previous group.

04-02-2024, 03:40 PM
He is a clueless fraud.:idiot:

Torto7
04-02-2024, 03:43 PM
He is a clueless fraud.:idiot:

Based on what? A CEO isn't on the pitch playing. Money isn't an issue just now, how it's spent on the footballing side is. BK has been very good for Hibs commercially. People on here moaned about a DOF they got that(one with ex EPL experience) and they still moan about BK. There's a bit of a witchhunt with this guy for some reason.

VoltaireHibs
04-02-2024, 04:04 PM
I actually think this is more a Gordon's problem. I'm guessing they've leaned on BK quite heavily and he's done the best he can, which commercially has been excellent but in sporting terms has been poor. I was on board with us appointing NM, as were a lot of other posters, so I'm not going to throw bricks at him for that. But the Gordon's really need to bring in someone to advise them that has Hibs best interests at heart, I thought Brian McDermott was that guy, and he may still be, but if Ben is Ian Gordon's go to guy then it may be difficult for him.

A strong Chairperson sits Ben down, tells him his job parameters and measures his performance, and gets the best from his fairly obvious talents. I'm not sure that person is Ian Gordon, so that's maybe where the problem lies.

Donegal Hibby
04-02-2024, 04:08 PM
In some areas he's probably done a good job though think he's acted totally unprofessionally in the past and wouldn't be sorry to see him go .

PolmontHibby
04-02-2024, 04:32 PM
Some strong opinions both ways on Ben Kensell on this thread.

Until I see some actual evidence in the next set of published accounts I am sitting on the fence on the financial impact BK has had.
For £325k a year, over 50% more than Leeann, it better be impressive.

Chipper1875
04-02-2024, 04:39 PM
Some strong opinions both ways on Ben Kensell on this thread.

Until I see some actual evidence in the next set of published accounts I am sitting on the fence on the financial impact BK has had.
For £325k a year, over 50% more than Leeann, it better be impressive.

Yes, it will be interesting,
as previous set we lost money . No point massively increasing turnover, if we get worse on the pitch

04-02-2024, 04:50 PM
Yes, it will be interesting,
as previous set we lost money . No point massively increasing turnover, if we get worse on the pitch

It’s also not a great financial result if expenses increase by more than the turnover increases.

04-02-2024, 05:12 PM
Never holds his hands up when things go wrong with recruiting managers Players major part of where we are

04-02-2024, 05:23 PM
Never holds his hands up when things go wrong with recruiting managers Players major part of where we are

Did Petrie ever?

04-02-2024, 05:27 PM
Did Petrie ever?

He stepped back from his dual role as CEO and chairman and brought in 3 people to totally revamp the football operation.

That's about as clear a taking of responsibility as you will get in the football world.

04-02-2024, 05:29 PM
Ultimately our failed managerial appointments will be what he's remembered for despite all his good work on the non football side.

He's not all bad, obviously, but the football part, the bit we all care about the most, has been largely a shambles under his watch.

04-02-2024, 05:35 PM
When did he come in? Is his football record sackable? 5th last season (in line with budget but short of the 4th goal by the smallest of margins). Europe. A cup semi already this season. 3rd and a final and a semi final with Ross.

Edit: and FWIW, I’ve never met him, had one phone conversation with him after i emailed to complain about the club saying and doing nothing about Rangers fans’ sectarianism.

Walkerbaws
04-02-2024, 05:44 PM
The whole club is up the creek without a paddle.

It’s clear the Gordon’s don’t want lumped with their dads hobby, so they’ve delegated most of the running to kensell who might be great with the revenue, but is out his depth with the footballing side.

McDermott, who is in charge with the footballing side is equally as hopeless as the former. He’s been brought in to help with the recruitment as we all hounded out Ron’s laddie. The clown isn’t much better.

Then the both of these clowns, have undertaken the recruitment of a manager who’s even further out his depth than the previous two.

We can’t sack the lot of them, even if they do all need to go?!

LewysGot2
04-02-2024, 06:08 PM

It’s clear the Gordon’s don’t want lumped with their dads hobby, so they’ve delegated most of the running to kensell who might be great with the revenue, but is out his depth with the footballing side.

McDermott, who is in charge with the footballing side is equally as hopeless as the former. He’s been brought in to help with the recruitment as we all hounded out Ron’s laddie. The clown isn’t much better.

Then the both of these clowns, have undertaken the recruitment of a manager who’s even further out his depth than the previous two.

Ian Gordon is based here and is around the Club most days according to someone I know who works for the club administration - he’s as hands on as you could be. The whole family were here at Christmas. What do you know that makes you think the family don’t want to run the club?

The Tubs
04-02-2024, 06:21 PM
He stepped back from his dual role as CEO and chairman and brought in 3 people to totally revamp the football operation.

That's about as clear a taking of responsibility as you will get in the football world.

I think it needs to be added that he should have done it about three managers earlier. After appointing Mowbray, he had plenty of credit. By Calderwood, it was clear he really didn't know what he was doing.

CB Hibs 68
04-02-2024, 06:28 PM

We can’t sack the lot of them, even if they do all need to go?!Difficult to argue against what you are saying so I want.I think right now the main issue is our manager.Out of his depth totally inflexible and utterly lacking in charisma..Hope I am wrong in this cos I want him to be successful but like the vast majority of fans I have been speaking to over the last 24 hrs there is no support for Montgomery .He has to go for the sake of the club.

04-02-2024, 06:29 PM
I think it needs to be added that he should have done it about three managers earlier. After appointing Mowbray, he had plenty of credit. By Calderwood, it was clear he really didn't know what he was doing.

Absolutely.

I'm not the man to go to if you want a full rehabilitation of Rod Petrie. However he did belatedly realise his own shortcomings (and tbf I think he announced he would have no involvement in picking a manager at another point in time as well, may have been Fenlon?)

If Montgomery does end up being another bad appointment, which hardly looks outside the realms of possibility, it will be interesting to see who takes the lead on the next appointment because it's one we really don't want to get wrong with the money we may well have available.

The Tubs
04-02-2024, 06:32 PM
Absolutely.

I'm not the man to go to if you want a full rehabilitation of Rod Petrie. However he did belatedly realise his own shortcomings (and tbf I think he announced he would have no involvement in picking a manager at another point in time as well, may have been Fenlon?)

If Montgomery does end up being another bad appointment, which hardly looks outside the realms of possibility, it will be interesting to see who takes the lead on the next appointment because it's one we really don't want to get wrong with the money we may well have available.

I didn't know that about Fenlon. I'd thought he did them all from Sauzeé to B******r.

04-02-2024, 06:34 PM
It’s also not a great financial result if expenses increase by more than the turnover increases.

Depends on the reasons behind it e.g. a lot was spent upgrading hospitality but we'll only begin to see the benefit coming through from the subsequent financial year onwards.

TrinityHFC
04-02-2024, 06:46 PM

Not really. We don’t exist to make profit so increasing our spending in line with our revenue is what we are after. We may also have investments in there to create future revenue. All depends if you need to borrow money to cover any difference and if so at what cost against what you budget on bringing in through the investment.

04-02-2024, 06:57 PM
When did he come in? Is his football record sackable? 5th last season (in line with budget but short of the 4th goal by the smallest of margins). Europe. A cup semi already this season. 3rd and a final and a semi final with Ross.

Edit: and FWIW, I’ve never met him, had one phone conversation with him after i emailed to complain about the club saying and doing nothing about Rangers fans’ sectarianism.

What did he say about it? Out of interest?

Rob
04-02-2024, 06:59 PM
Ha, I made the same misinterpretation as the poster you replied to. If I had to challenge you on one point, it's that if Hearts were advising us on managerial appointments, I doubt they could have come up with a worse trifecta of numpties we managed to identify ourselves.

04-02-2024, 07:12 PM
What did he say about it? Out of interest?

I’ll PM you.

04-02-2024, 07:15 PM
I’ll PM you.

I'd like to know too, please. 👍

05-02-2024, 08:26 AM

Just to correct this - he wasn’t here when we finished third, so that can be scored off the list.

Slim Shady
05-02-2024, 08:55 AM

All this comment does is shows how out of touch you are with your club....

05-02-2024, 07:03 PM
Ian Gordon is based here and is around the Club most days according to someone I know who works for the club administration - he’s as hands on as you could be. The whole family were here at Christmas. What do you know that makes you think the family don’t want to run the club?

Don’t think it’s in question that the Gordon’s don’t want to own the club. If they didn’t they would have sold it by now. It’s more that they don’t seem to know how to run the football side of things that’s the real worry to me. We’ve spent some big money on transfer fees and not one of them looks value for money.

06-02-2024, 01:32 PM
Based on what? A CEO isn't on the pitch playing. Money isn't an issue just now, how it's spent on the footballing side is. BK has been very good for Hibs commercially. People on here moaned about a DOF they got that(one with ex EPL experience) and they still moan about BK. There's a bit of a witchhunt with this guy for some reason.

folks with Perma tans and white teeth seem to get a bad rap.

06-02-2024, 01:36 PM
All this comment does is shows how out of touch you are with your club....

Yup unless referring to Boris or Jambos the use of the word “clown” tends to say more of the person using the word and their sloppy analysis than the person they’ve levelled it at.

Saint Hibee
06-02-2024, 01:48 PM
Is he worth £326,818 a year?

06-02-2024, 01:55 PM
320k salary and 25k pension contribution😳 I appreciate that there has certainly been a far bigger focus on driving commercial revenue during his tenure, and for that, he has been successful. However, continuing the path we’ve been on over the past few years and this will be offset against lower prize money, season ticket sales reducing etc. The key income driver will be success on the pitch, as so clearer outlined within the accounts, the financial consequences of poor seasons. On that basis, when reviewing his performance, he is currently failing….the buck stops with him. And at a package of 350k per annum he’d better hope the football improves, and sharpish, or he’ll be away along with Montgomery and McDermott!

I’ve no doubt the Gordon family have had enough to contend with over the past year to add to potential stress by looking for another CEO. Perhaps it will take a 3rd party with less emotional attachment to the individuals involved to help drive strategy going forward. I can’t see Bill Foley putting up with such mediocre under performance from an entity he has invested in.

06-02-2024, 02:01 PM
Is he worth £326,818 a year?

Rhetorical question?

06-02-2024, 02:20 PM
His salary really is hard to stomach.

06-02-2024, 02:25 PM
Tanz on Leith Walks takings must be through the roof

****ing outrageous.

Hibee Daft
06-02-2024, 02:29 PM
6k a week? Genuinely mental... maybe 1/3 of that for a club our size

Greenio
06-02-2024, 02:30 PM
Is it in line with market rate? If so, don't see the issue. Well, I do, but that's capitalism for you

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 02:42 PM
Tanz on Leith Walks takings must be through the roof

****ing outrageous.

I read on twitter hibs pay for them as part of his remuneration package. Thought ld share what l read .

06-02-2024, 02:46 PM
Is it in line with market rate? If so, don't see the issue. Well, I do, but that's capitalism for you

Is there any way to investigate that?

Seems an enormous amount of money to be paying someone.

Nearly a grand a day and one major aspect of his remit has been a near complete failure.

HibsGW
06-02-2024, 03:15 PM
Is there any way to investigate that?

Seems an enormous amount of money to be paying someone.

Nearly a grand a day and one major aspect of his remit has been a near complete failure.

Not saying it’s right but plenty of the players will be paid 6k a week and are also completely failing on their remit.

06-02-2024, 03:21 PM
Not saying it’s right but plenty of the players will be paid 6k a week and are also completely failing on their remit.

That’s true.

They can be moved on ofc.

Someone else has put in the chat the renumeration packages that Hearts and Aberdeen give their board, ours are a lot higher.

The players being on £6K a week is in line with the sheep etc.

But it seems the CEO’s wages are not.

06-02-2024, 03:27 PM
Kensall should be falling on his sword after those accounts. Embarassing.

06-02-2024, 03:36 PM
Kensall should be falling on his sword after those accounts. Embarassing.

A red face doesn’t show thru fake tan

06-02-2024, 03:46 PM
There’s really no justification for him to be on the wage that he is.

06-02-2024, 04:11 PM
320k salary and 25k pension contribution😳 I appreciate that there has certainly been a far bigger focus on driving commercial revenue during his tenure, and for that, he has been successful. However, continuing the path we’ve been on over the past few years and this will be offset against lower prize money, season ticket sales reducing etc. The key income driver will be success on the pitch, as so clearer outlined within the accounts, the financial consequences of poor seasons. On that basis, when reviewing his performance, he is currently failing….the buck stops with him. And at a package of 350k per annum he’d better hope the football improves, and sharpish, or he’ll be away along with Montgomery and McDermott!

I’ve no doubt the Gordon family have had enough to contend with over the past year to add to potential stress by looking for another CEO. Perhaps it will take a 3rd party with less emotional attachment to the individuals involved to help drive strategy going forward. I can’t see Bill Foley putting up with such mediocre under performance from an entity he has invested in.

Wait, what? £345,000 a year? That's about £6,500 a week.

This cannot be right. How many players do we have on that salary?

06-02-2024, 04:12 PM
There’s really no justification for him to be on the wage that he is.

It’s staggering for a club like us

Get him to ****.

06-02-2024, 04:27 PM
That’s true.

They can be moved on ofc.

Someone else has put in the chat the renumeration packages that Hearts and Aberdeen give their board, ours are a lot higher.

The players being on £6K a week is in line with the sheep etc.

But it seems the CEO’s wages are not.

If that's the case then we've ****ed up royally. It never ceases to amaze me the salaries some of these senior guys end up on, whilst failing in a number of key areas.

There is absolutely no way we are getting value for money on this and big questions about those running the club if they are comfortable with giving him that salary on current performance.

Bridge hibs
06-02-2024, 04:46 PM
Miserable ******* BK is, I bought him a couple of drinks as I always do when we meet up in the Pioneers but he forgot to buy me a drink back, he is in for a shock when I up my prices for doing his daily laundry and housework 😡

06-02-2024, 04:53 PM
It’s staggering for a club like us

Get him to ****.

It’s galling to know that there will be people in the stands working one, two, or three jobs and scraping together the money to head to a game, and other than turnover so much at the club is in not a good place and he gets that salary.

Hibees1973
06-02-2024, 05:00 PM
Aye, but Ben is great at marketing and raising revenue streams.

From what I've heard his paws have been all over the recruitment of managers and in some cases players. Ian Gordon does have an excuse, he sells wine, but he has been incredibly naive and negligent to allow Kensell so much power and influence in the club.

Total failure on the park, a conveyer belt of managers and players and now these accounts.

Imposter and should be fired as CEO.

I keep hearing, but The Gordons mean well.

Pffft.

06-02-2024, 05:12 PM
£6,000 a week is obscene money.

06-02-2024, 05:14 PM
Wait, what? £345,000 a year? That's about £6,500 a week.

This cannot be right. How many players do we have on that salary?

£15-16k a month after tax and national insurance. Incredible money for the shambles he has overseen on the park.

06-02-2024, 05:29 PM
It’s time for him to bolt.

The ****ing cheek of it giving himself a raise on top of his already over inflated salary when he’s overseen the shambles on the pitch.

How’s this being allowed to happen!?

Hibees1973
06-02-2024, 05:32 PM
Miserable ******* BK is, I bought him a couple of drinks as I always do when we meet up in the Pioneers but he forgot to buy me a drink back, he is in for a shock when I up my prices for doing his daily laundry and housework 😡

Doubt you will see him cruising around the Pioneers room tomorrow night.

06-02-2024, 05:33 PM

The ****ing cheek of it giving himself a raise on top of his already over inflated salary when he’s overseen the shambles on the pitch.

How’s this being allowed to happen!?Not quite sure Ben will be in charge of his own salary, bonus and potential salary increases

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

06-02-2024, 05:33 PM
£6,000 a week is obscene money.

It really is.

06-02-2024, 05:34 PM

How’s this being allowed to happen!?

He doesn't "give himself" anything. The remuneration committee oversee any changes to his salary.

Those changes will be based on his contract, which probably none of us have seen, and the KPI's in it that he has or hasn't achieved.

He's been on similar salary levels since he's been here, by the way.

06-02-2024, 05:38 PM
He doesn't "give himself" anything. The remuneration committee oversee any changes to his salary.

Those changes will be based on his contract, which probably none of us have seen, and the KPI's in it that he has or hasn't achieved.

He's been on similar salary levels since he's been here, by the way.Without joining the pile on it is interesting to see the discrepancy between us and Aberdeen for example when it comes to the package for the equivalent (if the values are correct)

I doubt Hibs are just paying double the market rate, so I wonder what the justification is

06-02-2024, 06:07 PM
His salary is double what the Prime Minister earns.

He's probably doing a better job than the PM right enough but it does highlight it's an incredible amount of money.

I'm guessing salary will be, and before anyone asks this is a complete guess, about 3 times what a first team player earns. Is that right? I'm not sure.

Sergio sledge
06-02-2024, 06:20 PM
To be fair to him, he got an 8% pay rise, the CPI inflation rate in the 12 months to June 2022 (so presumably when pay increases are decided) was 9.4%, so some could argue it’s a slight pay cut compared to how much the cost of living rose.

I was fortunate enough to get a similar percentage pay rise at the same time and it was barely noticeable because it got swallowed up by energy and food cost increases.

Would still like to see some justification as to why he’s earning double (roughly) what his equivalents at Hearts and Aberdeen are earning.

Chorley Hibee
06-02-2024, 06:25 PM
Without joining the pile on it is interesting to see the discrepancy between us and Aberdeen for example when it comes to the package for the equivalent (if the values are correct)

I doubt Hibs are just paying double the market rate, so I wonder what the justification is

What's also interesting to me is that when positions at Hibs have been advertised, they often pay well below what would be the market rate.

No such issues with Kensall's renumeration though.

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 06:31 PM
I understand Bens three year period, when he wasn’t allowed to work in England, will end in summer . I wouldn’t be suprised if Ben heads back to England and pick up a bigger slary.

06-02-2024, 06:51 PM
I understand Bens three year period, when he wasn’t allowed to work in England, will end in summer . I wouldn’t be suprised if Ben heads back to England and pick up a bigger slary.

Why would he not be allowed to work in England for 3 years?

06-02-2024, 06:55 PM
Absolutely obscene that the equivalent of NINE HUNDRED season ticket sales pay for Kensell's salary.

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 06:59 PM
Why would he not be allowed to work in England for 3 years?

Part of severance deal when leaving Norwich

06-02-2024, 07:01 PM
Part of severance deal when leaving Norwich

Is that even legal? A company can stop you working anywhere in the country you were born in for 3 years?

I've never heard of anything like that before.

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 07:02 PM
Is that even legal? A company can stop you working anywhere in the country you were born in for 3 years?

Common for these type of things to happen in various industries.

06-02-2024, 07:04 PM
Common for these type of things to happen in various industries.

I've heard of clauses not permitting you for working with what is deemed a direct competitor but never precluding someone from working anywhere at all in the country for years afterwards.

Highly doubt that would stand up in court.

Non-compete clauses have been around for many years. Signed a couple myself though that was a while back now.

Just_Jimmy
I understand Bens three year period, when he wasn’t allowed to work in England, will end in summer . I wouldn’t be suprised if Ben heads back to England and pick up a bigger slary.I'll drive him. Won't even take fuel money, since he's so skint.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

06-02-2024, 07:05 PM
Non-compete clauses have been around for many years. Signed a couple myself though that was a while back now.

See my post above.

06-02-2024, 07:07 PM
See my post above.
See the times of our posts :greengrin

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 07:07 PM
I've heard of clauses not permitting you for working with what is deemed a direct competitor but never precluding someone from working anywhere at all in the country for years afterwards.

Highly doubt that would stand up in court.

Relax

Donegal Hibby
06-02-2024, 07:08 PM
I'll drive him. Won't even take fuel money, since he's so skint.

I'll pay for the fuel !

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 07:09 PM
I'll drive him. Won't even take fuel money, since he's so skint.

Nice touch

06-02-2024, 07:10 PM
Relax

Did you mean to say not permitting him for working with a competitor rather than in England?

I'm relaxed just trying to figure out exactly what you are claiming was in his severance deal. If you worded it incorrectly or didn't understand it, that's perfectly fine..

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 07:13 PM
Did you mean to say not permitting him for working with a competitor rather than in England?

I'm relaxed just trying to figure out exactly what you are claiming was in his severance deal. If you worded it incorrectly or didn't understand it, that's perfectly fine..

English football. I’m sharing want Ben shared in the pub pre season Portugal

06-02-2024, 07:17 PM
What's also interesting to me is that when positions at Hibs have been advertised, they often pay well below what would be the market rate.

No such issues with Kensall's renumeration though.This is a great point, reeks of a poor culture from the top (not strictly unique to Hibs but still)

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

06-02-2024, 07:21 PM

Yep. They were offering 30 grand a year for a fully qualified sparky 😂😂😂😂😂

Ok for Kensell to ‘earn’ over 10 times that.

jakeshibs
06-02-2024, 07:23 PM
LEAVE. This charlatan has to go. He should be no where near a CEO level of anything, never mind one of the biggest clubs in Scotland. The damage he has done to our football club is incredible. I don’t trust the Foley deal purely because he supports it. An absolute fool.

no one else would invest in our club

mcohibs
06-02-2024, 07:43 PM
Yep. They were offering 30 grand a year for a fully qualified sparky 😂😂😂😂😂

Griffiths is 33 to be fair, not sure we should be breaking the bank for him.

Donegal Hibby
06-02-2024, 07:48 PM
Griffiths is 33 to be fair, not sure we should be breaking the bank for him.

Haymaker would disagree with you I think 😂

06-02-2024, 08:31 PM

Is he going to pick up an even bigger salary than that which he picks up already?
My mate reckons the English champ pay about 50-100K less for his position.

I asked him where he got it but he never provided the source so could be rubbish.

06-02-2024, 08:32 PM

That certainly sticks in the craw.

06-02-2024, 08:34 PM
English football. I’m sharing want Ben shared in the pub pre season Portugal

So he could go back to any other job in England. His skills clearly aren’t football so I doubt he’s holding off for a 3 year sentence. 😂

06-02-2024, 08:34 PM
Is he going to pick up an even bigger salary than that which he picks up already?
My mate reckons the English champ pay about 50-100K less for his position.

I asked him where he got it but he never provided the source so could be rubbish.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240206/5db9aeee6917945d75cc254b60806ef1.jpg

This is 4 years old so it’s safe to say that figure is now considerably higher.

06-02-2024, 08:36 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240206/5db9aeee6917945d75cc254b60806ef1.jpg

This is 4 years old so it’s safe to say that figure is now considerably higher.

Fair enough. I wonder if there is any more info out there?

It did seem unrealistic but it’s good to discuss these things at the least.

Chipper1875
06-02-2024, 08:38 PM
So he could go back to any other job in England. His skills clearly aren’t football so I doubt he’s holding off for a 3 year sentence. 😂

I’ve not got a clue what you’re talking about

06-02-2024, 08:41 PM
I’ve not got a clue what you’re talking about

You said he was staying here for 3 years due to a contract requirement with his old club. I’m pointing out that’s not going to stop him going anywhere. He will
be heading abroad soon enough. The Knights will have other roles for him.

The Baldmans Comb
07-02-2024, 04:24 AM
£350,000 at a club the size of Hibs in the Scottish Premier League.🤣🤣.

Kensall and his army of English mates in the directors corporate must be creasing themselves.🤣

Ever felt like you were being played.🥳

Yorkshire HFC
07-02-2024, 04:57 AM
Absolutely obscene that the equivalent of NINE HUNDRED season ticket sales pay for Kensell's salary.

I don't think it's worth getting upset about what someone else earns - that's just life. Good for him if he could negotiate a good deal for himself.

07-02-2024, 05:31 AM
I don't think it's worth getting upset about what someone else earns - that's just life. Good for him if he could negotiate a good deal for himself.

When it could pay a decent wedge for a players salary then yes it is worth questioning.

And when it’s considerably more than his counter parts.

Bridge hibs
07-02-2024, 05:33 AM
I don't think it's worth getting upset about what someone else earns - that's just life. Good for him if he could negotiate a good deal for himself.Yeah a lot of teeth gnashing on here, I couldn't give a **** what he or anyone else earns at hibs and Im not going to get all angry and shout and scream on here about it, Im more interested in getting that bunch of players gelling and getting some points on the board, hibs performances hurt me more

07-02-2024, 05:37 AM
Yeah a lot of teeth gnashing on here, I couldn't give a **** what he or anyone else earns at hibs and Im not going to get all angry and shout and scream on here about it, Im more interested in getting that bunch of players gelling and getting some points on the board, hibs performances hurt me more

Because the two things are linked.

If you are paying absolute top dollar for a CEO, much higher than clubs who are deemed our main competitors yet actually have higher revenue a than us, then that CEO is expected to get things right when it comes to the most important side, the footballing part.

Nobody would care what he earned if we were sitting third, but we ain't we are bottom 6 so the club that he runs on a daily basis is failing. That is why the money he is paid is under scrutiny.

Stairway 2 7
07-02-2024, 05:52 AM

If you are paying absolute top dollar for a CEO, much higher than clubs who are deemed our main competitors yet actually have higher revenue a than us, then that CEO is expected to get things right when it comes to the most important side, the footballing part.

Nobody would care what he earned if we were sitting third, but we ain't we are bottom 6 so the club that he runs on a daily basis is failing. That is why the money he is paid is under scrutiny.

I reckon hibs and Hearts will both have about £15 Million income this year, Aberdeen had that last year but will be more this due to group football. The only difference is Hearts are getting £5 mil from Anderson and £2 mil from their fans. We would never be able to match that gap organically. If Kensell has been instrumental in getting Folley to come in and plug that gap he will be worth the money. Everything is riding on that delivering. It's a shame yet another manager has failed as he has been backed but I'll give it until the summer as I've heard it'll be the biggest change in squad in years and quite exciting

Bridge hibs
07-02-2024, 06:07 AM

Nobody would care what he earned if we were sitting third, but we ain't we are bottom 6 so the club that he runs on a daily basis is failing. That is why the money he is paid is under scrutiny.Yeah and I get all that however its no secret BK and others were on big salaries and its been exacerbated by recent reports of his wage rise, prior to that we heard very little other than criticism of his role

Correct also that if we were 3rd then this subject would probably have been more muted but the correlation between his own role/performances and salary has had an impact on Montgomerys management/signings and onfield performances and has rightly pissed off a lot of fans, especially since we pay a lot of our hard earned cash into the club

However Im still not going to get all het up and angry about it and being all shouty on here wont change things, they board could all run around Arthurs Seat naked wearing traffic cones on their heads for all I care, I just want a decent performance and a bit of passion on the pitch

07-02-2024, 06:12 AM
I reckon hibs and Hearts will both have about £15 Million income this year, Aberdeen had that last year but will be more this due to group football. The only difference is Hearts are getting £5 mil from Anderson and £2 mil from their fans. We would never be able to match that gap organically. If Kensell has been instrumental in getting Folley to come in and plug that gap he will be worth the money. Everything is riding on that delivering. It's a shame yet another manager has failed as he has been backed but I'll give it until the summer as I've heard it'll be the biggest change in squad in years and quite exciting

Even if we say the revenue between us Hearts and Aberdeen is narrowing he's still paid double what his equivalent at those clubs are.

I can't see any justification for his level of salary when you compare how poorly the footballing side has performed in his time with us.

07-02-2024, 06:13 AM
they board could all run around Arthurs Seat naked wearing traffic cones on their heads for all I care, I just want a decent performance and a bit of passion on the pitch

That's a great idea, give them a forfeit if we don't finish top six. We might just become more successful that way.

07-02-2024, 06:38 AM
Even if we say the revenue between us Hearts and Aberdeen is narrowing he's still paid double what his equivalent at those clubs are.

I can't see any justification for his level of salary when you compare how poorly the footballing side has performed in his time with us.

He's just about doubled our income since joining the club, i'd say it's money well spent.

The football could be better, but the man has done an amazing job in bringing money in, and that is about to go through the roof soon, with the plan to make us 3rd best regularly if they get that right.

07-02-2024, 06:48 AM
He's just about doubled our income since joining the club, i'd say it's money well spent.

The football could be better, but the man has done an amazing job in bringing money in, and that is about to go through the roof soon, with the plan to make us 3rd best regularly if they get that right.

Great. We can all enjoy the premium prices in the hospitality areas whilst languishing in the bottom 6 whilst Herts enjoy another season of group stage European football.

Pioneers looks brilliant though.

07-02-2024, 06:49 AM

Tbh mate, I’m not sure if we were sitting in third comfy like Hearts are that his wage would be justified.

To be on double what the others are on is madness.

I wonder what Celtic and Rangers pay theirs?

07-02-2024, 06:51 AM

So that justifies more than double what the others are on?

I’ve just asked this, but I wonder what Celtic and Rangers’ CEO’s are on.

He is making an absolute stealing with that wage.

He’s also failing miserably where it matters for 99% of the people that support the club.

He has absolutely identified areas to increase the cash flow but another one is on the pitch, and he has failed there.

Bridge hibs
07-02-2024, 06:52 AM
Great. We can all enjoy the premium prices in the hospitality areas whilst languishing in the bottom 6 whilst Herts enjoy another season of group stage European football.

Pioneers looks brilliant though.Have you been in the Pioneers ?

07-02-2024, 07:04 AM
So that justifies more than double what the others are on?

I’ve just asked this, but I wonder what Celtic and Rangers’ CEO’s are on.

He is making an absolute stealing with that wage.

He’s also failing miserably where it matters for 99% of the people that support the club.

He has absolutely identified areas to increase the cash flow but another one is on the pitch, and he has failed there.

I think both CEO at Sevco and Celtic are on £750k. When you consider they are running a far larger business, in Celtic's case a business turning over in excess of £100 million the salary to turnover percentage is far lower.

BK's salary as a percentage of business turnover is likely to be the highest in the league. People can make their own decision on whether or not that's justified.

07-02-2024, 07:05 AM

The football could be better, but the man has done an amazing job in bringing money in, and that is about to go through the roof soon, with the plan to make us 3rd best regularly if they get that right.Genuine question, what are the facts behind him doubling our revenue?

I saw a poster earlier referencing figures from 2018 and the most recent year and it wasn't close to double, more like a 10% increase in revenue.

Not being wide, just genuinely trying to get the facts.

07-02-2024, 07:07 AM
I think both CEO at Sevco and Celtic are on £750k. When you consider they are running a far larger business, in Celtic's case a business turning over in excess of £100 million the salary to turnover percentage is far lower.

BK's salary as a percentage of business turnover is likely to be the highest in the league. People can make their own decision on whether or not that's justified.Folk are shouting and screaming about it without having a clue what (if any) variances they are to what Ben does

I'd be very surprised if his remit is identical to a job with a market rate of £150k

It's something I'd like to know or understand though - and it's a legitimate question to ask

Not sure why some get so angry over it to be honest - makes me slightly uncomfortable

07-02-2024, 07:11 AM

BK's salary as a percentage of business turnover is likely to be the highest in the league. People can make their own decision on whether or not that's justified.

I’ve just had a look.

As per latest accounts:

Celtic’s CEO is on £750K but they bring in 10 times more revenue than us. So if he was paid at a rate that BK is, he’d be on what £3.2-3.5M?

Rangers highest paid director was paid £350K. Their revenue was 6.5 times what ours is. So again, if he was paid at the same rate as BK he’d be on £2.3M.

As you said, per turnover BK is undoubtedly on the highest salary in the league.

For me, he’s not justified that at all. In fact, for the wages (set against turnover) he receives, we should be sweeping up domestically, but that’s my opinion.

As a percentage of revenue the wages of the CEO’s are:
Hibs 2.9%
Celtic 0.6%
Rangers 0.4%

07-02-2024, 07:36 AM
I'm quite surprised at his salary. All the roles you see advertised by Hibs over the last few years look to pay an absolute pittance for what's involved. For example there was one looking for a permanent full time electrician (im sure) and the salary was something like £25k a year. I suppose the person at the top will always earn more but we don't look like very good payers in general.

Edit - it was actually £32k but some of the other ones are *****. Link below.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/vacancies-join-the-team-at-hibs

07-02-2024, 07:56 AM

Pioneers looks brilliant though.

Who's telling you to pay for hospitality? I suppose we could sack him and not do any of the good work he's done in raising revenue and try and compete with an £8m turnover.

SickBoy32
07-02-2024, 08:03 AM

Kensell joined the club in summer 2019.

Our accounts to June 19’ show a top level turnover of £10.8m

Our latest accounts to June 23’ show turnover of £12.3m

He has not nearly doubled our turnover, it has increased by 14% - and expenditure looks out of control.

Whilst it’s probably fair to say our commercial income has risen by slightly more than 14% in this 3 year period, as CEO he is responsible for the running of the entire club. Diminishing prize money is on him too, as he continues to lurch from one footballing disaster to the next.

Guy needs emptied pronto

07-02-2024, 08:32 AM

He has not nearly doubled our turnover, it has increased by 14% - and expenditure looks out of control.

Whilst it’s probably fair to say our commercial income has risen by slightly more than 14% in this 3 year period, as CEO he is responsible for the running of the entire club. Diminishing prize money is on him too, as he continues to lurch from one footballing disaster to the next.

Guy needs emptied pronto

That's that particular claim blown out the water then.

07-02-2024, 08:34 AM

Guy needs emptied prontoIt's a pretty one sided view

I believe kensell always wanted a DoF in place but was overruled in that

They admitted there errors and we now have a more sensible structure in the football side

You surely don't lay all the blame for our current poor form at the feet of the CEO do you?

This think we appointed him July 2021? So has had 21/22 and 22/23 seasons with this one being his 3rd
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240207/fc26a8822241cd3cc007f4892ed9e877.jpg

07-02-2024, 08:35 AM
All seems unnecessarily personal.

SickBoy32
07-02-2024, 08:42 AM
It's a pretty one sided view

They admitted there errors and we now have a more sensible structure in the football side

You surely don't lay all the blame for our current poor form at the feet of the CEO do you?

This think we appointed him July 2021? So has had 21/22 and 22/23 seasons with this one being his 3rd

Yeah you’re right - it was summer 2021 that Kensell arrived rather than 2019 that I’d mentioned in my previous post.

I lay most of the blame at his door aye, he runs the club so must surely be held responsible for it?

This is now our 3rd ***** season on the bounce under his watch, after Kensell and the Gordons dismantled the previous footballing setup which had us finish 3rd and be regulars in cup finals.

His salary being double our direct competitors is bizarre as well, potentially shows a naivety on the owners part IMO.

07-02-2024, 08:43 AM
All seems unnecessarily personal.

As far as I can see the vast majority of the posts are not personal in the slightest. Posters are discussing whether we are getting value for money from an extremely well paid CEO, his salary is public knowledge and therefore open to discussion.

Asking whether a CEO is performing to a level consummate with their performance is not personal. It goes with the territory with these type of roles.

07-02-2024, 08:55 AM

Guy needs emptied pronto

To be fair to him the turnovers from seasons 18/19 through to 21/22 probably include a lot of competition money from the semi-finals/finals we managed to get to. But last year was an unmitigated disaster on the park cup wise and to still have the turnover rise by the amount it has without that additional money maybe means commercial stuff has gotten a lot better?

Scotty Leither
07-02-2024, 08:57 AM
It's a pretty one sided view

What “structure” is there to the football side?

We just had another transfer window where the glaring deficiencies in defence were ignored again, and we still have a lightweight team with shrinking violets all over the park.

He wields far too much power for my liking, and I suspect any manager with an ounce of forceful personality will never get near the hotseat while the bold Benny boy is in charge.

07-02-2024, 08:59 AM
To be fair to him the turnovers from seasons 18/19 through to 21/22 probably include a lot of competition money from the semi-finals/finals we managed to get to. But last year was an unmitigated disaster on the park cup wise and to still have the turnover rise by the amount it has without that additional money maybe means commercial stuff has gotten a lot better?

It continues to improve.

It wouldn't surprise me if this season's turnover is similar to Hearts'.

07-02-2024, 09:02 AM

We just had another transfer window where the glaring deficiencies in defence were ignored again, and we still have a lightweight team with shrinking violets all over the park.

He wields far too much power for my liking, and I suspect any manager with an ounce of forceful personality will never get near the hotseat while the bold Benny boy is in charge.

What has he done specifically to show he wields far too much power?

07-02-2024, 09:04 AM

He wields far too much power for my liking, and I suspect any manager with an ounce of forceful personality will never get near the hotseat while the bold Benny boy is in charge.How does our structure now differ from say, hearts?

I'm sure in December we were fourth and looking likely to go above hearts - I don't remember my posts then about structure

Since then of course on the park we have had a horrendous run of results - I don't see how that's all Ben Kensells fault though

SickBoy32
07-02-2024, 09:07 AM

I’d mentioned that in my earlier post, that prize money will have taken a big hit from previous accounts, so the commercial side likely is performing well.

However, the sporting performance is (or should be!) a major part of his remit. He has failed spectacularly on that front, with what looks like 3 poor managerial appointments.

07-02-2024, 09:09 AM

Guy needs emptied pronto

My mistake, i thought we were around £8m ish when he arrived and the next accounts are supposed to say around £15m

Stairway 2 7
07-02-2024, 09:09 AM
We are definitely estimating the revenue to be above £15 million this year. If so he's increased turnover by roughly 50%. Is an extra £5 million per year worth his high wages, probably if we are thinking in terms of him bringing extra income but probably not in a footballing sense.

We can quote other teams incomes but have their CEO's presided over such a level of income growth. Kensell gets paid the same as the championship average in England for a CEO I'd guess with our financial growth in difficult times that he'd be able to get a job their. I'll probably wait to see how it goes with Folley before I judge Kensell

07-02-2024, 09:19 AM
I'm quite surprised at his salary. All the roles you see advertised by Hibs over the last few years look to pay an absolute pittance for what's involved. For example there was one looking for a permanent full time electrician (im sure) and the salary was something like £25k a year. I suppose the person at the top will always earn more but we don't look like very good payers in general.

Edit - it was actually £32k but some of the other ones are *****. Link below.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/vacancies-join-the-team-at-hibs

You can't compare an electrician salary to that of Kensall who runs a football club, that's just silly.

07-02-2024, 09:20 AM
Who decides his salary ??

Does feel like he’s untouchable and has a lot of influence.
Also feels like before we know it he will leave Hibs and I guarantee the next person won’t be paid anywhere near the money he gets.

07-02-2024, 09:27 AM
You can't compare an electrician salary to that of Kensall who runs a football club, that's just silly.

If you read my whole post i wasn't comparing them. I said we are poor payers in general on the non football side.

07-02-2024, 09:28 AM
If you read my whole post i wasn't comparing them.

There was clearly an allusion between the two in your post or why mention the sparky?

07-02-2024, 09:29 AM
As CEO, BK will have a wide remit. He's been successful in developing the club's commercial activities but has clearly failed sorting out the football side ever since came into post. 2 failed managerial appointments and in all likelihood a 3rd to follow, does not make good reading . Manager's severence pays alone will not have been unsubstantial and will have impacted significantly to our operating loss.

In appointing McDermott, BK clearly acknowledged he and the club were not getting the football activities right. In truth however, there is no indication anything has improved since McDermott came into post. Results and performances have actually deteriorated since LJ left which seemed impossible.

With ST renewals coming up, the next few results will be crucial for the club, as at present supporters are becoming increasingly disillusioned. You've got to think Foley will be exerting some influence in the months ahead to make sure his investment isn't p1ssed up against the wall.

07-02-2024, 09:31 AM
There was clearly an allusion between the two in your post or why mention the sparky?

The guy running the football club will always earn a lot more as i said in my post. My point was we are poor payers in general so i am surprised Kensells salary is so astronomically high.

07-02-2024, 09:35 AM
I think we can say, in general terms, under Dempsey, the footballing side was rebuilt from a very low ebb, but the commercial side of things was very poor, multiple years without sponsors etc.

Under the Gordon’s, the commercial side seems to have been rebuilt from an almost comparable very low ebb, which is great, but the footballing side doesn’t seem to be progressing. Managers have been backed, probably more than any since McLeish, but it’s not led to any uptick in success.

Though I suppose you can argue, we’ve got maybe the 5th highest budget, so while we’re not massively underperforming that, we’re not punching above it either.

From that, whoever at the club has been doing the commercial stuff deserves credit, the footballing department much less so. Hard to be certain what involvement the CEO has day to day, but ultimately the buck stops with him, he has to own it, he will have ultimately signed off on Brian and Nick, for example. If he’s ‘just’ a commercial guy then he shouldn’t be CEO.

I think the ideal outcome at this point would be to leave the Gordon’s etc in charge of the business side, where they’ve done well, and have Black Knight bring in a new head of football operations to clean house.

07-02-2024, 09:37 AM

Also feels like before we know it he will leave Hibs and I guarantee the next person won’t be paid anywhere near the money he gets.

The Remuneration Committee, which is made up of non-executive directors.

They will refer to his contract, and the KPI's and bonus structure in that.

07-02-2024, 11:33 AM
The guy running the football club will always earn a lot more as i said in my post. My point was we are poor payers in general so i am surprised Kensells salary is so astronomically high.

Who are we paying badly?

Chipper1875
07-02-2024, 11:33 AM
The Remuneration Committee, which is made up of non-executive directors.

They will refer to his contract, and the KPI's and bonus structure in that.

They should also benchmarking against comparable roles in the sector. Which appears they aren’t.

07-02-2024, 12:01 PM

He is the CEO he should have influence

07-02-2024, 12:03 PM

Is it astronomically high?

07-02-2024, 12:14 PM

Nothing that I can see tbh.

I actually did have concerns that IG, BK and LJ may have been a bit matesy and that it would cause problems if we needed to dispense with LJ. That proved very much not to be the case.

Could IG be similarly ruthless with BK if he felt he wasn’t providing value for his salary? Dunno.

I strongly suspect he’ll be off at the earliest opportunity anyway so it’s something of a moot point.

07-02-2024, 12:26 PM
Is it astronomically high?

Isn’t £300,000 plus a high salary? Especially compared to his hearts and Aberdeen counterparts who are on about half that.

07-02-2024, 12:26 PM

He is another one of those English folks who don't "get us" don't you know...

07-02-2024, 12:27 PM
Who are we paying badly?

We have been offering peanuts for various jobs, there’s been threads on it in the past.

07-02-2024, 12:34 PM
We have been offering peanuts for various jobs, there’s been threads on it in the past.

So no actual proof we are paying anyone badly! Just a suggestion we have advertised some jobs at what some people consider below the going rate?

GreenPJ
07-02-2024, 12:34 PM
As CEO, BK will have a wide remit. He's been successful in developing the club's commercial activities but has clearly failed sorting out the football side ever since came into post. 2 failed managerial appointments and in all likelihood a 3rd to follow, does not make good reading . Manager's severence pays alone will not have been unsubstantial and will have impacted significantly to our operating loss.

In appointing McDermott, BK clearly acknowledged he and the club were not getting the football activities right. In truth however, there is no indication anything has improved since McDermott came into post. Results and performances have actually deteriorated since LJ left which seemed impossible.

With ST renewals coming up, the next few results will be crucial for the club, as at present supporters are becoming increasingly disillusioned. You've got to think Foley will be exerting some influence in the months ahead to make sure his investment isn't p1ssed up against the wall.

I think this is a very valid point. There was an acknowledgement that BK/The Gordon's were not the best people to be taking strategic/tactical decisions around the footballing side of the business and so they brought in McDermott. I am not entirely sure what remit he was given but as a Director of Football you would suspect that he is overseeing all of the footballing structure and personnel and helping the coaching staff set footballing strategy across the footballing groups as well as driving recruitment activity in conjunction with the first team manager.

To me this is where the spotlight should be shining in terms of the question of value for money. I am not saying he isn't adding value or hasn't been a benefit, however, its at times like these where the team and coaching team are struggling then you would want to see some guidance and leadership coming from the DoF.

Stairway 2 7
07-02-2024, 12:50 PM
Isn’t £300,000 plus a high salary? Especially compared to his hearts and Aberdeen counterparts who are on about half that.

Have they increased turnover by 50% in 5 years, maybe hearts and Aberdeen should pay more. The other side is it needs to happen on the field but I think they should be two very separate jobs. The finance side increasing income is going very well, we need someone overseeing football matters

07-02-2024, 12:52 PM

Seems high maybe that includes bonuses

Paulie Walnuts
07-02-2024, 12:53 PM
Have they increased turnover by 50% in 5 years, maybe hearts and Aberdeen should pay more. The other side is it needs to happen on the field but I think they should be two very separate jobs. The finance side increasing income is going very well, we need someone overseeing football matters

Ben Kensell hasn’t been here 5 years?

Hibees1973
07-02-2024, 12:53 PM

I know a guy whose partner works at the ticket office. For the half season tickets that were available apparently Hibs only sold 29.

Embarrassingly low but can understand why.

Stairway 2 7
07-02-2024, 01:01 PM
Ben Kensell hasn’t been here 5 years?

Your correct in 3 years is even more impressive if he's correct and it's 15 mil plus this year

Paulie Walnuts
07-02-2024, 01:02 PM
Your correct in 3 years is even more impressive if he's correct and it's 15 mil plus this year

He’s already on an astronomical sum of money though and at this point in time he’s increased it by 14%.

Let’s not kid ourselves on, he was getting that money regardless of what he done.

07-02-2024, 01:03 PM
So no actual proof we are paying anyone badly! Just a suggestion we have advertised some jobs at what some people consider below the going rate?

Job adverts with the advertised salaries, is that not proof enough? The jobs WERE below the going rate, it wasn’t what people thought was the going rate.

07-02-2024, 01:04 PM
Seems high maybe that includes bonuses

Maybe it does, but that doesn’t change my mind that he is being paid an obscene amount of money.

Hibeesforever
07-02-2024, 01:08 PM

We have a manager overseeing football matters.. why complicate things, they are responsible....

Stairway 2 7
07-02-2024, 01:11 PM
He’s already on an astronomical sum of money though and at this point in time he’s increased it by 14%.

Let’s not kid ourselves on, he was getting that money regardless of what he done.

14% last year so if he does increase it to £15 million will you come back and say a 50% increase is very impressive well done all involved.

He was getting that money regardless but it seems if he's telling the truth about our turnover this year then it's worth it. With the account notes saying we are breaking even upto December 23 and down to 65% wages to turnover ratio, we certainly look to have increased turnover by a very large amount

Stairway 2 7
07-02-2024, 01:12 PM
We have a manager overseeing football matters.. why complicate things, they are responsible....

A manager shouldn't oversee the whole football operation top down, if so you are in limbo when they go

07-02-2024, 01:13 PM
Job adverts with the advertised salaries, is that not proof enough? The jobs WERE below the going rate, it wasn’t what people thought was the going rate.

Did people accept those salaries though?

07-02-2024, 01:16 PM

It doesn’t matter, it’s borderline exploitative. Hope that a Hibs fanatic sees the advert and takes the job knowing that they’re getting the chance to work for their boyhood club. And then the CEO is on £300k a year?

07-02-2024, 01:26 PM
It doesn’t matter, it’s borderline exploitative. Hope that a Hibs fanatic sees the advert and takes the job knowing that they’re getting the chance to work for their boyhood club. And then the CEO is on £300k a year?

Or the club were badly advised on salaries for non core jobs?

07-02-2024, 01:27 PM

The issue there is that people who accept salaries at below the market rate are generally not an outstanding candidate it in their field.

There was a job advertised fairly recently that was broadly in line with what I do, albeit in a different industry. The job spec was almost like a template of what you would expect for a job in the field and it caught my eye because it's Hibs and who wouldn't want to work for the club. Well it turns out that would me when the salary on offer was about 20% less than I am earning now, there was a bonus structure (as is common in such a profession) and that was far less generous as well. Judging by the latest accounts the turnover at my work is comparable with what Hibs turn over (albeit we make a profit:greengrin) so it's not comparing oranges and apples in terms of company size. Through the grapevine I heard who got the job (they are no longer in post) and having been in competition with said person in the past all I would say is if they were the outstanding candidate that was offered the job then the quality of applicant can't have been fantastic. The fact they lasted less than 18 months in the job suggests one or both parties weren't happy with the outcome either.

There may well be exceptions of course and be people who are willing to work for less than they could in another job just to say they work for Hibs, particularly if they are at the very start or nearing the end of their career, but more often than not if you offer £25K a year for a position that usually pays £30K (neither being my actual salary btw) then you will get a candidate that reflects that.

07-02-2024, 01:32 PM

A monkey can find out the going rate for any job. It’s not at all difficult.

PB also makes an excellent point. The best candidates for jobs are not going to accept 15/20% less than the going rate for a job so you end up with less qualified/talented people.

Gordy M
07-02-2024, 01:39 PM
A monkey can find out the going rate for any job. It’s not at all difficult.

PB also makes an excellent point. The best candidates for jobs are not going to accept 15/20% less than the going rate for a job so you end up with less qualified/talented people.

Your 2nd point kinda goes against the argument you are making though? If we pay the best for the ceo then surely we will attract better candidates?

07-02-2024, 01:47 PM
He is another one of those English folks who don't "get us" don't you know...

I have often called out posters with Nat leaning sympathies on occasions when they have made spurious references to England or English for no rational reasons.

This time you are the one setting up the straw man from the other side with this pish hinting that those who criticise Kensall do so due to his nationality. So far I haven't seen a single poster suggest or even allude to that. It's complete nonsense.

07-02-2024, 02:03 PM
Your 2nd point kinda goes against the argument you are making though? If we pay the best for the ceo then surely we will attract better candidates?

Ok, I concede that.

It doesn’t change the point regarding other jobs though.

Gordy M
07-02-2024, 02:09 PM
Ok, I concede that.

It doesn’t change the point regarding other jobs though.

I agree, we prob should pay more to skilled staff, more a levelling up than down.

07-02-2024, 02:12 PM
I have often called out posters with Nat leaning sympathies on occasions when they have made spurious references to England or English for no rational reasons.

This time you are the one setting up the straw man from the other side with this pish hinting that those who criticise Kensall do so due to his nationality. So far I haven't seen a single poster suggest or even allude to that. It's complete nonsense.

Yes of course it's complete nonsense, that's why
I posted it! Goes along with what was an ongoing bit of nonsense on the transfer thread that we should only should be signing players with SPL experience and not more random players from south of the border etc 😁

07-02-2024, 02:14 PM

What you on about this time?

You think we pay consultancy fees to a firm so that they can say “nah, pay her an extra 50p per hour”.

Mental. Absolutely mental that anyone could even think that way.

07-02-2024, 02:24 PM
As far as I can see the vast majority of the posts are not personal in the slightest. Posters are discussing whether we are getting value for money from an extremely well paid CEO, his salary is public knowledge and therefore open to discussion.

Asking whether a CEO is performing to a level consummate with their performance is not personal. It goes with the territory with these type of roles.

I admire people who are able to make an exact judgement on someone’s abilities based on things they can’t possibly see or know about.

big gogs
07-02-2024, 02:36 PM
I admire people who are able to make an exact judgement on someone’s abilities based on things they can’t possibly see or know about.
When Ben Kensell was being interviewed for the hibs job,mr kensell ,we would like to offer you an annual salary of £300,000 ,would that suit you ,heavens no,far to much ,what will the fans on the hibsnet say.we don’t know what the man does for the club,do we.wait a minute he appoints s..t managers,but like the rest of us ,we don’t know if the manager will be a success till he is appointed.

07-02-2024, 02:40 PM
What you on about this time?

You think we pay consultancy fees to a firm so that they can say “nah, pay her an extra 50p per hour”.

Mental. Absolutely mental that anyone could even think that way.

Why wouldn't Hibs maybe use a consultancy to help.hire someone?

07-02-2024, 02:46 PM
Yes of course it's complete nonsense, that's why
I posted it! Goes along with what was an ongoing bit of nonsense on the transfer thread that we should only should be signing players with SPL experience and not more random players from south of the border etc 😁

This makes no sense at all. Were you implying people have taken against him because he's English or were you not?

07-02-2024, 03:17 PM
Why wouldn't Hibs maybe use a consultancy to help.hire someone?

To hire an electrician??

You’re having a laugh and clutching at straws now. Sometimes it’s best to just stop!

07-02-2024, 03:48 PM

Do we not have eyes to watch the games or the ability to read the league table?

07-02-2024, 03:49 PM
To hire an electrician??

You’re having a laugh and clutching at straws now. Sometimes it’s best to just stop!

Exactly.

Paulie Walnuts
07-02-2024, 03:49 PM
This makes no sense at all. Were you implying people have taken against him because he's English or were you not?

I’m equally as puzzled.

07-02-2024, 06:48 PM
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13066214/hibernians-losses-explained-did-performance-cost-the-club