View Full Version : Jack Ross

ChuckNor
03-02-2024, 07:41 PM
The people on this forum and social media who chased Jack Ross out, I hope you are regretting your decision. Miles ahead of anything we’ve appointed since.

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 07:44 PM
He was on a terrible run at the time which seems to be conventionally forgotten. Also didn’t turn up at Hampden against a hearts team who had barely played for 6 months and lost twice at Hampden (not to mention a few more times that season) against a mid table St Johnstone. The inability to adapt to win that cup final was a disgrace.

Odd thread to bring up this far down the road.

03-02-2024, 07:44 PM
The people on this forum and social media who chased Jack Ross out, I hope you are regretting your decision. Miles ahead of anything we’ve appointed since.

Jack Ross definitely proved how good he was after we punted him right enough. Get over it.

03-02-2024, 07:45 PM
I was on the fence with Ross, neither desperately wanted him to stay or desperately wanted him to go. He was better than the two clowns who succeeded him though.

03-02-2024, 07:46 PM
Still got your .net account then Jack? The run of games we were on prior to his sacking were on par with most of the guff we’ve had to put up with from the last 2 sacked managers. Combine that with unforgivable cup performances along with his track record since he’s left!

VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 07:47 PM

A wrong answer is not a right answer just because other answers are wronger...

03-02-2024, 07:49 PM
TBF jack did have decent midfield 3 of Gogic Newell and Irvine along with Goals from Boyle Nisbet and Doidge when we finished 3rd.

A bad run of form lead to his sacking in which was a year we should have really pushed on as a club.

Chorley Hibee
03-02-2024, 07:50 PM
He was crap, but this club has the uncanny ability to continuously employ somebody worse than the last guy.

K-Zazu
03-02-2024, 07:51 PM

Nope, the performance against hearts at Easter Road was absolutely honking

03-02-2024, 07:51 PM
I know some guys who haven't been back since the dying weeks of his reign, they were so sick of the mess he'd got us into after such a brilliant start to the season. He probably deserved another window but the football was just brutal and the place was deserted.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 07:53 PM
You’re Michael Stewart, aren’t you?

Doh Rae Me
03-02-2024, 07:54 PM
He was a cardigan more interested in himself than the team.

Silky
I know some guys who haven't been back since the dying weeks of his reign, they were so sick of the mess he'd got us into after such a brilliant start to the season. He probably deserved another window but the football was just brutal and the place was deserted.

Same as now, really.

hibeerealist

Eh naw.

Wheeched straight down to the bottom to post. No read a word.

Shut up.

ChuckNor
03-02-2024, 07:57 PM
A thread full of people desperate not to be wrong. Newsflash - you chased a good manager out of the club and have helped lead us into the mess we are in. This latest appointment being the worst.

Ben Kensell - LEAVE. You are killing this football club.

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 07:59 PM
A thread full of people desperate not to be wrong. Newsflash - you chased a good manager out of the club and have helped lead us into the mess we are in. This latest appointment being the worst.

Voltaire summed it up perfectly above. Take the night off

03-02-2024, 07:59 PM

Whats super amazing bestest manager Ross up to now? Surely he's only gone on to manage a much better team than us after getting sacked?

03-02-2024, 08:03 PM

Anybody who was at Livingston for his last game would have seen many similarities to today. A team that were all over the place, we ended up down to nine men that night. And that was a week after a near identical game up at Ross County where we also ended up with two sent off. He’d had his time by the time he went.

THESHIP
03-02-2024, 08:14 PM
The same Jack Ross that managed a Dundee United team to a 9-0 thrashing against Celtic? We correctly binned him. Just because we’ve appointed absolute dross after him, doesn’t suddenly mean it was the wrong decision emptying him when we did.

Think people also forget that he didn’t have a hearts team to compete against in the season that we finished 3rd.

03-02-2024, 08:16 PM

lol

supermcginn
03-02-2024, 08:19 PM

He should have been sacked after losing to a hearts team at Hampden who had barely played for 6 months and had world beaters such as Craig Wighton in their team. Can't stand the bloke and his tenure at Dundee Utd showed how bad he is.

Stokesy's on fire
03-02-2024, 08:35 PM
He should have been sacked after losing to a hearts team at Hampden who had barely played for 6 months and had world beaters such as Craig Wighton in their team. Can't stand the bloke and his tenure at Dundee Utd showed how bad he is.

Got us 3rd place...we have regressed at pace since he departed. It was the wrong decision to sack him.

03-02-2024, 08:37 PM
Got us 3rd place...we have regressed at pace since he departed. It was the wrong decision to sack him.

Should have been sacked after the Scottish Cup Final

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 08:48 PM

That game will rankle with me for life. Inexcusable and meek performance in a Scottish cup final.

03-02-2024, 09:02 PM
That game will rankle with me for life. Inexcusable and meek performance in a Scottish cup final.

Never get a better chance

Do what you always did get what you always got

You could tell the players’ body language was all wrong pre kick off

03-02-2024, 09:12 PM

Nobody should ever get sacked after a final, regardless of result. That’s just nonsense.

I don’t know what happened that day, all I know is that St Johnstone won the double in a year where no fans attended football games and I think it’s a complete and utter fluke never to be repeated. Jackson Irvine was over rated as **** too.

03-02-2024, 09:15 PM

Yup, totally agree. Never learned after previous defeats in the same manner to the same opposition.

He's here!
03-02-2024, 09:17 PM
He was on a terrible run at the time which seems to be conventionally forgotten. Also didn’t turn up at Hampden against a hearts team who had barely played for 6 months and lost twice at Hampden (not to mention a few more times that season) against a mid table St Johnstone. The inability to adapt to win that cup final was a disgrace.

Odd thread to bring up this far down the road.

St Johnstone I grant you was a massive blot on his copybook but we missed a pen that would have seen us beat Hearts.

Ross would be a massive improvement on what we have now.

03-02-2024, 09:22 PM
He had credit in the bank imo and was terribly backed in the summer, a backing facilitated by someone who was launched from the club (Mathie) because it was so poor.

He was then bumped after a streak of form that, while poor, was hardly par for the course under his tenure. Oh and it was a fortnight before a cup final that we thrashed rangers to get to.

And RG said it was premature in an interview he did.

However I don’t see what good this is doing discussing it?

03-02-2024, 09:26 PM
He had credit in the bank imo and was terribly backed in the summer, a backing facilitated by someone who was launched from the club (Mathie) because it was so poor.

He was then bumped after a streak of form that, while poor, was hardly par for the course under his tenure. Oh and it was a fortnight before a cup final that we thrashed rangers to get to.

I absolutely agree with you on this though.

03-02-2024, 09:37 PM
It would nice to get a good manager, not just somebody who's less **** than one or two others.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 10:35 PM

Correct

03-02-2024, 11:13 PM
The game at Ross County when we got 2 sent off, then the game at livi when Boyle hit mcarthur Glen with a penalty showed me Ross was buried.

03-02-2024, 11:54 PM
Good manager for Hibs who was let down by the club. It's in the past now though.

1875Sean
03-02-2024, 11:59 PM
Was good but never go back with your ex

04-02-2024, 12:38 AM
4 semi finals, 2 finals and a 3rd place finish. It was rubbish eh?

Big mistake and we've paid the price in subsequent years.

04-02-2024, 12:50 AM
Nobody should ever get sacked after a final, regardless of result. That’s just nonsense.

I don’t know what happened that day, all I know is that St Johnstone won the double in a year where no fans attended football games and I think it’s a complete and utter fluke never to be repeated. Jackson Irvine was over rated as **** too.

4 semi finals, 2 finals and a 3rd place finish. It was rubbish eh?

Big mistake and we've paid the price in subsequent years.

:agree::agree::agree:

Some absolutely wild takes on here from people who (as the original poster pointed correctly) are just unwilling to accept they were wrong.

VoltaireHibs
04-02-2024, 01:44 AM
:agree::agree::agree:

Some absolutely wild takes on here from people who (as the original poster pointed correctly) are just unwilling to accept they were wrong.

I found the football under JR to be tedious in the extreme. And by the time he got bumped we were nearer relegation than third and team discipline was falling apart. That game at Livi was about as bad as today, with added sending offs. It may not have been entirely fair to ditch him, I agree with that, but I can absolutely see why it happened.

Thanks for the memories Jack, and good luck.

04-02-2024, 02:00 AM
I found the football under JR to be tedious in the extreme. And by the time he got bumped we were nearer relegation than third and team discipline was falling apart. That game at Livi was about as bad as today, with added sending offs. It may not have been entirely fair to ditch him, I agree with that, but I can absolutely see why it happened.

Thanks for the memories Jack, and good luck.

The "tedious" chat to justify his sacking is some of the biggest pile of nonsense spouted on here.

The one nil defeat a Livvy where we missed a penalty was as bad as today being three nil down to St Mirren at home? Oh come on.

Ross had his faults but you think it was Tedious getting to Hampden 6 times in 2 years? Tedious finishing 3rd for only the 4th time in 50 years? Tedious winning at Tynie by two clear goals or more for only the 2nd time in 50 Years? Tedious hammering the huns at Hampden?

People need to stop the lie that the reason they wanted him sacked was because Ross's football was tedious and instead just admit that they threw their toys out the pram after a poor run of results.

There is no denying we were on a poor league run but if we cant allow a manager who has previously done very well for us to have a sticky spell then what chance does any manager have at Hibs?

Greensunshine
04-02-2024, 02:23 AM
Anyone remember what the rumours were at the time as to the “real reason” he was allegedly sacked???

Something to do with allegedly having an affair with someone at the club

Could be nonsense but there were rumours doing the rounds.

04-02-2024, 03:04 AM
Anyone remember what the rumours were at the time as to the “real reason” he was allegedly sacked???

I don't think that was Jack Ross.

Since 68
04-02-2024, 03:36 AM
Who is hiring the managers? Not a good track record. Manager hirer out.

04-02-2024, 03:53 AM

That was a previous cup winning manager, not JR.

gbur123ukgb
04-02-2024, 04:57 AM

Totally agree said at the time it was a mistake to pander to the numpties .
Unfortunately the mysterious hibs way clouded some fans judgement.
Would have been the same if we appointed Mcinnes cause he didn’t play this mysterious Hibs way nonsense,
Personally couldn’t care what style of fitba is as long as the team wins matches.

The sooner folk ditch the Hibs Way ( must mean failure after failure , only 3-4 times in clubs history has there been a hibs way 😂) and have the winning way mentality will the team improve.
Doesn’t matter about being good to watch what matters is winning

04-02-2024, 05:13 AM

It's ****ing comedy central in here! You will be up for the Perrier award at the fringe with this material.

h1bs4life
04-02-2024, 05:35 AM
If ever there is another COVID outbreak then Jack Ross is your man.
His only full season was when games were played behind closed doors .
That season in the league our home record was pretty crap only 7 home wins , 1 more than 2nd bottom Kilmarnock and included 2 home losses in a week 0-2 to Ross County 0-3 to Livingston .
It was the away record with no crowds which made a huge difference 11 away wins which was 2 more than runners up Celtic and only 2 less than the Huns who were champions.
A Scottish Cup semi final defeat to a Championship side just off furlough, a 3-1 League cup semi final defeat to St Johnstone and the worst of all a Scottish Cup final defeat to St Johnstone which was the 6th time we played them that season and we set up the same way.
The season that was cut short before COVID in front of a packed Easter Road we were well beaten 3-1 by a team managed by a drunken German.
The following season when those big bad fans were allowed back with the exception of the Huns semi-final the football was pretty crap the results were crap and he was rightly sacked
Some would argue he should have been sacked after loosing semi final to the team just off furlough or after the final against St Johnstone
He moved on and didn’t last long at Dundee United

04-02-2024, 05:52 AM

St Johnstone defeated us three times that season and JR set us up the same way each time

What was the definition of insanity again ?

Even playing Porto up top would have been different

His football was eye bleeding to watch and he had all the personality of a brick I honestly do not think he realised how big a club we are until it was too late for him

Boyle and Nisbet could be seen walking out onto the pitch in deep discussion over tactics or lack of

I agree with RG his sacking was premature and should maybe have got the League Cup Final

I also agree with you re Jackson Irvine was never a fan but the guy has had a stellar career so what do I know ? Good luck to the guy he has my best wishes

04-02-2024, 05:58 AM

Was that not idle tittle tattle when he left his role at the pink hotel ?

04-02-2024, 07:37 AM
St Johnstone defeated us three times that season and JR set us up the same way each time

His football was eye bleeding to watch and he had all the personality of a brick I honestly do not think he realised how big a club we are until it was too late for him

Boyle and Nisbet could be seen walking out onto the pitch in deep discussion over tactics or lack of

I agree with RG his sacking was premature and should maybe have got the League Cup Final

I also agree with you re Jackson Irvine was never a fan but the guy has had a stellar career so what do I know ? Good luck to the guy he has my best wishes

My point was that it was a mental season in which saints won two cups, I don’t think it’s one for really judging anyone over.

Porteous up front? Really?

I personality stuff I don’t agree with at all, it’s just vitriolic.

ChuckNor
04-02-2024, 07:43 AM
I think it’s good to discuss the downward spiral this club has been on since his sacking. It was premature. He had credit in the bank for many fans, myself included. Would he have went on to be a success? I don’t know. But I do know it was a premature decision that has played no small role in the succession of poorly appointed managers since, each seeemingly worse than the other.

Jack Ross won’t go down as one of our worst ever managers. Maloney, Johnson and Nick Montgomery (especially) will.

04-02-2024, 08:24 AM
For such a great managed he's sure had a terrible career since leaving Hibs.

His record at Dundee United was genuinely disgraceful.

I agree though that our hiring process needs to be examined. We've had far too many managerial failures in recent times to just shrug our shoulders and keeping the sand process.

04-02-2024, 08:38 AM
Jack Ross was a good manager at Hibs, who was the first manager to endure the Gordons vision of bringing in sheite players who they thought might make them money.

After a very good start, we then saw the club bring in bodies that never had a hope in hell of making it at Hibs.

He was managing with one hand tied behind his back and it was no surprise results dipped, we've seen them steadily go downhill under this strategy under the current owners.

We've seen each manager since Ross have players who have been brought in for positions we dont need addressing, positions that Stevie Wonder could see were weakest ignored or players bought or loaned in who are no better than we have.

The season we finished 3rd, Ross should have been backed with 3 good quality players better than we had, but no we spread the money out on overpriced dross, some who'd never even played a game on grass.

And of course whenever results dip, we want the manager out without looking at the real reason, and of course not playing 70s Brazillian style football.

04-02-2024, 08:42 AM
For such a great managed he's sure had a terrible career since leaving Hibs.

His record at Dundee United was genuinely disgraceful.

I agree though that our hiring process needs to be examined. We've had far too many managerial failures in recent times to just shrug our shoulders and keeping the sand process.

There’s something in that. Both Ross and Johnson are almost now unemployable as managers following short spells at a club after being sacked by Hibs. There’s probably an element of them not being good/having a limited shelf life. However is there something fundamentally rotten at Hibs where managers would be best taking some time off, like Mixu did, digesting what went wrong at Hibs and coming back a better manager for it.

BobMilne
04-02-2024, 08:49 AM

Mr Ross’s fluffer

No regrets at all. It was dull.

04-02-2024, 08:50 AM
Jack Ross was a good manager at Hibs, who was the first manager to endure the Gordons vision of bringing in sheite players who they thought might make them money.

After a very good start, we then saw the club bring in bodies that never had a hope in hell of making it at Hibs.

He was managing with one hand tied behind his back and it was no surprise results dipped, we've seen them steadily go downhill under this strategy under the current owners.

We've seen each manager since Ross have players who have been brought in for positions we dont need addressing, positions that Stevie Wonder could see were weakest ignored or players bought or loaned in who are no better than we have.

The season we finished 3rd, Ross should have been backed with 3 good quality players better than we had, but no we spread the money out on overpriced dross, some who'd never even played a game on grass.

And of course whenever results dip, we want the manager out without looking at the real reason, and of course not playing 70s Brazillian style football.

Couldn't agree more

sean
04-02-2024, 08:50 AM

Sensible post, couldn’t agree more.

04-02-2024, 08:52 AM
After we finished 3rd he should’ve been backed accordingly. Instead we ****ed about the whole window waiting for Doig to go for our transfer record so Mathie could stick it on his CV. James Scott was a Jack Ross signing though and for that reason alone he deserved the boot.

Willis1875
04-02-2024, 08:56 AM
After we finished 3rd he should’ve been backed accordingly. Instead we ****ed about the whole window waiting for Doig to go for our transfer record so Mathie could stick it on his CV. James Scott was a Jack Ross signing though and for that reason alone he deserved the boot.

I remember that interview that Mathie done,spoke of a desire to sell Doig on at a record transfer for the club.
Found it a bit tinpot then and still do

04-02-2024, 09:03 AM
Under the cloud of closed doors games during COVID I don’t think Jack Ross really built up the rapport with fans as you’d expect for a third place finish. Watching from home detached everyone from the emotions and camaraderie of following Hibs, particularly for a season which yielded some excellent form. With fans, we may well have used that advantage to improve our trophy haul.

As a result, when the poor form started Jack Ross maybe didn’t have as much good will for him from the support as he would had the fans been part of the previous years relative success. It was like starting afresh with a new manager.

The form was dreadful, and it’s hard for anyone to argue that it wasn’t the type of form that was deserving of the sack, but the manner of the sacking a week before a Cup Final was one of the most heartless and disgraceful episodes at board level in my time. I always thought Hibs were better than that.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-02-2024, 12:01 PM

Jackson Irvine is the captain of a st Pauli team that are romping their way to promotion to the bundesliga, and believe you me they’d give hibs a doing

04-02-2024, 12:03 PM

Didn’t chase him out but no regrets at him leaving. Football was dreadful albeit it’s worse now but neither example is acceptable for Hibs and the Scottish Cup match against St. Johnstone was criminal. Hibs need better than the pretenders imposed upon us in recent times.

04-02-2024, 12:05 PM
Wheeched straight down to the bottom to post. No read a word.

Shut up.

04-02-2024, 12:06 PM
The St Johnsone final always gets spoken about but people forget St Johnsone went to Ibrox and knocked out a Rangers team who didn't lose a single league game that season and won it at a canter. They'd also won the other cup. The final was disappointing but not the disaster it seems.

All in the past now anyway. Jack had his time here.

04-02-2024, 12:10 PM
The St Johnsone final always gets spoken about but people forget St Johnsone went to Ibrox and knocked out a Rangers team who didn't lose a single league game that season and won it at a canter. They'd also won the other cup. The final was disappointing but not the disaster it seems.

All in the past now anyway. Jack had his time here.

Nothing against St. J, they deserved their win. The problem was us, Ross set us up to defend and we didn’t turn up nor compete in that game. As said criminal.

04-02-2024, 12:12 PM
Nothing against St. J, they deserved their win. The problem was us, Ross set us up to defend and we didn’t turn up nor compete in that game. As said criminal.

Yip no plan B same old same old don’t even think he could be bothered working out how to break them down and win the thing

04-02-2024, 12:13 PM
Jackson Irvine is the captain of a st Pauli team that are romping their way to promotion to the bundesliga, and believe you me they’d give hibs a doing

I did say he has had a stellar career

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-02-2024, 04:50 PM
I did say he has had a stellar career

I know mate I’m just making the point that he can’t be that overrated if he’s the captain of a team performing to the levels they have been this season. One of the best players we’ve had at hibs in a long time imo, wish he hadn’t left but if he was gonna go then I’d rather he went to St Pauli than anywhere else [emoji6][emoji172]🤎