View Full Version : Dubai
03-02-2024, 06:52 PM
What was the point of this expensive, worthless exercise? The players have hardly came back refreshed and raring to go. They get an all expenses trip to Dubai, with a wee bit of training to do inbetween getting pumped in a friendly and playing cards and turn in performances like that. Bunch of entitled ****ers. Glad there is no winter break next year so the club won't waste more money on useless vanity projects.
03-02-2024, 06:54 PM
They've actually been worse since coming back! Whoever authorised that trip (BK?) needs their P45.
03-02-2024, 07:05 PM
I agree that it was probably not the best way to spend the winter break but there were probably half a dozen players in our squad today who didn`t go to Dubai . Pre season trips to Portugal and Spain in last 2 summers also of doubtful value .
Fuzzywuzzy
03-02-2024, 07:08 PM
It's been the same for a few seasons now with these trips. Promises of bonding, team building and fitness. Then you watch today and the players don't seem to know each other. The amount of passes going to at mirren players or just out the park as embarrassing
03-02-2024, 07:10 PM
Can we not blame all our woes on going to Dubai lol, it's become almost a parody of itself now.
Willis1875
03-02-2024, 07:12 PM
Treated as a mini pre season camp that none of the 7 new players were a part of,Pointless
K-Zazu
03-02-2024, 07:14 PM
Complete waste of money
Exuberance1875
03-02-2024, 07:15 PM
Biggest jolly in the clubs history
03-02-2024, 07:16 PM
Should’ve been pulled given the horrendous start to the season and flights/hotel tickets given to fans as raffle prizes! We’re the ones that needed the bxxxxxxx break!
The Captain....
03-02-2024, 07:17 PM
Unsurprisingly, it's been a total waste of time and money. Playing at being a football club.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
03-02-2024, 07:18 PM
Can we not blame all our woes on going to Dubai lol, it's become almost a parody of itself now.Couldn't agree more - lots of clubs go away and train overseas in winter - some are successful some arnt
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 07:20 PM
Couldn't agree more - lots of clubs go away and train overseas in winter - some are successful some arnt
Absolutely it’s not the reason we aren’t performing. However, a trip to Dubai should be earned, not given to pish footballers who don’t seem to give a toss.
03-02-2024, 07:23 PM
Absolutely it’s not the reason we aren’t performing. However, a trip to Dubai should be earned, not given to pish footballers who don’t seem to give a toss.How far in advance was Dubai booked?
I'd assume It would be months before - probably seasons start
If we waited to see if it has been earned by the time we could go our better players probably sold anyway [emoji1787]
03-02-2024, 07:25 PM
Can we not blame all our woes on going to Dubai lol, it's become almost a parody of itself now.
Agreed. Anger etc after that performance are entirely merited, but where we spent that week, be it Dubai or down a copper mine in Liberia, doesn't make a bit of difference.
That our manager doesn't have a scooby is the greater issue
Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 07:28 PM
This trip has now taken on the appearance of a jolly boys outing by an overpaid, pampered and selfish bunch of blokes masquerading as a football squad.
Makes me sick.
03-02-2024, 07:30 PM
This trip has now taken on the appearance of a jolly boys outing by an overpaid, pampered and selfish bunch of blokes masquerading as a football squad.
Makes me sick.I think that's only in supporters heads though as we've been poor
It was nothing like a jolly
Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 07:31 PM
Ben will have topped up his tan.
03-02-2024, 07:58 PM
It's been the same for a few seasons now with these trips. Promises of bonding, team building and fitness. Then you watch today and the players don't seem to know each other. The amount of passes going to at mirren players or just out the park as embarrassing
Aye, I don't remember any of these trips actually making a positive difference to the team. I dont think any of our competitors took trips abroad this winter. Hasn't done Hearts, Killie, Dundee etc any harm.
The way this season is going, we'll be playing league cup games in July. A summer pre season trip up north would be a better preparation than playing in 90° heat of Spain or Portugal.
andrew70
03-02-2024, 08:06 PM
The Dubai trip wasn’t Montgomery’s choice. Sure it was in place before he came in.
However all the fitness work they were doing in the videos seems to have worn off quickly.
03-02-2024, 08:13 PM
Those defending the trip - figure out how much it would cost for a trip like that for that number of people.
Then look at today’s team - a 16yo at RB, 2 inexperienced 20 yo centre halves, the same midfield pairing who have been abysmal for 2 months.
Was that the best use of that money or were there 11 positions on that pitch that could have been improved by using that money for that instead?
There are aspects of the way our club is run that is so amateurish that it would embarrass amateurs.
03-02-2024, 08:46 PM
The Dubai trip wasn’t Montgomery’s choice. Sure it was in place before he came in.
However all the fitness work they were doing in the videos seems to have worn off quickly.
St Mirren looked fitter than us.
andrew70
03-02-2024, 08:58 PM
St Mirren looked fitter than us.
Yes, definitely. An indefensible display.
Godsahibby
04-02-2024, 07:12 AM
A few weeks in the sun, double training sessions every day drilling the managers 442 tactic. You would think first game back after that they would have been raring to go. What should have been an easy game in the cup after weeks of drilling the team still looked lost.
Greensunshine
04-02-2024, 09:08 AM
Nout to do with a trip to the sunshine. They were ***** before Dubai, all we got when they arrived back was baked *****.
Get them down Gullane. I want to see them spu on the beach. 😡