View Full Version : Worst 45mins since....
As that title says....
This is the worst 45 mins of football I've seen since Maloney.
To you what is it the worst 45 since?
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
AL-Qaholik
03-02-2024, 02:58 PM
This is worse than Maloney.
7 nil at half time wouldn’t flatter them.
03-02-2024, 02:58 PM
Was Kilmarnock not just as bad? Maybe the week before that at forfar?
03-02-2024, 02:59 PM
We were 3-0 down at home at half time to St Mirren under Butcher and it was fine!
Wait, ****
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:42 PM
Hearts in 2014. Paterson scored 2 headers in first half. So bad I left at HT
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 03:45 PM
Falkirk at Hampden under Fenlon.
The Tubs
03-02-2024, 03:47 PM
Has Monty just been playing along to get the sack the whole time? That’s the only way I can find a rationale for many of his decisions.
skyehibee
03-02-2024, 03:49 PM
I would have sacked him at half time it was that bad
03-02-2024, 03:49 PM
The worst I’ve ever seen, and we’ve seen some stinkers down the years. None of them had me walking out, however, so that’s a first. The total embarrassment of seeing a Hibs team being ragdolled at home by St Mirren….St ******* Mirren. They could have been 6-0 ahead quite easily. I couldn’t believe my eyes, it was like a horrible nightmare that half.
HendoDelivered
03-02-2024, 03:50 PM
03-02-2024, 03:54 PM
Came here to say this.
Pretty Green
03-02-2024, 03:54 PM
Se7enUp
03-02-2024, 04:05 PM
As that title says....
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Ever.
03-02-2024, 04:07 PM
Looking at today’s results, they couldn’’t be any worse. This season is a nightmare …….. please make it stop!!! A couple of hours ago, I criticised Monty but said I didn’t want to prematurely sack yet another manager. I’m now indifferent to what happens to him and, if the clowns who are running our club have any balls, I’ll be glad to see the back of him. Mind you, I’d be delighted to see the back of them as well. :greengrin
Posh Swanny
03-02-2024, 07:24 PM
That's as bad as I've seen in my 20 years. St Mirren won't have an easier tactical afternoon all season - target the school boy at right back, cross the ball in, win the second ball, recycle it to keep the pressure on. When Hibs have the ball, wait for them to give it back in 20 seconds or so.
I feel like we've not put a team under any kind of sustained pressure since 2018. It's all NFL-style individual plays and if it doesn't work, give to a centre back or goalie and start again. It's so boring my 8 year old, who's Hibs daft, told me the other day that Hibs games aren't that much fun and he wasn't that bothered about going today. Should have listened to the poor lad.
03-02-2024, 07:25 PM
2nd half at the piggery under Maloney. Not all that long ago.
03-02-2024, 07:32 PM
Opening day against St Mirren was as bad. Magically sprung to life out of nowhere about 70 minutes in, but it was similarly aimless prior to that.
There were a few games like that under Johnson, but don't think we ever looked quite as unthreatening and weak as we currently do.
Throw Andorra in as well there actually.
03-02-2024, 07:34 PM
As that title says....
Sent from my Pixel 7 using TapatalkWhat game(s) with Maloney are you thinking about ? I don`t remember any where we were outclassed by opposition despite massive injury list . Someone below mentions defeat at Tynecastle but that day we led at half time against a strong Hearts team who were certainly flattered by 3 v 1 result .
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 07:34 PM
That's as bad as I've seen in my 20 years. St Mirren won't have an easier tactical afternoon all season - target the school boy at right back, cross the ball in, win the second ball, recycle it to keep the pressure on. When Hibs have the ball, wait for them to give it back in 20 seconds or so.
I feel like we've not put a team under any kind of sustained pressure since 2018. It's all NFL-style individual plays and if it doesn't work, give to a centre back or goalie and start again. It's so boring my 8 year old, who's Hibs daft, told me the other day that Hibs games aren't that much fun and he wasn't that bothered about going today. Should have listened to the poor lad.
Poor wee laddie, it’s them I feel sorry for to be honest. At this point I’m an adult making the conscious decision to torture myself, they’re just bairns. I have therefore come to the conclusion that Ben Kensell, Ian Gordon and Nick Montgomery enjoy making children depressed and on occasions, cry. This is grounds for getting them to ****.
Posh Swanny
03-02-2024, 08:06 PM
DIXIHIBS
03-02-2024, 08:26 PM
We were awful against Forfar just a couple of weeks a go but luckily they didnt have the quality to punish us. The fact we struggled so badly againt a poor part time team says it all about this current Hibs team. Now we have a team full of loanees who dont give a sh$t about Hibs or scottish football. Future looks bleak.
03-02-2024, 08:29 PM
We were awful against Forfar just a couple of weeks a go but luckily they didnt have the quality to punish us. The fact we struggled so badly againt a poor part time team says it all about this current Hibs team. Now we have a team full of loanees who dont give a sh$t about Hibs or scottish football. Future looks bleak.
03-02-2024, 08:31 PM
What game(s) with Maloney are you thinking about ? I don`t remember any where we were outclassed by opposition despite massive injury list . Someone below mentions defeat at Tynecastle but that day we led at half time against a strong Hearts team who were certainly flattered by 3 v 1 result .
We didn’t lead at HT and 3-1 didn’t flatter Hearts
DIXIHIBS
03-02-2024, 08:34 PM
Exactly. I might get stick for this but European/foriegn loan players are a recipe for disaster. They neither care nor understand about Hibs and when things get tough....just look at today.
03-02-2024, 08:44 PM
You can extend that to say 90.
Frightening lack of plan or cohesion on the ball. When in possession we had absolutely no idea how to play forward.
It's hard to know where to start breaking that down today.
St Mirren were the one team in the top 6 I thought we could catch. On that evidence they are a miles better football side than us.
03-02-2024, 08:44 PM
Exactly. I might get stick for this but European/foriegn loan players are a recipe for disaster. They neither care nor understand about Hibs and when things get tough....just look at today.
You won’t from me, I agree. Any success we’ve had recently the bulk of the team have been Scottish or from elsewhere in the UK and Ireland.
When we finished third the bulk of the team was; Porteous, Hanlon, McGinn, Doig, Boyle, Newell, Nisbet, Doidge. They all played pretty much every week.
Under Lennon you had McGregor, Hanlon, Boyle, Stevenson, McGinn, McGeough all playing every week backed up with solid guys like Bartley and Fontaine. Allan obviously came in second half of that season.
Go back and look at the team lines from the cup final in 2016. No 18 year old Spaniards on loan and things like that.
Tommy75
03-02-2024, 09:36 PM
You won’t from me, I agree. Any success we’ve had recently the bulk of the team have been Scottish or from elsewhere in the UK and Ireland.
When we finished third the bulk of the team was; Porteous, Hanlon, McGinn, Doig, Boyle, Newell, Nisbet, Doidge. They all played pretty much every week.
Under Lennon you had McGregor, Hanlon, Boyle, Stevenson, McGinn, McGeough all playing every week backed up with solid guys like Bartley and Fontaine. Allan obviously came in second half of that season.
Go back and look at the team lines from the cup final in 2016. No 18 year old Spaniards on loan and things like that.
Go back and look at the team who got relegated, every player was from Britain/ROI in that play-off v Hamilton. Player nationalities have nothing to do with it.
Potty78
03-02-2024, 09:40 PM
Dundee 87, 4 0 at half time🙈
03-02-2024, 09:47 PM
Exactly. I might get stick for this but European/foriegn loan players are a recipe for disaster. They neither care nor understand about Hibs and when things get tough....just look at today.You may be right but I think it`s still too soon to say that of present team and new players who have arrived just a few days ago . I actually thought the new players in general were our better players today . As for stuff about foreign players etc that`s modern football , players and managers changing clubs constantly . Stevenson and Hanlon have been exceptions .
03-02-2024, 11:42 PM
You may be right but I think it`s still too soon to say that of present team and new players who have arrived just a few days ago . I actually thought the new players in general were our better players today . As for stuff about foreign players etc that`s modern football , players and managers changing clubs constantly . Stevenson and Hanlon have been exceptions .without even analysing all the previous posts, this has to be the worst ever that I have seen, after watching Hibernian for 56 years.
04-02-2024, 12:10 AM
Worst 45 mins since I got the snip and I'm still shooting less blanks than Hibs
04-02-2024, 12:18 AM
Worst 45 mins since I got the snip and I'm still shooting less blanks than Hibs
04-02-2024, 07:02 AM
You may be right but I think it`s still too soon to say that of present team and new players who have arrived just a few days ago . I actually thought the new players in general were our better players today . As for stuff about foreign players etc that`s modern football , players and managers changing clubs constantly . Stevenson and Hanlon have been exceptions .
Hanlon and Stevenson would have been an improvement on that fiasco yesterday which says all you need to know about those in charge of recruitment in recent times.
I would doubt many of the newcomers would have been able to have been able to point to Scotland on a map before moving here never mind Edinburgh.
It's a recipe for disaster.
DIXIHIBS
04-02-2024, 08:04 AM
Go back and look at the team who got relegated, every player was from Britain/ROI in that play-off v Hamilton. Player nationalities have nothing to do with it.
That's true but they were just poor players. The current crop of loans and some signed players are I think decent players but I doubt they have the attitude to fight when needed.
04-02-2024, 08:13 AM
Probably since the first half at Forfar. These poor performances are normal for us now. It's more surprising when we aren't bad which is a real worry. I genuinely can't remember the last decent/ok performance. Aberdeen semi maybe?
04-02-2024, 08:25 AM
There’s been a few…but one I never forget is against Dundee in 1963 at Easter Road.
0-0 at half time, 0-4 at full time.
And the ease with which the same player, Alan Gilzean scored all 4 rubbed salt into the wounds
Pretty sure when Rangers beat us 7-0 at Ibrox would qualify too…..
04-02-2024, 02:07 PM
Today I find myself shaking the heid as I think about that first half yesterday. I think it might have given me PTSD :greengrin
04-02-2024, 02:21 PM
Hanlon and Stevenson would have been an improvement on that fiasco yesterday which says all you need to know about those in charge of recruitment in recent times.
I would doubt many of the newcomers would have been able to have been able to point to Scotland on a map before moving here never mind Edinburgh.
It's a recipe for disaster.
I think even those of us who are vehement defenders of Hanlon and Stevenson accept that their days at Hibs will be numbered - and that if we're serious about establishing and cementing a position as the third best team in the country (no laughing up the back) then we're going to need better than them over the coming years.
Right now though - we're so far short of that level it is scary, and those two come back into "first pick" territory for me. Experienced, have been through hard times and good with us and undoubtedly give a ****.
There were reasonable arguments for letting Doidge, Jeggo and McKirdy go but there's a fair bit of what we had that might have been considered to be "character" that's walked out the door there and we have no idea what the new guys will bring to the table on that front.
04-02-2024, 02:47 PM
In my time of 36 years supporting Hibs I can't think of a worse 45 minutes. It was honestly like we were trying to lose, the lack of effort was appalling. Zero shots on target and it could and honestly should have been 0-5 at just Half Time....and at home!
I'm still in abit of shock at just how bad we were to be honest. The raft of new signings brought a surge of optimism for Saturday and the contrast that unfolded just was unfathomable.
04-02-2024, 03:18 PM
Was Kilmarnock not just as bad? Maybe the week before that at forfar?
Kilmarnock last weekend was a million times better than yesterday
04-02-2024, 04:09 PM
Just forced myself to watch the highlights on the BBC and its not good but even worse is the penalty decision by that utter clown of a Ref, never a Pen in a million years and VAR must have okd it , ineptitude at every level from the officials !
Percy Vere
04-02-2024, 07:23 PM
Ok yesterday was horrendous. I was there, def got less hair today.
But we have key players away Afcon and Asia.
We have long term injuries too.
We've brought in new players most of whom have not been playing.
All of this does not excuse the level of apathy in the first half.
It does however give context and the platform from which NM is working.
Most of us were excited about the signings, I think we will see 3 or 4 good players come out that group.
What I don't get is the lack of action from NM during that half. Protect Whittaker who was clearly the target area for St M. There was no energy no plan you could recognise. I'm still baffled and fed up.
But I don't see a fast solution, rebuilds take time.
But somehow we need to restructure and win some games at the same time.
04-02-2024, 07:51 PM
In answer to the original question: Morton second half under Neil Lennon when he wanted to go fighting with Duff Jimmy
WestStandWillie
05-02-2024, 09:42 AM
Was easily the worst first half I can remember. Devoid of any attack and seemed content on passing the ball about the backline/midfield at 2-0 down.
Summed up when Youan just let the ball trickle out for a throw in right in front of the East.