View Full Version : Monty

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

03-02-2024, 02:47 PM
Just go monty and take the board with you

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 02:48 PM
I think that’ll be it now. This has been completely unacceptable in tactics and application

03-02-2024, 02:50 PM
Lenny waiting to take over until the rest of the season 💚

03-02-2024, 02:51 PM

No thanks

I don't like the frequency with which we sack managers but I have to agree. He is completely out of his depth.

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 02:52 PM
No thanks

It would be better than this

We might need Big Sam at this rate.

Send him back to managing kangaroos and wallabies.

03-02-2024, 02:53 PM
Agreed. Get him out today.
He won't turn this around. No point keeping him.

lugz
03-02-2024, 02:53 PM
And take most of the squad with him. They're just not good enough

03-02-2024, 02:54 PM
I'm sitting behind him and he looks like he has no idea at all.

shamo9
03-02-2024, 02:54 PM
One of the worst 45 minutes I've ever seen from a Hibs team in over 20 years. Feckless. It would be 4-0 if not for a smart save from Marshall.

machibby
03-02-2024, 02:55 PM
Must be a managers dream to play against Montgomery. He does half their job with his one dimensional approach.

Never thought I'd say it but I'd take him. Until the end of the season that is. This is painful to watch.

Kentao1985
Should have gone with the safer option when appointing LJs replacement, Robinson doing wonders on a shoe string budget. McInnes has Killie punching above their weight

Monty has been a pretty poor appointment, would be surprised if he gets his jotters today but the writing is on the wall.

Sent from my moto g32 using Tapatalk

03-02-2024, 02:56 PM
Getting beat 0-3 by St Mirren at home, taxi for Montgomery I'm afraid, unless there's a dramatic comeback in the 2nd half, but Hibs have been really rotten so far.

Hibs4185
03-02-2024, 02:56 PM
I could see in his eyes last week when he was interviewed. He looked scared, timid, lost.

Felt sorry for him to be honest and I hope he goes before it gets really bad as he seems to be a nice guy

Stubbsy90+2
03-02-2024, 02:57 PM
Has to be sacked today. He is an absolutely atrocious manager.

To be fair, if you didn't tell him you were there then why would he know? :confused:

He's clueless. This is worse than Maloney and he had a poorer squad.

Billy McKirdy
03-02-2024, 02:58 PM
Can only agree with this, he has to go after this.

You're still there?

OstKurve Hibs
One of the worst 45 minutes I've ever seen from a Hibs team in over 20 years. Feckless. It would be 4-0 if not for a smart save from Marshall.

This could b 7 or 8 nil easy, we are a complete and utterly disgrace

1875M
Should have gone with the safer option when appointing LJs replacement, Robinson doing wonders on a shoe string budget. McInnes has Killie punching above their weight

Monty has been a pretty poor appointment, would be surprised if he gets his jotters today but the writing is on the wall.

Sent from my moto g32 using Tapatalk

Yep. Should’ve been McInnes. Read on here last week someone saying they wouldn’t take him because of the football and they’d rather try and play the ‘Hibs way’ and lose. Wouldn’t care if it’s eye bleeding stuff, results are what matters. He wouldn’t come now.

03-02-2024, 02:59 PM
To be fair, if you didn't tell him you were there then why would he know? :confused:

Made me laugh :-)

Ricky Bobby
03-02-2024, 02:59 PM
First time in 50 years of following Hibs that I have left before half time.
The players have no idea what they are supposed to be doing, and more importantly they don't seem to care.
Montgomery miles out of his depth. Has to go today.

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:00 PM

supermcginn
03-02-2024, 03:00 PM
He's so far out his depth it's scary. File alongside Fenlon, Calderwood, Butcher and Maloney.

McGruber
03-02-2024, 03:01 PM
This is worse than Maloney and without doubt now worse than Johnson. I can't see how any argument could be made to the contrary. Both those managers were sacked on the basis it wasn't good enough so on that criteria he should go - as much as it pains me that we can't stick with someone for a sustained period of time.

Stubbsy90+2
03-02-2024, 03:02 PM
This is worse than Maloney and without doubt now worse than Johnson. I can't see how any argument could be made to the contrary. Both those managers were sacked on the basis it wasn't good enough so on that criteria he should go - as much as it pains me that we can't stick with someone for a sustained period of time.

Absolutely. This is atrocious. Much worse than LJ, probably worse than Maloney as well despite a miles better set of players.

GreenGray
I don’t know if they’ll sack him, just brought him in players he wanted in January.

Although I’m convinced a semi competent manager would get this squad performing better.

Whilst it's clear he's out his depth I think the bigger problem is the people appointing them.

03-02-2024, 03:03 PM
That was worse than Malmö.

If he doesn't get something else in the 2nd half I'm disappointed to say that he's never going to be the guy.

Not the boards fault and no to lennon.

s fault and not

03-02-2024, 03:03 PM
Whilst it's clear he's out his depth I think the bigger problem is the people appointing them.

Very hard agree

CentreForward
03-02-2024, 03:04 PM
Even before today I thought he was the worst manger I can ever remember at the club. Makes Maloney and LJ look good. Absolutely clueless!

If you were an investor like the Gordons or Foley would you want Monty at the helm looking after you investment?
Dead man walking.

Hibs4185
Our development team would be 2/3-0 down to
St Mirren. To have our first team in this position can only be down to the manager and tactics

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:05 PM
If you were an investor like the Gordons or Foley would you want Monty at the helm looking after you investment?
Dead man walking.

This. He’ll be gone, if not today, then very soon.

Stubbsy90+2
03-02-2024, 03:06 PM
Dead man walking.

Absolutely not.

He has to go. The guy is causing an incredible amount of damage with his complete incompetence.

03-02-2024, 03:07 PM
Be someone from Bournemouth if Monty if Sacked

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:07 PM
Season ticket drive will be soon so they’ll need to make a change before that.

03-02-2024, 03:08 PM
Clueless.

Get him out before this decline becomes terminal. Another stupid gamble that has backfired.

Just go and get McInness, someone who can work with the best budget in the 3-12 league and deliver accordingly.

How much longer we going to suffer this rubbish.Monty jacket surely o shortly nail

ErinGoBraghHFC
Monty can get to **** and Kensell can follow him, this club is in a sorry state at the moment

McIntosh
03-02-2024, 03:11 PM
Total charlatans the both of them.

Weir07
03-02-2024, 03:15 PM
First time in 50 years of following Hibs that I have left before half time.
The players have no idea what they are supposed to be doing, and more importantly they don't seem to care.
Montgomery miles out of his depth. Has to go today.

Yep, normally stay to the bitter end, left at HT for the first time ever. Long standing St holder but the way I feel now, I'll never be back and to be honest, won't miss it.

hibIBZ
03-02-2024, 03:15 PM
I hate the idea of sacking another manager, 2 in one season has a real tin pot feel to it, but it’s over. Barring a miracle he’s gone

03-02-2024, 03:17 PM
Gotta go, and half the team as well

03-02-2024, 03:24 PM
Gotta go, and half the team as well

Almost nobody left from last season.

It's not the players.

It's 100% the Head Coach

03-02-2024, 03:29 PM
Our constant ability to pick poor managers is getting a bit depressing. Why can’t we just get a proven manager and proven players rather than the “project” stuff in the off chance it may work out?

03-02-2024, 03:32 PM
Left at half time; I don’t think I’ve done that before. Get him out.

lugz
03-02-2024, 03:38 PM
Almost nobody left from last season.

It's not the players.

It's 100% the Head Coach

Marshall, Fish, Newell....the spine of the team. Losers.

03-02-2024, 03:40 PM
Left at half time; I don’t think I’ve done that before. Get him out.

Me too, again I never did that before.

03-02-2024, 03:41 PM
Agree

thebausburst
03-02-2024, 03:45 PM
Defence, midfield and attack all poorer under Monty, Vente not the same player, if he limps on Wednesday night is going to be a cricket score! Hibs MUST appointment a proven SPL manager…..McInnes!!!

Sparrows tongue
03-02-2024, 03:47 PM
No thanks

Don't be daft, we should take him back in a second.

03-02-2024, 03:47 PM
The only team that could sign 7 new players and we look worse. Total shambles of a performance.

03-02-2024, 03:48 PM

He has no idea you’re sitting behind him? 😁

03-02-2024, 03:55 PM
Must win game today...

Worst loss to St Mirren since 1985.

100% should be sacked after today. He's either lost the dressing room or completely lost the plot.

Just not acceptable and would rather have a new manager before we get emptied by ICT in the Cup.

Celtic will hammer us after dropping points today.

We have somehow managed to become worse after LJ and that's hard to believe.

skyehibee
03-02-2024, 03:56 PM
They won’t do it. They’ll give him Celtic and Aberdeen which is far too late he needs gone today.

03-02-2024, 03:57 PM
Club need to make a change or we are heading towards a relegation (play off) battle.

The players seem to have chucked it

03-02-2024, 03:57 PM
There’s absolutely no arguing that this isn’t ‘sacking form’ now, that’s for sure. It feels as though there should be so, so much more coming from this squad.

03-02-2024, 03:59 PM
That should be the end of of him but I doubt it will be.

03-02-2024, 04:00 PM
The only team that could sign 7 new players and we look worse. Total shambles of a performance.

Following the Chelsea model.

03-02-2024, 04:02 PM
The phrase dead man walking springs to mind. It's no longer a question of if, rather when he gets the heave ho

03-02-2024, 04:03 PM
He’ll get to the end of the season. I can’t see Livi or Ross County vacating 12th or 11th.

03-02-2024, 04:03 PM
He’ll get to the end of the season. I can’t see Livi or Ross County vacating 12th or 11th.

Aw that’s fine then.

Let’s give up on 4th/5th then

delbert
03-02-2024, 04:04 PM
That should be the end of of him but I doubt it will be.

Could not get my head around so many fans on this board getting excited about the club signing a bunch of nobodies which almost no one has heard of and is it any surprise they take an absolute hounding first time out ? This was an accident waiting to happen, Montgomery is a Lowland League manager in a Premier League job, the defence was screaming out for experience and he signed kids, clueless, like the fans who said we’d had a good window !! Anyone still think that now ?

But we’ve still got top 6 to play for. We will struggle to get it with this person in charge

And take that useless backroom staff with you including Gray as well

Stubbsy90+2
03-02-2024, 04:07 PM
Must win game today...

Worst loss to St Mirren since 1985.

100% should be sacked after today. He's either lost the dressing room or completely lost the plot.

Just not acceptable and would rather have a new manager before we get emptied by ICT in the Cup.

Celtic will hammer us after dropping points today.

We have somehow managed to become worse after LJ and that's hard to believe.

I’m not convinced he’s ever had the plot to lose.

To come in with the arrogance he has, declaring he’s got his system and he will not be changing it despite it being the same system my geography teacher implemented for our school team has been mental.

The guy is probably the most one dimensional, out of his depth manager I’ve seen at Hibs.

03-02-2024, 04:07 PM
He better not or we’re in trouble. Can you imagine the ST sales, no one wants to pay to watch this garbage under a clueless manager. He keeps repeating the same things that are not working week after week, thick.

03-02-2024, 04:08 PM
Get him out of the club

03-02-2024, 04:09 PM
I fully believe David gray as interim manager would get more points than Montgomery.

sean04
03-02-2024, 04:11 PM
I've been saying that we can't keep sacking managers but this is woeful. Tactically crap, inability to change formations and Influence games. Crying out for experience during the window we bring in kids. Today performance is a disgrace

h1bs4life
03-02-2024, 04:12 PM
Agreed get him tae f###

03-02-2024, 04:13 PM
And take that useless backroom staff with you including Gray as well

That's the danger, they all get tarred with the same brush.....I'd be disappointed if David Gray was a key component of this ineptitude...surely he's got too much fire in his belly to accept this.

03-02-2024, 04:13 PM
I fully believe David gray as interim manager would get more points than Montgomery.
You’re probably not wrong but we need a proper manager in right away.

KingFranck
03-02-2024, 04:16 PM
Times up for Monty that was without a doubt the worst 45 minutes from a Hibs team for a very long time.
There's no way that can be defended.
He is out his depth we can't make another appointment like this.

john rossi
03-02-2024, 04:16 PM
That was possibly the worst performance I have seen from a Hibs team in many years.Montgomery way way out of his depth tactically inept IMO he has to go results have been poor for some time he is on borrowed time, bring in Lennon or Robinson now before we are dragged into a relegation dog fight.

03-02-2024, 04:17 PM
Our constant ability to pick poor managers is getting a bit depressing. Why can’t we just get a proven manager and proven players rather than the “project” stuff in the off chance it may work out?

Yup.

We seem to have this weird obsession trying to be different and making something of managers and players when really sometimes the most obvious recruitment of personnel is the way forward.

Stop these failed projects and risks and actually give the fans a team we deserve to support.

Great away supports and home supports and we are treated to these awful performances and results. In only a few months...

St Mirren - 3v0 loss
St Johnstone - 1v0 loss
Hearts 1v0 loss
Aberdeen semi loss against 10 men
Rangers 4v0 loss / Celtic 4v1 loss going on more
Dundee 0v0 at home
Killie away 2v0 up and drew 2v2 in his first game

Hibiza
03-02-2024, 04:17 PM
Got to go .

03-02-2024, 04:19 PM
I've been saying that we can't keep sacking managers but this is woeful. Tactically crap, inability to change formations and Influence games. Crying out for experience during the window we bring in kids. Today performance is a disgrace

We can’t keep underperforming- we are losing ££ and fans by the day.

Recruitment of managers and players has been awful and no coincidence we are where we are.

03-02-2024, 04:29 PM

As much as a playing legend Gray is hes been part of the coaching team over the last few seasons.

My worry is what manager would want the Hibs job currently?

Stubbsy90+2
03-02-2024, 04:31 PM
As much as a playing legend Gray is hes been part of the coaching team over the last few seasons.

Any manager with a bit of self confidence should be looking at that squad and thinking they can get so much more out of it imo. It’ll remain a really attractive job, it’s not like they’re coming in to take over Gary Deegan and Ryan McGivern and they will get huge financial backing.

03-02-2024, 04:32 PM

I think loads of managers would love to get the Hibs gig right now.

Major investment recently, and a chance to come in to a team where you literally couldn’t do worse than the previous manager.

Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 04:33 PM
I think loads of managers would love to get the Hibs gig right now.

Major investment recently, and a chance to come in to a team where you literally couldn’t do worse than the previous manager.

Stephen Robinson would take it

03-02-2024, 04:36 PM
I’ve been pro Monty. Not an easy stance of late, and I confess my nerves are a bit frayed now, but I’m still with him.

03-02-2024, 04:36 PM

We have 2 games against Ross County BEFORE the split.

Exuberance1875
03-02-2024, 04:37 PM
It’s got to be Lennon now, no one else would even want it

03-02-2024, 04:37 PM
I’ve been pro Monty. Not an easy stance of late, and I confess my nerves are a bit frayed now, but I’m still with him.

What is it he’s doing that you see potential in?

What do you think he’s improved since Johnson?

03-02-2024, 04:38 PM
Has he done a post match interview?

03-02-2024, 04:40 PM

Please just no.

David Gray until the end of the season.

Stubbsy90+2
03-02-2024, 04:41 PM

Absolutely loads of folk would want it.

big gogs
03-02-2024, 04:43 PM
No thanks
No from me ,he couldn’t wait to walk out,plus the fact ,I don’t see the fascination for him.

I was as well but today really shook me. We were atrocious to a man. At half time I was desperately looking for a reaction. Didn't see us getting anything from it realistically but hoped for us to have a real go and push them.

Ultimately though the second half was no better. St Mirren simply didn't bother attacking with any intent. Not one player got pass marks today and although they have to take responsibility, the manager is in deep, deep trouble.

Should he be sacked tonight? I'm edging towards no but very hard to defend him after that.

Shanksaidno
[QUOTE=Is It On....;7572705]We have 2 games against Ross County BEFORE the split.[/QUOTE

NM has shot himself in the foot ... nobody is perfect but in any job you have to be willing to learn when things aren't going well and step back and look, analyse, look at options then take action. You have to help yourself but signing inexperienced people is not the way to help yourself. Jury out now ... he needs to go as he is not learning or motivating the team .. low energy teams never do well.

Sparrows tongue

Absolute tripe, loads of managers would jump at the chance of the Hibs job.

john rossi
03-02-2024, 04:52 PM
Just walk the walk Monty worst than Ross,Maloney.wee Lee get tea F…

ehf
03-02-2024, 04:52 PM
Monty is Butcher all over again, he will take us down. I’d punt him now and put SDG in charge for the rest of the season.

Exuberance1875
03-02-2024, 04:53 PM

Loads may want it but if Montgomery was deemed best out of the last ‘load’ that wanted it. I shudder to think of what the next batch would look like. Relegation material

Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 04:54 PM
I remember Montgomery saying before the winter break that there has been progress since he came in.

He said we have progressed. Wrong.

He is developing young players. Megwa & Whittaker have been exposed and clearly not ready for the first team. Wrong.

Reintroduced players to the squad. Think he is referring to Tavares. He is just playing him now when Johnson didn't and one of our show ponies. Wrong again.

I was with Montgomery before today, but my trust has been reducing in the past weeks. After today he is yet another disgraceful appointment by our owner and CEO and should be sacked.

Stubbsy90+2
03-02-2024, 04:57 PM
I remember Montgomery saying before the winter break that there has been progress since he came in.

He said we have progressed. Wrong.

He is developing young players. Megwa & Whittaker have been exposed and clearly not ready for the first team. Wrong.

Reintroduced players to the squad. Think he is referring to Tavares. He is just playing him now when Johnson didn't and one of our show ponies. Wrong again.

I was with Montgomery before today, but my trust has been reducing in the past weeks. After today he is yet another disgraceful appointment by our owner and CEO and should be sacked.

The young player thing has bugged me for a while now. Folk are holding it up as a positive when in reality he’s potentially about to ruin a bunch of young laddies. His use of the youngsters has been awful.

john rossi
03-02-2024, 04:59 PM
He has to go but board won’t act he is without a doubt the worst manager at Hibs since
Walter Galbraith

Logie
Missed the game today thankfully as away for the weekend. His stubbornness to change from 442 is going to cost him his job. Totally naive manager who is making our better players worse.

Scotty Leither
When it went 0-2 today, he either has to hook the laddie at RB and go 3 at the back and give us an extra man in the middle, or he brings Cadden on at RB to stick with his revolutionary 4-4-2.

I think the hardest thing for me today was watching a workaday SPL team play a CF who could hold the ball up, rag doll our CHs and then bring others into play - like the Japanese boy from Celtic who absolutely strolled that game.

It can't be too hard to assemble a team like that surely, or maybe Kensell, McDermott, and Gordon will be along shortly to tell us that young untried loan players is really the way forward?

03-02-2024, 05:13 PM

03-02-2024, 05:16 PM
What times his interview usually?

I absolutely hate the thought of having to go through the new manager process again but he’s not turning this round. If he thinks it’s bad now wait til the inevitable pumping off Celtic midweek and a cup loss to Inverness next weekend if he’s still here

03-02-2024, 05:16 PM
Not personally attacking the guy. It's too far gone for that. He's woefully out of his depth. Starting to feel for him a bit. The step up is too much. Managers in this league are far too savvy for him.

03-02-2024, 05:17 PM

Maybe loads but none recently seem to be good enough. Out of the last "loads of managers would" we have Monty in charge! Says it all

HendoDelivered
03-02-2024, 05:17 PM

I absolutely hate the thought of having to go through the new manager process again but he’s not turning this round. If he thinks it’s bad now wait til the inevitable pumping off Celtic midweek and a cup loss to Inverness next weekend if he’s still here

Couple snippets from PLZ and BBC on Twitter the now.

03-02-2024, 05:18 PM

I absolutely hate the thought of having to go through the new manager process again but he’s not turning this round. If he thinks it’s bad now wait til the inevitable pumping off Celtic midweek and a cup loss to Inverness next weekend if he’s still herel

Normally after an hour or so, especially home games.

However sometimes the media team upload them quite a bit later/the next day after a bad result to get less of a reaction

03-02-2024, 05:19 PM
Missed the game today thankfully as away for the weekend. His stubbornness to change from 442 is going to cost him his job. Totally naive manager who is making our better players worse.
His stubbornness to keep playing those show ponies jair and Youan will be his downfall as they both offer nothing when the going gets tough.

03-02-2024, 05:19 PM
On now.
I feel sorry for him. He's finished and I think he knows it.
Time to move on. It was a gamble that has not paid off.

03-02-2024, 05:20 PM
https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1753843558749032872?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Hanlon being ill makes no odds, he’s hardly started him since he came in and would have stared Triantis regardless

03-02-2024, 05:20 PM
Couple snippets from PLZ and BBC on Twitter the now.
Just seen the BBC one, he looks like knows his times up and by the sound of it he’s pinning his defensive hopes on the comebacks of Hanlon and Rocky

03-02-2024, 05:22 PM
I'm completely done with him now. Enoughs enough, get him OUT!

03-02-2024, 05:22 PM
He has to go but board won’t act he is without a doubt the worst manager at Hibs since
Walter Galbraith

Walter signed some very good players.

I feel for Monty. He’s entitled to expect more from Newell and Levit. They just want to jog around well away from the action and pass the ball back to the d fenders to do something with it.

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 05:23 PM
He's apologised to the fans for the first half. Dinnae let the door bang your arse on the way oot, pal.

03-02-2024, 05:24 PM
Today showed a stark contrast between a man who organises his team, have them playing in a system that they know how to play and defend well against a man who doesn’t have a clue. Just look at our right side today, Robinson must have been rubbing his hands at the thought of his players up against that. I don’t blame the players, it’s the managers fault for not seeing his obvious mistake on that side.

03-02-2024, 05:25 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1753846961994695127?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Hibs TV intervie

03-02-2024, 05:26 PM
He’s not going anywhere.

Exuberance1875
03-02-2024, 05:27 PM
Hibs have posted his post match slaver. Means he’s going nowhere. Wednesday will be an absolute pummelling. Likely get bullied on Saturday too.

Roll on mediocrity and relegation, embarrassing mentality from the club. He’s a fraud and again and utterly dull manager with zero fight and ambition about him.

Broxburn Greens
03-02-2024, 05:29 PM
Guys out of his depth.

Board seemed to think they were getting the next Ange.

They obviously failed to notice that Ange made the step from the A-League to the J-League before getting the Celtic gig…. Then he’s made the next step.

We need to stop gambling with appointments.

This can all be tracked back to the sacking of Ross which just looks a ridiculous decision now. A manager who had had in multiple semi finals and finals and finished 3rd….

Someone ask the board how their appointments have gone since then?

Clubs rudderless and lurching from one disastrous appointment to the next currently.

Today’s first half was amongst the worst I’ve ever seen at ER…

NC1875
03-02-2024, 05:31 PM
“Being outfought and outcompeted, there’s not many times I’ve said that here”

He’s having a ****ing laugh 😂

That’s a weekly occurence

03-02-2024, 05:32 PM
Continually starting Levitt and Newell together in centre midfield is a sacking offence in itself. Levitt has the heart of a mouse and the pace of a snail. Our inexperienced right back gets terrorised week in week out. We lack fight and leadership on the pitch. I've no confidence he can turn this around.

03-02-2024, 05:35 PM
He actually came on pitch at full time to applaud the fans. Brutal utterly brutal

03-02-2024, 05:37 PM
He actually came on pitch at full time to applaud the fans. Brutal utterly brutal

Was there any Hibs fans still in the ground at full time?

NC1875
03-02-2024, 05:37 PM
NINETEEN points behind our biggest rivals. Nineteen.

An absolute ****ing embarrassment yet again.

And this clown doesn’t have a clue what he’s doing. We’ve spent a fortune for us and we’re *****.

Too many players like Joe Newell who know they’ll play most weeks no matter what.

Shambles

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 05:38 PM
"We've got two inexperienced Centre Halves" - is that a dig at the Board, or an admission that that's all we sign?

That team couldn't beat Paddy's drum and unless they remove this clown we're headed for a play-off spot or relegation battle.

03-02-2024, 05:41 PM
I hope it was a wave goodbye.

03-02-2024, 05:43 PM
"We've got two inexperienced Centre Halves" - is that a dig at the Board, or an admission that that's all we sign?

That team couldn't beat Paddy's drum and unless they remove this clown we're headed for a play-off spot or relegation battle.

We had 2 inexperienced centre halves on January 1st. In the last week he’s added 2 more.

That’s on him.

03-02-2024, 05:44 PM

I hate watching them do the lap at the end. It reminds me of trying to do something similar to what Klopp done when he joined Liverpool but we're a bit more clumsy.

03-02-2024, 05:46 PM
He’s not going anywhere.

We’ll be heading to the play offs then

JJP
03-02-2024, 05:46 PM

I was. It was a sad site watching him and his players half heartedly applauding those of us who were daft enough not to leave earlier.

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 05:48 PM
I imagine the applauding at the end regardless of the score and performance is what they do in pretendy pub leagues where he's came from where the result doesn't really matter.

sean04
03-02-2024, 05:51 PM
What's the board up to? Surely at 15.45 they knew what had to happen? Or are they happy to accept that performance?

03-02-2024, 05:55 PM
He’s not going anywhere.

He should be though

03-02-2024, 05:55 PM
Possibly the worst Hibs manager (I know there is some competition!) so far out of his depth it’s frightening. Who exactly is responsible for ‘scouting’ this dud??
Must admit didn’t want him in the first place.

Chipper1875
03-02-2024, 05:58 PM

And some fans clapped them

03-02-2024, 05:59 PM
And some fans clapped them

Disgusting.

03-02-2024, 05:59 PM
He should be though

On today’s evidence I can’t disagree. He needed a performance and result off the back of the number of players he was allowed to sign. Instead he went with a lot of the same players in the same system that’s not been working. Brutal.

ChuckNor
03-02-2024, 06:01 PM
Can’t believe I’m saying this so soon but he is easily the worst manager I’ve seen in charge of this club. Please just leave and never show your face again. Dreadful manager. We aren’t chasing Europe, we are hoping to stay in the league. He hast go now.

03-02-2024, 06:02 PM

Maybe thousand od more

Davy Mac
03-02-2024, 06:05 PM
On today’s evidence I can’t disagree. He needed a performance and result off the back of the number of players he was allowed to sign. Instead he went with a lot of the same players in the same system that’s not been working. Brutal.

Thought the xact same thing, also just heard is chat on Sportsound and actually came across quite arrogant and uncaring.

Usual about we move on to the next game - if you are still here of course

03-02-2024, 06:05 PM
I hope it was a wave goodbye.

We'll not sack him yet

Mikey_1875
03-02-2024, 06:07 PM
It’s back to the LJ situation where no one wants to change manager so soon but struggling to think of a case for the defence to keep him?

I’m not GTF yet but it’s based on hope rather than any evidence. There isn’t any time to get these new signings up to speed as the games are coming thick and fast this month, has to happen though and quickly.

03-02-2024, 06:12 PM
I really want it to work for monty.
I'm sick off managers quickly getting the sack.
I wanna say the new players need time to gel

I think I'm just kidding myself though.

Heartless today. We looked confused. Scared and just couldn't do the simple things.

Sad cos today was my daughters first game.

Welcome to hibs.

The Captain....
03-02-2024, 06:13 PM
Rarely seen the support so unanimous in recognising a managers shortcomings. I really wanted him to work out but frankly he is a disaster. There are no signs of him learning from mistakes or making the best of what he has to eke out a result. Just more of the same boring, side to side, backwards, lose it with a poor pass dross. The defence is shambolic...Still. is there an easier team to set up against than us? We beat ourselves most of the time.

It's a dereliction of responsibility for the Board to allow him to continue as manager after today. He should have been sacked directly after the game.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 06:14 PM
Thought the xact same thing, also just heard is chat on Sportsound and actually came across quite arrogant and uncaring.

Usual about we move on the next game - if you are still here.

The blunt stubborn one clearly thinks he knows best.

Show some cojones Kensell, admit you got it wrong and bin him and replace with McIness or Robinson. Oh aye, and then when you've done that, go yourself.

03-02-2024, 06:16 PM
We had 2 inexperienced centre halves on January 1st. In the last week he’s added 2 more.

That’s on him.

To be fair, that’s on Brian, who should also be sent packing.

03-02-2024, 06:18 PM
I hold my hands up and thought we might have got a good one when he was appointed but i have to admit that i was spectacularly wrong. Before kick of i was still swithering but then i saw he had picked Whitaker and the penny finally dropped that he hadn’t a clue. The young lad is out of his depth at the moment and to play him when others are on the bench was just nonsense . We will do well to avoid the play offs and you can forget a cup run, Inverness next week-goodnight Vienna i think ?

john rossi
03-02-2024, 06:19 PM
Walter Galbraith

03-02-2024, 06:20 PM
At least Johnson sounded like he knew what he was talking about, this blokes interviews are painful to listen. Rambling answers to questions that were never asked, if these are reflective of his team talks no wonder the players are not starting games fired up. His personality sounds as interesting as the football he’s having us play. Today was the last straw for me, bore off Monty!

03-02-2024, 06:20 PM
We looked appalling. No fight until Moriah-Welsh came on. Players can't make simple 5 yard passes. These players are a massive part of the issue. We look like amateurs at times

03-02-2024, 06:22 PM
Monty’s big thing when he joined was the fundamentals are hard work

It’s not there

Monty out

Done with this tippy tappy going absolutely no-where.

Teams like st Mirren cutting us open time after time - I can’t remember the last time we just battered a team at home through dominance

The first 25 minutes against Motherwell probably the closest in montys tenure

God awful

Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 06:30 PM
Today showed a stark contrast between a man who organises his team, have them playing in a system that they know how to play and defend well against a man who doesn’t have a clue. Just look at our right side today, Robinson must have been rubbing his hands at the thought of his players up against that. I don’t blame the players, it’s the managers fault for not seeing his obvious mistake on that side.

Exactly.

Robinson is a clever coach who is maximising what he has available to him. The thing is we are slow and predictable and played into his hands. It made me cringe looking at the transfer thread on here and some were frothing about our continental signings. Maybe some of our new players will do the odd trick and shine on the odd occasion, but not consistently.

I'm not advocating Robinson as our new manager but a fool could point out that he was more qualified for the Hibs job than Montgomery.

Hibs were embarrassed today and shown up for we are. Naive, weak and poorly coached.

03-02-2024, 06:32 PM
Exactly.

Robinson is a clever coach who is maximising what he has available to him. The thing is we are slow and predictable and played into his hands. It made me cringe looking at the transfer thread on here and some were frothing about our continental signings. Maybe some of our new players will do the odd trick and shine on the odd occasion, but not consistently.

I'm not advocating Robinson as our new manager but a fool could point out that he was more qualified for the Hibs job than Montgomery.

Hibs were embarrassed today and shown up for we are. Naive, weak and poorly coached.

We could do a lot worse than him.

**** me I think I’d be half tempted by Dougie Imrie at this point.

03-02-2024, 06:33 PM
Get Dougie Imrie in from Morton! Horrendous start to the year. 12 unbeaten now. Probably make the play offs! Could do worse!

03-02-2024, 06:37 PM
We could do a lot worse than him.

**** me I think I’d be half tempted by Dougie Imrie at this point.

Imrie or Rhys McCabe would be a big step up from the incumbent.

McHibby
03-02-2024, 06:41 PM

This is pretty much how I feel.

I wish he was the answer, because he is a Hibs legend and it would be the ultimate fairytale for him to win the SC as captain and manager.

But he must have some input with training and game plans, otherwise what is the point of him being there. And the training sessions and game plans have not been working, over the course of multiple managers.

03-02-2024, 06:48 PM
I imagine the applauding at the end regardless of the score and performance is what they do in pretendy pub leagues where he's came from where the result doesn't really matter.And if he just went down the tunnel?

"Coward, couldn't even face the fans that stayed"

True story.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

03-02-2024, 06:55 PM
We looked appalling. No fight until Moriah-Welsh came on. Players can't make simple 5 yard passes. These players are a massive part of the issue. We look like amateurs at times

Montgomery deserves plenty criticism but I’m sick to death of hearing that we have good players. The squad is dire and all over the place.

There are a handful of players there who would probably do all right with a bit of solidity around them but we are so, so easy to play against all over the park. Whittaker is miles off it, starting him in the first game after the window just shows the type of window it was. Obita not much better at stopping the ball coming in. Centre halves that are just laddies. Newell and Levitt were just lazy and played a bit of hide and seek in the first half. Then you look at their centre forward fighting for everything and compare that to anything we have to offer at the top end of the park.

No fight, determination or will to win in them.

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 06:58 PM
And if he just went down the tunnel?

True story.

That was probably funny in your own head.

His team plays like "cowards" right enough. Very true story.

03-02-2024, 06:59 PM

Moriah-Welsh was impressive second half. He’ll be good for us. Starting with Levitt was criminal.

03-02-2024, 07:04 PM
That was probably funny in your own head.

His team plays like "cowards" right enough. Very true story.I wasn't trying to be funny - it's true

whatever he did would be trashed after that

You'd be saying he ran away if he didn't come in the park

03-02-2024, 07:05 PM
It’s just so boring

03-02-2024, 07:06 PM
Last ten Hibs managers by win percentage:
1. Stubbs (58.0%)
2. Ross (49.0%)
3. Lennon (48.0%)
4. Johnson (38.4%)
5. Fenlon (35.6%)
6. Heckingbottom (34.4%)
7. Montgomery (31.8%)
8. Maloney (31.6%)
9. Calderwood (24.5%)
10. Butcher (20.7%)

By loss percentage:
1. Lennon (19.5%)
2. Stubbs (23.0%)
3. Heckingbottom (28.1%)
4. Ross (30.2%)
5. Montgomery (31.8%)
6. Maloney (36.8%)
7. Fenlon (42.5%)
8. Johnson (46.2%)
9. Butcher (51.7%)
10. Calderwood (53.1%)

Aside from reinforcing my belief that Calderwood was worse than Butcher, those aren't great stats. After the Celtic game, if still here, he'll drop below Maloney in win percentage.

03-02-2024, 07:08 PM
To be fair, that’s on Brian, who should also be sent packing.

He’s definitely culpable aswell.

I’m baffled that the club think it’s wise to bring in three 18-20 year olds this window.

03-02-2024, 07:10 PM
Last ten Hibs managers by win percentage:
1. Stubbs (58.0%)
2. Ross (49.0%)
3. Lennon (48.0%)
4. Johnson (38.4%)
5. Fenlon (35.6%)
6. Heckingbottom (34.4%)
7. Montgomery (31.8%)
8. Maloney (31.6%)
9. Calderwood (24.5%)
10. Butcher (20.7%)

By loss percentage:
1. Lennon (19.5%)
2. Stubbs (23.0%)
3. Heckingbottom (28.1%)
4. Ross (30.2%)
5. Montgomery (31.8%)
6. Maloney (36.8%)
7. Fenlon (42.5%)
8. Johnson (46.2%)
9. Butcher (51.7%)
10. Calderwood (53.1%)
We actually sacked Jack Ross too. :faf:

03-02-2024, 07:11 PM

Before a cup final...

Though his results before were an issue and then we have St Johnstone at Hampden...plus Hearts at Hampden..

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 07:11 PM
I wasn't trying to be funny - it's true

whatever he did would be trashed after that

You'd be saying he ran away if he didn't come in the park

Eh? What's "true"? I'm sorry, you've completely lost me.

You've no idea I'd be saying he "ran away" if he didn't come in the park. I think coming on applauding after a performance like that smacks of a loser in the dugout epitomising the loser attitude that pervades the club, and a man who has no idea of the expectation level of the fans.

To be honest, I'd preferred if he had sat on his arse in the dugout at the end of the game before running out the ground into the nearest waiting taxi. And that's me telling the "truth".

03-02-2024, 07:12 PM

Every day that passes that decision inexplicably looks somehow worse.

Skol
03-02-2024, 07:13 PM

I did at the time we would regret a sacking Ross. I am not suggesting we have him back, but maybe we shouldn’t not have been as hasty.

GreenGray
03-02-2024, 07:13 PM
I am sick of sacking managers, I really just want a settled period in the dug out.

But he isn’t the man to take us forward unfortunately.

Bring in someone with experience who could get a tune out this squad as quick as possible, no bedding in periods or needing time to implement a style of play.

LustForLeith
03-02-2024, 07:14 PM
This is pretty much how I feel.

I wish he was the answer, because he is a Hibs legend and it would be the ultimate fairytale for him to win the SC as captain and manager.

But he must have some input with training and game plans, otherwise what is the point of him being there. And the training sessions and game plans have not been working, over the course of multiple managers.

I don’t think David Gray would still be employed by Hibs if he hadn’t have scored the goal that won us the Scottish Cup

03-02-2024, 07:14 PM
Before a cup final...

Though his results before were an issue and then we have St Johnstone at Hampden...plus Hearts ate Hampden..

Thankfully, we don't have to worry about bad results at Hampden now...

03-02-2024, 07:15 PM
Eh? What's "true"? I'm sorry, you've completely lost me.

You've no idea I'd be saying he "ran away" if he didn't come in the park. I think coming on applauding after a performance like that smacks of a loser in the dugout epitomising the loser attitude that pervades the club, and a man who has no idea of the expectation level of the fans.

To be honest, I'd preferred if he had sat on his arse in the dugout at the end of the game before running out the ground into the nearest waiting taxi. And that's me telling the "truth".You sound angry

I'm sure he was acknowledging the fans who stayed despite how terrible we were

There would absolutely be calls that he didn't do that if he just went down the tunnel

No win situation after a terrible performance and result

03-02-2024, 07:18 PM
I really want it to work for monty.
I'm sick off managers quickly getting the sack.
I wanna say the new players need time to gel

I think I'm just kidding myself though.

Heartless today. We looked confused. Scared and just couldn't do the simple things.

Sad cos today was my daughters first game.

Welcome to hibs.

Me too. I liked him when he came in. Mental thing is he immediately made a shan LJ team look better.

worrying thing is more he’s had a chance to get his “ideas” across the worse we are getting.

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 07:20 PM
You sound angry

I'm sure he was acknowledging the fans who stayed despite how terrible we were

There would absolutely be calls that he didn't do that if he just went down the tunnel

No win situation after a terrible performance and result

...and you sound patronising pal, so I'll guess we'll call it even.

If he wanted to acknowledge the fans he could have shook hands with everyone that was left in the ground at the end, as the majority had chucked it before then.

03-02-2024, 07:21 PM
...and you sound patronising pal, so I'll guess we'll call it even.

If he wanted to acknowledge the fans he could have shook hands with everyone that was left in the ground at the end, as the majority had chucked it before then.And yet you're still ragin at him for acknowledging them

He has many things that can legitimately be questioned - don't really see this as one of them

03-02-2024, 07:23 PM
I think he might get till the Inverness game. Hopefully Boyle, Cadden and ALF make a big difference but I'm not convinced.

Go out the cup and he's definitely gone. The Celtic game won't make any odds unless it's a real pounding.

ionahibby
03-02-2024, 07:24 PM
Every day that passes that decision inexplicably looks somehow worse.

These fans that hark on about jack ross being the great messiah who should never have got sacked seem to forget how bad and mind numbing our football was under him. Couldn’t learn how to beat st Johnstone twice in major cup games, lost against Ross county in a final then had the audacity to say we played well and couldn’t lay a finger on rangers/celtic or hearts never mind the struggles we had with bottom 6 teams.

mcohibs
03-02-2024, 07:25 PM
It’s just so boring

Like he is. Utterly uninspiring. Don’t like to attack character traits usually but **** me I don’t think I’ve seen the guy exude any form of enthusiasm since he arrived. Genuinely don’t think I’ve seen him smile or laugh. Looks permanently bored and disinterested. Passive. Unenergetic. It’s feeding through to players.

Gives us an airplane. A chased by lions quote. Something Nick please before this season bores me to death.

03-02-2024, 07:27 PM
These fans that hark on about jack ross being the great messiah who should never have got sacked seem to forget how bad and mind numbing our football was under him. Couldn’t learn how to beat st Johnstone twice in major cup games, lost against Ross county in a final then had the audacity to say we played well and couldn’t lay a finger on rangers/celtic or hearts never mind the struggles we had with bottom 6 teams.That's 3 finals you just mentioned - he was only here for 2 years

I think Jack Ross ended up being generally very successful against the smaller teams in the league....hence the "big games" stick to beat him with
I wouldn't want him back but he done a more than decent job for us

03-02-2024, 07:28 PM
Was absolutely buzzing when he got the job, but it really hasn't worked out at all. Not even close to be honest.

Dead man walking at this stage. No chance he turns it around. Surprised we haven't acted after the capacity halfing by half time.

03-02-2024, 07:30 PM
Jack Ross. **** me, honestly think I'd want LJ back before Ross. Going from this to Jack Ross boring football, not sure I'd see the season out.

thebausburst
03-02-2024, 07:31 PM
Think Hibs will pull the trigger after the inevitable pumping from Celtic on Wednesday.

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 07:43 PM
Think Hibs will pull the trigger after the inevitable pumping from Celtic on Wednesday.

Aberdeen pulled the trigger on Robson on Wednesday, not even 24 hours after they drew with Dundee. Caretaker guy came in, they stifled Celtic for the first half today and then were unlucky not to win the game in the 2nd half.

I'll venture we'll wait and piss about pending the inevitable, as Kensell and Gordon will want to evade responsibility for as long as possible.

He should be sacked and away by now after that first half today.

JammyDoidger
03-02-2024, 07:43 PM
He's got to be the worst manager in our history, he actually has a decent enough squad that will be on high wages and cost fees. He's honestly brain dead.

ChuckNor
03-02-2024, 07:44 PM
He has to go. It’s over. He’s lost the fans. Last time around the fans blamed the players. Not this time. Way out his depth. Just go.

hibeerealist
03-02-2024, 07:50 PM
These fans that hark on about jack ross being the great messiah who should never have got sacked seem to forget how bad and mind numbing our football was under him. Couldn’t learn how to beat st Johnstone twice in major cup games, lost against Ross county in a final then had the audacity to say we played well and couldn’t lay a finger on rangers/celtic or hearts never mind the struggles we had with bottom 6 teams.

Thank you, likewise why all this greetin over a manager that was boring us to death and could not beat St J - unreal.

snedzuk
03-02-2024, 07:53 PM

Are you Adam Le Fondre

Silky
03-02-2024, 07:53 PM

The football's "bad and mind numbing" now. In fact, all you have said there could be used yo describe life Montgomery as well. Inwas one of the ones who wanted Ross gone, but from what you describe there, have we really moved on since then? Because it sounds so similar.

03-02-2024, 07:54 PM
He has to go. It’s over. He’s lost the fans. Last time around the fans blamed the players. Not this time. Way out his depth. Just go.

Worse than that, judging by today, he’s lost the players. Several didn’t try today. A spineless, gutless bunch but he’s a dead man walking now.

VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 08:09 PM
Worse than that, judging by today, he’s lost the players. Several didn’t try today. A spineless, gutless bunch but he’s a dead man walking now.

If the players really want to throw him under a bus then Wednesday is a good game for that. In all honesty, I fear the worst. They've chucked it, and tbh, I don't entirely blame them.

03-02-2024, 08:13 PM
If the players really want to throw him under a bus then Wednesday is a good game for that. In all honesty, I fear the worst. They've chucked it, and tbh, I don't entirely blame them.

Irrespective of what anyone thinks of the manager the attitude some of them showed today is totally unacceptable. He’ll pay the price for it but we need to get them out of the club as soon as we can as well.

VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 08:16 PM
Irrespective of what anyone thinks of the manager the attitude some of them showed today is totally unacceptable. He’ll pay the price for it but we need to get them out of the club as soon as we can as well.

Agreed, but we have to urinate with the appendage in hand. We need a manager that can motivate the players and set them up correctly. There are enough good players in this squad to do that.

SickBoy32
03-02-2024, 08:17 PM

The body language of Youan in particular was astonishing.

An imposter and needs punted in the summer. No wonder he fell out with his previous team in Switzerland, ********.

03-02-2024, 08:20 PM

Losing to Celtic is not in itself a sackable offence. Wednesday will be a bit of a free hit and basically try to avoid anything too humiliating.

If there is no decision to pull the plug tomorrow or Monday, it’s Inverness where he will face the first “must win” game of his time here. Lose and he’s gone.

JammyDoidger
03-02-2024, 08:22 PM
Does anyone else actually look at him and think they could do a better job, he's been hopeless man.

Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 08:29 PM
You do wonder about the perils of football management.

Montgomery could have easily sat cozy at the CCM in Australia. Great climate, zero pressure in a footballing backwater with a comfortable lifestyle for him and his young family.

I think I read last week that his family have only recently arrived in Scotland to settle down and here we are with his coat on a shoogly peg.

We are beginning to regret him being appointed Hibs manager, but you wonder what him and his family are thinking tonight. Must have been a huge upheaval coming to Scotland after a good number of years in Australia.

With respect, he is a decent bloke and much more likeable than our previous two managers. I want him to succeed, I still do even after today. However, he is going to need a huge turnaround in performances and results starting on Wednesday.

Sadly, I just cannot see it happening and it's likely he won't be here this time next week.

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 08:36 PM

Montgomery could have easily sat cozy at the CCM in Australia. Great climate, zero pressure in a footballing backwater with a comfortable lifestyle for him and his young family.

I think I read last week that his family have only recently arrived in Scotland to settle down and here we are with his coat on a shoogly peg.

We are beginning to regret him being appointed Hibs manager, but you wonder what him and his family are thinking tonight. Must have been a huge upheaval coming to Scotland after a good number of years in Australia.

With respect, he is a decent bloke and much more likeable than our previous two managers. I want him to succeed, I still do even after today. However, he is going to need a huge turnaround in performances and results starting on Wednesday.

Sadly, I just cannot see it happening and it's likely he won't be here this time next week.

Good take on things, and I think your second paragraph is key. A guy out his depth appointed by people above him out their depth.

03-02-2024, 08:39 PM

All the more reason for him to go back to the drawing board and devise a set of tactics, a formation, an approach etc that will work with the players he’s got and the opposition he’s facing.

If his answer to the trouble is to continue doubling down, as harsh as it sounds, it’ll be his own fault. He arrived here with big talk, hints of seeing his future competing at the highest level down south etc so it’s about time he found some of that self belief and did something before he ends up having to relocate his family again.

03-02-2024, 08:42 PM
Good take on things, and I think your second paragraph is key. A guy out his depth appointed by people above him out their depth.

Perfectly summed up :agree:

hfc-1875
03-02-2024, 08:43 PM
I think is as hibs fans are too bothered about a fancy name or new young manager, can’t believe there’s people that didn’t think mcinnes would be a good appointment before Monty came in, I think 99% of us would take him in a heartbeat now! No more chances can be taken we need someone who knows the Scottish game, it may not be pleasant to watch all the time but someone who knows the game and can get results! Mcinnes or Lennon need to come in to steady the ship

03-02-2024, 08:51 PM

I’ll really feel for him in this regard, and especially his family for the reasons you give.

That said, he did say at the time it was always his intention to return to these shores to continue his career so it’s something they likely have been prepared for.

You have to have some respect for him in not just settling for the easy life and trying to better himself as a football manager in a different environment and aiming to manage at the highest level he can.

He might come to regret not just sticking with the comfortable lifestyle in Australia

hfc-1875
03-02-2024, 08:55 PM

I get what you’re saying but that’s part of football unfortunately. I’m in the same boat for some reason I quite like him as a person and would love for him to succeed, but the atmosphere has gone horrible I really can’t see it turning around.

VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 09:05 PM
I'm coming to the conclusion that he's a bit thick. Everyone saying he seems like a lovely guy, how? I mean, I'm sure he's a decent enough fella, but he seems to have a stubborn/arrogant streak a mile wide. And he doesn't appear to be very good at his job. I can't think of many successful managers that have been 'nice guys'?

Mowbray always struck me as a great guy, but I had zero doubts he could be a right hard so and so when required. Ditto McLeish and Stubbs. But LJ, Maloney, NM? Yeah, lovely, nice, bland. It doesn't strike me as a recipe for a great manager.

Maybe we need to just employ managers that used to be defenders and were right hard ba&*ards?

The Green Sea
03-02-2024, 09:23 PM
I'm coming to the conclusion that he's a bit thick. Everyone saying he seems like a lovely guy, how? I mean, I'm sure he's a decent enough fella, but he seems to have a stubborn/arrogant streak a mile wide. And he doesn't appear to be very good at his job. I can't think of many successful managers that have been 'nice guys'?

Mowbray always struck me as a great guy, but I had zero doubts he could be a right hard so and so when required. Ditto McLeish and Stubbs. But LJ, Maloney, NM? Yeah, lovely, nice, bland. It doesn't strike me as a recipe for a great manager.

Maybe we need to just employ managers that used to be defenders and were right hard ba&*ards?

What like Terry Butcher!

03-02-2024, 09:23 PM
I hate watching them do the lap at the end. It reminds me of trying to do something similar to what Klopp done when he joined Liverpool but we're a bit more clumsy.

I stayed to the end today. As I was walking down the stairs heading out, spoke to another fan and we both agreed the players should have just walked right down the tunnel after that display. Watching them clap the very few fans that were left and getting abuse from them was rather cringey.

Scotty Leither
03-02-2024, 09:31 PM
I stayed to the end today. As I was walking down the stairs heading out, spoke to another fan and we both agreed the players should have just walked right down the tunnel after that display. Watching them clap the very few fans that were left and getting abuse from them was rather cringey.

If I was the CEO I'd have ordered them off the park.

TrinityHFC
03-02-2024, 09:48 PM
There’ll be certain posters having a very busy night tonight adding all these new people with doubts about Monty to their ignore and non Hibs fan lists.

TrinityHFC
03-02-2024, 09:51 PM

I actually disagree. It is a thing they do every week and it is showing appreciation for the fans more than taking applause sometimes. I don’t think they can the just disappear when things have gone more badly than usual. That would be hiding. Yeah, make it quick and be sheepish about it but better to stay and do it than run away I reckon.

03-02-2024, 09:54 PM
I texted a mate who's a St Mirren fan at half time (he's a St Mirren fan all the time, I texted him at half time), who pointed out that we'd scored four goals in one half against them earlier in the season.

"Yeah, but we were still basking in the glow of the Johnson years" I said.

How do you make us worse?!

BoyledEgg
03-02-2024, 09:57 PM
I texted a mate who's a St Mirren fan at half time (he's a St Mirren fan all the time, I texted him at half time), who pointed out that we'd scored four goals in one half against them earlier in the season.

"Yeah, but we were still basking in the glow of the Johnson years" I said.

How do you make us worse?!

The game we scored 4 goals in one half against them when Monty was in charge?

03-02-2024, 10:00 PM
I actually disagree. It is a thing they do every week and it is showing appreciation for the fans more than taking applause sometimes. I don’t think they can the just disappear when things have gone more badly than usual. That would be hiding. Yeah, make it quick and be sheepish about it but better to stay and do it than run away I reckon.

I called it a day before the end but like other occasions the team will have been instructed to acknowledge the fans, and while in victory they can be mutual appreciation, on occasions like today they are simply for our benefit. An apology of sorts.

I’m pleased they do it rather than beating a hasty retreat.

Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 10:04 PM
If I was the CEO I'd have ordered them off the park.

If you were CEO it would be an improvement on Kensell.

Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 10:29 PM
There’ll be certain posters having a very busy night tonight adding all these new people with doubts about Monty to their ignore and non Hibs fan lists.

Exactly this.

Mind you tonight there have been a few of these certain posters beginning to see the light and realise maybe things are not all well with The Gordons/Kensell/Montgomery.

Who knows, maybe we will win the next two games but anyone there today will seriously doubt that.

But ultimately I think it is a positive that there is a growing consensus on Hibs.net that all is not well with key decision making at the club which will hopefully result in change.

Inverhibs
03-02-2024, 10:32 PM

After some thought about who could really change things on the pitch has made me ask if its more about charisma and motivation skills rather than tactics and buzzwords.
At spl level football i dont imagine there will be much difference in player quality through the league.
If a team has 2/3/4 players above this level they normally finish 3rd.
The obvious man that had this quality was clough.hardly any tactics involved in his preparation and he would squeeze the most out of players that would not have succeded elsewhere.
Again this is just my opinion about the spl but the pace and lack of time on the ball without pressure is underestimated.
We seem to be trying to coach our kids/players to play in a spanish/italian possesion based game but as soon as the whistle goes its kick and rush.
Would a simpler gameplan work with players highly motivated eager to please their charismatic manager?
Heard roy keane recently talk about clough and was asked about pre match prep/tactics at forest.
clough asked him what he was good at?keane replied running,passing and tackling.
Just do that son and walked off.
Who could motivate/inspire this team more than monty?

03-02-2024, 10:40 PM
The game we scored 4 goals in one half against them when Monty was in charge?

Yeah, that one.

03-02-2024, 10:42 PM

Being thick is exactly my thoughts about him. He doesn’t seem to have the intelligence. You always hear quotes about games when it’s been said that one team was all over another until a manager sussed it and changed shape to combat it. Or it wasn’t working until we pushed two up front etc. He just bashed on with the same old pish and says we’ll learn. It’s just plain stupid, from selection, tactics and now it looks like recruitment. Sick of him.

03-02-2024, 10:50 PM
Had a few pints and about 6 hours to think about it and I’m 100% decided that Monty needs to get to absolute **** immediately. Clueless.

03-02-2024, 11:06 PM
I very rarely decide that I want a manager to leave before they are sacked but this is one of those occasions.

I’m not a knee jerker and have no ill will against NM but this isn’t going to work - absolutely no chance. The deeper we go with these ridiculous tactics (and team selections) the more damage will be done.

I’m a season ticket holder who can never understand why so many ST holders fail to attend home games but on Wednesday I’ll be joining them and won’t be there. I can’t stomach this rubbish any longer.

03-02-2024, 11:07 PM
What like Terry Butcher!that original post confused me. Stubbs Mowbray etc all just nice guys? Wat do you really want? The current holder just seems a nice chap but he ain't nae Lennon that's for sure!

ehf
03-02-2024, 11:16 PM
I very rarely decide that I want a manager to leave before they are sacked but this is one of those occasions.

I’m not a knee jerker and have no ill will against NM but this isn’t going to work - absolutely no chance. The deeper we go with these ridiculous tactics (and team selections) the more damage will be done.

I’m a season ticket holder who can never understand why so many ST holders fail to attend home games but on Wednesday I’ll be joining them and won’t be there. I can’t stomach this rubbish any longer.

Likewise; I have been a season ticket holder for nearly 30 years and never once missed a game by choice, but I just can’t face going on Wednesday.

03-02-2024, 11:19 PM
Being thick is exactly my thoughts about him. He doesn’t seem to have the intelligence. You always hear quotes about games when it’s been said that one team was all over another until a manager sussed it and changed shape to combat it. Or it wasn’t working until we pushed two up front etc. He just bashed on with the same old pish and says we’ll learn. It’s just plain stupid, from selection, tactics and now it looks like recruitment. Sick of him.

Sorry but that's pish. Every manager has a way they play from Pep, Klopp to Monty. Folk act like it's a game of managers constantly outsmarting each other. It's not.

Look at the teams in our league. We all know how Hearts, Killie, St Mirren or Dundee are going to play before the game kicks off. Only thing that really changes is when they go a goal or two ahead like today then they sit in and why wouldn't they.

03-02-2024, 11:24 PM
I actually disagree. It is a thing they do every week and it is showing appreciation for the fans more than taking applause sometimes. I don’t think they can the just disappear when things have gone more badly than usual. That would be hiding. Yeah, make it quick and be sheepish about it but better to stay and do it than run away I reckon.sorry to disagree to your disagreement. They should have been telt, get tae f/France oot o' there pronto tonto before you get bricked/ bottled / physically assaulted by some nutcase. That was the worst ever today

JoeT
03-02-2024, 11:32 PM
Something that dumbfounded me was the hooha when they wanted to mike and camera up our staff at new year and it was cancelled. How anyone was thinking it was going to add any interest hadn't listened to a NM interview

He's here!
04-02-2024, 08:58 AM
I do hope for his and his family's sake that they haven't uprooted fully from Australia. He's far more likely to get a job back over there than in the UK. In fact it's probably his only route back into management.

04-02-2024, 08:59 AM
Looking like he’ll get the chance to make the top six. Can’t see that happening though.

04-02-2024, 09:07 AM
I do hope for his and his family's sake that they haven't uprooted fully from Australia. He's far more likely to get a job back over there than in the UK. In fact it's probably his only route back into management.

They were viewing a home the other day, his wife and 2 kids. As a parent myself with kids around his family ages he must be under incredible pressure to make this a success as uprooting your family from the other side of the world, where he could’ve probably walked into any decent managerial role, in the pursuit of managing at a high level, could well back fire horrendously. I read an article in which the assistant manager was being interviewed and he said that he was following NM as he had aspirations to manage in the EPL. 20 odd games here and he’s heading in an opposite trajectory, he’ll be lucky to pick up any league job down south based on performances thus far. Putting our feeling as Hibs fans to one side, I hope for the sake of his family, that he can turn this around.

Crutch
04-02-2024, 09:13 AM
It’s time for the club to stop this mindless obsession with being revolutionary and eccentric with everything that we do. It’s not just Montgomery who’s stubborn, it’s the whole hierarchy of the football club - and has been for some time now.

We’ve ignored managers like Lennon and McInnes who, with the sort of finances we’re now boasting, would quite simply never have us in the position we were at half time yesterday.

04-02-2024, 09:39 AM
Whilst I always hate watching McInnes teams and find him a thoroughly unlikable individual I could easily understand his attractiveness to many as a Hibs Manager although I fear it wouldn’t end well.

Previous managers with far more affinity with the Hibs support have been hounded out for that style of football but maybe we have suffered so much we would accept that now

The clamour by some for Lennon just baffles me

It’s like going back to a hairless toothless old crone who was once a great **** 49 years ago but has gone downhill ever since and has publicly disrespected you by her actions during that “honeymoon”period

He's here!
04-02-2024, 09:48 AM
They were viewing a home the other day, his wife and 2 kids. As a parent myself with kids around his family ages he must be under incredible pressure to make this a success as uprooting your family from the other side of the world, where he could’ve probably walked into any decent managerial role, in the pursuit of managing at a high level, could well back fire horrendously. I read an article in which the assistant manager was being interviewed and he said that he was following NM as he had aspirations to manage in the EPL. 20 odd games here and he’s heading in an opposite trajectory, he’ll be lucky to pick up any league job down south based on performances thus far. Putting our feeling as Hibs fans to one side, I hope for the sake of his family, that he can turn this around.

Don't know how old his kids are but he's lived in Australia since 2011 so it's fair to assume they grew up there and very much regarded it as home.

I don't know if they harboured plans to return to the UK before the Hibs job came up but as you say he must have had to think very carefully about whether such a huge move was the right one for his family - it was a massive risk when you consider how precarious the management profession is and you could argue it's proved to be an irresponsible decision as it seems alarmingly clear he's out of his depth.

Who would employ him in the UK based on his record at Hibs? Had he stayed in Australia he'd probably have been secure in the game there until he retired.

Ambition is understandable but does it come before family stability? If you were, say, taking up a two-year secondment in a global business, it would be a sound enough career move but a football manager has no such safety net.

04-02-2024, 10:11 AM
Sorry but that's pish. Every manager has a way they play from Pep, Klopp to Monty. Folk act like it's a game of managers constantly outsmarting each other. It's not.

Look at the teams in our league. We all know how Hearts, Killie, St Mirren or Dundee are going to play before the game kicks off. Only thing that really changes is when they go a goal or two ahead like today then they sit in and why wouldn't they.

It’s not pish. Most of the teams have a preferred style but they do change and definitely during games. It’s basic stuff.

In the derby Hearts changed formation at half time. Cochrane moved from left back into centre midfield and they go 4-2-3-1

0-2 down to St Mirren on the opening day of the season, Lee Johnson chanted the formation and we got back in the game.

The fact that Monty will not change is definitely a disadvantage. Yesterday is was pretty obvious that we’d do better if we matched St Mirren up and went to a back 3

NC1875
04-02-2024, 10:25 AM
Whilst I always hate watching McInnes teams and find him a thoroughly unlikable individual I could easily understand his attractiveness to many as a Hibs Manager although I fear it wouldn’t end well.

Previous managers with far more affinity with the Hibs support have been hounded out for that style of football but maybe we have suffered so much we would accept that now

The clamour by some for Lennon just baffles me

It’s like going back to a hairless toothless old crone who was once a great **** 49 years ago but has gone downhill ever since and has publicly disrespected you by her actions during that “honeymoon”period

Ah the old “McInnes type of football” myth.

What type of football is that ? Going a goal ahead and being streetwise to make sure you take the points ?

Would much rather NM style of giving most teams a 2 goal head start and the celebrating a draw ?

I’m sure DM would have us playing to our strengths which are different from his Killie teams strengths. But that’s because he’s a good manager, unlike our current clown who plays one way and one way only.

A way in which we are heading only one way. Towards a relegation playoff place.

Hibees1973
04-02-2024, 10:26 AM
Something that dumbfounded me was the hooha when they wanted to mike and camera up our staff at new year and it was cancelled. How anyone was thinking it was going to add any interest hadn't listened to a NM interview

This kind of sums up the club as a whole.

Hibs agreeing to having Montgomery mic'd up during the game was gimmcky and attention seeking. When SKY asked for this we should have chased them as it was unnecessary and unprofessional.

Gimmicky and attention seeking sums up the way Kensell & The Gordons want to run things. All this nonsense about making a big deal about him being mic'd up, standing areas to improve the supporter experience, dubious and at some time inappropriate partners, signing players that make no sense.

All this going on at a time when these two keep hiring and firing managers and on the park the team is constantly failing. The Foley deal brokered by Kensell & Ian Gordon could be coup de grace for the club ultimately because of what has gone on with them so far. Not sure now if many on hibs.net trust Kensell & Ian Gordon any more.

04-02-2024, 10:28 AM
For me Monty has to bring in Stuart Mcall to help him if it’s not too late

Mutu
04-02-2024, 10:34 AM
I'd like to give Monty time, but a few things that are extremely worrying that just cannot wrap my head around from a decision making point of view.

- Whittaker should be nowhere near the starting 11. Obvious for everyone to see that he is nowhere near ready for first team football at any level. That's not a slight at him - he's just not ready to play against grown men.
- Youan will get this manager sacked. That first 45 minutes was one of the most offensive displays from a professional footballer I have ever seen. The carelessness is possession was obscene. Jair was horrendous too but I see basic levels of application there and someone who is genuinely wanting to do well. If Monty keeps playing Youan I will have zero sympathy if he gets the sack.
- We're suddenly a long ball team now? No passing out from the back and attempting to build up progressively. Seemed like a complete abandonment from what he's been trying to achieve which again, has to be questioned.
- The final and most worrying part was just how poorly drilled we were as a defensive unit. Every single attack from St Mirren could have resulted in us conceding and that can be no individual's fault but the entire collective. Are we doing any shape whatsoever? Just shocking stuff.

Just watched his post-match interview - fking hell he doesn't look the brightest spark does he? Newell on the other hand coming out and saying what the manager should be saying. Boys not working hard enough.

He's here!
04-02-2024, 10:40 AM
I'd like to give Monty time, but a few things that are extremely worrying that just cannot wrap my head around from a decision making point of view.

- Whittaker should be nowhere near the starting 11. Obvious for everyone to see that he is nowhere near ready for first team football at any level. That's not a slight at him - he's just not ready to play against grown men.
- Youan will get this manager sacked. That first 45 minutes was one of the most offensive displays from a professional footballer I have ever seen. The carelessness is possession was obscene. Jair was horrendous too but I see basic levels of application there and someone who is genuinely wanting to do well. If Monty keeps playing Youan I will have zero sympathy if he gets the sack.
- We're suddenly a long ball team now? No passing out from the back and attempting to build up progressively. Seemed like a complete abandonment from what he's been trying to achieve which again, has to be questioned.
- The final and most worrying part was just how poorly drilled we were as a defensive unit. Every single attack from St Mirren could have resulted in us conceding and that can be no individual's fault but the entire collective. Are we doing any shape whatsoever? Just shocking stuff.

Just watched his post-match interview - fking hell he doesn't look the brightest spark does he? Newell on the other hand coming out and saying what the manager should be saying. Boys not working hard enough.

Think what has left everyone so utterly deflated and apprehensive about what lies ahead is that after what was generally perceived as a positive transfer window on the back of the Foley investment confirmation we were expecting to see signs of positivity, a hint or two of a fresh impetus...but there was just nothing there at all to take positives from.

04-02-2024, 12:25 PM
Ah the old “McInnes type of football” myth.

What type of football is that ? Going a goal ahead and being streetwise to make sure you take the points ?

Would much rather NM style of giving most teams a 2 goal head start and the celebrating a draw ?

I’m sure DM would have us playing to our strengths which are different from his Killie teams strengths. But that’s because he’s a good manager, unlike our current clown who plays one way and one way only.

A way in which we are heading only one way. Towards a relegation playoff place.

There is absolutely no myth about the way McInnes has his teams play, they bite, scratch, frustrate, foul, blatantly waste time, intimidate referees if you cant see that you are in complete denial.

The amount of times I left ER when he was Aberdeen Manager and folk wanted to lynch him is testimony to that, ask any Aberdeen fan and they will tell you about his way of football which is why he was eventually punted.

Is that preferrable to the dross we have watched for the last few years right now? yes, my question is though how much of the support will be prepared to accept that in the medium to long term?

04-02-2024, 12:34 PM
There is absolutely no myth about the way McInnes has his teams play, they bite, scratch, frustrate, foul, blatantly waste time, intimidate referees if you cant see that you are in complete denial.

The amount of times I left ER when he was Aberdeen Manager and folk wanted to lynch him is testimony to that, ask any Aberdeen fan and they will tell you about his way of football which is why he was eventually punted.

Is that preferrable to the dross we have watched for the last few years right now? yes, my question is though how much of the support will be prepared to accept that in the medium to long term?

Well some on socials are now blaming the supporters for lack of wins and performance! Can't make it up!

04-02-2024, 12:41 PM
Afraid I don't see him as a manager who will wield the big stick or rant and rave at the team, his seems to be the softly softly approach which might be great when they are producing on the park but not when they are in freefall with a bunch of 20 year olds who hardly know each other.

04-02-2024, 12:45 PM
2 points from possible 18 in last six matches, same as Livingston and County. Pish poor

Scotty Leither
04-02-2024, 12:48 PM

Agree with most of this...McIness would get us winning 75/80% of our home games against the rest of the league, and would have us at parity in the Derby fixture. He gets the odd result against the OF as well, and his teams are streetwise.

That's my expectation of a Hibs manager which shouldn't be too much to ask, and he would tap into that expectation too. This current incumbent is the latest in a long line of managers who simply do not get the competitive aspect of this league and seem taken aback that Hibs fans want to see us having a go at teams, especially at Easter Road.

Montgomery's interviews are now bordering on insulting the punters' intelligence and I'd wager he wants out too. What a pathetic state of affairs (again).

MinceAndTatties
04-02-2024, 12:54 PM
And if he just went down the tunnel?

True story.

Excellent point. At least, he fronted up and got the players to do that.

04-02-2024, 01:05 PM

If McInnes was allowed to identify his own players and fully backed to put a successful side on the park then I think people would accept a spirited Hibs side that wins regularly, competes for spells in the league. I would imagine the same eye for a player would see a lot better at ER than the dross we are subjected to now.

I don't know any Aberdeen fans and I know it turned stale, but I did often see good Hibs sides often falling short against McInnes era Sheep.

You look at the guys signed, brought through under McInnes at Aberdeen...MacKay-Steven, Hayes, McLean, Ferguson, McKenna, Shinnie, Robson, McGinn, Jack, Reynolds, Logan and no doubt more. All good players at the Sheep.

He knows a decent player, even if his team played cynically at times

JammyDoidger
04-02-2024, 01:10 PM

Which is exactly how I expect and want us to play against teams with better players and higher budgets..
That's good management, his teams have flair players in them, they are better than us to watch that's for sure. He's a fantastic manager who gets the best out of what he's got, our manager can't seem to manage that. Needs to go asap and Mciness needs to come in it's that simple, we've made yet another mistake.