View Full Version : Team v St Mirren

02-02-2024, 04:16 PM
With more new signings added what do we think the line up will be?

I think/hoping for;

………………….Marshall…….

Megwa……..Fish…..Triantis….Obita…..

Youan………Levitt…..Newell…..Maolida…..

………………..Marcondes….
……………………Vente…..

Think Amos will still be a bit away match fitness wise and not sure he’d start Moriah Welsh without a sub appearance first. Also think now Marcondes is playing levitt will look much better as he’s got someone he can thread the ball through to.

Actually really looking forward to the game and seeing some of the new lads. Specifically Moriah Welsh and his energy, think that will instantly get the fans on board.

02-02-2024, 04:17 PM

I think/hoping for;

………………….Marshall…….

………………..Marcondes….
……………………Vente…..

Think Amos will still be a bit away match fitness wise and not sure he’d start Moriah Welsh without a sub appearance first. Also think now Marcondes is playing levitt will look much better as he’s got someone he can thread the ball through to.

Actually really looking forward to the game and seeing some of the new lads. Specifically Moriah Welsh and his energy, think that will instantly get the fans on board.
Don’t think you’ll be far off. Might be Bevan for Megwa tho.

02-02-2024, 04:49 PM
Drop Levitte, replace with Moriah Welsh.
Even though I have no knowledge of Welsh, from what's been said/ written about his style of play think he will offer more than Levitt who, let's face it, has been a bit of a disappointment in a hib s jersey.

02-02-2024, 04:53 PM
Also think now Marcondes is playing levitt will look much better as he’s got someone he can thread the ball through to.

Very good point which I agree with.

Saint Hibee
02-02-2024, 05:04 PM
Drop Levitte, replace with Moriah Welsh.
Even though I have no knowledge of Welsh, from what's been said/ written about his style of play think he will offer more than Levitt who, let's face it, has been a bit of a disappointment in a hib s jersey.

Agreed. Levitt needs dropped.

02-02-2024, 05:11 PM

I think/hoping for;

………………….Marshall…….

………………..Marcondes….
……………………Vente…..

Reckon this will be the team.

02-02-2024, 05:12 PM
Agreed. Levitt needs dropped.

He was better last week. He’s never going to be good off the ball but he was much better on it.

02-02-2024, 05:43 PM
Drop Jair but keep Youan? Might be better swapping those around. And time to get one of our new energetic midfielders into the middle of the park.

andrew70
02-02-2024, 06:29 PM
Marshall
Megwa Fish Triantis Obita
Myziane Amos Levitt Youan
Emiliano
Vente

It’s the new options off the bench which excite me now. Plethora of options thankfully.

Shanksaidno
02-02-2024, 06:37 PM
Don’t think you be far off. Might be Bevan for Megwa tho.

Agree .... Bevan for Megwa

Hibees1973
02-02-2024, 06:41 PM
After signing all these players can you imagine the stooshie on here if Hanlon & Stevenson are in the side.

Thanks for the memories from these two, but if our scouts have done their jobs properly and recruited better players Hanlon & Stevenson will not feature in the first eleven barring a huge number of injuries.

02-02-2024, 06:59 PM
I’d like to see

Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Triantis
Obita

Youan
Amos
Newell
Moilida

Marcondes
Vente

Hopefully see Mariah-Welsh and Mayenda get some time off the bench

02-02-2024, 07:03 PM
Absolutely no idea what the team will look like going forward, hopefully though we kick on and have a cracking second half to the season

02-02-2024, 07:16 PM
Absolutely no idea what the team will look like going forward, hopefully though we kick on and have a cracking second half to the season

I don’t think it’ll look hugely different.

Of the signings, Marcondes and Maolida will be regulars. And I think Triantis will get the chance to make the jersey his.

We need to be looking at one of the two midfielders forcing their way in, just not sure who or when.

Donegal Hibby
02-02-2024, 07:23 PM
Marshall .

Bevan .
Fish.
Triantis.
Obita.

Youan
Welsh.
Newell.
Maolida.

Marcondes.
Vente .

02-02-2024, 07:31 PM
Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Triantis
Obita

Maolida
Amos
Mariah-Welsh
Youan (reluctantly)

Emiliano
Vente

02-02-2024, 07:36 PM
Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Triantis
Obita

Maolida
Amos
Mariah-Welsh
Youan (reluctantly)

Emiliano
Vente

Youan reluctantly over Jair?

02-02-2024, 07:37 PM

Reluctantly due to lack of alternatives. Maybe Cadden or Boyle instead when they’re back.

02-02-2024, 07:39 PM
Reluctantly due to lack of alternatives. Maybe Cadden or Boyle instead when they’re back.

So no Tavares at all?

02-02-2024, 07:40 PM
So no Tavares at all?

No, he’s ok but doesn’t create enough IMO.

02-02-2024, 07:45 PM
Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Triantis
Obita

Maolida
Amos
Newell
Jair/Youan

Emiliano
Vente

02-02-2024, 07:46 PM
I’d like to see

Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Triantis
Obita

Youan
Amos
Newell
Moilida

Marcondes
Vente

Hopefully see Mariah-Welsh and Mayenda get some time off the bench

We already know that Youan does not provide sufficient support to Megwa.
Would be criminal to play a weak right hand side to the team again.

02-02-2024, 07:47 PM

I’d bench Jair tomorrow as well.

Youan drives me mad at times but I just don’t think Jair has done enough after the initial novelty of him being back in the team. Youan needs to find some form and end product though. Rangers game was a good example of him being a threat, getting in to lots of good positions but not having the end product he should.

Chipper1875
02-02-2024, 07:48 PM
After signing all these players can you imagine the stooshie on here if Hanlon & Stevenson are in the side.

Thanks for the memories from these two, but if our scouts have done their jobs properly and recruited better players Hanlon & Stevenson will not feature in the first eleven barring a huge number of injuries.
Can’t see why be an issue if Lewy plays, we haven’t signed a left back. P

02-02-2024, 07:50 PM

The stooshie would be inside your head. Both are more than capable back ups in more than one position.

02-02-2024, 07:53 PM

Youan drives me mad at times but I just don’t think Jair has done enough after the initial novelty of him being back in the team. Youan needs to find some form and end product though. Rangers game was a good example of him being a threat, getting in to lots of good positions but not having the end product he should.

I don’t disagree that Jair hasn’t actually provided enough goals/assists, but for me he’s a much better team player than Youan.

I still think he’s worth a starting spot especially with Vente now freed up to play as a striker rather than a no10/6/4 whatever the **** he was doing before. I want to see a striker get on the end of some of his crosses.

hibee1875
02-02-2024, 08:00 PM

What’s this got to do with the price of cheese?

VoltaireHibs
02-02-2024, 09:32 PM

Youan did fine in the weird, somewhat kamikaze LJ style. In a team looking to be slick and connected I really don't think he has a place. He plays for himself too much, doesn't do his dirty work/tracking back and makes poor footballing decisions constantly. I'll be surprised if he's here next year.

02-02-2024, 09:42 PM
Youan did fine in the weird, somewhat kamikaze LJ style. In a team looking to be slick and connected I really don't think he has a place. He plays for himself too much, doesn't do his dirty work/tracking back and makes poor footballing decisions constantly. I'll be surprised if he's here next year.

Youan hasn’t really done much worse now than he did under Johnson. He’s still as capable of being really bad as he is of being really good and his goal contribution has been much the same. I still think he’s better than Jair though.

Exuberance1875
02-02-2024, 10:13 PM
If it’s a debate over Youan or Jair I’d take Youan every day of the week and twice on Sundays. As frustrating as he can be, he is always a threat as you never know what he is going to do with it next.

Jair has shown signs of improvement but his decision making can be just as poor as Youan’s without the same explosiveness (yet!) that Youan has.

Nicer problems to have though, as both can easily contribute to the team

Paul1642
02-02-2024, 10:15 PM
If it’s a debate over Youan or Jair I’d take Youan every day of the week and twice on Sundays. As frustrating as he can be, he is always a threat as you never know what he is going to do with it next.

Jair has shown signs of improvement but his decision making can be just as poor as Youan’s without the same explosiveness (yet!) that Youan has.

Jair gets a lot of credit for his improvement but we won’t be rejecting a 7 figure sum for him any time soon.

Exuberance1875
02-02-2024, 10:25 PM
Jair gets a lot of credit for his improvement but we won’t be rejecting a 7 figure sum for him any time soon.

Agree, Youan doesn’t get the same level of credit for almost carrying us at time in the second half of last season.

Stanton Spence
02-02-2024, 10:32 PM
Agree, Youan doesn’t get the same level of credit for almost carrying us at time in the second half of last season.

I’m sure he was getting credit at the time just like he would if he plays well in the second half of this season and that’s what matters
The fact it’s actually a debate and a decision to made between jair and youan tells you that he’s not been anywhere near consistent enough.
I think he needs to start showing what he can do a lot more as he hasn’t looked like a multi million pound player lately

HendoDelivered
02-02-2024, 10:35 PM
Marshall

Bevan
Fish
Triantis
Obita

Jair
Newell
Moriah-Welsh
Maolida

Marcondes

Vente

03-02-2024, 01:13 AM
Marshall

Bevan
Fish
Big Oz
Obita

Welsh
Newell
Spanish boy (right side)
Youan (left)

Macondes

Mailouda

03-02-2024, 06:42 AM
Think Levitt and Youann need a wee bench shot.

Levitt for poor performances and generally looking like he is trying not to be positive. Youann because of really poor decision making. Jair offers more of an all round.

I’d say drop Vente as well but not sure an 18 year old is the solution today.

Other that that I don’t care.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

03-02-2024, 06:48 AM
So no Tavares at all?

I'll be gobsmacked if Jair is in the team today, he's been ineffective since SJ away.

03-02-2024, 06:52 AM
Marshall

Bevan Fish Nectar Obita

Newell. Moriah

Youan. Emi. Mailouda

Vente

03-02-2024, 07:08 AM
I would go with;

Marshall

Bevan (if its true he can play RB)
Fish
Nectar (presuming Hanlon is out)
Obita

Newall
Levitt (one more chance as looked better with Emiliano in team)

Youan
Emiliano
Malioda

Vente.

Leaves us really good bench options potentially in Amos, Moriah Welsh, Jair and new Spanish guy whose name escapes me.

03-02-2024, 07:10 AM
I would go with;

Marshall

Bevan (if its true he can play RB)
Fish
Nectar (presuming Hanlon is out)
Obita

Newall
Levitt (one more chance as looked better with Emiliano in team)

Youan
Emiliano
Malioda

Vente.

Leaves us really good bench options potentially in Amos, Moriah Welsh, Jair and new Spanish guy whose name escapes me.

I reckon 10 of that team is a stick on with the only decision being whether he goes with Megwa or Bevan at right back.

03-02-2024, 07:25 AM
I reckon 10 of that team is a stick on with the only decision being whether he goes with Megwa or Bevan at right back.

Aye I think I put Bevan there more in hope then expectation as I don't think Megwa has shown much yet.

03-02-2024, 07:35 AM
Aye I think I put Bevan there more in hope then expectation as I don't think Megwa has shown much yet.

Think it would be incredible harsh to recall Megwa and then drop him after 2 games.

He knew there was a chance he’d make a mistake and he says he accepts they will happen, if that’s the case then Megwa should keep the shirt.

I just think to recall a young boy who is enjoying a good loan spell and then after two games drops him would be poor management. If it was after a month or so and miller etc back fit then fair enough

03-02-2024, 07:39 AM
Think it would be incredible harsh to recall Megwa and then drop him after 2 games.

He knew there was a chance he’d make a mistake and he says he accepts they will happen, if that’s the case then Megwa should keep the shirt.

I just think to recall a young boy who is enjoying a good loan spell and then after two games drops him would be poor management. If it was after a month or so and miller etc back fit then fair enough

It's not simply the mistakes. He doesn't look confident and practically never gets forward.

He will hopefully get better in time but there's no room for sentiment.

If Bevan is a better option right now, and I accept that's a big if, he definitely should be starting.

03-02-2024, 07:40 AM

I think he was mainly recalled because of what we had available at the time. Wouldn’t be surprised if he ends up back at Airdrie with us having Miller back next week, having signed Bevan and Cadden on the way back.

03-02-2024, 07:41 AM
Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Nectar
Obita

Newall
Amos

Maolida
Marcondes
Tavares

Vente

ChilliEater
03-02-2024, 07:46 AM
Is Jair fit? Looked like a sore one for the red card last week.

03-02-2024, 07:53 AM
I think he was mainly recalled because of what we had available at the time. Wouldn’t be surprised if he ends up back at Airdrie with us having Miller back next week, having signed Bevan and Cadden on the way back.

Yeah I’d be very surprised if he’s not back at Airdrie in the next couple of weeks.

Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 08:48 AM
Think Levitt and Youann need a wee bench shot.

Levitt for poor performances and generally looking like he is trying not to be positive. Youann because of really poor decision making. Jair offers more of an all round.

I’d say drop Vente as well but not sure an 18 year old is the solution today.

Other that that I don’t care.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I'd stick with Youan over Jair as he's much more of a threat going forward. Vente is our best option up front , hopefully now with Marcondes in we can start playing him as a 9 .

Robinson will probably go with 3 in midfield against our two , Levitt and Newell isn't a great combination , hopefully one of the new guys will start instead of Levitt who's been poor anyhow.

If what Robinson says is true it's abit of a bonus O'Hara been out too.

03-02-2024, 08:52 AM
Would keep Levitt in excellent ball for last week's equaliser. Will be interesting to see how performances are with real Competition in the squad. Would bring Bevan straight in if can play right back.

03-02-2024, 08:57 AM
Some decent signings but can the gel Quickly ?

03-02-2024, 09:10 AM

I think it was harsh to recall him. But I think we are allowed to send him back to Airdrie. That makes sense to me.

Sioux
03-02-2024, 09:13 AM
Would keep Levitt in excellent ball for last week's equaliser. Will be interesting to see how performances are with real Competition in the squad. Would bring Bevan straight in if can play right back.

One pass in a game doesn't warrant an automatic start. Does it?

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-02-2024, 09:26 AM
I think Myziane looks better up fornt. I would have him in instead of Vente and Eliliano in the 10.

03-02-2024, 10:06 AM
Not fussed what team he puts on the park, they all play in green and white, good enough for me, looking forward to the game, win, lose or draw, very exiting times to be a Hibs supporter.

03-02-2024, 10:15 AM
Some decent signings but can the gel Quickly ?

Fingers crossed but expecting it’ll take a few games.

03-02-2024, 11:19 AM
I think Myziane looks better up fornt. I would have him in instead of Vente and Eliliano in the 10.

He’s played in two games for us so far. Once up front against the **** where he was poor, and out wide when he came on last week at Killie where he was excellent.

Where do you get the idea he looks better up front?

hhibs
03-02-2024, 11:43 AM
I don’t disagree that Jair hasn’t actually provided enough goals/assists, but for me he’s a much better team player than Youan.

I still think he’s worth a starting spot especially with Vente now freed up to play as a striker rather than a no10/6/4 whatever the **** he was doing before. I want to see a striker get on the end of some of his crosses.

Just as I see it.

McGruber
03-02-2024, 12:04 PM

Completely agree.

See a recurring theme the team is boring from some - Youan doesn't cover as well as Jair but is our most creative player pretty much every game A bit more safe and less threat or more risk and more threat. I know what I'd rather

Saint Hibee
03-02-2024, 12:07 PM
Completely agree.

See a recurring theme the team is boring from some - Youan doesn't cover as well as Jair but is our most creative player pretty much every game A bit more safe and less threat or more risk and more threat. I know what I'd rather

Yep. I’m shocked there’s even a debate to be honest. Youan clearly the better player despite his faults.