View Full Version : Mcinnes
AugustaHibs
27-01-2024, 03:27 PM
Time to do the right thing Kensell and co.
27-01-2024, 03:28 PM
NM getting schooled here.
Exuberance1875
27-01-2024, 03:28 PM
The right thing for Kensell and co to do is see themselves out.
27-01-2024, 03:30 PM
I just know I’m going to get suckered into another DM debate here. Suffice to say, if people don’t think McInnes is a good manager, then there have been no good non-OF managers in Scotland for the last 40 years.
27-01-2024, 03:30 PM
100%.
27-01-2024, 03:32 PM
I just know I’m going to get suckered into another DM debate here. Suffice to say, if people don’t think McInnes is a good manager, then there have been no good non-OF managers in Scotland for the last 40 years.
Alex Ferguson
Jim McLean
HendoDelivered
27-01-2024, 03:33 PM
This, the only correct response.
27-01-2024, 03:34 PM
I just know I’m going to get suckered into another DM debate here. Suffice to say, if people don’t think McInnes is a good manager, then there have been no good non-OF manages in Scotland for the last 40 years.
He is a good manager but he's never a hibs manager. Just because Monty is a failed experiment doesn't suddenly change that. We don't want to see McInnes' football any more than the Aberdeen fans did. Every other manager in the division would do a better job than Monty but we don't want most of them.
Just_Jimmy
27-01-2024, 03:35 PM
He is a good manager but he's never a hibs manager. Just because Monty is a failed experiment doesn't suddenly change that. We don't want to see McInnes' football any more than the Aberdeen fans did. Every other manager in the division would do a better job than Monty but we don't want most of them.I want to win.
I'm sick of getting outplayed and beat.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
27-01-2024, 03:35 PM
Three appointments too late for McInnes.
AugustaHibs
27-01-2024, 03:36 PM
He is a good manager but he's never a hibs manager. Just because Monty is a failed experiment doesn't suddenly change that. We don't want to see McInnes' football any more than the Aberdeen fans did. Every other manager in the division would do a better job than Monty but we don't want most of them.
Scottish football isn’t built for ‘good’ football. The most effective teams out with the OF are tough, hard to beat and have players that will put the ball in the back of the net. That’s what Mcinnes brings.
1875M
What exactly is a Hibs manager?
Aye he's never a hibs manager, imagine winning football matches.
You don't want to see multiple trips to Hampden and top 3 finishes with a few 7 goal wins thrown in?
27-01-2024, 03:37 PM
You’re right it doesn’t suddenly change - he should have been appointed after Jack Ross. The other stuff about style of football etc is completely over egged and easy to counter. But propaganda is very effective.
27-01-2024, 03:38 PM
:agree: Winning football matches is not the Hibs way.
27-01-2024, 03:41 PM
You don't want to see multiple trips to Hampden and top 3 finishes with a few 7 goal wins thrown in?
Come on. We had multiple trips to Hampden under Jack Ross and it wasn't enough. Fail to win the final? First sign of a league downturn, then out. We're not going to wear the downturn watching McInnes any more than we did Jack Ross.
We'd be daft to go for it and McInnes would be dafter again if he took it.
27-01-2024, 03:43 PM
Hoofing the ball from one end to the other and kicking the opposition off the park.
It might win games, but not the way I’d enjoy watching us win games. I’d prefer to continue to strive to be a footballing side.
27-01-2024, 03:45 PM
Come on. We had multiple trips to Hampden under Jack Ross and it wasn't enough. Fail to win the final? First sign of a league downturn, then out. We're not going to wear the downturn watching McInnes any more than we did Jack Ross.
:agree: We dont do obvious these days, just vanity projects and blind hope now.
Greensunshine
27-01-2024, 03:45 PM
Surely we can’t be sacking yet another manager?
What manager in his right mind would want to come to Easter Road given our record for sackings!
The players that have passed through this club in the last wee while is unbelievable. Very few that can hold their head high!
27-01-2024, 03:47 PM
It wasn't enough for who? A vocal minority. It was a dreadful mistake to sack Ross.
What exactly are you hoping for in a Hibs manager?
27-01-2024, 03:51 PM
Hoofing the ball from one end to the other and kicking the opposition off the park.
It might win games, but not the way I’d enjoy watching us win games. I’d prefer to continue to strive to be a footballing side.
McInnes can gtf.
Tommy75
27-01-2024, 04:01 PM
So if we appoint Mcinnes we stop being a football side? If we went for Mcinnes after Ross then we'd have had a better last few seasons.
27-01-2024, 04:03 PM
Derek McInnes, a manager whose team couldn't hold a 2-0 lead against a pub league manager apparently.
Gordy M
27-01-2024, 04:03 PM
So if we appoint Mcinnes we stop being a football side? If we went for Mcinnes after Ross then we'd have had a better last few seasons.
Mcinnes was lucky not to be sacked last year. He has won 4 games on grass in the SPL in 2 years. Terrible record. That awful pitch has kept him in a job.
1875Sean
27-01-2024, 04:04 PM
Mcinnes was lucky not to be sacked last year. He has won 4 games on grass in the SPL in 2 years. Terrible record. That awful pitch has kept him in a job.
Exactly, would have been sacked if he was at hibs
27-01-2024, 04:06 PM
Exactly, would have been sacked if he was at hibs
Derek McInnes, a manager whose team couldn't hold a 2-0 lead against a pub league manager apparently.
He is at a club with half the budget of Hibs.
1875Sean
27-01-2024, 04:08 PM
The point is he needed time to build a team, something most hibs fans are not willing to give a manager
27-01-2024, 04:08 PM
McInnes yet to beat Monty.
27-01-2024, 04:09 PM
Montgomery deserves until the end of the season, but if it's not improved by then McInnes is the obvious answer.
To have Killie 4th ahead of Aberdeen and Hibs with the comparable budgets is impressive.
27-01-2024, 04:10 PM
Hopefully someone at Hibs was asking about his availability today
27-01-2024, 04:10 PM
McInnes yet to beat Monty.
Surely a mastermind like Derek could easily find his way around this tactic from the 80s? Especially with the ridiculous advantage that pitch gives them.
27-01-2024, 04:11 PM
McInnes’ team were boring and direct, as per always. And they dropped a 2-0 lead at home, on a pitch so **** that it offers them a ridiculous home advantage. No thanks.
27-01-2024, 04:14 PM
McInnes’ team were boring and direct, as per always. And they dropped a 2-0 lead at home, on a pitch so **** that it offers them a ridiculous home advantage. No thanks.
You can't say stuff like that about McInnes on here!
Anyone seriously wanting the manager gonna needs to have a word with themselves. New manager isn't going to change our squad and it's deficiencies overnight.
He needs time and he will get it, so people need to sit tight and back the team.
27-01-2024, 04:14 PM
A McInnes side would never drop points from 2-0 up that cannot be true
27-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Anyone seriously wanting the manager gonna needs to have a word with themselves. New manager isn't going to change our squad and it's deficiencies overnight.
He needs time and he will get it, so people need to sit tight and back the team.
Speaking for myself here, but those who want him gone, still back the team.
I support Hibs regardless of who the manager or players are.
Nobody expected him to be an overnight success…but 22 games in we’re just as ***** as when he started.
Silky
27-01-2024, 04:18 PM
NM getting schooled here.
In time wasting? No thanks.
The point is he needed time to build a team, something most hibs fans are not willing to give a manager
Correct. We wouldn't have stuck by him underperforing this much. He'd had 3 transfer windows by then (accepted he was just in the door for the 1st).
https://i.ibb.co/JvWtr4G/Screenshot-20240127-171623-Gallery.jpg (https://ibb.co/zXWxPYB)
WestCoastHibby
27-01-2024, 04:19 PM
Good comeback today.
Papers over the cracks. I want whoever the manager is to compete and be given a chance.
The revolving door system just produces angst
27-01-2024, 04:20 PM
Please God no.
Paul1642
27-01-2024, 04:26 PM
He couldn’t even take 3 points at home on his plastic pitch against the allegedly incompetent Monty. No thanks.
27-01-2024, 04:29 PM
He couldn’t even take 3 points at home on his plastic pitch against the allegedly incompetent Monty. No thanks.
With a far inferior squad, who are above us in the league.
27-01-2024, 04:30 PM
Ah sorry, fair point totally agree.
27-01-2024, 04:34 PM
I wouldn’t say their squad is far inferior, it’s well balanced with decent options off the bench.
27-01-2024, 04:44 PM
At the moment, won't last.
27-01-2024, 04:46 PM
Today was why folk don’t like him. They just wanted to spoil the game for the duration. If you were playing against us surely you just go for us because our defence is absolutely atrocious. Their approach played a part in us getting back in.
We’ll finish above them.
Paul1642
27-01-2024, 04:47 PM
Today was why folk don’t like him. They just wanted to spoil the game for the duration. If you were playing against us surely you just go for us because our defence is absolutely atrocious. Their approach played a part in us getting back in.
We’ll finish above them.
Exactly. He might put out teams that are tough to play against but who wants to watch that every week?
Crunchie
27-01-2024, 04:49 PM
I wanted McInnes the minute Aberdeen sacked him, but we've not got him and that's nothing to do with Monty.
Monty has to be given a decent fist of it, these new signings will make the difference and with a bit of luck, which we seem to have had nothing but bad recently we'll get a decent cup run and maybe even win it.
27-01-2024, 04:54 PM
I thought one of McInnes strengths was building strong squads are we now saying that’s not the case?
27-01-2024, 04:56 PM
I thought one of McInnes strengths was building strong squads are we now saying that’s not the case?
Who said that was one of his “strengths”? Not me.
Mcbizz1998
27-01-2024, 04:57 PM
McInnes is apparently the answer but is yet to beat this poor Hibs team from 3 attempts this season?
27-01-2024, 04:58 PM
In time wasting? No thanks.
Are you saying a Hibs team shouldn’t slow the game down and manage it when 2-1 up and down to ten men? Are you really turning your nose up at that? :rolleyes:
27-01-2024, 05:01 PM
McInnes is apparently the answer but is yet to beat this poor Hibs team from 3 attempts this season?
You could argue that his team with a much smaller budget is above us in the league and managed to take a point with 10 men.
27-01-2024, 05:03 PM
You could argue that his team with a much smaller budget is above us in the league and managed to take a point with 10 men.
You could also argue they were two up against a poor side, with very little confidence and blew it.
1875Sean
27-01-2024, 05:04 PM
We have a smaller budget than Aberdeen but are ahead of them? For me there isn’t much in it between a lot of teams and I think we have a better squad than killie, if we win our game in hand we are 3 points behind them, still a lot of games to be played and we will be getting stronger with the new player getting minutes and a few players to come back.
badabing67
27-01-2024, 05:07 PM
McInnes can gtf.
Exactly where I am. If we get this investment we can afford way better than him.
27-01-2024, 05:07 PM
We have a smaller budget than Aberdeen but are ahead of them? For me there isn’t much in it between a lot of teams and I think we have a better squad than killie, if we win our game in hand we are 3 points behind them, still a lot of games to be played and we will be getting stronger with the new player getting minutes and a few players to come back.
And Barry Robson should be sacked. He’s underachieving.
27-01-2024, 05:09 PM
:agree: Winning football matches is not the Hibs way.We didn't get to where we are today by winning football matches.
Yes but it is HIS team, he flirted with relegation last season after the benefit of 2 transfer windows and a 3rd midway through. Hibs fans (such as youself) wouldn't stick by a manager with an equivalent level of underperformance. NM is 4 weeks into his 1st transfer window so he's only just starting to build his team. McInnes is in his 5th window.
27-01-2024, 05:17 PM
You could also argue they were two up against a poor side, with very little confidence and blew it.
In a one off game.
When you look at his overall record he's undoubtedly one of the best managers in the Scottish league over the last decade or so.
Saying he ended up with a draw after being 2 up is very shortsighted when you consider his record on the whole
27-01-2024, 05:18 PM
Yes but it is HIS team, he flirted with relegation last season after the benefit of 2 transfer windows and a 3rd midway through. Hibs fans (such as youself) wouldn't stick by a manager with an equivalent level of underperformance. NM is 4 weeks into his 1st transfer window so he's only just starting to build his team. McInnes is in his 5th window.
I don't want McInnes at Hibs, never have really. But he's definitely doing a good job at Killie right now. As you say though, it's absolutely his team. People mention the difference in budget etc, and again that is true. But McInnes has absolutely been backed at Killie and has signed players to suit his play style. We're hopefully starting to get that now with Montgomery and I do think we'll start to improve.
27-01-2024, 05:19 PM
I'm not sure saying he "flirted with relegation" with Kilmarnock is that much of a negative. They were newly promoted, which he achieved for them in one season, and then safely navigated them to safety in the first season back.
If that's the worst that can be labeled at him it's not bad going.
Gordy M
27-01-2024, 05:23 PM
I'm not sure saying he "flirted with relegation" with Kilmarnock is that much of a negative. They were newly promoted, which he achieved for them in one season, and then safely navigated them to safety in the first season back.
In fairness to Mcinnes he has built a team to play on that awful surface which is undoubtedly an advantage and plays to their strengths.....however away from home on grass.......
27-01-2024, 05:24 PM
In fairness to Mcinnes he has built a team to play on that awful surface which is undoubtedly an advantage and plays to their strengths.....however away from home on grass.......
Done pretty well with Aberdeen over about 7 or 8 years on grass...
27-01-2024, 05:25 PM
Hopefully someone at Hibs was asking about his availability today
Killi had 36% possession and one shot on target at home against a struggling Hibs side. They then lost a two goal lead. Yea..amazing
27-01-2024, 05:26 PM
McInnes is not the answer.
27-01-2024, 05:27 PM
In a one off game.
When you look at his overall record he's undoubtedly one of the best managers in the Scottish league over the last decade or so.
Saying he ended up with a draw after being 2 up is very shortsighted when you consider his record on the whole
He’s failed to beat Monty in 3 attempts.
27-01-2024, 05:29 PM
He’s failed to beat Monty in 3 attempts.
I suppose that fact negates everything else then, like having Killie 4th and doing a very good job with Aberdeen over a long period.
He's not beaten Montgomery though, or to be more accurate Hibs, in 3 games so I suppose that trumps that.
27-01-2024, 05:35 PM
Agree totally only one team trying to play football today
Done pretty well with Aberdeen over about 7 or 8 years on grass...
He did no better than okay.
27-01-2024, 05:40 PM
They were two up and should have lost after Doidge headed wide. No thanks
27-01-2024, 05:44 PM
Important context. Ridiculous looking to get rid of the manager. Give him a chance
The equivalent underperformance would be more than enough of a negative for many Hibs fans to want a manager replaced.
He achieved promotion where the nearest challengers were part-time Arbroath and he only pipped them by a couple of points. Wonder how many times Arbroath's budget Killie had.
Yes kept them up, he avoided the relegation playoff spot on the last day of the season. The point is that Hibs managers are not allowed that level of support.
As others have mentioned, the plastic pitch gives him a huge advantage. I looked up the stats not long ago and the points earned at home conmpared to away are a lot more heavily skewed to points at won at home than average.
27-01-2024, 05:50 PM
McInnes may not be the answer, but I'm totally done with these experiments.
This manager like the last two is an absolute dud.
27-01-2024, 06:11 PM
McInnes may not be the answer, but I'm totally done with these experiments.
This manager like the last two is an absolute dud.
Don't think he is. Fans need to be much more patient
27-01-2024, 06:22 PM
I suppose that fact negates everything else then, like having Killie 4th and doing a very good job with Aberdeen over a long period.
He's not beaten Montgomery though, or to be more accurate Hibs, in 3 games so I suppose that trumps that.
I didn’t say it negates anything but then again I wasn’t thr person saying it was just a one off match.
27-01-2024, 06:27 PM
I didn’t say it negates anything but then again I wasn’t thr person saying it was just a one off match.
Every game in the league is a one off match. Unless I've missed the deciding leg scheduled?
Silky
27-01-2024, 06:53 PM
Are you saying a Hibs team shouldn’t slow the game down and manage it when 2-1 up and down to ten men? Are you really turning your nose up at that? :rolleyes:
They were doing it at 2-2. At home. Never even pushed to kill the game and get a third or fourth. At home! Parked the bus and shat it.
Do I want that. No. I want a team who plays to win. Plus, I've seen no evidence what so ever that he is the messiah that he's made out to be. Failed to beat this poor Hibs team twice. The love in is cringey.
xbar81
27-01-2024, 06:56 PM
They were doing it at 2-2. At home. Never even pushed to kill the game and get a third or fourth. At home! Parked the bus and shat it.
Do I want that. No. I want a team who plays to win. Plus, I've seen no evidence what so ever that he is the messiah that he's made out to be. Failed to beat this poor Hibs team twice. The love in is cringey.
yea, he wouldn't last half a season here, and by here i mean on hibs.net. We already have a problem hanging on sometimes so last thing we need is someone who shuts up shop against anyone that isn't the old firm.
Greensunshine
27-01-2024, 06:58 PM
Monty needs to be given time. We need to stop jumping from manager to manager. It’s damaging the club.
Player recruitment has been our biggest failure but hopefully that’ll be given a huge boost in the coming months!
Please keep the faith comrades!
27-01-2024, 06:59 PM
It’s only a negative on his CV if you believe the Hibs team is poor of course. Even at 2-2 the better team were pushing to win the game. If roles were reversed I would 100% want my team to be managing it to get away with a point. You’re kidding yourself on if we were at Easter Road playing any of the top three and we’re trying to keep it square for a point. You’d be delighted with it just as everyone else would.
Franck Le God
27-01-2024, 07:01 PM
Good comeback today.
Papers over the cracks. I want whoever the manager is to compete and be given a chance.
The revolving door system just produces angst
This is a great point for me. We’ve tried continually replacing managers, look where it’s left us.
NM hasn’t even had a full transfer window and folk want him punted, it’s insane IMO. Yes the football, and results, aren’t what we would want but hitting the reset button now just starts the cycle all over again.
What we need is a little patience and Perseverance.
27-01-2024, 07:08 PM
Yes and he’s adapted his play to suit that and not try to be Man City.
27-01-2024, 07:09 PM
Roaster.
babahibs
27-01-2024, 07:14 PM
Did he win?
I must've missed that.
According to bbc the messiah lines up 4-4-2 today. Mcinnes out
LewysGot2
27-01-2024, 07:35 PM
Knew this would resurface today.
Hibs may have been frustrating in sectors of today's game there is no way we'd accept that style of play at ER. We hounded out other managers for less. His team are a gang, aided and abetted by one of the worst playing surfaces in top flight football. We'd not be happy with it no matter what the results.
Whether NM pans out poorly or otherwise, the man with more tan than BK isn't the answer...
27-01-2024, 08:05 PM
Don't think he is. Fans need to be much more patient
I sincerely hope you are correct.
27-01-2024, 08:11 PM
Monty needs to be given time. We need to stop jumping from manager to manager. It’s damaging the club.
Player recruitment has been our biggest failure but hopefully that’ll be given a huge boost in the coming months!
Please keep the faith comrades!
I admire your optimism and wish I had it. Just don't think Montgomery will come good and that's a worry.
davym7062
27-01-2024, 08:59 PM
hearts win that game today..... hibs well
27-01-2024, 09:02 PM
Did he win?
I must've missed that.
Three times he hasn't won
29-01-2024, 06:57 AM
Did he win?
I must've missed that.
I genuinely can't remember our last league win, oy must be early December or before. Not sure any killie fans can say that.
29-01-2024, 07:05 AM
It’s probably fair to accept that Hearts have a notably better squad than us so far this season and a much more settled start to the season.
They’re still Rover driving cardigan wearing Chris De Burgh fantasising morons though.
Trinity Hibee
29-01-2024, 07:16 AM
It’s probably fair to accept that Hearts have a notably better squad than us so far this season and a much more settled start to the season.
They’re still Rover driving cardigan wearing Chris De Burgh fantasising morons though.
😂 haven’t heard the Chris de burgh one before. Will add to the list
Rumble de Thump
29-01-2024, 07:30 AM
Exactly. The ref would never have allowed Kilmarnock's first goal to stand if they'd been playing Hearts.
Exactly. The ref would never have allowed Kilmarnock's first goal to stand if they'd been playing Hearts.Yup
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
MKHIBEE
29-01-2024, 08:12 AM
That wouldn’t happen to involve a nanny would it ?
AugustaHibs
03-02-2024, 04:18 PM
Now is time.
03-02-2024, 04:29 PM
Just give him whatever he wants. Do it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 04:32 PM
I’ll give him a lift and buy him a McDonald’s if he’s struggling to get through to Edinburgh tonight
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 04:33 PM
Mcinnes was 3 or 4 appointments ago. Not sure he wants to work under a DoF.
He’s my preferred candidate but don’t think it’s going to happen now.
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 04:34 PM
Someone on here said he refuses to work under a DOF, if that’s the case then it’ll never happen. Which is a shame as he’s a no brainer.
03-02-2024, 04:34 PM
He would instantly improve he.
Hes also one the rest of the league would think “oh no”, all of them would know he’d make us good and alot better with our budget, no longer an easy team to place or stadium to go etc
Sparrows tongue
03-02-2024, 04:39 PM
In a heartbeat.
Please Hibs, get him in.
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 04:43 PM
Someone on here said he refuses to work under a DOF, if that’s the case then it’ll never happen. Which is a shame as he’s a no brainer.
Sack Dr Eggman and get McInnes in then, imo.
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 04:44 PM
Sack Dr Eggman and get McInnes in then, imo.
Wouldn’t be against that but I don’t think we’ll even consider moving away from that now.
HendoDelivered
03-02-2024, 04:45 PM
He wont touch us.
03-02-2024, 04:51 PM
He wont touch us.
Mostly because he’s a west coast tangerine drum basher.
it’s a shame we 100% need him.
Coach Jon
03-02-2024, 04:57 PM
Dont believe everything you read on here, also the bs that his teams are negative, he plays a system which suits his players which is the right thing to do, as opposed to this imposter who has his system and tries to shoehorn players into it, which is what we have been seeing since he came in, and its eye bleeding stuff to watch.
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 04:57 PM
I don't think Monty is going to be sacked though if he was I don't want to see us appoint either Lennon or McInnes . If it came down to either I'd rather Lennon than Derek McInnes anti football , it's awful to watch . A big NO to both though.
If Monty was to go I'd put SDG in as interim manager and see how he does for the rest of the season which would also give us time to look at other candidates too though SDG I think would do well.
I think the last time this season I was happy about the performance and result was when SDG beat Aberdeen at pittodrie . Just saying.
sean04
03-02-2024, 04:58 PM
Mcinnes get results but his football is eye bleeding. Bang it up to big strikers and play of the 2nd ball
AL-Qaholik
03-02-2024, 04:59 PM
He’ll want nothing to do with us.
We’re poison.
Paulie Walnuts
Dont believe everything you read on here, also the bs that his teams are negative, he plays a system which suits his players which is the right thing to do, as opposed to this imposter who has his system and tries to shoehorn players into it, which is what we have been seeing since he came in, and its eye bleeding stuff to watch.
The negative stuff is nonsense. I’ve posted stats before and his Aberdeen side were about as free scoring as they come outside of the Old Firm.
Trinity Hibee
Mcinnes get results but his football is eye bleeding. Bang it up to big strikers and play of the 2nd ball
That’s not really true as stats at Aberdeen have shown. Maybe not the most attractive but it’s effective.
Certainly better than these ‘modern managers’ we’ve appointed the last few years.
03-02-2024, 05:03 PM
Anyone who doesn’t think McInnes is a good managers doesn’t know football and doesn’t really care about success for Hibs.
03-02-2024, 05:04 PM
Even though that is not true, it is a step up from this pish.
03-02-2024, 05:05 PM
I’ve wanted McInness since we appointed Jack Ross
I genuinely don’t think he’d take it and I’m unsure why folk think it’s a foregone conclusion he’d accept any offer from us
He's here!
03-02-2024, 05:06 PM
This gets trotted out by some every time he's mentioned as though our own football is somehow better than eye bleeding!
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 05:07 PM
It's Wimbledon FC tactics .
sean04
03-02-2024, 05:18 PM
This gets trotted out by some every time he's mentioned as though our own football is somehow better than eye bleeding!
Our football is a disgrace just now
03-02-2024, 05:19 PM
McInnes won't leave killie for Hibs currently.
K-Zazu
03-02-2024, 05:21 PM
What kind of tactics is Montgomerys then?
supermcginn
03-02-2024, 05:24 PM
He wouldn't take it he's got a good squad at Kilmarnock and just added a cracking player in Van Veen.
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 05:27 PM
Hungover Sunday league
NC1875
03-02-2024, 05:28 PM
The people that bang on about his Rangers connection.
He turned down the chance to manage them to stay at Aberdeen.
Hes exactly what we need.
If we’d brought him in before NM we certainly wouldn’t be clinging onto mighty 7th place.
He's here!
03-02-2024, 05:29 PM
How would you describe ours? Non existent sounds about right.
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 05:34 PM
I'm not defending Monty's tactics, I said Newell, Levitt doesn't work together in midfield , I have questions the 442 getting played every week too .
McInnes teams are effective though not nice to watch , that's my opinion and I don't want to see Hibs playing like that .
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 05:39 PM
How would you describe ours? Non existent sounds about right.
S****s another word I'd use after today and I'm not defending Monty's . Just never liked watching Derek McInnes teams either 👍
03-02-2024, 05:43 PM
What would peoples thoughts be on Tony Docherty?
Doing a brilliant job at Dundee
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 05:48 PM
Wimbledon won the FA Cup with those tactics, I’d rather watch a hibs team that are just bullies and hammer throwers win than a bunch of flair players get humbled every week like this mob
03-02-2024, 05:50 PM
Wimbledon won the FA Cup with those tactics, I’d rather watch a hibs team that are just bullies and hammer throwers win than a bunch of flair players get humbled every week like this mob
I’d love to see a Hibs team bully anybody right now.
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 05:54 PM
I’d love to see a Hibs team bully anybody right now.
Dirty hibs has a nice ring to it, shame we’re as soft as a bairns first jobby
badabing67
03-02-2024, 06:53 PM
What would peoples thoughts be on Tony Docherty?
Doing a brilliant job at Dundee
Would it be a surprise if he ended up at Aberdeen
Crammond Hibee
03-02-2024, 06:56 PM
McInnes won't leave killie for Hibs currently.
Nor would I if I was him
Crammond Hibee
03-02-2024, 06:57 PM
Nor would I if I was him
He was third in the league years in a row
03-02-2024, 06:58 PM
If we’d brought him in before NM we certainly wouldn’t be clinging onto mighty 7th place.
Funnily enough I think the same folk that bang on about his ‘Rangers’ connection are those that are desperate for that erse Neil Lennon to manage us again. Strange that
I'm not defending Monty's tactics, I said Newell, Levitt doesn't work together in midfield , I have questions the 442 getting played every week too .
McInnes teams are effective though not nice to watch , that's my opinion and I don't want to see Hibs playing like that .
Don’t want to see Hibs playing like what?
Winning games of football, finishing 2nd and 3rd consistently at Aberdeen or watching this utter nonsense from nick.
03-02-2024, 07:12 PM
100% behind mcinnes
03-02-2024, 07:14 PM
I hate winning games the wrong way.
03-02-2024, 07:14 PM
But…..but……but…..he’s got a Rangers connection!🙄 Shouldvd been appointed 3 managers ago, end off!
03-02-2024, 07:17 PM
Just give the job to David Gray and be done with it.
With another “temp manager” gig looming he’ll soon have enough to be described as an experienced manager..
GreenGray
03-02-2024, 07:20 PM
Look at our current squad and compare it to the signings McInnes has made at Kilmarnock.
If you think he’d do well here you are off your heid.
I like him, but it just wouldn’t work.
VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 07:22 PM
If we're going for SPL managers I'd take the guy in the opposite dugout today. I'd have been happy for him to have got the job prior to NM, but in fairness to the board, I was happy with NM. You roll the dice and sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. I think we've been hasty in appointing NM, too stubborn, too inexperienced and now looking very much like a rookie manager who's miles out of his depth. If he's to continue he needs someone to sit down and tell him that he's not playing Football Manager on a video game, other teams will bring lots to the party.
I've never seen a Robinson team outfought, or been tactically exposed. With his budget he will be outclassed sometimes, but his teams have never been a pushover.
03-02-2024, 07:22 PM
If SDG has some pearls of wisdom to share with the team that would make a big difference don’t you think he would’ve chipped in whilst he sat beside the last 2, soon to be 3 no doubt, managers being sacked. Love the guy for what he achieved whilst playing for Hibs but what makes you think he’s be a good choice as manager/head coach?
GreenGray
03-02-2024, 07:24 PM
With another “temp manager” gig looming he’ll soon have enough to be described as an experienced manager..
One of our best performances of the season was under him at Pittodrie tbf
03-02-2024, 07:25 PM
Look at our current squad and compare it to the signings McInnes has made at Kilmarnock.
His poor Kilmarnock squad who are currently above us
GreenGray
03-02-2024, 07:26 PM
His poor Kilmarnock squad who are currently above us
Where did I say they were poor signings or a poor squad?
My point is he likes to sign and work with a certain style of player, the ones in our squad don’t fit that style.
03-02-2024, 07:32 PM
With decent money he might just be the answer. His Aberdeen team a few seasons back played some cracking football when they had the likes of Christie, MacLean and Rooney. But once that team broke up he resorted to the usual "style" and that would have the fans staying away in droves, even if we were scraping 1-0s.
buktapurple79
03-02-2024, 07:32 PM
I'd bring him in now. Had enough of fanning about with experiments.
03-02-2024, 07:33 PM
I'd bring him in now. Had enough of fanning about with experiments.
He won’t want the job.
03-02-2024, 07:34 PM
He won’t want the job.
Exactly. I don't want McInnes to be next manager, but I honestly think he wouldn't want it regardless. Same with folk wanting Lennon back, don't think he'd touch it.
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 07:35 PM
Exactly. I don't want McInnes to be next manager, but I honestly think he wouldn't want it regardless. Same with folk wanting Lennon back, don't think he'd touch it.
Lennon absolutely would. He as good as said he wanted it last time
03-02-2024, 07:37 PM
Lennon absolutely would. He as good as said he wanted it last time
When was last time? When we appointed Monty?
We're in free fall so I completely disagree, don't think he'd touch it. He'd take the Aberdeen job over us.
thebausburst
03-02-2024, 07:40 PM
Folks saying McInnes wouldn’t want it, why Hibs are a FAR bigger (city) club backed by a major backer, of course he’d be interested.
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 07:41 PM
We won the league cup and Scottish cup playing the right way too . Football under Mowbray , stubbs was good too . I hate to see Hibs end up like that tbh ! .
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 07:41 PM
When was last time? When we appointed Monty?
We're in free fall so I completely disagree, don't think he'd touch it. He'd take the Aberdeen job over us.
Yep. Was on the PLZ soccer show saying he’d want to be considered
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 07:43 PM
I hate winning games the wrong way.
You think McInnes will win all the time ? .
VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 07:44 PM
300,00k a year tells me he'd want it. And despite what some might think, our squad is not devoid of quality, it's just tired of being told a steaming pile of BS by the latest wonderkid to rock up at ER. But Steve Robinson would do for me, if we're going domestic level. He's a bit like McInnes but his teams are capable of playing better football, imo. And his players give their all.
03-02-2024, 07:46 PM
300,00k a year tells me he'd want it. And despite what some might think our squad is not devoid of quality, it's just tired of being told a steaming pile of BS by the latest wonderkid to rock up at ER. But Steve Robinson would do for me, if we're going domestic level. He's a bit like McInnes but his teams are capable of playing better football, imo. And his players give their all.
He turned down Sevco when in charge of Aberdeen so don't think £300k a year would be as big a draw as you think.
VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 07:49 PM
He turned down Sevco when in charge of Aberdeen so don't think £300k a year would be as big a draw as you think.
Maybe not, but Sevco back then were a shambles and he was apparently on 750k a year at Aberdeen. I don't want him, although I wouldn't be gutted if we appointed him, but as stated above, if it's SPL managers we look at then look in the opposite dugout today. He'd do fine for me right now.
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 07:50 PM
I don’t like him, he’s a fanny. But he’s a good manager. Get him in.
03-02-2024, 08:54 PM
Wanted him since Ross was sacked. Folk said his football was boring. What have we witnessed since? Boring football and no fight
davym7062
03-02-2024, 08:56 PM
You think McInnes will win all the time ? .
no but winning sometimes would be good
davym7062
03-02-2024, 08:57 PM
Wanted him since Ross was sacked. Folk said his football was boring. What have we witnessed since? Boring football and no fight
bang on
03-02-2024, 09:04 PM
There was a point today during the first half when I'd have genuinely been excited by a team that could reliably win second balls.
Just by doing that they'd be on the front door a bit more, than rather aimless possession and 0.0 expected goals. I've been jealous of every single team that's scored goals on the EFL highlights, and that includes Maloney's Wigan FFS.
It's not a insult to our existence to deviate from wanting to be attractive and win well. We've had no sort of consistent likelihood of winning games since early 2021. If back to basics gets us to being one of the form teams in the league, I honestly don't care who it is anymore.
03-02-2024, 09:18 PM
If SDG has some pearls of wisdom to share with the team that would make a big difference don’t you think he would’ve chipped in whilst he sat beside the last 2, soon to be 3 no doubt, managers being sacked. Love the guy for what he achieved whilst playing for Hibs but what makes you think he’s be a good choice as manager/head coach?
What do you think he’s suppose to do exactly? Pass notes around behind montgomerys back?
His job is to facilitate whatever it is the head coach wants him to facilitate.
h1bs4life
04-02-2024, 07:26 AM
After watching that shower of ##### yesterday Mcinnes , or Robinson would do me . They know Scottish Football what is required and would certainly get more out of this squad that Monty gets . I would even at a push take Lennon back .
Twice now St Mirren have come to Easter Road in the league out muscled us , outplayed us and strolled away with 3 points
Greensunshine
04-02-2024, 10:28 AM
It beggars belief that some would rather we sign a guy from the other side of the world to a guy who’s proven in Scottish football.
I think some thought he was the next Ange Postecoglue
04-02-2024, 10:35 AM
It beggars belief that some would rather we sign a guy from the other side of the world to a guy who’s proven in Scottish football.
Results don’t lie
Imo the players have stopped running for him
Out his depth now
04-02-2024, 10:37 AM
Ange was an engaging personality/character, you could understand how he’d be able to command respect. He also came over as a smart and articulate man……I’ve seen none of these traits from our version of Ange. In fact, I’ve always felt McInnes and the likes of Robinson speak with a calmness and authority, Monty just does not come across well at all in any interview I’ve seen. Rambling answers to questions, going around in circles repeating himself.
04-02-2024, 10:39 AM
His record as a manager speaks for itself. If that doesn't convince people he was and is the obvious choice then no amount of words will persuade them. Give him a budget to do a job and he invariably achieves that. That was the case at St Johnstone, Aberdeen and now Kilmarnock.
It's never going to happen though. My gut is he will be at Killie until Clarke moves on from Scotland then he'll get a crack at that job.
Scotty Leither
04-02-2024, 10:41 AM
Ange was an engaging personality/character, you could understand how he’d be able to command respect. He also came over as a smart and articulate man……I’ve seen none of these traits from our version of Ange. In fact, I’ve always felt McInnes and the likes of Robinson speak with a calmness and authority, Monty just does not come across well at all in any interview I’ve seen. Rambling answers to questions, going around in circles repeating himself.
He would have been the cheapest option. That would have been Kensell’s brief from Ian Gordon. They’re done spending and want out, IMO.
04-02-2024, 10:45 AM
Results don’t lie
Imo the players have stopped running for him
Out his depth now
Aye they’ve done that quite a few times now ae?
04-02-2024, 10:47 AM
The one thing mcinnes would do for starters is make us harder to beat. Even by that single positive and improvement it would be such a massive step in the right direction
We concede so many cheap goals and often more than 1. You’re relying on hibs scoring at least 3 to win a game of football.
I’m fully more than ever think mcinnes would be the best appointment the board could wish to make.
04-02-2024, 10:50 AM
He would have been the cheapest option. That would have been Kensell’s brief from Ian Gordon. They’re done spending and want out, IMO.
Can you back any of those claims up with any evidence. It must be great to know what happens within the boardroom, you are so lucky
JennaFletcher
04-02-2024, 10:53 AM
Me too.
Scotty Leither
04-02-2024, 11:03 AM
Can you back any of those claims up with any evidence. It must be great to know what happens within the boardroom, you are so lucky
Zero transfer fees out in the last window, despite near £2m IN.
04-02-2024, 11:05 AM
I would be happy with Mcinnes.
We need a bit of savvy.
04-02-2024, 11:20 AM
It's a football forum, not a court of law. SL has been a consistent critic of the way the club is being run, often shot down by other posters with replies like your own. There are plenty of daft comments, different views, on here. I think the reality of the Gordon regime's failings is beginning to sink in now for many. They benefited from buying the club in a good place financially, arguably got Hibs for a bargain price, and have greatly improved the value of their shareholding in Hibs.
However, they haven't been able to get the football side right. NM will be sacked soon, the side is seemingly in freefall and we have a shambolic and imbalanced squad of players.
Trinity Hibee
04-02-2024, 11:24 AM
He’s such an obvious candidate surely the board haven’t overlooked him for the last 3 appointments?
I hope it isn’t the case, but maybe he doesn’t want to come here. Only reason I can think for that is that it’s working with a DoF.
I thought Hearts would have gone for him in the summer too instead went with Naismith which makes me think there is maybe something in the DoF thing.
Hibs4185
04-02-2024, 11:24 AM
There was a point today during the first half when I'd have genuinely been excited by a team that could reliably win second balls.
Just by doing that they'd be on the front door a bit more, than rather aimless possession and 0.0 expected goals. I've been jealous of every single team that's scored goals on the EFL highlights, and that includes Maloney's Wigan FFS.
It's not an insult to our existence to deviate from wanting to be attractive and win well. We've had no sort of consistent likelihood of winning games since early 2021. If back to basics gets us to being one of the form teams in the league, I honestly don't care who it is anymore.
I would just be excited by a team who can receive a pass and try to play forward rather than turn back every time
howdenthehibby
04-02-2024, 11:27 AM
He won’t want the job.
I dont think he would take it either,apparentely he's on about 6 grand a week according to off the ball yesterday.
If we’d brought him in before NM we certainly wouldn’t be clinging onto mighty 7th place.I haven't noticed anyone bang on about his rangers connection.
big gogs
04-02-2024, 11:36 AM
I dont think he would take it either,apparentely he's on about 6 grand a week according to off the ball yesterday.
Why wouldn’t he take it,hibs must be paying Montgomery more than that,he never left Australia to earn a pittance,was McKinnes ever offered the hibs job.some say yes ,but no facts were offered.hibs are paying a lot bigger salaries than ever.
04-02-2024, 11:36 AM
I think McInnes will have one eye on the Scotland job if and when Clarke goes. He's doing a very similar job at Killie. Our chances of getting him are probably gone now.
He's here!
04-02-2024, 11:37 AM
I haven't noticed anyone bang on about his rangers connection.
Nor have I.
He's clearly an excellent, savvy manager who knows the Scottish game inside out and in light of the shambolic stuff on the pitch we've been subjected to under our last three incumbents it seems increasingly daft that we don't appear to have ever considered him. Anyone who thinks our current 'style of play' is superior to what McInnes would bring can't have been watching us.
Blackfordhibby
04-02-2024, 11:39 AM
Nail Hammer Head.