View Full Version : Team for Killie?

yerauldda
25-01-2024, 08:21 AM
Have to hope we sign a centre back for Saturday, as well as Obita played last night we can't have Stevenson playing 2 games in 4 days.
Wholesale changes, surely. I'd love for Marshall to be dropped but he won't be.

Johnson
Megwa Fish Hanlon Obita
Youan Amos Newell Jair
Marcondes Vente

25-01-2024, 08:24 AM
I’d love that formation binned

Along with something else

Watching hibs is miserable currently

Starting 11, just win

25-01-2024, 08:36 AM
The team should be in my opinion presuming no new signings;

Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Newall
Amos

Youan
Marcondes
Jair

Vente.

Miller and Boyle in for Megwa and Jair and things start to look better. Get Maolida up to speed as he can't be that bad when fully fit.

The team we get will, of course, be somewhat different.

25-01-2024, 08:41 AM
I’d go 4-3-3

Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Obita
Stevenson

Newall
Levitt

Marcondes

Youan
Vente
Tavares

25-01-2024, 08:42 AM
The team should be in my opinion presuming no new signings;

Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Newall
Amos

Youan
Marcondes
Jair

Vente.

Miller and Boyle in for Megwa and Jair and things start to look better. Get Maolida up to speed as he can't be that bad when fully fit.

The team we get will, of course, be somewhat different.

I think that team will be pretty close. Depends whether Amos will be deemed fit enough to start but the rest looks pretty close to what I think he’ll pick.

25-01-2024, 08:55 AM
………………..Marshall……..

………Megwa…Fish…Hanlon….

Whittaker…Amos…Newell….Obita….

…………………Marcondes….

……………Vente……….Youan……

Realistically it will be;

…………………..Marshall…..,

Megwa…..Fish……..Hanlon……Obita…..

Youan…..Levitt…..Newell……Jair….

……………Vente…..Marcondes…..

Paulie Walnuts
25-01-2024, 08:59 AM
………………..Marshall……..

………Megwa…Fish…Hanlon….

…………………Marcondes….

……………Vente……….Youan……

…………………..Marshall…..,

I quite like the look of that 3-5-2

25-01-2024, 09:06 AM
Id happily drop Jair and Youan but we have no one else.

25-01-2024, 09:10 AM
………………..Marshall……..

………Megwa…Fish…Hanlon….

…………………Marcondes….

……………Vente……….Youan……

…………………..Marshall…..,

In terms of what we may have available to us that 3-5-2 doesn't look too bad an option.

25-01-2024, 09:10 AM
Change the keeper (it's time) and bring in Amos and Marcondes.

Work the rest around that.

Paulie Walnuts
25-01-2024, 09:12 AM
Change the keeper (it's time) and bring in Amos and Marcondes.

Work the rest around that.

My big concern with that is that Montgomery would be asking a hell of a lot from Murray Johnson to play his ‘style’ of football. Asking a young laddie to be a ball playing goalkeeper is a disaster waiting to happen imo and could completely ruin him.

He's here!
25-01-2024, 09:15 AM
I'm guessing that on these threads most are going with the team/formation they'd LIKE to see given a go?

The reality is that if they're set up in the same one-dimensional way each week then no amount of tinkering will make much difference.

25-01-2024, 09:17 AM

Me too. Said elsewhere I don’t think we can start both but limited options until Boyle is back

25-01-2024, 09:20 AM
My big concern with that is that Montgomery would be asking a hell of a lot from Murray Johnson to play his ‘style’ of football. Asking a young laddie to be a ball playing goalkeeper is a disaster waiting to happen imo and could completely ruin him.

I agree with this. The same was said last season when Marshall's form fell off a cliff but throwing in a 19 year old GK with about 5 senior appearances to his name isn't a solution. You just have to live with Marsh or Wollacott until the summer at this point.

sauzee1989
25-01-2024, 09:22 AM
Marshall

Megwa
Stevenson
Obita
Hanlon

Newell
Amos
Marcondes

Youan
Vente
Doidge

25-01-2024, 09:31 AM

I think, generally speaking, young keepers are far better at that side of the game than guys in their late 30s. It's all they have ever known whilst guys my age and older can just about remember football before the pass back rule.

I know the accepted wisdom is that keepers need to be protected and that they get better with age. However if you look around Europe there are loads of examples of young keepers who were playing first team football as teenagers who have flourished. Indeed ourselves, Hearts and until recently Rangers all sport an example.

I'm not sure Johnson is the solution but then I'm not convinced persisting with Marshall is either. The former is widely regarded as one of the two best young keepers in the country at his age group and he deserves a chance imo.

Paulie Walnuts
25-01-2024, 09:32 AM
I think, generally speaking, young keepers are far better at that side of the game than guys in their late 30s. It's all they have ever known whilst guys my age and older can just about remember football before the pass back rule.

I know the accepted wisdom is that keepers need to be protected and that they get better with age. However if you look around Europe there are loads of example of young keepers who were playing first team football as teenagers who have flourished.

I'm not sure Johnson is the solution but then I'm not convinced persisting with Marshall is either. The former is widely regarded as one of the two best young keepers in the country at his age group and he deserves a chance imo.

That’s fair. I’ve seen Johnson a handful of times but if im honest i cant remember what he’s like with his feet.

hibsmad
25-01-2024, 09:36 AM
I'm not against Tavares playing but it is starting to do my head in that he is playing every minute of every game. He just isn't offering enough to warrant it.

And for the love of god play Vente as a centre forward and leave him there! Stop asking him to rotate with the other forwards and work back.

Then get the ball to him faster. Do that and I'll be happy.

Marshall

Obita
Fish
Hanlon
Megwa

Amos
Newell

Youan
Emiliano
Maolida

Vente

RossScott1991
25-01-2024, 09:40 AM
Hilarious folk posting 3.5.2 etc ( I agree btw)

He ain’t going to change.

4.4.2 it is and we will lose more than we win til the end of the season. Starting with Saturday.

The formation is what is going to get him sacked I’ve come to accept he’s just not going to adapt it, live by the sword die by the sword.

We will have a new manager start of next season.

25-01-2024, 10:02 AM

4.4.2 it is and we will lose more than we win til the end of the season. Starting with Saturday.

The formation is what is going to get him sacked I’ve come to accept he’s just not going to adapt it, live by the sword die by the sword.

I don't think it's the formation but not having players to play the formation.

442 is a tweak away from being a number of different formations but you need to have 2 very strong players in the middle of the park however you play.

I know the defence come in for a lot of criticism on here but as far as I'm concerned our "front 6" are regularly an utter shambles and that heaps pressure on the defence. Our GK had a mixed bag of good saves and fatal mistakes last night but Megwa came onto a game, Fish was arguably below the level he's capable of (but nobody could argue he isn't a good player), Obita was excellent and Stevenson did fine. The rest of the team was guff, and it would have ben so had it been slightly tweaked into a different formation.

We badly need Marcondes and Amos to hit the ground running and contribute solid 90 minute matches straight away. I'm actually surprised at how ineffective our wide players and strikers have become, who I believe to all be good players but for whom it simply is not happening right now.

For those who (reasonably) raise the 451 suggestion - we looked mince with that during the games that ultimately got Johnson the sack at the start of the season and I'm struggling to understand why that might be significantly better now than it was then, albeit we're not talking about a huge sample size.

Although if I was put in charge on Saturday - I'd start by picking who I thought were going to be our best 3 central midfielders, try to get control of the midfield and then pick more peripheral players around that from there (probably either a 4231 or 352).

Donegal Hibby
25-01-2024, 10:11 AM
Marshall.

Whittaker.
Fish.
Hanlon.
Obita.

Jair.
Jeggo.
Amos.
Youan .

Marcondes.

Vente.

25-01-2024, 10:27 AM
I'd like to see

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Levitt
Amos
Marcondes

Youan
Vente
Maloida

25-01-2024, 10:29 AM
Don't think we will see Malioda starting again for a wee while.

thebausburst
25-01-2024, 10:41 AM
Vente needs dropped, guys confidence is zero and looks knackered, keeping him in the team not doing him any favours, Hibs need a prolific striker and no nonsense reliable CH before the window closes.

25-01-2024, 10:41 AM
Massive weekend with us playing 4th, and 3rd facing 7th

I quite liked Obita at CB but imo Stevenson is done, a year too far for him so realistically we need to sign a CB this week if PH isn't fit

Amos has to come in as does Marcondes. To get the best out of Youan he needs to play further forward. Either as a winger or a striker

NM needs to see beyond his ideal formation and play to the players strengths

thebausburst
25-01-2024, 10:43 AM

Dropping Youan is madness, he’s only guy that creates anything or looks like scoring, literally laid one on a plate last night!

25-01-2024, 10:43 AM

TBH other than in emergency I don't see Murray Johnston starting, wasn't Boruc preferred to him as back up before he went out on loan?

I think there is a real danger here (and I am very guilty of this personally) of losing all sense of perspective over some of our players and Marshall in particular.

He made a right mess of the 3rd goal, no question ay all, but other than that was pretty good.

I know that he has made a few errors since joining and I personally wouldn't be giving him another contract, but in addition to asking Johnson to play Monty ball it would be a huge ask and pretty unfair to put him in a team in freefall and as you rightly say could ruin him.

25-01-2024, 10:48 AM
Another flat boring uninspiring wholly predictable 4 4 2 full of square pegs in round holes, with endless slack, danger-inviting stupid short passes out from the back. Yas

3 nil Killie

Donegal Hibby
25-01-2024, 10:55 AM
Vente needs dropped, guys confidence is zero and looks knackered, keeping him in the team not doing him any favours, Hibs need a prolific striker and no nonsense reliable CH before the window closes.

I think Vente could be a prolific striker for us if we played him in the position that suits him . He's clinical in the box , all his goals for us so far have been scored in the box . He's stopped scoring because he's playing far to deep and knackered because he's covering so much ground , agree confidence is probably low like all strikers who aren't scoring!.

VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 11:02 AM
I like some of the formations other posters have put up, but sadly it means nothing. 2 in the middle and McInnes will have Killie running all over us. Obita was excellent last night but not sure I want to see him against Vassell. I live in hope of a formation change. This is miserable.

A bad result against Killie and life will become very toxic for NM. Suspect the fans at the game will turn on him.

25-01-2024, 11:11 AM
I like some of the formations other posters have put up, but sadly it means nothing. 2 in the middle and McInnes will have Killie running all over us. Obita was excellent last night but not sure I want to see him against Vassell. I live in hope of a formation change. This is miserable.

A bad result against Killie and life will become very toxic for NM. Suspect the fans at the game will turn on him.
NM will only have himself and his insistence/ stubbornness in his 442 to blame when that time comes, which everyone with half a brain cell of Scottish footballing knowledge can see isny working

I wanted him to get the job and still want him to do well and turn it around but his naivety is going to cost him the job.

VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 11:13 AM
NM will only have himself and his insistence/ stubbornness in his 442 to blame when that time comes, which everyone with half a brain cell of Scottish footballing knowledge can see isny working

I wanted him to get the job and still want him to do well and turn it around but his naivety is going to cost him the job.

Exactly where I'm at.

25-01-2024, 11:27 AM
Whoever is fit will dictate who plays at the weekend.

25-01-2024, 11:31 AM
Whoever is fit will dictate who plays at the weekend.

To be fair that's the same at every club on the planet.

Exuberance1875
25-01-2024, 11:39 AM
I'd like to see

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Levitt
Amos
Marcondes

Youan
Vente
Maloida

This looks a good option for me

25-01-2024, 11:44 AM
To be fair that's the same at every club on the planet.

No, the manager usually chooses from a pool of fit players.
We will be choosing whatever fit players we have and players who can manage their injury.

25-01-2024, 12:03 PM
I really don’t know who I’d play, I don’t think it’ll make much difference.

They looked a beaten bunch who didn’t have an ounce of belief in them last night.

VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 12:26 PM
Marshall

Megwa
Stevenson
Obita
Hanlon

Newell
Amos
Marcondes

Youan
Vente
Doidge

I'd go with that. Maybe take Youan out as I'm not a fan, but in the absence of other options, that's about as good a line up as we have.

25-01-2024, 12:46 PM
literally laid one on a plate last night!

I don't think that's true.

25-01-2024, 01:37 PM
I don't think that's true.

He did

25-01-2024, 01:43 PM
Something has to change

3-5-2

Marshall

Obita
Hanlon
Fish

Jair
Newell
Amos
Marcondes
Megwa/Whittaker

Youan
Vente

Right of the midfield 5 an issue until Boyle is back.

I think the rest looks decent. Obita has proved he can play in a central defensive position. Jair hasnt been great of late but would offer a balance of defensive nous and attacking threat. Marcondes advanced central midfielder ( play everything through him like we did with Latapy - GIE THE BALL TAE MARCONDES!!!)). Youan up front ( out of defensive harms way) and able to run the channels if need be. Vente in the ****ing box.

kenny-55
25-01-2024, 03:50 PM
Is there pay at the gate on Saturday? As no mobile tickets on HIBS ticket site
thanks

JammyDoidger
25-01-2024, 03:52 PM
Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Amos
Newell

Youan
Marcondes
Tavares

Doidge

25-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Levitt
Amos
Maolida

Marcondes
Vente

Have a feeling Monty rates Levitt over Newell.

25-01-2024, 04:26 PM

100% this. At the point where I think it's becoming irrelevant whoever comes in to the side. It just won't make enough of a difference until the manager changes things.

25-01-2024, 04:28 PM
As somebody else said on another thread, we have to start winning to avoid falling into to the bottom 6 and sleepwalking towards 2nd bottom. This feels like an absolutely "must win" game.

jakeshibs
25-01-2024, 04:40 PM

another manager, then another season of exactly the same , sack the next manager and keep the poor cycle going waisting money on compensation of management staff, never developing or improving.

25-01-2024, 04:42 PM
As somebody else said on another thread, we have to start winning to avoid falling into to the bottom 6 and sleepwalking towards 2nd bottom. This feels like an absolutely "must win" game.

Don't think we can afford to lose

25-01-2024, 04:44 PM

That the same Killie we beat last time and should have beat the time before.

Hibees1973
25-01-2024, 04:44 PM
Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Levitt
Amos
Maolida

Marcondes
Vente

Have a feeling Monty rates Levitt over Newell.

If he does then we are in more trouble than we think.

25-01-2024, 04:46 PM
Is Megwa going to be fit, looked injured when he went off
I’ll be honest I’ve on idea what the team will be, other than Hanlon starts if he’s recovered from illness

pepe
25-01-2024, 05:08 PM
I think the fullbacks need protection and our wingers are not up to the task. Perhaps playing with 2 defensive midfielders who can slot in where required would work now we seem to have a playmaker in Marcondes, perhaps even Levitt could play there? I see no point in playing two strikers when our wingers are so attacking. It’ll never happen but here’s my two pence worth

********** Marshall ************

Megwa ** Fish ** Obita ** Stevenson

***** Amos ****** Newell *******

********* Marcondes ***********

**** Youan ************ Jair ****

************ Vente ************

25-01-2024, 05:16 PM
Signing two Matty Jacks would sort things.

25-01-2024, 05:23 PM
Johnson

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon (Blaney if he’s still ill)
Obita

Amos
Draw straws
Emiliano

Youan
Vente
Maolida/Rudi

25-01-2024, 07:01 PM
Either a 3-5-2 or a 4-3-3 please, just something different.

With the run of games we have in the next month, we need to be picking up 3 points vs Killie.

25-01-2024, 07:17 PM
Dropping Youan is madness, he’s only guy that creates anything or looks like scoring, literally laid one on a plate last night!

Yes but he's being asked to drop deep and link play which he can't do, loses the ball countless times inviting more pressure on our already creaking defence and non-existent midfield.

Marcondes to start is all I'm asking for but I can only see the same predictable garbage we've had to suffer for weeks. Or is that now months.

Basildon Hibs
25-01-2024, 09:20 PM

Correct.

26-01-2024, 08:17 AM
442 is basically 424. Two in midfield will get dominated and any attacking threat we have will be stifled as usual. I expect more of the same against Killie. It gives me a bit of hope that we've beaten and drawn with Killie under Montgomery although one was his first game in charge.

Tarrahib
26-01-2024, 08:28 AM
Is there pay at the gate on Saturday? As no mobile tickets on HIBS ticket site
thanks
Bump.

McGruber
26-01-2024, 10:42 AM

Agreed - but I'm going for 3-5-2 for *****s & giggles

Vente drops out - French pairing upfornt, less reliance on Youan tracking back. Youan superb for us in the only other period we played him up top, scored plenty then taken back out when Nisbet back fit. He's probably best left of a front 3 but not wide in a 4.

Amos would be strating for me in future but don't think we can get away with starting 3 players who aren't match fit.

Bring Vente on for Maolida when we are 3 up to build his confidence.

Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon

Tavares
Newell
Levitt
Marcondes
Obita

Youan
Maolida

26-01-2024, 10:52 AM
Johnston

Megwa
Fish
New signing/Hanlon
Obita

Amos
Newell

Marcondes

Youan
Vente
Jair

Calidad
26-01-2024, 08:16 PM
I don't think it's the formation but not having players to play the formation.

442 is a tweak away from being a number of different formations but you need to have 2 very strong players in the middle of the park however you play.

I know the defence come in for a lot of criticism on here but as far as I'm concerned our "front 6" are regularly an utter shambles and that heaps pressure on the defence. Our GK had a mixed bag of good saves and fatal mistakes last night but Megwa came onto a game, Fish was arguably below the level he's capable of (but nobody could argue he isn't a good player), Obita was excellent and Stevenson did fine. The rest of the team was guff, and it would have ben so had it been slightly tweaked into a different formation.

We badly need Marcondes and Amos to hit the ground running and contribute solid 90 minute matches straight away. I'm actually surprised at how ineffective our wide players and strikers have become, who I believe to all be good players but for whom it simply is not happening right now.

For those who (reasonably) raise the 451 suggestion - we looked mince with that during the games that ultimately got Johnson the sack at the start of the season and I'm struggling to understand why that might be significantly better now than it was then, albeit we're not talking about a huge sample size.

Although if I was put in charge on Saturday - I'd start by picking who I thought were going to be our best 3 central midfielders, try to get control of the midfield and then pick more peripheral players around that from there (probably either a 4231 or 352).

Which other sides play 4-4-2?

26-01-2024, 08:50 PM
I reckon we’ll see Marcondes and Amos in.

Marshall

Megwa
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Amos
Newell (Levitt if Newell is struggling)
Tavares

Marcondes
Vente

Not necessarily what I’d play but I think it might be what we do play.

26-01-2024, 08:58 PM
Not looking forward to watching Hibs play on a surface more like a wet carpet than proper football pitch.

VoltaireHibs
27-01-2024, 12:14 AM
That the same Killie we beat last time and should have beat the time before.

They've improved, we've regressed. But, hopefully the new signings make the difference. Onwards and upwards!

hibeejeebies
27-01-2024, 09:09 AM
Nice to see more options in personnel.

Will be a tricky one today.

27-01-2024, 09:53 AM
Today is a must not lose. Killie 6 points ahead of us, although we have a game in hand
I’d argue we have a tougher next 5/6 than them

27-01-2024, 10:28 AM
Today is a must not lose. Killie 6 points ahead of us, although we have a game in hand

Massive game today - think Killie will be thinking must not lose.

Hibs really must win it if they are serious about top 6 - let alone 4th or 5th.

Killie have 3rd best home record in the league too.

McInnes v Monty...part 3 - draw - Hibs win...so far

McInnes has won 18 of his 35 games against Hibs also - drawn 8 and lost only 9 of 35.

27-01-2024, 10:46 AM
A draw would be a good result. Never thought I'd be saying that about Kilmarnock away but that's where we are.

27-01-2024, 10:54 AM
Marshall
Megwa
Fish
Hanlon if fit
Obita
Youan
Amos
Newell
Tavares
Marcondes
Vente

27-01-2024, 10:55 AM
Marshall
Megwa
Fish
Hanlon if fit
Obita
Youan
Amos
Newell
Tavares
Marcondes
Vente

That’s the one for me 🤞

Hibees1973
27-01-2024, 10:57 AM

100% Billy.

Lose this one then we are looking over our shoulders rather than up.

Top 6 should be bare minimum for the players we have brought in.

Shocking state of affairs.