View Full Version : Positives from tonight.
Cat Stanton
24-01-2024, 09:22 PM
I'll have a go.
1. Megwa looks good.
2. The new guy with his hair in a bun looks good.
3. It took until 65 minutes until I had to listen to 'no pope in Rome'
4. It took until 73 minutes until I had to listen to the one about killing Catholics.
5. I couldn't make out the words of most of the other songs so I was spared whatever vile moronic lyrics were being chanted.
I think that's it. Can't think of anything else.
24-01-2024, 09:23 PM
Obita looked good in the centre of the defence
sean04
24-01-2024, 09:23 PM
It wasn't 5 or 6
No more injuries
Probably forces board to spend on defenders
Paulie Walnuts
24-01-2024, 09:24 PM
Obita done well at centre half
Danish boy looked pretty good
Megwa was fine
Aberdeen didn’t win.
That’s about it for me.
One game closer to the end of the season.
Cantwell getting clattered into Monty, when limping while trying to calmly shield the ball out of play, was sadly and immaturely the highlight of my night.
Inevitably he had the last laugh..
Megwa, Obita and Marcondes
Davy Mac
24-01-2024, 09:25 PM
We only sing in the 'Chapel' apparently, what a bunch of rockets.
It wasn't 5 or 6
No more injuries
Probably forces board to spend on defenders
How long have we expected that!!
HendoDelivered
The game is over
24-01-2024, 09:26 PM
I’m ill so I didn’t go.
Hibees1973
My pie was warm.
2024 and they still come out with pish like that. Actually embarrassing.
WeAreHibs
24-01-2024, 09:27 PM
Cantwell getting clattered into Monty, when limping while trying to calmly shield the ball out of play, was sadly and immaturely the highlight of my night.
Was it not Megwa that took out Cantwell?
I was equally immature and also loved it.
24-01-2024, 09:28 PM
Stevenson is one game closer to hitting 600 appearances for us
(I’m aware this will not make some people happy :greengrin )
24-01-2024, 09:28 PM
West of Scotland banter.
24-01-2024, 09:32 PM
Double act between him and Youan if I remember correctly. But he ended up knocking Monty over too. A bit of a comedy moment before the game got out of reach and about the only (verging on) hard challenge I remember us putting in on them.
24-01-2024, 09:33 PM
I decided not to go.
24-01-2024, 09:34 PM
Double sided coin - traffic was quiet after watching game until the final whistle.
Davy Mac
24-01-2024, 09:34 PM
West of Scotland banter.
Worn out record, and frankly an embarrasment to Scotland, no class, dull, boring and sadly predictable west of scotand banter.
duffers
24-01-2024, 09:38 PM
Obita looked good at centre half.
I was home and in bed by 10.
24-01-2024, 09:39 PM
I'll have a go.
1. Megwa looks good.
4. It took until 73 minutes until I had to listen to the one about killing Catholics.
5. I couldn't make out the words of most of the other songs so I was spared whatever vile moronic lyrics were being chanted.
I thought Obita was excellent at centre back and if weve not got one lined up then I would have no worries playing him there for the rest of the season.
xyz23jc
24-01-2024, 09:43 PM
Worn out record, and frankly an embarrasment to Scotland, no class, dull, boring and sadly predictable west of scotand banter.
Nowt tae dae wi WOS patter, shan bigot banter, equally spouted at sh***castle! :wink:
24-01-2024, 10:02 PM
I'll have a go.
1. Megwa looks good.
Megwa struggled first half
24-01-2024, 10:13 PM
I thought Obita was excellent at centre back and if weve not got one lined up then I would have no worries playing him there for the rest of the season.
That's exactly what I thought until I realised that we'd need to play Lewis at left back.
Obita has been our best signing this season by a mile.
24-01-2024, 10:14 PM
None
Greenio
24-01-2024, 10:17 PM
Hmmm.
Tough.
I think Cantwell getting double battered was prob my highlight too.
Outside of that...
Yeah. I actually can't think of any positives apart from the fact that it's just making it even more clear where our holes are....there are a lot of them, but at least 3 new signings plus a loan returnee gives us more options
24-01-2024, 10:20 PM
I thought he was decent as well but the problem is you are just weakening yourself at left back.
Chorley Hibee
24-01-2024, 10:20 PM
I'm on holiday in Cyprus.
24-01-2024, 10:21 PM
Marcondes and Amos both looked decent.
Obita is now both our best left back and best centre half.
Megwa stuck at it after a torrid start.
AL-Qaholik
24-01-2024, 10:22 PM
One game closer to the end of 442, one way or another.
24-01-2024, 10:22 PM
I got paid for watching it.
Marcondes and obita
McDonald’s after
24-01-2024, 10:32 PM
Marcondes and Amos both looked decent.
Obita is now both our best left back and best centre half.
Megwa stuck at it after a torrid start.
Totally agree with this, apart from that we’re chapping.
Partyraiser
24-01-2024, 10:34 PM
I was gutted the wee prick got back up
24-01-2024, 10:35 PM
I'm on holiday in Cyprus.
I'm on holiday in Lanzarote. But unfortunately spent the night watching the game in a pub full of ****, so every silver lining has a cloud
john rossi
24-01-2024, 10:40 PM
Stayed at home and watched the traitors switched off radio at 2-0. Oh best of all Montgomery closer to the exit door
Criswell
24-01-2024, 11:38 PM
I didn't go. the prospect of a freezing cold January night having to listen to a non-stop outpouring of hateful sectarian bile was somewhat unappealing.
25-01-2024, 09:26 AM
What is the difference between referencing religious activity as ‘banter’ and referencing a defunct nomadic, warlike tribe as banter? If the first is acceptable, why is the second not?
MKHIBEE
25-01-2024, 09:35 AM
Megwa, Obita and Marcondes
That’s the positives I would take from the game, unless you count Rangers not getting into top gear.
25-01-2024, 09:53 AM
I seen green shoots of recovery. Yeah we were well beat in the end but we definitely had our chances and their keeper had to make a couple of great saves.
Megwa looks an improvement on Whittaker at the moment and the new guys look like very decent additions.
Definitely hope for the rest of the season.
25-01-2024, 11:17 AM
I seen green shoots of recovery. Yeah we were well beat in the end but we definitely had our chances and their keeper had to make a couple of great saves.
Megwa looks an improvement on Whittaker at the moment and the new guys look like very decent additions.
Definitely hope for the rest of the season.
This is where I am. We looked improved but need a player for out on the right so we can drop Youan, he’s a liability in terms of him doing his own thing. If we have a more disciplined player we arguably don’t lose the first goal and the game pivoted on that.
Edinburgh Green
25-01-2024, 11:26 AM
This is where I am. We looked improved but need a player for out on the right so we can drop Youan, he’s a liability in terms of him doing his own thing. If we have a more disciplined player we arguably don’t lose the first goal and the game pivoted on that.
I could be argued that Youan doing his own thing is the only time we get any attacking joy. Newall, Levvit, Vente, Marshall etc etc are all very disciplined in what the manager wants. The result it non committal, beige guff.
hibstag
25-01-2024, 11:31 AM
I wondered if he injured himself over celebrating the goal...
hibsforeurope
25-01-2024, 11:35 AM
I'll have a go.
1. Megwa looks good.
Positives from tonight (last night)... i now have 2 episodes of the Traitors to watch tonight instead on just 1.
VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 11:44 AM
Obita, Megwa's positive showing...um...
gegs70
25-01-2024, 11:45 AM
Obita looked good in the centre of the defence
He can actually play the ball out of defence did well maybe have Jimmy Jeggo as the other Central defender. Fish just doesn't look comfortable on the ball.
Exuberance1875
25-01-2024, 11:46 AM
Genuine positive about tonight is the fact it outlined our need to clear out players that actually play for us.
So far this window we have only gotten rid of players that didn’t play anyway, we need to clear out the deadwood that’s been costing us results for years.
Campbell/JDH/Newell/Jeggo/Cadden etc. this is where the changes need to be, can loan out the likes of Boruc and co all you like, they were making zero impact to the team anyway
25-01-2024, 12:17 PM
Obita, when he first arrived he looked like he'd never seen a football before. But he's turned out to be a very good player for us.
This one just isn't last night but since monty joined. The youngsters getting real opportunities.
25-01-2024, 12:38 PM
Obita, played well and looked quite classy on the ball. It’s good to have a left sided player who can slot in at CH.
Megwa, after a tough 20 or so minutes I thought he did well. The goal was not his man.
Jair and Youan, I thought both looked dangerous when given the ball.
Stevenson did not look out of place last night, I’d have no qualms starting him again on Saturday if Hanlon isn’t fit.
Marshall, despite the third goal he made some good saves last night.
25-01-2024, 12:49 PM
I'm going to go against the grain SLIGHTLY and say in spells we looked far keener to move the ball quicker. Definite efforts to break through the lines more.
That obviously doesn't compensate for allowing Rangers keep ball for large chunks of the first half, or that we looked pathetically beaten after Maolida's chance.
I think we've got a shot at showing a fair bit of improvement against the teams closer to our level, where it isn't quite as rigid and formulaic as it has been. Trouble is NM still probably needs time to bed players in, when he's really needing at least a point at Rugby Park and definitely a win against St Mirren. They're the big tests as to whether this season is salvageable.
25-01-2024, 12:52 PM
Obita, played well and looked quite classy on the ball. It’s good to have a left sided player who can slot in at CH.
Megwa, after a tough 20 or so minutes I thought he did well. The goal was not his man.
Jair and Youan, I thought both looked dangerous when given the ball.
Stevenson did not look out of place last night, I’d have no qualms starting him again on Saturday if Hanlon isn’t fit.
Marshall, despite the third goal he made some good saves last night.
People were moaning about him starting but he didn't put a foot wrong last night.
We all know he's coming to the end of his career and ideally shouldn't be starting games but the abuse he takes, especially on twitter, is ridiculous.
25-01-2024, 12:58 PM
My stream had the decency to freeze at half time so I didn't have to watch the 2nd half.
MKHIBEE
25-01-2024, 01:14 PM
My stream had the decency to freeze at half time so I didn't have to watch the 2nd half.
Some guys have all the luck
That's exactly what I thought until I realised that we'd need to play Lewis at left back.
Obita has been our best signing this season by a mile.
A country mile, and completely unappreciated it seems
25-01-2024, 03:41 PM
I'll have a go.
1. Megwa looks good.
Nobody looks good with a man bun. :wink:
Obita looked decent at centre back.