View Full Version : NHC School team colours
08-01-2024, 07:44 PM
Winter break type discussion.
What colours did your school team play in?
I was "educated" on the Fylde coast. Played for both Junior school and senir school team.
Junior school colours, red Hibs strip :) (sometimes known as an Arsenal kit)
Senior school, years 1-2 red and white hoops white shorts (Accies kit)
Years 3-5 all white (Real Madrid)
08-01-2024, 07:47 PM
Primary. Could have been Man City. High school was green shirts with white collar n cuffs all red shirts and socks.
08-01-2024, 07:51 PM
Primary was St Marks. Red and black stripes was the norm although we did have a Monaco style kit one year.
Secondary was St Tams. Red and navy in various styles.
Broadly related I remember my dad telling when he was on his S form with Rangers his mum packed his school football kit rather than his Rangers one in error one day. He went to Forresters, school colours green and white. Didn't go down well when he unpacked the green shorts at Ibrox.
08-01-2024, 07:58 PM
Primary school played in Purple and Yellow.
Trinity Hibee
08-01-2024, 08:07 PM
Flora Stevenson. Played in red and blue stripes
High school - Broughton. Navy with a red trim
08-01-2024, 08:08 PM
Primary was green and black, at the time thought it was a great combo and still do.
08-01-2024, 08:09 PM
Drummond High
Yellow & Blue
Halmyre Hibee
08-01-2024, 08:13 PM
Moredun Primary blue top with red trim
Liberton Secondary red top with white trim
08-01-2024, 08:18 PM
Gillespie's, definitely Villa colours. Certainly not Hearts.
08-01-2024, 08:21 PM
Greendykes Primary - all green (though I was way too crap to be anything more than an unused sub, if lucky)
ozwoody
08-01-2024, 08:22 PM
Primary school was Orange and Brown ( St ninians) high school was purple and white ( Holy Rood)
08-01-2024, 08:23 PM
Primary St Catherine's Green and white halves
Holyrood purple
08-01-2024, 08:23 PM
Gillespie's, definitely Villa colours. Certainly not Hearts.
I couldn't believe it when my son came back with the Gillespie's colours on. He knew I would be spewing, just did it for a giggle.
linlithgowhibbie
08-01-2024, 08:26 PM
Links Primary, Leith wore a combination of white and black. As I remember we didn't have actual strips just white Tee shirts and black gym shorts with any socks that we had.
Team was picked by the gym teacher who only picked his favourites.
08-01-2024, 08:33 PM
Did anyone else ever play for any of the schools select sides?
I played for Edinburgh schools, colours were black and white. Sure Glasgow were navy and Fife were yellow but can't remember any of the others.
Got a Scottish Cup runners up medal after a defeat to Fife at the 'neutral' Bayview in Methil.
08-01-2024, 08:38 PM
St Ninians for me. Can’t remember the colour of our kit but do remember the cricket score beatings St John’s used to give us with Liam Buchanan up front for them and scoring silly amounts.
08-01-2024, 08:40 PM
Drummond High
Yellow & Blue
Likewise. Until we got kicked out of the league for fighting with WHEC. 😳
Leith Walk Primary - Blue and green.
Bridge hibs
08-01-2024, 08:41 PM
I honestly couldnt say, I was ***** and the closest I got to playing for my school team was when I was walking behind the goal and a wayward shot smacked off one of the corners off my head and I think the ball burst ☹️
SonOfDavidFrancey
08-01-2024, 08:43 PM
Played a few times for Holy Cross primary late 60s… don’t remember the colours though
08-01-2024, 08:47 PM
Played a few times for Holy Cross primary late 60s… don’t remember the colours though
Black and white? 🤔😊
monarch
08-01-2024, 08:56 PM
I played for Edinburgh schools, colours were black and white. Sure Glasgow were navy and Fife were yellow but can't remember any of the others.
Got a Scottish Cup runners up medal after a defeat to Fife at the 'neutral' Bayview in Methil.
In my day Glasgow had two select sides.
Branded as Glasgow and Glasgow RC.
Only in the Weedge !!
08-01-2024, 08:58 PM
When I started at Craigentinny in 1961 we had old red almost rugby like strips but a grant must have came through from the council as I remember us getting new blue strips with yellow trim.
Didn’t make us play any better though and I remember getting beat 5-0 in the semi of the Fun City Cup
Secondary was Leith Academy, but they liked to pretend they were posh at that time and didn’t have a football team when I was there….only ‘rugger’….or hockey.
tanfield
08-01-2024, 09:09 PM
Wardie Primary - all green 😁
Malonga's Cat
08-01-2024, 09:10 PM
Green & Yellow (St Mary's Leith)
Purple & Black (Holy Rood)
Both great combos I thought!
08-01-2024, 09:46 PM
Only rugby when I was at Alloa academy. Maroon tops, white shorts, maroon socks. Maroon blazers and maroon and white ties. I've been in therapy ever since
Orchard_Hibs
08-01-2024, 09:50 PM
Wardie Primary - all green 😁
Was green and black stripes when I was there, my kids now have to wear maroon 🤦
08-01-2024, 09:55 PM
St Cuthberts Blue with yellow trim
St Augustine’s White with two blue hoops
( Raith Rovers circa 1969 )
Roxyhibee
08-01-2024, 10:01 PM
Looking at your age (same as me), I think you might have played in 2 excellent teams. I went to Gilmerton who were terrible, but I knew most of the Moredun team as mates, who were brilliant and won a few trophies. I went to Libby and the first team then were so good, I could only get some games for the second team.
Callyballybe
08-01-2024, 10:03 PM
Tollcross primary. Blue and burgundy vertical stripes, identical really to the Barcelona strip.
Although I was a goalkeeper, so I'd wear my Hibs goalie top any chance I got.
08-01-2024, 10:04 PM
Bonnington primary - light blue top with navy shorts and socks
Trinity Academy - only had a rugby team. Which is a sin as we had some unbelievable players the six years I went there.
08-01-2024, 10:10 PM
Bonnington primary - light blue top with navy shorts and socks
Trinity Academy - only had a rugby team. Which is a sin as we had some unbelievable players the six years I went there.
Trinity's elitist view of rugby Vs football is pathetic
08-01-2024, 10:15 PM
St Ninians for me. Can’t remember the colour of our kit but do remember the cricket score beatings St John’s used to give us with Liam Buchanan up front for them and scoring silly amounts.
Ha. I was at St John's but a bit before this (81-88.) We still used to beat St Ninian's quite easily and most other schools. Lismore I remember us scoring 20+ against more than once they were the worst. . Newcraighall and Royal High I remember being tough games then, they were both very good. Don't think I ever scored or won v either. Steven Hislop was a year or two below and he went pro at Inverness. A Jambo though. Paul Telfer's younger brother Ryan was there too and quite easily the best player I played with, a brilliant footballer who was in the team at a younger age than anybody else. Eamonn Bannon was their uncle. St John's kit was green and blue. Was St Nin's not just brown?
Went to Holy Rood after. Kit was a not very fetching purple and white. Some really good players but not a particuarly good side compared to others if I remember rightly. Michael Renwick was year above. Was surprised when he signed for Hibs.
08-01-2024, 10:40 PM
Towerbank Red and White .Think old Crystal Palace thick red thin white, when the football restarted about 1970 in P5. The school then invested in White top with red collars and cuffs.
Shorts and socks anything you had in your personal collection. I had the same pair of white shorts with a muddy imprint of a mitre mould master right over the erse bit thanks to a clearance from our centre half at Danderhall Primary.
Lismore had pink and greeny/blue quartered shirts.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
08-01-2024, 10:40 PM
Carrick Knowe Primary. Navy and light blue.
Secondary was Forrester High, think we played in green.
09-01-2024, 02:47 AM
letting down the good name of Drummond ya shower o thugs yi's :greengrin
babahibs
09-01-2024, 03:22 AM
I played for Midlothian schools, can't remember the colours though, black and white maybe.
Primary school was Mauricewood in Penicuik, again, can't remember the colours. Penicuik High was sky blue and white
Earlydelivery
09-01-2024, 05:17 AM
St Ninians in late 60s Early 70s was Red and White ‘ Donno why as the whole School was Hibs fans 😂
09-01-2024, 05:42 AM
I played for Edinburgh select, Christophe Berra was our Captain. Very good player even at that age.
Our 'starman" at the time was Robbie Foy who actually signed for Liverpool at about 15/16 and was expected to have a great career. I believe he ended up playing for a few teams in English League 1 / 2 but I think he pretty much retired quite young.
09-01-2024, 06:12 AM
Primary school down here was like a Manchester United shirt from 1950, there was always a sub who had to wear a Kettering Town top.
sauzeelegod
09-01-2024, 06:16 AM
Hunters tryst primary.
Orange and Black.
09-01-2024, 06:21 AM
I went to Porty High where the colours were yellow and blue.
I played rugby though as I wasn't good enough to get in the fitba team which was pretty good at that time with the likes of Gogs McLeod and John Inglis both of whom went on to play professionally.
09-01-2024, 06:40 AM
I played for Edinburgh select, Christophe Berra was our Captain. Very good player even at that age.
Our 'starman" at the time was Robbie Foy who actually signed for Liverpool at about 15/16 and was expected to have a great career. I believe he ended up playing for a few teams in English League 1 / 2 but I think he pretty much retired quite young.
Christophe was the year above me at school, great player and you knew he was going to make it. I used to play for both my own year at school and the year above on occasion as well as they didn't have a regular keeper. He was so easy to play behind.
I also played with Robbie for a year at Hutchie Value before they changed the age group criteria in the 90s and he went up a year. He is still probably the best youth player I have ever seen. He was so far ahead of others at the level it was unreal, sure he hit close to 100 goals that season. He was just too young when he went down south and it's very much a case of what might have been. I'm still friends with him on Facebook, he's still in Liverpool and seems to be doing well.
09-01-2024, 07:00 AM
Ha. I was at St John's but a bit before this (81-88.) We still used to beat St Ninian's quite easily and most other schools. Lismore I remember us scoring 20+ against more than once they were the worst. . Newcraighall and Royal High I remember being tough games then, they were both very good. Don't think I ever scored or won v either. Steven Hislop was a year or two below and he went pro at Inverness. A Jambo though. Paul Telfer's younger brother Ryan was there too and quite easily the best player I played with, a brilliant footballer who was in the team at a younger age than anybody else. Eamonn Bannon was their uncle. St John's kit was green and blue. Was St Nin's not just brown?
Went to Holy Rood after. Kit was a not very fetching purple and white. Some really good players but not a particuarly good side compared to others if I remember rightly. Michael Renwick was year above. Was surprised when he signed for Hibs.
Thinking further I’m sure we might have had some sort of colourful Frankenstein mishmash of a strip that looked more like the Jorge Campos goalkeeper kit from USA 94. Some years we didn’t even have a team. Some good games against Parsons Green though.
We had an exchange programme with a school in Italy. They came to us first before we went over there. We played them at football and were all expecting them to be slick Zianfranco Zola types. They were dire and even we gave them a beating.
Fanforlife
09-01-2024, 07:08 AM
St. Johns portobello, wee team green and red hoops, big team cceltic tops. Missed out on Edinburgh trials because of glandular fever,went to portobello high school when they didn't have a football team, should have went to Tony,s ,my age group team there won everything in sight,would probably been part of it😪
ozwoody
09-01-2024, 07:09 AM
Orange and brown, was my primary too
09-01-2024, 07:19 AM
Gylemuir Primary - can’t remember the colours
Craigmount - was like a Sky Blue affair
09-01-2024, 07:58 AM
James Gillespie’s- yellow top/ burgundy shorts
Boroughmuir- Dark Blue top with green hoop
Cardinal G
09-01-2024, 08:04 AM
Only rugby when I was at Alloa academy. Maroon tops, white shorts, maroon socks. Maroon blazers and maroon and white ties. I've been in therapy ever since
I was at Lornshill Academy where Rugby to was the main sport but for the life of me cannot remember the colours.
cubehindthegoal
09-01-2024, 08:14 AM
I honestly couldnt say, I was ***** and the closest I got to playing for my school team was when I was walking behind the goal and a wayward shot smacked off one of the corners off my head and I think the ball burst ☹️
cubehindthegoal
09-01-2024, 08:32 AM
Was at St Ninians but only for a year or so, my mother thought it wasn’t good enough for a son of hers and moved me to Holy Cross, some reason she thought it was posh and better 🙄 .. we lived by Meadowbank, so rather than walking a few mins down road to school with some local kids, I had to walk up to easter road and get the no1 all the way round leith and ferry road for primary. I remember the brown blazer for st ninians but left way too soon for football team. I can’t mind Holy Cross strip tbh, but I played in goals at that point anyway. Secondary was the purple of holyrood. I wasn’t great but got into the second team. Great to read of and picture again all those colours of teams like Portie and Liberton .. I can feel the cold now as you would run out to a pitch to warm up on a saturday morning, ground either hard or muddy, and the hope in your head that you got the pitch with nets in the goals 😊
Went to Peebles High School and randomly our Kit for S5/6 was a full set of Bolton Wanderers Away strips from 94-96!!! Reebok sponsor, yellow with thin blue stripes! No idea where they got them from!
Frogga
09-01-2024, 08:52 AM
AC Milan red and black stripes at primary school.
Went to Linlithgow Academy which only had a rugby team for boys when I was there.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
09-01-2024, 09:11 AM
Royal High primary our very own Jim McArthur started our first team when I was P7. Think we played in black and white hooped Rugby shirts. I played in a very good team at Porty but for the life I can't recall what strip we played in. School colours were navy and gold and that was the rugby strip. I think the football strip was red and black inter type strip
09-01-2024, 09:28 AM
Forrester High School - Played in Green and White stripes. Also played a Scottish Cup game v a team in fife (black and white strip) at ER before a match v Dunfermline. We got horsed 3-0 but it was good to have the crowd involved. Plus we got to stay for the match too, which we won.
Primary was navy with green trim, although I wasn’t anywhere near getting in the team, had a few decent players in my year though.
High school didn’t have a team, played for the rugby team which started of with black strips with gold trim, strips which were bought new when the school opened some 15 years before I went there, by which time to bend your elbows meant a crunching sound and the sensation of breaking paper mache. A year later we raised some money and bought new strips, which were a reasonably nice dark yellow with black collar, with black shorts and socks
09-01-2024, 09:43 AM
Flora Stevenson. Played in red and blue stripes
High school - Broughton. Navy with a red trim
Primary - Victoria (Newhaven) - Dark Blue ( white trim) , if I remember correctly. Peter Cormack was in the year above me.
Secondary - Broughton, MacDonald Road. ( not Stockbridge) - mainly rugby - dark blue, thin yellow, red stripes.
Football was played down, although a few of my mates went on to play - Alan Munro ( signed for Hearts but supported Hibs and became a Hibs director), Billy Young (Hearts, I think) and Roddy Georgeson, various teams, including Dundee and Port Vale.
Corstorphine Hibby
09-01-2024, 10:05 AM
It was a yellow top with green shorts. I remember the janny giving out the strips at lunchtime to those who got picked for the game later that day, or next day if it was a Saturday.
The chosen few used to run around the playground wearing the football tops like batman capes.
Cheshire Hibee
09-01-2024, 10:09 AM
Played for Lasswade High at the same time as Gordon Rae though can’t remember what our colours were in the early 70’s
stenhouse was Barcelona
tiny was silver & blue stripes I think
scotia44
09-01-2024, 10:14 AM
Hyvots yellow green trim (school fell in a hole) never reformed tbc THE hyvots 😂
Abbeyhill- Morton colours
Drummond - can't remember the colours but it was on its way out school football by then.
09-01-2024, 10:14 AM
Primary school was Parsons Green, buggered if I can remember what the strip colours were. Uniform had a red trim I'm sure though
Secondary School was Heriot's and they were only just starting the football team as I was leaving. Presumably the strips featured navy and white prominently though :greengrin
Mcbizz1998
09-01-2024, 10:26 AM
Primary was Clermiston so played in Purple - although I was in goals so had this really 90's multi-coloured number. High School was Royal High, black and white stripes, basically a St Mirren kit.
Royal High not really a football School (when I was there anyway), played rugby in the black and white hoops.
09-01-2024, 10:27 AM
You must have been there when I was.
09-01-2024, 10:32 AM
Bonnington primary school, cant remember what colour strip we had, then onto DK but only for a short time before going to Trinity where we had a football team, but never really played many games, i think it was for those who moved from DK, wearing black with a yellow V if my memory is right.
09-01-2024, 10:59 AM
School kit was purple and white. School tie was purple, green, yellow and red, which sounds more psychedelic than it actually was.
For my university graduation photo I had to wear this neck thing in the colour of the faculty I graduated from. The colour is a sort of reddish, deep wine colour that is sort of almost purple. I'm led to believe some football teams play in this blood-obscuring colour. Anyway, this huge photo sits proudly alongside the graduation photos of my siblings at my parents house and will be the only recorded evidence, anywhere of me ever having worn this particular colour. It just doesn't really go with my complexion.
DIXIHIBS
09-01-2024, 11:16 AM
Leith Academy secondary rugby was blue and white hoops but can't remember the football team?
Murphys Touch
09-01-2024, 11:29 AM
Holy Cross - Green/Yellow stripes (played at Warriston - best pitches in the city at the time)
St Auggies - blue and white hoops - gave Pretty Boys St Tam's team a licking most times (except one final if i remember!)
Edinburgh select - White tops, black shorts
Lothian schools - the same i think - have the Pink News photo of them somewhere
09-01-2024, 11:47 AM
Holy Cross - Green/Yellow stripes (played at Warriston - best pitches in the city at the time)
St Auggies - blue and white hoops - gave Pretty Boys St Tam's team a licking most times (except one final if i remember!)
Edinburgh select - White tops, black shorts
Lothian schools - the same i think - have the Pink News photo of them somewhere
If it's the same final I am thinking off then it must be a contender for worst game of football ever. 2 teams packed with good players but it was dire. A deflected goal won it iirc.
12AlbionPlace
09-01-2024, 11:53 AM
Inch Primary, West Ham Claret/Sky Blue
Liberton HS, Red with white trim.
I'll always remember Gary (Nae Medals) McKay taking an outrageous dive to win a penalty at Libby:grr:
09-01-2024, 11:58 AM
Flora Stevensons - Scotland rugby shirt old as the hills
Kings Park Dalkeith - Green Black verticle stripes black shorts Green socks
Dalkeith High School - Tangareen and Black (Dundee United)
Murphys Touch
09-01-2024, 12:27 PM
If it's the same final I am thinking off then it must be a contender for worst game of football ever. 2 teams packed with good players but it was dire. A deflected goal won it iirc.
that's the one!
Halmyre Hibee
09-01-2024, 12:38 PM
Looking at your age (same as me), I think you might have played in 2 excellent teams. I went to Gilmerton who were terrible, but I knew most of the Moredun team as mates, who were brilliant and won a few trophies. I went to Libby and the first team then were so good, I could only get some games for the second team.
Won School Board Cup at Moredun 1969, a cup with Liberton 1973 and were runners up in 1978 in the Scottish Secondary Shield final at Hampden. I was luck enough to take half time penalty kicks in an inter school competition in 1974 with my highlight being in the pitch in front of 48000 fans at a Hibs v Celtic game. Played with some very good players but the stand out was Eamonn Bannon who was the year above.
Groathillgrump
09-01-2024, 01:08 PM
St Peters primary was black and yellow striped top, black shorts and yellow socks.
Holyrood was all purple.
09-01-2024, 01:12 PM
I was at Lornshill Academy where Rugby to was the main sport but for the life of me cannot remember the colours.
You Lornshill losers wore black and white. Usually with a streak of yellow down the back as well!!🤣🤣🤣 Recovered from the FA cup match yet?
Roxyhibee
09-01-2024, 01:14 PM
Won School Board Cup at Moredun 1969, a cup with Liberton 1973 and were runners up in 1978 in the Scottish Secondary Shield final at Hampden. I was luck enough to take half time penalty kicks in an inter school competition in 1974 with my highlight being in the pitch in front of 48000 fans at a Hibs v Celtic game. Played with some very good players but the stand out was Eamonn Bannon who was the year above.
Yes Bannon was year above me too at Libby, so same year. Did your Moredun team have Liddle, Murray, Redpath, Muir etc in it.?
SonOfDavidFrancey
09-01-2024, 01:23 PM
You must have been there when I was.
1965-72 I was there.
Sister Mary Dominic, miss Guilidori, miss cuthbert etc
But it was the janny who picked the team
SonOfDavidFrancey
09-01-2024, 01:27 PM
It was a yellow top with green shorts. I remember the janny giving out the strips at lunchtime to those who got picked for the game later that day, or next day if it was a Saturday.
The chosen few used to run around the playground wearing the football tops like batman capes.
Yes I remember that. That janny was in charge I think. I only got picked because I was a year young so played for p6 when I was in p7. Only a couple of games I think.
Groathillgrump
09-01-2024, 01:40 PM
1965-72 I was there.
The janny at my primary, St Peters took the football training too. Wonder if that was part of a janny's job description in the 60s and 70s? :greengrin
Corstorphine Hibby
09-01-2024, 01:46 PM
1965-72 I was there.
Mr Selcraig was the jannys name iirc. He insisted on playing me at RB even though I was the top goalscorer in the playground.😁
Ladysmither
09-01-2024, 01:47 PM
Primary was St Mary’s Leith 70’s the classic Hibs strip
Secondary was St Tams early 80’s was Crystal Palace red and blue vertical stripes
Halmyre Hibee
09-01-2024, 01:54 PM
Yes Bannon was year above me too at Libby, so same year. Did your Moredun team have Liddle, Murray, Redpath, Muir etc in it.?
Sure did.
Roxyhibee
09-01-2024, 02:25 PM
Sure did.
Small world - seeing Liddle and Redpath this Friday.
09-01-2024, 02:45 PM
Fort School.
Red and white hoops,black shorts.
09-01-2024, 03:20 PM
1965-72 I was there.
I was going to send you a PM but you don't seem to have that function. I think we were in the same class or I was in the year above you.
itslegaltender
09-01-2024, 03:36 PM
Deanpark in Balerno had a very cool Green and Black stripes top, green shorts and green socks for the P4/5 team. The P6/7 had red and white stripes, black shorts, red socks (Sunderland).
09-01-2024, 03:42 PM
I went to Porty High where the colours were yellow and blue.
I played rugby though as I wasn't good enough to get in the fitba team which was pretty good at that time with the likes of Gogs McLeod and John Inglis both of whom went on to play professionally.
Coached by Jim Telfer?
09-01-2024, 03:47 PM
Aye no football at Leith Academy but played for 3rd Leith cubs. Don't recall any strip. Then again, we were so bad we only played a handful of games. I think we scored a goal once!
09-01-2024, 03:57 PM
Coached by Jim Telfer?
Mr Cuthbertson or Cubby as he was known.
Bridge hibs
09-01-2024, 04:12 PM
Never played for school football team but I was school skipping champion 3 years running
Had to relinquish my titles as had to return to classes after being hauled in front of the school truant panel due to non attendance 🫣
stenhouse was Barcelona
tiny was silver & blue stripes I think
Same 2 as me. I don't remember a football team but the Tynie girls hockey team wore navy blue.
09-01-2024, 04:14 PM
Never played for school football team but I was school skipping champion 3 years running
Had to relinquish my titles as had to return to classes after being hauled in front of the school truant panel due to non attendance 🫣
That's cheating on a Lance Armstrong scale, no?
09-01-2024, 04:15 PM
That's cheating on a Lance Armstrong scale, no?
Very good! 🤭
09-01-2024, 04:33 PM
Mr Cuthbertson or Cubby as he was known.My housemaster.... Big Jim never took the first team but coached the same first year team through to end 3rd winning every game and at least one season never losing a try. One of that team played for the firsts while in 3rd year in an emergency.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Bridge hibs
09-01-2024, 04:47 PM
That's cheating on a Lance Armstrong scale, no?I can hold my 3 hands up and say that no Bolivian marching powder, Florida snow, joy flakes, heaven dust, devil’s dandruff, Racehorse Charlie or whiz bang were consumed during my prolonged skipping session
And I didn't have a bike 🫢
09-01-2024, 05:37 PM
Mr Cuthbertson or Cubby as he was known.Cubby coached me at Rugby and Charlie Tulloch at fitba. I was in Gogs McLeods team along with Johnny Laidlaw who could have went to the Thes, barring blowing his train money, Moo Douglas who would have went to Hibs barring being knocked over and a few other very good players. You must have been on my year
Halmyre Hibee
09-01-2024, 06:01 PM
Small world - seeing Liddle and Redpath this Friday.
Sent you a PM
09-01-2024, 06:04 PM
Green and white. Vertical stripes on the shirt. Forresters.
Roxyhibee
09-01-2024, 06:57 PM
Sent you a PM
👍🏻 Hopefully you get my reply
SonOfDavidFrancey
09-01-2024, 07:23 PM
I was going to send you a PM but you don't seem to have that function. I think we were in the same class or I was in the year above you.
Not sure how DM-ing happens, maybe needs a subscription or something.
I turned 5 in Dec 1965 and definitely left in Summer '72. I don't remember many pupil names from Primary school and even fewer Hibs fans as the glory-hunting was in full flow by 67 and the school was full of Celtic fans. I recall the chants/ singsongs in the boys' playground shelters when it was raining though.
09-01-2024, 07:34 PM
That wasn't the case mate.
They did have a football team but for a lot of the time when I attended it was abandoned due to the EIS strikes.
I joined the rugby team as that was continuous due to kids parents taking it.
Granton Primary, Black and Yellow.
sadtom
09-01-2024, 07:36 PM
Holy Cross primary.
Yellow with green collar and cuffs, green shorts yellow socks. (Think Norwich).
But also had a change kit, which was a reverse of the above. The green top with yellow collar and cuffs was really smart. I liked it when we used it.
St Tams secondary.
Red and blue stripes, blue shorts and socks (Barca-esque).
Though in recent years when my laddies were playing the kits were all red with blue trim.
chippy
09-01-2024, 08:17 PM
Black and white? 🤔😊
Holy Cross secondary were green and yellow I seem to recall, hammered them a few times playing for St Andrews ( Killie strips). We merged in Year 3 to form St Auggies . I was the keeper and for the life of me can’t recall the strip design. Blue and white though.
Primary school: St Joseph’s , purple and white hoops and in P7 we were Inspectors Cup and EPSAA cup winners
Wee Scottie Dug
09-01-2024, 08:22 PM
Brunstane primary- horrid strip with big dark blue / light blue squares
Porty High school as mentioned before yellow and blue equally horrible - good team though played in the same team as Robbo (boo!) and Davy Bowman but neither were the star of the team - big centre half Tam McClure was our best player but went down the road of cider and women :party:
09-01-2024, 08:23 PM
St John’s Porty wore green tops, dark blue shorts and green socks. Holy Rood wore all African violet!
09-01-2024, 08:41 PM
Holy Cross secondary were green and yellow I seem to recall, hammered them a few times playing for St Andrews ( Killie strips). We merged in Year 3 to form St Auggies . I was the keeper and for the life of me can’t recall the strip design. Blue and white though.
Primary school: St Joseph’s , purple and white hoops and in P7 we were Inspectors Cup and EPSAA cup winners
I was being sarcastic. 😊
09-01-2024, 10:36 PM
St David’s Dalkeith - maroon like our blazers sadly. I remember there was an attempt to have the early 70s Crystal Palace strip (white with a diagonal blue and maroon stripe) introduced but head of PE, Bill Mullen (FIFA referee) was having none of it. Tops had to be self coloured apparently 🙄
10-01-2024, 06:07 AM
Didn't realise you could be both Epsaa and Inspectors cup as thought size of the school came into it. Can remember winning Epsaa cap with St Catherine's about 73/4. Fair chance I am completely wrong on that right enough :greengrin
10-01-2024, 06:26 AM
Before my time but Murray must have been a player if it’s the same one I’m thinking of, Bertie Mee was at his house trying to sign him, I cant remember if he went for a trial or not though!!
10-01-2024, 06:28 AM
Primary was St Marks. Red and black stripes was the norm although we did have a Monaco style kit one year.
Broadly related I remember my dad telling when he was on his S form with Rangers his mum packed his school football kit rather than his Rangers one in error one day. He went to Forresters, school colours green and white. Didn't go down well when he unpacked the green shorts at Ibrox.
Same schools as me, although we never got much football at St Tams as that’s when the teachers were striking.
h185forever
10-01-2024, 06:39 AM
St Peters primary was black and yellow striped top, black shorts and yellow socks.
Holyrood was all purple.
Around 67 St Peter’s was black body with yellow sleeves.
Played a couple of times including a thumping of tollcross primary at meggetland. Team pic was in the Pink news that night….and included Woody later to be in the Bay City Rollers.
Lost my copy of the pic and my last hope of replacing it relies on a visit to the Library on George IV bridge
10-01-2024, 08:10 AM
Primary St Catherine's Green and white halves
Holyrood purple
Me too, that St Catherine's strip was an absolute cracker. Four panels front and back, two green and two white with white arms. The only problem if you remember was the material it was made of - it was like linen or something. As soon as it rained it was like trying to run around wearing a soaked sleeping bag.
Don't get me started on the heavy orange plastic balls...
10-01-2024, 08:14 AM
Didn't realise you could be both Epsaa and Inspectors cup as thought size of the school came into it. Can remember winning Epsaa cap with St Catherine's about 73/4. Fair chance I am completely wrong on that right enough :greengrin
You're not wrong, that was at those beautiful pitches next to Dr Guthrie's. I remember watching it and I think it was Danny McAleavey being lifted up by everyone else afterwards holding a trophy?
10-01-2024, 08:31 AM
Mr Selcraig was the jannys name iirc. He insisted on playing me at RB even though I was the top goalscorer in the playground.😁
Same at St Catherine's. Pete the janny took 'training' which was him having a kick about with us and he also picked the team. Insisted on playing me at left back even though you generally couldn't get the ball off me because I had great control and loads of tricks. (These days I'm lucky if a can control my own bladder and my best tricks involve finding ways to make my knackered knee joints work)
10-01-2024, 08:34 AM
Not sure how DM-ing happens, maybe needs a subscription or something.
Everyone has the PM feature, but you might have it turned off. If you click on Forum Actions at the top and then General Settings, there's a section called Private Messaging. You probably have 'Private Messaging off' or 'Only from Contacts and Moderators' selected.
(The above assumes you're in the desktop view of the site.)
10-01-2024, 08:46 AM
When my Dad was at Trinity, in the 40s, they didn't play football at all.
So, after much pleading by the boys, my Granda agreed to start up a football team mainly for them. Bangholm Victoria was their name; not sure if they're still going today.
He's here!
10-01-2024, 09:18 AM
The janny at my primary, St Peters took the football training too. Wonder if that was part of a janny's job description in the 60s and 70s? :greengrin
Michael O'Neill's kids were at St Peter's and he used to take the football coaching during his first spell as NI manager - quite a coup for what is a small school, but with the amount of spare time an international manager's job affords you he was happy to help out.
10-01-2024, 09:24 AM
Michael O'Neill's kids were at St Peter's and he used to take the football coaching during his first spell as NI manager - quite a coup for what is quite a small school, but with the amount of spare time an international manager's job affords you he was happy to help out.
But unwilling to help out as janny?
He's here!
10-01-2024, 09:25 AM
So, after much pleading by the boys, my Granda agreed to start up a football team mainly for them. Bangholm Victoria was their name; not sure if they're still going today.
That part of town running almost the length of Ferry Road has always been dominated by rugby schools/clubs...Trinity, Heriot's, Stew/Mel, Edinburgh Academy, Fettes, although driving past recently there seemed to be a lot of hockey pitches too.
He's here!
10-01-2024, 09:28 AM
But unwilling to help out as janny?
:-)
I actually used to know the janny at St P's. Great bloke. Not sure if he's still there but he liked to nip off for a fag in his break and didn't strike me as a modern-day coach type. Hibs fan tho!
Halmyre Hibee
10-01-2024, 09:28 AM
Before my time but Murray must have been a player if it’s the same one I’m thinking of, Bertie Mee was at his house trying to sign him, I cant remember if he went for a trial or not though!!
That was the older brother Alex who got a trial with Arsenal. I played in same team as Ian and there was a younger brother Brian. All were good players.
10-01-2024, 09:45 AM
Primary school was Orange and Brown ( St ninians) high school was purple and white ( Holy Rood)
Snap x 2 :aok:
Brummie_Hibs
10-01-2024, 10:13 AM
Roseburn Primary School, round about 1980
sadtom
10-01-2024, 11:54 AM
That is correct. EPSSA cup is for the smaller schools and was for P6/7’s.
My laddies won it 12 years ago with Prestonfield (Jackie Mac Jnr presented it). Apparently after the Scottish Cup it’s the oldest football cup in existence!!! Or so we were told at the time.
Final was at Meggatland and the 2 other finals for the larger schools were on at the same time. One each for P6 and P7’s exclusively.
Not sure if one of the other 2 comps was the Inspectors cup and if it is still called that though.
10-01-2024, 11:58 AM
That was the older brother Alex who got a trial with Arsenal. I played in same team as Ian and there was a younger brother Brian. All were good players.
Aye, know them all
10-01-2024, 12:17 PM
Same 2 as me. I don't remember a football team but the Tynie girls hockey team wore navy blue.
I was Dalry & Tynie.
No good enough for Tynie, Gary Mckay wee brother was first pick every week, wisnae that good.
Roxyhibee
10-01-2024, 02:02 PM
Aye, know them all
Yes, played with all 3 brothers in the fields over the years - (never in the same team though, as I was pretty rubbish in comparison) Ian the middle brother really was something special. Like a lot of highly talented lads then, he just never bothered pushing himself. They all came from Craigour and would join most of the Moredun boys for all day games of fitba. Great laughs, happy days. 2 guys in that crowd sort of made it - Rab Kilgour and a boy called Ricky Thomson, who was Bobby Charltons first signing when he was manager at Preston North End.
He's here!
10-01-2024, 02:25 PM
Yes, played with all 3 brothers in the fields over the years - (never in the same team though, as I was pretty rubbish in comparison) Ian the middle brother really was something special. Like a lot of highly talented lads then, he just never bothered pushing himself. They all came from Craigour and would join most of the Moredun boys for all day games of fitba. Great laughs, happy days. 2 guys in that crowd sort of made it - Rab Kilgour and a boy called Ricky Thomson, who was Bobby Charltons first signing when he was manager at Preston North End.
Think I had a Hibs football card (the ones that came with bubblegum packs) with him on it. Or it might have been Rikki Fleming. Both around the same era, both kind of indicative of the club's decline in the late 70s.
To be fair to them I think both had relatively lengthy careers with other clubs, Fleming at Ayr I think.
10-01-2024, 03:06 PM
I remember Bangholm Victoria. Pretty sure they went into either Edinburgh Amateur leagues or Secondary Juveniles.
10-01-2024, 03:11 PM
I remember Bangholm Victoria. Pretty sure they went into either Edinburgh Amateur leagues or Secondary Juveniles.
Think I remember them as the former. Quick Google tells me they aren't a thing anymore.
Old jazz fans might have heard of Toto McNaughton, the drummer, who was their keeper. When I bumped into him one night in Henry's Cellar Bar, and told him who I was, his eyes were moist when talking about my Granny's stovies :greengrin
chippy
10-01-2024, 03:19 PM
Of course you could enter both. EPSAA was for smaller schools but didn’t stop you from entering the big one. When I say we won it , we actually shared the Inspectors Cup with St John Vianney. 6-6 after extra time in the final.
10-01-2024, 03:26 PM
Think I remember them as the former. Quick Google tells me they aren't a thing anymore.
Old jazz fans might have heard of Toto McNaughton, the drummer, who was their keeper. When I bumped into him one night in Henry's Cellar Bar, and told him who I was, his eyes were moist when talking about my Granny's stovies :greengrin
This is really all our yesterdays(or mine anyway).Couldn’t have been an Edinburgh band in the 60s that Toto didn’t drum for.Particularly the Boston Dexter’s with Tam White. Quite funny -Toto from DK and Alan Coventry from Heriot’s.
10-01-2024, 04:25 PM
Trinity did have a team when I was there, a very good side too. It was made up of regulars from Leith Athletic who were the best club side in Edinburgh at the time, including our very own Darren McGregor.
We never got a team though until 4th year which was disappointing.
10-01-2024, 04:30 PM
Of course you could enter both. EPSAA was for smaller schools but didn’t stop you from entering the big one. When I say we won it , we actually shared the Inspectors Cup with St John Vianney. 6-6 after extra time in the final.
Didn't realise that cheers :thumbsup:
10-01-2024, 04:38 PM
You're not wrong, that was at those beautiful pitches next to Dr Guthrie's. I remember watching it and I think it was Danny McAleavey being lifted up by everyone else afterwards holding a trophy?
I think that was the Craigour shield at Dr Guthries pitches beating St John Vianneys. Won the Epsaa Cup at Warriston pitches v Craigmillar. Davy Scott signed for Hearts and a very decent junior goalscorer and Robert McGachie elder brother of John ex Hibs Sheep both scored.
10-01-2024, 06:31 PM
Darren Jackson's old man was our trainer in about 80-81 at Leith Walk, intimidating man. 😊
MagicSwirlingShip
10-01-2024, 10:15 PM
Yellow and Blue at Duddingston Primary. Lost in the Inspectors cup final after a nice wee cup run. We only ever entered the cups as our Janitor didn’t agree with any school leagues at that age and preferred athletics. Had a good side with one boy in my year going pro at Hibs but ultimately never got an appearance.
High school didn’t have a team due to bams
10-01-2024, 10:41 PM
Pans Primary - yellow and blue quarters. Was a great strip. At PL we were a rugby school and sadly wore maroon. I played rugby on Saturday mornings and caught the Hibs supporters bus wearing my maroon school uniform to a few away games.
woody0-7
11-01-2024, 11:37 AM
I went to Clermiston primary started off with Argentina tops big team had villa tops….then we had silver tops with purple shorts and socks…Royal high school black shorts and socks and white tops …Edinburgh select primary was black shorts and socks white and exactly the same for high school select
11-01-2024, 11:52 AM
Trinity did have a team when I was there, a very good side too. It was made up of regulars from Leith Athletic who were the best club side in Edinburgh at the time, including our very own Darren McGregor.
We never got a team though until 4th year which was disappointing.
I was at Trinity 91-97 and we weren't allowed a football team at all, as others have said it was all about the rugby and getting a black and yellow blazer, I still despise rugby to this day because of it all
11-01-2024, 12:06 PM
I was at Trinity 91-97 and we weren't allowed a football team at all, as others have said it was all about the rugby and getting a black and yellow blazer, I still despise rugby to this day because of it all
I would have just been starting secondary when you left, we did have to wait until 4th year to get a side.
Not sure what the reasoning for the delay was but it's definitely a school that leans towards Rugby, despite 90% of pupils preferring football.
11-01-2024, 12:39 PM
Primary school was Parsons Green, buggered if I can remember what the strip colours were. Uniform had a red trim I'm sure though
Secondary School was Heriot's and they were only just starting the football team as I was leaving. Presumably the strips featured navy and white prominently though :greengrin
Blue and red stripes, played for parsons green too. Played on the pitch across from the school. Spent most the game running after the ball down the hill or trying to retrieve the ball from the stinkin boggy/marsh at side of the pitch. A pitch on the side of Arthur seat was never the best.
11-01-2024, 12:44 PM
Played for The Invincibles team at Stockbridge Primary circa 81-83.
yellow and blue iirc.
H113EE5
11-01-2024, 02:04 PM
Late 50s was green jersey with a yellow diamond on the chest. Like the Airdrie shirts of old
RayJW
11-01-2024, 02:48 PM
1965-72 I was there.
I remember those people and the Janitor. The school colours were a Hibs style strip with gold sleeves and white numbers on the back. We also played at Arboretum.
12-01-2024, 08:37 AM
I think that was the Craigour shield at Dr Guthries pitches beating St John Vianneys. Won the Epsaa Cup at Warriston pitches v Craigmillar. Davy Scott signed for Hearts and a very decent junior goalscorer and Robert McGachie elder brother of John ex Hibs Sheep both scored.
Well you'll be pleased to know that St Catherine's won the EPSAA cup again about six years ago in a final played at Myreside. My son played for the team but not in that final. Coached of course by John the current school janny (or at least he was then) so some traditions persist. John himself had also I think won the cup with St Cat's in his own youth.
My own year was garbage. We played something like 18 games and lost 16. Managed one 2-2 draw against St John Vianney's and our sole win was against St Peter's 3-2 towards the end of the season - boy did we lose our **** when that happened. Partly because they had a player who wore bright blue boots which was really something back then. That season also included a memorable 10-1 defeat to Moredun - others have mentioned what a good side they were then so that's a bit of a comfort some 50 or so years later. Mind you our one goal was scored from the half way line by our captain.
I remember the McGachies, they were Mick's family I think? Pretty sure one of the family's girls of that generation is still a regular attender at mass at St Catherine's.
12-01-2024, 08:56 AM
I would have just been starting secondary when you left, we did have to wait until 4th year to get a side.
Not sure what the reasoning for the delay was but it's definitely a school that leans towards Rugby, despite 90% of pupils preferring football.
We were always told that when they had a football team before it descended into boxing with the other schools we were playing so it was more hassle than it was worth, the old usual Football fans are neanderthals but rugby is the sport of gentleman mentality
12-01-2024, 11:09 AM
Well you'll be pleased to know that St Catherine's won the EPSAA cup again about six years ago in a final played at Myreside. My son played for the team but not in that final. Coached of course by John the current school janny (or at least he was then) so some traditions persist. John himself had also I think won the cup with St Cat's in his own youth.
My own year was garbage. We played something like 18 games and lost 16. Managed one 2-2 draw against St John Vianney's and our sole win was against St Peter's 3-2 towards the end of the season - boy did we lose our **** when that happened. Partly because they had a player who wore bright blue boots which was really something back then. That season also included a memorable 10-1 defeat to Moredun - others have mentioned what a good side they were then so that's a bit of a comfort some 50 or so years later. Mind you our one goal was scored from the half way line by our captain.
I remember the McGachies, they were Mick's family I think? Pretty sure one of the family's girls of that generation is still a regular attender at mass at St Catherine's.
Thanks wasn't aware it had been won again great to hear. Pretty sure I saw the photo of our win a few years back. When you say Mick assume you are meaning the Union leader don't think they were related as think different spelling. Our coach was a teacher Mr Deponio though knew that John Wilson the janny and think future Councillor had coached teams before mine. A few of the kids in our team also played for Gracemount rovers which had the bus crash couple of years after.
deludedfool
12-01-2024, 02:02 PM
Carrick knowe primary dark blue and light blue horizontal stripes , white shorts white socks and if you were lucky adidas Santiago boots , played in the inspectors cup final at Warriison ? Warriston ? ( great pitch ) circa 72. / 73 . Got done by Gylemuir I think . They had a player McKenna can’t remember his first name ( might have been Alan ) ended up at milwall I think
Jeez feeling old🙄
MagicSwirlingShip
12-01-2024, 02:53 PM
On a similar note (I seen Berra mentioned previously) have any on here played against anyone who went on to have a good pro career?
Best for me would be Kevin Smith, went onto Leeds United, Sunderland. He was absolutely dynamite at p7 age😂
12-01-2024, 03:57 PM
On a similar note (I seen Berra mentioned previously) have any on here played against anyone who went on to have a good pro career?
Best for me would be Kevin Smith, went onto Leeds United, Sunderland. He was absolutely dynamite at p7 age😂
I played against John mcDonald, the wee diver who went to Rangers, from age 12-16
He was a diver then as well
hibeelady
12-01-2024, 04:34 PM
Same schools as me but no football for the girls in they days!!
itslegaltender
12-01-2024, 04:46 PM
I played against Sandy Robertson who I think was the first Catholic to sign for Rangers ahead of Maurice Johnston. I was marking him in a Schoolboard Cup Semi final at Warriston and he scored 6. :wink:
12-01-2024, 05:19 PM
Pretty sure Drumbrae Primary was Green and white Hibs style (our blazers and uniform was bottle green so would make sense).
Moved to England St Saviours Primary Red with navy blue shorts.
Secondary school, Beechen Cliff in Bath, Royal Blue with a red stripe across the middle. (Started playing rugby by that point).
Footballing wise kid in the year above was Pete Tisdale (played for Bath City) his brother Paul played for Southampton, Bristol City and Exeter. Also managed Exeter, MI Dons and Bristol Rovers.
Rugby wise my mate Lee Robinson played for Bristol, Leicester, Wasps and the Barbarians vs Scotland.
Amy Williams (Skelton Bob sleigh) was my mates sister who also went to our school.
Matt Macey was also a Beechen Cliff old boy but came through the school long after I left.
Fratelli
12-01-2024, 05:28 PM
‘73 to ‘75 played for Pinkie St Peter’s primary school in Musselburgh in thick rugby-type strips (big white collars) in black and red hoops, resembling Dennis the Menace!
One for the much older readers but our janitor and coach was the brilliant Sammy Stewart who had a 20+ year career as a full-back with East Fife when they won the Scottish League Cup 3 times in 7 years back in the late 1940’s and mid 50’s - a true Honest Toun legend and lovely man.
’74 played for the ‘county’ team, Midlothian East, when Musselburgh was still part of Midlothian; only have a black and white team photo pic but I think the strip was canary-yellow with blue trim.
Musselburgh Grammar strip was sky-blue with white trim.
12-01-2024, 06:09 PM
‘73 to ‘75 played for Pinkie St Peter’s primary school in Musselburgh in thick rugby-type strips (big white collars) in black and red hoops, resembling Dennis the Menace!
One for the much older readers but our janitor and coach was the brilliant Sammy Stewart who had a 20+ year career as a full-back with East Fife when they won the Scottish League Cup 3 times in 7 years back in the late 1940’s and mid 50’s - a true Honest Toun legend and lovely man.
’74 played for the ‘county’ team, Midlothian East, when Musselburgh was still part of Midlothian; only have a black and white team photo pic but I think the strip was canary-yellow with blue trim.
Musselburgh Grammar strip was sky-blue with white trim.
Sounds like you got the old Daniel Stewarts rugby shirts. They merged with Melville College in 72.
Halmyre Hibee
12-01-2024, 09:13 PM
I started primary in 1965 so no girls teams. Very few girls went to football matches although my dad took both myself & sister to Easter Road in 1968 to see our first Hibs game.
therealgavmac
14-01-2024, 01:48 AM
Same primary, same secondary
14-01-2024, 10:39 AM
Me too, that St Catherine's strip was an absolute cracker. Four panels front and back, two green and two white with white arms. The only problem if you remember was the material it was made of - it was like linen or something. As soon as it rained it was like trying to run around wearing a soaked sleeping bag.
Don't get me started on the heavy orange plastic balls...
Mitre orange footballs? Goal line clearance using my face against Forrester's... couldn't see properly for about 5 mins.
He's here!
15-01-2024, 07:11 AM
Changed days since then. Girls teams are thriving across a lot of the primary schools I've worked in. I've helped out with coaching and there are a lot of really good players, some better than the boys at that age. My youngest daughter plays, although she's the only one of my kids interested in football.
15-01-2024, 07:16 AM
Mitre orange footballs? Goal line clearance using my face against Forrester's... couldn't see properly for about 5 mins.
Had a Mouldmaster imprint on my thigh for about two years
Torture on a cold and frosty morning
'mon the beers
15-01-2024, 05:53 PM
I remember playing against St Marks at Meggetland for Clovenstone primary school and scoring my first ever hattrick, always remembered those black and red strips because of that. Our strips were purple with some white and black pattern on the shoulders, the codfather sponsored us so we always headed there after our games on a Saturday morning.
15-01-2024, 08:28 PM
the codfather sponsored us so we always headed there after our games on a Saturday morning.
Could've been worse, could've been The Chocolate Box! 😳😊