View Full Version : Sunderland v Newcastle

05-01-2024, 01:46 PM
I just saw a report on Sky saying Newcastle fans are being charged £600 for what I assume is hospitality at the stadium of light. It’s usually £100. £600!!!!!! Madness.,

Hibs4185
05-01-2024, 01:50 PM
And Sunderland transformed their hospitality into a Newcastle themed room with Newcastle slogans etc. Unbelievable

05-01-2024, 01:51 PM
And Sunderland transformed their hospitality into a Newcastle themed room with Newcastle slogans etc. Unbelievable

That was what the report was about. How someone thought that would be a good idea is beyond belief.

percy veer
05-01-2024, 01:57 PM
I just saw a report on Sky saying Newcastle fans are being charged £600 for what I assume is hospitality at the stadium of light. It’s usually £100. £600!!!!!! Madness.,

I saw the darts were charging from £600 for hospitality depending what date you go so would get dearer, looks the way its going

MKHIBEE
05-01-2024, 02:25 PM
That was what the report was about. How someone thought that would be a good idea is beyond belief.
Ben Kensal visited the hospitality suite to get some ideas

05-01-2024, 02:40 PM
Ben Kensal visited the hospitality suite to get some ideasPainting one all black, but no plan for the seats you just barge your way in and empty out whoever's already in it?

And there'll be one guy with a drum in the corner battering out a single note the whole time.

05-01-2024, 03:11 PM
The report I read seemed to suggest that hospitality venue had been sub contracted by Sunderland, Newcastle themes were quickly torn down:greengrin

05-01-2024, 03:27 PM
I'd have no problem with BK dressing up a Jambo themed hospitality suite at ER if he can sell it out at £600/head. Preferably a suite with nae windaes so none of us can see in and it will make the punters feel more at home.

WestCoastHibby
05-01-2024, 03:31 PM
Hibs.net last time I looked

05-01-2024, 03:51 PM
Still is mate. All things football. Has been for as long as I’ve been here. :rolleyes:

Paulie Walnuts
05-01-2024, 05:18 PM
Still is mate. All things football. Has been for as long as I’ve been here. :rolleyes:

Never get why someone would get annoyed at this. It’s clear as day the thread isn’t about Hibs so just scroll by it :confused: and as you say, the forum is for all football chat.

05-01-2024, 05:25 PM
Ben Kensal visited the hospitality suite to get some ideas

To his credit, if there’s one thing that can’t be labelled at BK it’s anything to do with hospitality.

Bridge hibs
05-01-2024, 05:32 PM

You didn't look hard enough then

The messageboard for all Hibs fans to chat about Hibs and football in general

06-01-2024, 12:48 AM

I would need to see pictures .... As big a rivalry bordering on hatred as their is in English fitba ... No way this can be true.

King Cosell
06-01-2024, 12:57 AM
I would need to see pictures .... As big a rivalry bordering on hatred as their is in English fitba ... No way this can be true.

06-01-2024, 11:07 AM

Thread title was clear last time I looked.

06-01-2024, 11:36 AM
Looking forward to this. Even if it’s blood and snorters. 😁
Atmosphere is terrific.

Bridge hibs
06-01-2024, 11:38 AM
Looking forward to this. Even if it’s blood and snorters. 😁
Atmosphere is terrific.

No VAR either 😃

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2024, 11:40 AM
Great to see them with a large away support at the game. Makes a huge difference in these games.

The Old Firm, whilst the pish they sing is unsavoury, have absolutely butchered their derby with their nonsense regarding away fans.

06-01-2024, 11:42 AM

It’s a classic case of business people involved in football who really have no grasp of the mindset and pride people have for their clubs.

For an outsider looking in it probably makes for some smart commercial strategy to maybe maximise income as much as they can on such a big occasion, but for any football fan your clubs stadium is more than just somewhere you rock up to every other week, it’s a second home, and you identify the whole place as your own. The very notion of doing this will never enter your mind.

If you’ve got a Hearts fan coming for dinner, you’re not going to start adding some extra touches to your home like pictures of Wayne Foster or a maroon tablecloth to make your guest more welcome. If anything, you’ll Hibsify the environment even more!

06-01-2024, 11:43 AM
No VAR either 😃

That’s another plus.
I’ve actually spent an hour or so on ITV 4 this morning. The Big Match. Late 70s early 80s. Loved it.
No VAR
Everyone in black boots
Robust challenges with no rolling around
Not one bit of jostling pulling or blocking of note at corners.
Villa v Leicester. Des Bremner v Bobby Smith.
God I miss the old days.

hhibs
06-01-2024, 11:47 AM
It’s a classic case of business people involved in football who really have no grasp of the mindset and pride people have for their clubs.

For an outsider looking in it probably makes for some smart commercial strategy to maybe maximise income as much as they can on such a big occasion, but for any football fan your clubs stadium is more than just somewhere you rock up to every other week, it’s a second home, and you identify the whole place as your own. The very notion of doing this will never enter your mind.

If you’ve got a Hearts fan coming for dinner, you’re not going to start adding some extra touches to your home like pictures of Wayne Foster or a maroon tablecloth to make your guest more welcome. If anything, you’ll Hibsify the environment even more!

It would depend very much on how I was going to cook him:wink:

06-01-2024, 11:49 AM
How are they both allowed to wear there home strips here? Making it a really difficult watch:grr:

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2024, 11:50 AM
How are they both allowed to wear there home strips here? Making it a really difficult watch:grr:

Agree. I know some folk like the idea of teams wearing their home strips but these are far too similar.

The ref has stopped the game and there’s no VAR. Wonder if it’s strip related?

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2024, 11:52 AM
Agree. I know some folk like the idea of teams wearing their home strips but these are far too similar.

Nope, linesmans comms related.

06-01-2024, 11:53 AM
Nope, linesmans comms related.

New batteries required.

SJNB Hibby
06-01-2024, 11:59 AM
Socks and shorts are different colours. Good to see both teams in their traditional colours

06-01-2024, 12:00 PM

Was just thinking the same, too similar with the stripes.

Bridge hibs
06-01-2024, 12:00 PM

Easy to work out if you have a black n white telly, Sunderland are the ones playing in the red n white stripes

06-01-2024, 12:12 PM

Red v Black tops, White v Black shorts, I'm not in the fitst flush of youth and haven’t had a problem.
Socks are pretty distinctive as well.

06-01-2024, 12:12 PM
You can see the obvious difference in budgets. Any quality on the ball coming from Newcastle and real thunderous tackles and aimless punts from Sunderland.

06-01-2024, 12:15 PM
You can see the obvious difference in budgets. Any quality on the ball coming from Newcastle and real thunderous tackles and aimless punts from Sunderland.
Love the tackles:aok:

06-01-2024, 12:17 PM
I think that's a pen. Disagree completely with McCoist

SJNB Hibby
06-01-2024, 12:18 PM
Clear penalty there. VAR a pain in the whatsit, but Newcastle robbed

I think that's a pen. Disagree completely with McCoist
Outside the box

Should be a penalty and red - no attempt to play ball.

Quite like having no VAR stopping the game and micro analysing everything.

06-01-2024, 12:20 PM
1-0 Newcastle.

06-01-2024, 12:21 PM
Not for me. They’re both pulling each other. Sunderland boy was just stronger.

06-01-2024, 12:21 PM
Not for me. They’re both pulling each other. Sunderland boy was just stronger.

06-01-2024, 12:22 PM
good start for my 15 team roll-up today :)

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2024, 12:22 PM
Red v Black tops, White v Black shorts, I'm not in the fitst flush of youth and haven’t had a problem.
Socks are pretty distinctive as well.

It’s not red v black though. Sunderland’s top is majority white and newcastles is about 50/50 black and white.

If you look at them from the waist down then no issue. Top half are far too close though imo.

06-01-2024, 12:27 PM
It’s not red v black though. Sunderland’s top is majority white and newcastles is about 50/50 black and white.

If you look at them from the waist down then no issue. Top half are far too close though imo.

I think there’s enough of a difference where it matters. Sunderland have predominantly white across the shoulders and sleeves and Newcastle predominantly black in those areas particularly the shoulders.

06-01-2024, 12:29 PM
My eyes are not the best, and i'm finding it difficult at times to make out who is who here.

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2024, 12:30 PM
I think there’s enough of a difference where it matters. Sunderland have predominantly white across the shoulders and sleeves and Newcastle predominantly black in those areas particularly the shoulders.

I reckon the fact there’s a discussion about it (there’s also loads online about it) would suggest it’s too close for a lot of folk :greengrin

06-01-2024, 12:33 PM
I reckon the fact there’s a discussion about it (there’s also loads online about it) would suggest it’s too close for a lot of folk :greengrin

I’m fairly certain the fans of both clubs will be happy enough and the ref is happy so that’s all that matters I think. Us armchair twats don’t count.

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2024, 12:34 PM
I’m fairly certain the fans of both clubs will be happy enough and the ref is happy so that’s all that matters I think. Us armchair twats don’t count.

Probably true.

Have they always both wore home tops when they played each other in the EPL etc?

06-01-2024, 12:35 PM
Probably true.

Have they always both wore home tops when they played each other in the EPL etc?

No idea to be honest.

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2024, 12:36 PM
No idea to be honest.

Just had a look. Appears they sometimes both wear home, sometimes one would wear away. Potentially based on the amount of white in each strip. Who knows.

06-01-2024, 12:37 PM

Nope not a problem for me at all, different enough not to be an issue.

Ardenttwo
06-01-2024, 12:39 PM
My eyes are not the best, and i'm finding it difficult at times to make out who is who here.

Agree 100%. Close up not to bad but otherwise difficult to tell.

06-01-2024, 12:41 PM
Far from a classic but interesting enough. Could do with an equaliser to spice it up but it’s not looking very likely.

06-01-2024, 12:49 PM
At £600 a head I’d maybe make allowances for a minimum of 4 guests 😂

06-01-2024, 12:54 PM
game
set
and match

or as McCoist would say, Absolutely

game
set
and match

06-01-2024, 12:54 PM
That’ll be that then.

06-01-2024, 12:56 PM
Has McCoist had his teeth taken out? 🤣

06-01-2024, 01:04 PM

:agree: Its clearly a problem for many people watching given the collective annoyance shown on various social media platforms. Newcastle wear their green top then nobody has a problem. Really strange decision to allow it.

06-01-2024, 01:05 PM
Has McCoist had his teeth taken out? 🤣

Maybe he’s got new teeth in???

Coach Jon
06-01-2024, 01:07 PM
Sunderland are a giving a good example of the problems trying to play out from the back cause you.

06-01-2024, 01:11 PM
Non event really. Huge gulf between the two.

06-01-2024, 01:11 PM

Sounds like someone else’s teeth in

06-01-2024, 01:12 PM
Sunderland are a giving a good example of the problems trying to play out from the back cause you.

I was just saying that watching Sunderland here is just like watching us. God, we're no pretty!

06-01-2024, 01:17 PM
Hell of a goal-line clearance from the Sunderland CB!

06-01-2024, 01:19 PM
Non event really. Huge gulf between the two.

Aye. Disappointed. I thought Sunderland given Newcastles recent form might have dragged them down to their level a bit. Hasn’t happened.,

06-01-2024, 01:24 PM
:agree: Its clearly a problem for many people watching given the collective annoyance shown on various social media platforms. Newcastle wear their green top then nobody has a problem. Really strange decision to allow it.

Especially for those of us watching in black and white.

06-01-2024, 01:29 PM

Sounds like someone else’s teeth in

Paul1642
06-01-2024, 01:40 PM
Commentator just mentioned that this will be Newcastle’s first derby win since 2011. I know that between each team being relegated they probably haven’t played often in that time but that’s a mad statistic.

JammyDoidger
06-01-2024, 01:52 PM
Sunderland's defending was so Hibs like.

06-01-2024, 02:01 PM
54 wins each now, 49 draws. Quite the closely fought derby, historically anyway.

He's here!
06-01-2024, 02:50 PM
54 wins each now, 49 draws. Quite the closely fought derby, historically anyway.

That really sums up our ineptitude in the Edinburgh version.

I did wonder whether Everton were perhaps similarly hapless derby rivals (albeit Liverpool have often been by far the more successful side) but even that fixture is less one-sided than the Edinburgh derby (guessing Everton were the better team pre-Shankly).

06-01-2024, 03:05 PM

I did wonder whether Everton were perhaps similarly hapless derby rivals (albeit Liverpool have often been by far the more successful side) but even that fixture is less one-sided than the Edinburgh derby (guessing Everton were the better team pre-Shankly).

I'm sure Everton didn't win at Anfield for something like 20 years until they did it a couple of seasons ago.

06-01-2024, 03:10 PM

Juve and Torino aint great from a maroon perspective either. Id imagine Stoke and Port Vale similarly one sided (another two teams support that really dont like other).

06-01-2024, 03:13 PM

Close historically maybe but ridiculously one sided recently. Everton have won once in the last 29 derbys and haven't won one played in front of supporters for over 13 years.

06-01-2024, 03:15 PM
Close historically maybe but ridiculously one sided recently. Everton have won once in the last 29 derbys and haven't won one played in front of supporters for over 13 years.

They also generally only play each other twice a season.

06-01-2024, 03:22 PM
They also generally only play each other twice a season.

True.

06-01-2024, 03:36 PM

Genuine question, do you support Hibs?

06-01-2024, 04:15 PM
Genuine question, do you support Hibs?

Why would he not. His point is totally valid.

06-01-2024, 07:18 PM
Why would he not. His point is totally valid.

Because he’s claimed several times that he doesn’t bother watching Hibs games anymore and doesn’t really care about football (apart from England women) but yet appears on here pretending to care again whenever theres’s anything negative to discuss. Likely be away on a holiday during the next Derby but resurrect his ‘r word thread’ once again if we get beat, or suggest we get Craig Levein in as manager.

Seeming to make ‘valid’ points and remaining relatively polite doesn’t hide the theme that’s been going on for years now.

Was the same with the national team but strangely doesn’t seem to bother having an opinion on them now we’re pretty guid.

All so tiring and predictable and I can’t believe so many people continue to fall for it.

06-01-2024, 07:21 PM
Because he’s claimed several times that he doesn’t bother watching Hibs games anymore and doesn’t really care about football (apart from England women) but yet appears on here pretending to care again whenever theres’s anything negative to discuss. Likely be away on a holiday during the next Derby but resurrect his ‘r word thread’ once again if we get beat, or suggest we get Craig Levein in as manager.

Seeming to make ‘valid’ points and remaining relatively polite doesn’t hide the theme that’s been going on for years now.

Was the same with the national team but strangely doesn’t seem to bother having an opinion on them now we’re pretty guid.

All so tiring and predictable and I can’t believe so many people continue to fall for it.

He’s not alone. I can’t get my head round anyone being that negative all the time. What a way to go about yer business.

Paul1642
06-01-2024, 09:44 PM

There’s a few like that on here (and everywhere else in life for that matter). I guess 1 or 2 could be yams who for reasons I can’t fathom choose to spend time on a Hibs forum, but the majority are just infinitely negative people who enjoy a moan about anything and everything and then have nothing positive to say when things go well. The reason I avoid this place for a couple of days after a defeat.

07-01-2024, 08:10 AM
There’s a few like that on here (and everywhere else in life for that matter). I guess 1 or 2 could be yams who for reasons I can’t fathom choose to spend time on a Hibs forum, but the majority are just infinitely negative people who enjoy a moan about anything and everything and then have nothing positive to say when things go well. The reason I avoid this place for a couple of days after a defeat.

About 24 hours avoidance after a defeat, at least 3 days after a derby defeat. Those are my rules which I nearly always break because I can't resist popping on for a moan myself