View Full Version : Monty needs to bring in his own players
To be fair, a statement posted on the Social Meedja pages more often than on here.
But have some of our fellow supporters been living under a rock and paying no attention to how our club has been operating these past ten years?
'Bring in his own players?' Really?
I thought that every Hibs supporter over the age of 30 remembered what happened when we last handed recruitment over to a Head Coach. The Board let Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher ditch and sign. We wasted huge sums on journeymen who only lasted one season and whose contracts had to be paid off.
The end result of that failed strategy was ..RELEGATION!!
Since 2014, when Brian Houston and Leeann Dempster transformed the management structure at the club under 'The Hibernian Way' project, player recruitment has been managed a Director of Football or Head of Recruitment. The present incumbent is Brian McDermott who has responsibility for player ins and outs. He will listen to the coaching team of course. But the onus on Nick is to do much better with the squad he has inherited.
St Mirren and Killie are achieving more with a weaker squad. They play through the middle of the park and get the ball to their strikers quicker. Nick's addiction to possession fitba and toothless touchline formations is the problem we are seeing and the inability to have a Plan B.
He needs to get far, far better results with the squad of players first, before we should give him any influence over player movements.
02-01-2024, 05:08 PM
What do you term by weaker squad? Less numbers? Better players? I don't rate our squad and believe folk think we have a good squad with good players in it. Last few seasons showing we don't. Managers haven't been up to scratch but i think most would struggle with current squad.
02-01-2024, 05:11 PM
What do you term by weaker squad? Less numbers? Better players? I don't rate our squad and believe folk think we have a good squad with good players in it. Last few seasons showing we don't. Managers haven't been up to scratch but i think most would struggle with current squad.
Yep. We knew we’d have international call ups and the state of the squad the manager had to pick from was a shambles.
Every scrap of energy should have been focused on Day one of this window and instead we have more marketing blocks with miced up managers and the like.
We need football people running this club.
02-01-2024, 05:52 PM
Yep. We knew we’d have international call ups and the state of the squad the manager had to pick from was a shambles.
Every scrap of energy should have been focused on Day one of this window and instead we have more marketing blocks with miced up managers and the like.
Brian McDermott is as ‘football people’ as you could get though.
02-01-2024, 05:55 PM
Brian McDermott is as ‘football people’ as you could get though.
Depends how much authority he has. We’ll need to see how it unfolds.
VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 06:00 PM
To be fair, a statement posted on the Social Meedja pages more often than on here.
But have some of our fellow supporters been living under a rock and paying no attention to how our club has been operating these past ten years?
I thought that every Hibs supporter over the age of 30 remembered what happened when we last handed recruitment over to a Head Coach. The Board let Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher ditch and sign. We wasted huge sums on journeymen who only lasted one season and whose contracts had to be paid off.
Since 2014, when Brian Houston and Leeann Dempster transformed the management structure at the club under 'The Hibernian Way' project, player recruitment has been managed a Director of Football or Head of Recruitment. The present incumbent is Brian McDermott who has responsibility for player ins and outs. He will listen to the coaching team of course. But the onus on Nick is to do much better with the squad he has inherited.
St Mirren and Killie are achieving more with a weaker squad. They play through the middle of the park and get the ball to their strikers quicker. Nick's addiction to possession fitba and toothless touchline formations is the problem we are seeing and the inability to have a Plan B.
He needs to get far, far better results with the squad of players first, before we should give him any influence over player movements.
St Mirren I'd maybe give you, that the squad is weaker, but Killie's first team is very very solid. Much more solid than ours I'd suggest. Now whether that's down to man management or smart buying I'm on the fence, and it's probably a bit of both (McInnes players apparently love playing for him), but off the top of my head I'd have Vassell, Armstrong, Findlay and Kennedy, who would all walk into our current team. So the idea we have a great squad is, imo, not the reality.
02-01-2024, 06:00 PM
Keep hearing this.
What happens when we’re as bad as we were before “his signings” come in
02-01-2024, 06:01 PM
Keep hearing this.
We panic
02-01-2024, 06:01 PM
Keep hearing this.
He’ll eventually get the bullet.
What happens if we become world beaters?
JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 06:46 PM
See anyone that says the squad isn't good enough? Why did we start this season with optimism about our new signings then? Levitt, vente, obita, Youan permanent etc, everyone was buzzing. This manager has to do better with this squad, it's better than half the teams we are coming up against but he can't beat them. Christ Motherwell would love to have our players. We were at home with 16k fans behind us. The manager needs to improve quickly or he's out it's that simple.
02-01-2024, 06:49 PM
See anyone that says the squad isn't good enough? Why did we start this season with optimism about our new signings then? Levitt, vente, obita, Youan permanent etc, everyone was buzzing. This manager has to do better with this squad, it's better than half the teams we are coming up against but he can't beat them. Christ Motherwell would love to have our players. We were at home with 16k fans behind us. The manager needs to improve quickly or he's out it's that simple.
We’ve been fed all sorts of hype by the club but hype doesn’t equal talent. This place was buzzing when we signed Shefki Kuqi, and I don’t need to say much more than that.
02-01-2024, 06:50 PM
Genuinely think this he needs a window pish is real desperation stuff.
Mr Bean took this very same squad and qualified it for Europe last year.
02-01-2024, 06:51 PM
Motherwell might love to have our players, but not for the money they cost in fees and wages.
Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 06:52 PM
He does need one imo, but I would agree it’s more in desperation that we’ll pull a rabbit out the hat than expectation.
02-01-2024, 06:56 PM
We need to sort out our defence and add a bit of steel to the midfield.
We've scored more goals than anyone outwith the OF but we concede soooooo many soft goals.
Right now I honestly think out of the back 5 Fish is the only one I'd be desperate to keep. The rest have good spells but aren't consistent enough.
Someone will need to explain to me what the manager or his tactics have to do with the two goals lost today and the one vs Hearts...
cubehindthegoal
02-01-2024, 06:57 PM
If that’s the case, then why do we constantly quote over so many threads players we think should bring in, year after year, including very recently, from clubs such as St Mirren and Kilmarnock. Thank god we bought SJM and didn’t think the ones we had were capable of the same … we’d still be waiting on that elusive scottish cup win if we had. Imagine having no 2016?
cubehindthegoal
02-01-2024, 07:03 PM
“We” started this season with optimism about our new signings … well, maybe “we” don’t know very much then lol.
Also, the manager was subsequently sacked … and I assume he does get to put his opinions on the players coming in.
“We” are taking about it, and not doing it, for a reason methinks … “we” would make a total errrse of it, if “we” were honest with ourselves.
02-01-2024, 07:04 PM
I think when you look at our recruitment it is generally the players the manager is likely to have known best who turn out to be the biggest successes.
Lennon brought in Ambrose who was a big hit, Marciano from Israel which was a market he had utilised at Celtic and after missing out on Heskey he brought in Holt who was a known quantity and obviously a type he liked. He also added Scott Allan who he would have know from Celtic and was known to the club.
Heckingbottom primarily recruited from in and around the market he knew best. There were certainly flops but Doidge and Newell have been solid additions.
Ross went safe in the COVID window and Nisbet and Gogic (certainly short term) were hits whilst Wright made sense even if he didn't work out. Magennis was also a good signing quality wise albeit we just never got a run from him. Again they all came from a market he had worked in and were similar types to those he took to Sunderland.
I think it's undeniable that managers will turn to and lean on players they can trust and Monty deserves that chance albeit he'll struggle to do the business needed in January. It might be a couple of sticking plasters in the short term.
02-01-2024, 07:06 PM
Largely had our season rescued by your favourite striker to be fair.
CB Hibs 68
02-01-2024, 07:07 PM
We need to sort out our defence and add a bit of steel to the midfield.
We've scored more goals than anyone outwith the OF but we concede soooooo many soft goals.
Right now I honestly think out of the back 5 Fish is the only one I'd be desperate to keep. The rest have good spells but aren't consistent enough.
Someone will need to explain to me what the manager or his tactics have to do with the two goals lost today and the one vs Hearts...
Fair point .Its all about the team as a whole rather than the individual players.Problem we have is that the current system ain’t working.Not rocket science .We play 2 up front today which is good but the striker we spend 800 grand on is playing so deep .Montgomery is responsible for the team set up but not for individual mistakes..Who carries the can Montgomery or the players.For me Monty has to take responsibility.
02-01-2024, 07:07 PM
I think when you look at our recruitment it is generally the players the manager is likely to have know best who turn out to be the biggest successes.
Lennon brought in Ambrose who was a big hit, Marciano from Israel which was a market he had utilised at Celtic and after missing out on Heskey he brought in Holt who was a known quantity and obviously a type he liked. He also added Scott Allan who he would have know from Celtic and was known to the club.
Heckingbottom primarily recruited from in and around the market he knew best. There were certainly flops but Doidge and Newell have been solid additions.
Ross went safe in the COVID window and Nisbet and Gogic (certainly short term) were hits whilst Wright made sense even if he didn't work out. Magennis was also a good signing quality wise albeit we just never got a run from him. Again they all came from a market he had worked in and were similar types to those he took to Sunderland.
I think it's undeniable that managers will turn to and lean on players they can trust and Monty deserves that chance albeit he'll struggle to do the business needed in January. It might be a couple of sticking plasters in the short term.
I think this is a crucial bit. I reckon 3 in at best in January but it might be enough to make the short term difference. Better window in Summer with continued improvement.
02-01-2024, 07:10 PM
I think this is a crucial bit. I reckon 3 in at best in January but it might be enough to make the short term difference. Better window in Summer with continued improvement.
Last year it was Jeggo and CJ. Jeggo wasn’t ever going to be a long term solution and CJ wasn’t our player, but you just need a couple of players who can impact the team in the January window. We’re not going to overhaul things but 2-3 first picks who can help get more from the rest is a must. We can’t sign players to come in and sit on the bench.
02-01-2024, 07:13 PM
I didn’t start the season with optimism. I started deeply concerned that Johnson thought the squad was good enough to get through the opening month or so as I didn’t think it was nearly good enough.
I was cautiously optimistic about the standard of signing we’d made and the impact of Vente and Levitt has been bitterly disappointing. Then (and now) I felt that there was a decent first XI to be had from the players available. Unfortunately Monty seems unwilling to play that team. The squad depth was and is crap and we’ve been found out a bit on that front. It could be argued that we’ve done quite a lot better than we might have expected from players like ALF, Jair and Rocky.
We’re probably where I’d have expected us to be, maybe a bit better off tbh. We could have been unluckier with injuries But the form of our “best” players has been bitterly disappointing.
02-01-2024, 07:18 PM
Last year it was Jeggo and CJ. Jeggo wasn’t ever going to be a long term solution and CJ wasn’t our player, but you just need a couple of players who can impact the team in the January window. We’re not going to overhaul things but 2-3 first picks who can help get more from the rest is a must. We can’t sign players to come in and sit on the bench.
Regards your last sentence NM said as much in his post match interview today.
02-01-2024, 07:22 PM
About 5 killie players walk straight into our line up.
Why we never went for Mayo and even Findlay in the summer is beyond me.
02-01-2024, 07:23 PM
RE the bit in bold, we're 6th. Where else would you expect us to be if our squad is only better than half the teams in the league?
We have a bang average squad and are bang in the middle. We also have games in hand on those above us (albeit teams below have the same).
We cant sack this manager without giving him a chance to mould the team. Or, if we do, we'll need to bin the recruitment team, CEO etc as they have presided over a shocking few years that have seen us waste millions and pay off umpteen managers.
JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 07:24 PM
About 5 killie players walk straight into our line up.
Why we never went for Mayo and even Findlay in the summer is beyond me.
We turn our noses up at players like that I've said it for years, I'd settle for no nonsense solid defenders that will just defend and let the rest of the team play. That big Joe Shaughnessy that always seems to score against us has won Dundee a few points himself this season scoring late goals, would love someone that's a threat at set pieces, big rob jones type!
02-01-2024, 07:26 PM
it is or should be possible to fight on a number of fronts. Surely!
JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 07:29 PM
RE the bit in bold, we're 6th. Where else would you expect us to be if our squad is only better than half the teams in the league?
We have a bang average squad and are bang in the middle. We also have games in hand on those above us (albeit teams below have the same).
We cant sack this manager without giving him a chance to mould the team. Or, if we do, we'll need to bin the recruitment team, CEO etc as they have presided over a shocking few years that have seen us waste millions and pay off umpteen managers.
Point was more we should be beating teams below us regularly, we've not been convincing in any game I remember this season, Monty has dropped points against
Killie
Dundee
Ross county
St Johnstone
Motherwell
Hearts
Rangers
Celtic
St Mirren
And lost to Aberdeen in the semi
That's rediculous, dropped points against every team apart from livi, when hes only been in charge since September. Should expect better than that with this squad.
His record is won 6, drew 7, lost 5.
02-01-2024, 07:33 PM
and after Maloney and LJ surely it’s screaming out first and foremost it’s how can you do better with what you have for starters?
Even WGS admitted eventually on reflection he got it wrong trying to get players to match a system rather than finding a system to suit the players…
cubehindthegoal
02-01-2024, 07:33 PM
He’ll eventually get the bullet.
What happens if we become world beaters?
… and this is the point … we don’t yet.
02-01-2024, 07:39 PM
First step must be for the club to acknowledge - and I think Brian McD has - the importance of character
I was just saying to my mate at the game - and thanks to Longbangers and their sponsors for winning tickets - we need players that can play for HibernianFC, spanning a number of managers not just the incumbent. So in that sense the “continentals” got it right - although presidents marquee signings mibbie aren’t the best ..
we moved away from the model that proved so well for the club - we recruited a team sorinklee with winners and characters who went on to life the Scottish cup. thanks to George Craig, Leaane and Stubbs. We can’t afford to divert from that again.
He's here!
02-01-2024, 07:42 PM
I think when you look at our recruitment it is generally the players the manager is likely to have known best who turn out to be the biggest successes.
How often does a January transfer window make a significant difference? The one where Lennon brought in Kamberi, McLaren and Allan was transformative for sure but I don't think we can assume this month's activity will see a significant upturn in our fortunes. Hopefully Monty will prove me wrong tho.
02-01-2024, 07:43 PM
I always think the sign of good manager is coming in and improving performances with the same players that were failing under the previous one. I thought Monty had done that initially, the longer it’s gone on I’m less sure.
It is safe to say when we signed players in the summer though, Levitt being a prime example it wasn’t to play in a 424 or 442 (whatever your take is on the formation.) We’ve appointed him, at the very least we need to give him the same time and backing we gave Johnson.
02-01-2024, 07:43 PM
How often does a January transfer window make a significant difference? The one where Lennon brought in Kamberi, McLaren and Allan was transformative for sure but I don't think we can assume this month's activity will see a significant upturn in our fortunes. Hopefully Monty will prove me wrong tho.
Tbh as long as it gets us back in the mix for 4th then I'm ok with that. LJ was able to do that last year so there isn't a huge number of excuses for Montgomery. The bigger job is in the summer to make sure we don't leave ourselves as badly lacking as we did after the summer just past.
With the contract situations it should be easier to jettison a lot of the deadwood this year which will help.
Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 07:46 PM
I always think the sign of good manager is coming in and improving performances with the same players that were failing under the previous one. I thought Monty had done that initially, the longer it’s gone on I’m less sure.
It is safe to say when we signed players in the summer though, Levitt being a prime example it wasn’t to play in a 424 or 442 (whatever your take is on the formation.) We’ve appointed him, at the very least we need to give him the same time and backing we gave Johnson.
I wouldn’t be giving him the same time if he doesn’t improve things.
Obviously this is way down the line, but if we’re not improved by the end of the season, there shouldn’t be a second window or else we’ll just be in the same position we are now. Bringing someone in mid season, after the windows shut, to use someone elses players.
If we fail to qualify for Europe this year then I’m not sure he deserves another window and then likely disrupting next season as well.
02-01-2024, 07:58 PM
I think often the new manager bounce is the easy part - it’s the part after that which is the real test for managers once they are in the door.
Monty will have seen the squad from the outside but won’t have known what they are like to work with day to day.
I also have said Hibs recruitment once again are as guilty as anyone if they hired a manager they knew played 4-4-2 and not having the players for it. I fully agree though until we stop conceding goals and being easy to play against at times we need to be flexible and adapt.
Coming in mid season playing a system with players that don’t suit it is a recipe for disaster.
If he doesn’t improve the starting 11 in this window it’s even more bonkers he persists with it.
I’m all for an identity / a system that players get but not at the detriment to getting results and missing out on Europe.
I’m totally fed up with Hibs right now and the Groundhog Day feeling. Honestly no further forward on the pitch. Our bench today showed that and I’m sure it was last year we messed about in the transfer window and could have signed players for games but didn’t and dropped points.
Monty seems a decent guy - but I want a winning team. A team hard to beat - a team that wins games and we can get behind. Right now feels like we are so disjointed and it’s very frustrating to watch the same errors we have seen from managers and players last few years repeat themselves.
02-01-2024, 08:09 PM
I think often the new manager bounce is the easy part - it’s the part after that which is the real test for managers once they are in the door.
Monty will have seen the squad from the outside but won’t have known what they are like to work with day to day.
I also have said Hibs recruitment once again are as guilty as anyone if they hired a manager they knew played 4-4-2 and not having the players for it. I fully agree though until we stop conceding goals and being easy to play against at times we need to be flexible and adapt.
Coming in mid season playing a system with players that don’t suit it is a recipe for disaster.
If he doesn’t improve the starting 11 in this window it’s even more bonkers he persists with it.
I’m all for an identity / a system that players get but not at the detriment to getting results and missing out on Europe.
I’m totally fed up with Hibs right now and the Groundhog Day feeling. Honestly no further forward on the pitch. Our bench today showed that and I’m sure it was last year we messed about in the transfer window and could have signed players for games but didn’t and dropped points.
Monty seems a decent guy - but I want a winning team. A team hard to beat - a team that wins games and we can get behind. Right now feels like we are so disjointed and it’s very frustrating to watch the same errors we have seen from managers and players last few years repeat themselves.
Unless we go down the route of a DoF who sets the strategy and recruitment and the the manager/head coach just coaches the players we’ll continue to have problems with a new manager being unhappy with aspects of his squad. So in that respect I’m not going to give the recruitment team too hard a time for appointing a manager with different ideas on how to play than his predecessor, but it’s why I say we have to give him at least the same opportunities we gave Johnson.
I don’t think anyone would think any less of Monty though if he was a bit more pragmatic til he gets in players more suited to his preferred style/formation.
Rumble de Thump
02-01-2024, 08:31 PM
We lost four players in one week and our third choice right back had to go off injured today. We'll bring players in to strengthen the first team and those players we lost will be back, along with others who have been out injured. We should pick up quite a few points then.
Hibee Daft
02-01-2024, 08:57 PM
He doesnt need to be the one recruiting the players but we definitely need to bring in the type of player he wants to suit his strategy
TrinityHibby
02-01-2024, 09:01 PM
Happy to be shot down but I have seen nothing to indicate Nick Montgomery is capable of improving this current team …….rookie manager who has no plan B and a squad of players with a losing mentality…..🤔 what could possibly go wrong 😑……sacked by May when Hibs are bottom six
Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:03 PM
Happy to be shot down but I have seen nothing to indicate Nick Montgomery is capable of improving this current team …….rookie manager who has no plan B and a squad of players with a losing mentality…..🤔 what could possibly go wrong 😑……sacked by May when Hibs are bottom six
Did you see the first 30 mins?
02-01-2024, 09:06 PM
I'd hazard a guess at the answer being no.
02-01-2024, 09:07 PM
It's true though, he needs a chance to bring in players to suit what he wants to do. Or we may as well bin him now and get someone else in to take us through to Easter.
TrinityHibby
02-01-2024, 09:14 PM
I watched the full match and for most of it we were woeful ……predictable, pedestrian with no cohesion or clinical edge in front of goal…..we also lost two goals at home to a Team that are absolutely terrible
Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:15 PM
I watched the full match and for most of it we were woeful ……predictable, pedestrian with no cohesion or clinical edge in front of goal…..we also lost two goals at home to a Team that are absolutely terrible
What did you think of the first 30
TrinityHibby
02-01-2024, 09:16 PM
I'd hazard a guess at the answer being no.
you are incorrect
TrinityHibby
02-01-2024, 09:20 PM
What did you think of the first 30
Our goal was decent and was a result of one of our few good moves when we actually strung a few passes together …. Shame it was immediately wiped out by amateurish defending of which Hibs are excellent at
02-01-2024, 09:23 PM
Our goal was decent and was a result of one of our few good moves when we actually strung a few passes together …. Shame it was immediately wiped out by amateurish defending of which Hibs are excellent at
See! We are good at something after all!
Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:28 PM
Begrudging praise followed by criticism reeks of something I can't quite put my finger on, but you initially said you'd seen nothing to suggest Monty could improve this team, If that opening 30 minutes wasn't good enough for you nothing will be.
TrinityHibby
02-01-2024, 09:37 PM
Begrudging praise followed by criticism reeks of something I can't quite put my finger on, but you initially said you'd seen nothing to suggest Monty could improve this team, If that opening 30 minutes wasn't good enough for you nothing will be.
You are entitled to your opinion but I just don’t agree with it….. for the majority of the match Hibs were unconvincing against a poor Motherwell side who have only beaten Livingston in their last 16 matches ……if you are ok with that well that’s your choice however I have much higher expectations for our club
Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:43 PM
You are entitled to your opinion but I just don’t agree with it….. for the majority of the match Hibs were unconvincing against a poor Motherwell side who have only beaten Livingston in their last 16 matches ……if you are ok with that well that’s your choice however I have much higher expectations for our club
The last hour perhaps, again you choose to even talk about the first 30. You crack on with your expectations for 'our club', I'll crack on supporting mine.
02-01-2024, 09:50 PM
The last hour perhaps, again you choose to even talk about the first 30. You crack on with your expectations for 'our club', I'll crack on supporting mine.
But the rest of our performance completely ruins the first 30mins.
That’s what you don’t seem to understand
Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:52 PM
I understand it all right, and I wasn't happy with it :aok:. He said he's seen nothing to suggest Monty can turn it around, therein lies the context of my posts.
TrinityHibby
02-01-2024, 09:59 PM
Is the last hour not the majority of the match? Hibs were hardly world beaters in the first 30 and were easily nullified thereafter a terrible Motherwell team …..it would appear you and a large element of the Hibs support have the same losing mentality as the first team
02-01-2024, 10:08 PM
To be fair, we did finish the game stronger and at least showed a bit desire to keep going.
The middle part of the game was absolutely diabolical.
02-01-2024, 10:10 PM
To be fair, we did finish the game stronger and at least showed a bit desire to keep going.
The middle part of the game was absolutely diabolical.
And it’s the middle part that’s seen us go away with a **** point.
02-01-2024, 10:30 PM
Currently dreading the thought of a transfer window under Montgomery. Instead of offloading a lot of players why not try using the ones you have in their best positions? His inflexibility in deploying any other system than a 442 with two wingers has me scuppered. Most managers will switch formations now and then and even during games. I don't understand why he is persisting with this approach when it's glaringly obvious he needs to play a front 3 with two wingers and Vente as striker. Was all for his appointment but I fear his stubbornness is only going to result in him walking before the season ends.
CCM4LIFE
03-01-2024, 06:05 AM
Currently dreading the thought of a transfer window under Montgomery. Instead of offloading a lot of players why not try using the ones you have in their best positions? His inflexibility in deploying any other system than a 442 with two wingers has me scuppered. Most managers will switch formations now and then and even during games. I don't understand why he is persisting with this approach when it's glaringly obvious he needs to play a front 3 with two wingers and Vente as striker. Was all for his appointment but I fear his stubbornness is only going to result in him walking before the season ends.
None of that changes your actual problem in having a really poor pair of centrebacks.
03-01-2024, 06:11 AM
We need a big clear out. Every generation of players has a life cycle and thanks to the reverse Midas touch of BK and IG, we have a horrendous squad it’ll take some time to turn around. I could count on one hand the amount of players I’d be very keen to see stay, and I’d even struggle to get past three or four.
We had a sixteen year old at RB as our only option there, and on the bench we had absolutely zero to change the game in any significant manner. We’ve splurged a ton of money and brought in wheelbarrow loads of players who aren’t good enough, don’t have the character, and now we get our rewards for that.
I’m flummoxed as to why the anger appears to be entirely at the manager when the failings at the club are so clearly above him.
It’s all well and good saying that he’s got more out of his players but the hard truth is that we’ve got absolutely **** all.
03-01-2024, 06:49 AM
Irrespective of whether Monty chooses the players or not, we certainly needed new and better players.
Midfield, as mentioned many times before here Midfield (hibs.net) (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?358810-Midfield) needs major surgery. We lack urgency and creativity in the central positions. Both Levitt and Newell will be good players in a better midfield, but I think we need two additions to bolster the central positions.
For years, we've been saying the central defence positions need reinforced. Hanlon, Fish and Rocky are IMO good footballers, but we give away far too many avoidable goals, the last two games being prime examples.
We need better at full-back positions. How bad have things become that we've replaced a 16 year old with a soon to be 36 year old left sided professional at right-back?
I'm actually quite comfortable with the forward positions, as I think if we addressed the midfield positions we'd create more space and opportunities for them. Also, make sure Vente plays as a striker.
03-01-2024, 06:53 AM
Monte needs a few reinforcements.
Unfortunately, there appears no guarantee he’ll get them this window
03-01-2024, 07:10 AM
We have so few players flourishing in this set up that he’d need loads of new players that “fit” to get it right. We cannae just roll with it until he’s got the players he wants.
He has to change something about how he’s setting us up. It’s just not working. It’s stubborn and it’s going to cost him his job.
03-01-2024, 07:25 AM
We have so few players flourishing in this set up that he’d need loads of new players that “fit” to get it right. We cannae just roll with it until he’s got the players he wants.
He has to change something about how he’s setting us up. It’s just not working. It’s stubborn and it’s going to cost him his job.
433 has already cost one manager his job this season. Players flourishing isn’t something we’ll get much from out of this squad IMO. None of them overly flourished last season. Played well at times and also went missing during losing streaks.
I said when Monty was appointed my hope’s didn’t amount to much more this season than finish top 6 and blood some youngsters. We either stick by Monty to change the squad and give him the tools to do the job he said he would bring. Or we back the squad once again and realise this squad has a shelf life for a manager of about 1 season or so.
03-01-2024, 08:37 AM
When he was interviewed I assume Monty told the interview panel that he plays one system, no deviation from the formation (although it might be tweaked slightly to avoid being smashed by the Old Firm once I learn that toe-toe doesn't work)? Doesn't matter which players are available or what they are capable of, , that's going to be the approach?
Yesterday exemplified the weakness of NM's tactical abilities. Motherwell responded to being denied the ball by changing formation, we were then found lacking and remained so throughout the rest of the match.
I'm far from convinced that NM is getting the most from what he has available (with all the limitations that we all know). Vente is wasted, Boyle has been rendered ineffective, Youan clearly offers something that no other player brings to the table, despite his foibles. Levitt is unable to play with any dynamism in the current set up.
Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 08:54 AM
When he was interviewed I assume Monty told the interview panel that he plays one system, no deviation from the formation (although it might be tweaked slightly to avoid being smashed by the Old Firm once I learn that toe-toe doesn't work)? Doesn't matter which players are available or what they are capable of, , that's going to be the approach?
Yesterday exemplified the weakness of NM's tactical abilities. Motherwell responded to being denied the ball by changing formation, we were then found lacking and remained so throughout the rest of the match.
I'm far from convinced that NM is getting the most from what he has available (with all the limitations that we all know). Vente is wasted, Boyle has been rendered ineffective, Youan clearly offers something that no other player brings to the table, despite his foibles. Levitt is unable to play with any dynamism in the current set up.
This is where I am.
People talk about how they like the fact he doesn’t abandon his principles, and that’s absolutely fine if that’s their opinion. I think it shows him up as horribly one dimensional and unable to change things if plan A isn’t working, as it often isn’t now. Motherwell changed their approach after half an hour and we went to **** and done nothing to fix it.
I don’t think he’ll last at Hibs, even with new players, I think other managers have worked out our very basic and only system, others think he’s going to get his own players in and we’ll be flying. I suppose the proof will be in the pudding, but I’d be surprised if he’s Hibs manager going into the 24/25 season.
03-01-2024, 08:57 AM
Did I see someone on the match day thread saying we went three at the back at one point?
Did we move to a back 3 at any point in the game?
Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 08:59 AM
Did I see someone on the match day thread saying we went three at the back at one point?
Did we move to a back 3 at any point in the game?
We didn’t as far as I saw. Stevenson came on and went to right back. We didn’t have the players on the pitch at any point to play a back 3.
Edit: we may have for the last 5 mins with Landers coming on for Fish actually? Certainly didn’t notice it at the time but could have been the case.
03-01-2024, 09:01 AM
We didn’t as far as I saw. Stevenson came on and went to right back. We didn’t have the players on the pitch at any point to play a back 3.
Stevenson ended up at right centre back beside Hanlon.
We were pretty much playing with 2 at the back for the last few minutes.
03-01-2024, 09:21 AM
This is where I am.
People talk about how they like the fact he doesn’t abandon his principles, and that’s absolutely fine if that’s their opinion. I think it shows him up as horribly one dimensional and unable to change things if plan A isn’t working, as it often isn’t now. Motherwell changed their approach after half an hour and we went to **** and done nothing to fix it.
I don’t think he’ll last at Hibs, even with new players, I think other managers have worked out our very basic and only system, others think he’s going to get his own players in and we’ll be flying. I suppose the proof will be in the pudding, but I’d be surprised if he’s Hibs manager going into the 24/25 season.
Agree with that.
We've had previous managers with principles or a football philosophy that's written in tablets of stone and which doesn't change despite the players who are asked to implement it either being uncomfortable with it or not good enough to make it work. While we can disagree about which of those managers should have been given more time, all have been bulleted by a Board who are very quick to respond to supporter discontent.
Pragmatism seems to be a lost art when it comes to football management and while NMs hands are pretty much tied at the moment he seems to be another one who puts principles/philosophy before pragmatism. If he gets his own players in who can play the Monty way great, but if he doesn't and continues to impose a system on players unable to make it work successfully, the ER manager's revolving door will be revolving again
03-01-2024, 09:31 AM
Which surely shows that he can change things around when required? Not aiming that at you btw, just the general comment on here that he's too rigid.
I think there is way too much made about formations. Monty may not make it at Hibs. He's certainly not set the heather on fire. But I've yet to be convinced that for a game like yesterday, going 433 would have magically helped us defend a simple throw in and set piece that led to their goals. Or for that matter, helped Rocky deal with punt down field in injury time for Shanklands goal against Hearts.
I also remember Lennon, beloved on here by many, getting pelters for changing things too much going into a derby against Hearts and losing our flow and the game when we were flying high.
It does highlight though the complete lack of consistency in our managerial appointments. We lurch from one manager to the next, with no underlining style, values or profile. Hence we have a squad pulled together from 5 different guys, that is less than the sum of its parts.
Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 09:35 AM
Which surely shows that he can change things around when required? Not aiming that at you btw, just the general comment on here that he's too rigid.
I think there is way too much made about formations. Monty may not make it at Hibs. He's certainly not set the heather on fire. But I've yet to be convinced that for a game like yesterday, going 433 would have magically helped us defend a simple throw in and set piece that led to their goals. Or for that matter, helped Rocky deal with punt down field in injury time for Shanklands goal against Hearts.
I also remember Lennon, beloved on here by many, getting pelters for changing things too much going into a derby against Hearts and losing our flow and the game when we were flying high.
I’m not sure the 87th minute is changing it when it’s required. Our performance dropped massively after 30 when Motherwell changed their approach and we went on to concede two goals without changing anything. It was required long before that.
4-3-3 wouldn’t necessarily change individual moments if they panned out the exact same way again. Nobody is claiming that. The idea is that the whole game would pan out differently and with the players we have, a lot of people’s opinions are that they would pan out more favourably for us due to suiting our best players way more than our current formation/system. We’d still lose games, of course we would, we’d still have players making individual errors. But we’d stand a much better chance of getting positive results imo.
I'm Spartacus
03-01-2024, 09:55 AM
Not specifically about Monty, but "He needs a window" is every Managers security blanket to eek another few months out their gig.
snedzuk
03-01-2024, 10:06 AM
I’m not sure the 87th minute is changing it when it’s required.
This - we went 0-0-10 after Hearts scored the other night.
03-01-2024, 10:10 AM
Will be interesting to see who McDermott brings in. I'd wager it would be the same players whoever the "manager" was. Montgomery and his team are there to coach them and get the best out of them.
03-01-2024, 10:14 AM
Not specifically about Monty, but "He needs a window" is every Managers security blanket to eek another few months out their gig.
But surely that's totally fair? I would say 2 windows isn't unreasonable.
Rooney has been sacked but he's taken a side from 6th to 20th. That's clearly a very poor return.
Monty has done OK with a patchwork squad he's had no say in building. Unless we start sinking towards the bottom of the table he should absolutely get summer as well as January.
Our recruitment though needs to significantly improve to give him, or whoever comes in after him, a chance to succeed.
Stubbs was the last manager who was poached because they were a success. The 5 after him have been sacked. If Monty goes it'll be 6. That is an appalling return.
03-01-2024, 10:16 AM
Will be interesting to see who McDermott brings in. I'd wager it would be the same players whoever the "manager" was. Montgomery and his team are there to coach them and get the best out of them.
The DOF and Calvin Charlton will be identifying players that fit Monty's system. Some players may overlap but most will be different to what they would have looked for under LJ.
Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 10:18 AM
But surely that's totally fair? I would say 2 windows isn't unreasonable.
Rooney has been sacked but he's taken a side from 6th to 20th. That's clearly a very poor return.
Monty has done OK with a patchwork squad he's had no say in building. Unless we start sinking towards the bottom of the table he should absolutely get summer as well as January.
Our recruitment though needs to significantly improve to give him, or whoever comes in after him, a chance to succeed.
Stubbs was the last manager who was poached because they were a success. The 5 after him have been sacked. If Monty goes it'll be 6. That is an appalling return.
If we end up bottom 6 he shouldn’t be here next season imo.
That’s a massive failure for a club of our size. If we kept a hold of him, chances are he’d likely fail next season based on what he’s shown this season (if we finish bottom 6) and we’ll be in the same boat next season.
I’d also imagine if the Foley deal goes through that he won’t accept top 6 and mitigating factors won’t be taken into account.
03-01-2024, 10:18 AM
Will be interesting to see who McDermott brings in. I'd wager it would be the same players whoever the manager was. Montgomery and his team are there to coach them and get the best out of them.
And that's where we are falling. Recruitment should always be tailored to what a manager needs. We can't just throw a random bunch of players in and hope they work.
What if the next guy wants to play 352 but we don't have wingbacks?
If we can't give Monty the players he needs the whole set up and appointment of him will have been ridiculous. Why hire someone with a clear system and style and then not give him the tools to succeed?
If we can't make this manager work some massive, massive questions have to be asked about the decision makings behind the scenes at the club.
I honestly don't know if £6m from Foley’s group will make much of a difference at this stage given I don't trust us to use it wisely.
Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 10:20 AM
The DOF and Calvin Charlton will be identifying players that fit Monty's system. Some players may overlap but most will be different to what they would have looked for under LJ.
As someone who’s massively critical of Monty’s system, I’d be intrigued to know what people think we need to make it work.
I don’t think we’ll get the players to make it work at our level, simple as that. However, if you can see it working, what types of players are we looking at to do it?
Is it marauding full backs? Ball playing centre backs like Efe? A dynamic midfielder like McGinn, Docherty, a fit Magennis to play beside Newell? Who plays wide? A winger? Or somebody more in the mould of a Henderson (but better obviously). Does there need to be a big target man up top? Goalkeeper wise do we need someone who’s excellent with their feet?
03-01-2024, 10:49 AM
As someone who’s massively critical of Monty’s system, I’d be intrigued to know what people think we need to make it work.
I don’t think we’ll get the players to make it work at our level, simple as that. However, if you can see it working, what types of players are we looking at to do it?
Is it marauding full backs? Ball playing centre backs like Efe? A dynamic midfielder like McGinn, Docherty, a fit Magennis to play beside Newell? Who plays wide? A winger? Or somebody more in the mould of a Henderson (but better obviously). Does there need to be a big target man up top? Goalkeeper wise do we need someone who’s excellent with their feet?
Re the bit in bold, although I'm fully behind Monty, I think your point is a fair one. However, my thoughts are that ultimately what we need is better players. I know that sounds simple but even if Monty was to go tomorrow, we need to improve the squad in a number of areas and the attributes of those players are ones that I hope the next guy would also want.
So for me, I'd like to see
- A new CB. One that can pass the ball would be great but that is definitely hard to find on our budget. I would be delighted with the much sought after no nonsense centre half that deals with balls in the air, cuts out silly mistakes etc.
- a new LB. Obita has been ok but I also think we can do better. Lewis is done now and I dont think we can rely on him to cover Obita long term if he got a bad injury, so I'd like another LB to challenge.
- a new CM. Box to box ideally. We probably wont see another McGinn-level player again but that kind of engine that will cover defensively but can get forward and chip in with a goal. As it stands, I think we have two sitting midfielders that never get close enough to the oppositions goal. I'd love to see someone next to Newell that has the energy to get up and down the pitch, including into the box to get onto the balls that Youan and Tavares excel at sending in. We're too static in the middle and I know many blame the formation but I think its largely the personnel.
- a new striker. I'd like to see someone with strength that can play with their back to goal. Doidge is sadly past it and Vente just isnt that kind of player. I'd love a fully fit Myko back. It also gives us an out ball if we need to go long.
We need more than that to be honest. I think there are 10+ players that I would want to replace but that isnt realistic in the short term.
Others have said this on different threads but out of our first team squad there are probably only 4-5 players I would be upset if they left - Fish, Newell, Tavares and Boyle. Youan and Miller have talent but are quite raw. The rest could go and I honestly wouldnt be particularly concerned. We have a massive squad but many of them are surplus to requirements. Our bench yesterday was laughable for a club our size.
03-01-2024, 11:51 AM
As it stands I doubt we will do anything this month aside from maybe a couple of sticking plaster short term signings or loans. It's already been stated that the money Foley puts up, if it even goes through, will be for the most part for stadium infrastructure and East Mains.
That is what it is I suppose. But the summer is a whole different ball game.
We could end up with unarguably the best stadium outside of Glasgow ( it won't take much ) and an all signing all dancing training facility that's a match for anything in the UK aside from the English giants. But what's the point of building a palatial mansion and then filling it with the footballing equivalent of the young ones or the cast of father Ted.
If Foley coming on board is to have any impact on Hibs the first thing his group need to recognise is that you will not improve any promising player coming to this, or any other, club if you put them into a team without a solid base of players who can help their development. If you do you are wasting their time and your money.
The first aim has to be to build a team with a core of decent players who's purpose is to make Hibs a better team, not L'orient, not Bournemouth ... Hibs ... with the strength and ability to carry and help the players you think could rise to a level where they might be on the radar of EFL clubs or even be good enough to make it in the EPL
At a bare minimum that means a commanding centre half, a combative midfield player who can help Joe Newell and a big striker who can fight for the decent supply of balls we get into the box who Vente, played in his correct position, can play off of. Most of all a player in the mold of SJM who can drag the team along with him when the going gets tough, be that one of those three or a 4th new signing.
That's what we need and if we don't make that the aim this summer Foley and the Gordon's might as well pop over to the good old US of A ... go to Los Vegas take in a LV Black Knights ice hockey game and spend their and the clubs money at the blackjack or poker tables.
03-01-2024, 12:04 PM
Yep. Stevenson went to CB, Youan went to RB (albeit played fairly advanced).
CCM4LIFE
03-01-2024, 12:05 PM
is this McDermott able to recognise what a good player/prospect actually looks like?
03-01-2024, 12:20 PM
This is my issue with it.
John McGinn and Scott Brown as the 2 in the middle and the whole team looks different. They're players who come along once a decade (at best) for us though, and with inferior midfielders (or ones who have imbalanced strength / weakness games like Jeggo, Levitt, Bartley or Scott Allan) ie the type we can afford, it's just not going to work.
I'm not one for being disrespectful towards the Australian league but it might be that the gameplan that would work there on a limited budget doesn't work here.
cubehindthegoal
03-01-2024, 12:39 PM
And there have been other signs of better football too. Not yet consistently, but it’s obvious why. Same players here as there were back in september, no fault of montgomerys.
It is early days, though some people seem to think managers should be allowed to make no changes to personnel, and be shipped out after less than 4 months, if they haven’t been successful in that time 🙄 That’s a rate of 3 or 4 managers a year !! omg
03-01-2024, 12:39 PM
is this McDermott able to recognise what a good player/prospect actually looks like?
Yes, very much so.
andrew70
03-01-2024, 05:43 PM
Yep. Stevenson went to CB, Youan went to RB (albeit played fairly advanced).
Youan actually won a header too. Top player who should be playing every week.
Rumble de Thump
03-01-2024, 05:54 PM
He needs to bring in some players to replace some of the five we've lost this week to international call ups and injury. Six depending on how Whittaker's injury is looking.
03-01-2024, 06:53 PM
Phone him up and ask him. :doh:
03-01-2024, 07:01 PM
Phone him up and ask him. :doh:
I’m sure CCM can speak for himself and I’m not sure you would necessarily know but unless Im way off the mark I think he’s Australian and wouldn’t know Brian McDermott from Greenlex. It’s a fair question if that’s the case.
Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 07:04 PM
He’s only had one window at Hibs so it’s pretty much impossible for us to say. From the window he’s had the jury is definitely still out.
03-01-2024, 07:06 PM
I’m sure CCM can speak for himself and I’m not sure you would necessarily know but unless Im way off the mark I think he’s Australian and wouldn’t know Brian McDermott from Greenlex. It’s a fair question if that’s the case.
Disagree and even a cursory online look at McDermott's track record would suggest he would. Instead he posted that daft question.
03-01-2024, 07:14 PM
Disagree and even a cursory online look at McDermott's track record would suggest he would. Instead he posted that daft question.
I think it’s still a fair question under the circumstances and to be brutally honest your reply is fairly needlessly arsey. There hundreds of relatively basic questions that could be answered by a small modicum of internet research but rarely is.
He’s probably not that really invested in Hibs to be honest and is only looking in because of the NM connection mate. Like I said I’m sure he can speak for himself. I don’t really care that much either way other than maybe being courteous to guests with an interest in Hibs however small.
03-01-2024, 07:18 PM
Yes hes been doing so for many years, including at the very top level of the game.
03-01-2024, 09:26 PM
With regards to McDermott and Montgomery who identifys the players and gets final say
Greenworld
03-01-2024, 09:33 PM
is this McDermott able to recognise what a good player/prospect actually looks like?Highly connected in the football world and well respected
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
#2 Double Tap
03-01-2024, 10:02 PM
Highly connected in the football world and well respected
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
, Vente so far has been a really poor signing, the manager is also under performing, so over all McDermott might be highly regarded but he is looking a bit clueless imo….. it could all change in a short time but going on the evidence I wouldn’t like to hold my breath………..
04-01-2024, 05:33 AM
With regards to McDermott and Montgomery who identifys the players and gets final say
Ian Gordon does 😁
04-01-2024, 06:10 AM
More than "his own players", Monty just needs some good players to make his style of football work. It says it all about how awful recruitment has been over the last 5 years when Hanlon is still being relied on and we are playing Lewis as an emergency right back.
CCM4LIFE
04-01-2024, 02:10 PM
My bad chief, I don't know **** about SPFL, only reason I'm here is Monty the GOAT.
If Sergio can get a pipeline of undercooked players with a high potential from some of his former clubs (SPORT LISBOA E BENFICA) started you guys could start churning out some real talent, make a bit of bank and end up with bank accounts similar to Celtic/Rangers. (IN LIKE THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST OF THE TOP 1% CASE).
In any case, I just hope you guys give the dude a chance otherwise you'll just end up in a dog**** feedback loop of new coach, fired after 4 months, new coach, fired just like the Mariners after 2012. That's exactly what happened with us. We won the Championship, eurosnob clubs came and raided our changing room. Lost like 9 out of 11 of the first team that won the silverware and we went on a downward spiral of 3 wooden spoons. I think we ended up going through like 4 coaches by the end of it. We were the joke of the league and thank god the A-League doesn't have relegation otherwise we'd still be in the 2nd division.
Lost to the Newcastle Jets 8-2, our biggest rivalry. Imagine having to cop "You would 8-2 be a Mariners fan right now".
VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 03:23 PM
My bad chief, I don't know **** about SPFL, only reason I'm here is Monty the GOAT.
If Sergio can get a pipeline of undercooked players with a high potential from some of his former clubs (SPORT LISBOA E BENFICA) started you guys could start churning out some real talent, make a bit of bank and end up with bank accounts similar to Celtic/Rangers. (IN LIKE THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST OF THE TOP 1% CASE).
In any case, I just hope you guys give the dude a chance otherwise you'll just end up in a dog**** feedback loop of new coach, fired after 4 months, new coach, fired just like the Mariners after 2012. That's exactly what happened with us. We won the Championship, eurosnob clubs came and raided our changing room. Lost like 9 out of 11 of the first team that won the silverware and we went on a downward spiral of 3 wooden spoons. I think we ended up going through like 4 coaches by the end of it. We were the joke of the league and thank god the A-League doesn't have relegation otherwise we'd still be in the 2nd division.
Lost to the Newcastle Jets 8-2, our biggest rivalry. Imagine having to cop "You would 8-2 be a Mariners fan right now".
How do you think the pace of the Aussie league compares to the SPL? And the physicality?
CCM4LIFE
04-01-2024, 04:28 PM
How do you think the pace of the Aussie league compares to the SPL? And the physicality?
SPFL is way more physical, like borderline NRLesque tackles lol
The Pace? Not sure what you mean by pace, do you mean individual players physical attributes or the pace of the game. If it's the pace of the game, it depends on who's playing.
Here's an example of Sydney vs Phoenix.
Phoenix play quite direct so sit deep, pass the ball around looking for that sweet diagonal pass behind, Sydney pressed them relentlessly where at one point they spent like a good 10 minutes pinned in their own final third. (Pure domination by Sydney, if you can find the full replay on keepup youtube channel, do it. Fantastic game IMO.)
Anywho here's a sweet counter attack by the Wellington Phoenix.
https://youtu.be/hL7nXCBNDJ0?feature=shared&t=210
VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 04:44 PM
SPFL is way more physical, like borderline NRLesque tackles lol
The Pace? Not sure what you mean by pace, do you mean individual players physical attributes or the pace of the game. If it's the pace of the game, it depends on who's playing.
Here's an example of Sydney vs Phoenix.
Phoenix play quite direct so sit deep, pass the ball around looking for that sweet diagonal pass behind, Sydney pressed them relentlessly where at one point they spent like a good 10 minutes pinned in their own final third. (Pure domination by Sydney, if you can find the full replay on keepup youtube channel, do it. Fantastic game IMO.)
Anywho here's a sweet counter attack by the Wellington Phoenix.
https://youtu.be/hL7nXCBNDJ0?feature=shared&t=210
Cheers for that! Quite enjoyed those highlights. Mind you, the defending for that first goal, ouch. What I would say is that quite a lot of the players looked quite lightweight, obvuously not all of them but my general impression was that there were a lot of very slim build players out there. Standard was decent though and what's the deal with that Robbie Mack, took his goal well and commentator said he's been banging them i for a year and a half?
CCM4LIFE
04-01-2024, 05:16 PM
Cheers for that! Quite enjoyed those highlights. Mind you, the defending for that first goal, ouch. What I would say is that quite a lot of the players looked quite lightweight, obvuously not all of them but my general impression was that there were a lot of very slim build players out there. Standard was decent though and what's the deal with that Robbie Mack, took his goal well and commentator said he's been banging them i for a year and a half?
Almost as bad as watching Motherwell win 3 headers in a row in your own box to take the lead ;)
In regards to the lightweight comment, I honestly think the cream of the crop are scouted/poached by the AFL at an early age, 3rd most popular sport btw
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R%C3%B3bert_Mak
Róbert Mak
36 games 12 goals as a winger/CAM
Some well considered, insightful replies on this thread. Few if any posters believe that the squad should continue to churn to fit the philosophy of the Head Coach revolving door.
If that were the case the team would never stabilise and without a settled team you will achieve little.
Out of dozens of fantastic observations,this is my favourite so far.
Agree with that.
We've had previous managers with principles or a football philosophy that's written in tablets of stone and which doesn't change despite the players who are asked to implement it either being uncomfortable with it or not good enough to make it work.
While we can disagree about which of those managers should have been given more time, all have been bulleted by a Board who are very quick to respond to supporter discontent.
Pragmatism seems to be a lost art when it comes to football management and while NMs hands are pretty much tied at the moment he seems to be another one who puts principles/philosophy before pragmatism.
If he gets his own players in who can play the Monty way great, but if he doesn't and continues to impose a system on players unable to make it work successfully, the ER manager's revolving door will be revolving again