View Full Version : Levitt

02-01-2024, 03:33 PM
Weekly post

02-01-2024, 03:38 PM
Is there an extension on the returns window if purchased goods prove to be faulty?

02-01-2024, 03:44 PM
We need to play with a 3 man midfield. 2 simply is not working with the players we have

02-01-2024, 03:46 PM
He's rubbish in this setup. Whatever this setup is.

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 03:57 PM
If we could get our money back for him and vente I'd be buzzing with that. 2 of them have been a waste so far.

02-01-2024, 04:05 PM
He’s absolutely *****, the sort of absolute liability that gets teams who are expecting players to make a decent contribution relegated.

Jeggo isn’t perfect but the decision of Monty to consistently pick Levitt ahead of him in this formation is mental. We were actually ok with him in the centre of midfield with Newell.

02-01-2024, 04:06 PM
Dundee Utd laughing all the way to the bank

supermcginn
02-01-2024, 04:07 PM
No wonder Dundee Utd got relegated if they were relying on him every week.

02-01-2024, 04:08 PM
He's no got the legs to play in a 2

JammyDoidger
He’s absolutely *****, the sort of absolute liability that gets teams who are expecting players to make a decent contribution relegated.

Jeggo isn’t perfect but the decision of Monty to consistently pick Levitt ahead of him in this formation is mental. We were actually ok with him in the centre of midfield with Newell.

If he's in there to get us moving quicker and create he's not doing it, need better than him and Jeggo tbh. Brutal.

He’s clearly not good enough to play in this formation. As United fans told us he’s useless defensively and seriously lacks energy to get about the park.

02-01-2024, 04:12 PM
If we could get our money back for him and vente I'd be buzzing with that. 2 of them have been a waste so far.

I think that's unfair on both but especially on Vente. He proved he can score with the correct service when he first came in. For some reason in the last month or so he's not had any meaningful service. The midfield provide no service centrally (no through balls etc.) and the service from out wide is patchy and mostly mistimed at best. This is largely due to, IMO, our build up play being so cumbersome and we lack rhythm altogether.

With regards to Levitt, I think he can definitely play. However, there are too many sideways and backwards passes. He and Newell are so deep all the time which has to be because of instructions from the management otherwise it wouldn't happen all game. I'd like to see him play 15/20 yards further up the pitch.

I think with different personnel in the team Dylan & Dylan could both be key players.

delbert
02-01-2024, 04:15 PM

The point you make about not having the legs is a valid one but could be labelled at a number of the first team, with state of the art facilities and sport science strapped to their bodies, why does the Hibs first team at times give the impression of being unfit ?

Hibs4185
02-01-2024, 04:15 PM
He may not be the best but he’s got no chance with the current system.

4 defenders
4 out and out attackers

What can two midfielders do? As soon as they come ok against a 3 or 4 man midfield they are going to get over ran and dominated.

If NM can’t see that, then it’s extremely worrying

02-01-2024, 04:16 PM
We improved when he went off.

02-01-2024, 04:21 PM
He's rubbish in this setup. Whatever this setup is.We have a set up?

02-01-2024, 04:25 PM
Rudi showed more enthusiasm within 30 seconds of coming on than Levitt has all season

02-01-2024, 04:25 PM
He’s got no legs at all

VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 04:26 PM
He may not be the best but he’s got no chance with the current system.

4 defenders
4 out and out attackers

What can two midfielders do? As soon as they come ok against a 3 or 4 man midfield they are going to get over ran and dominated.

If NM can’t see that, then it’s extremely worrying

This all day long. The two midfielders are hung out to dry by the system, as is Vente. The only players this system, sort of suits, are Youan and Jair. Honestly NM, please just urinate with the appendage in hand.

02-01-2024, 04:26 PM
Rudi showed more enthusiasm within 30 seconds of coming on than Levitt has all season

He did look good when he came on TBH.

VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 04:29 PM
He did look good when he came on TBH.

I mentioned in another post the other day that I wanted to see a few of the youngsters in the team together, give them a feeling of familiarity. No one in this Hibs team, Newell excepted, could complain about being dropped. They'd give us a bit of energy, enthusiasm and teenage kicks. Today was the day to try that I felt.

02-01-2024, 04:31 PM
The point you make about not having the legs is a valid one but could be labelled at a number of the first team, with state of the art facilities and sport science strapped to their bodies, why does the Hibs first team at times give the impression of being unfit ?

The fact is, if yer gonnae play a 2 in midfield v a 3 in every game it’s vital you have legs in there.

If we’re carrying on with this nonsense, we need an N’golo ****e type.

02-01-2024, 04:31 PM
This all day long. The two midfielders are hung out to dry by the system, as is Vente. The only players this system, sort of suits, are Youan and Jair. Honestly NM, please just urinate with the appendage in hand.

I don’t think it suits Youan at all. Some players, like Youan, will still manage to have the odd great moment in spite of it all.

Of the starting XI today I thought it suited the centre halves, who play best as a pair, Jair (who has done well since coming into the side playing this formation) and maybe Doidge, who is often better as the big man in a pair.

The rest were square pegs in round holes, hung out to dry playing a role they’re simply not suited to.

02-01-2024, 04:37 PM
Horrendously lazy for the foul for the second goal.

Just amateur.

02-01-2024, 04:39 PM
I don’t think it suits Youan at all. Some players, like Youan, will still manage to have the odd great moment in spite of it all.

Of the starting XI today I thought it suited the centre halves, who play best as a pair, Jair (who has done well since coming into the side playing this formation) and maybe Doidge, who is often better as the big man in a pair.

The rest were square pegs in round holes, hung out to dry playing a role they’re simply not suited to.

Agreed. Genuinely baffles me this give him a window pish. He’d need to buy about 8 players while binning the proven quality we have.

Exuberance1875
02-01-2024, 04:54 PM

Just amateur.

I’m not so sure I agree with this, while I get Levitt isn’t the most mobile, he does have good footballing qualities and would be much better in a 3. But in this instance he bailed out Newall who was easy beat by his man. Was a smart foul to make at the time.

02-01-2024, 04:57 PM
Good player in a different setup, but I wouldn't be changing the way we play to suit him. If we could sign the mirror image of Joe Newell, we'd be laughing.

Exuberance1875
02-01-2024, 04:58 PM
I really want Levitt to do well and I think I can see how he’d impact a game further forward, great pass through the defence into Stevenson who, if he had a stronger right foot and was a natural right back would have either been in on goal or able to play it across. That’s the kind of stuff I think he can bring.

I am conscious we battered players like Newall for long enough and given some support has turned into one of the first names on the team sheet. I’m not sure what constantly hammering Levitt after every game is going to do him any favours. (Not that people shouldn’t have their opinions, of course)

02-01-2024, 04:59 PM
I’m not so sure I agree with this, while I get Levitt isn’t the most mobile, he does have good footballing qualities and would be much better in a 3. But in this instance he bailed out Newall who was easy beat by his man. Was a smart foul to make at the time.

I just never thought it was a smart foul due to the position, he done well to her back in but then went for the easy route imo and fouled him when he could have just stuck with him and not dived in

02-01-2024, 05:00 PM

Just amateur.

I thought he was right to take the foul there. The bigger mistake was from Newell to allow it to get to that point.

02-01-2024, 05:02 PM
Another one that we signed for a potential profit when we sell him on.

Matters not a jot if he’s any good, gotta keep your mind focussed on the £££s.

02-01-2024, 05:04 PM

Just amateur.

That's all of his defending. He either can't tackle or isn't arsed.

VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 05:04 PM
I really want Levitt to do well and I think I can see how he’d impact a game further forward, great pass through the defence into Stevenson who, if he had a stronger right foot and was a natural right back would have either been in on goal or able to play it across. That’s the kind of stuff I think he can bring.

I am conscious we battered players like Newall for long enough and given some support has turned into one of the first names on the team sheet. I’m not sure what constantly hammering Levitt after every game is going to do him any favours. (Not that people shouldn’t have their opinions, of course)

Until he sorts out his desire, his energy levels and his physique he will struggle in the SPL. I'd like to see him at the head of a midfield diamond, see what he has to offer there, but his current role did not suit him at Dundee Utd, and it doesn't suit him at Hibs, whatever attributes he has.

ehf
02-01-2024, 05:06 PM

02-01-2024, 05:13 PM
Talented player but we are never going to get the best out of him in a midfield two. And he should be further up the park. If we are going to persist playing him in a two we may as well sell him.

02-01-2024, 05:15 PM
Don't see the hype with him, where is the player that played for Dundee U , 52 games and 10 goals for them, he's a shadow of that player.

02-01-2024, 05:21 PM
He's the least of our troubles, he can play football. So many of the others cannot.

02-01-2024, 05:22 PM
There’s a player in there, he’s neat and tidy with the ball. Not our main problem.

Chipper1875
02-01-2024, 05:35 PM
There’s a player in there, he’s neat and tidy with the ball. Not our main problem.

He’s a major problem. Can’t have a centre mid that puts in no work and plays at a walking pace . Fitness is poor and can’t last 90 mins .

21sMay
02-01-2024, 05:45 PM
Levitt should be playing the position that monty is asking vente to play

02-01-2024, 05:48 PM
He’s clearly not good enough to play in this formation. As United fans told us he’s useless defensively and seriously lacks energy to get about the park.

He's neat and tidy but that's about it from him in this set up. He also ducked out of a couple of what I thought were winnable tackles.Both him and Vente also looked knackered after 60 minutes.

02-01-2024, 05:58 PM
He's neat and tidy but that's about it from him in this set up. He also ducked out of a couple of what I thought were winnable tackles.Both him and Vente also looked knackered after 60 minutes.

The duck was incredible. Couldn’t believe it.

Don’t even think it’s the set up that’s the issue. He’s shown absolutely nothing that makes me think he’d work in a three. Just a poor signing so far.

Davy Mac
02-01-2024, 06:03 PM
Went off subbed with a whimper.

Levitt and Newell doesnt work for me with this system.

02-01-2024, 06:18 PM
Doubt very much if playing him further forward would improve things. A tidy player who brings very little influence on a game. Doesn't seem to have much desire at all.

02-01-2024, 06:20 PM
Levitt is JDH without the injuries, tidy but nothing special.

Hibees1973
02-01-2024, 06:32 PM
Yet another player who, when he puts on a Hibs jersey cannot perform.

90% of this squad have either become worse players with us or haven't reach the expectations of our recruitment team.

How much money has been wasted on the tripe I watched in the second half today.

02-01-2024, 06:40 PM
Yet another player who, when he puts on a Hibs jersey cannot perform.

90% of this squad have either become worse players with us or haven't reach the expectations of our recruitment team.

How much money has been wasted on the tripe I watched in the second half today.

Is it lack of competition for places, too many are undroppable due to lack of depth in the squad

02-01-2024, 06:46 PM
Levitt is JDH without the injuries, tidy but nothing special.

I'd honestly rather have JDH at this point - at least he's a decent tackler.

02-01-2024, 06:47 PM
I'd honestly rather have JDH at this point - at least he's a decent tackler.

Same, think JDH and Newell could work as a two

02-01-2024, 06:50 PM

I don’t think it would “work” but it would work much better than Newell and Levitt.

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 06:50 PM

Agree.

Newell is possibly the one I feel most sorry for. Absolutely hung out to dry, being outnumbered near enough every week in the centre, and on top of that, partnered with a guy who can hardly move. He’s got absolutely no chance.

02-01-2024, 06:55 PM

Add in Campbells goals to make it a midfield 3….

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 06:57 PM

JDH should be chased out the club, another loser. We need better than that.

02-01-2024, 06:59 PM
Add in Campbells goals to make it a midfield 3….

So the same midfield that we played under LJ?

I can see why folk are annoyed after the last couple of games but Newell, JDH and Campbell is an atrocious midfield that would see us bottom 6.

We need bodies in all over the pitch, simple as that. Too many of the current squad aren't up to it.

02-01-2024, 07:00 PM
So the same midfield that we played under LJ?

I can see why folk are annoyed after the last couple of games but Newell, JDH and Campbell is an atrocious midfield that would see us bottom 6.

Sorry should have put a smiley at the end. I still wake up in a cold sweat thinking of THAT midfield 3.

Kentao1985
02-01-2024, 07:04 PM
I had penned Dylan as POTY contender when he first signed but he has been anything but.

I thought he would have been the final piece of the jigsaw to complete the 4-2-3-1 formation that I feel suits our current squad.

Vente

Youan - Levitt - Boyle

Newell - jeggo

Playing a similar role to Scotty Allan craving out chances for our attacking players and long range shots from the edge of the box like in his highlight reel. Instead he has been part of a static pedestrian paced midfield that offers a wide array of backwards and sideway passing. If he wants to continue to pull on the green and white he's got to offer much more.

Sent from my moto g22 using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 07:05 PM
Sorry should have put a smiley at the end. I still wake up in a cold sweat thinking of THAT midfield 3.

02-01-2024, 07:11 PM

I give you Brian Kerr, Joe Keenan, Filip Morais. Now that's a midfield three to give you nightmares.

02-01-2024, 07:14 PM
I give you Brian Kerr, Joe Keenan, Filip Morais. Now that's a midfield three to give you nightmares.

What was that old clay animation programme? Celebrity Death Battle? That should be an episode. Newell, JDH & Campbell v Kerr, Keenan & Morais

02-01-2024, 09:53 PM
Biggest desire shown by him today was when he was subbed off

Was happy when we signed him but that has changed, hides when the chips are down.

Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:55 PM
Biggest desire shown by him today was when he was subbed off

Was happy when we signed him but that has changed, hides when the chips are down.
I think we need to be playing him further forward but he can't be fully fit either if he can't play 90 minutes.

02-01-2024, 10:19 PM
Levitt is a quality player. I don’t know why we’re not getting more from him just now.

02-01-2024, 10:22 PM
Levitt is a quality player. I don’t know why we’re not getting more from him just now.

Is it not more a case he can be a quality player on his day. Whenever a player splits opinions with a support, like Dundee Utd fans, and where those opinions are at either extreme, I’d stay clear. We inevitably end up with a player who should be good, can be good, but is generally ineffective.

02-01-2024, 10:24 PM

Verbal rocket up the backside would be a start 👍 very good player with a very poor on field attitude. He needs a Scott Brown type next to him to noise him up out of his laziness.

02-01-2024, 10:31 PM

Because he's being asked to play 10 yards in front of the back line, how can he hurt teams from there?

He's under performing but is being played out of position. I thought he was a 5/10 today and Newell was a 4/10....he needs to do more too.

02-01-2024, 10:36 PM
Because he's being asked to play 10 yards in front of the back line, how can he hurt teams from there?

He's under performing but is being played out of position. I thought he was a 5/10 today and Newell was a 4/10....he needs to do more too.

Both players you mention are good players Brooster but neither have the capacity to grab a game by the scruff of the neck. Often people blame formations, but in live play I’m looking for these types of players to go a bit maverick and show initiative- neither do. They play ‘safe’ football.

02-01-2024, 10:39 PM
There's a player in there with Levitt, but he needs to start showing some proper desire to impact games. He strolls through them, he needs to be demanding the ball, covering far more ground than he does and doing it a hell of a lot quicker. If he had the same desire to impact a game as Newell does, then he'd be one of the first names on the team sheet, but he's far too happy to let games pass him by completely, and we can't afford that at this level.

It's in his hands, he has to work far harder than he's doing and show some determination to be the best player on the park - he has the ability there but you shouldn't be able to keep your shirt at Hibs if you're not prepared to run through walls on a match day, and he never looks like he has that determination.

02-01-2024, 10:47 PM

Hahaha right, that makes more sense 😂😂😂

02-01-2024, 10:49 PM
What was that old clay animation programme? Celebrity Death Battle? That should be an episode. Newell, JDH & Campbell v Kerr, Keenan & Morais

Who was the midfielder that spent all his time with Hibs pointing at other players who to mark? His names eluding me.

02-01-2024, 10:53 PM
Who was the midfielder that spent all his time with Hibs pointing at other players who to mark? His names eluding me.

Ross Chisholm.

02-01-2024, 10:58 PM
Ross Chisholm.

Thank you! Was driving me to drink.

03-01-2024, 03:24 PM
I think we need to be playing him further forward but he can't be fully fit either if he can't play 90 minutes.

The central 2 are doing the work of 3 or 4, our wide men are not fluid enough. :rolleyes:

I'm Spartacus
03-01-2024, 03:42 PM
"He doesn't have the legs"
"He can't play in this set up"
"This formation doesn't suit him"

The above statements get repeated through this thread, and how many posting have the ability to Manage a SPL team? ZERO will be the answer, so how can't he see it?

04-01-2024, 06:29 AM
He was very good first half.

Won the ball back, played the ball a lot quicker and broke the lines with his passing regularly.

A draw takes away a lot positives but the first half was really good, a lot more like what we expected and want

04-01-2024, 08:52 AM
The Dundee United fans at work were complaining that that he was being played too deep laterally and he was far less affective. We seem to To be playing him the same way. To me he should be sitting just behind the front two. Scott Allanesque.

JammyDoidger
04-01-2024, 10:55 AM
The Dundee United fans at work were complaining that that he was being played too deep laterally and he was far less affective. We seem to To be playing him the same way. To me he should be sitting just behind the front two. Scott Allanesque.

I honestly would like to see Monty for once play Jeggo, newell and Levitt. Let Levitt play in the 10 behind Vente. It's not venturing away much from his style tbh so I'm unsure why he's not tried it.

04-01-2024, 11:30 AM

Did he not say in an interview that he prefers the deeper role, maybe in a 3 but not as a 2.

04-01-2024, 11:33 AM
I honestly would like to see Monty for once play Jeggo, newell and Levitt. Let Levitt play in the 10 behind Vente. It's not venturing away much from his style tbh so I'm unsure why he's not tried it.

It feels such an obvious change / tweak.

Not reinventing the wheel, one change in personnel and a bit of shuffling to attempt to get the best out of players who appear to have obvious ability but who aren’t giving us enough right now.

Greenio
04-01-2024, 11:40 AM
When he comes good for a few games, folk will be on here, after slating **** oot him continuously, saying 'aye, well, I was the first to question him, but I'm happy to say he's proved me wrong.' 🤣

Then they'll be all over someone else for a while!

04-01-2024, 02:34 PM
It feels such an obvious change / tweak.

Not reinventing the wheel, one change in personnel and a bit of shuffling to attempt to get the best out of players who appear to have obvious ability but who aren’t giving us enough right now.

Yes. Levitt should do what Vente is doing and let Vente play on the edge of the advantage line also allowing Newell and Jeggo to combine centrally.

VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 03:34 PM
There's a player in there with Levitt, but he needs to start showing some proper desire to impact games. He strolls through them, he needs to be demanding the ball, covering far more ground than he does and doing it a hell of a lot quicker. If he had the same desire to impact a game as Newell does, then he'd be one of the first names on the team sheet, but he's far too happy to let games pass him by completely, and we can't afford that at this level.

It's in his hands, he has to work far harder than he's doing and show some determination to be the best player on the park - he has the ability there but you shouldn't be able to keep your shirt at Hibs if you're not prepared to run through walls on a match day, and he never looks like he has that determination.

I just don't think he has the desire tbh. Nor the physicality. He's 23 now, so probably won't change much in terms of physique. He's maybe a player that had a bit too much too soon at Man Utd, he certainly doesn't look like he enjoys being a footballer, or at least not for us.

I do wonder sometimes, with the money in the modern game and big earnings from quite a young age, how many players are playing because they love football or because they see it as a chance to earn money they would never earn otherwise? If it's the latter then does it just become a job and you're really just waiting until you can retire and relax and do something you actually like doing? There must be a lot of players in the game who have shown talent and then entered that new financial world, with all the parental pressure etc that that would entail (be a breadwinner from a young age, change your whole families lives etc), who find themselves at 22/23 thinking 'Christ, another ten years of this!'

Whatever we think of top level footballers, one thing they don't have is an easy life. The modern game takes a lot from them, it's relentless and most of them miss all the things we enjoyed in our youth. I wouldn't blame some of them for not being in love with the game and just playing for the paycheque.

Paulie Walnuts
04-01-2024, 03:51 PM
When he comes good for a few games, folk will be on here, after slating **** oot him continuously, saying 'aye, well, I was the first to question him, but I'm happy to say he's proved me wrong.' 🤣

Then they'll be all over someone else for a while!

Would you rather they refused to acknowledge it and declared he was still playing crap? :confused:

03-02-2024, 01:25 PM
The Aberdeen midfield v celtic are working so hard to close space & are getting their reward

It's unbelievable to me that we have not loaned Levitt out the club as he doesn't work hard & all the bottom 6 finishes on his cv werent someone elses fault

Last chance saloon dylan

03-02-2024, 01:27 PM
Big game for him today I feel.

03-02-2024, 01:43 PM
Big game for him today I feel.

Massive. He needs to shut us up. It would be a good start to put a decent tackle in early.

VoltaireHibs
03-02-2024, 01:56 PM
Levitt is a good example of the phrase 'Hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard.'

He's got a fight on his hands for his jersey now. All up to him.

03-02-2024, 02:02 PM
One of my bugbears about modern football is that managers and players don’t ever get the opportunity to play their way out of a poor run of form.

If it eventually doesn’t work out for Levitt at Hibs, he can’t say he wasn’t given a fair shot.

With new midfielders coming in and a current career trajectory that doesn’t look great, you’d expect to see him busting a gut today.

Here’s hoping.

03-02-2024, 02:30 PM
First half hour is as bad as hes ever been tbh.

03-02-2024, 03:37 PM
Total crap him and Newell

Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 03:37 PM
Should never wear a Hibs strip again. An absolutely awful player.

03-02-2024, 03:39 PM
Should never wear a Hibs strip again. An absolutely awful player.
That much has been obvious for a while, and yet the manager continues to play him.

03-02-2024, 03:41 PM
One of the few hibs players i actually dislike. I hate his lack of heart.

Sparrows tongue
03-02-2024, 03:45 PM
Absolutely had, and seen, enough of him.

03-02-2024, 03:57 PM
One of the few hibs players i actually dislike. I hate his lack of heart.

You can see why Dundee Utd got relegated last season.

supermcginn
03-02-2024, 03:58 PM
One of the biggest non triers in a Dundee Utd team that were a laughing stock last season, and we then pay a big fee for him. He reminds me of Tom Soares, has ability but an absolute coward.

03-02-2024, 03:58 PM
Not his fault, but like our manager he isn't good enough at this level.

Ardenttwo
03-02-2024, 04:05 PM
Ross Chisholm.

Mallan.

03-02-2024, 04:08 PM
Not good enough … should have realised when he was in a team that went down … looks disinterested

03-02-2024, 04:13 PM
Not good enough … should have realised when he was in a team that went down … looks disinterested

He’s un-, not dis-interested; uninterested means hes not trying, Disinterested would suggest he’s unbiased, as in he doesnt care who wins or loses…

On second thoughts you were right the first time :greengrin

03-02-2024, 04:13 PM
A total *****bag of a player. Hate to think how much we paid for him and how much we are paying him every week.

03-02-2024, 04:35 PM
Horrific display today, not surprised in the least he was HOOKED at half-time. He had two parts to his game - play it forward to a St Mirren player or pass it back to a Hibs defender. Either way he failed in his job - complete coward of a player.

The blame for Levitt is not Levitt. It's the incompetents who thought he was good enough for Hibs, and Montgomery for continuing to play him.

03-02-2024, 04:36 PM
Seen better players at junior level.

03-02-2024, 04:50 PM
Amazed he got a start today, I mean seriously 😮 💩

Steve88
03-02-2024, 06:07 PM
No Hibs player has annoyed me in years like this since James Scott.

He adds zero value

Chooses easy 6 yard passes

Does not press with strength/aggression

Does not tackle

Does not reposition to find space to receive the ball (always "mysteriously" found standing next to an opposition player)

Mikey_1875
03-02-2024, 06:10 PM
Effort and character called into question today which should never be the case. A whole host of awful passes and a pathetic attempt for his booking. I’d happily never see him in a hibs shirt again.

03-02-2024, 06:17 PM
I hesitate to use the “silver bullet” phrase after that rancid tweet last week but I do think we will look significantly better the second he doesn’t start games.

Absolutely a million miles from being an SPFL standard footballer, miles and miles off it.

So many of our problems result from that.

I’m aware that Forfar was still poor with him not in the side, but I just don’t think you can carry a player like that in your engine room without all your other outfield players feeling like they’re starting from a couple of goals down.

03-02-2024, 06:20 PM
Goes through the motions

You watch him closely

He runs behind opposition players so the pass isn’t on

Not for me, one performance against Luzern doesn’t cut it

1875Sean
03-02-2024, 06:21 PM
How much we pay for him again? 300k? Rumour was around 5k-6k a week

03-02-2024, 06:23 PM
Woeful today Drop him for next game

03-02-2024, 06:23 PM
His 45 minutes consisted of 4 yard passes back to the player he received it from or back to a defender or to a St Mirren player. None of us could honestly believe he was in the starting XI today. Bullied off the ball, 2nd to every challenge, cowardly effort…..GTF. How bad must the Wales team be for this impostor to get caps.

03-02-2024, 06:46 PM
That was a cowardly performance today and that's a horrible thing to say about any player.

03-02-2024, 06:55 PM
I actually thought he was having a good game today albeit in a team that was being overrun . If we released him tomorrow , probably every non OF team in our league would consider trying to sign him . Not saying he`s been great for us , far from it , but wonder if we`re getting the best out of him . A bit like when Ryan Gauld played for us - he was obviously very talented but he never really made much of an impression .

LunasBoots
03-02-2024, 06:57 PM
Seems undroppable, hes been poor since hes been here apart from a bit of praise in a European game, like Dundee United fans said he gives the ball away alot and seems to hide in matches.

03-02-2024, 07:02 PM
I actually thought he was having a good game today albeit in a team that was being overrun . If we released him tomorrow , probably every non OF team in our league would consider trying to sign him . Not saying he`s been great for us , far from it , but wonder if we`re getting the best out of him . A bit like when Ryan Gauld played for us - he was obviously very talented but he never really made much of an impression .

You can't possibly say he was having a good game, come on. I know we all see it differently but his attitude is appalling. Brushed aside continually, lazy, poor passing. As Bill Shankly famously said about an un-named player, he's got the heart of a caraway seed.

Never gives you the impression he’s happy to be at Hibs.

Half hearted and half interested. There’s definitely a talent in there but it never looks like he’s ever given us his all in a game. Just does the bare minimum, picks up a nice wage packet and keeps his place in the side.

I bet if he was dropped he wouldn’t be that bothered either way.

Absolutely has to be dropped for hopefully Amos

You’d be better playing with ten men than starting with him. A man down is probably better than a tippy tappy *****bag

03-02-2024, 07:03 PM
He reminds me of Liam Craig in the season we were relegated. Games are just passing him by and he seems resigned to the negative outcome.

That was the last time I really disliked a Hibs player (and I let the former know about it in Dingwall in an uncharacteristic match day outburst). Levitt is fast approaching the same level, a total nonentity.

Stanton Spence
03-02-2024, 07:09 PM
He just looks like he would rather be anywhere else apart from on the pitch.

03-02-2024, 07:12 PM
Thankfully that 45mins, which is up there with one of the most pathetic performances I’ve even seen at ER, will relegate him to the bench for the remainder of the season. That’s IF Monty cares about retaining the job that’s shifted his family from the other side of the world for. Not sure I’d even have him on the bench.

Hillsidehibby
03-02-2024, 07:17 PM
A poor Jake Doyle Hayes

03-02-2024, 07:20 PM
I can’t stand him. He’s everything that is wrong with this team.

Along with Youan, I’d drop him from the squad completely on Wednesday, I thought the way they applied themselves (or didn’t) was that bad today. Problem is, they’d probably be quite happy with that.

03-02-2024, 07:42 PM
Before the game I said something along the lines of "he'll have a good game today with Marcondes in front of him". Well goodness me I was wrong.

I've lost patience with him now, I've yet to see him stamp his authority on a game, he just looks weak, lacks ability and desire. Don't get me started on his lack of athleticism, disgraceful for a professional footballer.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

03-02-2024, 08:31 PM
That was an awful performance today. I must admit I was not for giving him much slack after recent performances and maybe quick to jump on him, but his first 5/6 contributions in the match he gave away the ball each time.

Not a guy that is going to get the game by the scruff of the next and drive us on when it gets tough. From what I've seen he's not a ball winner. He's not the Scott Allan type to split a defence. He's not athletic enough getting up and down the park. Sitting in-front of the back four rarely showing forward and laying it back isn't progressing the play for us.

So the question is what is he offering us???

03-02-2024, 08:39 PM
We all seemed delighted to capture Levitt but we probably remember his loan season at United and forgetting the fairly poor season they got relegated, well he seems to be trying to do 2 relegations in a row, his displays this season have been nothing short of disgraceful.

Bushwoof
03-02-2024, 10:10 PM
I know the window is closed, but can we not offload him to the Octonauts or the Wombles or something?

TrinityHFC
03-02-2024, 10:15 PM
We don’t really give our central midfield players the best chance to perform with the way that we set up with them outnumbered most of the time.

All our decent players are being spoken about this way now and I don’t think that reflects well on the coaching staff. Yes the players can do better but they have to be helped to perform.

AL-Qaholik
03-02-2024, 10:20 PM
A coward that constantly hides from the ball.
Quickly becoming a relegation specialist.

Bushwoof
03-02-2024, 10:21 PM
We don’t really give our central midfield players the best chance to perform with the way that we set up with them outnumbered most of the time.

All our decent players are being spoken about this way now and I don’t think that reflects well on the coaching staff. Yes the players can do better but they have to be helped to perform.
Not sure that's true. Joe tried his best. Levitt almost knocked Josh Vela off the bottom of the charts today. He really stood out amongst the rest of the underachievers.

03-02-2024, 10:59 PM
Should never wear a Hibs strip again. An absolutely awful player.that man was attroacious today! .never seen such a lacklustre performance in the first half, for many years.

03-02-2024, 11:33 PM
No Hibs player has annoyed me in years like this since James Scott.

He adds zero value

Chooses easy 6 yard passes

Does not press with strength/aggression

Does not tackle

Does not reposition to find space to receive the ball (always "mysteriously" found standing next to an opposition player)you are spot on, with 90% of comments. The 10% , well I don't think he actually completed a 6 yard pass at any time.

03-02-2024, 11:39 PM
you are spot on, with 90% of comments. The 10% , well I don't think he actually completed a 6 yard pass at any time.

He made two good forward passes today, one of them was over hit mind you but the vision was there.

He's just far too weak and far too slow to ever make an impact here.

Greensunshine
04-02-2024, 02:28 AM
Very very disappointed in this lad. I had high hopes for him but I’m afraid we need to move him on.

CallumHibs07
04-02-2024, 06:01 AM
Its on the manager. 7 new signings and he's still starting players like Levitt and Jair who clearly aren't good enough

04-02-2024, 06:56 AM
He’s absolutely terrible.

Can’t pass.
Can’t take the ball and turn/drive/dribble with it.
Can’t tackle.
Can’t impose himself.
Can’t win headers.
Slow.

He’s a complete waste of a jersey and has been all season. It’s a shame, as I too was very hyped when he joined. I’m still holding out hope that he’s just playing in a system he can’t play in, but I’m not sure I’ve seen anything from him to think he’d be effective in any other.

04-02-2024, 07:24 AM
I can’t stand him. He’s everything that is wrong with this team.

Along with Youan, I’d drop him from the squad completely on Wednesday, I thought the way they applied themselves (or didn’t) was that bad today. Problem is, they’d probably be quite happy with that.

Your last sentence is just something you’ve made up for yourself though BH isn’t it? Same would get said about almost any of our player just now because we’re playing ***** and times are bad.

Not meant we a personal swipe at you.

04-02-2024, 07:27 AM
Your last sentence is just something you’ve made up for yourself though BH isn’t it? Same would get said about almost any of our player just now because we’re playing ***** and times are bad.

Not meant we a personal swipe at you.

It was a bit tongue in cheek. But looking at the total lack of interest shown yesterday do you really think they’d be that bothered? There were things yesterday that went beyond poor performance with some of them.

04-02-2024, 07:37 AM
Can’t think there have been many more Hibs signings that have so over promised and under delivered. Signed with a bit of a fanfare, decent amount of money spent, international caps, exactly what we need in midfield etc etc. Honestly could not believe he was starting yesterday after his recent performances, even if we’d got 55/60 mins from one of the new centre mids signed it would’ve been a better option than having to witness that pathetic attempt. There have been few players that have made me so angry, probably due to my delusional high expectations when we arrived, but I never want to see him start for Hibs again, ship him out in the summer please!……..there, glad I got that off my chest😂

LewysGot2
04-02-2024, 07:39 AM
JDH would walk back in.

04-02-2024, 07:44 AM
Players like Jeggo and Campbell, and maybe to a lesser degree JDH, have less natural ability than Levitt but are all better value to a team. They never leave anything out there. With Levitt you can see there is a player there, but Levitt t never feels like he’s given us his all.

Josh Campbell in particular is one who is badly missed from the squad right now. Someone you know who’s going to get wired n.

ChuckNor
04-02-2024, 07:51 AM
Unbelievably bad. I defended this man a few weeks ago on here but I tae it back. Dreadful. A coward. Absolutely not interested in fighting for a win. Newell’s efforts showed so many up today, in particular Levitt and all the loanees (who looked like they’d far rather be sitting at home than out playing football)

04-02-2024, 07:58 AM
Moriah Welsh was a vast improvement when he replaced him.

04-02-2024, 08:11 AM
JDH would walk back in.

If only he could walk.

04-02-2024, 08:34 AM
If he plays against Celtic then someone is at it at ER, dreadful footballer

04-02-2024, 08:39 AM
I had high hopes for levit

And he has shown glimpses of the quality he possesses - which is really the ability to break lines with passes

Obviously trying these passes results in a high percentage of failure but I've been really surprised at how overall poor he has been

The most annoying part for me is his body language - he looks unhappy, unbothered and pretty much meek

It's borderline strange

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

ChuckNor
04-02-2024, 08:40 AM
Moriah Welsh was a vast improvement when he replaced him.

Sadly, he wasn’t at all. Really poor as well.

04-02-2024, 08:43 AM
JDH would walk back in.

He’d pick up a knock on that walk and be out for 2 weeks (indefinitely).

Greensunshine
04-02-2024, 08:55 AM
Josh Campbell in particular is one who is badly missed from the squad right now. Someone you know who’s going to get wired n.[/QUOTE]

He’s a good player for us. Unfortunately we don’t have the balance right in the players around him. We’ve got too many like for like but not enough real quality

04-02-2024, 08:56 AM
Sadly, he wasn’t at all. Really poor as well.

He absolutely was better than Levitt. Not at all hard mind you.

Was really looking forward to the game yesterday until I saw Levitt and Newell starting again. Newell looked slightly better when Levitt went off as well.

04-02-2024, 09:00 AM
He absolutely was better than Levitt. Not at all hard mind you.

Was really looking forward to the game yesterday until I saw Levitt and Newell starting again. Newell looked slightly better when Levitt went off as well.

There were times in the first half yesterday, on the rare occasion we were in St Mirrens half and in an attacking position, where Newell/Levitt were just about falling over each other when in possession. They are horrific together.

04-02-2024, 09:02 AM
Ive been watching the Beckham documentary on Netflix, which got me thinking of…Levitt. Its like he was created in a lab to be the polar opposite of Roy Keane.

04-02-2024, 09:10 AM
I think the fact he was a product of Man U is clouding a lot judgement here. We assume he he's going to be top notch because of this and had a decent loan spell at Dundee U. The truth is he's bang average and a bottom 6 league player, if he wasn't here, he'd be in League 1 or 2 in England.

04-02-2024, 09:21 AM
There were times in the first half yesterday, on the rare occasion we were in St Mirrens half and in an attacking position, where Newell/Levitt were just about falling over each other when in possession. They are horrific together.

The both of them always seem too close together they pass it to each other and their partner is immediately under pressure because of this.

04-02-2024, 09:48 AM
There was one part I noticed yesterday first half.

Fish had the ball. Both him and Newell both ran towards fish demanding the ball.

It just screams to me nobody know what the hell we are meant to do

It was sold to me anyway that this type of football we should know who will be where, one pass in knock it round the corner

We look like a bunch of amateurs who don’t have a scooby what to do, where to be.

St Mirren should have been 5-0 up at half time. Scary bad.

It’s only heading one way.

I’d rather they just done it now before it goes really toxic, you felt it yesterday.

04-02-2024, 09:57 AM
The team sheet yesterday was wild

Levitt - worst performing player this season, starts. Is he undroppable?

Whittaker - needs to develop & learn the game for a year or two. It's not doing him favours to pitch him against Kiltie & Tanser, who create most of St Mirren goals

Tavares- this is a tactics comment not a personal one as I quite like Jair. But IF you must play Whittaker, against Kiltie & Tanser (their main threats) then you NEED to give him protection with a hard working defensive minded (experienced) midfielder beside him. The COMBINATION of Tavares & Whittaker vs Tanser & Kiltie had a few of us saying, pre kick off, we might need to score 4 to get a point here

And It's compounded by Levitt offering no orotection from the middle - it was a recipe for goals (for the opponent)

If we can see it, how can't the manager

Bushwoof
06-02-2024, 02:44 PM
Thought I'd bump this back up so we can all have another go at him - just in case Monty's looking in and thinking of starting him against Celtc.

Paul1642
06-02-2024, 02:46 PM
Thought I'd bump this back up so we can all have another go at him - just in case Monty's looking in and thinking of starting him against Celtc.

I’ve not written him off completely yet but a spell out of the first 11 is now essential for both results and for his own good.

06-02-2024, 03:59 PM

😂😂😂

hibeerealist
06-02-2024, 05:20 PM
The team sheet yesterday was wild

Levitt - worst performing player this season, starts. Is he undroppable?

Whittaker - needs to develop & learn the game for a year or two. It's not doing him favours to pitch him against Kiltie & Tanser, who create most of St Mirren goals

Tavares- this is a tactics comment not a personal one as I quite like Jair. But IF you must play Whittaker, against Kiltie & Tanser (their main threats) then you NEED to give him protection with a hard working defensive minded (experienced) midfielder beside him. The COMBINATION of Tavares & Whittaker vs Tanser & Kiltie had a few of us saying, pre kick off, we might need to score 4 to get a point here

And It's compounded by Levitt offering no orotection from the middle - it was a recipe for goals (for the opponent)

If we can see it, how can't the manager

I know we all have opinions and are likely told by other fans that the manager is paid to do this and has qualifications that we don't.

But, the line in bold is so relevant! Can't he see it (we are in real trouble) or yes he sees it but chooses to stick with it as he knows best and has a plan (we are in more trouble than I thought)!!!!

07-02-2024, 10:17 PM
Nothing went for him tonight, with the exception of that finish. It was brilliant.

Well done Dylan, really hope he can kick on from here.

07-02-2024, 10:20 PM
Nothing went for him tonight, with the exception of that finish. It was brilliant.

Well done Dylan, really hope he can kick on from here.

A great finish but a truly awful performance.

07-02-2024, 10:21 PM

Even a blind squirrel finds a nut every now and again :agree:

VoltaireHibs
07-02-2024, 10:24 PM
He needs a spell on the bench, and I think that's where he's headed. Bring him back if he bulks up and shows more desire and composure.

Ditto Youan, minus the bulking up. He cost us that penalty. That was his ball at the second penalty and he was so lazy going for it the shat out of then challenge.

07-02-2024, 10:28 PM
Thankfully with the players we’ve signed he’ll take a spot on the bench when all fit. Great goal and I was pleased for him as he’s taking a lot of stick but his performance overall was poor again and rightly subbed off.

07-02-2024, 10:32 PM
I actually thought he had a very good game.

Yes, there were a few stray passes but you could see the intent and was unfortunate a couple were just intercepted and slightly astray.

A lot of good simple possession passing, not afraid to take the pass and move it quickly in tight areas. Playing a bit further up the park he looked a lot more productive and the well taken goal evidence of that.

GreenPJ
08-02-2024, 09:10 AM
I actually thought he had a very good game.

Yes, there were a few stray passes but you could see the intent and was unfortunate a couple were just intercepted and slightly astray.

A lot of good simple possession passing, not afraid to take the pass and move it quickly in tight areas. Playing a bit further up the park he looked a lot more productive and the well taken goal evidence of that.

It was Levitt and Moriah-Welsh pressing in the second half that made us look like the team we would like us to be all the time and was the backbone of the attacking intent. Levitt clearly has lots of technical ability, he needs to re-calibrate his boots in terms of passing, a lot of the time he is inches of it being a good/great pass but the problem is its 8/10 times that its "almost" a good pass.

I really want it to work out for him at Hibs and based on that small showing last night we have the basis of a very decent midfield with Newell, Amos, Moriah-Welsh and Levitt.

Chipper1875
08-02-2024, 09:25 AM
Great goal. Once again a lazy bar steward. Hopefully, as new midfielders get fit , he drops to the bench . It’s then Upto Dylan if he wants to work hard . He’s a young lad and no excuses, he choses not to work . Look at de bruyne or top players down south, work rate is
Incredible

Murphys Touch
08-02-2024, 09:26 AM
IF (and it's a big IF) last night's shape is what Monty is looking for moving forward now the players are back then Levitt (and maybe Newell) will find themselves on the bench for the season run in.

The 3 in midfield gave us protection, options and saved a lot of energy in the central areas which meant we were less exposed off the ball but also in transition.

Moriah-Welsh looked impressive, I think Amos with a few more mins in him will be fantastic and then Marcondes as the attacking press really puts the pressume on Levitt and Newell.

I actually thought Triantis was superb on the ball last night, brave moving into space and a great weight of pass. Could have easily hid after the penalty incident. I wouldn't be adverse to him playing holding midfield (or replacing Fish who is a wee bit ropey just now!)

08-02-2024, 10:02 AM

Wasn’t anywhere near awful more frustrating as he had opportunities to pick passes you would expect him to make. His finish was sensational technique

08-02-2024, 10:13 AM
Stunned at folk saying it was an awful performance. Didn't all come together for him but I thought he did well individually and was part of a tireless team performance. Newell and Moriah-Welsh obviously stand out on the harrying department but Levitt played his part.

Pushing him further up the pitch and having more support around him allows him to show the player he can be.

08-02-2024, 10:19 AM
Stunned at folk saying it was an awful performance. Didn't all come together for him but I thought he did well individually and was part of a tireless team performance. Newell and Moriah-Welsh obviously stand out on the harrying department but Levitt played his part.

Pushing him further up the pitch and having more support around him allows him to show the player he can be.

Agree particularly the final point last night showed he is s real threat around the edge of the box. Get system in place where he is around that area in a game

08-02-2024, 10:20 AM
I think when Marcondes is fit he should still drop out for him but there's scope there for him in that system last night to play in front of two sitters to let him go play and worry about where he can pop up for setting up chances or having a strike at goal.

He is never, ever, in a million years a sitting midfielder and I'm gobsmacked that LJ and NM have tried to make him one.

VoltaireHibs
08-02-2024, 10:27 AM
Agree particularly the final point last night showed he is s real threat around the edge of the box. Get system in place where he is around that area in a game

Haha, you want to build a team around Levitt? Jeezo, the lad has a pass on him but that's about it. Lightweight, workshy and unreliable.

08-02-2024, 10:33 AM
IF (and it's a big IF) last night's shape is what Monty is looking for moving forward now the players are back then Levitt (and maybe Newell) will find themselves on the bench for the season run in.

The 3 in midfield gave us protection, options and saved a lot of energy in the central areas which meant we were less exposed off the ball but also in transition.

Moriah-Welsh looked impressive, I think Amos with a few more mins in him will be fantastic and then Marcondes as the attacking press really puts the pressume on Levitt and Newell.

I actually thought Triantis was superb on the ball last night, brave moving into space and a great weight of pass. Could have easily hid after the penalty incident. I wouldn't be adverse to him playing holding midfield (or replacing Fish who is a wee bit ropey just now!)
You're for dropping Newell after last night?
I watched Levitt instead of the ball for a couple of spells. He did press more than I have previously seen which was an improvement but overall his work-rate still falls short of what we should expect. He jogs about like a grandad with dodgy knees. I just don't think he's a team player. Small point but look at his reaction to his (fantastic) goal. Mostly looking down and "internalising", eventually smiling with his team-mates who went to him. I think he knows full well he's not good enough for the level we aspire to and he'd be happier back in the Championship.

08-02-2024, 10:50 AM
Glad he was playing a bit more advanced. United fans at work were all raging when they played him deeper as we have done. Brilliant goal.

Murphys Touch
08-02-2024, 11:12 AM
You're for dropping Newell after last night?
I watched Levitt instead of the ball for a couple of spells. He did press more than I have previously seen which was an improvement but overall his work-rate still falls short of what we should expect. He jogs about like a grandad with dodgy knees. I just don't think he's a team player. Small point but look at his reaction to his (fantastic) goal. Mostly looking down and "internalising", eventually smiling with his team-mates who went to him. I think he knows full well he's not good enough for the level we aspire to and he'd be happier back in the Championship.

I'm not dropping Newell after last nights performance but maybe the 6 before it.....especially if the guys coming in are more impactful. I also tend to think he has been part of a dire Hibs squad for a number of years and that "energy" impacts his performances.

He was outstanding last night, no getting away from that. In a midfield 3 where he is less exposed, conserves energy and has options on the ball. BUT with MW, Amos and Marcondes getting up to speed then his position is/will be getting looked at. He (and we) can't afford 1 good game in 7 or 8 now

allmodcons
08-02-2024, 11:42 AM
I have to say I thought Levitt was really poor again last night.

Scored an absolute peach of a goal that shows he is clearly capable but prior to that was awful.

Lacks any pace, always wants far too much time on the ball and has an incredibly annoying habit of clipping passes like he's playing in a friendly or a seven a side match.

I counted at least five occasions last night where he passed the ball straight to an opposition player by way of a poorly executed or, as is common with him, badly under hit pass.

Overall, he doesn't offer enough for me. Nice on the eye with a good touch but rarely makes a tackle and rarely (last night's goal aside) has an impact on the game.

08-02-2024, 11:43 AM
I'm not dropping Newell after last nights performance but maybe the 6 before it.....especially if the guys coming in are more impactful. I also tend to think he has been part of a dire Hibs squad for a number of years and that "energy" impacts his performances.

He was outstanding last night, no getting away from that. In a midfield 3 where he is less exposed, conserves energy and has options on the ball. BUT with MW, Amos and Marcondes getting up to speed then his position is/will be getting looked at. He (and we) can't afford 1 good game in 7 or 8 now

Granted, Newell’s showing last night was a considerable step up but as I have been saying for yonks he’s been lumbered with a huge weight on his shoulders given the way we have set up and seriously let down and drawn down by the poor work rate of players around him. If it becomes 3 from 4 of him, MW, Amos, Marcondes, then Newell is undoubtedly currently the first name on the midfield team sheet.

Chipper1875
08-02-2024, 12:03 PM

Apart from a brilliant strike for the goal. I’ve seen Benny Brazil score a lovely stike as part of his hatttick.

Levitt offered no threat around the box

ruthven_raiders
08-02-2024, 12:06 PM
Glad he was playing a bit more advanced. United fans at work were all raging when they played him deeper as we have done. Brilliant goal.

Yeh always thought he was dangerous just outside box, also scored a great goal against the jambos, dribbling thru for DU, but he needs to work on his physicality and do more gym work and just apply himself more.....

08-02-2024, 12:10 PM
Apart from a brilliant strike for the goal. I’ve seen Benny Brazil score a lovely stike as part of his hatttick.

Levitt offered no threat around the box

Apart from the goal he offered no threat :greengrin

He was more advanced and should have done better with one he intercepted first half near the box. Also two or three passes he should have made and won possession a couple of times allowing others to break forward.

He's here!
08-02-2024, 12:10 PM
Yeh always thought he was dangerous just outside box, also scored a great goal against the jambos, dribbling thru for DU, but he needs to work on his physicality and do more gym work and just apply himself more.....

His goal actually reminded me of Scott Allan's in the 'natural order' game, the way it was hit so cleanly.

Thought he actually played OK overall but I'd rather have Scott Allan in his prime back in our midfield.

08-02-2024, 12:12 PM
Haha, you want to build a team around Levitt? Jeezo, the lad has a pass on him but that's about it. Lightweight, workshy and unreliable.

Did I say that? He did well enough last night including an exceptional goal. Up to the coach to get the best out of his players including Levitt

08-02-2024, 12:12 PM
His goal actually reminded me of Scott Allan's in the 'natural order' game, the way it was hit so cleanly.

Thought he actually played OK overall but I'd rather have Scott Allan in his prime back in our midfield.

So would we all :greengrin

08-02-2024, 12:15 PM
He had a pass completion % of 52% last night.

His goal was not the result of him playing more advanced, he's been taking up those positions at set pieces all season. He was still desperately poor IMO and would benefit from a spell out.

08-02-2024, 01:25 PM
Was pretty childish a good chunk of the support not even clapping Levitt when he was subbed after that goal.

Pride more important I guess.

08-02-2024, 01:47 PM
Was pretty childish a good chunk of the support not even clapping Levitt when he was subbed after that goal.

Pride more important I guess.

Can’t say I noticed that.

Most people around us in the east stand stood up and clapped him off.

08-02-2024, 01:49 PM
I would have had him off before he scored, he was the poorest put of the 3 midfielders last night, despite the goal, his passing was terrible at times, he isn't very quick either which let's him down, his place in the starting 11 should definitely be under threat

08-02-2024, 01:50 PM
There’s no denying he scored a lovely goal but his all round general play was so poor last night. His passing was awful.

VoltaireHibs
08-02-2024, 03:08 PM
Did I say that? He did well enough last night including an exceptional goal. Up to the coach to get the best out of his players including Levitt

You said - . Get system in place where he is around that area in a game.

So we play a system to suit Dylan Levitt?

I think it's a moot point anyway, unless he bulks up and shows more desire for the dirty side of the game his days are numbered.

08-02-2024, 04:02 PM
He’s low on confidence but hopefully the goal will give him a boost - you saw by his reaction to scoring it meant a lot personally, I think he knows he’s playing within himself. He’s rushing his passing too much, however he was getting balls to him after we’d played from the back and allowed Celtic to press up - he just needs to compose himself more. It’ll help having tenacious players (and technical players) like Moriah-Welsh and Amos next to him too. MW will quickly become a fans favourite I think, just with the way he applies himself all over the pitch.

Tarrahib
08-02-2024, 04:19 PM
Poor first halfI thought just before and after his goal last night that Levitt came on to a good game. Thought it was a strange time for him to be subbed when he seemed to getting himself involved. Maybe that wa all that was in the tank.

ChuckNor
10-02-2024, 03:48 PM
Sounds like Levitt came on and controlled proceedings. Great to hear. Hope that goal aganst Celtic kick starts his career

10-02-2024, 04:01 PM
Sounds like Levitt came on and controlled proceedings. Great to hear. Hope that goal aganst Celtic kick starts his career

One of the few praises they slung our way was him coming on and changing the game a bit for us. Think for sure he could be a good player for us finally with support around him in the midfield.

HendoDelivered
10-02-2024, 04:02 PM

Firmly believe he is a much better playing than what he’s been showing of late. Much better with some confidence in him and an extra man in midfield!

10-02-2024, 05:13 PM
Got plenty praise today for his efforts, long may it continue.

10-02-2024, 05:24 PM

When he has time and space he's a good player. Nice range of passing and as we saw earlier this week, a decent shot on him.

I'm not entirely convinced he's the guy you want in the middle of park when the going gets tough and we need to dig out a result or protect a lead. He is really poor defensively imo.

10-02-2024, 05:41 PM
Like Dylan quality player

10-02-2024, 05:45 PM

Seconded. He’ll be a star for us.

10-02-2024, 05:46 PM
When he has time and space he's a good player. Nice range of passing and as we saw earlier this week, a decent shot on him.

I'm not entirely convinced he's the guy you want in the middle of park when the going gets tough and we need to dig out a result or protect a lead.

He is really poor defensively imo.

Marshall went ballistic at Dylan at the death for not doing enough to stop the cross. Mind you he also had a word with Chris Cadden who was posted missing when their player had a free shot for their goal.

10-02-2024, 05:50 PM

Good to hear! Regardless of what I currently think about a players ability I'll always want them to prove me wrong and shine for Hibs. Hopefully a good sign of things to come from Levitt

Saint Hibee
10-02-2024, 06:01 PM
Seconded. He’ll be a star for us.

I hope you’re right, but I just don’t see it.

10-02-2024, 06:06 PM

I'm a massive McGeough fan so at the moment he's miles off him, but he done well today which is a good step.

Dylan for me at his best was absolutely brilliant to watch. If Levitt can get to 70/80% of his level I think he'll be an asset.

10-02-2024, 06:08 PM
I'm a massive McGeough fan so at the moment he's miles off him, but he done well today which is a good step.

Dylan for me at his best was absolutely brilliant to watch. If Levitt can get to 70/80% of his level I think he'll be an asset.

A fit McGeough was silky like. I liked him too. He could take the ball anywhere and look after it.

10-02-2024, 06:09 PM

I think you’ve had a moment here.

10-02-2024, 06:12 PM
A fit McGeough was silky like. I liked him too. He could take the ball anywhere and look after it.

That midfield of him SJM and Allan was sensational.

Musselbound
10-02-2024, 09:25 PM
I thought Levitt looked good earlier in the season but as often happens people have been quick to write him off. Pleased to hear his form might be picking up again. I'm sure the goal the other night will give him a bit of confidence.

10-02-2024, 09:59 PM
Looked good from the highlights and more dangerous getting a bit more advanced at times.

10-02-2024, 10:25 PM
Two assists and a goal in the last fortnight, maybe signs of life.

I thought, goal aside, he was poor on Wednesday but he got us playing when he came on today I thought.

10-02-2024, 10:48 PM
Two assists and a goal in the last fortnight, maybe signs of life.

I thought, goal aside, he was poor on Wednesday but he got us playing when he came on today I thought.

I actually thought he was pretty decent on Wednesday playing in a more advanced position. Few agree with me and even some of my colleagues today thought I must have been watching a different game, but I really do think he’s a gifted player.

Made a good contribution again this afternoon and while we are still maybe trying to work out what our best team is right now I think Levitt could be one Montgomery feels is worthy of a starting berth in that team.

At least now we have some strength in depth in the midfield and have some different options to think about.

11-02-2024, 10:39 AM
I actually thought he was pretty decent on Wednesday playing in a more advanced position. Few agree with me and even some of my colleagues today thought I must have been watching a different game, but I really do think he’s a gifted player.

Made a good contribution again this afternoon and while we are still maybe trying to work out what our best team is right now I think Levitt could be one Montgomery feels is worthy of a starting berth in that team.

At least now we have some strength in depth in the midfield and have some different options to think about.

I like him as clearly he has decent ability. Great goal on Wednesday and looks like a good impact from the bench at Caley and unlucky not to score again denied by a decent save.

11-02-2024, 10:42 AM
I like him as clearly he has decent ability. Great goal on Wednesday and looks like a good impact from the bench at Caley and unlucky not to score again denied by a decent save.

Massively improved our performance away to Forfar and assisted the equaliser against Killie too. There is some big weaknesses in his game but we are a much more effective attacking unit when he is our main playmaker rather than Newell.

11-02-2024, 10:43 AM
The criticism of him has been way over the top. Good player who needs to be played in the correct position.

11-02-2024, 12:41 PM
Great to hear good reports from yesterday :aok: maybe the goal has helped him settle a bit - Hopefully just a confidence thing with him and he can start to show his best.

Chipper1875
11-02-2024, 12:43 PM
The criticism of him has been way over the top. Good player who needs to be played in the correct position.

Criticism has been about his lack of effort. Nothing to do with his position and all about his attitude

VoltaireHibs
11-02-2024, 12:49 PM
Criticism has been about his lack of effort. Nothing to do with his position and all about his attitude

Correct. I've been a harsh critic but I don't doubt the lad has some talent. But physically and in terms of desire he needs to up it big style.

Chipper1875
11-02-2024, 12:51 PM
Correct. I've been a harsh critic but I don't doubt the lad has some talent. But physically and in terms of desire he needs to up it big style.

He goes through the motions when he’s ment to press . Doesn’t go with runners

17-02-2024, 01:40 PM
Big gamble from Monty picking Levitt today

Would 100% be playing Marcondes or ALF before him - He must show something in training

Let's hope Monty gets this one right but it doesn't feel like a great shout

17-02-2024, 01:48 PM

Would 100% be playing Marcondes or ALF before him - He must show something in training

Totally different players. It seems to be working better as a three with the new man M-W in there beside them let's get behind them

17-02-2024, 01:55 PM
Totally different players. It seems to be working better as a three with the new man M-W in there beside them let's get behind them

Agreed. Moriah-Welsh has been a great addition to the midfield. Added energy as well as a bit of steel allowing the other pair to play a bit more football. Hopefully we’ll see an improvement in Levitt’s consistency.

17-02-2024, 02:46 PM

It’s not a gamble at all. He plays him most weeks as he knows his qualities - nothing to do with gambling.

Your over the top constant criticism of him doesn’t change that and I’m surprised you’re persisting with it after the last couple of weeks.

Chip shop Joe
17-02-2024, 02:52 PM
I have to agree. Levitt, as he is almost every week, is miles off it. He is the real weakness in that midfield and really needs to be subbed ASAP. Him and Newell are both so deep playing the same role with Newell doing it much better.

17-02-2024, 02:54 PM
It’s not a gamble at all. He plays him most weeks as he knows his qualities - nothing to do with gambling.

Your over the top constant criticism of him doesn’t change that and I’m surprised you’re persisting with it after the last couple of weeks.

Let's see

I'll tell you what I don't see in Levitt- workrate and Desire

You can tell the world that's ott

He's a bottom 6 midfielder my chum

And what position are we?

17-02-2024, 02:59 PM
Levitt is decent when you give him time, perhaps if we get relegated he'd stand out more. :rolleyes:

17-02-2024, 03:03 PM
Weak link, get him off!!

17-02-2024, 03:04 PM
He has potential good pedigree but needs to show it more

17-02-2024, 03:58 PM

We are sometimes hard on individuals. In Levitt's case, all the criticism is completely justified.

17-02-2024, 04:06 PM
Let's see

I'll tell you what I don't see in Levitt- workrate and Desire

You can tell the world that's ott

He's a bottom 6 midfielder my chum

And what position are we?

I think he's not even that. Championship player for me. He's got no pace and has the heart of a mouse.

17-02-2024, 04:06 PM
We are sometimes hard on individuals. In Levitt's case, all the criticism is completely justified.

Have to agree.

17-02-2024, 04:09 PM
Have to agree.

...and i know you tend to give players the benefit of the doubt.

When even fair minded folk have had enough, I think time has to be up for him. Especially as it looks like we have a quality replacement in the short-term at least.

17-02-2024, 04:09 PM
A nothing player at the moment. Need to get Amos fit. I’d like to see Amos, Moriah-Welsh & Emiliano together.

Kentao1985
17-02-2024, 04:10 PM
Why are our midfielders scared to drive into space, so many times they have yards of space to move into but somehow we kill the game and play 5 yard passes in triangles allowing teams to get back into shape. Absolutely no urgency to take the game to the opposition.

Not just a dig at Levitt they are all culpable.

Sent from my moto g32 using Tapatalk

17-02-2024, 04:12 PM
I posted on the match day thread it was a big day for him. He didn’t deliver.

It’s maybe being harsh but his wishy washy play led to Aberdeen getting the turnover that led to the 2nd goal.

just a very average player with a nice touch and made it through the ranks. Heart of a mouse.

another JDH.

17-02-2024, 04:14 PM
I posted on the match day thread it was a big day for him. He didn’t deliver.

It’s maybe being harsh but his wishy washy play led to Aberdeen getting the turnover that led to the 2nd goal.

just a very average player with a nice touch and made it through the ranks. Heart of a mouse.

another JDH.

I said the same before KO on the St Mirren game thread and he put on a 45 minute horror show and got subbed off.
Montgomery is a patient man to say the least.

17-02-2024, 04:25 PM
Levitt is slow and weak physically on the ball, looks good against teams like ICT but get in his face and he disappears out the game, noy mentally or physically strong enough.

17-02-2024, 04:31 PM
Another day, another game passes him by. Bold move by Monty playing him and Jair at the same time, as if one person not impacting the game wasn't enough.

17-02-2024, 04:32 PM
A complete non entity with the heart of a mouse. I can’t stand him

Thankfully he’ll be bombed out as soon as Amos is deemed match fit

HendoDelivered
17-02-2024, 04:40 PM
Would sell in summer

17-02-2024, 04:40 PM
Levitt says everything about Hibs recruitment over last few years. Whoever thought we should pay good money for that standard of player needs booted out of the club. They are a liability.

17-02-2024, 04:42 PM
Levitt says everything about Hibs recruitment over last few years. Whoever thought we should pay good money for that standard of player needs booted out of the club. They are a liability.

Most of the support were buzzing when he signed though? I include myself in that.

Swop out Levitt for someone like Shinnie and you have a team.

Scotty Leither
Why are our midfielders scared to drive into space, so many times they have yards of space to move into but somehow we kill the game and play 5 yard passes in triangles allowing teams to get back into shape. Absolutely no urgency to take the game to the opposition.

Not just a dig at Levitt they are all culpable.

Sent from my moto g32 using Tapatalk

That’s because it’s risk-free football from Montgomery where nobody appears to be allowed to vacate their position (apart from the centre halves who also seem terrified of attacking the ball) which leads to this sterile crap we’re being force fed.

i reckon we’ll finish a lame eighth which for a club of our resources is lamentable. New investment can’t come quick enough, along with hopefully new people in charge with a new manager at the helm who isn’t another rookie or another one of Kensell’s “projects”.

Swop out Levitt for someone like Shinnie and you have a team.

Amos is the answer. Like the look of him and he's actually our player.

17-02-2024, 04:46 PM
Amos is the answer. Like the look of him and he's actually our player.

Hope so he just needs some more games to get up to match fitness.

17-02-2024, 04:51 PM
Would sell in summer

We won't be selling him as there won't be a buyer, we have to loan him or pay him off

17-02-2024, 04:52 PM
Most of the support were buzzing when he signed though? I include myself in that.

I thought he was a terrific signing, was genuinely thinking he'd be the pick of the bunch.

I am though, an idiot, in my defence.

17-02-2024, 04:56 PM
Dear Hibs.net members
I am writing to request that you cease and desist belittling the courage of mice by comparing them to one of your weaker players. We, as the representative body of all mice in Scotland, have a continual battle on our paws to protect the image and well-being of our members and in particular, demonstrating that mice can be courageous in the face of adversity. It is in their DNA to work hard together to help and protect their fellow mice, even when being chased and harried by sheep.
Thank you in anticipation of your understanding.
Apodemus Sylvaticus
Secretary
Mouse Protection League

17-02-2024, 04:59 PM

I was as well. But i don't pay much attention to opposition players,i'd certainly not noticed him in games, so my confidence was based solely on that youtube highlights video of him that was posted on here and made him look like Pirlo:rolleyes:

17-02-2024, 05:04 PM
Another day, another game passes him by. Bold move by Monty playing him and Jair at the same time, as if one person not impacting the game wasn't enough.

I must admit that my faith in Monty is tested every time he brings Jair on as a substitute when we are chasing the game.