View Full Version : Today's Attendance

02-01-2024, 11:04 AM
There's only a few single tickets left, scattered round the three home stands, so looks like it's going to be a decent crowd.

02-01-2024, 11:14 AM
Will be very surprised if the actual attendance is anywhere near reflective of that.

02-01-2024, 11:25 AM
Fans continuing to give the club tremendous backing despite a few moans on here. Whether folk go or not is kinda irrelevant, the tickets have been sold and the cash is in the bank.

Also a great reminder to the Black Knights that they are about to invest in something special.

02-01-2024, 11:31 AM
Regardless of how many turn up we are selling a very healthy amount of tickets.

Hibs3-2
02-01-2024, 11:38 AM
Seen a load of ST holders saying they cant make it due to them being back at work. Did think it was strange to have games at 3pm on a day thats not a nationwide bank holiday

02-01-2024, 11:43 AM
Seen a load of ST holders saying they cant make it due to them being back at work. Did think it was strange to have games at 3pm on a day thats not a nationwide bank holiday

Definitely something that is going to have to be looked at in the coming years.

The days of the 2nd January being a near guaranteed day off for a lot of people in Scotland are sadly all but over.

02-01-2024, 11:46 AM
Will be very surprised if the actual attendance is anywhere near reflective of that.
Yip, football now a days seems to be more of tickets sold rather than bums on seats.

Cat Stanton
02-01-2024, 11:56 AM

Is it not a nationwide holiday? 2nd January has always been a holiday in Scotland for as long as I can remember and I'm quite old.

02-01-2024, 12:00 PM
Is it not a nationwide holiday? 2nd January has always been a holiday in Scotland for as long as I can remember and I'm quite old.

It's a Scottish Bank Holiday but lots of companies including Scottish Financial Institutions based in Scotland no longer get the 2nd and haven't done for a while, it's all based on English Bank Holidays these days

02-01-2024, 12:00 PM

Maybe a public holiday now that’s added to an employees holiday entitlement for the year to take whenever they choose?

02-01-2024, 12:01 PM

It has been a bank holiday in Scotland since 1974. That was when NYD became a bank holiday in England and Wales. We were given the 2nd, to equalise the number of bank holidays.

02-01-2024, 12:04 PM
It's a Scottish Bank Holiday but lots of companies including Scottish Financial Institutions based in Scotland no longer get the 2nd and haven't done for a while, it's all based on English Bank Holidays these days

You are entitled to today off if you reside in Scotland regardless if your employer is English based or any other country for that matter.

Trinity Hibee
02-01-2024, 12:06 PM
You are entitled to today off if you reside in Scotland regardless if your employer is English based or any other country for that matter.

Bank or public holidays do not have to be given as paid leave.

An employer can choose to include bank holidays as part of a worker’s statutory annual leave.

02-01-2024, 12:07 PM

If I use it as a holiday and there is scope to do so within my department I can aye, not as straight forward as people just being given the day off as a bank holiday or being guaranteed it, could have all been avoided by just making it a night game, I did mention it to the club but got told there was zero chance of the game being moved to a night game

Trinity Hibee
02-01-2024, 12:10 PM
If I use it as a holiday and there is scope to do so within my department I can aye, not as straight forward as people just being given the day off as a bank holiday or being guaranteed it, could have all been avoided by just making it a night game, I did mention it to the club but got told there was zero chance of the game being moved to a night game

Agree they shouldn’t presume folk will be off today but I guess the club could claim moving it to a night game would impact the crowd too. Will likely get more families along this afternoon than if it was tonight.

02-01-2024, 12:12 PM
A number of employers have changed annual holidays and no longer give a day off on 2nd January, a number added a day onto your annual leave. Your statement is not correct.

02-01-2024, 12:19 PM
It has been a bank holiday in Scotland since 1974. That was when NYD became a bank holiday in England and Wales. We were given the 2nd, to equalise the number of bank holidays.

But bank staff are working today?

02-01-2024, 12:19 PM

This is wrong

02-01-2024, 12:21 PM

Not sure that’s correct.

I wondered if it was a 3pm kick off for cheaper policing costs. Or they could’ve played the game yesterday which is an actual holiday.

Cat Stanton
02-01-2024, 12:28 PM
Not sure that’s correct.

I wondered if it was a 3pm kick off for cheaper policing costs. Or they could’ve played the game yesterday which is an actual holiday.

No public transport yesterday. Hardly ideal.

02-01-2024, 12:30 PM
This is wrong

I can only go on what I was advised by HR for my employer when I enquired about this. I have a team who are spread across the UK and the Scotland based employees get today off and not the English based.

It’s a public holiday in Scotland was what they advised me. So I let my Scottish based team members have today off and the English based are working. So not wrong.

02-01-2024, 12:30 PM

True - NYD is tradition though.

What’s the bus service today? Back to normal?

02-01-2024, 12:32 PM
I can only go on what I was advised by HR for my employer when I enquiry about this. I have a team who are spread across the UK and the Scotland based employees get today off and not the English based.

So not wrong.

I had never heard of this before. Don’t think this is well known - I missed the 4-4 game at Tiny as I had to work. Wish I’d known.

02-01-2024, 12:32 PM
Really cannae be ersed going today. Probably feeling like many, low anticipation of any entertainment. It's as much about catching up with my laddie as expecting to enjoy the game.

In the ground, I would expect 10-12,000.

02-01-2024, 12:34 PM

I was on numerous buses yesterday.

02-01-2024, 12:35 PM
I had never heard of this before. Don’t think this is well known - I missed the 4-4 game at Tiny as I had to work. Wish I’d known.

I believe in N Ireland they also get an extra day off on 12th July that isn’t valid in the other countries within the UK. No idea how many years this has been the case but was the same last year is all I can say.

02-01-2024, 12:36 PM
I can only go on what I was advised by HR for my employer when I enquired about this. I have a team who are spread across the UK and the Scotland based employees get today off and not the English based.

It’s a public holiday in Scotland was what they advised me. So I let my Scottish based team members have today off and the English based are working. So not wrong.
I am only one of 3 Scottish based employees that work for a Manchester based firm. I have to take today as annual leave.

02-01-2024, 12:39 PM
I am only one of 3 Scottish based employees that work for a Manchester based firm. I have to take today as annual leave.

If you live in Scotland you should take the public holidays for where you reside. That is certainly my employers holiday policy. You could take this up with HR if you felt strongly enough and they can clarify. That said I used to follow English holidays same as you as it was easier to keep in line with the bigger team.

02-01-2024, 12:46 PM
If you live in Scotland you should take the public holidays for where you reside. That is certainly my employers holiday policy. You could take this up with HR if you felt strongly enough and they can clarify. That said I used to follow English holidays same as you as it was easier to keep in line with the bigger team.

You don't have a statutory right to paid leave on bank and public holidays, though many people get the day off work.

Any right to time off or extra pay for working on a bank holiday depends on the terms of your contract of employment.

02-01-2024, 12:48 PM
You don't have a statutory right to paid leave on bank and public holidays, though many people get the day off work.

Any right to time off or extra pay for working on a bank holiday depends on the terms of your contract of employment.

Good point. Best to check with your HR/people team to understand the company policy. I’m lucky enough to get public holidays.

Employees based in Scotland get 9 days whilst English employees get 8. But not all companies give paid time off for bank hols.

Cat Stanton
02-01-2024, 12:50 PM
I was on numerous buses yesterday.

Well, ok, but there were no trains etc....

02-01-2024, 12:58 PM
That's the last time I post something to raise a bit of cheer on here....

🤣

02-01-2024, 01:00 PM
That's the last time I post something to raise a bit of cheer on here....

🤣

That will teach ya 😉

02-01-2024, 01:03 PM
That will teach ya 😉

I never learn. 😁

02-01-2024, 01:05 PM

That's nonsense. There is always public transport on NYD, Xmas day etc etc

02-01-2024, 01:05 PM
No public transport yesterday. Hardly ideal.Pretty sure I was on a bus yesterday.

02-01-2024, 01:09 PM

That’s your employer, not a blanket rule for the whole country!!

Ardenttwo
02-01-2024, 01:13 PM
Pretty sure I was on a bus yesterday.

No trains from Aberdeen to Inverness Stopped at Inverurie so not much sheepies at Dingwall

02-01-2024, 01:20 PM
That’s your employer, not a blanket rule for the whole country!!

Yes it’s my company policy to allow paid leave for public holidays so I agree that is not a blanket rule for all people in Scotland.

However as their policy does include paid public holidays for all FT employees you are then entitled to take those that apply to where you reside.

I have just had this discussion with HR as it was a hot debate in my team (Scottish employees getting an extra day didn’t go down well with my English colleagues) and HR confirmed as the company policy is to give public hols employees are entitled to those depending on what country they reside in. Similar as to I also pay tax according to where I reside.

02-01-2024, 01:23 PM
Traffic wardens are working.

02-01-2024, 01:24 PM
I believe in N Ireland they also get an extra day off on 12th July that isn’t valid in the other countries within the UK. No idea how many years this has been the case but was the same last year is all I can say.

That's because all those Proddy's need an extra rest after walking the King's Highway for hours.........

02-01-2024, 01:24 PM
Traffic wardens are working.

Yup only free parking in Edinburgh yesterday and Christmas Day / Boxing Day.

02-01-2024, 01:26 PM
Yes it’s my company policy to allow paid leave for public holidays so I agree that is not a blanket rule for all people in Scotland.

However as their policy does include paid public holidays for all FT employees you are then entitled to take those that apply to where you reside.

I have just had this discussion with HR as it was a hot debate in my team and HR confirmed as the company policy is to give public hols employees are entitled to those depending on what country they reside in. Similar as to I also pay tax according to where I reside.
So what the attendance be today
My guess it will be quoted as 17570.

Just to get the thread back on track

02-01-2024, 01:28 PM
No trains from Aberdeen to Inverness Stopped at Inverurie so not much sheepies at Dingwall
Interesting. But irrelevant.

02-01-2024, 01:30 PM

Newry Hibs
02-01-2024, 01:33 PM
That's because all those Proddy's need an extra rest after walking the King's Highway for hours.........

13th July is a sort of unofficial holiday in NI - cunningly called 'day after the 12th'. Plenty of places are half empty or shut.

17th March is a holiday here in NI as well.

02-01-2024, 01:53 PM
Just seen the east stand looking very sparsley populated.

02-01-2024, 01:54 PM
Looking like about 7k at the moment.

02-01-2024, 01:55 PM
Was busier half an hour before the derby than it is 5 minutes before this game.

Very sparse.

02-01-2024, 01:57 PM
Block 7 not here, but there's something on their seats. Can't read it from here though.

HendoDelivered
02-01-2024, 01:58 PM
Was busier half an hour before the derby than it is 5 minutes before this game.

Very sparse.

Had a feeling it would be like this, not surprsing. I’d say its more than just a reflection of the derby loss alone though.

02-01-2024, 02:00 PM
Really good crowd by the looks of things.

02-01-2024, 02:00 PM
Very decent turnout i thought, much better than i expected. Filled up a lot in the last ten mins.

02-01-2024, 02:01 PM
Are the Ultras in the huff

Cardinal G
02-01-2024, 02:03 PM
Block 7 not here, but there's something on their seats. Can't read it from here though.

Says "Freed for Ultras"

Hibees1973
02-01-2024, 02:04 PM
Looking like about 7k at the moment.

Kind of sums up how things have been under the Gordon's.

Any time we build up even the slightest bit of momentum we lose 3 or 4 on the bounce, deflates enthusiasm then apathy sets in.

Hence a crowd like this that turns up today.

02-01-2024, 02:04 PM
Presume Hearts have been billed for all the damaged seats in the South?

02-01-2024, 02:06 PM
Kind of sums up how things have been under the Gordon's.

Any time we build up even the slightest bit of momentum we lose 3 or 4 on the bounce, deflates enthusiasm then apathy sets in.

Hence a crowd like this that turns up today.

Zzzz

The Captain....
02-01-2024, 02:08 PM
East looks pretty sparsely populated

Started not too badly...Two good runs and crosses into the box down the left.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Helensburghhibs
02-01-2024, 02:11 PM
Are block 7 having a green brigade esq protest today?

02-01-2024, 02:20 PM

Bliss without them.

Cardinal G
02-01-2024, 02:22 PM

02-01-2024, 02:23 PM

Lmao. Good

02-01-2024, 02:29 PM

What a crowd of absolute jokers.

02-01-2024, 02:36 PM
I wish now i'd driven up and put a banner on my seat. :tee hee:

Helensburghhibs
02-01-2024, 02:51 PM
Haha so full of their own self importance. Funny to see the ringleaders aren't missing the game though. Cringe as **** as usual

02-01-2024, 02:53 PM
What a crowd of absolute jokers.

Bangers more like

02-01-2024, 02:55 PM

Decent Motherwell support, so I'm gonna guess at 16,850...

...or thereabouts

Helensburghhibs
02-01-2024, 02:58 PM
Just seen someone suggest that it's because they have had the banners/flags removed by the security officer. Looks like they are going to start a wee battle wi the club. Hopefully the club stand strong. I think they forget their group is about 30 strong if they are lucky 😂

02-01-2024, 02:59 PM
The huffys tantrum seems to have subsided

02-01-2024, 03:00 PM
Block 7 are fast becoming a laughing stock.

02-01-2024, 03:01 PM
Says "Freed for Ultras"

:faf::faf::faf:

Looks like a 45 minute protest. :faf:

Cardinal G

Back in there seats now

02-01-2024, 03:03 PM
Back in there seats now

😅

Back in there seats now

They want to be the green brigade so bad. Embarrassing.

Cardinal G

Back in there seats now2755727557

Bridge hibs
02-01-2024, 03:05 PM
Says "Freed for Ultras"

****ing hell I need my eyes fixed, I spent 45 mins wondering what the **** “Feed the Ultras” was all about 🤢

02-01-2024, 03:05 PM
We're they all just sat under the stand for 45 mins?

02-01-2024, 03:06 PM

Have they awarded themselves medals?? :dunno:

Bridge hibs
02-01-2024, 03:07 PM
What are they wearing around their necks, ID badges, medals ?

02-01-2024, 03:08 PM
Says "Freed for Ultras"

Freedom for Ultras.

02-01-2024, 03:08 PM
Ugh. They're back.

02-01-2024, 03:09 PM
Surely not?

w pilton hibby
02-01-2024, 03:09 PM

The banner says Freedom for Ultras but the letters o & m are in a washed out colour.

What freedom are they wanting now?

Bridge hibs
02-01-2024, 03:11 PM
Surely not?

My eyes are done but looks like a few of them are wearing what looks like medals around their necks, maybe they were away to an initiation ceremony for the first 45 😄

02-01-2024, 03:11 PM

I think a wee thin scarf that is tied in a tight knot at the chest is the ultra fashion.

Union Bears, Green Brigade and Georgie Ultras all have them as well.

It's all very original don't you know. Wear the same scarfs, have the same flags, dress in the same colour, sing the same songs.....

Helensburghhibs
02-01-2024, 03:12 PM
Missed a trick. Should have stolen their seats first half 😂

Bridge hibs
02-01-2024, 03:13 PM
I think a wee thin scarf that is tied in a tight knot at the chest is the ultra fashion.

Union Bears, Green Brigade and Georgie Ultras all have them as well.

It's all very original don't you know. Wear the same scarfs, have the same flags, dress in the same colour, sing the same songs.....Right Im convinced, where do I sign up ? 😄

02-01-2024, 03:14 PM
Missed a trick. Should have stolen their seats first half 😂
:faf::top marks

02-01-2024, 03:17 PM
I'm not really getting all the hate for the ultras on here? It's a couple of hundred fans (at most) trying to generate an atmosphere at games so what's the problem?

I know there are issues with away ticketing displays but taking the piss out of fellow Hibs fans is a bit *****.

02-01-2024, 03:18 PM
I'm not really getting all the hate for the ultras on here? It's a couple of hundred fans (at most) trying to generate an atmosphere at games so what's the problem?

I know there are issues with away ticketing displays but taking the piss out of fellow Hibs fans is a bit *****.

I know. God forbid a group trying to create a bit of atmosphere in what is otherwise a library.

02-01-2024, 03:20 PM

Does seem a bit ott now, agreed.

Helensburghhibs
02-01-2024, 03:24 PM
Once they include the wider support in their efforts and stop thinking they are above the reest of us (more like section 43 and since 1875) they will stop getting it tight. More about the atmosphere less about the "ultra" scene

02-01-2024, 03:25 PM

100%

Got fans on here who aren't even at the game taking the pi55 out of folk attending games home and away.

Hibs have bigger issues to worry about - mainly improving the team on the park.

Block 7 aren't perfect - but we would have no fans if we all moaned every week about the idiots near us at the games (which there are plenty).

Creating a fan divide is not what the club needs.

02-01-2024, 03:32 PM
Agree they shouldn’t presume folk will be off today but I guess the club could claim moving it to a night game would impact the crowd too. Will likely get more families along this afternoon than if it was tonight.

Not a direct response but just joining in.

What’s wrong with games on the 1st? With the OF playing on the 2nd.

Also, why can’t we preserve the Edinburgh derby on the 1st as a marker in the fixture list?

02-01-2024, 03:47 PM
Decent Motherwell support, so I'm gonna guess at 16,850...

...or thereabouts

Ha, I got something right today

02-01-2024, 04:13 PM
100%

Got fans on here who aren't even at the game taking the pi55 out of folk attending games home and away.

Block 7 aren't perfect - but we would have no fans if we all moaned every week about the idiots near us at the games (which there are plenty).

The Captain....
02-01-2024, 04:34 PM

I know there are issues with away ticketing displays but taking the piss out of fellow Hibs fans is a bit *****.It's a sign of the current general malaise imo..folk not happy generally.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

02-01-2024, 04:40 PM

They’re not being criticised for trying to make an atmosphere though. And the tone wasn’t like this in their early days.

After multiple group incidents and experiences of posters on here, people have had enough of them.

The whole ‘ultras’ thing isn’t for me whether it be hibs or anyone else but have no issue with others enjoying harmless fun. This season they’ve created a lot more problems than they have atmosphere though.

They’ve made their bed and I don’t really blame folk for having a bit of a dig to be honest.

02-01-2024, 04:49 PM
They’re not being criticised for trying to make an atmosphere though. And the tone wasn’t like this in their early days.

After multiple group incidents and experiences of posters on here, people have had enough of them.

The whole ‘ultras’ thing isn’t for me whether it be hibs or anyone else but have no issue with others enjoying harmless fun. This season they’ve created a lot more problems than they have atmosphere though.

They’ve made their bed and I don’t really blame folk for having a bit of a dig to be honest.

That's where I am with it.

I like the wee ultras groups at the lower league games I attend. The big difference there is that there is often an adult in control to take control if things get a bit OTT. That probably isn't 'proper' ultra but then neither are Block7.

I don't have any issue with people trying to create an atmosphere. I have an issue with an entitled wee fud putting his hands on my bairn at an away game and his equally entitled fud mates backing him up when I pulled him up about it. That's not an isolated incident either.

We've all been young and behaved like ********s so I'm not taking any moral high ground but if I behaved like that as a teenager then I deserved a slagging when I made a tit of myself and they are no different (and let's be honest they give plenty ammunition).

02-01-2024, 04:50 PM

Silky
02-01-2024, 04:52 PM
Back in there seats now

Team played better when they weren't there!

02-01-2024, 04:55 PM
Was busy where I was sitting. Nearly 17,000 v Motherwell is historically a great crowd.

02-01-2024, 04:55 PM
Team played better when they weren't there!

but then the team realised they weren't there and started playing badly

then when the team realised they were back again it spurred them on to securing a point

:)

Trinity Hibee
02-01-2024, 04:57 PM

Also, why can’t we preserve the Edinburgh derby on the 1st as a marker in the fixture list?

I Don’t argue with any of that

andrew_dundee
02-01-2024, 05:13 PM
Not looking to create any beef, but what are the Ultras protesting against in their absence? I'm in West so nowhere near them, but fairplay to them for making noise.

Crazyhorse
02-01-2024, 07:04 PM

They do but hopefully that will dump that as an official holiday after a border poll brings a new United Ireland. It’s not exactly an inclusive holiday…

02-01-2024, 08:06 PM
I don't get the hate either!
Aren't we all Hibs?

davym7062
02-01-2024, 08:50 PM
I don't get the hate either!
Aren't we all Hibs?

yes we are.... sing hibs songs tho instead of whatever it is they sing

CB Hibs 68
02-01-2024, 09:15 PM
Let’s be honest ER is a library without the Ultas Group.Every club has them so what is the issue amongst our support and antipathy towards them.I would give them a standing area behind the goal and let them get on with it like nearly every German club I see when watching the Bundesligia highlights.Football without atmosphere is a lesser spectacle.

Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:20 PM

Rising police costs were given for the 1st January years back, I'd imagine it's still the same

02-01-2024, 09:24 PM
Rising police costs were given for the 1st January years back, I'd imagine it's still the same

The Edinburgh Hogmanay party was also used as a reason / excuse as the Police resources were stretched

02-01-2024, 09:27 PM
Keith it was 16598 so you were only 252 out good guess.

02-01-2024, 09:30 PM

I think it’s one of two public holidays recognised by the police now so you’re already into double the policing cost for the fixture straight away due to double time rates. And as was pointed out the addition of the street party and business as usual policing across the city.

03-01-2024, 10:31 AM

As usual the official attendance was above the actual bums on seats. No way the crowd was near on 17,000 but it was probably around 14,000 which considering the disappointment of the derby was far better than I expected.

It's a shame Hibs couldn't have maintained how we played in the first half hour for 80 or so minutes, fitba like that would have had folk wanting to come back.

03-01-2024, 10:45 AM
As usual the official attendance was above the actual bums on seats. No way the crowd was near on 17,000 but it was probably around 14,000 which considering the disappointment of the derby was far better than I expected.

It's a shame Hibs couldn't have maintained how we played in the first half hour for 80 or so minutes, fitba like that would have had folk wanting to come back.

That's about right. Better than I expected, all things considered.

03-01-2024, 12:18 PM
Let’s be honest ER is a library without the Ultas Group.Every club has them so what is the issue amongst our support and antipathy towards them.I would give them a standing area behind the goal and let them get on with it like nearly every German club I see when watching the Bundesligia highlights.Football without atmosphere is a lesser spectacle.

ER is more of a library with them. They don't do any songs anyone knows to join in with and if they ever come up with anything catchy of their own, there's not enough of them for anyone to make out what the hell they're singing.

When it was the informal thing in S43 it was much better and much more Hibs specific. Now it's just a wee band of the identikit ultras that every club seems to have a handful of.

LewysGot2
03-01-2024, 12:22 PM
ER is more of a library with them. They don't do any songs anyone knows to join in with and if they ever come up with anything catchy of their own, there's not enough of them for anyone to make out what the hell they're singing.

When it was the informal thing in S43 it was much better and much more Hibs specific. Now it's just a wee band of the identikit ultras that every club seems to have a handful of.

Since 1875 and Sect 43 were both incarnations more inclusive of the whole support. :agree:

He's here!
03-01-2024, 01:50 PM

Hibs requested it not be on the 1st so as not to ruin our new year so quickly.

03-01-2024, 03:01 PM
Since 1875 and Sect 43 were both incarnations more inclusive of the whole support. :agree:

Yup.

03-01-2024, 03:06 PM
Thought the attendance looked pretty healthy come kick off considering a recent derby defeat, depleted squad, folk back at work and reduced public transport

CB Hibs 68
03-01-2024, 08:58 PM
100%

Spot on .Without Block 7 or there previousl incarcerations ER atmosphere would be lacking some what .Fact.

Chorley Hibee
03-01-2024, 09:13 PM
Spot on .Without Block 7 or there previousl incarcerations ER atmosphere would be lacking some what .Fact.

I'm not a fan of a lot of Block 7's actions, but I do think there's room for a more inclusive and original Ultras section following Hibs.

The idea that the atmosphere is better without them is pure fantasy though, as Easter Road is, without doubt, one of the grounds most lacking in atmosphere from week to week.

IMHO, the crap team, the design of the stadium and our own support are all responsible for the lack of atmosphere at ER.

03-01-2024, 09:16 PM

I think there has to be a rethink moving forward if any move is to happen.

Lots of talk about the ultra scene actually going too far in Scottish football and causing more hassle than good.

Hibs had a really great group of fans with the displays and chanting few years back which brought more of the stadium into play.

My advice would be for Block 7 to try include more of the stadium or with more simple songs / catchy songs which others can join in - surely that will benefit the team and club?

linlithgowhibbie
03-01-2024, 09:20 PM
I think there has to be a rethink moving forward if any move is to happen.

Lots of talk about the ultra scene actually going too far in Scottish football and causing more hassle than good.

Hibs had a really great group of fans with the displays and chanting few years back which brought more of the stadium into play.

My advice would be for Block 7 to try include more of the stadium or with more simple songs / catchy songs which others can join in - surely that will benefit the team and club?

It would but are B7 not more concerned with their own reputation amongst other Ultras groups than actually getting a full ground singing?

CB Hibs 68
03-01-2024, 10:22 PM
I'm not a fan of a lot of Block 7's actions, but I do think there's room for a more inclusive and original Ultras section following Hibs.

The idea that the atmosphere is better without them is pure fantasy though, as Easter Road is, without doubt, one of the grounds most lacking in atmosphere from week to week.

IMHO, the crap team, the design of the stadium and our own support are all responsible for the lack of atmosphere at ER.
So are you saying Block 7 add to the Library atmosphere or not ? Or is it a simple case that ER and Hibs fans are granting and nowt we can do about it. Sound like Jurge Klopp.

04-01-2024, 06:21 AM
I notice some claiming the attendance declared by Hibs was wrong.

Why would the attendance be misreported when it’s so easily measured?

04-01-2024, 06:25 AM

In the first half on Saturday it looked like they had all been incarcerated. ☺️

04-01-2024, 08:32 AM
I notice some claiming the attendance declared by Hibs was wrong.

Why would the attendance be misreported when it’s so easily measured?

Hibs announce tickets sold, not actual attendance.

I have a ST but wasn't there on Saturday, I'd still be counted in the official attendance even though my seat was empty.

It may have changed now but a few years back I asked a board member at Hibs how many no shows there were on average each week among ST holders. He said it was approx 10-12%. That's well over 1000 seats sitting empty each week that have been paid for so are counted in the official 'attendance' announced.

04-01-2024, 08:37 AM

Looks like a school outing, all in their uniforms :rolleyes:

04-01-2024, 09:29 AM

I have a ST but wasn't there on Saturday, I'd still be counted in the official attendance even though my seat was empty.

It may have changed now but a few years back I asked a board member at Hibs how many no shows there were on average each week among ST holders. He said it was approx 10-12%. That's well over 1000 seats sitting empty each week that have been paid for so are counted in the official 'attendance' announced.

I'm sure Hearts, Celtic and Rangers were using this system years before Hibs so it's not uncommon practice nowadays.

04-01-2024, 09:35 AM
I'm sure Hearts, Celtic and Rangers were using this system years before Hibs so it's not uncommon practice nowadays.

Yep it's pretty much the standard now.

04-01-2024, 11:30 AM

It must be a good bit more than that these days. Some of our 16-17k official attendances surely can't be more than 12-13k? Saturday was a decent crowd but would still be amazed if there was any more than 15k there.

I remember at the end of the Maloney season, audible laughing when the crowd figures were announced.

04-01-2024, 11:32 AM
It must be a good bit more than that these days. Some of our 16-17k official attendances surely can't be more than 12-13k? Saturday was a decent crowd but would still be amazed if there was any more than 15k there.

I remember at the end of the Maloney season, audible laughing when the crowd figures were announced.

This many years ago used to be an in-joke about Hearts when they announced "another sell out" and the stadium was half empty.

05-01-2024, 11:55 AM

About 10 minutes before kick off it seriously looked like the crowd would be under 10,000 .. by about 3:05 it looked more like 14,000 plus which wasn't bad at all given the circumstances, IE quite a few folk back at work and yet another depressing home defeat to the Yams.

Give us the first half hour for 90 minutes and we will pack the place out every time we are at home :greengrin

IMO Hibs have hit a bit of a wall here. The post 2016 feelgood factor is all but gone, but what it has left us with is a hardcore of more like 10 to 11 thousand, compared to the 8 to 9 thousand it was prior to that cup final.

What is clear that if you get it right at this club you can significantly up it's average crowd ... the 18,000 plus we hit a few seasons ago was something I never thought I would see in my lifetime.

The correlation here is that nobody at Hibs can make the excuse that the fans aren't out there .. get it right and we can fill Easter Road .... getting it right once every 50 years has to be improved on for that to happen mind :greengrin