View Full Version : Shooting in Granton
01-01-2024, 10:53 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-67856748?at_link_type=web_link&at_bbc_team=editorial&at_ptr_name=twitter&at_format=link&at_campaign_type=owned&at_link_id=293C2308-A8CC-11EE-AB80-23ACD9B5F045&at_link_origin=BBCScotlandNews&at_medium=social&at_campaign=Social_Flow
All the usual disclaimers about full facts not being known but I wouldn’t bet against this being some sort of feud over supply of drugs.
Prohibition is a disaster of a policy.
02-01-2024, 08:10 AM
I'm not sure why the BBC are electing not to name the victim when other media outlets are?
I'll play it safe and refrain from doing so. I knew his brother many years back when I was at school and met the victims a few times as well. I always liked him, we are going back 20+ years though so I suppose people's lives can go in all sorts of directions in that time.
02-01-2024, 09:58 AM
The videos going about of him goading people to come try it obviously worked.
Maybe he didn’t think they’d actually come?
Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 10:15 AM
Killers still on the loose, think areas of Granton are still shut off as well.
Didn’t know the guy but know of the family and it’s safe to say they were always folk you knew to stay well clear of. Theres a couple of families in that area who are similar.
Sure both the brothers were also quite pally with Derek Riordan.
Regardless of why this all happened, it’s somebodies son/brother etc that has been senselessly killed. Very sad.
02-01-2024, 11:51 AM
I'm not sure why the BBC are electing not to name the victim when other media outlets are?
I'll play it safe and refrain from doing so. I knew his brother many years back when I was at school and met the victims a few times as well. I always liked him, we are going back 20+ years though so I suppose people's lives can go in all sorts of directions in that time.
His brother had the flat above mine for a while, although I don't think I ever saw him there. Apparently he was wanted for something at the time.
When there was a tip-off about him being there, about 20 police descended on the block. He wasn't there, but there was a cupboard full of nasty things, allegedly.
It was then pointed out to the police that he and a rival had been hiding in plain sight....swapping threats and phone numbers on Bebo. :rolleyes:
02-01-2024, 05:41 PM
Police also announce that a 39 year old man fighting for his life after being shot as well in same incident.
Police also saying this was an isolated incident and they don’t expect any repercussions. Really.
02-01-2024, 05:58 PM
Police also announce that a 39 year old man fighting for his life after being shot as well in same incident.
Police also saying this was an isolated incident and they don’t expect any repercussions. Really.
I'm never sure if the Police and press are just totally blind to what has been going on in Edinburgh for the last few years, are just trying to avoid panic in the areas unaffected by the ongoing events or are wilfully ignoring it for a more nefarious reason.
There were 6 machete attacks in less than a week within 10 minutes of my house last year and they barely merited a mention in the EEN. That seems a pretty big story for a local paper but someone who didn't know the area is probably unaware it ever happened. The police comment amounted to 'isolated incidents and no cause for alarm among the wider community'. Aye, apart from the fact one of the attacks happened outside a budget supermarket in broad daylight when bairns were walking home from school. A few bams setting off fireworks and we have wall to wall coverage, increased police presence and politicians of all shades sticking their oars in. It doesn't add up.
02-01-2024, 06:21 PM
And a murder in North Berwick of all places. Just round the corner from my mate. Appears to be a domestic.
02-01-2024, 06:25 PM
I'm never sure if the Police and press are just totally blind to what has been going on in Edinburgh for the last few years, are just trying to avoid panic in the areas unaffected by the ongoing events or are wilfully ignoring it for a more nefarious reason.
There were 6 machete attacks in less than a week within 10 minutes of my house last year and they barely merited a mention in the EEN. That seems a pretty big story for a local paper but someone who didn't know the area is probably unaware it ever happened. The police comment amounted to 'isolated incidents and no cause for alarm among the wider community'. Aye, apart from the fact one of the attacks happened outside a budget supermarket in broad daylight when bairns were walking home from school. A few bams setting off fireworks and we have wall to wall coverage, increased police presence and politicians of all shades sticking their oars in. It doesn't add up.
The police and press seem to be playing these incidents down but the are becoming far more frequent. I think they have lost control now.
02-01-2024, 06:42 PM
Many moons ago, roughly about 30 yrs I was at a New Years party at Sighthill. My best mate brother in law was known for being one of the hardest in the area. I didn't realise I was in a house full of drugs & bampots. I like a game of cards & ended up playing £1 turnovers. I was about £60 down. My mate came over & said how you getting on. I cannae win £u3k all tonight I'm doon £60 ish. Now don't ask me what he done or how he done it but he dealt the cards. I got an Ace he got a King. My mate said to me let's get a drink & give the cards a miss for the rest of the night. Less than an hour later my mate says, I think it's time we leave. Outside he says you were playing cards with the wrong guy there. He stabbed someone in The Silver Wing over a game of cards & got sent to HMP. I'll never forget his name Jim Webley. They were even nutters back then.
Hibs4185
02-01-2024, 07:47 PM
Edinburgh is becoming more like London every day. Guns and violence are only going to increase. The thought of gun violence was unthinkable 15 years ago.
I moved out of Edinburgh 6 years ago and I’m incredibly glad.
02-01-2024, 08:40 PM
Still plenty police in the area earlier today as I couldn't drive that way going to ER
02-01-2024, 10:17 PM
Only London attracts more tourists than Edinburgh in the UK, I think it is played down by press and police for that reason, Edinburgh must rake in a load of money from tourists, you just have to look how gang violence is reported on in Glasgow, wall to wall gang wars, that never gets mentioned about what happens here even though everyone knows it’s happening, isolated incident, the police are taking the pee.
Paul1642
03-01-2024, 07:03 AM
Edinburgh is becoming more like London every day. Guns and violence are only going to increase. The thought of gun violence was unthinkable 15 years ago.
The violence in Edinburgh is pretty much self contained within criminal groups. If you have no connection to that world then you’re not join to be on the wrong end of shooting or machete attack unless there is a horrible mix up.
London on the other hand is an absolute battlefield where anyone can be and frequently do end being up the victim on daily bases. The two are not comparable IMO.
03-01-2024, 02:55 PM
The violence in Edinburgh is pretty much self contained within criminal groups. If you have no connection to that world then you’re not join to be on the wrong end of shooting or machete attack unless there is a horrible mix up.
London on the other hand is an absolute battlefield where anyone can be and frequently do end being up the victim on daily bases. The two are not comparable IMO.
Pretty similar to Liverpool where recent events have shown that anyone can be caught up in the wars between rival gangs.
03-01-2024, 03:26 PM
That'll be Farmfoods then. Right across the road from my sister and her 10 year old boy.
03-01-2024, 06:38 PM
Wow having just watched the videos he posted days before, he certainly goaded someone to come and get him. Whether the person the videos were aimed at is responsible for his demise remains to be seen.
03-01-2024, 07:13 PM
Wow having just watched the videos he posted days before, he certainly goaded someone to come and get him. Whether the person the videos were aimed at is responsible for his demise remains to be seen.
Yeah that was reported in the DR and I found it weird.
As Silver and others have already mentioned, the number of these 'incidents' in and around Edinburgh has gone of the scale recently and it does look like the Police either aren't taking it seriously enough or have completely lost control.
03-01-2024, 07:35 PM
Minutes before I think. He was posting on the night telling them where he was. Mental.
03-01-2024, 08:26 PM
It's been on the go for years
03-01-2024, 08:34 PM
It's been on the go for years
Yeah much longer than 15 years ago.
03-01-2024, 10:53 PM
Pretty similar to Liverpool where recent events have shown that anyone can be caught up in the wars between rival gangs.
Gunshots tonight outside a Liverpool cinema......
https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news/liverpool-news/live-updates-showcase-cinema-locked-28386625
03-01-2024, 11:09 PM
Minutes before I think. He was posting on the night telling them where he was. Mental.
Was posted few days before according to the Evening News. The fact he had a go in one of the videos at a well known Edinburgh crime boss was what sealed his fate. The crime boss was linked to the new guy who was with Webley's ex ( which is what started the whole thing).
03-01-2024, 11:23 PM
Gunshots tonight outside a Liverpool cinema......
https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news/liverpool-news/live-updates-showcase-cinema-locked-28386625
Not a rare occurrence unfortunately, far too many carrying and using firearms with little or no regard as to the consequences. An AK47 was used apparently!
04-01-2024, 07:47 AM
Was posted few days before according to the Evening News. The fact he had a go in one of the videos at a well known Edinburgh crime boss was what sealed his fate. The crime boss was linked to the new guy who was with Webley's ex ( which is what started the whole thing).
Webley was due to stand trial for assaulting her at a kids' football match last year.
Hibs4185
04-01-2024, 10:17 AM
Just out of curiosity who’s the well known Edinburgh crime boss?
04-01-2024, 10:54 AM
Daily Record reporting that there was a £20k bounty on Webley's heed. Also reporting that Police now have cctv footage of the gunman without his balaclava on.
£20k to be banged up for a long time isnt that great a deal really.
Greenworld
04-01-2024, 11:16 AM
Since police scotland was formed its been a hopeless task.
A return to localised police forces is required would be nice to have police stations open 24hrs . Lothian and Borders police did a good job in stopping a lot of this
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
04-01-2024, 11:21 AM
Since police scotland was formed its been a hopeless task.
A return to localised police forces is required would be nice to have police stations open 24hrs . Lothian and Borders police did a good job in stopping a lot of this
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Crime is down since Police Scotland was formed.
Beware of easy solutions, especially ones that hark back to a time and reality that never existed.
Not a defence of Police Scotland.
HNA11
04-01-2024, 12:19 PM
I know a lot of the names involved in this are in the public domain but please avoid using them on here.
This is all a bit close to home and it's not something the admin team have any desire to have to deal with if there is fallout.
2 arrested in connection, 32yr old man and a 25yr old woman, car the police were looking for found in Craigentinny area, from evening news.
Lendo
05-01-2024, 02:10 PM
2 arrested in connection, 32yr old man and a 25yr old woman, car the police were looking for found in Craigentinny area, from evening news.
Heard from someone today, dunno if it’s true, that they used their own car.
No the sharpest if that's true.
05-01-2024, 03:11 PM
No the sharpest if that's true.
I’m pretty confident all involved are not the brains behind their respective organisations.
I took a nurse home from the Western today, down to W Pilton area and she said the same, it'll be some junky paid to do it, not clever enough to at least nick a car but used his own.
05-01-2024, 08:42 PM
There is a voice message doing the rounds on social media giving a detailed account about what happened on the night, from it would seem the guy had wanted a chat but things turned sour and obviously got out of hand, I would think the young lass has been used and wouldn’t surprise me if it’s her car.
And I see the taunting continues on social media, think the police may have to reconsider that this was an isolated incident, even more so if the other guy who was shot may have been an innocent bystander.
09-01-2024, 02:41 AM
third person arrested, 33 year old woman
There is a voice message doing the rounds on social media giving a detailed account about what happened on the night, from it would seem the guy had wanted a chat but things turned sour and obviously got out of hand, I would think the young lass has been used and wouldn’t surprise me if it’s her car.
And I see the taunting continues on social media, think the police may have to reconsider that this was an isolated incident, even more so if the other guy who was shot may have been an innocent bystander.
My lad sent me this message, details all what happened, got to think why he turned up for a chat with a gun though.
09-01-2024, 07:14 AM
My lad sent me this message, details all what happened, got to think why he turned up for a chat with a gun though.
"You Can Get Further With A Kind Word And A Gun Than You Can With Just A Kind Word.". Al Capone.
Can only assume he thought he'd not be the only one with a gun.
So different to the world 99% of us live in.
14-04-2024, 08:40 PM
Incident in Muirhouse Parkway earlier this evening, hit and run, just seen a video think from a doorbell, deliberate attack, car drives over person twice, not saying it’s connected to this thread but just put in here.
15-04-2024, 08:50 AM
Incident in Muirhouse Parkway earlier this evening, hit and run, just seen a video think from a doorbell, deliberate attack, car drives over person twice, not saying it’s connected to this thread but just put in here.
Man has been arrested
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-man-61-arrested-after-28996529
15-04-2024, 11:09 AM
Man has been arrested
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-man-61-arrested-after-28996529
Edinburgh Live in a nutshell:
Edinburgh man, 61, arrested after police hunt following emergency at housing estate
Police Scotland have said that a 63-year-old man was traced and arrested in connection with a crash.
15-04-2024, 12:10 PM
Edinburgh Live in a nutshell:
To be fair to them, they were very quick in breaking the initial news. That helped locals put some perspective on the police activity.
16-04-2024, 02:39 PM
To be fair to them, they were very quick in breaking the initial news. That helped locals put some perspective on the police activity.
Very sad circumstances in this case.
21-03-2025, 02:17 PM
Seems the turf wars are kicking off again, shooting incident, fire bombing and houses being attacked.
21-03-2025, 02:25 PM
Seems the turf wars are kicking off again, shooting incident, fire bombing and houses being attacked.
Firearm discharged in Niddrie the other morning as well. 5 minutes walk from my bairns school but the Police insist they have it all under control and no threat to the wider public so that's my mind at ease:rolleyes:
21-03-2025, 02:28 PM
Firearm discharged in Niddrie the other morning as well. 5 minutes walk from my bairns school but the Police insist they have it all under control and no threat to the wider public so that's my mind at ease:rolleyes:
There is a threat to the wider public if next time, some innocent person happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time or they get the wrong house, etc.
21-03-2025, 03:00 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/bullet-hole-edinburgh-flat-window-31253488?fbclid=IwY2xjawJKUZ5leHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHUMz _NMu1dpxaiBO8-JZSiQlkUztTh5LJBbz_KKx81ACVrrzjd2-dtcmdw_aem_n7jFnQ5IRrRwDIWsyLNuJA&sfnsn=scwspwa
Shot fired in West Pilton.
21-03-2025, 03:23 PM
I wonder if the media speculations for the reasons behind this are true?
21-03-2025, 03:26 PM
I wonder if the budget police Scotland have for dealing with this matches operation branch form?
Bridge hibs
21-03-2025, 03:52 PM
So the beauty salon petrol bombed in Leith the owner was Mark Richardsons ex girlfriend, the warehouse set ablaze in Musselburgh was her Dads and the car garage on Milton road set ablaze, the owner is an old guy so unsure if theres a connection to the others.
21-03-2025, 04:21 PM
There is a threat to the wider public if next time, some innocent person happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time or they get the wrong house, etc.
Exactly.
The police line sounds more hollow every time they say it. They lost any kind of control of the situation about a decade ago.
It was only a couple of years ago we had to walk past a guy bleeding profusely outside the Farmfoods next to the Duddingston Fry after he was attacked with a machete a couple of hours after the same happened to two others up Old Dalkeith Road and a few hours before a guy was nailed to the floor and attacked with a machete in Granton. The former never even made the paper and the Police described the middle one as an 'isolated incident'😅😅
21-03-2025, 08:51 PM
The police are starting to say this a lot after these incidents, the shooting in Niddrie and the statement ended with no threat to the wider public, how can they say that when there has been attacks near enough every night for a week and then a shooting in Pilton, I would say right now there is a threat to the public as some innocent will be caught up like they were at the Anchor incident.
21-03-2025, 08:55 PM
So the beauty salon petrol bombed in Leith the owner was Mark Richardsons ex girlfriend, the warehouse set ablaze in Musselburgh was her Dads and the car garage on Milton road set ablaze, the owner is an old guy so unsure if theres a connection to the others.
The two shootings are being linked to associates of MR.
21-03-2025, 08:55 PM
I was driving down Old Dalkeith Road earlier and noticed police tape cordoning off the driveway of a premises with police officers stationed outside. I’ve not seen any incident there reported anywhere but a photograph of said premises has been used by the BBC halfway down their article. A quick google suggests the property is owned by a prominent operator of private hires in the Capital. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c4g7wp45nz6o
21-03-2025, 09:04 PM
I wonder if the media speculations for the reasons behind this are true?
Certainly a move on MR empire, seemingly moved prison after being served a Osman along with associates.
21-03-2025, 09:20 PM
I was driving down Old Dalkeith Road earlier and noticed police tape cordoning off the driveway of a premises with police officers stationed outside. I’ve not seen any incident there reported anywhere but a photograph of said premises has been used by the BBC halfway down their article. A quick google suggests the property is owned by a prominent operator of private hires in the Capital. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c4g7wp45nz6o
Just read another article which mentioned the premises is associated with MR.
21-03-2025, 10:06 PM
Certainly a move on MR empire, seemingly moved prison after being served a Osman along with associates.
👍
Hibs4185
22-03-2025, 05:57 AM
What’s an Osman?
Bridge hibs
22-03-2025, 06:03 AM
What’s an Osman?
Its a Police code/warning that there is a threat to your life
23-03-2025, 04:56 PM
House firebombed in Hay Drive this morning.
Isolated incident, no threat etc etc😅😅😅
24-03-2025, 03:09 PM
House firebombed in Hay Drive this morning.
Isolated incident, no threat etc etc
There is a huge police presence in the city, unmarked and marked cars everywhere pulling people over, looks like they are trying to disrupt things by flooding the streets of uniforms and stop these folk moving about, the police down Muirhouse Pilton is of the scale right now.
This isn’t about drugs or a stash going missing, I think it’s pretty obvious now.
24-03-2025, 03:15 PM
There is a huge police presence in the city, unmarked and marked cars everywhere pulling people over, looks like they are trying to disrupt things by flooding the streets of uniforms and stop these folk moving about, the police down Muirhouse Pilton is of the scale right now.
This isn’t about drugs or a stash going missing, I think it’s pretty obvious now.
It is just for show though or are they actually doing something about it? Haven’t heard much from Police Scotland on actual arrests?
24-03-2025, 03:29 PM
There was a low flying helicopter hovering around over Wallyford last night around 9pm. Seems this is all over the Lothians now. Was out on the school run earlier and there were a couple of police cars driving about the local area which is unusual as I can't remember the last time I seen polis during the day around here.
24-03-2025, 04:20 PM
I suppose it depends on the size of the stash
jamie_1875
24-03-2025, 04:33 PM
I must have led a sheltered life, didn't know this existed in Edinburgh. Just reading more about it and seems it's drugs related and a new gang trying to muscle in.
speedy_gonzales
24-03-2025, 09:56 PM
There was a low flying helicopter hovering around over Wallyford last night around 9pm. Seems this is all over the Lothians now. Was out on the school run earlier and there were a couple of police cars driving about the local area which is unusual as I can't remember the last time I seen polis during the day around here.
I was over at Fort Kinnaird last night around midnight.
Multiple Police cars were chasing a small black car around the retail park.
Thought I heard the helicopter but couldn't see it in the skies.
26-03-2025, 04:24 PM
Hewn be spitting at a Hibs reception again - doh mistaken identity ;)
26-03-2025, 07:25 PM
Hewn be spitting at a Hibs reception again - doh mistaken identity ;)
Is that Portuguese you’re speaking here? 🤷*♂️
26-03-2025, 09:11 PM
Is that Portuguese you’re speaking here? 🤷*♂️
Bleeping predictive text making me look like a horse again ;)
26-03-2025, 11:51 PM
Bleeping predictive text making me look like a horse again ;)
Neigh….your good.[emoji6][emoji106]
01-04-2025, 04:42 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-henchmen-gangster-mark-richardson-31329004
Still rumbling on it seems.
01-04-2025, 08:42 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-henchmen-gangster-mark-richardson-31329004
Interesting that Edinburgh Live are doing as much as they can to identify the person in question, without actually naming him.
I'm not sure Edinburgh Live knows where Edinburgh is!
Bridge hibs
02-04-2025, 04:42 AM
I wonder what football mob he was “top boy” off 🤔
02-04-2025, 07:47 AM
I wonder what football mob he was “top boy” off 🤔
If the guy is 31, when was this football mob activity meant to have taken place?
02-04-2025, 08:02 AM
If the guy is 31, when was this football mob activity meant to have taken place?
I assumed he was a young prodigy in the Green Street Elite
03-04-2025, 03:43 PM
That’s very hard to believe, the press/media have been shocking during this, they basically put a hit list of folk in Edinburgh in the papers, at one point I thought they were doing the work of Glasgow gangsters by naming them, but no one is going to Dubai to sort anyone out that’s for sure, the folk in Dubai will be under pressure from the cartels to see who pays for the shipment at the fruit market, this is the blame game not for counterfeit money being used.
03-04-2025, 04:08 PM
That’s very hard to believe, the press/media have been shocking during this, they basically put a hit list of folk in Edinburgh in the papers, at one point I thought they were doing the work of Glasgow gangsters by naming them, but no one is going to Dubai to sort anyone out that’s for sure, the folk in Dubai will be under pressure from the cartels to see who pays for the shipment at the fruit market, this is the blame game not for counterfeit money being used.
Thought that was strange. The deal with Dubai is they turn a blind eye to the money laundering and won’t extradite you there so long as you don’t bring the violence there as well?
04-04-2025, 01:14 PM
Same house in Niddrie firebombed again this morning.
Bridge hibs
04-04-2025, 01:26 PM
****ing hell !!
04-04-2025, 02:30 PM
Making the police and media look stupid after there comments yesterday.
Bridge hibs
04-04-2025, 02:54 PM
Making the police and media look stupid after there comments yesterday.
Clever though, petrol bomb a house thats already been petrol bombed. That wont be the wannabe gangsters that are doing it, the patsies will have been offered a few bags of snort with the promise they wont get ridden to death in jail.
18-04-2025, 12:58 AM
https://news.sky.com/story/bluesky-13350546
Police Scotland still drawing a blank.[emoji849]
18-04-2025, 08:47 AM
The Police can’t even catch teens who are out of control, never mind actual organised crime groups.
18-04-2025, 10:13 AM
The Police can’t even catch teens who are out of control, never mind actual organised crime groups.
Happy to spend £2m+ on operation branchform though while gangsters are running round armed to the teeth. Whoever is running Police Scotland is a joke. Or worse.
18-04-2025, 02:11 PM
Police raid, 3 arrested.
Maybe the beginning of a crackdown.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c4g4j6e1edqo
18-04-2025, 02:29 PM
Police raid, 3 arrested.
Maybe the beginning of a crackdown.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c4g4j6e1edqo
There was a fire raising in Craiglockhart which has probably motivated somebody at Police HQ to get off their arse and do something. Fine when it's just the plebs impacted but if it moves into more gentrified areas..........
Stairway 2 7
18-04-2025, 02:42 PM
I thought quite a few had already been arrested. Watching the Daniel Kinahan program on iplayer I was surprised how nuts it was, were small scale compared to Ireland
18-04-2025, 03:38 PM
I thought quite a few had already been arrested. Watching the Daniel Kinahan program on iplayer I was surprised how nuts it was, were small scale compared to Ireland
They are involved in this as they are in just about every part of Europe.
Stairway 2 7
18-04-2025, 03:51 PM
Yeah the program goes into that, a European supercartel. Absolute jakes. All the boxers are complicit bigging up these gimps
18-04-2025, 04:05 PM
Yeah the program goes into that, a European supercartel. Absolute jakes. All the boxers are complicit bigging up these gimps
It’s a great doc if anyone interested.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/m0027wyq/kinahan-the-true-story-of-irelands-mafia
18-04-2025, 05:20 PM
It’s a great doc if anyone interested.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/m0027wyq/kinahan-the-true-story-of-irelands-mafia
I don't think it's coincidental that RTE's drama about the drug scene in Ireland was called Kin :greengrin
18-04-2025, 05:35 PM
I don't think it's coincidental that RTE's drama about the drug scene in Ireland was called Kin :greengrin
Enjoyed Kin but think Love/Hate is much better. Similar genre. [emoji106]
19-04-2025, 01:17 AM
You bet they are, they want there payment for the shipment that was caught in Glasgow and I would hazard a guess they are putting pressure on JS to get the money and he is using a group from Edinburgh to do the dirty work to force payments.
Street in the south of the city has six police cars there just now, four outside a block of flats while the other two are blocking either end of street. No idea if it's linked to the nonsense that's going on in Edinburgh at the moment
speedy_gonzales
19-04-2025, 03:56 PM
There was a fire raising in Craiglockhart which has probably motivated somebody at Police HQ to get off their arse and do something. Fine when it's just the plebs impacted but if it moves into more gentrified areas..........
I'm sure it won't make much of a difference to your theory but it was nowhere near Craiglockhart, was over towards Greenbank area. Dunno how it was reported as Craiglockhart, that's like saying Hearts play at Murrayfield (OK, they did a couple of times 🫣).
19-04-2025, 04:51 PM
I'm sure it won't make much of a difference to your theory but it was nowhere near Craiglockhart, was over towards Greenbank area. Dunno how it was reported as Craiglockhart, that's like saying Hearts play at Murrayfield (OK, they did a couple of times 🫣).
It's in the posh houses where the City Hospital used to be, so one could claim either. :greengrin
speedy_gonzales
19-04-2025, 05:03 PM
It's in the posh houses where the City Hospital used to be, so one could claim either. :greengrin
I'm still struggling to call that Craiglockhart, it's closer to Firrhill than Craiglockhart, nae posh hooses there (unless you come from Oxgangs 🫣).
19-04-2025, 05:35 PM
I think Police Scotland have lost control no matter where it’s happening.
K-Zazu
19-04-2025, 07:03 PM
I think Police Scotland have lost control no matter where it’s happening.
There’s really not much they can do if people are just firebombing random houses in the middle of the nIght it’s not like Edinburgh is some wee village.
28-04-2025, 03:27 PM
My next door neighbour had their car stolen last week from his drive. Other high performance/sought after cars being stolen all over the Bonnyrigg area. Police had my neighbour in to be interviewed and said it was gang related.
28-04-2025, 11:25 PM
The Kinahans seem untouchable, all the others from the super cartel arrested but they still avoid deportation while in Dubai, is it the boxing connection that keeps them from being thrown out, one things for sure this is not the end of them and I wonder if the bbc will do more episodes about them as things play out here in Scotland as I can’t see things calming down any time soon, can’t be long before a fatality happens.
Bridge hibs
29-04-2025, 05:11 AM
The Kinahans seem untouchable, all the others from the super cartel arrested but they still avoid deportation while in Dubai, is it the boxing connection that keeps them from being thrown out, one things for sure this is not the end of them and I wonder if the bbc will do more episodes about them as things play out here in Scotland as I can’t see things calming down any time soon, can’t be long before a fatality happens.
I wonder why we saw all those boxers endorsing the Kinihans but Josh Taylor wasnt mentioned, particularly as he is a high profile boxer nicked from McGuigans stable.
30-04-2025, 02:10 PM
I wonder why we saw all those boxers endorsing the Kinihans but Josh Taylor wasnt mentioned, particularly as he is a high profile boxer nicked from McGuigans stable.
A few others were not mentioned either, I think Josh was one of the last to still be defending MTK and the kinahans, think the folk not getting mentions should be just as worried, and I see the Nero vodka scam owners have been released on bail in Spain where it was reckoned they laundered about £200m for the Kinahans.
Bridge hibs
01-05-2025, 05:09 AM
A few others were not mentioned either, I think Josh was one of the last to still be defending MTK and the kinahans, think the folk not getting mentions should be just as worried, and I see the Nero vodka scam owners have been released on bail in Spain where it was reckoned they laundered about £200m for the Kinahans.
I remember watching the McGuigan interview a while back when he was discussing Josh switching camps, he seemed visibly upset and angry the way he was treated but was obviously very cagey and chose his words carefully.
01-05-2025, 09:48 AM
I had absolutely no idea who the Kinahans were until I read this and subsequently googled them. They don't seem a very pleasant bunch that's for sure.
01-05-2025, 10:10 AM
I had absolutely no idea who the Kinahans were until I read this and subsequently googled them. They don't seem a very pleasant bunch that's for sure.
Watch the documentary on the iplayer. Its an eye-opener.
01-05-2025, 10:25 AM
Watch the documentary on the iplayer. Its an eye-opener.
01-05-2025, 10:32 AM
I remember watching the McGuigan interview a while back when he was discussing Josh switching camps, he seemed visibly upset and angry the way he was treated but was obviously very cagey and chose his words carefully.
That whole period was just bizarre. About a dozen boxers who had jumped ship to the MGM/MTK stable all taking to social media en masse to savage their former promoters and managers and spouting 'it's all totally above board, they are great guys, totally legit and legal and people will just believe anything they read. I wouldn't involve myself with anyone who dealt in drugs or was a criminal'.
$1bn of totally legit net worth.
I always wonder where Matthew Macklin fits into it all now, if at all. He was the front when they first got involved in boxing and it was his name on the door but I think he walked/was pushed fairly early doors. He's still doing his bit on Sky so must have walked away with his reputation relatively unscathed.
01-05-2025, 10:39 AM
That whole period was just bizarre. About a dozen boxers who had jumped ship to the MGM/MTK stable all taking to social media en masse to savage their former promoters and managers and spouting 'it's all totally above board, they are great guys, totally legit and legal and people will just believe anything they read. I wouldn't involve myself with anyone who dealt in drugs or was a criminal'.
I always wonder where Matthew Macklin fits into it all now, if at all. He was the front when they first got involved in boxing and it was his name on the door but I think he walked/was pushed fairly early doors. He's still doing his bit on Sky so must have walked away with his reputation relatively unscathed.
Boxing and broadcasters don’t really care about reputation. Everything was known about these guys at the time and everyone just held their nose and collected the cash. They could come back tomorrow and the same would likely happen.
01-05-2025, 11:50 AM
I think McGuigan had had enough and knew if he was to outspoken about it his life and family would be in harms way, the Kinahans took who they wanted and knew there would be no comebacks, a judge can order them to pay money but they don’t and won’t pay it and while they are in Dubai they seem to have some protection out there.
01-05-2025, 12:05 PM
They must have been handing out money like it was confetti to these folks, and not just the boxers, Johnny Nelson MM as you mentioned and Steve Bunce Bob Arum were promoting them and bumming them up big style, but as soon as things were out in the open they wanted nothing to do with them, it was well known at the time who the Kinahans were but it would seem cash was king, and not forgetting that they tried to move in on the football agent stuff here in Scotland and is it coincidence that Hamilton Accies are in trouble at this time as well.
01-05-2025, 12:10 PM
Boxing and broadcasters don’t really care about reputation. Everything was known about these guys at the time and everyone just held their nose and collected the cash. They could come back tomorrow and the same would likely happen.
Yip, but I’m pretty sure somewhere down the line a few doors will be knocked by the police to investigate money laundering, things like cars motorbikes and watches better have receipts for them as saying they were gifts will not wash with the fraud squad.
07-05-2025, 04:55 PM
Police Scotland still not got this under control. More fire bombings in Gorgie last night.
They won’t get it under control anytime soon imho. This will just roll on and on. Even if they arrest say 5 another 5 will step up.
I would suspect their biggest fear is the collateral damage that this feud/war may cause. At some point an innocent member of the public not involved in any of this becomes a victim.
Stairway 2 7
07-05-2025, 06:26 PM
They won’t get it under control anytime soon imho. This will just roll on and on. Even if they arrest say 5 another 5 will step up.
I would suspect their biggest fear is the collateral damage that this feud/war may cause. At some point an innocent member of the public not involved in any of this becomes a victim.
Sad but true. Irish police didn't manage to stop it even with 19 shot dead in Dublin. Decriminalisation of drugs is probably the only answer, until then no country will stop the violence that the money brings
Lendo
07-05-2025, 08:56 PM
Im just around the corner and never heard anything about this. Where about in Gorgie?
08-05-2025, 12:00 AM
Im just around the corner and never heard anything about this. Where about in Gorgie?
https://news.stv.tv/east-central/edinburgh-home-vandalised-and-two-vehicles-set-alight-amid-ongoing-gang-war
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/home-kingpin-mark-richardsons-brother-35177220.amp
11-05-2025, 09:04 AM
6 arrests on Friday.
23-05-2025, 12:07 PM
https://vm.tiktok.com/ZNdhQw3Tm/
Machete attack last night and there was one on Tuesday as well.
01-06-2025, 06:33 PM
Two more dead last night in Spain. Shot in a bar.
01-06-2025, 07:24 PM
Two more dead last night in Spain. Shot in a bar.
Two big players, it’s all out war now.
Bridge hibs
01-06-2025, 07:31 PM
Two big players, it’s all out war now.
Was that on Richardsons side or the other side ?
01-06-2025, 07:41 PM
Other lot I think.
Paul1642
01-06-2025, 08:21 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c991jpemrd9o.amp
Named by BBC
01-06-2025, 09:18 PM
Lyon’s side, Richardson sides with Daniel’s family, somebody is not messing about here, it could also be retaliation for the murder of Kevin the gerbil Carroll, who’s wife’s house was petrol bombed a few weeks back.
Also reported a plush house somewhere in the west targeted by firebombers shortly after the shooting.
02-06-2025, 08:47 AM
Watching Mobland at the moment, seems quite fitting! Probably less helicopters and trips to Antwerp in the battle for Granton though.
Can anyone do or link a brief summary of what/why this is happening?
jamie_1875
02-06-2025, 08:51 AM
Watching Mobland at the moment, seems quite fitting! Probably less helicopters and trips to Antwerp in the battle for Granton though.
I was just watching that and wondering who is Conrad Harriagn and who is Richy Stevenson in this saga. And who is Harry, don't mess with Harry.
02-06-2025, 09:02 AM
Big boy does drugs deal with wannabe big boy.
BB pays for deal with WBB with £500k of counterfeit money. "He's just a wee boy, he doesn't matter".
WBB "pass me ma matches"
Trinity Hibee
02-06-2025, 09:06 AM
Getting out of hand all of this. Won’t be long until someone innocent dies
02-06-2025, 09:14 AM
Big boy does drugs deal with wannabe big boy.
BB pays for deal with WBB with £500k of counterfeit money. "He's just a wee boy, he doesn't matter".
WBB "pass me ma matches"
Thanks CWG. Madness.
02-06-2025, 09:16 AM
Getting out of hand all of this. Won’t be long until someone innocent dies
Heard via a friend of my wifes that the Police are almost happy to let it sort itself out as long as no-one gets caught in the crossfire. Seems risky.
I doubt thats really the case though.
02-06-2025, 09:58 AM
Heard via a friend of my wifes that the Police are almost happy to let it sort itself out as long as no-one gets caught in the crossfire. Seems risky.
I'd doubt it too.
If they all take each other out, then there's a vacuum. So new WBBs try to step in. The cycle continues.
02-06-2025, 10:07 AM
I'd doubt it too.
If they all take each other out, then there's a vacuum. So new WBBs try to step in. The cycle continues.
And more firepower is brought to the table.
Police Scotland have taken their eye if the ball here though. It’s not like these guys are not known. They should have been watching their every move long before now.
Hibs4185
02-06-2025, 10:23 AM
And more firepower is brought to the table.
Police Scotland have taken their eye if the ball here though. It’s not like these guys are not known. They should have been watching their every move long before now.
I think the police are limited in what they can do. Normally it takes years to prove/arrest people .
I bet they wish they could just round up all known dealers/gangsters but the bad guys are always one step ahead with communications and they know how to evade police.
Now and again the police get lucky and gain access to communications etc which leads to arrests.
I’ve had many break ins at my properties and each time the police are powerless because the low level criminals know the system inside out which they exploit and the police can’t do anything.
Lendo
02-06-2025, 11:51 AM
The John Wick Universe approach, let them get on with it so long as they only kill their own.
02-06-2025, 12:12 PM
I'd doubt it too.
The police are hardly stopping things from happening though, they may be making arrests after events but this will just continue and the most bizarre thing for me is where certain prisoners are being housed during this carry on, having the top guys in Saughton is just madness.
02-06-2025, 12:20 PM
Also reported a plush house somewhere in the west targeted by firebombers shortly after the shooting.
Seen that, coincidence or not :greengrin
Helicopter out early this morning over the capital.
02-06-2025, 12:42 PM
The John Wick Universe approach, let them get on with it so long as they only kill their own.
That’s not the only effect though. If the country is seen as lawless then investment drops and everyone’s standard of living falls.
02-06-2025, 12:51 PM
Seen that, coincidence or not :greengrin
Helicopter out early this morning over the capital.
Aren't you their target?
Silverado :greengrin
02-06-2025, 01:00 PM
Aren't you their target?
Silverado :greengrin
It was just a joint :thumbsup:
02-06-2025, 05:09 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/series/p0k70cs3?partner=uk.co.bbc&origin=share-mobile
For anyone interested there is a 6 part BBC podcast on the feud. Explains the level of corruption in Police Scotland as well.
Stairway 2 7
02-06-2025, 08:02 PM
People say believe half of what you see. Son, and none of what you hear.
Stairway 2 7
02-06-2025, 08:04 PM
That’s not the only effect though. If the country is seen as lawless then investment drops and everyone’s standard of living falls.
What country has mastered drugs? Scot gov have not much chance and I don't think there is talk of decriminalisation just now
02-06-2025, 08:34 PM
What country has mastered drugs? Scot gov have not much chance and I don't think there is talk of decriminalisation just now
Takes more than decriminalisation. Addicts should be prescribed the drugs they need by doctors. Take away the business model from the gangsters and prevent needless deaths.
04-06-2025, 07:33 AM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/no-suggestion-scots-shot-in-spain-linked-to-ongoing-gang-war-violence-in-scotland
Police Scotland have very quickly ruled out any link to the gang war here even though it involves the leaders of one of the gangs? They have bothered to send anyone to Spain.
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/no-suggestion-scots-shot-in-spain-linked-to-ongoing-gang-war-violence-in-scotland
pollution
04-06-2025, 09:28 AM
Police Scotland have very quickly ruled out any link to the gang war here even though it involves the leaders of one of the gangs? They have bothered to send anyone to Spain.
I'm not casting nasturtiums but the corruption at the highest level in Spain is astonishing ; recently, 20,000,000 Euros was found hidden in the walls of a former anti drugs chief's home
near Madrid. Plus more in his office elsewhere. It must sicken decent police and investigators throughout the country.
04-06-2025, 10:25 AM
I'm not casting nasturtiums but the corruption at the highest level in Spain is astonishing ; recently, 20,000,000 Euros was found hidden in the walls of a former anti drugs chief's home
near Madrid. Plus more in his office elsewhere. It must sicken decent police and investigators throughout the country.
The drug cartels have people inside Police Scotland as well.
05-06-2025, 01:04 PM
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/crime-world/id1540069464?i=1000711255267
Short explainer here.
15-06-2025, 09:58 AM
Another chapter in the gang feuds in the Inch. Shooting, drive by, at the Inch, off Walter Scott Avenue. House still cordoned off by the Police.
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-police-lock-down-street-31855425
15-06-2025, 10:17 AM
Another chapter in the gang feuds in the Inch. Shooting, drive by, at the Inch, off Walter Scott Avenue. House still cordoned off by the Police.
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburgh-police-lock-down-street-31855425
Police Scotland need to hold firm here and direct even more resources towards operation Branchform. The public can handle the odd shoot out so long as we know they are going to get Sturgeon.
15-06-2025, 10:59 AM
Police Scotland need to hold firm here and direct even more resources towards operation Branchform. The public can handle the odd shoot out so long as we know they are going to get Sturgeon.
Not sure what the last part of your final sentence means?
Paul1642
15-06-2025, 12:43 PM
Not sure what the last part of your final sentence means?
Looks like he’s suggesting that our national police force of 16.5k officers is incapable of handling two separate enquiries at once, and should drop every other crime in the county to focus entirely on the current gang feud.
15-06-2025, 12:50 PM
Looks like he’s suggesting that our national police force of 16.5k officers is incapable of handling two separate enquiries at once, and should drop every other crime in the county to focus entirely on the current gang feud.
20 year old gang feud.
hibee
15-06-2025, 04:49 PM
House in Tranent set on fire at 6pm too, no concern for the other terraced houses attached to their target either.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/14937115/house-torched-hours-after-shots-fired-at-home/
15-06-2025, 05:34 PM
20 year old gang feud.
Literally nothing to do with Sturgeon. Why you'd even mention that is baffling.
15-06-2025, 07:01 PM
It was poorly worded. I thought he was maybe suggesting the public would be happy if the people carrying out the shootings “got Sturgeon”.
15-06-2025, 09:48 PM
It was poorly worded. I thought he was maybe suggesting the public would be happy if the people carrying out the shootings “got Sturgeon”.
Or maybe our police force are focusing on the wrong things?
Shoot outs and fire bombings, murders etc but let’s spend £2m on investigating NS?
jamie_1875
15-06-2025, 09:50 PM
Or maybe our police force are focusing on the wrong things?
Shoot outs and fire bombings, murders etc but let’s spend £2m on investigating NS?
So what's your criteria for potential crimes being investigated or not?
Hibspur
15-06-2025, 10:07 PM
So what's your criteria for potential crimes being investigated or not?
Police should presumably just turn a blind eye to allegations (and subsequent charges) of embezzlement of SNP funds by its chief executive. Why should anyone care about that? They're only the people running the country after all.
15-06-2025, 10:40 PM
Police should presumably just turn a blind eye to allegations (and subsequent charges) of embezzlement of SNP funds by its chief executive. Why should anyone care about that? They're only the people running the country after all.
Fair play. People houses getting fire bombed and shoot outs in housing schemes is no problem.[emoji106]
Paul1642
16-06-2025, 06:11 AM
Fair play. People houses getting fire bombed and shoot outs in housing schemes is no problem.[emoji106]
Except it is a problem, hence why there is a large operation well underway (Portledge), cycle paths being searched with a fine tooth comb resulting in firearms being recovered, and at least 44 arrests made.
“ More than 8,000 homes have been visited and over 1,600 vehicles stopped as part of the current investigation” - somewhat trumps a motorhome being seized and a couple of corrupt politicians being arrested.
The police are also limited by the fact that the biggest players calling the shots, are all doing so from Dubai.
You’re coming across as having a massive chip on your shoulder, and trying way to hard to connect two completely unconnected enquiries.
Hibspur
16-06-2025, 08:08 AM
I don't actually understand your point. Has there been a suggestion that this investigation is in some way compromised by the probe into SNP finances?! That would be news to me.
16-06-2025, 09:11 AM
I don't actually understand your point. Has there been a suggestion that this investigation is in some way compromised by the probe into SNP finances?! That would be news to me.
Given these gangs have been at each other for 20 years I am suggesting that Police Scotland appear not to be on top of the situation.
He's here!
16-06-2025, 10:38 AM
Except it is a problem, hence why there is a large operation well underway (Portledge), cycle paths being searched with a fine tooth comb resulting in firearms being recovered, and at least 44 arrests made.
“ More than 8,000 homes have been visited and over 1,600 vehicles stopped as part of the current investigation” - somewhat trumps a motorhome being seized and a couple of corrupt politicians being arrested.
The police are also limited by the fact that the biggest players calling the shots, are all doing so from Dubai.
You’re coming across as having a massive chip on your shoulder, and trying way to hard to connect two completely unconnected enquiries.
Hard to imagine a similar accusation of police time being wasted if the charges related to Labour or Tory embezzlement 😉
16-06-2025, 10:41 AM
Given these gangs have been at each other for 20 years I am suggesting that Police Scotland appear not to be on top of the situation.
I've asked a friend in the Polis the very same question, he stated that they know exactly who is doing what but proving it is another matter
Hibs4185
16-06-2025, 12:39 PM
I've asked a friend in the Polis the very same question, he stated that they know exactly who is doing what but proving it is another matter
Which was my point a few posts back. Criminals know how the police operate and the evidence they need. Doing the crime is one thing but prosecuting it is another story.
Without sounding hitler-esque, I wonder if the police could have emergency powers, perhaps approved by the court to avoid Trump-esque tactics, in order to arrest those they know are involved and hold them for a certain amount of time to allow things to die down.
I know the ethics behind is controversial but the police are fighting a losing battle and there has to be some deterrence to those who are instigating it
Paul1642
16-06-2025, 12:45 PM
Which was my point a few posts back. Criminals know how the police operate and the evidence they need. Doing the crime is one thing but prosecuting it is another story.
Without sounding hitler-esque, I wonder if the police could have emergency powers, perhaps approved by the court to avoid Trump-esque tactics, in order to arrest those they know are involved and hold them for a certain amount of time to allow things to die down.
I know the ethics behind is controversial but the police are fighting a losing battle and there has to be some deterrence to those who are instigating it
I think it would solve the problem, but it also opens up a massive can of worms that we shouldn’t open.
Also, as I mentioned in a previous post, many of those calling the shots are in Dubai, whom we don’t have an extradition agreement with.
In my opinion the solution is maximum sentencing. We saw it with the Southport riots, people getting the jail for offences that would normally warrant a few hours community service. It worked and the riots halted pretty swiftly.
I personally feel that crimes like machete attacks and petrol bombing should warrant massive jail times at the best of times, but a partial solution to this gang war would be any crime that is proven at court and can be attributed to the gang war, receives the maximum possible sentencing for that crime type.
16-06-2025, 01:03 PM
I think it would solve the problem, but it also opens up a massive can of worms that we shouldn’t open.
Also, as I mentioned in a previous post, many of those calling the shots are in Dubai, whom we don’t have an extradition agreement with.
In my opinion the solution is maximum sentencing. We saw it with the Southport riots, people getting the jail for offences that would normally warrant a few hours community service. It worked and the riots halted pretty swiftly.
I personally feel that crimes like machete attacks and petrol bombing should warrant massive jail times at the best of times, but a partial solution to this gang war would be any crime that is proven at court and can be attributed to the gang war, receives the maximum possible sentencing for that crime type.
Any crime linked to organised crime should carry a massive extra tariff.
Stairway 2 7
16-06-2025, 02:27 PM
What nation has got a control of drug gangs. They are a spiders web, if you take out one person there are hundreds more, take out a leader and someone takes over the web.
Most of this is backed by Kinahans Ireland had dozens of murders and still have no control of it. Sweden is being swamped by bombings and grenade attacks, Germany having a problem with cocaine wars.
What do we do, go down Philippines route with the death penalty, America with the amount of drug gang prisoners in the world but with no luck. I doubt police Scotland has much chance without decriminalisation from Westminster
Hibs4185
16-06-2025, 03:39 PM
What nation has got a control of drug gangs. They are a spiders web, if you take out one person there are hundreds more, take out a leader and someone takes over the web.
Most of this is backed by Kinahans Ireland had dozens of murders and still have no control of it. Sweden is being swamped by bombings and grenade attacks, Germany having a problem with cocaine wars.
What do we do, go down Philippines route with the death penalty, America with the amount of drug gang prisoners in the world but with no luck. I doubt police Scotland has much chance without decriminalisation from Westminster
I never really considered de-criminalising but logically it seems like the only option. Habe controlled areas where you can go and get what you want.
Whilst we are on it, I think they should take alcohol out of supermarkets which is a **** for me but the government makes no money from minimum pricing. If we had licensed shops that sold alcohol, the government can benefit from the extra profit and use the funds towards NHS etc instead of lining supermarket pockets.
I think in Sweden you have to go to special shops for anything stronger than alcohol.
Plus there are so many empty shops in high streets etc that everyone would be neat enough to one to get alcohol and might bring footfall back to some areas. Solves empty shops and problem drinking!
Stairway 2 7
16-06-2025, 04:10 PM
I never really considered de-criminalising but logically it seems like the only option. Habe controlled areas where you can go and get what you want.
Whilst we are on it, I think they should take alcohol out of supermarkets which is a **** for me but the government makes no money from minimum pricing. If we had licensed shops that sold alcohol, the government can benefit from the extra profit and use the funds towards NHS etc instead of lining supermarket pockets.
I think in Sweden you have to go to special shops for anything stronger than alcohol.
Plus there are so many empty shops in high streets etc that everyone would be neat enough to one to get alcohol and might bring footfall back to some areas. Solves empty shops and problem drinking!
That's a brilliant idea about the shops, would stop underage buying too if ID was needed unlike some shops, also stop impulse buying, going in for bread and coming out with a 6 pack for the sake of it
16-06-2025, 04:53 PM
I've said that about alcohol since minimum pricing was introduced. It's mad that consumers in Scotland are paying more for the same product but rather than that additional income going to the public good, it's going into the back pocket of Tesco and Asda.
The alcohol industry would fight it tooth and nail but it would be good policy imo, albeit with plenty potential issues to iron out.
Any consumer based item which is prohibited becomes an income for criminal gangs if there is enough profit to be made. Al Capone and his gang weren't running around with machine guns just to look hard.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Hibs4185
16-06-2025, 06:07 PM
Any consumer based item which is prohibited becomes an income for criminal gangs if there is enough profit to be made. Al Capone and his gang weren't running around with machine guns just to look hard.
Very true. I might have to go to my local dealer to get my New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc rather then the government booze shop.
;.)
...seriously, that was the situation in 1920s USA. Only there wasn't a govt booze shop.
Peanut Shaz
16-06-2025, 09:05 PM
“I think in Sweden you have to go to special shops for anything stronger than alcohol.”
Yep, I recently visited family in Malmo and we had to go to a ‘special’ store to buy alcohol. It is only open for a limited time and closed at 7.30 if I remember correctly.