View Full Version : Boyler

28-12-2023, 07:04 PM
He is playing about two levels down from where he should be at. Monty has the wrong man on the bench Youan at the moment offers more than Boyler.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

gorgie greens
28-12-2023, 07:34 PM
A poor version of the one that left for Saudi.
Not being done any favours playing not on the wing and for me Youan should play up front with Vente with Boyle,Jair on the wings

I'm Spartacus
28-12-2023, 09:42 PM
He really has to stop the diving, his standard is way above that kind of *****. The first ever VAR check in Scottish football and he was booked for diving, booked again yesterday and it's not just been those 2 instances.

Cut it out Boyler and get back to your best, we need you flying, not diving.

28-12-2023, 09:45 PM
Don’t think he looks anywhere near as fast or sharp as before.

Doesn’t have the same buzz about him either, needs to start getting involved more in the game - same with Vente

He really has to stop the diving, his standard is way above that kind of *****. The first ever VAR check in Scottish football and he was booked for diving, booked again yesterday and it's not just been those 2 instances.

Scottish refs are very selective who they book for diving and who they don't.

He doesn't look like he's enjoying his football

28-12-2023, 09:49 PM
The Boyle we had prior to his most recent injury is gone and he isn't coming back.

That's no slight on him. Given the nature of the injuries he has had it's a credit to him he is back and playing at this level at all; to be doing that and playing international football into the bargain is remarkable.

He has lost a yard of pace though and it's there for all to see. For a guy who had pace as a huge part of his game that is going to change him as a player. There were a couple of occasions last night that would have seen the old Boyle just knock the ball past a player and win the foot race in the past but it wasn't in his arsenal last night.

He still has a part to play but the speedster winger or guy who could play right on the last man doesn't exist anymore.

28-12-2023, 09:54 PM
Been a terrific player for us but have to agree not been like his old self

28-12-2023, 10:34 PM
Nah not having all this Boyle has lost his pace and is a shadow of him former self chat.

He has been poor last couple of games yes (as has everyone) - but 2 weeks ago he scored the winner at Livvy. The week before that his pace set up Ventes's opener v Aberdeen. Couple of weeks before that he beat 3 players running from the halfway line to set up the winner v Killie. He won us the League Cup Quarter v St Mirren with two goals late on (one all down to his pace). He was tremendous in Switzerland and his pace caused them all sorts of problems.

28-12-2023, 10:35 PM
He is playing about two levels down from where he should be at. Monty has the wrong man on the bench Youan at the moment offers more than Boyler.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Boyler playing on the right of a front 3 is the best player in the league outside the uglies. Play him anywhere else he’s average.

28-12-2023, 10:37 PM

Add Youan and Vente to that. Play them where they should be playing they’ll soon start smiling again

28-12-2023, 10:48 PM
Nah not having all this Boyle has lost his pace and is a shadow of him former self chat.

He has been poor last couple of games yes (as has everyone) - but 2 weeks ago he scored the winner at Livvy. The week before that his pace set up Ventes's opener v Aberdeen. Couple of weeks before that he beat 3 players running from the halfway line to set up the winner v Killie. He won us the League Cup Quarter v St Mirren with two goals late on (one all down to his pace). He was tremendous in Switzerland and his pace caused them all sorts of problems.

He’s still sharp, but I don’t think he’s got that same speed to get away from players over a longer distance that he used to have. That’s not a negative against him really, it’s just what happens when you have a series of bad injuries and get in to your thirties.

28-12-2023, 10:52 PM
He’s still sharp, but I don’t think he’s got that same speed to get away from players over a longer distance that he used to have. That’s not a negative against him really, it’s just what happens when you have a series of bad injuries and get in to your thirties.

Totally agree BHFC - there were two times second half a Boyle pre injury would have burned away from the opposition but he dallied and was caught up with. Also first half when a ball over the top was inches from his toes and he’d have been in on goal - I just think he’s lost a yard or two in pace through wear and tear.

28-12-2023, 11:09 PM
Add Youan and Vente to that. Play them where they should be playing they’ll soon start smiling again

Could have put the ball in the net with the chances they had last night, that might have helped raise a smile. It’s not all down to not playing as a front three (which I think they should by the way).

28-12-2023, 11:36 PM
I thought against St. Mirren in the LC game he looked at his absolutely electric best but it’s been slim pickings since then.

I still think he’s got much more to offer than we are seeing though, and whilst not as fast as his peak, is still quick enough and a good enough finisher to be very useful.

He does look like he has the weight of the world on his shoulders right now though. Usually such a buoyant character.

29-12-2023, 01:27 AM

For whatever reason I don't know for sure...but I made the same comment a couple of weeks ago.

kiwihibby
29-12-2023, 02:32 AM
I have thought for a while now that he is not very happy with the system we are playing. To me, he is just not interested in the striker role.

The Captain....
29-12-2023, 04:39 AM
I thought against St. Mirren in the LC game he looked at his absolutely electric best but it’s been slim pickings since then.

I still think he’s got much more to offer than we are seeing though, and whilst not as fast as his peak, is still quick enough and a good enough finisher to be very useful.

He does look like he has the weight of the world on his shoulders right now though. Usually such a buoyant character.Agreed, I still think he has a lot to offer us. For whatever reason he really doesn't look himself ATM. Very subdued, I don't think he's suited to or enjoying his current role personally.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

sauzee1989
29-12-2023, 05:27 AM
He’s not playing well but doesn’t help he’s playing out of position. He’s not got the intelligence or presence to play as a striker. He’s never been able to play there.

JammyDoidger
29-12-2023, 06:09 AM
He doesn't seem as motivated, usually Boyle is quite a colourful character but we just aren't even seeing that side of him atm, I've said it for weeks, this team must be a nightmare to play in, they're like robots man, far too boot camp like, if I was Vente in particular I'd be at my agent for a move before my career hits the slides.

29-12-2023, 06:35 AM
Looks to have lost a yard which is crucial at our level

Speed kills defenders are terrified of it

Paulie Walnuts
29-12-2023, 06:49 AM

He does look like he has the weight of the world on his shoulders right now though. Usually such a buoyant character.

He was playing much better pre Monty and still performs for Aus. There’s still a very useful player there but we’re not getting anything out of him.

Rick Rude
29-12-2023, 07:01 AM
Get him back onto the wing. Playing up front we are just hoping on a miracle pass putting him through. Other than that he barely sees the ball.

When he plays on the wing he constantly picks up the ball and takes men on. Then you see a lot more from him.

29-12-2023, 07:03 AM
He needs moved back out wide. Get Doidge in at the weekend to do the running for Vente who can hopefully get himself further forward.

Tarrahib
29-12-2023, 07:17 AM

He was playing much better pre Monty and still performs for Aus. There’s still a very useful player there but we’re not getting anything out of him.
As a matter of interest how many times has he played for Australia since returning from injury?

Paulie Walnuts
29-12-2023, 07:39 AM
As a matter of interest how many times has he played for Australia since returning from injury?

Played 4, scored 1, assisted 2.

29-12-2023, 07:47 AM
Just another player monty is restricting, playing him in a system that's not getting the best from him and a position he's not best in too. Not to worry though, as Monty knows what he's doing and once he gets his players in, everything will be fine.

Stokesy's on fire
29-12-2023, 08:00 AM
Another thread about a player and another discussion about one of our players being played in the wrong position..spot the trend here? The manager is getting things wrong.

29-12-2023, 08:26 AM
If there was an option to move him on, maybe to an Australian club if he was interested in living over there, I’d not be against it. He’s no longer irreplaceable unfortunately.

Godsahibby
29-12-2023, 08:35 AM
Boyle is best when he has space when he can run in being or turn a man and get in behind him on the wing. I dont think him being played through the middle in the way we play compliments him at all. He will rarely get that space as a number 9. His best performance for us lately was against Aberdeen who play a ridiculously high line so he was able to get the space in behind. Not sure why he hasnt been tried out wide.

29-12-2023, 08:39 AM
If there was an option to move him on, maybe to an Australian club if he was interested in living over there, I’d not be against it. He’s no longer irreplaceable unfortunately.

Would prefer he just got played in his best, tried and tested, position!

29-12-2023, 08:45 AM
I'd say his demise is being greatly exaggerated here. He's still had some very good games this season with a good goals and assists tally. Manager isn't getting the best out of him.

29-12-2023, 08:48 AM

I think that would be a ludicrous decision. We need to play to our best players strengths and we aren't just now.

29-12-2023, 08:54 AM
I think that would be a ludicrous decision. We need to play to our best players strengths and we aren't just now.

For the money we spent bringing him back and the wages he will be on I just don’t think he’s good value for money for the player he now is. I agree with playing him out wide but he still has almost as many quiet days as good days wherever he plays IMO.

29-12-2023, 09:01 AM
Good player for us in the past but happy to let him go in the summer.

Paulie Walnuts
29-12-2023, 09:02 AM
For the money we spent bringing him back and the wages he will be on I just don’t think he’s good value for money for the player he now is. I agree with playing him out wide but he still has almost as many quiet days as good days wherever he plays IMO.

He’s had way more quiet days than good days since Montgomery came in. Pre Montgomery though he started 7 games and scored 4. He still regularly produces for Australia as well. Since Montgomery has come in though he’s scored 3 in 15.

I don’t think there’s any doubting he’s not quite as good as he once was, but he was probably the best non Old Firm player in the league previously. Hes still more than good enough to be a very effective player for us if he’s used correctly imo.

Just to be clear when I say this, im not suggesting Monty should be sacked, but I wouldn’t be at all surprised if he’s not here next season, so I wouldn’t be in a rush to get rid of Boyle when the next man could potentially make very good use of him again. This is where the ‘let a manager make unpopular decisions’ line of thinking becomes a bit of a conundrum to me (and that’s not just at Hibs). Of course you need to back the manager, but letting them get rid of guys like Boyle who are proven to be excellent players at our level, or Youan who has so much potential when the manager is likely to only be here a year or so is a bit of a catch 22 for me. I’m not sure football nowadays lends itself to the manager being the most important part of a club.

29-12-2023, 09:47 AM
Boyle is totally wasted through the middle. He might produce the odd flash here and there, but it's nothing more than a stop gap option for me.

He still has acceleration and enough pace to beat most SPFL defenders,

29-12-2023, 09:53 AM
I'd say his demise is being greatly exaggerated here. He's still had some very good games this season with a good goals and assists tally. Manager isn't getting the best out of him.

Absolutely.

Boyles still a good player, walks into any team in the league outwith Rangers and Celtc. Even there he’d be a better option than Scott Wright or Mikey Johnston; who get games.

He’s not being used right at Hibs just now though.

JammyDoidger
29-12-2023, 10:00 AM
He’s had way more quiet days than good days since Montgomery came in. Pre Montgomery though he started 7 games and scored 4. He still regularly produces for Australia as well. Since Montgomery has come in though he’s scored 3 in 15.

I don’t think there’s any doubting he’s not quite as good as he once was, but he was probably the best non Old Firm player in the league previously. Hes still more than good enough to be a very effective player for us if he’s used correctly imo.

Just to be clear when I say this, im not suggesting Monty should be sacked, but I wouldn’t be at all surprised if he’s not here next season, so I wouldn’t be in a rush to get rid of Boyle when the next man could potentially make very good use of him again. This is where the ‘let a manager make unpopular decisions’ line of thinking becomes a bit of a conundrum to me. Of course you need to back the manager, but letting them get rid of guys like Boyle who are proven to be excellent players at our level, or Youan who has so much potential when the manager is likely to only be here a year or so is a bit of a catch 22 for me. I’m not sure football nowadays lends itself to the manager being the most important part of a club.

This, you can't just think that everything a manager does is the right thing because you want to back him, im desperate for Monty to do well but to me I've seen more errors of judgement from him than I have anything positive. From throwing away leads with daft subs to his inability to change the pattern of a game in play has me worried, add to that playing our better players in the wrong roles or positions it definitely isn't making me positive for the future under him, a good manager should come in and make the squad he has better particularly in our case as we do have good players that should be performing better. There's Levein at St Johnstone for example, Clement at Rangers they've undoubtedly made a greater impact on they teams, playing the hand they are dealt. I just always feel there is an arrogance from Hibs to be different it's like we think we are better than just doing the basics right we are too busy trying to be innovative that sometimes just doing the simple things well would be enough to see us better than the rest.

29-12-2023, 10:22 AM
Boyle is the absolute least of Hibs worries

29-12-2023, 10:31 AM
Another thread about a player and another discussion about one of our players being played in the wrong position..spot the trend here? The manager is getting things wrong.

Did the manager take the penalty as well?

29-12-2023, 10:48 AM

Just to be clear when I say this, im not suggesting Monty should be sacked, but I wouldn’t be at all surprised if he’s not here next season, so I wouldn’t be in a rush to get rid of Boyle when the next man could potentially make very good use of him again. This is where the ‘let a manager make unpopular decisions’ line of thinking becomes a bit of a conundrum to me (and that’s not just at Hibs). Of course you need to back the manager, but letting them get rid of guys like Boyle who are proven to be excellent players at our level, or Youan who has so much potential when the manager is likely to only be here a year or so is a bit of a catch 22 for me. I’m not sure football nowadays lends itself to the manager being the most important part of a club.

The squad is more of an issue than the manager, who in the interest of fairness isn’t buying himself any goodwill in the short term to get to the mid-long term end result.

It’s a squad that finished 7th (maybe even 8th, can’t remember), then 5th. Which in isolation is decent enough but done so on the back of losing to every team in the league and numerous losing streaks. Started this season off shambolically and is levelling out at mid table dross. That’s over 4 managers (Ross, Maloney, Johnson & Montgomery).

We have a squad of “least of our problems” but quite possibly not a single player to build our team around (probably Newell, and maybe Fish but he’s on loan anyway). Take whatever money we can get for the likes of Boyle, Youan, Levit etc who have been poor value for money and sign players specifically for Montgommery’s 442. If we don’t sell them there’s few we can probably move on without having to pay them off or pay a chunk of their wages at their new club.

We need Montgomery to sign a Stubbs like spine of the team subsequent managers can rely on.

ZitellZeTime
29-12-2023, 10:59 AM
Didn't stand out as much as before but players have dips. but the games he played for us when back then up until Johnon left in his correct position, if thats a wee dip in form then he's still great. Looked terrible since monty came in really, Youan not looked good and he looked good under Johnson more times than most from last quarter of last season until monty took over.

Jair has stopped looking like deer in the headlights and looked better under Monty, hopefully he can get out of his 4-4-2 with rm-lm rather than high winger and not change it even during the match if not working. Boyle much better up high wide, when levitt and newell are looking good together and playing good balls through to feed his runs that helps a lot too, we need another cm in winter I thought we had ****ed it when I saw Magennis was fit at Killie but saw in paper he broke down with what it said a second injury at Killie a while back. great player but made right decision there.

I was getting strepsils and cough medicine from a pharmacy called Gears or somin in Tranent, used to be Loyds last time I saw it last wed and saw Boyle come in go over to the pain cream cabinet, scanned them all but left without any so he coiuld be carrying a wee knock also.

29-12-2023, 11:07 AM
The squad is more of an issue than the manager, who in the interest of fairness isn’t buying himself any goodwill in the short term to get to the mid-long term end result.

It’s a squad that finished 7th (maybe even 8th, can’t remember), then 5th. Which in isolation is decent enough but done so on the back of losing to every team in the league and numerous losing streaks. Started this season off shambolically and is levelling out at mid table dross. That’s over 4 managers (Ross, Maloney, Johnson & Montgomery).

We have a squad of “least of our problems” but quite possibly not a single player to build our team around (probably Newell, and maybe Fish but he’s on loan anyway). Take whatever money we can get for the likes of Boyle, Youan, Levit etc who have been poor value for money and sign players specifically for Montgommery’s 442. If we don’t sell them there’s few we can probably move on without having to pay them off or pay a chunk of their wages at their new club.

We need Montgomery to sign a Stubbs like spine of the team subsequent managers can rely on.

You look at the other night and there were so many things that players did poorly that had absolutely nothing to do with formation. Boyle missing a penalty, Miller continuously passing the ball to them, Tavares failing to go by a player when he was in good positions time after time, Rocky not heading a simple long ball away, Vente missing a couple of good (one very good) chances.

There is no doubt that Montgomery, IMO, could and should be doing things a bit differently. But his formation isn’t the sole route of our issues. On the subject of Boyle I’ve never thought that he’s as effective up front. There’s a time and a place to play him there, not every week. Even wide in a midfield 4, he’d be effective. I don’t buy that playing wide in a 4 would see him playing too deep, Ross used to play him there loads so we could accommodate a front two of Nisbet and Doidge and he had one of his best ever seasons that year. Go even further back and he was superb as a wing back under Lennon (I’m not suggesting he should play there these days).

Bottom line, for me, is the players could and should be doing more and that was evident the other night. The drop off in performance in the last few weeks is alarming though.

29-12-2023, 11:21 AM
Did the manager take the penalty as well?
It was a very good save I wouldn’t fault Boyle for that .Skankland hit the post

Greenio
29-12-2023, 11:54 AM
Boyle is the absolute least of Hibs worries

Not really. You've got a star player not performing and not looking like he will...hows that the least of our worries? I'd say it was one of the most.

29-12-2023, 12:05 PM
Not really. You've got a star player not performing and not looking like he will...hows that the least of our worries? I'd say it was one of the most.

He was performing 2 games ago. We've had 2 bad games in a row where the whole team has been pish.

If Clark dives the other way then Boyle likely has a goal in a Hibs derby win and this silly thread doesnt exist.

29-12-2023, 12:11 PM
He was performing 2 games ago. We've had 2 bad games in a row where the whole team has been pish.

If Clark dives the other way then Boyle likely has a goal in a Hibs derby win and this silly thread doesnt exist.

He did look like he was finding a bit form in the games prior to St Johnstone. He’d been making a contribution after a period of no very much. Whether it’s tactical, just form or most likely a combination of everything, he’s definitely not been great this season.

29-12-2023, 12:22 PM
He did look like he was finding a bit form in the games prior to St Johnstone. He’d been making a contribution after a period of no very much. Whether it’s tactical, just form or most likely a combination of everything, he’s definitely not been great this season.

I think he has had great moments but agree overall not great. I think he has largely always been quite inconsistent in a Hibs jersey though so think thats not too different from previous seasons. An over exagerration of him being particularly poor this season compared to previous ones if you like.

Def a problem with the team set up IMO. If the system isnt going to change then id far rather have Youan up top and Boyle on the right. Youan showed last season he can score regularly as a front man.

StevieHendo
29-12-2023, 12:28 PM
Scottish refs are very selective who they book for diving and who they don't.

Surely doesn't matter, whys he diving in first place? does it all the time its why he doesnt get free kicks when he should reputation takes over when you start that *****

29-12-2023, 12:30 PM
I think he has had great moments but agree overall not great. I think he has largely always been quite inconsistent in a Hibs jersey though so think thats not too different from previous seasons. An over exagerration of him being particularly poor this season compared to previous ones if you like.

Def a problem with the team set up IMO. If the system isnt going to change then id far rather have Youan up top and Boyle on the right. Youan showed last season he can score regularly as a front man.

Agree on Youan up front instead of Boyle. I’m at the stage where I’d even rather see Doidge up there as he’s at least an out and out forward. Boyle out wide would get balls in to the box and create plenty of chances for two central strikers, as he did previously when we played with Nisbet and Doidge up.

HendoDelivered
29-12-2023, 12:33 PM

🤣🤣 miles off it

29-12-2023, 12:34 PM
Agree on Youan up front instead of Boyle. I’m at the stage where I’d even rather see Doidge up there as he’s at least an out and out forward. Boyle out wide would get balls in to the box and create plenty of chances for two central strikers, as he did previously when we played with Nisbet and Doidge up.

29-12-2023, 12:55 PM
I first mentioned Boyle's pace so I should probably clarify that there is a difference between saying Boyle has lost a bit of pace as opposed to saying Boyle has no pace. I thought such a distinction would have been obvious but maybe not.

It would be a genetic and medical miracle if Boyle hadn't lose a bit of pace. For starters he's 10 years older than when we first signed him and very few people are faster in their 30s than they were at 20 odd. There is a reason elite athletes who run 1500, 5000 and 10000 m on the track in their 20s are often running half marathons and marathons in their 30s. Their natural speed starts to wane but stamina and endurance kick in so they can run further but slower. Add in MB has had 3 serious knee injuries, a couple of which would have been potentially career ending not so long ago and it's really no surprise he might not be as fast as he once was.

I've never thought of Boyle as being a particularly tricky or skilful player (again that's not saying he has no skill or trickery just that he isn't a Zemmama or Latapy). What he had was an ability to turn on the afterburners and terrify defenders with his pace. He's still fast, probably close to the fastest in our squad but is he as fast as he was 3 or 4 years ago? Surely no one watching him regularly could argue he is. It's a bit like when Sproule came back for his second spell. He was still fast, there was still a buzz when he got the ball and he was probably still in the top 15% in the league over 20-30 yards but he wasn't as explosive as he was and that impacted his game. Boyle is a better player than Sproule though so I'm sure he can adapt.

I'm nowhere near the point of giving up on Boyle or suggesting we move him on. I just think we have to be realistic about the realities or Father Time and the impact of injuries.

29-12-2023, 02:16 PM
Playing Boyle in a position where he spends a lot of time with his back to goal is a total misuse of his talent. He should be out wide on the right with Youan in the centre particularly as Youan is quite good in the air and Boyle is light years ahead of Youan in his use of the ball and creating chances.

29-12-2023, 03:39 PM
I first mentioned Boyle's pace so I should probably clarify that there is a difference between saying Boyle has lost a bit of pace as opposed to saying Boyle has no pace. I thought such a distinction would have been obvious but maybe not.

It would be a genetic and medical miracle if Boyle hadn't lose a bit of pace. For starters he's 10 years older than when we first signed him and very few people are faster in their 30s than they were at 20 odd. There is a reason elite athletes who run 1500, 5000 and 10000 m on the track in their 20s are often running half marathons and marathons in their 30s. Their natural speed starts to wane but stamina and endurance kick in so they can run further but slower. Add in MB has had 3 serious knee injuries, a couple of which would have been potentially career ending not so long ago and it's really no surprise he might not be as fast as he once was.

I've never thought of Boyle as being a particularly tricky or skilful player (again that's not saying he has no skill or trickery just that he isn't a Zemmama or Latapy). What he had was an ability to turn on the afterburners and terrify defenders with his pace. He's still fast, probably close to the fastest in our squad but is he as fast as he was 3 or 4 years ago? Surely no one watching him regularly could argue he is. It's a bit like when Sproule came back for his second spell. He was still fast, there was still a buzz when he got the ball and he was probably still in the top 15% in the league over 20-30 yards but he wasn't as explosive as he was and that impacted his game. Boyle is a better player than Sproule though so I'm sure he can adapt.

I'm nowhere near the point of giving up on Boyle or suggesting we move him on. I just think we have to be realistic about the realities or Father Time and the impact of injuries.

During the game PB it was clear Martin’s best attribute was splitting their centre halves and trying to get onto the end of balls over the top. Two occasions he was literally inches away from a similar ‘goal’ opportunity that arose in the Aberdeen semi. He looked better centrally than he did out wide. Centrally he just needs a few yards to burst into, out wide he needs more yards and more energy expended. He looked better playing centrally when he got into that area.

percy veer
29-12-2023, 04:54 PM

As anyone been booked for diving except boyle? We get reffed differently even the sending off against St johnstone that shoukd be classed as a dive,

29-12-2023, 05:13 PM
Surely doesn't matter, whys he diving in first place? does it all the time its why he doesnt get free kicks when he should reputation takes over when you start that *****

Plenty players in the league dive more than he does yet don't get carded. Different agenda.

29-12-2023, 05:43 PM
There's no doubt he's still got the attributes to be an effective player. It'll actually be quite interesting to see how he gets on with Australia, if someone else manages to get more out of him than we have of late.

One thing I do wonder about with him is value for money and what sort of deal he's on having come back from Saudi. The indispensable Boyle of old would have been worth a hefty wage but rather than one of our stars he's pretty much a middle of the road player for us now. If he's a big earner you sometimes have to wonder if that money is well spent.

Prior to his move he was a huge player for us, we've received years and years of great service from him and shouldn't be begrudging him anything but by the time you take into consideration injuries, his regular national service and the moderate contribution he makes towards our current end product, I don't think it's that unreasonable for a club that means business about progressing to be asking the same questions of him that they ask of others.

raeburnhibs
29-12-2023, 06:05 PM
The amount of guff on this thread; wouldn’t be against letting him go to, blah, blah, blah. Play him in his best position. The best moments v them were still Boyle and Youan.