View Full Version : Atmosphere Tonight
27-12-2023, 11:35 PM
Thought the atmosphere tonight wasn’t that great. Maybe the crap play from both teams and the fact both sets of fans were singing the same songs. It all seemed a bit dead.
27-12-2023, 11:35 PM
It was very cold
27-12-2023, 11:37 PM
It was very cold
That wasn’t cold tonight. Been at many many colder games.
Pre-match was good. I enjoyed the fireworks and light show. Shame the football had to start and ruin it all.
27-12-2023, 11:38 PM
It was very cold
It really wasn’t that cold at all tonight.
Two sets of fans singing the same songs to the same beat.
Pre-match was good. I enjoyed the fireworks and light show. Shame the football had to start and ruin it all.
That was actually class.
In terms of atmosphere I could be wrong. But it sounded like both sets of fans were singing the same song or one point? Obviously ever so slightly tweaked lyrics.
27-12-2023, 11:42 PM
Atmosphere was crap. The way we play doesn’t help.
On the odd occasion we tried to play a bit quicker or got after them to try and win the ball back, the crowd got up. But then we’d just revert to wandering around and/or giving the ball away cheaply and it would fall flat again.
27-12-2023, 11:43 PM
Not that I’m complaining but I can’t even remember Hearts singing their pish song tonight??
27-12-2023, 11:51 PM
It was very cold
Eh
We're you watching in Antarctica
27-12-2023, 11:55 PM
Was 5 degrees when I jumped into my car in the 95th minute
LewysGot2
27-12-2023, 11:56 PM
Not that I’m complaining but I can’t even remember Hearts singing their pish song tonight??
Which one? 😀
Seriously though, the identikit Ultra stuff was really evident tonight. Two sets of fans singing the same songs just tweaked. It's bizarre stuff. Hibs, Hibs Glorious Hibs and Glory, glory to the Gorgie Gonads...it might as well be...
27-12-2023, 11:56 PM
Was 5 degrees when I jumped into my car in the 95th minute
It was 3 degrees in our car but that’s hits from the 70’s for you.
28-12-2023, 12:01 AM
Which one? 😀
Seriously though, the identikit Ultra stuff was really evident tonight. Two sets of fans singing the same songs just tweaked. It's bizarre stuff. Hibs, Hibs Glorious Hibs and Glory, glory to the Gorgie Gonads...it might as well be...
Hopefully this stuff will disappear. It’s so much better having the colours and songs from each team. It’s a fad that will hopefully quickly go. 🇳🇬👍
28-12-2023, 12:20 AM
Roll on FF singing section.
28-12-2023, 12:28 AM
Aye, but who's getting allowed in? Our B7 cheerleaders and their missile-chucking hingers oan shouldn't be near it.
28-12-2023, 12:46 AM
The missed pen knocked the stuffing out the crowd as we've seen it all before. Felt like we had conceded.
Don't think the crowd got back up to that level from the start of the match all game. And the quality on the pitch was awful we were not playing much football.
Stokesy's on fire
28-12-2023, 12:53 AM
Two sets of fans singing the same songs to the same beat.
Crap songs/chants at that.
28-12-2023, 01:37 AM
Aye, but who's getting allowed in? Our B7 cheerleaders and their missile-chucking hingers oan shouldn't be near it.
Who cares has to be better than tonight.
CathroMustStay
28-12-2023, 01:41 AM
It was very cold
I've heard some lame excuses for bad derby atmospheres in the past, but that takes the tunnocks teacake.
andyf5
28-12-2023, 05:31 AM
Not a fan of B7 - I hate some of their Derby songs, the drummer is rubbish compared to previous folk and chucking stuff at players is not on. Ten years ago the singing section used to be the only entertainment at a game and got the whole stadium going but not now.
28-12-2023, 06:16 AM
Away fans always louder in the derby
Home fans expect a performance and something to cheer about, you heard the lift we took from their missed penalty
We’re so kind we gave the favour right back to them, killed the Hibs atmosphere
28-12-2023, 06:17 AM
The missed pen knocked the stuffing out the crowd as we've seen it all before. Felt like we had conceded.
Don't think the crowd got back up to that level from the start of the match all game. And the quality on the pitch was awful we were not playing much football.
Yep. I thought the atmosphere was decent until the penalty miss.
28-12-2023, 06:21 AM
What seems to have emerged - an apparent over-reliance on a group to generate atmosphere is a collective failure. possibly from the drip-drip of tedium and at times complete dross of sorts over an extended period of crap managers sucked the life out of a long suffering support. And now without a group - any group - there probably would be little to no atmosphere. It’s a bit of a fall from where we were. Recovery I guess starts on the pitch.
28-12-2023, 06:26 AM
The ubiquitous songs being chanted from the FF lower rather than the far end of the east will do nothing to improve atmosphere.
If you want an improved atmosphere you have to make sure Block 7 are nowhere near the new plans for the section. Keep them where they are with their flags and toy drum, and a revived FF lower more heavily populated with genuine fans singing Hibs sings then it might just work.
28-12-2023, 07:43 AM
The game was dreadful, hardly any chances or big tackles etc. Not much for the crowd to get behind
28-12-2023, 07:44 AM
When you have groups in both ends trying to lead the singing but both sing songs that aren't embraced by the wider fanbases then you get an atmosphere like last night. As mentioned above there was a point last night when both groups were singing that tedious 'ooh aah' song at the same time.
The couple of times the Hibs fans got going it was when 'we are Hibernian FC' and 'green and white army' were sung. Likewise with Hearts I only really heard them when that 'we're going to Europe' song was sung. Apart from that it was pretty dead with 2 small groups signing the same songs back at each other. Even our group got bored of that after about 75 minutes.
It wasn't really a game to provoke a natural atmosphere though. Minimal quality and there wasn't even the usual blood and thunder that can help make up for the lack of quality in a derby. I don't even think a section in the FF would have made a difference last night. Hearts ultras group had all congregated together behind the goals in an area that was clearly overcrowded and they provided almost no noise or atmosphere either.
28-12-2023, 07:50 AM
Cannot remember the Hearts fans singing any of their usual party songs might be wrong but a long overdue welcome step in the right direction if true
Fair play to them
WestStandWillie
28-12-2023, 08:02 AM
Dross football breeds dross atmosphere.
Bushiri, Fish and Levitt making pretty triangles for large periods of time was always gonna kill the atmosphere. Insipid keek
28-12-2023, 08:13 AM
It was terrible. Just a general malaise from the crowd especially noticeable in the last ten mins when we actually passed the ball forward there was zero encouragement from the crowd.
ThisIsTheYear
28-12-2023, 08:26 AM
I thought there was a really good turnout by our fans. Atmosphere was good up to we missed our pen. Fine margins last night, game could have went either way
JammyDoidger
28-12-2023, 09:00 AM
When all we are doing is mucking about with the ball and generally slowing the game down it's hard for the fans to get going.
Stokesy's on fire
28-12-2023, 09:02 AM
One of the worst atmospheres at a derby in recent times
28-12-2023, 09:16 AM
Disco lights though
28-12-2023, 09:26 AM
Disco lights though The atmosphere was building nicely but the flames and lights stopped it
28-12-2023, 09:34 AM
Our penalty missed knocked the stuffing out of the atmosphere.
Anyone else speak to Chris Sutton who was in the West Upper concourse pre match.
Helensburghhibs
28-12-2023, 04:50 PM
Ultras only create an atmosphere in their own head. I'm sure it was bouncing in the 10 rows they occupied but give me the top of section 43 any time
28-12-2023, 05:05 PM
Ultras only create an atmosphere in their own head. I'm sure it was bouncing in the 10 rows they occupied but give me the top of section 43 any time
The bit where they were singing the same song as their gimpy wee Hearts counterparts was a laugh though
Seen they were all head to toe in the green they encouraged the rest of us to wear though!
28-12-2023, 05:08 PM
Anyone else speak to Chris Sutton who was in the West Upper concourse pre match.
That's not a great endorsement of our support. It was only 15 minutes in and we weren't behind, they'd also missed a penalty. If that scenario is enough to knock the stuffing out the atmosphere we really aren't a good support.
28-12-2023, 05:14 PM
I had a great chat with Kris Boyd pre-match 😊 obviously a panto villain around ER but he’s a thoroughly decent guy and wished Hibs luck 👍 some very good and valid views on the standard of the league against money clubs spent too.
HendoDelivered
28-12-2023, 05:21 PM
If folk are blaming the cold for the lack of atmosphere, we’re as well chucking it 🤣
Atmosphere was pretty ass but it was down to how we were playing IMO, we were flat and not anywhere near at it or on the front foot to get the crowd on side.
28-12-2023, 05:27 PM
That was as poor an atmosphere i've witnessed at a derby in 30 years, couldnt make out any of the songs the young team were singing, and only knew a few of the old ones that came from the other parts of the ground.
PS i did think it was cold.
FastEddieFelson
28-12-2023, 05:32 PM
Last night reminded me a lot of a derby under Lennon when Olly Lee scored a screamer for them and we couldn't equalize. Christmas period, away end doing the singing, ***** 1-0 defeat. Whittaker hit the post and the ball ran right across the goal line before going out for a goal kick.
28-12-2023, 05:41 PM
Just wait till the B50+, aka The Miserable Old Gits group, takes off.
We'll raise the roof with the noise from our sweetie packets and the synchronized moaning.
PHeffernan
29-12-2023, 02:26 AM
Just wait till the B50+, aka The Miserable Old Gits group, takes off.
We'll raise the roof with the noise from our sweetie packets and the synchronized moaning.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pedAc8rQimw
29-12-2023, 06:22 AM
Atmosphere a reflection of our current style of play - flat & bored.
29-12-2023, 08:54 AM
The atmosphere would be there if we weren't playing ponderous walking football and were able to pass to a teammate. When they missed their penalty the place was bouncing. It was almost as if we'd scored (hard to believe I know). Soon as we missed ours it cut the atmosphere completely and the players didn't to anything to raise the excitement. Abysmal performances result in poor atmospheres.
29-12-2023, 08:59 AM
The atmosphere would be there if we weren't playing ponderous walking football and were able to pass to a teammate. When they missed their penalty the place was bouncing. It was almost as if we'd scored (hard to believe I know). Soon as we missed ours it cut the atmosphere completely and the players didn't to anything to raise the excitement. Abysmal performances result in poor atmospheres.
So instead of "we'll support you ever more" maybe we should change it to "we'll support you, but only if you don't miss a penalty and are playing good football".
Might not go with the chant right enough.
29-12-2023, 09:04 AM
Walking into the East concourse i had never seen such a high percentage of fans who looked clearly worse for wear. Lots of middle aged folk like me staggering about steaming, plus the young team openly taking lines in the bogs. But for a Xmas time night game the atmosphere was more like a lunchtime kickoff. Weird. Its almost like cocaine and booze doesnt work.
29-12-2023, 09:24 AM
Walking into the East concourse i had never seen such a high percentage of fans who looked clearly worse for wear. Lots of middle aged folk like me staggering about steaming, plus the young team openly taking lines in the bogs. But for a Xmas time night game the atmosphere was more like a lunchtime kickoff. Weird. Its almost like cocaine and booze doesnt work.
There was a guy along from me who was so out of it I'm not even convinced he knew where he was. I've never seen him before and most of the folk round me are ST holders who are there every week so I'm just hoping he hasn't bought a half ST. He was just randomly bellowing out every few minutes. 'Shankland yer a Rangers ****', 'Beaton SFA corrupt *******', 'we are the boys in green' and 'ah'll do what I want' were the regular favourites before his head would fall into his chest for a few minutes then he'd start awake and give us another few words of wisdom. He disappeared at HT and I thought he was gone but about 5 minutes into the 2nd half I spotted him walking all the way along a row about 5 behind us and arguing with someone saying they were in his seat before staggering down the stairs and back into our row. His evening culminated in an attempt to smash a seat when Hearts scored.
I like a drink as much as anyone and have been well gone at a few games, Aston Villa away this season being a notable example, but this was another level. I've seen enough people under the influence of coke and alcohol at the same time down the years to recognise it and this guy was more than a couple of grams deep.
29-12-2023, 10:24 AM
Guy sat next to us for the first 45
Chatted absolute bollocks and thought he was pep
Didn’t come back for second half
Lucky him I guess
Greenio
29-12-2023, 11:02 AM
Not on the atmosphere as such, but on HibsTV you could see a fair few Hearts fans had ripped the seats off and were wheeling them up above their heads when they grabbed the winner...intentionally sounding bitter, are they pricks made to pay for that?
29-12-2023, 12:01 PM
Not on the atmosphere as such, but on HibsTV you could see a fair few Hearts fans had ripped the seats off and were wheeling them up above their heads when they grabbed the winner...intentionally sounding bitter, are they pricks made to pay for that?
Hearts will pay for the damage just like Hibs have to do when our support does the same at Tynecastle.
29-12-2023, 12:06 PM
Away fans always louder in the derby
Home fans expect a performance and something to cheer about, you heard the lift we took from their missed penalty
We’re so kind we gave the favour right back to them, killed the Hibs atmosphere
Unfortunately our support gets the wind knocked out of them all too easily in derbies. I get what you are saying that our missed penalty took the wind out our sails a bit, but it was all still there to play for and I was a little disappointed at how quiet we were after that - sitting on our hands for the most part while their lot cheered wildly at wining a throw in the attacking half.
I get that it's like deja vu but that's only in retrospect - we were well in the game for 92 minutes and the team deserved more vociferous backing and less nervousness from the fans. NB - it would maybe help if B7 sung more songs we know rather than always the generic pish that's all the rage these days.
29-12-2023, 12:16 PM
Unfortunately our support gets the wind knocked out of them all too easily in derbies. I get what you are saying that our missed penalty took the wind out our sails a bit, but it was all still there to play for and I was a little disappointed at how quiet we were after that - sitting on our hands for the most part while their lot cheered wildly at wining a throw in the attacking half.
I get that it's like deja vu but that's only in retrospect - we were well in the game for 92 minutes and the team deserved more vociferous backing and less nervousness from the fans. NB - it would maybe help if B7 sung more songs we know rather than always the generic pish that's all the rage these days.
Think it works both ways in that we deserved, IMO, a bit more energy and desire to go and try and win a game that was there to be won. Personally, I just found it really frustrating in the second half when I thought we showed a real lack of intent and we’re so slow in our play.
HendoDelivered
29-12-2023, 12:36 PM
There was a guy along from me who was so out of it I'm not even convinced he knew where he was. I've never seen him before and most of the folk round me are ST holders who are there every week so I'm just hoping he hasn't bought a half ST. He was just randomly bellowing out every few minutes. 'Shankland yer a Rangers ****', 'Beaton SFA corrupt *******', 'we are the boys in green' and 'ah'll do what I want' were the regular favourites before his head would fall into his chest for a few minutes then he'd start awake and give us another few words of wisdom. He disappeared at HT and I thought he was gone but about 5 minutes into the 2nd half I spotted him walking all the way along a row about 5 behind us and arguing with someone saying they were in his seat before staggering down the stairs and back into our row. His evening culminated in an attempt to smash a seat when Hearts scored.
I like a drink as much as anyone and have been well gone at a few games, Aston Villa away this season being a notable example, but this was another level. I've seen enough people under the influence of coke and alcohol at the same time down the years to recognise it and this guy was more than a couple of grams deep.
Jeezo, that’s terrifying behaviour man 🤣🤢
29-12-2023, 06:02 PM
It was 3 degrees in our car but that’s hits from the 70’s for you.
😂😂
29-12-2023, 06:35 PM
I’m a firm believer in the way you start in the big games gets the fans right on side
Hearts won a corner is 10 seconds
Kind of set the tone
The real lack of desire, attacking impetus from us in the second half meant no real momentum
The game itself was ugly.
29-12-2023, 07:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pedAc8rQimw
He's already joined
29-12-2023, 08:06 PM
Hearts will pay for the damage just like Hibs have to do when our support does the same at Tynecastle.
I was told during a tour of ER we fix/pay for the damage ourselves.
Bridge hibs
29-12-2023, 08:11 PM
Hope this hearts prick gets a chap on the door and a swift boot to his baw 27551
29-12-2023, 08:19 PM
Hope this hearts prick gets a chap on the door and a swift boot to his baw 27551
Someone needs to step up and play the Lee Wallace role here :agree:
Bridge hibs
29-12-2023, 08:31 PM
Someone needs to step up and play the Lee Wallace role here :agree:
Anne Budget will probably ask him for that seat so she can paint it pink and stick it beside the dining room chair in the hearts dug oot, ****ing tramps
29-12-2023, 09:14 PM
Anne Budget will probably ask him for that seat so she can paint it pink and stick it beside the dining room chair in the hearts dug oot, ****ing tramps
You may mock, but ultimately it’s another another small step closer to 20,000. Who’ll be laughing then?
CB Hibs 68
29-12-2023, 09:50 PM
Old guy who used to stand in the cave.Atmosphere was worst I can remember for what is a new years derby.Give the guys who want to generate an atmosphere the chance.Can’t stand hearts out siinging us .We are and always have been better than that mob
Chorley Hibee
30-12-2023, 06:51 AM
Nothing will happen, just like nothing happened with the guy who assaulted our player last season.
30-12-2023, 08:45 AM
Can't see the police getting involved for holding a seat up. He could just say it wasn't him who broke it it(and it might not have been).
Bridge hibs
30-12-2023, 09:25 AM
Can't see the police getting involved for holding a seat up. He could just say it wasn't him who broke it it(and it might not have been).Yep and if hibs have cctv then surely it wouldnt be difficult to find out either way
He is still a hearts prick though 👍
Thought light show would have been better if they had turned off the other ones off tho.. looked smart tho
30-12-2023, 11:07 PM
Thought light show would have been better if they had turned off the other ones off tho.. looked smart tho
I’m actually incensed they didn’t change colour, even my kitchen lights are better! 😂😂
30-12-2023, 11:23 PM
I’m actually incensed they didn’t change colour, even my kitchen lights are better! 😂😂
Nah, I thought it was actually really impressive. That and the fire stuff. Really seemed like a quality product you'd see at top sporting events.
Then the result happened.
31-12-2023, 11:28 AM
Nah, I thought it was actually really impressive. That and the fire stuff. Really seemed like a quality product you'd see at top sporting events.
Not interested in all that pish, just wish we had a quality product on the pitch.
02-01-2024, 05:13 PM
Yeah I actually enjoyed the pre-match stuff too. Works well.
The result happened and so did my cheeseburger and pizza while we’re having a moan.
02-01-2024, 05:26 PM
Rather more effort was put in winning games than all this pre match guff
02-01-2024, 05:31 PM
Rather more effort was put in winning games than all this pre match guff
While results and performances are frustrating, I don’t think it’s one or the other.
Unless Levitt and Youan are lighting the fires and playing the tunes.
02-01-2024, 05:55 PM
While results and performances are frustrating, I don’t think it’s one or the other.
Unless Levitt and Youan are lighting the fires and playing the tunes.
Elie on the light switch I’ve heard.