View Full Version : Get him and his boring anti-football so far tae f***!

AL-Qaholik
27-12-2023, 09:00 PM
Mind-numbing tedium, no fight, no flair, no passion.

Take Kensell with you.

Pathetic.

one day maybe...
27-12-2023, 09:05 PM
Nothing wrong with the way he wants to play. But Sometimes you’ve just gotta dig deep, blood, snotters, team mates.. Sometimes you’ve gotta play the team. Undone by a long ball at the end of the game. You score goals deep in your opponents half., Mugged in the end but it’s not the first time sadly

supermcginn
27-12-2023, 09:05 PM
It is dire, maybe with his own players it might be better but it's as boring as it gets.

Greenworld
27-12-2023, 09:13 PM

Take Kensell with you.

Pathetic.God almighty what a load of rubbish

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

percy veer
27-12-2023, 09:20 PM
Can't shoot won't shoot, no sure what they are doing in training, give me a half fit Shankland over any of them every day of the week

27-12-2023, 09:22 PM
So the issue is either our attempt to play total football or now, apparently, anti football. I think the knee jerkers want to get their messaging lined up before they paint their picket signs.

27-12-2023, 09:22 PM
I think the way Montgomery wants us to play would be fine if we could do it more slickly. We are trying to play football but seem to need several seconds to think about what’s next. We have exceptional pace in the side and somehow don’t use it. Got to stop playing in slow motion.

JammyDoidger
27-12-2023, 09:24 PM
Pass pass pass, then just hoof it anyway, it's a wild style of play like, too many passes aswell, 3 and 4 passes instead of just switching it early when it's on.

27-12-2023, 09:26 PM
To be fair, if we sacked the manager after the first derby loss every time we might win a couple.

27-12-2023, 09:29 PM
Pass pass pass, then just hoof it anyway, it's a wild style of play like, too many passes aswell, 3 and 4 passes instead of just switching it early when it's on.

It’s like watching Fenlon’s tactics again. Passing for the sake of passing

VoltaireHibs
27-12-2023, 09:29 PM
So the issue is either our attempt to play total football or now, apparently, anti football. I think the knee jerkers want to get their messaging lined up before they paint their picket signs.

In fairness, folk can only comment on what they see and have paid good money to see. At the moment it is not great. I'm not an NM out type, he deserves a transfer window or two, but he's like any other manager, he'll live and die by his results. Let's see what the transfer window brings. A new CD, playmaker and if at all possible bring big Kukyarevich back on loan. He's work well in this team I think.

Silky
27-12-2023, 09:32 PM

Take Kensell with you.

Pathetic.

He's just lost a match. **** me, he's no had us relegated!

27-12-2023, 09:33 PM

Its not knee jerk after 44 years of Derby embarassment. Yet another manager with a loser derby mentality.

VoltaireHibs
27-12-2023, 09:33 PM
It’s like watching Fenlon’s tactics again. Passing for the sake of passing

I'd say this style of football will never work in the SPL. Too many teams happy to cede all possession and challenge you to score. Weirdly, against the uglies and Hearts/Aberdeen is where it really should work, so I'm failing to see the upside currently. I think that, aside from Lucerne, our best performance this season was up at Aberdeen, under Sir David.

The Captain....
27-12-2023, 09:35 PM
I don't think there's a style of play this squad are capable of playing to be brutally honest.. They are *****...can't finish teams off, give the ball away cheaply and consistently make a game defining error at the back. We keep changing the manager but the same problems remain..slow in possession, can't find a final ball, midfield non existent.

Sick of the sight of these players.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

27-12-2023, 09:36 PM
We are sitting Deep and ball not going forward quick enough Vente
Coming into his own half to look for the ball is unbelievable

scuttle
27-12-2023, 09:44 PM
he's just lost a match. **** me, he's no had us relegated!

yet

27-12-2023, 09:44 PM
I’m not going to lie I want NM to do well. However I believe that he seems to be a one trick pony and is setting us up the same way every week.

Genuinely what is our plan B when plan A doesn’t work? We need to either get players in who can play his formation or at least make us better at it.

We are so slow and allow teams time to regroup and dig in against us. You know it’s all wrong when our main striker spends more time in midfield than up front.

Every time we have a great home support we don’t win. The reality is we aren't very good this season doesn’t matter how much we think we are.

27-12-2023, 09:45 PM
Vente needs to do more.

We can blame him dropping a bit deeper at times, but his overall play needs to be far far better

Paulie Walnuts
27-12-2023, 09:47 PM
Vente needs to do more.

We can blame him dropping a bit deeper at times, but his overall play needs to be far far better

If he’s dropping that deep without being told to then he should be dropped. If that’s how the manager is telling him to play then it’s a ridiculous decision.

I’ve seen loads of posts on here claiming that you can absolutely see what NM is trying to get us to do, but I can’t. I have absolutely no idea what he’s wanting to get out of Levitt, Vente, Boyle or Youan and no idea why he thinks leaving Newell outnumbered in CM is a good decision.

Alarm bells are really ringing for me. His football has absolutely butchered the performances of pretty much all our best players.

27-12-2023, 09:48 PM
Can we go back to the McGinn days of being unbeaten in 10 ASAP

Chorley Hibee
I don't think there's a style of play this squad are capable of playing to be brutally honest.. They are *****...can't finish teams off, give the ball away cheaply and consistently make a game defining error at the back. We keep changing the manager but the same problems remain..slow in possession, can't find a final ball, midfield non existent.

Sick of the sight of these players.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

This ☝️

There'll be someone along soon to tell you how good a squad we've got and how this squad can finish third though.

Delusion doesn't even cover it.

I'm pro-football I hate anti-football

VoltaireHibs
Vente needs to do more.

He's a poacher being asked to play as a focal point. It's not his fault. Laddie runs himself into the ground but we need a Kukyareyvych type, or the actual man himself.

CB Hibs 68
27-12-2023, 09:52 PM
Vente needs to do more.

For me the issue with Vente is that the way we are teed up doesn’t lend itself to him being in the box enough.Looked at his goals record in Holland and he was a regular scorer.He can put the ball in the net but this current system doesn’t suit him.Come to that who exactly does it suit.?

27-12-2023, 09:57 PM
Must be a full moon tonight…

27-12-2023, 09:57 PM
I'm pro-football I hate anti-football

I prefer uncle football

Mcbizz1998
27-12-2023, 09:59 PM
Shut up you slavering old tit! 😂😂

27-12-2023, 10:03 PM
Had it been Boyle that scored instead of Shankland, then many of these comments would not have appeared…and indeed been positive ones.

Pardon me if I don’t see them as anything other than expected knee jerk reactions to a disappointment.

Keepthefaith
27-12-2023, 10:11 PM
About 90% of the OP's posts are negative. Just loves a defeat

We did ok tonight, even game, didn't deserve to lose. Yeah passing wasn't good enough but hardly anti football. Marshall Was actually quicker with distribution overall and found obita well a few times.

He's proven he can instil a style of play and get spectacular results. Give him at least a transfer window ffs before you try and hound him out!

On that note I'm away, too many negative attention seeking keyboard warriors out tonight, as was to be expected.

Silky
27-12-2023, 10:11 PM
For me the issue with Vente is that the way we are teed up doesn’t lend itself to him being in the box enough.Looked at his goals record in Holland and he was a regular scorer.He can put the ball in the net but this current system doesn’t suit him.Come to that who exactly does it suit.?

I think the issue with Vente is Boyle. He's not a striker and I think him playing up beside Vente is having an effect on him. I think Vente was much better when he was playing beside ALF, a proper striker. With ALF being injured we need another striker in.

27-12-2023, 10:12 PM
I prefer uncle football

Get Uncle Football in, he'll sort it

swin82
27-12-2023, 10:21 PM
442 is killing us!! Overun in the middle of the park and offering nothing up top. Vente is dropping far too deep leaving boyle up top? It’s not working, lucky against Aberdeen and livi, got what we deserved against st johnstone. His tactics and line upis just rinse

swin82
27-12-2023, 10:23 PM
442 is killing us!! Overun in the middle of the park and offering nothing up top. Vente is dropping far too deep leaving boyle up top? It’s not working, lucky against Aberdeen and livi, got what we deserved against st johnstone. His tactics and line ups is just rinse and repeat every game, hopefully he gets the players he wants in the next 2 windows

LewysGot2
27-12-2023, 10:25 PM
I think we need to give Doidge a start v Motherwell. Someone who can hold up the ball,bring others into the game and provide something more physical/different. A foil for a.n.other in a pairing.
More of the same won't cut it.

27-12-2023, 10:27 PM
Can't shoot won't shoot, no sure what they are doing in training, give me a half fit Shankland over any of them every day of the week

Just the 16 shots tonight mind you.

The difference tonight is Vente inexplicably tries to side foot a shot in their box rather than smashing it or going across the keeper. Shankland smashes his top bin.

hibeerealist
27-12-2023, 10:32 PM
About 90% of the OP's posts are negative. Just loves a defeat

We did ok tonight, even game, didn't deserve to lose. Yeah passing wasn't good enough but hardly anti football. Marshall Was actually quicker with distribution overall and found obita well a few times.

He's proven he can instil a style of play and get spectacular results. Give him at least a transfer window ffs before you try and hound him out!

On that note I'm away, too many negative attention seeking keyboard warriors out tonight, as was to be expected.

What were the spectacular results, asking for a friend?

BFG
27-12-2023, 10:34 PM
Ok it was a sore one to take but correct me if I’m wrong but did Hearts not score with the only shot that they had on target in the entire game some people on this thread are unbelievable

27-12-2023, 10:34 PM

The 1-0 defeat to 10 man Aberdeen?

27-12-2023, 10:35 PM
I am getting slightly concerned with Monty now

Points of concern

Will not change formation under any circumstances.
Deems tonight acceptable ‘players couldn’t give any more’
Last 3-4 games - results and performance no where near acceptable.
Style of play.
I’m sure I heard on DTS pod that every team in the league plays 3 central midfielders, we play 2, supposedly. It’s not working
Substitutes, giving doidge 10 mins was criminal any striker needs time to get in the game

Positive points:
Clearly knows his identity he sees fit for us
Still to sign one player
Trying to connect with the fans
Has improved a couple of players since he has came, jair, Rocky

Overall mixed report card but tonight won’t win fans over obviously result and I think lack of urgency from the get go.

27-12-2023, 10:38 PM

I think the poster is talking about Monty at CCM.

27-12-2023, 10:40 PM

Points of concern

Style of play.
I’m sure I heard on DTS pod that every team in the league plays 3 central midfielders, we play 2, supposedly. It’s not working
Substitutes, giving doidge 10 mins was criminal any striker needs time to get in the game

Positive points:
Still to sign one player

Overall mixed report card but tonight won’t win fans over obviously result and I think lack of urgency from the get go.

I thought he ditched the tippy tappy stuff tonight but if it continues going forward I’ll be either staying at home with my season ticket or giving up. That’s not football.

27-12-2023, 10:43 PM

When he won the Australian championship with this style of football against all the odds and teams with significantly higher budgets

27-12-2023, 10:45 PM
Bored at an Edinburgh Derby. First time for everything.

Aye he needs time but the football is absolutely grim due to his insistence on playing that system with players who aren't able to play it.

27-12-2023, 10:47 PM

The difference tonight is Vente inexplicably tries to side foot a shot in their box rather than smashing it or going across the keeper. Shankland smashes his top bin.

Nonsense re Vente - that was a difficult chance, Bobbling ball he did well to get on target. As others/have said we need to create more for him in the box. He does a lot of great work outside the box, not what we need though. Team set up failure.

LewysGot2
27-12-2023, 10:47 PM
Bored at an Edinburgh Derby. First time for everything.

Aye he needs time but the football is absolutely grim due to his insistence on playing that system with players who aren't able to play it.

You can't remember the 80s 🤔😀

27-12-2023, 10:50 PM
Nonsense re Vente - that was a difficult chance, Bobbling ball he did well to get on target. As others/have said we need to create more for him in the box. He does a lot of great work outside the box, not what we need though. Team set up failure.

Not nonsense at all. I expect my striker to be scoring from there regardless of a slight bobble. Does well to get it on target, he’s in their box and is a professional footballer.

Keepthefaith
27-12-2023, 10:52 PM

When he won the A league with CCM on a shoestring budget, playing attacking football and bringing on youth. You can let your friend know 😋

27-12-2023, 10:52 PM
You can't remember the 80s 🤔😀

Was mostly raging then (not always through the drink!)

#2 Double Tap
27-12-2023, 10:54 PM
When he won the A league with CCM on a shoestring budget, playing attacking football and bringing on youth. You can let your friend know 😋

the standard of the league counts for something though, would we get all over excited if a manager won the championship here?

Exuberance1875
27-12-2023, 10:54 PM
I’m no sure what emptying a manager at this stage solves, absolutely needs a window. Results and performances need to improve.

If Lee Johnson got over a season, then he gets loads more time for me

27-12-2023, 10:56 PM
the standard of the league counts for something though, would we get all over excited if a manager won the championship here?

We certainly got pretty excited when our own manager didn’t.

For the “standard”, several players on both sides tonight are literally from that league.

Montgomery had a full season of relative averageness before the league title winning season during which his style and players all bedded in.

MAYBE for once we should give someone a chance.

27-12-2023, 10:56 PM

I agree with you, I thought he did well to keep it on target but he didn’t have a great game, neither did Shankland until….

#2 Double Tap
27-12-2023, 10:58 PM

For the “standard”, several players on both sides tonight are literally from that league.

and we seem to be saying collectively that our players are the problem.

27-12-2023, 10:59 PM

Jack Ross certainly had plenty admirers after the work he did at St Mirren in the championship.

27-12-2023, 10:59 PM
and we seem to be saying collectively that our players are the problem.

Not necessarily the Australians though. Miller was bloody awful but I think he’s still a decent player.

#2 Double Tap
27-12-2023, 11:01 PM
Not necessarily the Australians though. Miller was bloody awful but I think he’s still a decent player.

he was, and i agree with you ;)

27-12-2023, 11:03 PM

Montgomery had a full season of relative averageness before the league title winning season during which his style and players all bedded in.

MAYBE for once we should give someone a chance.

Agree, but they need to earn that chance. The concern I have is we are getting worse the longer he’s with us not better. Really interested to see who we sign in January.

#2 Double Tap
27-12-2023, 11:04 PM
Jack Ross certainly had plenty admirers after the work he did at St Mirren in the championship.

thats the point tho, look how it turned out for him, from exciting footy in the lower leagues to the dullest pi sh you ever seen.......

mcohibs
27-12-2023, 11:06 PM
Cannot believe how slow we are in possession and how negative. Honestly infuriating. No desire. No drive. Balls back to the keeper. Even when Levitt was subbed with 5 to go, he sauntered off the park. Like we didn’t want to win that game.

27-12-2023, 11:07 PM
Not nonsense at all. I expect my striker to be scoring from there regardless of a slight bobble. Does well to get it on target, he’s in their box and is a professional footballer.

I would say you have never played football at a half decent level. Shankland put the ball over the bar 3 times before he scored I'll say it again - nonsense criticism of Vente.

thats the point tho, look how it turned out for him, from exciting footy in the lower leagues to the dullest pi sh you ever seen.......

3rd place finish into the bargain mind. I’d take that right now, couldn’t give a **** what brand of football it takes.

OsloHibs
It's draining to watch Hibs, I'm getting really bored and finding excuses not to watch. Hopefully next year brings us better days!

27-12-2023, 11:09 PM
I agree with you, I thought he did well to keep it on target but he didn’t have a great game, neither did Shankland until….

27-12-2023, 11:11 PM
I would say you have never played football at a half decent level. Shankland put the ball over the bar 3 times before he scored I'll say it again - nonsense criticism of Vente.

Aye, because I was pish that means Vente did well to get a shot on target. Makes perfect sense. Wait til you watch it back. He has to be scoring.

TrinityHFC
27-12-2023, 11:12 PM
It is dull and as a lot of people have suggested from an early stage, the way we are playing doesn’t suit the good players we do have.

The club will only continue to grow if people want to come and watch. I don’t think our crowds will hold up for too long playing this way.

The Australian league isn’t played at this pace and intensity. He needs to do much more to prove playing this one way every week can work.

27-12-2023, 11:13 PM

I thought the one Vente really should have scored was the one leading to our penalty. I know the boy has blocked it with his hand but when I saw it back at half time, I thought Vente made a bit of a mess of it and it was heading straight at Clark.

I think we need to be seeing more from him for the outlay.

27-12-2023, 11:15 PM

Just watched the highlights and it’s actually worse than I thought it was. Hits it into the ground. Awful effort.

27-12-2023, 11:16 PM
Aye, because I was pish that means Vente did well to get a shot on target. Makes perfect sense. Wait til you watch it back. He has to be scoring.

I've seen it - it wasnt a terrible miss the way you have made out- you should retract that. It was also one of the only things we created for him - there is the problem.

27-12-2023, 11:18 PM
I thought the one Vente really should have scored was the one leading to our penalty. I know the boy has blocked it with his hand but when I saw it back at half time, I thought Vente made a bit of a mess of it and it was heading straight at Clark.

I think we need to be seeing more from him for the outlay.

Havent seen it on tv but thought at the time he should have done better

27-12-2023, 11:20 PM
I've seen it - it wasnt a terrible miss the way you have made out- you should retract that. It was also one of the only things we created for him - there is the problem.

https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1740158116522549425?s=46

1:52 mark. I’ll not be retracting anything about that attempt.

27-12-2023, 11:25 PM
1:52 mark. I’ll not be retracting anything about that attempt.[/QUOTE]

Honestly no idea how you are coming to that conclusion. Clear you havent played football.

27-12-2023, 11:28 PM
Just watched the highlights and it’s actually worse than I thought it was. Hits it into the ground. Awful effort.

I’ve not had the guts to watch the highlights yet. 🥲

27-12-2023, 11:29 PM
1:52 mark. I’ll not be retracting anything about that attempt.

Honestly no idea how you are coming to that conclusion. Clear you havent played football.[/QUOTE]

What a ridiculous comment. Guessing Sutton, a striker with plenty goals hasn’t played football and doesn’t have a clue either.

27-12-2023, 11:31 PM
Honestly no idea how you are coming to that conclusion. Clear you havent played football.

What a ridiculous comment. Guessing Sutton, a striker with plenty goals hasn’t played football and doesn’t have a clue either.[/QUOTE]

Wtf does that mean?

mcohibs
27-12-2023, 11:33 PM

‘Has to be scoring’ is an awful take.

JJP
27-12-2023, 11:34 PM
Just had a look at the league table and it looks like we are well on our way into the bottom 6. The board have shown on a number of occasions that won't be tolerated for long. 6 wins from 19 games so far this season (15 of which have been under the current manager's watch) is pathetic. Money was spent in the summer and I don't think this is what the club had in mind.

27-12-2023, 11:34 PM
What a ridiculous comment. Guessing Sutton, a striker with plenty goals hasn’t played football and doesn’t have a clue either.

Wtf does that mean?[/QUOTE]

Sutton said in the video I posted it was a tame effort from Vente. And it absolutely was. My original statement was Vente side footed it. Tame. Shankland hit his top bins.

My second point is Vente should score.

27-12-2023, 11:35 PM
‘Has to be scoring’ is an awful take.

You don’t think our striker has to be scoring in that situation? Mental

27-12-2023, 11:40 PM
It’s far too early to be talking about sacking the manager, IMHO. I can see what he’s trying to do; I’m just not sure we have the players to do it. Patient build up play requires technical excellence and game intelligence, which isn’t easy in the SPL.

27-12-2023, 11:41 PM
With a bit more composure, the Vente chance should really be put back across the goal, he simply just got it on target and the goalie made a straight forward save. In his defence, he's been played as a midfielder so probably wasn't up to speed as he should have been had he been played as he should be. Play the boy up front and give him several of those chances a game and he'll score.

mcohibs
27-12-2023, 11:42 PM
You don’t think our striker has to be scoring in that situation? Mental

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231228/21a417ba52d12dc133c1bf0e8e545240.jpg

You think he ‘has to be scoring’ from here where a defender is blocking the right side of the goal, and the ball is coming across his body? He actually does well to steer the ball further left and get height on the shot, which is the best thing he could’ve done. Keeper saves it. If you think that’s a clear goal scoring opportunity you’re miles off it.

27-12-2023, 11:43 PM
Just had a look at the league table and it looks like we are well on our way into the bottom 6. The board have shown on a number of occasions that won't be tolerated for long. 6 wins from 19 games so far this season (15 of which have been under the current manager's watch) is pathetic. Money was spent in the summer and I don't think this is what the club had in mind.

We’re struggling to score and giving away cheap goals now. Hard to argue we don’t deserve to be bottom 6.

Points of concern

Style of play.

Positive points:
Still to sign one player

Tbf I’m in his camp.

The players gave their all physically. Boyle who was poor throughout ran himself in to the ground, likewise Vente, Levitt and Miller.
The 4-4-2 we play is not really a 4-4-2 when Vente is dropping in so much.
My criticism of the manager is the same as you; giving Doidge the 10 or so mins he got was poor. I’d have had him on a lot sooner.

You think he ‘has to be scoring’ from here where a defender is blocking the right side of the goal, and the ball is coming across his body? He actually does well to steer the ball further left and get height on the shot, which is the best thing he could’ve done. Keeper saves it. If you think that’s a clear goal scoring opportunity you’re miles off it.

It's obviously a "clear goal scoring opportunity"!

I absolutely think he has to be scoring from there, aye. Watch the replay, not a still frame

27-12-2023, 11:53 PM
I absolutely think he has to be scoring from there, aye. Watch the replay, not a still frame

At the game the guy next to me said he should have scored but I actually thought he done a reasonable job of getting on target. Either way iit wasn’t a great chance but I’m not making excuses for his performance either.

MikeyS
27-12-2023, 11:57 PM

16 shots!!! Stop playing FIFA mate. We had 4 if you are lucky

27-12-2023, 11:58 PM
At the game the guy next to me said he should have scored but I actually thought he done a reasonable job of getting on target. Either way iit wasn’t a great chance but I’m not making excuses for his performance either.

I like Vente. Don’t think we play to his strengths but he grafts, has plenty of assists and a few goals. I think he’s clearly a good player.

Just expect him to be burying that chance. I’m sure if you were to ask him he’d say the same.

mcohibs
27-12-2023, 11:59 PM
It's obviously a "clear goal scoring opportunity"!

Hardly a golden chance is it? In a decent game, chances like that are ten a penny. Vente did fine with his effort. Covering defender, keeper moving left to right, ball across his body. Narrow section of goal to aim for. Can’t be judging him on chances like that ffs.

I just dinnae think he’s getting more out of us than we’d have had under Johnson.

There’s definitely improvements in various players, but we’re still ***** to watch and we’re still no picking up enough points.

Can’t be hooped with the “but he’s not had a chance to bring in his own players” chat at all. These are the tools he has. ****ing use them better, it’s *****.

16 shots!!! Stop playing FIFA mate. We had 4 if you are lucky

To be fair the stat surprised me as well. Didn’t think it was anywhere near as many as that.

28-12-2023, 12:01 AM
Hardly a golden chance is it? In a decent game, chances like that are ten a penny. Vente did fine with his effort. Covering defender, keeper moving left to right, ball across his body. Narrow section of goal to aim for. Can’t be judging him on chances like that ffs.

Then what type of chances can you judge a striker on? Just ones where you’re through one on one? One rolling across an empty goal?

What do you think happens if that’s up the other end of the pitch and it’s Shankland in that position?

28-12-2023, 12:05 AM
I just dinnae think he’s getting more out of us than we’d have had under Johnson.

There’s definitely improvements in various players, but we’re still ***** to watch and we’re still no picking up enough points.

Can’t be hooped with the “but he’s not had a chance to bring in his own players” chat at all. These are the tools he has. ****ing use them better, it’s *****.

The thing is, if Johnson wasn’t get enough (which he wasn’t) and now Montgomery isn’t getting enough (which he isn’t) then maybe the tools he has are actually the biggest issue.

I’d like to see him do things differently, the last month has been dreadful performance wise. Up until then there has been some decent stuff. But there are players in that team who I wouldn’t miss one bit of they were to leave tomorrow.

28-12-2023, 12:07 AM
Then what type of chances can you judge a striker on? Just ones where you’re through one on one? One rolling across an empty goal?

What do you think happens if that’s up the other end of the pitch and it’s Shankland in that position?

Shankland has that chance and he puts it across the goalie and scores. Vente should be as clinical, but our formation is working against him.

28-12-2023, 12:08 AM

Correct:agree:

28-12-2023, 12:10 AM
Shankland has that chance and he puts it across the goalie and scores. Vente should be as clinical, but our formation is working against him.

Shankland took his chance brilliantly, it was out of nothing and not deserved but that’s the difference. We’ve not even got a player on the park capable of scoring a free kick.

28-12-2023, 12:14 AM
Shankland took his chance brilliantly, it was out of nothing and not deserved but that’s the difference. We’ve not even got a player on the park capable of scoring a free kick.

I agree about the free kick. We had one about 20 yards out, 2nd half. I said to my mate, do we have anyone who can take this. It was one one that was chipped by Newell into the box, think we got a corner from it. But yeah, we have no threat whatsoever from that kind of situation.

28-12-2023, 12:19 AM
The thing is, if Johnson wasn’t get enough (which he wasn’t) and now Montgomery isn’t getting enough (which he isn’t) then maybe the tools he has are actually the biggest issue.

I’d like to see him do things differently, the last month has been dreadful performance wise. Up until then there has been some decent stuff. But there are players in that team who I wouldn’t miss one bit of they were to leave tomorrow.

The players we have aren’t world beaters, but they don’t have to be at this level.

Other than Shankland I don’t see that they’re at a better level of player than us. They’re getting results though. We’re just playing

We’ve got, for this level, great attacking options, but we create so few good chances. A better manager changes that, in my opinion. I love Martin Boyle, but it’s just ***** playing him there. He’s offering nothing and him and Vente aren’t a partnership that works.

BS44
28-12-2023, 12:20 AM
We're really really poor xxx

28-12-2023, 12:21 AM
He’ll get time. He’ll get the window to do what he thinks he needs to do.

But it needs to be so much better than we’re seeing at the moment. 700k striker and we’re lumping balls in behind for Boyle. Deary me.

28-12-2023, 12:22 AM
I agree about the free kick. We had one about 20 yards out, 2nd half. I said to my mate, do we have anyone who can take this. It was one one that was chipped by Newell into the box, think we got a corner from it. But yeah, we have no threat whatsoever from that kind of situation.

3 players over the free kick and we were saying “who should pass it back to Marshall” 😂. There was no player on the park that had confidence to shoot at goal, Ridiculous TBH

28-12-2023, 12:26 AM
3 players over the free kick and we were saying “who should pass it back to Marshall” 😂. There was no player on the park that had confidence to shoot at goal, Ridiculous TBH

Oh for a Griffiths, Riordan, ffs, even Stevie Mallan. Someone who can put in a good delivery from a free kick.

Chorley Hibee
28-12-2023, 12:31 AM

Once again, the mindset of the players absolutely stinks, and particularly so in this fixture.

No one prepared to go that extra yard, just safe and slow at all times.

The club is still full of losers.

Stokesy's on fire
28-12-2023, 02:03 AM
Ok it was a sore one to take but correct me if I’m wrong but did Hearts not score with the only shot that they had on target in the entire game some people on this thread are unbelievable

Hearts got the job done we didnt. Hibs were shocking

TheGog
28-12-2023, 03:05 AM
My take on things is…

Johnson left we were 2nd bottom if I remember correct. If we weren’t we were 3rd bottom.

Monty has come in, steady the ship. Improved the team moral. Marshall is a far better player, Tavares far better. He’s not had a window yet we are being very harsh on him. He needs his own players AND TIME!

The only thing that bothers me with him, is how he uses Vente. He’s our marquee signing, our striker. We are 20mins to go needing a goal and he takes off our biggest threat. How he uses him as a work horse and not a penalty box striker is beyond belief. I feel bad for Vente he’s not being utilised in the correct way

mcohibs
28-12-2023, 09:12 AM
Really, really concerned listening to NM’s interview this morning.

‘Can’t fault the boys for their effort, I’ve told them that. They put a lot of effort in.’

‘Thought there was some quality football played.’

Must have been watching a different game to me Nick because that was slow, turgid, passionless ***** last night. Players didn’t look like they wanted to win it. If you can’t have a bit of drive about you at home under the lights in a derby then what change have you got seriously?

28-12-2023, 09:21 AM
The players we have aren’t world beaters, but they don’t have to be at this level.

Other than Shankland I don’t see that they’re at a better level of player than us. They’re getting results though. We’re just playing

We’ve got, for this level, great attacking options, but we create so few good chances. A better manager changes that, in my opinion. I love Martin Boyle, but it’s just ***** playing him there. He’s offering nothing and him and Vente aren’t a partnership that works.

That's just it though - Hearts and Hibs are pretty evenly matched but Shankland made the difference, as he has time after time for them this season.

Both sides aren't great but they have a clinical striker who is likely going to be sold for millions.

Last time we beat them we had a quality striker (Nisbet) that made the difference.

I don't think Monty should be immune from criticism but I genuinely don't know what else he could have done last night. There's been loads of chat about us playing 433 instead of 442 but I'm not convinced it would have made a big difference. LJ played that plenty and look where that took us!

28-12-2023, 09:23 AM

‘Can’t fault the boys for their effort, I’ve told them that. They put a lot of effort in.’

Must have been watching a different game to me Nick because that was slow, turgid, passionless ***** last night. Players didn’t look like they wanted to win it. If you can’t have a bit of drive about you at home under the lights in a derby then what change have you got seriously?

I think we all know by now it’s not Nick Montgomery’s style to be publicly criticising players.

What he says to to the media (and the players for that matter) and what his own personal thoughts are may be two very different things.

The January window will offer a clearer picture of his actual thoughts when we see which players are brought in and who they replace.

mcohibs
28-12-2023, 09:25 AM
Monty has come in, steady the ship. Improved the team moral.

Has he?

Montgomery currently has a worse win % than Lee Johnson. And our performances recently have been anything but steady.

Is blind faith in the face of overwhelming evidence that our formation doesn’t suit our current players a ‘steady ship’?

Does slow, negative, backwards passing football constitute improved team morale? That didn’t look like a team full of confidence last night. No passion, no desire. Players sauntering off the pitch at substitutions. Taking an age to retrieve the ball from dead play when we’ve got a set piece. Brutal.

28-12-2023, 09:41 AM
Has he?

Montgomery currently has a worse win % than Lee Johnson. And our performances recently have been anything but steady.

Is blind faith in the face of overwhelming evidence that our formation doesn’t suit our current players a ‘steady ship’?

Does slow, negative, backwards passing football constitute improved team morale? That didn’t look like a team full of confidence last night. No passion, no desire. Players sauntering off the pitch at substitutions. Taking an age to retrieve the ball from dead play when we’ve got a set piece. Brutal.

There are parallels with Maloney's tenure which can only be worrying, its too early to be taking about replacing him but he is rightly under pressure & scrutiny. Whilst it's not his fault that he's having to work with a relatively expensively assembled squad which is nowhere near good enough, the way he sets the team up to play this 'style' is all his responsibility, and I'm dubious that it will ever be successful.

28-12-2023, 10:06 AM
Had it been Boyle that scored instead of Shankland, then many of these comments would not have appeared…and indeed been positive ones.

Pardon me if I don’t see them as anything other than expected knee jerk reactions to a disappointment.

Absolutely

Skol
28-12-2023, 10:07 AM
Too many people are posting with the hurt of the result. Had the game ended 0-0 or had hibs snatched a late winner the mood would have been very different.

Trinity Hibee
28-12-2023, 10:10 AM
Too many people are posting with the hurt of the result. Had the game ended 0-0 or had hibs snatched a late winner the mood would have been very different.

It would have. Unfortunately an error from Rocky has cost us the game. NM can’t be blamed for that but overall the performance wasn’t good enough in a derby against an average hearts team. His use of the players he has is questionable. He needs a January window to make signings but it feels like 3rd is a write off already which is pretty crap

TrinityHFC
28-12-2023, 10:11 AM

Not really. The same comments about our style of play have been made consistently. We are now losing games too.

The game didn’t end in a draw or a win. We lost.

The last manager got sacked after losing 3 league games in a row. If that’s the standard, and we are awful to watch, then he is quite correctly going to be coming under pressure.

snedzuk
28-12-2023, 10:12 AM
Has he?

Fairly sure it was against St Johnstone that Levitt took an age to get off the pitch when being subbed. It made me think at the time - remember that clip when Raimundo was going berserk at Miller telling him to get up and get back - that was urgency and it seems to have dissipated. Last night I had the thought that these players had been told a draw would be OK.

28-12-2023, 10:12 AM

Think his use of the word some is telling. In that some but not a lot.

28-12-2023, 10:17 AM

Of course but it wasn’t.

Another average Hearts team win after doing little most of the game.

That game was there for the taking.

We are our own worst enemy. 1st goal was massive.

- handball for the penalty for them
- missing a penalty after they miss
- crappy free kicks - just hit it in the wind than fancy ideas
- slow build up - Hearts get full team behind ball 9 out of 10 times.
- some awful corners and attempted headers
- some of the passing was so loose at times
- taking Vente off
- not giving Doidge longer - he’s got 3 goals and 2 assists this season
- playing a shape that doesn’t suit our players

….

Our priority must be to stop leaking goals - while Marshall has improved - his reactions are slower and needs replaced next season. Our back 4 isn’t good enough - Miller could be away - Fish will possibly move end of season and Rocky isn’t good enough. Then we have central midfield which will get Monty sacked if not improved.

28-12-2023, 10:26 AM
I think NM could have an issue on his hands in so much as we are so predictable and I think easy to set up to play against.

Hearts didn’t deserve to win in my opinion but we are seeing too many teams now looking pretty comfortable managing to defend against us.

I feel so sorry for Vente. I could actually understand if the lad wanted to move on. He gets zero service and he is clearly not playing his ‘A’ game under NM. He arrived as a proven goal scorer (at his level) and is now being moulded into a player inferior from his A game.

28-12-2023, 10:40 AM

Disagree. There would have been plenty chat about how pish a game it was, how the system doesn’t work and so on.

There wasn’t much to be positive about last night IMO.

Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2023, 10:41 AM
Disagree. There would have been plenty chat about how pish a game it was, how the system doesn’t work and so on.

There wasn’t much to be positive about last night IMO.

There was plenty chat about it at 0-0 in the match day thread. Loads of people were saying how it was absolutely brutal.

mcohibs
28-12-2023, 10:45 AM
Fairly sure it was against St Johnstone that Levitt took an age to get off the pitch when being subbed. It made me think at the time - remember that clip when Raimundo was going berserk at Miller telling him to get up and get back - that was urgency and it seems to have dissipated. Last night I had the thought that these players had been told a draw would be OK.

It was Levitt again last night. Tip toed off the park on 84 minutes as if we were 1-0 up. Bizarre.

28-12-2023, 10:52 AM
Similar with Ross and Maloney. A lot of people were put off by the style of play under Ross but while the results came it was accepted, when we started losing there was little to no patience. Similar with Maloney in that he had a style, stuck to it without the players to implement it.

It’s a really hard watch under Monty and as plenty of others have said we are not getting the best out of players like Levitt, Vente, Boyle or Youan. Whether it’s formation, style, tactics I don’t care. It’s not working.

I’m still behind him, I’m encouraged by the noises coming out from EM about him, but doesn’t mean he’s immune from criticism. We must sign players in January who are ready to make an immediate impact, no youngsters on loan or players for the future. Hopefully get some of the injured players back to too, our options from the bench currently are horrendous.

28-12-2023, 11:51 AM
Has he?

Said it on another thread that people were/are desperate to find a Hibs manager to love after Johnson. They latched on to Montgomery with blind faith calling him a good manager with zero evidence to back it up other than Tavares improving. That's great but Vente, Boyle, Youan have all regressed hugely under him. It's hard to believe this is the same group if players that dumped Luzern out of Europe or dominated Aberdeen up at Pittodrie under Gray. We aren't finishing top six under this guy. We are the easiest team to play against and every manager has us sussed out. Been blatantly obvious for the last 4/5 games. Awful appointment when there were far better options.

28-12-2023, 11:59 AM
Said it on another thread that people were/are desperate to find a Hibs manager to love after Johnson. They latched on to Montgomery with blind faith calling him a good manager with zero evidence to back it up other than Tavares improving. That's great but Vente, Boyle, Youan have all regressed hugely under him. It's hard to believe this is the same group if players that dumped Luzern out of Europe or dominated Aberdeen up at Pittodrie under Gray. We aren't finishing top six under this guy. We are the easiest team to play against and every manager has us sussed out. Been blatantly obvious for the last 4/5 games. Awful appointment when there were far better options.

It's certainly looking that way, hard to disagree.

28-12-2023, 12:02 PM
Similar with Ross and Maloney. A lot of people were put off by the style of play under Ross but while the results came it was accepted, when we started losing there was little to no patience. Similar with Maloney in that he had a style, stuck to it without the players to implement it.

It’s a really hard watch under Monty and as plenty of others have said we are not getting the best out of players like Levitt, Vente, Boyle or Youan. Whether it’s formation, style, tactics I don’t care. It’s not working.

I’m still behind him, I’m encouraged by the noises coming out from EM about him, but doesn’t mean he’s immune from criticism. We must sign players in January who are ready to make an immediate impact, no youngsters on loan or players for the future. Hopefully get some of the injured players back to too, our options from the bench currently are horrendous.
I think the only injured player who would go straight in is Cadden unless I've forgotten anyone.

Can you share some of the positive noises as I don't hear anything ( positive or negative)

29-12-2023, 03:18 PM

It didnt, and we never, we rarely do.

29-12-2023, 08:01 PM
It's amazing how often we've seen interim managers... people already at the club... get the players playing to their strengths and getting decent results, e.g. David Gray at Aberdeen(2-0), Eddie May at St Johnstone(4-1), etc.

Sometimes I wonder why we don't just give one of them the chance of stepping up, or at least let them take charge for a bit longer to see how it goes.

29-12-2023, 08:06 PM
It's amazing how often we've seen interim managers... people already at the club... get the players playing to their strengths and getting decent results, e.g. David Gray at Aberdeen(2-0), Eddie May at St Johnstone(4-1), etc.

Sometimes I wonder why we don't just give one of them the chance of stepping up, or at least let them take charge for a bit longer to see how it goes.Dont think David gray wanted the job