View Full Version : Derby Weather

Ardenttwo
26-12-2023, 07:59 AM
Weather looking pretty crap for Wednesday night.

Keepthefaith
26-12-2023, 08:05 AM
50/60% chance of rain, 6 degrees and light winds. It's is winter you know! Not sure what else you're expecting 🤣 I'd say it's normal, would rather it wasn't wet but jees how soft have we become?

26-12-2023, 08:36 AM
50/60% chance of rain, 6 degrees and light winds. It's is winter you know! Not sure what else you're expecting 🤣 I'd say it's normal, would rather it wasn't wet but jees how soft have we become?

Light winds?! Looks like I’ll be staying in and catching the game on Sky Sports then.

26-12-2023, 09:28 AM
Light winds?! Looks like I’ll be staying in and catching the game on Sky Sports then.

26-12-2023, 10:34 AM
It’s the torrential rain from 5am til 5pm that is the bigger issue I suspect than conditions at kick off time, although I’d expect the ER pitch to have no issue in withstanding that.

26-12-2023, 11:03 AM
Ehhh it's a school night, think I'll give it a miss.

Tarrahib
26-12-2023, 12:05 PM
Weather looking pretty crap for Wednesday night.
Are you going down on the bus?

Ardenttwo
26-12-2023, 12:27 PM

Train. Staying the night or if seats on the bus I could come back up the road after the game.

26-12-2023, 04:43 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-67823805

26-12-2023, 04:56 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-67823805

Edinburgh not in the yellow warning zone thankfully.

j'adorehibs
26-12-2023, 05:55 PM
wear some clothes , you dont have to be bare chested like some of these football fan types

26-12-2023, 06:07 PM
Get kicked off for that, no?

26-12-2023, 07:01 PM
Get kicked off for that, no?

No. Just a few raised eyebrows.

27-12-2023, 06:05 AM
Wind and lots of rain just now - probably not a day to be playing it out from the back.

27-12-2023, 07:08 AM
Wind and lots of rain just now - probably not a day to be playing it out from the back.

Indeed, has been absolutely hosing it down for the last couple of hours in Lochend.

27-12-2023, 07:24 AM
It's minging out there just now. The cat looked at me with utter disgust when I opened the window for him at 7.30. He's now curled up in bed next to me.

Doesn't seem too cold but wind must be 40mph+ at the moment.

27-12-2023, 07:59 AM
The weather in Fife is vERY BAD

27-12-2023, 08:00 AM
Silly windy at the moment. Which means it’ll “Keep it on the deck football” tonight, you would assume !

skankomcphee
27-12-2023, 08:04 AM
If the rain continues as it is just now (and is forecast to) then I reckon we’ll see a pitch inspection.

27-12-2023, 08:08 AM
It’s honking out there. One grim trip getting to the pub for pre-match pints. Only blessing is the rain is meant to go off later.

27-12-2023, 08:21 AM
If the rain continues as it is just now (and is forecast to) then I reckon we’ll see a pitch inspection.

Don’t think it’s that heavy - it’s just a minging Scottish day - rain - wind - dark outside.

A decent warm jacket - Hat and gloves plus a good pair of warm socks !

27-12-2023, 08:29 AM

Can't see that to be honest. Just wet think meant to be dry kick off time.

Crunchie
27-12-2023, 08:29 AM
Don’t think it’s that heavy - it’s just a minging Scottish day - rain - wind - dark outside.

:agree: It'll be fine by KO. I've been watching some old games from the 70s and 80s the pitches were either mud baths or frozen solid, I wonder how the primma donna footballers of today would cope with those conditions.

27-12-2023, 09:01 AM
:agree: It'll be fine by KO. I've been watching some old games from the 70s and 80s the pitches were either mud baths or frozen solid, I wonder how the primma donna footballers of today would cope with those conditions.

I hope you're right .

Apart from anything else, it would be a financial sore one for the Club if by any chance there was a need to cancel.

27-12-2023, 09:02 AM

Aye remember playing a game and the pitch was so waterlogged in one part of it you had to wear a snorkel 😁

27-12-2023, 09:06 AM
Aye remember playing a game and the pitch was so waterlogged in one part of it you had to wear a snorkel 😁

It would suit the divers in the hearts team.

Bridge hibs
27-12-2023, 09:06 AM

Aye, this is just a wee puddle 😄

27-12-2023, 09:09 AM

Can’t speak for what Edinburgh is like now but was dry when I left my flat at six for work this morning - it has been absolutely pelting down with rain non stop down here in Haddington since I got here

27-12-2023, 09:32 AM
:agree: It'll be fine by KO. I've been watching some old games from the 70s and 80s the pitches were either mud baths or frozen solid, I wonder how the primma donna footballers of today would cope with those conditions.https://youtu.be/mbtVLF8MsY8?si=mCvzoevWACF2icrb
Also there was the George Best dancing on ice game against Rangers.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

27-12-2023, 09:42 AM
Anybody who is heading from the Highlands, maybe give it a miss. Blizzard condition in pitlochry.

27-12-2023, 09:44 AM
How are things in Leith? If they do a pitch inspection I hope to god they do it early.

27-12-2023, 09:49 AM
I've just been down past Lochend and it's fine. Rain is constant but light and wind has died down. Went from there up to my parents at the other side of town and there is a light covering of snow on top of the Pentlands but again rain is all but off and it's pretty calm now.

Game will be in no doubt at all unless there is a real monsoon in the next couple of hours.

Up-the-slope
27-12-2023, 09:51 AM
total blizzard for last 3 hours up here with 40/50mph wind... felled my 20ft Christmas tree and snow piling up ..... wont affect the Derby but I aint going anywhere.

27-12-2023, 09:56 AM
Just left the Hibs shop….Few drips in the air and a bit breezy

27-12-2023, 11:01 AM
A9 closed south of ballinluig. Flooding across both carriageways

27-12-2023, 12:20 PM
Rangers game aff because County can't make it down.

27-12-2023, 12:23 PM

Drove through Ballinluig from Kenmore this morning just before they closed it. Just as well as the Crieff road was blocked with snow. Canny believe how much better the weather is down here.

27-12-2023, 12:26 PM
Weather isn't that bad in Edinburgh now (atleast around Murrayfield). Just like a normal winters day.

27-12-2023, 12:30 PM
They will probably award a 3 nil win to The Rangers then.

AugustaHibs
27-12-2023, 12:31 PM

I think they should in all seriousness.

Weather warnings in place days ago and they decide to travel half the country on the day of the game when they could’ve came down yesterday.

27-12-2023, 12:32 PM

Tin pot from County once again.

It was a beautiful day yesterday and should have travelled down.

Rangers won’t be arsed with the cancelled game as they get more rest before the derby. Less Ross County fans will travel down midweek.

Feels like more cancellations of games than ever before.

hibee
27-12-2023, 12:34 PM

Weather warnings in place days ago and they decide to travel half the country on the day of the game when they could’ve came down yesterday.

What about the supporters?

27-12-2023, 12:41 PM

Rangers won’t be arsed with the cancelled game as they get more rest before the derby.

How many games have been cancelled?

Stubbsy90+2
27-12-2023, 01:01 PM

Generally agree, apart from the severity of the punishment.

A fine should be given imo. Giving up the points seems too heavy handed.

one day maybe...
27-12-2023, 01:19 PM
Won’t suprise me if the Aberdeen is called off shortly. The conditions in and around Aberdeen are extreme to say the least. I’ve postponed coming down to ER as it’s too dangerous to be out in this weather 😩

1875M
27-12-2023, 01:39 PM
Weather not great in Straiton.

snedzuk
27-12-2023, 01:40 PM

All penalties.

27-12-2023, 02:07 PM
All penalties.
🤣🤣🤣

27-12-2023, 02:21 PM
How many games have been cancelled?

Well off the top of my head…

Livingston v Ross County
Dundee v Aberdeen - 50 mins before ko
Ross County v Hibs
Rangers v Ross County
Dundee v Ross County
Aberdeen v Motherwell

Up-the-slope
27-12-2023, 02:45 PM
Drove through Ballinluig from Kenmore this morning just before they closed it. Just as well as the Crieff road was blocked with snow. Canny believe how much better the weather is down here.

:agree: I think people take it your joking when you say weather is bad and they think 50/70 miles... cant be that much worse..

I would need a snowplough to get out to A9 and then a boat to get down it ... currently had no power for 5 hours and just back from cutting fallen trees of the road / forest track to ensure sse can actually get to the power lines whenever we get far enough up the priority.

27-12-2023, 02:50 PM
Certainly very wet here in Kirkcaldy, up the A92 roads flooded and impassable, Cupar, Falkland, Kinross, Auctermuchty virtually cut off take care if travelling in those areas.

27-12-2023, 02:56 PM
Got into town about half hour ago, weather is fine , currently sat in the Alchemist in St James quarter for a pre dinner cocktail

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

27-12-2023, 03:07 PM
Bloody pissing it doon in paisley Torrentisl and not letting up

Crunchie
27-12-2023, 03:07 PM

Rangers won’t be arsed with the cancelled game as they get more rest before the derby.

27-12-2023, 03:17 PM
Aberdeen game now off.

Having seem some pictures from my NE friends earlier today I can't say I'm surprised.

27-12-2023, 03:18 PM
:agree: I think people take it your joking when you say weather is bad and they think 50/70 miles... cant be that much worse..

I would need a snowplough to get out to A9 and then a boat to get down it ... currently had no power for 5 hours and just back from cutting fallen trees of the road / forest track to ensure sse can actually get to the power lines whenever we get far enough up the priority.
Excuses, excuses. Joking aside stay safe that sounds a bit wild.

27-12-2023, 03:25 PM
Aberdeen slating Dundee for late call off then call off a game with only a few hours to go when it could have been called off earlier.

Scottish football really doesn’t help itself at times.

27-12-2023, 03:39 PM
Aberdeen slating Dundee for late call off then call off a game with only a few hours to go when it could have been called off earlier.

Scottish football really doesn’t help itself at times.

It’s been called off 4 hours before the game. Giving it every chance of going ahead

Up-the-slope
27-12-2023, 04:23 PM
Excuses, excuses. Joking aside stay safe that sounds a bit wild.

currently 158 power cut faults in Scotland, so doubt we will be back on before tomorrow..... all those candles that seem to get endlessly purchased now getting put to full use with about 30 lit in various places... just hoping batteries in tech hold up for the match.

27-12-2023, 04:24 PM
It’s been called off 4 hours before the game. Giving it every chance of going ahead

Should have been called off this morning.

Just read the Twitter comments of fans travelling.

Up-the-slope
27-12-2023, 04:46 PM

https://www.facebook.com/groups/551303978385712/posts/2511400559042701/

looks like a boating lake

27-12-2023, 04:54 PM
Think there will be quite a few empty seats tonight.

27-12-2023, 04:58 PM
All penalties.

27-12-2023, 05:03 PM
We are attempting to get in.

27-12-2023, 05:18 PM
God it's busy , arrived at 6pm and Butterfly already full, down at Hermitage Park and got the last space.

27-12-2023, 06:06 PM
God it's busy , arrived at 6pm and Butterfly already full, down at Hermitage Park and got the last space.

The tram was really quiet until Haymarket. Much quieter than a normal matchday. Most of those that got on at Haymarket look like it is groups of women that have been out on the piss rather than folk going to the match.

PolmontHibby
27-12-2023, 09:08 PM
Wish it had been bloody called off - now for the long trek home