View Full Version : *** Hibs v Hearts - Official Match Thread ***
HFC93
27-12-2023, 08:56 PM
Why? He's taking us backwards?
Backwards from where exactly?
Torto7
Usual pish they get the breaks. Woeful standard overall and quite frankly dull to watch. I'd give pass marks to Jair and Obita. I can't think of too many others. F Hearts, Xmas, and life, goodnight. :jamboak::bye:
Hate Montgomery. ****ing hopeless
Only because you love Johnson. Get over the fact that LJ has gone.
Give it a ****ing rest, one mistake by a defender and suddenly it's Monty's fault, you are a twisted individual, do you actually support Hibs? Had an agenda since he was made manager, continual hatred towards him.
We were ****ing dire tonight as per. Do you honestly think he's improving us?
one day maybe...
Make them stay out there and suck it up.. Monty you have a lot to learn about football in Scotland..
Two very even teams and unfortunately one of them had a pub team central defender.
That’s just pish. Rocky been very comfortable all game. One mistake doesn’t mean a player is pub team standard.
supermcginn
Can't win derbies without a midfield.
27-12-2023, 08:57 PM
That’s just pish. Rocky been very comfortable all game. One mistake doesn’t mean a player is pub team standard.
Passing was awful too.
So we're worse than under Johnson?
Defenders yes but Hibs have almost zero shots on goal per game - it is amateur
Eh, 15 today.
Coach Jon
You've got it a bit to go before you're any good at trolling.
I am serious.
3 from 3 defeats in the league for Johnson. End of story. Now please ****ing leave all of us who can see the wood for the trees alone.
Only because you love Johnson. Get over the fact that LJ has gone.
Johnson was pish. Better than Monty though
27-12-2023, 08:58 PM
We were on top the whole second half and first half was even, our midfield done fine tonight
The luckiest club in the history of Scottish Football.
No club is even close to getting the number of lucky breaks of the ball than Hearts.
Passing was awful too.
Nope. Not true.
Greenio
Horrible to lose. 50/50 game. One mistake, one moment of quality and that's it...home loss to them.
All you doomsayers, Monty out, worst game I've ever seen eejits can spout your usual constant negative pish in my absence
Hate Montgomery. ****ing hopeless
Enjoy your night trolling.
we're still in the top six though :clapper:
Sadly we are a very poor team with by and large very few decent players
Our much vaunted forwards are hugely over rated and we have massively overpaid for all 3 of them
Fish and Bushiri cost us that.
Worst game of football I've watched all season which is something special cause our last two were up there also . Only bit of quality proved to be the difference. If there's any consolation he'll be gone in a couple of weeks time. As for us... never changes. Subs too late again as usual from Monty. That said there's not much on the bench that give you any hope that we've got something else for when plan A fails.
We were crap before. We are now crap and boring.
Hearts had one shot on target- rocky played his part in that
He was absolutely fine
Even the goal he's gotta do better but again it's handball which how can you blame the defender for?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
So we're worse than under Johnson?
Quite a bit worse
Allyg69
Manager hasn’t had the chance to sign a single player btw. Just to provide some context for what will doubtlessly be dozens of absolutely unhinged posts tonight.
He is the one telling them to ****** about with the ball at the back though. Mistake was always coming at some point in my opinion.
1875Sean
He needs a window or 2, how many did your pal LJ have and we were still terrible under him
****ing losers.
Losing faith in monty. Just dont look like scoring these days despite playing 2 up top. Midfield so deep and cant connect to attack. So obvious yet he persists with it. Very frustrating.
Rumble de Thump
27-12-2023, 08:59 PM
Hibs were the better team. Flukey goal. They will keep their gash manager.
Allyg69
We were crap before. We are now crap and boring.
Have to agree.
Enjoy your night trolling.
What is trolling about it? Tell me one thing we are better at under Montgomery?
***** game bar first 20 mins
That goal should never stand though
Shockerooni eh
Totally agree first 20 looked like an actual game of football.
Why should the goal not stand though?
He is the one telling them to ****** about with the ball at the back though. Mistake was always coming at some point in my opinion.
****ing about with the ball didn’t cost us that game. In fact I thought we looked comfortable doing it and managed their press really well.
Manager hasn’t had the chance to sign a single player btw. Just to provide some context for what will doubtlessly be dozens of absolutely unhinged posts tonight.
This. I'm raging tonight but I dont see what else the manager does. Who starts today that the NM didnt select? Do we honestly think going 433 would make a difference?
We just dont have a good enough team.
The money from Foley needs to go straight into the first XI. We also need to be honest about the consistency (or lack of) from guys like Miller, Boyle, Levitt, Vente and Rocky. We have far too many average or inconsistent players, and the bench is rotten.
Let take a step back from the hyperbole. They, maybe, at a push, just edged the first half. We were the better team second, albeit with faults as were they. But as usual, you could put your house on it, they get one half chance/mistake and score. We had 2 or 3 chances to be ahead before it (the 2 pens aside). Just ****ing typical of a Derby, as always 🙄
Hibs were the better team. Flukey goal. They will keep their gash manager.
Just like every other ****ing derby.
27-12-2023, 09:00 PM
He could try something really crazy like playing our best players in their best positions and formation, that might help a bit
Maloney ball part 2
Results.
You only say that as you wanted his babies.
A little better second half but again little to no end product in the final third, could feel a hearts sucker punch.
I felt a draw would have been a fair result, same old Hibs in my era of supporting Hibs Vs Hearts.
If Monty wants to continue playing plan A all the time then he needs a lot of outs to get the ins, unfortunately he won't be giving the time.
Results.
Really?
Better team in the 2nd half but toothless up front, Boyle has regressed this season unfortunately and we still lack creativity in the middle, hopefully this Yank money comes in soon.
Totally agree first 20 looked like an actual game of football.
Why should the goal not stand though?It's a clear handball by shankland, he basically punches the ball forward into his path
Really?
It’s not an opinion, it’s just true.
27-12-2023, 09:01 PM
****** me, the quintessential Edinburgh derby.
Brutal game, late mistake punished to give them a 1-0 win.
They just never seem to have the players who do what Rocky did there and we never seem to have the players who do what Shankland did.
Did sibbick not present us with a goal earlier in the season no?
It'll be a struggle to win any game. Hence since 2016/17 we are garbage.
We played 56 long balls to Hearts’ 67. I hardly think he’s instructing them to ‘**** about with it’.
6 wins by the 27th of December suggests that all is not well. Let's see what the transfer window holds for us.
Seen it all before....2 poor teams, but we're very poor. League position doesn't lie...the likes of killie and those other giants st mirren above us....deary me
A team of journeymen...
Quite a bit worse
You been on the beer all day?
Well used to Hearts beating hibs i'm afraid , They have beat us so many times now i rarely care as i'm used to it
VAR checking i think
goal stands
heartz go home happy
eight points clear of us with several wins on the way for them i'm sure of it
Their darling Shankland will be gone next week. Watch them implode.
27-12-2023, 09:02 PM
It's a clear handball by shankland, he basically punches the ball forward into his path
Didn’t see that bud. I’ll blame the Covid 🤦*♂️ I actually thought we were probably the better of two ***** teams tbh.
Maloney ball part 2
That’s where I’m at… Pathetic.
Worst of it is, barring the pen incident Rocky absolutely strolled it and handled Shankland well
Hearts had one shot on target- rocky played his part in that
He was absolutely fine
Even the goal he's gotta do better but again it's handball which how can you blame the defender for?
Hope you are right, I want to see the goal from different angles to see the handball.
Well used to Hearts beating hibs i'm afraid , They have beat us so many times now i rarely care as i'm used to it
Said that to my kids. An oft trod path.
He could try something really crazy like playing our best players in their best positions and formation, that might help a bit
Which are who and where exactly?
****ing about with the ball didn’t cost us that game. In fact I thought we looked comfortable doing it and managed their press really well.Thought that too, goal was nothing to do with us having possession in our own half
left it until 84 mins to make a change
and even that one was like for like
then again so was the sub on 87 mins, again like for like
allmodcons
Hibs are absolutely brutal to watch.
They never put any team under sustained pressure and haven’t got the players to enforce the system the Manager wants to play.
Having Bushiri play out from the back is just ****ing crazy.
As for losing a goal in stoppage time with a goal kick right through the middle of our defence just don’t get me started.
Same old same old. Too many players who flatter to deceive and a another Manager who looks totally out of his depth.
Chorley Hibee
Another 90 minutes of aimless passing at walking pace, zero support of the player in possesion, almost nothing created, and the usual self inflicted wounds.
Not in the least bit surprised at the outcome.
Season ticket sales will fall off a cliff if this continues, and I can't help but think we'll be on the managerial merry go round soon enough.
I wanted Johnson gone and Maloney before him and Ross before him
Too early for me to have a view on Monty but what we see are the results of signing players for one manager and expecting another to use the properly
Vente is a very pale imitation of the player we first signed
Really?
Johnson drew his first derby (like Monty) then went on to see us scudded 3-0 twice by them. That’s after a full summer transfer window too. More than happy to give this manager a chance to change the squad in January. Johnson only really had us improve once he got that chance last season.
Are people genuinely saying this is better football than under Johnson? Really? Mental
supermcginn
27-12-2023, 09:03 PM
We were on top the whole second half and first half was even, our midfield done fine tonight
Nope, created zero clear cut chances yet again. Everything is fired out wide it's so predictable and pish.
VoltaireHibs
An incredibly poor game won by the one individual on the pitch capable of rising above the crap. Unfortunately.
I have zero idea at this point what Montgomery is trying to do. I'm, sort of, happy to give him a transfer window or two, but there's part of me that says, and I said this elsewhere, take the Foley money, sound out Mowbray and if he's up for it then pay NM off and give Mowbray and McDermott the reins. This is like death by a thousand cuts, asking bang average SPL footballers to play EPL style football. And also, we do not look like a team that is enjoying itself. Zero joy on that pitch excepting maybe Jair.
Typical derby - sadly typical Hibs - just look at shots on goal this season
Hearts were also pish
Comedy of errors
Rocky should never play for Hibs again - he is too slow and not a premier player
Anyway - never mind but we have been flattered by a few goals that were pretty much the only shot/s on target in a match
Hope you are right, I want to see the goal from different angles to see the handball.The only reason the ball falls into shankland path https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231227/503d2443fe07860a31835fbc5f1b7383.jpg
To be honest there’s not much to be gained engaging with you when it comes to Montgomery.
I’d rather engage with those offering constructive criticism. You talk about not understanding the hate Johnson gets yet talk about Johnson in terms of “we’ll be bottom 6 under this joker” and that you “hate Montgomery”.
Enjoy your trolling.
Better team in the 2nd half but toothless up front, Boyle has regressed this season unfortunately and we still lack creativity in the middle, hopefully this Yank money comes in soon.
Boyle far from the player he was before his injury.
27-12-2023, 09:04 PM
Really?
Yep
I dont believe in curses but that is what it feels like. Owners, managers, back room staff and players have come and gone, yet we still have an absolutely shocking record against them. We saw today that they are not a special team. There is something in the mentality of the club that is rotten when we play them.
Which are who and where exactly?
Boyle wide right, Youan wide left, Vente stays in and around the 18 yard line and instead of playing the ball back 729 times we get the ball to Boyle and Youan as quickly as possible and let them run at people, it's really not rocket science
Are people genuinely saying this is better football than under Johnson? Really? Mental
Must have enjoyed the back to back 3-0 defeats then. The polishing you do for Brent is truly baffling, the man will end up getting sacked at Fleetwood before the season is out.
churchie16
This 100 percent like Gary Neville said with utd the other week bored of your own club ,no love no passion for them anymore just an absolute dross club to support/follow let you down every time just move on to the next week crap for decades and will continue to be absolutely crap
1875Sean
27-12-2023, 09:05 PM
Why do you need to keep bringing up Johnson? He’s gone and he was a terrible wee hobbit
Monty will come good if given funds to get his own funds. Johnson will amd always was pish you should go watch Fleetwood rather than troll on here.
VoltaireHibs
Hearts were also pish
Comedy of errors
Rocky should never play for Hibs again - he is too slow and not a premier player
Anyway - never mind but we have been flattered by a few goals that were pretty much the only shot/s on target in a match
Sorry, but Rocky is, imo, our best defender. Yeah he could have done better at the goal, but he's the only guy that can really bring it out of defence. Better players than Rocky have been turned by Shankland, it's not great but it's hardly a disgrace.
The results are.
Any comment or…?
CropleyisGod
Both teams made a lot of errors. Suspect the surface and conditions contributed heavily. Can’t fault players for effort but Vente looked less than sharp and Boyle is far from the player he once was. Not our day.
This proves you're on glue
I've got no issue with the manager tonight. We've seen it a million times before, edged out a tight derby by a mistake from us and a wee bit of quality when it counts from them.
The manager needs players, as it did the previous 3 or 4 managers. Until we help them with that they'll always be up against it and blaming everyone from Jack Ross thru Maloney to Johnson and Montgomery misses the point badly.
We're just short of quality throughout the team and throughout the squad.
There were some grim individual performances out there and the usual ones from big players that fell short of what was required.
Marshall didn't do anything wrong, Fish, Newell, Obita and Jair were decent, questions need to be asked of all the rest imo.
They were pish but were always, ultimately, going to have that little bit more than us when it counted. Their centre halves don't do what Rocky did and if they did, Vente for sure isn't putting it away the way Shankland did.
auldhibby
Results.
Most of the trolls are alleged footballers wearing green .What a feckless clueless abject performance , we are once again on the road to nowhere . We chased about the park like headless chicken , we did not deserve to lose but then again we can always count on idiot - Bushiri , A GIFT THAT KEEPS ON GIVING
The only reason the ball falls into shankland path https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231227/503d2443fe07860a31835fbc5f1b7383.jpg
No VAR. Oh wait, it was Dallas that was VAR.
27-12-2023, 09:06 PM
Aye, everyone apart from you.
Boyle wide right, Youan wide left, Vente stays in and around the 18 yard line and instead of playing the ball back 729 times we get the ball to Boyle and Youan as quickly as possible and let them run at people, it's really not rocket science
Tavares our best attacker today - so the simple solution is to not play him? Sound
left it until 84 mins to make a change, how courageous
and even that one was like for like
then again so was the sub on 87 mins, again like for like
When you look at the bench it’s difficult to suggest much different unfortunately. Youan, on his day, and the youngsters about the extent of the preferable options.
Take of two number 9s. They ken whit they're doing with their main asset, we're doing everything we can to squander ours.
I dont believe in curses but that is what it feels like. Owners, managers, back room staff and players have come and gone, yet we still have an absolutely shocking record against them. We saw today that they are not a special team. There is something in the mentality of the club that is rotten when we play them.
Whole 2nd half I told my son just waiting on their goal. And it came.
I'm 43 and sitting in my house in Prague, not at the game, but knew what was coming.
Sad but now he knows what hibs are all about.
Weak and pathetic.
27-12-2023, 09:07 PM
Gutted at that, was so predictable though.
There's very little to be positive about with this team.
Why do you need to keep bringing up Johnson? He’s gone and he was a terrible wee hobbit
Obviously it's a difficult hobbit to break for some of his fanclub
madbadlad
Hope you are right, I want to see the goal from different angles to see the handball.
Not a handball. Rocky poor in the challenge and Shankland got a lucky break to run in to. Would be nice to sign a defender who can not only defend but also pass a ball accurately.
21 mediocre players on the pitch ….. pity the only top class player was in their team. Neither team deserved to win but when that happens in an Edinburgh derby, the Jambo always get past the line before us.
Chorley Hibee
Maloney ball part 2
Can't argue with this assessment.
Going nowhere fast, once again.
Perhaps we should start looking at the clowns who keep employing these managers.
coldingham hibs
Fish and Bushiri cost us that.
Fish?, I thought he played well today.
Most of the trolls are alleged footballers wearing green .What a feckless clueless abject performance , we are once again on the road to nowhere . We chased about the park like headless chicken , we did not deserve to lose but then again we can always count on idiot - Bushiri , A GIFT THAT KEEPS ON GIVING
Bushiri was solid tonight, kept shankland quiet all game. One mistake.
27-12-2023, 09:08 PM
Just another game according to Monty pre match.
Fish?, I thought he played well today.
He did.
K-Zazu
What’s happening with Vente? Looks like he’s trying
to play as a holding midfielder
Because somebody claimed I loved Johnson who wasn't good enough ultimately.
Has been like this for years, been to enough derby’s were we have totally outplayed them and still lost
Tavares our best attacker today - so the simple solution is to not play him? Sound
I like him, he's come onto a game, he's playing in a position that suits him, I'd still rather have him on the bench and play Elie in the right way
Chorley Hibee
27-12-2023, 09:09 PM
Aye, everyone apart from you.
I was anything but a Johnson fan, but let's stop kidding ourselves that this any better.
It's absolutely not.
He’s putting a hell of a shift as a box to box midfielder, as a number 9 I’m not convinced.
You'd drop Jair for Youan right now, Jair was the best Hibs player on the park tonight and has been most weeks, Youan looks like he'd rather be elsewhere.
1875Sean
Because somebody claimed I loved Johnson who wasn't good enough ultimately.
And ever since you keep bringing him up, you must have loved him, he have moved on thankfully
VoltaireHibs
The results are.
Any comment or…?
To be fair to the poster, let's see where we finish the season. Not at all convinced that someone as dead-set on that system as NM will have us higher, or equal, to fifth.
I was anything but a Johnson fan, but let's stop kidding ourselves that this any better.
It's absolutely not.
It is though. Johnson won no league games.
CropleyisGod
This proves you're on glue
Who is this Johnson person of whom they speak? Was that the techno-babble rent-a-quote someone let into the club by mistake?
27-12-2023, 09:10 PM
Not a handball. Rocky poor in the challenge and Shankland got a lucky break to run in to. Would be nice to sign a defender who can not only defend but also pass a ball accurately.You mean a lucky punch off his hand into his path?
It leads to him breaking into the box
Id be expecting our goal to be brought back for that https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231227/4ace69ae8da053cd8b664a283ca35958.jpg
supermcginn
Maloney ball part 2
Feels a bit more like the fenlon era but without Griffith's.
nickwhibs
Talk about a missed opportunity. We’re just not ruthless enough. A lot of talk about the defence but midfield and strikers have to do more. Boyle and Vente not at it currently but are good players and can turn it around. Either one of Newell or Levitt need to be driving with the hall more - showing more desire. Same goes for the wingers. Monty not nearly good enough so far - needs to be getting more out of the players already here. Goes without saying we need new players but should be doing better with what we have. All that aside it’s just so ****ing typical of us in a derby.
Whole 2nd half I told my son just waiting on their goal. And it came.
I'm 43 and sitting in my house in Prague, not at the game, but knew what was coming.
Sad but now he knows what hibs are all about.
Weak and pathetic.
I’m 43 and had the exact same conversation with my sons down here in Wiltshire.
Sadly a script we’ve read so many times before.
27-12-2023, 09:11 PM
You'd drop Jair for Youan right now, Jair was the best Hibs player on the park tonight and has been most weeks, Youan looks like he'd rather be elsewhere.
Yes I would if we were setting up the team the way I'd like us to play
27-12-2023, 09:12 PM
Youan is a total imposter
Like the guy in your class at school who has all the flicks, scores the odd goal, but contributes no effort to the team and keeps the ball to himself until he loses it.
I'd kill for a john mcginn or a Scott Allan in our team again.
Dreadful derby, you know how spawny they are so no point in moaning about it.
I've no idea what we're doing with Vente - destroying a 20 goal a season striker by the looks of things.
No, he's not getting much service, but there were many occasions especially during the second half tonight when the ball was loose in their box and you might ask where your poacher is...
Shankland didn't need any service for his goal but he managed to force something out of nothing to win the game.
TBH - Vente, his decline and the fact that we're not getting anything resembling an end produce from him is my biggest concern right now, way more than the manager, the formation, the midfield, anything else.
hfc-1875
Can’t take to this football at all, so slow and have no spark at all. Boyle looks the shadow of a player he was, don’t know if it’s because he’s getting played through the middle or what. How long is vente going to get away with being a striker that doesn’t score? Doidge looked more of a threat when he came on for 10 mins.
pollution
I really don't know the answer here - is the transfer window going to help or do we have a monkey on our back, again
Feels a bit more like the fenlon era but without Griffith's.
We’ve got Fenlon 2012/13 minus Griffiths as the leading bid for ****, unhinged comparisons going once, any advance on Fenlon 2012/13 minus Griffiths?
He’s putting a hell of a shift as a box to box midfielder, as a number 9 I’m not convinced.
Just imagine if we played him as a number 9.
I cannot get over how poorly we are playing him. I wouldn't blame him if he's talking to his agent.
A lot of misplaced passes but not really a poor game, end to end stuff. I think we can match them for skill but Shankland is high on confidence.
Shankland and their goalie won the match for them so they deserved to win for being able to do what we couldn’t.
These players were there when Johnson was sacked, we have a new manager trying something different, can’t really see many in during the transfer window so summer it is.
Just need to start picking up points.
Quite depressing if we have to wait until summer
27-12-2023, 09:13 PM
And it cost us. Rocky can be so good at times but then throws in mistakes like that too often. He made two or three against Aberdeen and they luckily didn’t score. 100% need better at centre half.
VoltaireHibs
Yup, Jair looked lively and did all you could expect of him. I think with better players around him he'd really flourish. Youan is what he's always been - a show pony. It's great when it comes off, and he is a bag of tricks at times, but he likes to be the star of his own show. One of those guys, like Nisbet, that's always playing for his showreel for prospective suitors. All imo, of course.
The passing has been poor and the 424 formation isn't working.
hibeerealist
Simples
I've got no issue with the manager tonight. We've seen it a million times before, edged out a tight derby by a mistake from us and a wee bit of quality when it counts from them.
The manager needs players, as it did the previous 3 or 4 managers. Until we help them with that they'll always be up against it and blaming everyone from Jack Ross thru Maloney to Johnson and Montgomery misses the point badly.
We're just short of quality throughout the team and throughout the squad.
There were some grim individual performances out there and the usual ones from big players that fell short of what was required.
Marshall didn't do anything wrong, Fish, Newell, Obita and Jair were decent, questions need to be asked of all the rest imo.
They were pish but were always, ultimately, going to have that little bit more than us when it counted. Their centre halves don't do what Rocky did and if they did, Vente for sure isn't putting it away the way Shankland did.
Good post. A sore one tonight but an even game ending as it inevitably does all too often.
I hope Fish and Rocky aren’t blamed for the defeat. They have questions to answer over the goal, but a half mistake and a ruthless finisher was the difference. Boyle, Campbell & Levit all poor tonight. Vente & Miller also not great overall.
If we don’t adequately upgrade Boyle, Levit & Campbell in January Montgomery will be up against it to buy himself the time needed to make the changes to the squad that are much needed.
27-12-2023, 09:14 PM
Can’t take to this football at all, so slow and have no spark at all. Boyle looks the shadow of a player he was, don’t know if it’s because he’s getting played through the middle or what. How long is vente going to get away with being a striker that doesn’t score? Doidge looked more of a threat when he came on for 10 mins.
Vente got one chance and hit the target, would be more worrying if he missed 10 chances a game, we simply don't give him enough chances in the box, not his fault
Silky
I wanted Johnson gone and Maloney before him and Ross before him
Too early for me to have a view on Monty but what we see are the results of signing players for one manager and expecting another to use the properly
Vente is a very pale imitation of the player we first signed
Vente needs a proper partner beside him. Not a kid on striker like Boyle. Vente's form started to dip when ALF got injured.
Vente got one chance and hit the target, would be more worrying if he missed 10 chances a game, we simply don't give him enough chances in the box, not his fault2 changes - got a penalty and a save from Clarke
27-12-2023, 09:15 PM
2 changes - got a penalty and a save from Clarke
Boyle took the pen.
And it cost us. Rocky can be so good at times but then throws in mistakes like that too often. He made two or three against Aberdeen and they luckily didn’t score. 100% need better at centre half.
Two mistakes. He gave away the penalty as well.
It was a poor quality game. After a bright start with the two penalties there was barely a chance until last 15 minutes. Longer it went I thought they would nick it because they are spawny *******s. Was a really good finish but Rocky should deal with the high ball. We’re not any worse than them but we just about always find a way to lose these tight games against them.
27-12-2023, 09:16 PM
Hearts were also pish
Comedy of errors
Too slow? He's probably one of the fastest players in the league. Unfortunately he has a mistake in him and against most it rarely matters. He was pretty solid all game and kept Shankland quiet. That is until he wasn't. I like Rocky but he needs to find a way to cut the mistakes out. Especially mistakes such as that. They happen but he'll be replaced soon enough if they continue too cost us. Fish didn't exactly do much better in trying to help but you can't fault the quality of the finish.
Monty needs to take some stick. Subs were far too late as usual. Boyle needs dropped or moved back to the right. Midfield needs a shake cause it far too pedestrian. Doidge might not be the answer but he needs more time. That's bout all he can do for now until he gets a other couple of players in. He's far too naive to keep hoping for better from this group of players but he doesn't help himself either with how the team is set up at. I'm hopeful he turns things around and has us playing better and more consistently but I'm beginning to think like many that we've missed a trick by not trying to get McInnes.
hfc-1875
Vente got one chance and hit the target, would be more worrying if he missed 10 chances a game, we simply don't give him enough chances in the box, not his fault
How many times do we get the ball out wide and he’s no where getting in the box aswell though?
supermcginn
We’ve got Fenlon 2012/13 minus Griffiths as the leading bid for ****, unhinged comparisons going once, any advance on Fenlon 2012/13 minus Griffiths?
Only one who's unhinged is you by the looks of that reply 🤣
27-12-2023, 09:17 PM
Boyle took the pen.Yeah but Vente won it with his shot that rowles saved
It did, but he lost one battle out of how many?
Only one who's unhinged is you by the looks of that reply 🤣
Going twice
VoltaireHibs
I've no idea what we're doing with Vente - destroying a 20 goal a season striker by the looks of things.
No, he's not getting much service, but there were many occasions especially during the second half tonight when the ball was loose in their box and you might ask where your poacher is...
Shankland didn't need any service for his goal but he managed to force something out of nothing to win the game.
TBH - Vente, his decline and the fact that we're not getting anything resembling an end produce from him is my biggest concern right now, way more than the manager, the formation, the midfield, anything else.
You don't think those things are linked? I thin the question is - would NM choose a player like Vente for his starting 11 if he had a choice? I doubt it. NM wants to play a total football team, out and out strikers don't work so well in that formation. Look at Haaland at Man City, the best team in the world, imo, they look better without him. Straight out goalscorers/poachers are a dying breed in modern football.
Yeah but Vente won it with his shot that rowles saved
Oh fair enough, sorry.
bloody hell, Hibs always seem to find a way to makw the losses as painful as possible.
VoltaireHibs
27-12-2023, 09:18 PM
Just imagine if we played him as a number 9.
I cannot get over how poorly we are playing him. I wouldn't blame him if he's talking to his agent.
And I think NM would be happy to sell him.
27-12-2023, 09:19 PM
The passing has been poor and the 424 formation isn't working.
Thought it was 4-4-2 ?
Confused.com
VoltaireHibs
27-12-2023, 09:19 PM
It did, but he lost one battle out of how many?
Exactly, Rocky was excellent overall.
27-12-2023, 09:20 PM
Too slow? He's probably one of the fastest players in the league. Unfortunately he has a mistake in him and against most it rarely matters. He was pretty solid all game and kept Shankland quiet. That is until he wasn't. I like Rocky but he needs to find a way to cut the mistakes out. Especially mistakes such as that. They happen but he'll be replaced soon enough if they continue too cost us. Fish didn't exactly do much better in trying to help but you can't fault the quality of the finish.
Monty needs to take some stick. Subs were far too late as usual. Boyle needs dropped or moved back to the right. Midfield needs a shake cause it far too pedestrian. Doidge might not be the answer but he needs more time. That's bout all he can do for now until he gets a other couple of players in. He's far too naive to keep hoping for better from this group of players but he doesn't help himself either with how the team is set up at. I'm hopeful he turns things around and has us playing better and more consistently but I'm beginning to think like many that we've missed a trick by not trying to get McInnes.
Wow - I’ve clearly not seen enough games this season to realise how pish we are now I have the joy of a half season ticket for me and my dad
Ah well - Rocky looks like a big slow player to me
It’s a long journey from Essex to Hibs Motherwell but I’ll be there
Hopefully we get the investment we need as if it wasn’t for the few games where we had 2 shots on target and won 1-0 we’d be knocking on relegation door
How many times do we get the ball out wide and he’s no where getting in the box aswell though?
Because normally he's been in and around the halfway line chasing lost causes then has to try and get in the box when we break, he should be getting told to stay in and around the box but instead he's putting in Mo Farah miles elsewhere, he's really the least of our worries
Think we need to go as a three in midfield. Playing like we do means that the game bypasses Newell and Levitt as emphasis is on fast transitions to the front 4 and heavy relies on good distribution from the back. Love Rocky but he's not the player to do that and Newell / Levitt don't have the engines to sustain that type of game as anchors in the middle.
Big winter / summer transfer windows ahead.
Season after season, manager after manager, player after player we bottle it against these bustards. So ****** frustration. 😡
Andymac85
27-12-2023, 09:21 PM
You are either LJ himself or you ain’t watching the same football team as me. LJ was a horrendous manager and our football under him was eye bleedingly bad.
27-12-2023, 09:22 PM
i'm confident that will be our last defeat of this year
but fail to beat Motherwell at home next tuesday then it's not looking great, 3rd is already gone imo
hfc-1875
27-12-2023, 09:23 PM
Because normally he's been in and around the halfway line chasing lost causes then has to try and get in the box when we break, he should be getting told to stay in and around the box but instead he's putting in Mo Farah miles elsewhere, he's really the least of our worries
Oh right, glad we’ve got a striker that runs about the half way line then. 👍🏻
27-12-2023, 09:24 PM
TBH - Vente, his decline and the fact that we're not getting anything resembling an end produce from him is my biggest concern right now, way more than the manager, the formation, the midfield, anything else.Absolutely right, and it's to the boys credit that he backtracks so often to try and influence the game in other ways.
percy veer
27-12-2023, 09:24 PM
One chance absolute terrible shot, bring back the day when we had player who were no afraid to put the laces through it absolute cowards
27-12-2023, 09:26 PM
Yup this 100%. Dont understand why he wont try it.
Scunnered. Again.
Can’t believe it. What a kick in the bass.
I thought that was brutal tonight. That was a game that was there to be won but we never showed any appetite to go and make it happen.
Too many poor players and too many that we aren’t, for whatever reason, getting enough out of.
27-12-2023, 09:27 PM
You are either LJ himself or you ain’t watching the same football team as me. LJ was a horrendous manager and our football under him was eye bleedingly bad.
True, but our 'system' isn't working. Even Naismith worked it out, let Rocky have the ball then cut out his options, repeat ad nauseam. We are wasting Levitt, we are barely working the opposition goalkeepers & confidence is leaching away. Miller probably had the worst half of football I've seen from an individual in years, he looks very short of confidence but credit to him for getting better in the second half.
Hearts worked as a team, not a very good one but we didn't play as a team, we look like we are relying on a bit of magic from one of a few players instead of passing at pace and moving in groups.
Utterly depressing.
Murphys Touch
27-12-2023, 09:29 PM
For me it’s simple….get Vente playing between the posts and get the ball to him in the area.
We are not good enough for playing this style of football (as much as we want to see it) so it’s nullifying our best assets. Boyle is NEVER a CF and Levitt is never a game controlling CM
Hearts had one quality player and they got the ball to him whenever they could. Hibs would never have done this under NM (direct hall to most dangerous player) and it’s a fault he has to address or he’ll be out.
St Mirren, Killie and THAT hearts team finishing above you guys a not a great look. We won’t get many worse Hearts teams coming to ER that’s for sure
27-12-2023, 09:29 PM
Well done! combined roaster, bell end and troll is hard to achieve in a single statement 10/10
Happy clappers out in force tonight I see. It's ok though. We played well again 10 man Aberdeen in the semi
Boyle far from the player he was before his injury.
Agree with this assessment but Vente is also not the player we signed. The system doesn’t suit either of them and there is no indication at the moment that they are forming anything resembling a partnership! With his previous team Vente was used to having balls played into the box to feet for him to run onto and score. How many times has that happened under this system? In stead He finds himself chasing over hit high crosses without any joy and tracking back to close down the opposition centre mids!
The right hand side of tonight’s team Miller and Campbell were abysmal. I hope Campbell is ok but it actually helped the team when he went off. Until NM can get in players who can play his style it just seems obvious to me that moving Boyle to his best position of wide right and playing Youan alongside Vente would improve the team’s performance!
Stokesy's on fire
27-12-2023, 09:31 PM
Its a clever foul by shankland to win it ..but we were poor and to lose to a team that bad stings
Chorley Hibee
27-12-2023, 09:32 PM
Another season wrote off and another season where we surrender European group stage football to either Hearts or Aberdeen.
The apologists will scream different, but I'll bet anyone the above is the outcome at the end of this season.
Time to start holding Kensall and the board responsible.
Happy clappers out in force tonight I see. It's ok though. We played well again 10 man Aberdeen in the semiHappy getting a chance to sling snide comments about tonight?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
27-12-2023, 09:35 PM
Happy clappers out in force tonight I see. It's ok though. We played well again 10 man Aberdeen in the semi
Congrats, you are the best Hibs fan tonight. Only you are really upset and only you is raging.And you clearly know better than everyone else how we should play
No one is happy with the result and probably noone is overly happy with how we played but to be honest it is better than Johnson and Maloney and no worse than Ross. But some folk just can't wait to lay the boot into Hibs
Allyg69
Unfortunately when you are a defender just one mistake is one too many sometimes.
Bitterly disappointed with that. A game so lacking in quality that we have once again contrived to lose.
Not many plus points tonight, thought Tavares and Orbita did ok on the left, a few flashes from Youan when he came on.
Hope Josh is ok looked a bad one.
Chorley Hibee
Agree with this assessment but Vente is also not the player we signed. The system doesn’t suit either of them and there is no indication at the moment that they are forming anything resembling a partnership! With his previous team Vente was used to having balls played into the box to feet for him to run onto and score. How many times has that happened under this system? In stead He finds himself chasing over hit high crosses without any joy and tracking back to close down the opposition centre mids!
The right hand side of tonight’s team Miller and Campbell were abysmal. I hope Campbell is ok but it actually helped the team when he went off. Until NM can get in players who can play his style it just seems obvious to me that moving Boyle to his best position of wide right and playing Youan alongside Vente would improve the team’s performance!
Vente's first interview when he signed was him describing what style of striker he was.
I said at the the time that if he thought that was how it would be at Hibs, then he would be in for a big surprise, and not a particularly pleasant one at that.
We have our number 9 running around in midfield chasing lost causes, whilst he himself has said he wants to play on the shoulder of the last man looking for balls played through to him.
If I was him I'd be on the phone to my agent ASAP because we're ruining this guy's career.
27-12-2023, 09:38 PM
Congrats, you are the best Hibs fan tonight. Only you are really upset and only you is raging.And you clearly know better than everyone else how we should play
No one is happy with the result and probably noone is overly happy with how we played but to be honest it is better than Johnson and Maloney and no worse than Ross. But some folk just can't wait to lay the boot into Hibs
Doesn’t even go to games. Best ignored
Tommy75
27-12-2023, 09:41 PM
i'm confident that will be our last defeat of this year
but fail to beat Motherwell at home next tuesday then it's not looking great, 3rd is already gone imo
Why is 3rd gone? Aberdeen were 9 points off 3rd place after 23 games last season. It is unlikely but not impossible.
27-12-2023, 09:41 PM
Another season wrote off and another season where we surrender European group stage football to either Hearts or Aberdeen.
The apologists will scream different, but I'll bet anyone the above is the outcome at the end of this season.
Time to start holding Kensall and the board responsible.
You just can't "write off" a season in December, plenty to play for. If Shankland is sold in January it will significantly weaken the yams for example.
It's not over by a long shot.
27-12-2023, 09:42 PM
Have we scored yet
27-12-2023, 09:43 PM
You are so ****ing dull.
bringbackbenny
27-12-2023, 09:44 PM
20/10 keep them coming 👍🏻
jakedance
27-12-2023, 09:45 PM
Gutted at that. I thought we played reasonably well but football is a cruel game and we know too well that if you give Hearts a chance in a derby they take it. **** happens though and if it’s 0-0 you’ve only got yourself to blame. Some of our passing was terrible, particularly from Miller, and think of all the attacking opportunities we passed up because of how easily we gave the ball away.
27-12-2023, 09:47 PM
Have we scored yet
Have we ****. It’s the same old derby game story.
27-12-2023, 09:47 PM
Didn’t you say bye. :bye:
27-12-2023, 09:50 PM
The amount of poor passing in that game was shocking. Not only shocking, it was embarrassing.
27-12-2023, 09:50 PM
You just can't "write off" a season in December, plenty to play for. If Shankland is sold in January it will significantly weaken the yams for example.
It's not over by a long shot.
It may weaken them but they will still grind out results while we continue to play a system that we dont have the players to do it
27-12-2023, 09:53 PM
Vente's first interview when he signed was him describing what style of striker he was.
I said at the the time that if he thought that was how it would be at Hibs, then he would be in for a big surprise, and not a particularly pleasant one at that.
We have our number 9 running around in midfield chasing lost causes, whilst he himself has said he wants to play on the shoulder of the last man looking for balls played through to him.
If I was him I'd be on the phone to my agent ASAP because we're ruining this guy's career.
I think Vente is getting a pretty easy time of things and not giving anywhere near enough. We’re not good enough to get away with a striker that isn’t going to do something for himself every now and again. He had two good chances tonight and didn’t take either. Shankland made something out of a long punt up the park and that’s the difference.
I think there is a player in Vente but whilst I would set up differently, I also think he needs to do a lot more for the money spent on him.
27-12-2023, 09:54 PM
A very poor show, never looked at all comfortable on the ball, and you are always waiting for the inevitable calamity. A combination of this & one piece of quality was enough to win it for them, wr could have played all night without scoring. What's happened to Boyle? I'm not writing him off yet, though I'm sure many will, he's contributed very little this season. Vente is surely better than the current set up makes him look, a miserable night all round.
27-12-2023, 09:54 PM
We are absolute **** btw
27-12-2023, 11:01 PM
att: 20,150
heartz can only dream of getting attendances like this in the Tinydome, even if they include guests in their world famous ninth wonder of the world 7 star windowless hotel
:)
27-12-2023, 11:03 PM
The amount of poor passing in that game was shocking. Not only shocking, it was embarrassing.
Miller’s passing and general movement was atrocious.
27-12-2023, 11:04 PM
Miller’s passing and general movement was atrocious.
I don’t think I’ve ever seen a player give the ball away as much as he did tonight. He should have been hooked.
27-12-2023, 11:07 PM
I don’t think I’ve ever seen a player give the ball away as much as he did tonight. He should have been hooked.
I thought so too. He looks lazy and slow to respond. He was getting ripped in the first half but not so much the second. We really need a proper right back.
27-12-2023, 11:12 PM
Yip was calling for him to get hooked towards the end of the first half just looked too casual for my liking
Edit :
Campbell’s first three touches tonight he gave the ball away
Shocking really from a professional footballer and Miller is not much better
MikeyS
27-12-2023, 11:15 PM
Another 90 minutes of aimless passing at walking pace, zero support of the player in possesion, almost nothing created, and the usual self inflicted wounds.
Not in the least bit surprised at the outcome.
Season ticket sales will fall off a cliff if this continues, and I can't help but think we'll be on the managerial merry go round soon enough.
This is us in a nutshell. It appears like everything is in place off the pitch but we are a total shambles again on the pitch!
27-12-2023, 11:16 PM
I thought so too. He looks lazy and slow to respond. He was getting ripped in the first half but not so much the second. We really need a proper right back.
Agree, I think Miller is pretty average. He’s had the odd really good game but in general, his contribution hasn’t been up to much over his 18 months here.
I think he looks more like an athlete playing football than a footballer.
MikeyS
27-12-2023, 11:18 PM
I think Vente is getting a pretty easy time of things and not giving anywhere near enough. We’re not good enough to get away with a striker that isn’t going to do something for himself every now and again. He had two good chances tonight and didn’t take either. Shankland made something out of a long punt up the park and that’s the difference.
I think there is a player in Vente but whilst I would set up differently, I also think he needs to do a lot more for the money spent on him.
Dylan is quite clearly being asked to play behind Martin Boyle who incidentally is only interested in his wig not flying off in the wind! We are currently playing with 8 players and it's all on the manager and his tactics
27-12-2023, 11:22 PM
Dylan is quite clearly being asked to play behind Martin Boyle who incidentally is only interested in his wig not flying off in the wind! We are currently playing with 8 players and it's all on the manager and his tactics
Na, it can’t all be on the manager. Part of it is, but it wasn’t him that continually failed to pass the ball to his own team, didn’t defend a long punt up the park or missed a penalty.
27-12-2023, 11:40 PM
Yip was calling for him to get hooked towards the end of the first half just looked too casual for my liking
Edit :
Campbell’s first three touches tonight he gave the ball away
Shocking really from a professional footballer and Miller is not much better
I think “casual’ sums Miller up, unlike SDG at right back.
Mcbizz1998
28-12-2023, 07:31 AM
heartz can only dream of getting attendances like this in the Tinydome, even if they include guests in their world famous ninth wonder of the world 7 star windowless hotel
Who cares? I can assure you that the hearts fans don’t. I’d happily swap a few hundred extra seats for their derby record. Desperate stuff.
28-12-2023, 08:33 AM
Who cares? I can assure you that the hearts fans don’t. I’d happily swap a few hundred extra seats for their derby record. Desperate stuff.
chillax man, jeezo
it's only humour
desperate stuff lol
the little :) is the giveaway
Hibby John
28-12-2023, 09:30 AM
I appreciate that you can find at least one one positive.
So what if the ****bos have beaten us again. We have more seats in our stadium than them. :not worth
I'm Spartacus
28-12-2023, 09:40 AM
It's a clear handball by shankland, he basically punches the ball forward into his path
I'm not seeing this 'punch' you keep talking about? The ball is punted and comes down for Rocky to header, which he makes an absolute shop front of, the ball then hits both players and lands at LS's feet. Rocky at fault for not doing his job.
28-12-2023, 09:43 AM
I'm not seeing this 'punch' you keep talking about? The ball is punted and comes down for Rocky to header, which he makes an absolute shop front of, the ball then hits both players and lands at LS's feet. Rocky at fault for not doing his job.The reason the balls lands in front of him in the box is because it hits his swinging fist
He's take another touch and shoots
If that was Vente and I seen the replay I'd expect it to be chopped off https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231228/54b0af4c65b1c4bae8f726fd90be8f77.jpg
28-12-2023, 09:58 AM
My biggest gripe yesterday was the unacceptable amount of underhit and overhit passes in the first half hour when our wide men had acres of space. Josh gave the ball away with his first four passes and it set a tone. Obita and Jair inked up well on occasion but far too many times Obita overhit a much easier slide in pass which was infuriating as the shape of the team was good and we were working Hearts back line. The other huge worry was lack of bodies in their box or coming into the edge of the box, particularly second half when Jair had many occasions running into the box with no one free to lay off to. Our midfield were deep and too safe and static, not one midfielder drove into the box or sat at the edge of their 22 yard line. Midfield needs a complete overhaul with more dynamic and attack minded players in there.
Both sides were actually quite dreadful in their passing throughout the game. God only knows what they do in training, but a professional footballer should not overhit a pass under zero pressure high into a stand. The play first half in particular was slow, nervous, too safe, and the occasion got to too many players for me. There was very little composure and calmness on the ball. Hot potato stuff at times. Players looked lethargic too.
My biggest gripe yesterday was the unacceptable amount of underhit and overhit passes in the first half hour when our wide men had acres of space. Josh gave the ball away with his first four passes and it set a tone. Obita and Jair inked up well on occasion but far too many times Obita overhit a much easier slide in pass which was infuriating as the shape of the team was good and we were working Hearts back line. The other huge worry was lack of bodies in their box or coming into the edge of the box, particularly second half when Jair had many occasions running into the box with no one free to lay off to. Our midfield were deep and too safe and static, not one midfielder drove into the box or sat at the edge of their 22 yard line. Midfield needs a complete overhaul with more dynamic and attack minded players in there.
Both sides were actually quite dreadful in their passing throughout the game. God only knows what they do in training, but a professional footballer should not overhit a pass under zero pressure high into a stand. The play first half in particular was slow, nervous, too safe, and the occasion got to too many players for me. There was very little composure and calmness on the ball. Hot potato stuff at times. Players looked lethargic too.
in a nutshell.
28-12-2023, 10:29 AM
Said it during the game the passing was awful. Wind or not - it was often the decision making when to pass. 2v1 out wide and we fire a pass too early.
Campbell gave ball away at the start like you say.
Playing 2 central midfielders - is a lot of running for 2 guys who aren’t SJM. Add in we get wide and attack and the central midfield aren’t anywhere to be seen.
That’s why they don’t score many goals. How many times do Levitt or Newell make runs beyond the strikers ?
Until we go to a 3 in middle and or sign better than Newell and Levitt we will be too open and not score enough. Said on countless other threads about leaving a dodgy back 4 and ageing keeper we have exposed too.
I'm Spartacus
28-12-2023, 02:05 PM
The reason the balls lands in front of him in the box is because it hits his swinging fist
He's take another touch and shoots
If that was Vente and I seen the replay I'd expect it to be chopped off https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231228/54b0af4c65b1c4bae8f726fd90be8f77.jpg
I screen recorded after your post and slowly scrolled through the incident, the ball hits Rockys knee and then hits Shankland thigh, Rocky is 100% at fault and anyone who claims this goal was a punched ball and shouldn't have been allowed needs to take the biased specs off and learn the game of football.
As mentioned elsewhere, the number of over hit passes running out for goal kicks was breaking my balls.
Monty has his first transfer window coming up, lets see what he's all about, I just hope we don't stall in the window waiting for something to happen with the Dollars arriving.
28-12-2023, 02:08 PM
I screen recorded after your post and slowly scrolled through the incident, the ball hits Rockys knee and then hits Shankland thigh, Rocky is 100% at fault and anyone who claims this goal was a punched ball and shouldn't have been allowed needs to take the biased specs off and learn the game of football.
As mentioned elsewhere, the number of over hit passes running out for goal kicks was breaking my balls.
Monty has his first transfer window coming up, lets see what he's all about, I just hope we don't stall in the window waiting for something to happen with the Dollars arriving.Really? I watched it back lots of times and I didn't think there was any debate it hit his hand?
Wether that constituted enough for var to overule is a debate
28-12-2023, 02:19 PM
Just watched it on Facebook from a different angle, it clearly hits his thigh and bounces kindly for him.
Even the foul on Rocky, he pushes Shankland first to give himself room.
Its just another tinted specs view point, we want it to be wrong, so it is wrong???
I'm Spartacus
28-12-2023, 09:40 PM
If Miller or Fish is competing for that header they make contact, the worst thing you can do in that situation with Shankland is completely miss the first contact and then you lose control of the ball.
Elie coming on changed things for us, and that was an enforced change, I wonder if he'd have brought him on if that situation didn't arise?
Lots of questions.
29-12-2023, 08:53 PM
Play 4-5-1 with Vente up front and ellie wide left boyle wide right newell and levitt either side of Tavarez, at least make an attempt at winning the midfield battle.
29-12-2023, 08:54 PM
Play 4-5-1 with Vente up front and ellie wide left boyle wide right newell and levitt either side of Tavarez, at least make an attempt at winning the midfield battle.
Far too sensible a post. Shame our manager can't see it.
29-12-2023, 08:57 PM
Completely agree. This is what he needs to do.
McGruber
29-12-2023, 09:28 PM
Agreed. Unfortunately Montgomery seems the only one not to see our players could be deployed in a better set up and he won't change his belief - admirable principle, but to our detrement.
29-12-2023, 09:32 PM
Agreed. Unfortunately Montgomery seems the only one not to see our players could be deployed in a better set up and he won't change his belief - admirable principle, but to our detrement.
I think setting up that way would have us playing further up the park easier, and have us not chasing the ball about so much as we do now.
McGruber
29-12-2023, 09:35 PM
I think setting up that way would have us playing further up the park easier, and have us not chasing the ball about so much as we do now.
Yeah, think so too. Would be interesting to see Tavares as a 10 aswell
29-12-2023, 09:42 PM
Yeah, think so too. Would be interesting to see Tavares as a 10 aswell
Doesnt even have to be Tavarez, it could be Newell between Levitt and Jeggo with Tavarez still wide instead of Ellie or Boyle?
Either way, we'd have most of the team playing in positions they are more comfortable in.
TrinityHFC
29-12-2023, 09:43 PM
Just watching the Burnley documentary. Kompany was talking about 100 sessions in with the team they were totally familiar with four different formations and six different pressing patterns and he usually used all of these in every game.
I really don’t know why we’ve decided that playing one way of every minute of every game from here on in is the way to go. Especially when it doesn’t suit the players we’ve decided to spend a lot of money on recently.
29-12-2023, 09:48 PM
Just watching the Burnley documentary. Kompany was talking about 100 sessions in with the team they were totally familiar with four different formations and six different pressing patterns and he usually used all of these in every game.
I really don’t know why we’ve decided that playing one way of every minute of every game from here on in is the way to go. Especially when it doesn’t suit the players we’ve decided to spend a lot of money on recently.
I keep hearing folk say its not 4-4-2 but a fluid system, whatever that means, but i just witness a team thats chasing shadows in midfield because we are a man down all the time.
McGruber
29-12-2023, 09:51 PM
It's mad. I get there is a debate on the merits or otherwise of 4-4-2. What I wouldn't have thought was up for debate was it being the only way to play. It's already a discussion been done to death already I know.
Stewboy
30-12-2023, 06:50 PM
I know they changed the rules around double punishment and such, however Rangers player brings a Celtic player down 30 yards out - Red Card. Hearts player stops a goal handling 6 yards out and gets a yellow
Makes zero sense!
30-12-2023, 06:51 PM
I know they changed the rules around double punishment and such, however Rangers player brings a Celtic player down 30 yards out - Red Card. Hearts player stops a goal handling 6 yards out and gets a yellow
Makes zero sense!
Don’t think handball is included in the whole double jeopardy stuff.