View Full Version : Help re. old photos of Easter Rd.

linlithgowhibbie
21-12-2023, 12:49 PM
Hi,

I've got an old black and white spool developed, it has about 24 black and white photos of the ground in the early 90s.
Is there a way to put some of these on the site? If so how?
PS keep it simple!

Alfiembra
21-12-2023, 02:07 PM
If you have access to a scanner you could scan them to a computer and then upload them that way, or take a picture with your phone and similarly upload them.

linlithgowhibbie
21-12-2023, 03:08 PM
Am I allowed to post photos if I can manage that? Not too bright with technology, it is a luddite thing!

linlithgowhibbie
21-12-2023, 06:17 PM
Picture of the old Shed and north end of old main stand with seats in front, early 90s I think. Not sure how to make bigger

21-12-2023, 06:33 PM
Picture of the old Shed and north end of old main stand with seats in front, early 90s I think. Not sure how to make bigger

That's big enough. Keep them coming!

linlithgowhibbie
21-12-2023, 07:09 PM

A view of the old TV gantry hanging from the old East roof looking over to the shed before seats put into the East. Also shows the old police control "Caravan/portocabin in the North

21-12-2023, 07:50 PM

bloody wonderful, remember that view.....can see why a wee upgrade was required though,,:top marks

21-12-2023, 09:44 PM

A view of the old TV gantry hanging from the old East roof looking over to the shed before seats put into the East. Also shows the old police control "Caravan/portocabin in the North

That's not a million miles away from where I had my season ticket after the seats went in (I was probably a handful of rows back and a few yards nearer the gantry.)

It actually feels quite emotional seeing that view again.

linlithgowhibbie
21-12-2023, 09:47 PM
That's not a million miles away from where I had my season ticket after the seats went in (I was probably a handful of rows back and a few yards nearer the gantry.)

It actually feels quite emotional seeing that view again.

Glad you liked it, more to come when I get the time.:thumbsup:

et_hibby
21-12-2023, 10:06 PM
Glad you liked it, more to come when I get the time.:thumbsup:
Good work, Linlithgow 👍
The good ol’ days (mibbes aye, mibbes naw!)

21-12-2023, 10:07 PM

Must have been standing roond about there when Celtic lobbed that CS gas canister in

Must have broke the World Record vaulting that 12’ fence in double quick time

Couldnae dae it nowadays nae chance

Stanton Spence
22-12-2023, 04:34 AM

Thanks for sharing these photos mate and that crush barrier on the bottom right of your photo is where my dad and his mates all stood when I first went to ER and I’d spend half the game trying to sneak through to the cow shed (cave) depending on who you ask

22-12-2023, 08:41 AM

That's pretty much the exact spot my first memory of being in Easter Road is at, would have been around 84/85

Thanks for sharing :top marks

Bridge hibs
22-12-2023, 08:57 AM
Must have been standing roond about there when Celtic lobbed that CS gas canister in

Couldnae dae it nowadays nae chanceSame here, also for some reason I must have crowd surfed from top to the bottom when Souness was red carded

Couldn't do it nowadays as I would be facing multiple charges of manslaughter if I landed on top of anyone as it would result in them being flattened 🫣

22-12-2023, 09:10 AM
Same here, also for some reason I must have crowd surfed from top to the bottom when Souness was red carded

Couldn't do it nowadays as I would be facing multiple charges of manslaughter if I landed on top of anyone as it would result in them being flattened 🫣

Yeah plenty of scenes and limbs in the old East other memorable moments Eddie May’s diving header versus Celtic 4-3 and the winner against Hearts in a 1-0 New Year win saw ma old boy disappear in a sea of green

Edit:

In fairness once I was pitch side after the CS gas incident I did help others get out the scenes were total carnage panic and confusion

Animals!

DIXIHIBS
22-12-2023, 09:35 AM
Yeah plenty of scenes and limbs in the old East other memorable moments Eddie May’s diving header versus Celtic 4-3 and the winner against Hearts in a 1-0 New Year win saw ma old boy disappear in a sea of green

Edit:

In fairness once I was pitch side after the CS gas incident I did help others get out the scenes were total carnage panic and confusion

Animals!

Think we forget how serious that incident was ( could have been a LOT worse). I remember the long line of ambulances on Albion Place. The minor incidents complained about nowadays pale into insignificance.

Bridge hibs
22-12-2023, 09:36 AM

Edit:

Animals!You might have helped me mate as I ended up on the pitch too, struggled to breathe and was blinded for a spell as my eyes were burning. I was helped into the changing rooms which were mobbed with kids screaming and medical teams trying to help them.

I was doused with what felt like gallons of cold water to rinse out my eyes and clothes were soaked, I think it was a cold night too. Radio Forth interviewed me but due to my expletives if they had tried to bleep it out it would have sounded like the morse code so I dont think it was broadcast 🫣

linlithgowhibbie
22-12-2023, 10:26 AM

Wee bit hyperbole there Billy, the fence was only about 8ft max. We were so lucky there were no deaths that day from crushing/breathing problems.

linlithgowhibbie
22-12-2023, 11:09 AM
Old main stand with original 6 sponsors boxes from the east, three each side of the tunnel. If I remember correcly they held about 8 people each although I cannot be sure of that.

22-12-2023, 11:28 AM
Wee bit hyperbole there Billy, the fence was only about 8ft max. We were so lucky there were no deaths that day from crushing/breathing problems.

Yip was a scary experience for everyone caught up in it

Took a few moments to appreciate what had actually happened as most folk had been concentrating on the match

As you say mad crush blind panic eyes streaming difficulty in breathing lots of youngsters caught up in the chaos ended up on the pitch and in some cases hospitalised

22-12-2023, 12:12 PM
Old main stand with original 6 sponsors boxes from the east, three each side of the tunnel. If I remember correcly they held about 8 people each although I cannot be sure of that.

I'd totally forgot about those. Keep the photos coming they are brilliant

linlithgowhibbie
22-12-2023, 12:27 PM
I'd totally forgot about those. Keep the photos coming they are brilliant

I remember Dougie Cromb the chairman at the time telling me that they were state of the art because they had an air vent in the roof that opened to let the crowd noise in!:agree:

linlithgowhibbie
22-12-2023, 01:47 PM
Old main stand nearest Dunbar (Away) end with exit staircase for away fans.
Old Dunbar end pre bench seats with fabulous view of Arthurs Seat.
The East in full from the Dunbar terrace.
hazy photo of approach to the old shed from outside the Albion Bar. Note how high the floodlights are. Does anyone know how high they actually were?
Full length East from the bench seated shed.

22-12-2023, 02:05 PM
Great photos, Lithgow. Fair takes you back. Some great times had, but what a dump!

Hillsidehibby
22-12-2023, 02:07 PM

This is where me and my mates always congregated. Its where The Professional Critics stood.

Groathillgrump
22-12-2023, 02:12 PM
Great photos, Lithgow. Fair takes you back. Some great times had, but what a dump!

Just what I was thinking.

Great memories though!

hibeerealist
22-12-2023, 02:41 PM

Yes, 8 max per box and great view!!

hibeerealist
22-12-2023, 02:44 PM
Yes, 8 max per box and great view!!

Actually, no it was 6. There was 8 in once when a couple of drenched Hibbies were invited in

zitelli62
22-12-2023, 08:16 PM
You might have helped me mate as I ended up on the pitch too, struggled to breathe and was blinded for a spell as my eyes were burning. I was helped into the changing rooms which were mobbed with kids screaming and medical teams trying to help them.

I was doused with what felt like gallons of cold water to rinse out my eyes and clothes were soaked, I think it was a cold night too. Radio Forth interviewed me but due to my expletives if they had tried to bleep it out it would have sounded like the morse code so I dont think it was broadcast 🫣

Some great memories but your right that day was horrendous streaming eyes not breathing properly I left the ground I had enough will never forgive that mob for that day people could easily have been crushed and killed.

heidtheba
23-12-2023, 12:00 AM

That's pretty much where I was for my first game (v Rangers in January '93 3-4 final score). My ST space was about 10-20 feet left of this shot. Happy days! Thanks for posting these.

23-12-2023, 04:01 AM
Saw this one tonight on FB group - as old a picture as I’ve seen of Easter Road. A fascinating image.

https://i.postimg.cc/25n9Mzvp/IMG-1588.jpg (https://postimg.cc/B8QC1fMN)

https://i.postimg.cc/Hkz9yVQk/IMG-1579.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Bridge hibs
23-12-2023, 05:10 AM
Saw this one tonight on FB group - as old a picture as I’ve seen of Easter Road. A fascinating image.

https://i.postimg.cc/Hkz9yVQk/IMG-1579.jpg (https://postimages.org/)Wow, that is a brilliant photo, can make out the hibernian, what is the actual location, I see factory chimneys in the background too

23-12-2023, 06:01 AM
Wow, that is a brilliant photo, can make out the hibernian, what is the actual location, I see factory chimneys in the background too

You can just make out Easter under Hibernian too.

Bridge hibs
23-12-2023, 06:13 AM
You can just make out Easter under Hibernian too.

I need new eyes, I thought the E was an F 🫣

Im guessing Dunbar end

23-12-2023, 07:29 AM

Brilliant!

Looks like the Wild West or something out of a Laurel and Hardy movie

Thanks for posting

DIXIHIBS
23-12-2023, 08:20 AM
I need new eyes, I thought the E was an F 🫣

Im guessing Dunbar end

Incredible photo. Dont think its dunbar end though. Looks like the FF end with the curve in the road and cemetery wall in the background?

Puddocky
23-12-2023, 08:41 AM
Incredible photo. Dont think its dunbar end though. Looks like the FF end with the curve in the road and cemetery wall in the background?

Think so. The shadows are falling strongly from right to left as we look at it, so we're facing East or North-east?

Bridge hibs
23-12-2023, 08:42 AM

Good shout, I couldnt even see the wall, I thought it was just part of the road 🫢

23-12-2023, 08:48 AM
Think so. The shadows are falling strongly from right to left as we look at it, so we're facing East or North-east?

North-east I’d say. The chimneys in the background will be the factory on the east side of St Clair street which is shown on a 1920’s map I’ve got of the area.

Roxyhibee
23-12-2023, 08:50 AM

For some reason, I ended up in the cave that CS day too. If I recall it was pay at the gate and there were plenty Celtic fans in there too, we argued with a few before the game (well, my uncle did as he could have wiped the floor with them). Shocking day.

Great pics though

pollution
23-12-2023, 09:52 AM

Is the sun not too high for us to be looking north east ?

23-12-2023, 10:22 AM
Thanks to all who identified the location :aok:

The dating of photograph would have been in amongst the structuring of the stadium to what we would identify with more today.

From Easter Road wiki -

”The long-term future of Easter Road was only secured in 1922, when the club agreed a 25-year lease on the ground. Two years later, three banks of terraces were raised, while a main stand seating 4,480 people was built on the west side of the ground.The redeveloped stadium had a capacity of 45,000. The pitch was also moved 40 yards to the east, providing space for the main stand.The slope was reduced to approximately 6 feet as part of this work.”

Stanton Spence
23-12-2023, 10:32 AM

I would call it character 😄

23-12-2023, 10:33 AM
I share other people's mixed feelings looking at the photos of a bit of nostalgia... and remembering what a dump it was

23-12-2023, 11:10 AM
[QUOTE=Carheenlea;7532866]Thanks to all who identified the location :aok:

The dating of photograph would have been in amongst the structuring of the stadium to what we would identify with more today. (QUOTE)

What a fascinating photo Carheenlea, thanks for posting. Never seen such a historic pic of the exterior of ER. Makes me wonder how many other old photos of the ground are out there.

23-12-2023, 11:52 AM
That's pretty much where I was for my first game (v Rangers in January '93 3-4 final score). My ST space was about 10-20 feet left of this shot. Happy days! Thanks for posting these.

That was a great match, despite the score.

23-12-2023, 11:54 AM
I share other people's mixed feelings looking at the photos of a bit of nostalgia... and remembering what a dump it was

Aye but it was our dump

Opponents gave up hope when we got them down the slope

pollution
23-12-2023, 12:32 PM
Of all the dozens of photos of the stadium on this site Carheenlea's is the winner by a country mile !

23-12-2023, 01:05 PM
Of all the dozens of photos of the stadium on this site Carheenlea's is the winner by a country mile !

It's certainly a beauty. 👏

23-12-2023, 01:44 PM

It’s not my photo I hasten to add! - it’s one that surfaced in last day or so after the owner posted on social media.

It’s always exciting when a new image appears that has previously never been seen. Hopefully the Historical Trust can obtain a copy for their records and there is maybe a challenge for those with photo enhancement skills, although I always prefer the raw original.

23-12-2023, 03:27 PM
From hibs.net, ten years ago.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?259511-Old-Easter-Road-pics

leithsansiro
24-12-2023, 05:10 PM
Genuinely mate, these photographs are great and being back my first memories of Easter Road. Thank you so much for sharing these, it’s hugely appreciated. Young folk who have only been to all-seater stadia don’t know they’re born!

24-12-2023, 05:38 PM
These photos remind me of the distinct smell of the main stand, the years of people smoking in the stand the smell of the pies and bovril which used to cling in the air thankfully masking the smell of the toilets underneath. Those were the days!

linlithgowhibbie
24-12-2023, 08:51 PM
Genuinely mate, these photographs are great and being back my first memories of Easter Road. Thank you so much for sharing these, it’s hugely appreciated. Young folk who have only been to all-seater stadia don’t know they’re born!

I've got a great one looking up the players tunnel towards the pitch, no time to post for next few days. Merry Christmas everybody:thumbsup:

24-12-2023, 10:47 PM

Aye, we were a hardy lot back in the day, when we had no cover at all on the terracing. Getting absolutely soaked on rainy days was a regular occurrence.

25-12-2023, 07:48 AM
Aye, we were a hardy lot back in the day, when we had no cover at all on the terracing. Getting absolutely soaked on rainy days was a regular occurrence.

Memory of 10 people huddled under my green and white golf umbrella 😂

25-12-2023, 09:15 AM

That's a stoatir.

25-12-2023, 07:02 PM

What.A . Moment.

Incredible photo. Thanks for sharing.

Hibs1969
26-12-2023, 03:21 AM
I love these old photos of ER.

Now that I live overseas I’ve not been to see Hibs for a while but these pictures really hit home, particularly at this time of year when we think of friends and family (mainly of a Hibernian persuasion) who have passed on. Hibernian have been a huge part of my life since I was a young boy and these photographs bring back many, many, happy memories of trips to Easter Road with my dad and then my own sons. Being a Hibs fan, some memories of my visits there are not so happy.

Thanks for posting and a belated Merry Christmas to all my fellow Hibs supporters in Scotland and around the world.

26-12-2023, 04:22 AM
Gawd Brian you know how to make an Auld fart feel……well, Auld.:greengrin

Your ‘old’ pics of Easter Road……..which I’m assuming were taken by you, would have been taken about 20 years after I departed!

linlithgowhibbie
26-12-2023, 08:39 AM
Gawd Brian you know how to make an Auld fart feel……well, Auld.:greengrin

Your ‘old’ pics of Easter Road……..which I’m assuming were taken by you, would have been taken about 20 years after I departed!

Hi Fred,

Yeah, knowing the groundsman and Chairman and a Director had some fringe benefits on non matchdays!:thumbsup:

26-12-2023, 09:41 AM
...would have been taken about 20 years after I departed!

A message from beyond the grave?

😲

26-12-2023, 10:10 AM
A message from beyond the grave?

😲

Never doubt my mystical powers

26-12-2023, 02:11 PM
Terracing in its full glory.

No amount of “safe standing” provision can ever come close to replicating the feel for the terraces of the past.

https://i.postimg.cc/fT4DKWGG/IMG-0040.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

26-12-2023, 02:19 PM
An ariel image from 1949

https://i.postimg.cc/RVBVmQMs/IMG-0034.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

26-12-2023, 02:28 PM
An ariel image from 1949

Anyone know what the building that is standing where the industrial units are now on St Clair street is ? Looks like a school of sorts.

Bridge hibs
26-12-2023, 02:58 PM
Anyone know what the building that is standing where the industrial units are now on St Clair street is ? Looks like a school of sorts.

It was St Anns Maltings

27539 27540

26-12-2023, 03:14 PM
It was St Anns Maltings

27539 27540
:aok: Looks more like a prison close up. :greengrin

Bridge hibs
26-12-2023, 03:32 PM
:aok: Looks more like a prison close up. :greengrin St Ann's Maltings was demolished in 1969, this photograph being taken near the start of the process. By 1979 drum malting and saladin malting had ousted the labour-intensive floor malting

Floor malting would have been absolute ball breaking so a few who didnt like very hard graft maybe would have preferred a wee spell in the tin pail instead 😄

26-12-2023, 04:32 PM
Terracing in its full glory.

No amount of “safe standing” provision can ever come close to replicating the feel for the terraces of the past.

https://i.postimg.cc/fT4DKWGG/IMG-0040.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Alan Gordon against the stickies 💚👍

26-12-2023, 05:08 PM
Never doubt my mystical powers

linlithgowhibbie
28-12-2023, 01:57 PM
View from the old tunnel leading up to the pitch, not too glamerous! 27548

29-12-2023, 05:31 AM
Another couple of upgrades to the above:

https://i.ibb.co/B2NKK4H/82-CB0058-B1-BB-4653-AA6-C-6-F155699-D8-FD.jpg (https://ibb.co/Swr77QD)

29-12-2023, 05:33 AM
https://i.ibb.co/9pZYj4J/E01-D930-F-9-FE7-455-F-88-E5-C803-B2-D0-F30-B.jpg (https://ibb.co/WHVK1zQ)

29-12-2023, 03:50 PM
The early 90’s decadence of The Weir Toyota sponsors lounge.

https://i.postimg.cc/g02fVWK6/IMG-0038.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

29-12-2023, 04:30 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/X71pbVDs/IMG-0035.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

29-12-2023, 04:33 PM
For years the old turnstiles and entrance within Easter Road were derelict and really just an unsightly mess.

https://i.postimg.cc/Hsyfpz6F/IMG-0041.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

linlithgowhibbie
29-12-2023, 06:52 PM
The early 90’s decadence of The Weir Toyota sponsors lounge.

https://i.postimg.cc/g02fVWK6/IMG-0038.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Thats a beauty, I never had the honour of visiting there!

linlithgowhibbie
29-12-2023, 06:55 PM
For years the old turnstiles and entrance within Easter Road were derelict and really just an unsightly mess.

Any Idea how many turnstyles were there for the giant East Terrace,? I remember about 10 on Hawkhill avenue and maybe the same or more from inside the car park.

29-12-2023, 07:58 PM
Great photos and brings back many happy memories.

All I will say on the relative merits of the old v new ER is that one man's dump is another man's proper football ground!

fiolex1
29-12-2023, 08:25 PM
An ariel image from 1949

I served my time at Millers Foundry which is bottom left in this photo

29-12-2023, 08:39 PM

I wish there were more old pics of ER to jog my memory. Although I've been a regular attender since the late 50s, my recollection of turnstiles, particularly at the back of the east terracing isn't great.

29-12-2023, 09:21 PM
I wish there were more old pics of ER to jog my memory. Although I've been a regular attender since the late 50s, my recollection of turnstiles, particularly at the back of the east terracing isn't great.
When the East terracing was reduced did they not use the earth and other waste to fill in the railway line running at the back of the East?

linlithgowhibbie
29-12-2023, 10:26 PM
When the East terracing was reduced did they not use the earth and other waste to fill in the railway line running at the back of the East?

Yip they did:thumbsup:

30-12-2023, 09:37 AM
Any Idea how many turnstyles were there for the giant East Terrace,? I remember about 10 on Hawkhill avenue and maybe the same or more from inside the car park.

Not quite as clear on this shared image, but on a sharper file I counted 8 old turnstiles on Hawkhill Avenue along with the 6 or 7 that were in use for the east at that time. Not really clear how many there were in the car park side. Gives an idea of the scale of the site.

https://i.postimg.cc/nLDcnmfY/IMG-0051.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

30-12-2023, 09:45 AM
Did anyone ever make use of the Easter Road Park Halt station on a match day?

https://i.postimg.cc/CxmSY42q/IMG-0053.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/pVzvyv7x/IMG-0054.jpg (https://postimg.cc/9zmKN6CN)

https://i.postimg.cc/gjFP4txf/IMG-0052.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

linlithgowhibbie
30-12-2023, 10:42 AM
Although I didn't use the station my pals and me used to walk up that line on a regular basis before games to get to the ground.
When you see the size of the ground we used to own you can understand why Sir Tom Farmer went tonto when Edinburgh Council refused planning permission for houses/flats and only gave planning permission for industrial use thereby tremendously reducing its value.

Once it was sold for the reduced amount they then changed their mind and allowed housing. This cost Sir Tom/Hibs millions that could have been used to invest in the ground and players.

30-12-2023, 11:17 AM
Did anyone ever make use of the Easter Road Park Halt station on a match day?

https://i.postimg.cc/CxmSY42q/IMG-0053.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/pVzvyv7x/IMG-0054.jpg (https://postimg.cc/9zmKN6CN)

https://i.postimg.cc/gjFP4txf/IMG-0052.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
The Edinburgh transport network was so much better then than it is today.

30-12-2023, 11:20 AM
Although I didn't use the station my pals and me used to walk up that line on a regular basis before games to get to the ground.
When you see the size of the ground we used to own you can understand why Sir Tom Farmer went tonto when Edinburgh Council refused planning permission for houses/flats and only gave planning permission for industrial use thereby tremendously reducing its value.

Once it was sold for the reduced amount they then changed their mind and allowed housing. This cost Sir Tom/Hibs millions that could have been used to invest in the ground and players.
Did STF not want to buy another track of land and offered more than the price it was sold to Morrisons the builders.

linlithgowhibbie
30-12-2023, 12:47 PM
Did STF not want to buy another track of land and offered more than the price it was sold to Morrisons the builders.

Not aware of that but we owned the whole of the "Lochend Butterfly" area which was the huge area of land that is now the high flats behind the east stan. Council was full of Jambo twats at the time and Sir Tom was definately not amused at them.

30-12-2023, 12:54 PM
Did STF not want to buy another track of land and offered more than the price it was sold to Morrisons the builders.https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/12237951.farmer-calls-for-inquiry-into-failed-hibs-bid/

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

30-12-2023, 01:47 PM
Council was full of Jambo twats at the time and Sir Tom was definately not amused at them.

Another disgraceful decision by our council was their refusal to sell Hibs a strip of land from the old Norton Park school that was up for sale and was required to accommodate the new west stand.

Rather than sell Hibs the piece of land they required, the council sold the whole property the group who operate the Trust that runs the property today. Hibs then had to pay the trust around £100,000 for the narrow strip of land.

Go on 20 years, Hearts are building a new stand and require some council land for their rebuild. They get over an acre of Council land for the sum of £1 and , no doubt, some regular hospitality for a few council officials.

04-02-2024, 06:14 PM
Not one I’ve seen before.

February 1957 and damage to the perimeter stadium wall following a storm.

https://i.postimg.cc/rwrpZJbn/IMG-0080.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Bridge hibs
04-02-2024, 06:55 PM

https://i.postimg.cc/rwrpZJbn/IMG-0080.jpg (https://postimages.org/)That character on the billboard looks guilty as ****, destructive wee prick 😡

04-02-2024, 07:29 PM
At the back of the main stand you can just make out the works of Repath Brown, giant steelworks but not a trace of where hundreds of men worked exists apart from the sandstone office building which i think the club used to use ?

04-02-2024, 08:27 PM

https://i.postimg.cc/rwrpZJbn/IMG-0080.jpg (https://postimages.org/)Fans desperate to get out at half time yesterday?

04-02-2024, 08:57 PM
Fans desperate to get out at half time yesterday?