View Full Version : Lee Johnson claims the media were out to batter him in Scotland

19-12-2023, 06:55 PM
Lee Johnson talks at a Fleetwood Town fan event. Some Hibs content.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/lee-johnson-claims-hibs-fans-31711165

19-12-2023, 06:58 PM
Ah Lee, still talking utter ***** on a very regular basis.

19-12-2023, 07:02 PM
Just talks complete pish. Seems to be constant.

19-12-2023, 07:03 PM
Good riddance to him.

19-12-2023, 07:05 PM

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/lee-johnson-claims-hibs-fans-31711165

Clip here.

https://x.com/thehibsarehere/status/1737142585045446944?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

19-12-2023, 07:08 PM
Vintage Lee - a handful of interesting and valid points in a sea of pish.

Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 07:11 PM
“I was pictured walking home along George Street with my mum and my gran.”

Err.. no you weren’t. You were pictured in a bar, that doesn’t do food, without your mum or gran.

19-12-2023, 07:19 PM
Currently on a run of 6 straight defeats. Not scored a goal in any of those games.

Wonder who is to blame for that.

19-12-2023, 07:20 PM
According to the Hibs Observer he also gave youngsters a chance sold 2-3m worth of talent, Fleetwood could hold their own in the SPL and Hibs fans expected to defeat Aston Villa ?

There is footage of a Fleetwood Fans’ Forum on social media but cannae even bring myself to listen to his voice again stopped watching his interviews a long time ago

The man is a slaver

19-12-2023, 07:21 PM

Err.. no you weren’t. You were pictured in a bar, that doesn’t do food, without your mum or gran.

Just an outright liar isn't he.

Glad we got rid, should've done it sooner.

GreenPJ
19-12-2023, 07:25 PM

I don't know what was and wasn't true about the night out but do think the mediq had it in for him as well as any other of the managers who is not part of the Largs mafia or an ex old firm player

19-12-2023, 07:26 PM
Nothing too controversial but puts a Lee Johnson spin on it all, as you would expect I suppose. Only disingenuous part is making out like he brought youngsters through. Giving two their debut in a game you’re winning 5-0 or so at the time and a grand total of 13 minutes across the whole season isn’t bringing youngsters through.

I saw him talking after the defeat last weekend about it being better next season. He’s already in self preservation mode.

19-12-2023, 07:30 PM
What an absolute roaster.
He was surprised he got sacked when he did 🤔!!

Lee you were clearly living in a bubble.
Totally eye bleeding football that I see has continued at Fleetwood.

19-12-2023, 07:33 PM
As i've said before, i have a friend who works for fleetwood town, i wont name him or the job he does, but he works with the players and speakss to the manager regularly.

He constantly goes on to my mate about Hibs fans and how they wont leave him alone on social media.:greengrin

Maybe if he stopped talking pish, those fans would leave him alone.

19-12-2023, 07:38 PM
He'd make an absolutely superb contestant on The Apprentice.

HendoDelivered
19-12-2023, 07:48 PM
🤣🤣🤣

Lendo
19-12-2023, 07:57 PM

Who?

19-12-2023, 07:58 PM
Just Lee being Lee.

Good riddance.

monarch
19-12-2023, 07:59 PM
I don't know what was and wasn't true about the night out but do think the mediq had it in for him as well as any other of the managers who is not part of the Largs mafia or an ex old firm player
Agree.

The part about the media is definitely true.

19-12-2023, 08:04 PM
The man has an extremely unhealthy addiction to talking utter ***** when a microphone is thrusted in front of his face, and a fully paid up life time membership to the self preservation society.

19-12-2023, 08:09 PM
Hope he has Derek Adams number. Should given him a call, sounds like they'd really get on

19-12-2023, 08:10 PM
Can see Lee ending up beside his dad at Torquay

19-12-2023, 08:11 PM
What a pile of crap, though no surprise there.

I don’t know of any Hibs fan who thought we’d beat Villa. What we did expect was to be set up much better than we were in the first leg. As for him having played for Hearts who really cared about that. He got a hard time cos he’s a **** and regularly talked pish and blamed everyone but himself when it went wrong while taking all the credit when it went well.

He should never have been anywhere near the Hibs job.

19-12-2023, 08:18 PM

I don’t know of any Hibs fan who thought we’d beat Villa. What we did expect was to be set up much better than we were in the first leg. As for him having played for Hearts who really cared about that. He got a hard time cos he’s a **** and regularly talked pish and blamed everyone but himself when it went wrong while taking all the credit when it went well.

The irony of that situation was that he was so inept and unlikeable anyway that no one ever actually needed to even reference that when slating him, that says it all.

19-12-2023, 08:22 PM
Spoke well about Hibs yet again. Always has.

19-12-2023, 08:25 PM

Wow. Did he actually say that?

19-12-2023, 08:30 PM
Spoke well about Hibs yet again. Always has.

You think saying the standard of player, facilities and youth set up is similar to Fleetwood is speaking well about Hibs?

19-12-2023, 08:36 PM
The irony of that situation was that he was so inept and unlikeable anyway that no one ever actually needed to even reference that when slating him, that says it all.

Exactly. There were so many reasons to dislike him, the fact he played a few games for them wasn’t one of them !

19-12-2023, 08:37 PM
As i've said before, i have a friend who works for fleetwood town, i wont name him or the job he does, but he works with the players and speakss to the manager regularly.

He constantly goes on to my mate about Hibs fans and how they wont leave him alone on social media.:greengrin

Maybe if he stopped talking pish, those fans would leave him alone.

He's just provided another load of reasons for those Hibs fans to hound him some more on social media.

19-12-2023, 08:47 PM
He's a brass neck taking credit for blooding youngsters, made a big song and dance in the January window about clearing space for them and then, as mentioned above, gave O'Connor and (I think) McIntyre a bit of time when we were scudding Aberdeen then never used them again.

Still maintain he's right to feel aggrieved about the meal with this mum or gran or whoever he was with, but that's by the by.

Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 08:49 PM
Was it actually only 13 minutes of time given to youngsters?

The fact I have to question whether that’s factual or just someone exaggerating a bit tells its own story I suppose.

19-12-2023, 08:50 PM
There is some truth in them media hounding, with Mikey Stewart and chums giving him a hard time from day one as their pal Sack'd Ross had been given the boot, would have been the same story to anyone coming in that wasn't in their little bubble.

The rest, well it's some half truths wrapped up in a lot of spin at best...

19-12-2023, 08:54 PM
Was it actually only 13 minutes of time given to youngsters?

The fact I have to question whether that’s factual or just someone exaggerating a bit tells its own story I suppose.

Yep, I looked it up last season. O’Connor & Macintyre got 13 minutes between them. Bojang got more minutes than the whole of the U19s combined last season, something like 21 minutes.

19-12-2023, 08:54 PM
There is some truth in them media hounding, with Mikey Stewart and chums giving him a hard time from day one as their pal Sack'd Ross had been given the boot, would have been the same story to anyone coming in that wasn't in their little bubble.

The rest, well it's some half truths wrapped up in a lot of spin at best...

I’ve not seen Monty get similar stick from the media though. And it will come as no surprise but I agreed with Stewart regarding us under Johnson.

Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 08:56 PM
Yep, I looked it up last season. O’Connor & Macintyre got 13 minutes between them. Bojang got more minutes than the whole of the U19s combined last season, something like 21 minutes.

In that case that’s some claim to have brought through youngsters.

19-12-2023, 09:01 PM
Brought through the youngsters
Hibs fans thought they should be beating Villa
Fleetwood have several players better than what he had at Hibs
Lying about his George Street night out

Spoke well about Hibs right enough 😂

19-12-2023, 09:14 PM
I’ve not seen Monty get similar stick from the media though. And it will come as no surprise but I agreed with Stewart regarding us under Johnson.

Of course you do! Stewart was critical and pretty livid towards Hibs for daring to sack his buddy and was on LJ's back before he had even gotten started, hardly unbiased coverage from the BBC and was clearly driven from a personal position. Regardless of how it worked out he wasn't given a chance by some of our media from day 1.

19-12-2023, 09:38 PM
Of course you do! Stewart was critical and pretty livid towards Hibs for daring to sack his buddy and was on LJ's back before he had even gotten started, hardly unbiased coverage from the BBC and was clearly driven from a personal position. Regardless of how it worked out he wasn't given a chance by some of our media from day 1.

His criticism of Johnson was valid though. Sacking Ross was something a lot of Hibs fans felt was unfair. Did he criticise Johnson before he started ? Really ? Or did his criticism start after our pathetic league cup exit ?

I generally find Mikey Stewart to be pretty decent, not just his views regarding Johnson.

It’s hard to take anything Johnson has said seriously when he’s come out with pish about giving youngsters a chance. Especially when we lost a promising one in Laidlaw who couldn’t even bear being in the same room as him.

19-12-2023, 09:43 PM

As someone else said his disastrous League Cup exit followed by the ***** he spewed about lack of fourth officials in it and how it starts too early (starts the same time for everyone in the group stage Lee, including Morton and Falkirk) had him marked as a bit of a potential riddy and painted a target on his back for people like Stewart. I also think with the benefit of hindsight and time Mikey Stewart has been proven bang on with majority of his criticisms.

19-12-2023, 11:30 PM
He genuinely just vomits out a random assortment of words and tries to attach meaning to them later. Honestly, it’s borderline impressive that he’s so capable of selling a line to football executives who continue to hire him based on the vacuous guff he spouts.

Lee Johnson is his own PR consultant.

20-12-2023, 02:50 AM

I haven't taken Michael Stewart even remotely seriously since he got neutered by Sevco/Jim Traynor. Showed then that a pay cheque was more important than intelligent and unbiased broadcasting.

20-12-2023, 05:31 AM
His criticism of Johnson was valid though. Sacking Ross was something a lot of Hibs fans felt was unfair. Did he criticise Johnson before he started ? Really ? Or did his criticism start after our pathetic league cup exit ?

I generally find Mikey Stewart to be pretty decent, not just his views regarding Johnson.

It’s hard to take anything Johnson has said seriously when he’s come out with pish about giving youngsters a chance. Especially when we lost a promising one in Laidlaw who couldn’t even bear being in the same room as him.

Stewart was gunning for whoever took over from his chum. LJ didn't hit that ground running and made it easy for Stewart and co to throw this identity pish around.

I know you don't like LJ since your friends told you he is a nasty man, but we should have circled the wagons and defended what was a weirdly personal attack on Hibs, not just LJ.

hibeesjoe
20-12-2023, 05:46 AM
What's the story with him and George Street. Was he pictured leaving a pub or something

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

20-12-2023, 05:49 AM
Yup. Stewart couldn't see past Jack Ross and gave both Maloney and Johnson a hard time following Ross's sacking. He had a point to be fair but his narrative was set and he wouldn't let it go. I don't watch Sportscene nor listen to Sportsound now so not sure what he's saying these days.

Johnson is right to an extent. Scottish football is a goldfish bowl and the media is pretty brutal. I don't think he said anything particularly wrong or controversial but he came across as not being able to handle the pressure or win over fans as an ex Hearts player. Both probably correct.

I really wish folk would leave the man alone though. He tried his best for our club which is more than a lot of other managers did. He ultimately wasn't good enough. He's moved on, so have we. Stop the petty hounding!

duffers
20-12-2023, 06:01 AM
What's the story with him and George Street. Was he pictured leaving a pub or something

He was in Elios the night before the Tynecastle derby where we got beat 3-0. His mum and gran were no where to be seen by this point.

Trinity Hibee
20-12-2023, 06:44 AM
He completely underestimated Scottish football and Hibs to begin with. It was always going to be difficult to recover from that.

Add in some bad derby defeats and the fact he didn’t take responsibility for anything then it was never going to work out. The fact he’s still talking about a Hibs at a Fleetwood meeting says a lot

20-12-2023, 07:02 AM
Yup. Stewart couldn't see past Jack Ross and gave both Maloney and Johnson a hard time following Ross's sacking. He had a point to be fair but his narrative was set and he wouldn't let it go. I don't watch Sportscene nor listen to Sportsound now so not sure what he's saying these days.

Johnson is right to an extent. Scottish football is a goldfish bowl and the media is pretty brutal. I don't think he said anything particularly wrong or controversial but he came across as not being able to handle the pressure or win over fans as an ex Hearts player. Both probably correct.

I really wish folk would leave the man alone though. He tried his best for our club which is more than a lot of other managers did. He ultimately wasn't good enough. He's moved on, so have we. Stop the petty hounding!

There’s a delightful irony in you criticising Stewart for having an agenda and not giving someone a fair chance from the start because he can’t see past the previous manager.

20-12-2023, 07:03 AM
Vintage Lee - a handful of interesting and valid points in a sea of pish.

20-12-2023, 07:06 AM

He was dancing on top of a bus shelter, bottle of vodka in hand, singing 500 miles at the top of his lungs.

Disgraceful scenes if true.

20-12-2023, 07:07 AM

Leave the man alone? It’s him that’s been videod talking about us?

Why did he feel the need to come out with the rubbish about Aston Villa. Trying to make out Hibs fans have high expectations by “expecting” us to beat Villa. Not one person I know expected us to win. The only thing I wanted was to get to the away leg maybe only being a goal or 2 down, then had a fantasy that we’d get the first goal just so the Hibs fans could go mental.
And then felt he had to add the “English b******s” part too.
Bleeding youngsters? Let’s compare it to what Monty has done.
If our squad is similar to fleetwoods with a bigger budget, that’s his doing as he signed about a million players.

20-12-2023, 07:08 AM
Stewart was gunning for whoever took over from his chum. LJ didn't hit that ground running and made it easy for Stewart and co to throw this identity pish around.

I know you don't like LJ since your friends told you he is a nasty man, but we should have circled the wagons and defended what was a weirdly personal attack on Hibs, not just LJ.

Mikey Stewart is entitled - in fact, is paid - to have his opinion.

I don’t think it was an old pals act.

20-12-2023, 07:15 AM
He's a total fanny and never should have at our club in first place. I think the Gordon's have made some good decisions but appointing him is a huge error and made me seriously question their judgement.

Talks absolute pish and thinks he's the best thing since sliced bread.

Given how disastrous his current gig is going I'm hoping once he gets the boot from Fleetwood we won't need to hear from him again as no one will touch him.

20-12-2023, 07:50 AM
I’d also like to point out that Hibs would scud Fleetwood 9 times out of 10

Auckland Hibs
20-12-2023, 07:57 AM
Lee Johnston is an absolute slaver.

He'll be emptied before the seasons end by Fleetwood and he'll be blaming everyone except himself. Rinse and repeat for any other club he manages.

20-12-2023, 08:07 AM

These guys hear and know what goes on behind the scenes in a lot of clubs. The pundits can't come out and directly say LJ is a bad little man, ive heard some pretty poor stuff behind the scenes that he gets upto, half the players hate him. They can though pick apart his average to poor performance as a coach and double down on that.

Thats what they did with LJ. Maloney just wasn't a very good Manager.

20-12-2023, 08:19 AM
I really hope we never employ another chancer like this. What a slavering erse.

GRA
20-12-2023, 08:33 AM
Seems to talk the talk and, more often than not, is able to successfully spin stories to suit his narrative. Only gets you so far until results go down the pan and you get found out. He's history anyways :bye:

20-12-2023, 09:03 AM
Why is this guy getting so much airtime.

Trying to deflect from his inept tactics and management during his time which is continuing to show at Fleetwood.

Look at me, look at me it’s someone else’s fault!

20-12-2023, 09:05 AM
There’s a delightful irony in you criticising Stewart for having an agenda and not giving someone a fair chance from the start because he can’t see past the previous manager.

I don't rate Montgomery though. Never have. Happy for him to change my mind but he hasn't as of yet. I wanted LJ out in the end so i'm not pining for him in the slightest. Just don't understand the OTT stuff directed his way.

20-12-2023, 09:08 AM
I don't rate Montgomery though. Never have.

Also known as an agenda.

20-12-2023, 09:09 AM
Also known as an agenda.

It isn't when i'd be more than happy for him to change my mind.

20-12-2023, 09:15 AM

:rotflmao:Aye that was the reason. Nothing to do with the way he managed us, the way he acted or spoke. It was all cos my mates told me he was a nasty man.

As I said previously it wasn’t only Mikey Stewart who disagreed with sacking Ross a lot of Hibs fans did too. Even Ron himself admitted he was probably a bit hasty in doing so. Johnson then set himself up for criticism with his comments and bizarre team selections and tactics. The identity chat was a fair comment, I wasn’t alone in not knowing what he was actually trying to do with us.

20-12-2023, 09:35 AM
I don't rate Montgomery though. Never have. Happy for him to change my mind but he hasn't as of yet. I wanted LJ out in the end so i'm not pining for him in the slightest. Just don't understand the OTT stuff directed his way.

Not rating Montgomery is fine and reasonable. However I think it’s a little disingenuous to make out like you have eventually came to that conclusion over time. You were worried about all manner of hypothetical scenarios before he was even appointed. After a few weeks in charge your “we will be bottom 6 under this joker” and recently deliberately ignoring the progress made in terms of points and league position to claim we have “sacrificed half a season”.

Anyway, I’ll leave it there as I think it’s fair to call out what I see as hypocrisy but it’s not constructive.

20-12-2023, 10:05 AM
We’ve employed some idiots over the years but he’s right up there. Some bare faced lies, particularly the part about him walking along George street with his mum

20-12-2023, 11:33 AM
One of the lads I go to games with was chatting to a current Hibs player few weeks ago.

He was very positive about Montgomery. His reaction when asked about Lee Johnson? “We all hated that *****!”

20-12-2023, 11:34 AM
One of the lads I go to games with was chatting to a current Hibs player few weeks ago.

He was very positive about Montgomery. His reaction when asked about Lee Johnson? “We all hated that *****!”

Makes sense

Was told by someone at the club no one liked or respected him or even listened to him as half the time he was chatting out his ....

20-12-2023, 11:35 AM
I must admit, at no point since the euro draw was made which had us potentially facing Aston Villa up to the games themselves, did I ever think of Aston Villa as “English *******s”. I don’t embrace such anti-English sentiment and nor do any of my friends. I don’t really recall that kind of narrative from the pages of Hibs.Net either?

As for having hopes of beating them, the result was pretty much what I was expecting. I don’t know anyone who thought we would win the tie!

Lee Johnson’s comments can be put down to maybe showing off a bit and trying to ingratiate himself with the fans of his new club. That said, I found him a likeable character and was willing for him to succeed at Hibs.

20-12-2023, 11:53 AM

Nothing more to add.

20-12-2023, 11:54 AM
If you actually read what he's saying aside from the Villa comment it's pretty mild and not far off.

The media did hate him and want him to fail. It's a closed shop and if you're not one of the boys you won't get any favourable press. We don't tend to recruit from inside the wee pundit bubble so we get it more often than most.

20-12-2023, 11:56 AM

And yet apparently he was a nice guy who loved Hibs and should have had more time. Mental.

He was never the right man for the job. One of the worst decisions we've made as a club that probably cost is a fortune.

Thank f he's gone.

20-12-2023, 11:57 AM
If you actually read what he's saying aside from the Villa comment it's pretty mild and not far off.

The media did hate him and want him to fail. It's a closed shop and if you're not one of the boys you won't get any favourable press. We don't tend to recruit from inside the wee pundit bubble so we get it more often than most.

Tend to agree his Villa comment was ridiculous however media and i would suggest refs seemed to have it in for him for some reason. Maybe just the club

20-12-2023, 12:00 PM
I thought he was a dick, and he needed sacked for the pish he was serving up and the manner of some of our defeats.

I was probably in the minority who didnt want him at the club because he'd played for the gimps, but that probably says more about me than him.

Can you imagine any ex Hibs player managing them now, i cant see them even contemplating having an ex Hibs player as their manager.

Willie Ormond was in different times to what we have now, it just shouldnt happen now in my opinion.

Hibiza
20-12-2023, 12:09 PM
An utter gobsh**e

20-12-2023, 12:12 PM
He kept telling the media he was Scottish

Now he’s back as English in that video clip

People pleaser

Absolute car salesman

20-12-2023, 12:22 PM
He's on a run of six losses, 17 goals against, none scored if my Google search is correct. Could be sacked twice before New Year.

20-12-2023, 12:28 PM

'so it was a bit of a shock if I'm honest. I wasn't expecting it'.

A loud rendition of 'Johnson GTF' was being belted out. 😂

20-12-2023, 12:29 PM
Makes sense

Was told by someone at the club no one liked or respected him or even listened to him as half the time he was chatting out his ....

Would make a good poster here then! 🤣

20-12-2023, 12:31 PM
Don't know about the media but many fans on here seemed obsessed with slating Johnson such that it would not surprise me if some are now stalking him on social media.

Sad.

20-12-2023, 12:39 PM

People pleaser

Absolute car salesman

He said his gran was Scottish not that he was

ehf
20-12-2023, 12:52 PM

'so it was a bit of a shock if I'm honest. I wasn't expecting it'.

A loud rendition of 'Johnson GTF' was being belted out. 😂

:agree: the minute Livi's third goal went in, the crowd knew he was a goner, and so did he.

20-12-2023, 12:57 PM
He said his gran was Scottish not that he was

https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1694342475949715545?s=46&t=QWnDWrR3S2WtDOFfqS0zFA

Used the “half Scottish” line a few times.

Paulie Walnuts
20-12-2023, 01:01 PM
https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1694342475949715545?s=46&t=QWnDWrR3S2WtDOFfqS0zFA

Used the “half Scottish” line a few times.

20-12-2023, 01:12 PM
Utter utter slaver. Well rid!

JJP
20-12-2023, 01:15 PM
LJ might not have been everyone's cup of team but some of the comments on Fleetwood's social media channels from Hibs fans are a bit weird and OTT in my opinion. He spent one season with us and we finished 5th which is exactly where we should have finished based on what we spent as a club in comparison to our rivals. Based on some of the comments I have seen you would think we narrowly avoided relegation during LJ's time in charge. We might have even finished higher if it wasn't for some of the strange refereeing decisions that went against us during his tenure. The Duk penalty at Pittodrie and the Ross County goal being allowed to stand after Marshall was barged into the back of the net immediately spring to mind. I agree with him that the media up here had it in for him as seems to regularly be the case when someone is appointed from outwith the scottish football clique. Having said that some of the comments he has made there are obvious nonsense.

20-12-2023, 01:41 PM
I thought he was a dick, and he needed sacked for the pish he was serving up and the manner of some of our defeats.

I was probably in the minority who didnt want him at the club because he'd played for the gimps, but that probably says more about me than him.

Can you imagine any ex Hibs player managing them now, i cant see them even contemplating having an ex Hibs player as their manager.

Willie Ormond was in different times to what we have now, it just shouldnt happen now in my opinion.

Whilst the hearts connection never bothered me, you’re absolutely right that they would never think about doing similar.

Billy Brown. Enough said!

20-12-2023, 01:51 PM
We've had a few abysmal blethers as managers recently but he was right up there with, and maybe slightly ahead of Butcher.
Gushed insincerity and self confidence way above actual ability.

Saint Hibee
20-12-2023, 02:08 PM
I really don’t get the hatred for Lee Johnson on here. He was just another in a long line of poor to mediocre managers. I think he tried his best and it just wasn’t good enough. And can anybody really disagree about the football media in Scotland?

20-12-2023, 02:13 PM
I really don’t get the hatred for Lee Johnson on here. He was just another in a long line of poor to mediocre managers. I think he tried his best and it just wasn’t good enough. And can anybody really disagree about the football media in Scotland?Nae hatred here, just couldn't take to him and not much of what he said or done persuaded me otherwise.

20-12-2023, 02:24 PM

20-12-2023, 02:33 PM
I really don’t get the hatred for Lee Johnson on here. He was just another in a long line of poor to mediocre managers. I think he tried his best and it just wasn’t good enough. And can anybody really disagree about the football media in Scotland?
Yip he's gone folk need to let it rest I don't get this looking backwards all the time.

Groathillgrump
20-12-2023, 02:36 PM
Just seeing that slaver's name on the main board again made me shudder.

20-12-2023, 02:58 PM
Once Fleetwood punt him, and that can't be far off, the next team will be hearing that the Lancashire press were out to get him. Football fantasist.

20-12-2023, 02:59 PM
He is in the right part of the world now, slavering Skate that he is.

20-12-2023, 03:47 PM

People pleaser

Absolute car salesman

Johnson was eligible to play for the Gibraltar national football team, due to the birthplace of his grandmother. In September 2014, the Gibraltar Football Association contacted him regarding interest in playing for the national team in the Euro 2016 qualifiers. Despite considering the offer, he declined, stating, "I don't really want to be running after the world champions when we've [Oldham] got a game on Saturday.

Torto7
20-12-2023, 04:15 PM
He's an untalented wee fat chancer and has slavered pish since his very first word. If Joe Pasquale and Barbara Windsor had a kid it would have a deeper voice than that squeaky toe rag. Lay of the Helium Lee you utter balloon of a man.

20-12-2023, 04:51 PM
What LJ didn't tell us about his home made all things football app was that it includes his own version of Chat GPT that comes up with all his speeches, team talks, pre and post match press conferences etc in under 2 seconds.

Trinity Hibee
20-12-2023, 05:38 PM
Yip he's gone folk need to let it rest I don't get this looking backwards all the time.

He’s the one that’s been speaking about Hibs.

20-12-2023, 06:04 PM

Nah, it's a reminder to those of you who wanted to keep him, that sometimes those of us being a bit negative on here are right :greengrin

Next time we have such a useless manager, just think back to LJs time here and how things started to improve the minute he left.

20-12-2023, 06:09 PM

This thread exists because he was slavering a load of pish. Again.

20-12-2023, 06:11 PM
Nah, it's a reminder to those of you who wanted to keep him, that sometimes those of us being a bit negative on here are right :greengrin

Next time we have such a useless manager, just think back to LJs time here and how things started to improve the minute he left.[emoji106]

20-12-2023, 06:13 PM
He's an untalented wee fat chancer and has slavered pish since his very first word. If Joe Pasquale and Barbara Windsor had a kid it would have a deeper voice than that squeaky toe rag. Lay of the Helium Lee you utter balloon of a man.

Very classy comment 😳

21-12-2023, 06:05 AM
Very classy comment 😳

Yep nice to be nice

21-12-2023, 07:51 AM
I think that LJ is trying to burnish his reputation in case he needs to return up here, but people can see what he was like.

I tried to give him a chance for the first month or so - despite the noise from others that he was just a clown with a soundbite - but how he treated the LC group stages last season was utterly ridiculous.

One of only two cups that most clubs in this country can win and he treated the games as pre season bounce games.

GreenPJ
21-12-2023, 08:05 AM
He was a failure at us, he was a slaver, he doesn't warrant us still going on about him as much as we are but he is right about the Scottish media. Just think about how McLaughlin challenged NM in his first interview. They have an agenda to keep every club other than the OF in its "place". The televised media are just as bad with their love in with the old firm but you do occasionally get small snippets from some of the pundits that is a fairer reflection.

The Scottish media's faults don't make up for the fact that Johnson was a failure but the bias and ineptitude of the reporters and reporting does nothing to help our game.

21-12-2023, 08:37 AM
Love the man, a lot more now that he's longer our manager. He's provided us with much more entertainment since he left, than when he was in post.

21-12-2023, 08:46 AM
He genuinely just vomits out a random assortment of words and tries to attach meaning to them later. Honestly, it’s borderline impressive that he’s so capable of selling a line to football executives who continue to hire him based on the vacuous guff he spouts.

Lee Johnson is his own PR consultant.

Him and Boris share a trait on top of their last names.

At the end of last season, Ange Postecoglou, Stephen Robinson, David Martindale, Derek McInnes and Malky Mackay would have had longer tenures than Lee Johnson and only Ange departed before Lee did. Which makes that rubbish as well. At best depending on timing, he’d have had the fourth longest tenure but for the largest time, it would have been fifth longest at best.

Up to their sackings at Hearts and Aberdeen respectively, Nielsen and Goodwin would have been above him in the table too.

21-12-2023, 11:49 AM
For a guy who was a better Hibs manager than the likes of Pat Stanton, Mixu and Yogi he doesn't half get some stick haha. You'd think he was a Terry Butcher type. Mad level of abuse. Especially considering the eye bleeding football we play every week now he's gone.

21-12-2023, 12:01 PM
For a guy who was a better Hibs manager than the likes of Pat Stanton, Mixu and Yogi he doesn't half get some stick haha. You'd think he was a Terry Butcher type. Mad level of abuse. Especially considering the eye bleeding football we play every week now he's gone.

What made Johnson a better Hibs manager than Mixu or Yogi? I don’t really have an opinion either way but Yogi has a 4th placed finish with Hibs on his CV and Mixu has a season where he got the same number of points as Johnson did, 52. Albeit that was only good enough for 6th that season.

21-12-2023, 12:04 PM

Yogi? Aye, very good.
I would agree, nowhere near as bad as Butcher though.

SickBoy32
21-12-2023, 12:04 PM
What made Johnson a better Hibs manager than Mixu or Yogi? I don’t really have an opinion either way but Yogi has a 4th placed finish with Hibs on his CV and Mixu has a season where he got the same number of points as Johnson did, 52. Albeit that was only good enough for 6th that season.

Good points, LJ also had investment in the squad that Yogi / Mixu would've loved I'm sure!

Not to mention LJ overseeing awful derby results, particularly the largest home defeat since the 90s.

21-12-2023, 12:23 PM

Treated league cup like glorified friendlies, beaten in Europe by a bunch of part timers, treated youth and young players with distain and disliked by a vest majority of the players and background staff at the club. The guy was a disaster for the club and your continuing support for this clown says more about you than anything. You immediately took a dislike to Montgomery because you'd lost your beloved Johnson, that is even more pitiful than some guys putting him down on this thread, you sound like a petulant child.

21-12-2023, 01:32 PM

LJ has a higher win rate than both and had an excellent European result. Was a fair comparison based on time spent as manager.

21-12-2023, 01:33 PM
Good points, LJ also had investment in the squad that Yogi / Mixu would've loved I'm sure!

Not to mention LJ overseeing awful derby results, particularly the largest home defeat since the 90s.

Although he did win his last home derby and was undefeated in 2. We absolutely battered them. 1-0 flattered them.

LJ also took over from the car crash that was Shaun Maloney.

21-12-2023, 01:39 PM
Treated league cup like glorified friendlies, beaten in Europe by a bunch of part timers, treated youth and young players with distain and disliked by a vest majority of the players and background staff at the club. The guy was a disaster for the club and your continuing support for this clown says more about you than anything. You immediately took a dislike to Montgomery because you'd lost your beloved Johnson, that is even more pitiful than some guys putting him down on this thread, you sound like a petulant child.

:faf::faf: This is where you are very much mistaken. But i will correct you. I wanted LJ out. If you go back on the threads at that time you will see that. I don't like Montgomery for a reason that is staring us right in the face.

My beloved Johnson. Brilliant. People like you slaughtering him is childish. Get over it.

21-12-2023, 01:49 PM
Although he did win his last home derby and was undefeated in 2. We absolutely battered them. 1-0 flattered them.

LJ also took over from the car crash that was Shaun Maloney.

Undefeated in 2 😂

Rumble de Thump
21-12-2023, 01:55 PM
Johnson was sacked because he wasn't doing a good enough job. After three transfer windows, we suffered our worst ever defeat in Europe in amongst lots of other garbage performances and results. Maybe if he'd played some of the players he'd signed it could have been better but they were sent packing on loans or, stuck on the bench or relegated to the youth team. He's gone. Most of us have moved on.

21-12-2023, 02:43 PM
:faf::faf: This is where you are very much mistaken. But i will correct you. I wanted LJ out. If you go back on the threads at that time you will see that. I don't like Montgomery for a reason that is staring us right in the face.

My beloved Johnson. Brilliant. People like you slaughtering him is childish. Get over it.

If you wanted him out, why defend him so vehemently, we lost more games than won, add that to the constant pish he talked. He gets slaughtered because he's a gash manager and still talks himself up as if he's all that, many seen through him early doors and remember it's because he's talking about us that's the reason we're discussing him.

21-12-2023, 03:38 PM

Every week get tae. Andorra mob st mirren and particularly Motherwell were three absolutely horrific eye bleeding performances

21-12-2023, 03:45 PM
Nobody can honestly say that the football under Monty is as good as LJ’s football on good days like Vs Luzern - not even close.

LJ just couldn’t do it regularly enough and then was horrendous Vs a fare few sides.

21-12-2023, 03:52 PM
Nobody can honestly say that the football under Monty is as good as LJ’s football on good days like Vs Luzern - not even close.

LJ just couldn’t do it regularly enough and then was horrendous Vs a fare few sides.

Performance in semi final was every bit as good.

21-12-2023, 05:32 PM
I enjoy the football under Monty. Incredible revisionism of the LJ era on here too.

Some of the football we’ve played has been very good.

21-12-2023, 05:39 PM
Every week get tae. Andorra mob st mirren and particularly Motherwell were three absolutely horrific eye bleeding performances

The last two Saturdays have been garbage too. Willing to wait until he's selecting from a squad that he's been able to supplement with his own signings though.

21-12-2023, 05:51 PM
Whilst the hearts connection never bothered me, you’re absolutely right that they would never think about doing similar.

Billy Brown. Enough said!

More fool them then.

To paraphrase Jock Stein, "If you were offered two excellent managers, one of whom was an ex-Hibs player, who would you choose "?

I'd choose the non-Hibs manager".

21-12-2023, 10:43 PM
He'd make an absolutely superb contestant on The Apprentice.

That would be brilliant

He's here!
22-12-2023, 01:30 AM

That's fair comment. The Luzern game was the best at ER for a few years, while the 6-0 win over the sheep and the 4-2 win over Celtic were terrific to watch too. As you say, consistency was his problem.

I'm unclear what people are seeing under NM that makes them think we're miles better than under LJ. I hope we become so but it's not evident yet.

Musselbound
22-12-2023, 05:42 AM

I agree with your points. 'The narrative was set and he wouldn't let it go' sounds like Stewart all over. I really don't know what people see in him. Arrogant and obnoxious.

I haven't read the Johnson interview. He won't go down as a great Hibs manager but I never really got all the ill feeling.

Skol
22-12-2023, 05:59 AM
That's fair comment. The Luzern game was the best at ER for a few years, while the 6-0 win over the sheep and the 4-2 win over Celtic were terrific to watch too. As you say, consistency was his problem.

I'm unclear what people are seeing under NM that makes them think we're miles better than under LJ. I hope we become so but it's not evident yet.

Under Johnson we could be good. We could be bad.

Montgomery has us playing a different way more consistently

22-12-2023, 12:59 PM

I'm unclear what people are seeing under NM that makes them think we're miles better than under LJ. I hope we become so but it's not evident yet.Having a plan all the first team squad understand?
Putting youngsters into the squad and playing them.
Giving players some belief in their being there.

Not having 10 players up the park trying to force a winner and losing a last minute breakaway goal and the game.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

22-12-2023, 01:08 PM

We had the same thing when Maloney took over - people saying it was like night and day compared to the team under Ross.

Like everyone else, I'm desperately hoping this is a slow start to much better things, but apart from in a couple of games this has been quite a painful watch so far, albeit results have been generally decent.

We were inconsistent under LJ but it's nonsense for people to make out there wasn't a lot of very decent games under him.

VoltaireHibs
22-12-2023, 07:43 PM

I think people are seeing a system, that does sometimes work but it also hard work for the supporters. After LJ that in itself seems like progress. Time will tell. I like NM but there is a part of me that would like to take a chunk of that Foley money and ask Tony Mowbray the question. He's probably my favourite Hibs manager in my lifetime and I think that, right now, he'd be a perfect fit for the club.

I'm also happy to see NM get a couple of transfer windows, see how it goes.