View Full Version : Tell him he's Pele and play him up front story

16-12-2023, 11:52 AM
I've seen various managers being credited as the originators of that story, today I saw Jamie Rednapp credit his dad with it, but I thought it was a Scottish manager who said it.

Does anyone know for sure?

16-12-2023, 11:56 AM
I always remember being told this story about John Lambie while at Partick, but can't remember the player or the circumstances.

16-12-2023, 11:57 AM
I've seen various managers being credited as the originators of that story, today I saw Jamie Rednapp credit his dad with it, but I thought it was a Scottish manager who said it.

Im 1992, John lambie the Partick manager said it to colin mcglashan who had suffered a head injury and apparently didn't know who he was.

16-12-2023, 12:14 PM
Im 1992, John lambie the Partick manager said it to colin mcglashan who had suffered a head injury and apparently didn't know who he was.

That's how I remember the story.

There was also the Jim McLean one about the young player who was acting a bit big for his boots - "if he was half as good as he thinks he is he'd be twice as good as Pele".

Skol
16-12-2023, 12:16 PM
Haw Gordon. Your problem is yer brains are all in her heid

Turnbull to Alan Gordon when he had made a valid observation on some instruction Gordon hadn’t carried out.

16-12-2023, 12:30 PM
John Lambie was “credited” with it but you’d have to say it’s an incredibly negligent approach to player safety these days.

Taking that side of it away, it’s a great line.

Mike Berry
16-12-2023, 12:44 PM
I remember it as John Lambie.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231216/f780a8d9154232e38dfca8f2287fe921.jpg

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

16-12-2023, 01:53 PM
Definitely Lambie, although for years I thought it was about Roddie Grant and only learnt on .net it was actually McGlashan.

16-12-2023, 02:05 PM

That's the one

16-12-2023, 02:32 PM
Lambie.

16-12-2023, 02:56 PM

Yup, H&S aside, it was hilarious. Also, 'Our defence couldn't keep weans out a close.'

16-12-2023, 02:57 PM
Yup, H&S aside, it was hilarious. Also, 'Our defence couldn't keep weans out a close.'Some boy was John Lambie[emoji23]

16-12-2023, 04:16 PM

To be fair to Jamie, his dad also told a court that his dog had a bank account in Monaco so probably doesn't know what to believe now.

16-12-2023, 04:32 PM
Some boy was John Lambie[emoji23]

Read some more about him to avoid thinking about today's result.
Apparently used to put George Best's bets on for him when he was at Hibs.
Roddy Grant said they (PT) beat Albion Rovers 11-1 in the cup & thought they would get the next day (Sunday) off.
Found themselves at Ruchill ploughing up the steep hill there hauling tractor tyres.
Was very successful for many years though, & of course signed Chick Charnley four times, which is probably all that needs saying.
Coo, that was so much more fun than thinking about today........

16-12-2023, 05:03 PM
Some boy was John Lambie[emoji23]

Had a *** tattoo not a great guy

16-12-2023, 05:34 PM
Had a *** tattoo not a great guyHe made me laugh, and now that's something else to laugh at, a now defunct Glasgow rangers tattoo [emoji23]

16-12-2023, 05:46 PM
Two faced c—-
Bent over when auld came in

16-12-2023, 06:31 PM
Remember a tattoo is not just for Xmas. He was one of them, but funny at times, although what happened to the Luton player today kind of puts the game into perspective, the health of players etc, needs to be seen as serious and we also still need characters in the game, difficult balancing act.