View Full Version : Your first football shirt

08-12-2023, 01:20 PM
This morning, Five Live was asking for your football hero and it got me thinking of a couple of things.

Being brought up in NI, my first hero was Steve Heighway from Liverpool but that's not the reason for the thread

My parents got me a Liverpool shirt in about 1972 (god knows where they got it from) but I don't recall seeing many other kids in football strips.

Now, I expect the first shirt of a lot of folk on here will be Hibs/Scotland ones naturally but can you remember when you got it?

08-12-2023, 01:31 PM
I was one of those kids who had a Hibs strip pretty much the day I was born so I can't remember the first.

The first strip I can remember being desperate to have was the below:

https://greatestkits.co.uk/products/1993-95-manchester-united-gk-shirt-s-9-10

Peter Schmeichel was my hero when I was about 8 or 9 and that strip was the dream. Whilst Engish teams kits were fairly easy to come by in high street stores in the early to mid 90s the keepers kit weren't so easy, particularly as this was the away goalkeeper kit, and this was pre internet shopping. I had asked for it for Christmas and my dad had told me he couldn't get a hold of it so had got me a Liverpool top instead. On Christmas morning I opened the wrapping and discovered I had the one I really wanted. My dad bought all his own boots and whatever from Colin Campbell Sports at the time and he had managed to get one from a guy down south who had sent it up to him.

Like so many kits from that era when I see how much they sell for now I wish I had kept it.

Fuzzywuzzy
08-12-2023, 01:33 PM
First one was Hibs top from 1982. Always remember the panini sticker of Alan sneddon and McNamara.

The umbro strips in the '80s used to come in a presentation box.

Bridge hibs
08-12-2023, 01:35 PM
This morning, Five Live was asking for your football hero and it got me thinking of a couple of things.

Being brought up in NI, my first hero was Steve Heighway from Liverpool but that's not the reason for the thread

My parents got me a Liverpool shirt in about 1972 (god knows where they got it from) but I don't recall seeing many other kids in football strips.

Now, I expect the first shirt of a lot of folk on here will be Hibs/Scotland ones naturally but can you remember when you got it?

Mines actually was the old style dark green, round neck and long sleeves, ironically it was in the late 70s and I found it hidden in a garden hedge of a house beside Parsons Green school, beside that was a polyester rangers zip up which I assume maybe someones gym gear from school

I put the hibs top on straight away, sweaty and probably covered in beasties I gave a **** not and thereafter it was never off my back, think my Mum eventually chiselled it off me and stuck it in the twin tub washing machine. The top was about 2 sizes too big but I soon grew into it

Oh and the rangers top was left to rot 🤣

08-12-2023, 02:18 PM
My Celtic supporting Uncle got me an absolutely pristine kids Celtic away top as soon as I was old enough to kick a ball.

I never wore it.

hibstag
08-12-2023, 02:23 PM
First one was Hibs top from 1982. Always remember the panini sticker of Alan sneddon and McNamara.

The umbro strips in the '80s used to come in a presentation box.

Mine was the 80 82 red scotland away, blue shorts and white socks in the box
first hibs was the 85 86 insave shirt i still have the top and picked up a decent copy from a reproduction retro site

08-12-2023, 02:40 PM

Not sure why this has pasted horizontally, but I recall in the early 70s a couple of older kids at primary school had this version of the Hibs shirt (Pat Stanton pictured about to score against Hearts. Empty terrace behind was due to the cave/cowshed being closed while seating was installed). IIRC the old sports shop Patrick Thompson's on North Bridge used to stock this one for kids rather than the all-white sleeves.My first top

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

hibeg
08-12-2023, 02:48 PM
I remember wearing the Bukta top from the late 70s but can’t recall anything before then
The top was given to a Spaniard at the 1982 World Cup in a benevolent moment !

Lendo
08-12-2023, 02:52 PM
Think it was a Hearts top actually… ��

My dad (a St Johnstone fan) took me to both Hearts and Hibs to see which I preferred. All my pals growing up in Currie were either Hearts or Rangers fans.

35 years later I don’t regret my choice.

08-12-2023, 02:53 PM
You took 35 years to stop supporting Hearts?

08-12-2023, 02:54 PM
91/92 home kit which I still have.

08-12-2023, 02:55 PM
Mine was a bright yellow Oli Gottskálksson top.

Not the best role model in hindsight :greengrin

Lendo
08-12-2023, 02:58 PM
You took 35 years to stop supporting Hearts?

Hahahah I’ve reworded that.

I remember hating Tynecastle when we went but mind absolutely loving the old East as a kid.

08-12-2023, 03:16 PM
Hearts top v neck short sleeves 1963

I was Davie Holt

You tried to dribble past me in my tenement corridor you got a boot in the shins

They start you young in Gorgie :greengrin

therealgavmac
08-12-2023, 03:18 PM
Christmas 1970…. Got the replica kit of the Brazil World Cul winning side

madhibby70
08-12-2023, 03:44 PM
Purple bukta strip

leithsansiro
08-12-2023, 03:47 PM
Mine was actually a Hearts top, not by choice admittedly. My mum told my auntie that I “liked football” when she had asked what to get for my birthday, so apparently that was the one she went for.

I actually still have it. Amusingly, it’s their shirt from their hugely successful title campaign in ‘86 😅

Hillsidehibby
08-12-2023, 04:11 PM
I was given a Celtic strip for christmas in 1967. I was only 8 and my mother was a wee Irish wumman who had been through the Barras.
As soon as I was old enough to go to ER which was about a year later it was The Hibees for me.

Bizzarely she also got me the red and black stripe Man City strip from the early 70's. There must have been a lorry that shed its load!

08-12-2023, 04:23 PM
The 70s Bukta one from when I was born.

Would have had every top after that up until the Bukta Macbean one which I didn't like.

Had a few after but not near every one. My favourite is still the Adidas League Cup one with no sponsor. Just wish it had the current badge instead of that rubbish Saturn one. Would love that Hibs Adidas training top that had the West German 1990 iconic pattern with our current badge...

08-12-2023, 04:32 PM
Bukta sponsor top was my first Hibs strip. I remember having a range of strips as a kid. Argentina 78 full kit was stunning along with world cup Tango ball. Had the Crystal Palace white with red and blue sash. Had a number of Everton strips. I remember I had the white Liverpool Hitachi strip. The Aston Villa European Cup winners strip. So many and was always the highlight of Christmas and birthdays

08-12-2023, 04:32 PM

First strip was Hibs - and second, third, fourth... Purple Bukta may have been second or third.
My dad brought this Nantes top back from a trip to France and I wore it as a keeper, confusing a few with the 1 on the front.

PhoenixHibee
08-12-2023, 05:02 PM
Mine was the white Manchester United top with 4 vertical stripes by Admiral. My brothers was the Bukta Hibs shirt from 1979.

08-12-2023, 05:07 PM
It was difficult to find replica strips in the early seventies so my mum bought me pyjamas from Goldberg's that were green with white sleeves. She said I used to ask her if it was bedtime yet as soon as I got home from school..

08-12-2023, 05:13 PM
Scotland 1978 world cup.
Epic

08-12-2023, 05:25 PM
1980 Red Scotland away top…

Renfrew_Hibby
08-12-2023, 05:32 PM
Scotland 86 world cup kit, the one with the band on the shorts. Still remember my mum going awww as I put it on in the sports shop.

08-12-2023, 05:33 PM
Scotland 1978 world cup.
Epic
The best Scotland strip ever. But I'm auld and nostalgic

adam middlemass
08-12-2023, 05:39 PM
I remember saving up money from my Sunday morning paper round in about 1964/65, seemed to take several months and luckily for me my older sister had a boyfriend who was a Hibby and used to get the football Monthly magazine and passed it on to me when he had read it all. I eventually saved enough and gave him the money and he ordered it through the magazine. I can’t tell you how excited I was waiting on its arrival. It seemed to take an eternity to come but was worth the wait. It was a round neck white trim with long sleeves emerald cuffs, a thing of beauty. No logo or anything like that in those days. Swear to God I had it on every single day during the six week school holidays. Mother couldn’t get it off my back to put in the twin tub :wink:. Was the only guy running around Burnfoot playing football with his fav team strip on. Happy days :agree:

08-12-2023, 06:25 PM
This was my first football strip. Xmas present in 1980

08-12-2023, 06:29 PM

First strip was Hibs - and second, third, fourth... Purple Bukta may have been second or third.
My dad brought this Nantes top back from a trip to France and I wore it as a keeper, confusing a few with the 1 on the front.
I had that Nantes top. Loved it.

08-12-2023, 06:47 PM
1965, emerald green, white sleeves, to this day I swear my granny who gave me it knitted it.

08-12-2023, 07:01 PM

I had that top as well. Classic. Still looks cool. You can't go wrong with green and yellow

08-12-2023, 07:17 PM
Had the classic admiral Coventry sky blue kit aged 7

CB Hibs 68
08-12-2023, 07:37 PM
I’m

Bridge hibs
08-12-2023, 07:39 PM
I’m

Similar to mines but I had long sleeves

CB Hibs 68
08-12-2023, 07:43 PM
Got the classic Hibs top in I reckon 1969 for Xmas and then the Brazil top in 1970.Apart from that only ever had one other Fitba Top bought by an eager girlfriend in the late eighties.Spent loads on the kids strips over the years.Wish I did what a mate did was and keep them all.

08-12-2023, 08:19 PM

A young greenlex a number of years ago. Might not have been the first one but it would be close. Around ‘72 I reckon.

ChilliEater
08-12-2023, 08:28 PM

A young greenlex a number of years ago. Might not have been the first one but it would be close. Around ‘72 I reckon.

That's the one I got for Christmas 1975 - with the shorts and socks. Went to bed wearing it that night. My mum passed it on to friends kid when I had grown out of it - which was the right thing to do at the time, but I wish I still had it now.

08-12-2023, 08:49 PM
Growing up in the 50’s and 60’s replica football strips just weren’t around much….and I don’t remember many from the early 70’s either.

Pretty sure if you looked at crowd photos of the early 70’s you would find it hard to spot many in the crowd.

08-12-2023, 08:58 PM
Mine was, I'm pretty sure,1966,Primary 3 and was actually given it by one of my classmates mothers. Short white sleeves and V neck. Thing was, when I saw Hibs play they all had long sleeves. I couldn’t do anything about the round collar but took to wearing my white school shirt under my strip and thought it looked like long sleeves. The problem then was how much s**t I got in to with my mother at how my shirt sleeves were always caked in mud. They hadn’t banned smacking back then. 😫

The old ankle high boots and nailed in leather studs were a hoot back then too. My first “modern” boots were the Power Points with the numbers on the parts you were meant to strike the ball with. 🤣

Next Christmas I got what was nearly the modern strip. Got in to trouble for wearing the full kit under my cassock and surplus as an alter boy that morning

Then, before you know it, it was missing the green stripes on the collar and cuffs. The green pen had to be put to good use at that point. I seem to remember I got in trouble again when it was washed alongside other clothes that picked up green ink stains. 😢

Is it too late to be starting a campaign demanding clubs stick to the same strip year on year?

08-12-2023, 09:23 PM

Hibs Bukta strip like the George Best era one.

I then got the Tottenham one but I’ve no idea why.

08-12-2023, 09:28 PM
That's the one I got for Christmas 1975 - with the shorts and socks. Went to bed wearing it that night. My mum passed it on to friends kid when I had grown out of it - which was the right thing to do at the time, but I wish I still had it now.

Making me think it might be a bit later than ‘72 . It wasn’t yesterday for sure.

08-12-2023, 09:35 PM
Remember at Primary School getting picked for the team they would hand you the school strip on the Friday usually an ancient rugby top two sizes too big you would walk hame proud as punch with it draped roond yer neck only to get humiliated 0-15 at the crack y dawn at a frost bound Meggatland or Aboretum playing with a baw that heavy you could only kick it two yards

08-12-2023, 09:36 PM
98 relegation, full kit for 5 year old me.

Lovely kit with loads of detail.

08-12-2023, 09:48 PM
Argentina Italia 90 top. I was 7.

Maradona was my dad's hero.

08-12-2023, 09:54 PM
My uncle, who is the reason I support Hibs, won a Celtc strip in the Daily record and I think that was my first ever strip aged about five. I have no real memory of it. My first Hibs strip was a long sleeve yellow Bukta that was like wearing a cheese grater on each nipple. One of teh first shiny strips I can remember seeing in Scottish football. I've had strips here and there over the years but I have never really bought that many.

Dublin07
09-12-2023, 04:24 AM
Hibs home bukta kit April 1978 was my first football kit. Got it for my 5th Birthday. I also had the yellow and purple away kits. My first non hibs kit was a liverpool kit early 80’s.

09-12-2023, 06:07 AM
Hibs home bukta kit April 1978 was my first football kit. Got it for my 5th Birthday. I also had the yellow and purple away kits. My first non hibs kit was a liverpool kit early 80’s.

Thats not much different to me except that my first Hibs top was the yellow away from around 1979. I grew out of it quickly and because it had long sleeves they were soon far too short, so my mum cut them and re-hemmed them as short sleeves to give ne an extra couple if years wear out of it. I actually got a Kenny Dalglish inspired Liverpool away strip before that - whie shirt black shorts in about 1978 i think along with a 1978 Scotland shirt..both of which were nipple rubbers !

Walter
09-12-2023, 06:52 AM
Frank Grahame Group away shirt

09-12-2023, 06:56 AM
1969 Hibs top with the rings round the collar and cuffs.

09-12-2023, 07:13 AM
Mine would be a tangerine Blackpool shirt from 1969 i'd be 5 years old.

In more recent times i tend to buy a new Hibs shirt nearly every season, can be 1st 2nd or 3rd shirt so its started a little collection i think ive got 11 or 12 now.

Trinity Hibee
09-12-2023, 07:49 AM
First top was the macbean & bukta purple away around 1992

Renfrew_Hibby
09-12-2023, 08:36 AM
First Hibs kit was the first planet Saturn home kit. I grew up in Ayr and I went on a Saturday bus trip to Edinburgh with mum and gran. Remember getting it in a sports shop in the old St.James shopping centre. I think my gran bought it for my birthday.

I remember seeing the kit before that one, the last kit with the crown badge and P&D windows on the front being proudly displayed in the front window of Finnies Intersport in Ayr... I was mesmerised! Couldn't imagine he sold many of them in mid '80s Ayr.

09-12-2023, 09:42 AM
I vaguely remember having a yellow Bukta top, with.their logo in green going down the sleeves.

Would have been mid to late 70s. Don't know if it was an away or goalkeepers top.

09-12-2023, 09:42 AM
Remember at Primary School getting picked for the team they would hand you the school strip on the Friday usually an ancient rugby top two sizes too big you would walk hame proud as punch with it draped roond yer neck only to get humiliated 0-15 at the crack y dawn at a frost bound Meggatland or Aboretum playing with a baw that heavy you could only kick it two yards

My primary school strip was…er…maroon. Was proud to play in it nonetheless. Maybe that’s why I decided to move to be a keeper instead.

09-12-2023, 10:22 AM
Scotland 78 top, was mad on Joe Jordan, he had the same ‘jaws’ look as my step dad at that time, although my stepdad lost his being hit in the face by a pipe in a freak plumbing accident not playing football like Jordan.

ChilliEater
09-12-2023, 10:29 AM
Making me think it might be a bit later than ‘72 . It wasn’t yesterday for sure.

nah - 72 is probably right. I remember being confused that mine had green cuffs while the team wore ones with white cuffs. Think the green cuffs might have been 72-74.

09-12-2023, 10:31 AM
Scotland 86 world cup kit, the one with the band on the shorts. Still remember my mum going awww as I put it on in the sports shop.

That’s mine too, I especially loved the red socks.

I got it for my birthday and my mum made me a birthday cake in the shape of it. My brother picked most of the dark blue butter icing off the cake and ate it, which he managed to throw up overnight, unfortunately a night when he was in the top bunk of our bunk beds. Dark blue butter icing makes for a very interesting colour of vomit when it’s thrown back up.

09-12-2023, 11:07 AM
1972 Liverpool top signed by Ian Callaghan.

Renfrew_Hibby
09-12-2023, 01:34 PM

I got it for my birthday and my mum made me a birthday cake in the shape of it. My brother picked most of the dark blue butter icing off the cake and ate it, which he managed to throw up overnight, unfortunately a night when he was in the top bunk of our bunk beds. Dark blue butter icing makes for a very interesting colour of vomit when it’s thrown back up.

Aye the red socks made an impression on me too, loved them.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-12-2023, 01:53 PM

Blue icing turns your ***** green if anyone is interested

09-12-2023, 05:24 PM
1972 Liverpool top signed by Ian Callaghan.

That was probably the same top as I had No.9, Steve Heighway. But living in Belfast at the time, I have absolutely no idea where they got it from, at least you were in the right city lol

And my brother had a Newcastle one

expresso
10-12-2023, 11:57 AM
Growing up in Belfast and long before online shopping a hibs top was impossible to obtain.
my first jersey was actually 2 garments.
an all white long sleeved top and a green t shirt
worked really well from memory lol

10-12-2023, 12:04 PM
You couldn't get Hibs tops in the early sixties. I had a v-neck Irish top but it wasn't the same.

10-12-2023, 01:15 PM
Had Hibs tops from birth, and i remember getting the Brazil shirt late 60's early 70's. Not had a top since i was about 16 until i bought that strip we released with our names on it, and i've bought the new Scotland one as it's just class.

10-12-2023, 01:23 PM
Had plenty Hibs tops mid to late 70s, first non one I can remember is a yellow Adidas Forest strip with 10 Francis on the back from Thomson Sports, it was a thing of beauty until my old dear got carried away with the iron one day. 😢

10-12-2023, 04:28 PM
Growing up in Belfast and long before online shopping a hibs top was impossible to obtain.
my first jersey was actually 2 garments.
an all white long sleeved top and a green t shirt
worked really well from memory lol

I bought my first NI top in S.S. Moores in 1982 (living in Portrush by then) and for years I was the only one that had one!