View Full Version : Could Aberdeen get relegated?

08-12-2023, 07:39 AM
Livi look certain for the bottom spot this year as I think Levein will keep his Saints side up

Motherwell are just keep going deeper into crisis so that might save the sheep.

I know the league is tight but being second bottom in December is not a good sign

TrinityHFC
08-12-2023, 07:44 AM
Unlikely I think. It is tough playing in Europe and the league if you aren’t doing it every year and are equipped for it.

It is tight, they have games in hand compared with some teams and they will be back up the league I expect.

DIXIHIBS
08-12-2023, 07:51 AM
Unlikely imho. If they are 2nd bottom with 8 games to go then maybe. They've got a couple of games in hand too. They could easily be top 6 by the new year and personally think they will be top 6 by the split. Robson could get the boot if things dont imrove soon. Re visit this thread in march. Ps i hope they do go down...nearly as deluded as our neighbours.

08-12-2023, 07:52 AM
Based on how they played against us last weekend, they’re miles better than a good few teams in the league and on that basis I don’t think there’s any chance of them being relegated.

They’re misfiring a bit in front of goal but that’ll not last and I would expect them to becomfortably top six, unfortunately.

Bridge hibs
08-12-2023, 07:53 AM
Livi look certain for the bottom spot this year as I think Levein will keep his Saints side up

Motherwell are just keep going deeper into crisis so that might save the sheep.

I know the league is tight but being second bottom in December is not a good signIf they sold Miovski they could be in trouble as diving Duk seems to be a bit player just now, however Aberdeen dont have a bad team, they have a bad manager, they will stay up no bother I think

08-12-2023, 08:01 AM
Sheep's recent league results against the big 4

NC1875
08-12-2023, 08:14 AM
I hope so. Can’t stand them.

Cant see it though.

Although if they lose Miovski and Duk they could be in trouble 😈

08-12-2023, 08:16 AM
Based on how they played against us last weekend, they’re miles better than a good few teams in the league and on that basis I don’t think there’s any chance of them being relegated.

They’re misfiring a bit in front of goal but that’ll not last and I would expect them to becomfortably top six, unfortunately.
Aye, even if I'm fed up with Robson bleating about not getting what they deserve, their current run of results being a bit woolly and the fact that I'd love to see them dipping into the Championship, I think ewe are right. But surely Robson is in so much of a stew that he will be for the chop.

08-12-2023, 08:18 AM
I think they will end up top 6.

It's a bit like us last year, people get excited when a bigger team are struggling but the reality is even with a crap manager we were never going down last year and Aberdeen are in a similar position this year.

They are currently 7 points off 6th with 2 games in hand and their European adventure is at an end. They created multiple chances against us and if they can start converting those then they will climb the league pretty quickly. Teams need to worry when they are totally toothless like we were under Butcher.

08-12-2023, 08:21 AM
As much as I’d like to see it, I don’t think so.

08-12-2023, 08:24 AM
No chance they will recover post Europe. Currently have a stronger squad than us. Every chance they will finish where they should be.

08-12-2023, 08:25 AM
The league is pretty poor quality to be honest, and any team outside Rangers/Celtc can get dragged down the table pretty easily for a period. Over the course of the season though Aberdeen will be fine I think.

They'll get rid of Robson soon, the starting 11 they have is actually pretty good. I'd expect them to be closer to challenging us and Hearts towards the end of the season for third place, than they are to being relegated.

08-12-2023, 08:33 AM
Without wanting to sound like Kevin Keegan, I'd love it if they went down. They've been saved from relegation by league reconstruction and stadia technicalities and then boast about never having been relegated. **** them.

***** stadium, weird accents, pish city. Nae fans. Get them doon.

Don't think they'll be anywhere near it though.

08-12-2023, 08:36 AM
Not a chance unless they have massive injury problems.

08-12-2023, 08:45 AM
I hope so. Can’t stand them.

Cant see it though.

Although if they lose Miovski and Duk they could be in trouble ��

I know what you mean.

Aberdeen bring more to the table in terms of crowds.
Might be a change of boss will turn them round .
However we do have a few teams in the league that can barely muster a coach load for away games. Not much more at home either.

I would swap a couple of those for a Dunfermline and Dundee Utd any day.

08-12-2023, 08:47 AM
I know what you mean.
However we have a few teams in the league that can barely muster a coach load for away games and two that play on awful pitches

I would swap a couple of those for a Dunfermline and Dundee Utd anyday.

Miovski will get enough goals to keep them safe from that. Read a lot about how they’ll be fine once they don’t have Europe and disagree with that though.

They’ve spent a fair bit but quite a number of their players look poor and they’re terrible defensively.

They won’t get relegated but Robson won’t see out the season.

I cant see it.

Miovski is a goal scorer, Duk is off the boil but has real quality (and is a diving little ****) and they can afford to throw money at it in January.

FWIW I don't find Robson as irritating as lots seem to, he seems to be suffering for not sounding like a classic old boy of Scottish football.

Aberdeen as a club and the supporters of it I would happily see relegated though.

08-12-2023, 08:52 AM

I was editing my post i guess while you posted yours.
But suppose we are on the same wave length:greengrin

He's here!
08-12-2023, 09:06 AM
Likely to appoint a more experienced manager in the not too distant future which will see them safe.

Would be happy to see the go down tho.

Donegal Hibby
08-12-2023, 09:09 AM
Even with Robson in charge I think Aberdeen have to much quality to go down .

08-12-2023, 11:36 AM
Even money to be top 6 with the bookies and I reckon that is a decent bet. I think they'll be fighting for 3rd with Hibs and Hearts. 2 games in hand and their form should pick up once the strain of playing European games ends.

hibsfan7
08-12-2023, 11:40 AM
well there will be no league recostrucyion or teams with 10000 all seater stadiums to save them this time the only thing that might save them is plastic pitches but let us hope they do go down and stay there for 100 years

snedzuk
08-12-2023, 12:02 PM
If they sold Miovski they could be in trouble as diving Duk seems to be a bit player just now, however Aberdeen dont have a bad team, they have a bad manager, they will stay up no bother I think

Seems like Jair Tavares was the better bet over Duk after all!

08-12-2023, 12:07 PM
Even money to be top 6 with the bookies and I reckon that is a decent bet. I think they'll be fighting for 3rd with Hibs and Hearts. 2 games in hand and their form should pick up once the strain of playing European games ends.

I think that's a decent price. Be personally surprised if they don't finish in the top 6.

08-12-2023, 12:09 PM
They’re such a weird team. Watched a fair bit of them and they’ve looked really good some games and totally dire in others. Don’t think there’s a chance they go down though. More likely to finish top six after they punt Robson.

08-12-2023, 12:09 PM
No chance, knowing this league they’ll probably finish 3rd 🤣

08-12-2023, 12:36 PM
I think they will improve. Not impossible they will be relegated but highly unlikely. They easily have the ability to stay up.
By the way, I hope Livi stay up.

08-12-2023, 01:19 PM
No chance they'll go down. They have a good squad by Scottish level standards, if they get a new manager in they could easily finish top 6 or higher.

I think they were about 8th or 9th when Robson took charge and they ended up 3rd. If they get a new manager in say January, that's more than enough time to turn it around.

I also personally wouldn't want them relegated. It's a game I quite look forward to.

Bridge hibs
08-12-2023, 01:26 PM
Seems like Jair Tavares was the better bet over Duk after all!

Certainly based on current form I would agree

King Cosell
08-12-2023, 01:47 PM

Odds vary a little, but with Bet365 Aberdeen are evens to finish top 6:

Hearts 1/10
Hibs 1/3
St Mirren 4/9
Killie 8/11
Aberdeen Evens

King Cosell
08-12-2023, 01:51 PM
Odds vary a little, but with Bet365 Aberdeen are evens to finish top 6:

Hearts 1/10
Hibs 1/3
St Mirren 4/9
Killie 8/11
Aberdeen Evens

They're 33/1 to finish bottom.

Donegal Hibby
08-12-2023, 01:57 PM

Hopefully they find there shooting boots this weekend :greengrin

Spudster
08-12-2023, 02:08 PM
FWIW I don't find Robson as irritating as lots seem to, he seems to be suffering for not sounding like a classic old boy of Scottish football.

I view Robson as the opposite, an old school straight talking (and moaning) Scottish manager. Taking influence from his own managers who are who's who of retro Scottish fitba coaches: Steve Patterson, John Robertson, Ian McCall, Billy Dodds, Craig Brewster, Craig Levein, Gordon Strachan, Tony Mowbray, Neil Lennon, David Weir, Derek McInnes.

Aberdeen won't go down, probably make top 6. It'll be the same as last year and whoever puts together the longest winning run will finish 3rd. Us or hearts IMO.

08-12-2023, 02:44 PM
I view Robson as the opposite, an old school straight talking (and moaning) Scottish manager. Taking influence from his own managers who are who's who of retro Scottish fitba coaches: Steve Patterson, John Robertson, Ian McCall, Billy Dodds, Craig Brewster, Craig Levein, Gordon Strachan, Tony Mowbray, Neil Lennon, David Weir, Derek McInnes.

Aberdeen won't go down, probably make top 6. It'll be the same as last year and whoever puts together the longest winning run will finish 3rd. Us or hearts IMO.

Agreed. They will get it together after Christmas, probably without Robson.

Stokesy's on fire
08-12-2023, 05:21 PM
They are one of the luckiest clubs going they will stay up. Horrible club though.

scm70nyd1973
08-12-2023, 05:29 PM
Ordinarily I would have said no but then again I really never thought they’d lose to Darvel - on balance thoughI think it’s unlikely - but it would be very funny.

08-12-2023, 06:10 PM
It's December and they're only 7 points below sixth place, with two games in hand over Kilmarnock (6th) and Hibs (5th).

They also have the third highest income in the league, so wouldn't be surprised if they spent big in January.

No chance they're going down.

08-12-2023, 06:11 PM
They were in a mess last year, changed manager and finished ahead of us.

Granted they’re in a bigger mess right now, but it’s easy to assume them hiring someone who is either a better manager or at least gets a bounce out of the squad.

xyz23jc
08-12-2023, 09:02 PM
They are one of the luckiest clubs going they will stay up. Horrible club though.

THIS! **** o' thi North! :wink::thumbsup:

09-12-2023, 03:03 AM
No way they are going down, they will soon be battling it out for third again.

09-12-2023, 10:42 AM
Hoping for a resounding win for Aberdeen today. They can go back to being crap afterwards.

09-12-2023, 04:56 PM
Hoping for a resounding win for Aberdeen today. They can go back to being crap afterwards.

Maybe not 'resounding', but you got your wish.

LewysGot2
09-12-2023, 05:14 PM
Winning at Pittodrie is not for everyone

Mcbizz1998
10-12-2023, 04:10 PM
No way they are going down, they will soon be battling it out for third again.

Don’t believe they will go down but don’t see the case for them challenging for 3rd. They are utter pish.

10-12-2023, 04:29 PM
Don’t believe they will go down but don’t see the case for them challenging for 3rd. They are utter pish.

They might be too many points behind now but more likely than being relegated, as they’ve still got enough quality in the squad.

Wasn’t a shock that they turned hearts over yesterday, who were sat in third place.

I agree they probably won’t haul the points back like they did last season but their squad isn’t utter pish, relatively speaking.

Paul1642
10-12-2023, 04:40 PM
They might be too many points behind now but more likely than being relegated, as they’ve still got enough quality in the squad.

Wasn’t a shock that they turned hearts over yesterday, who were sat in third place.

I agree they probably won’t haul the points back like they did last season but their squad isn’t utter pish, relatively speaking.

If they win their 2 games in hand (not guaranteed I know) then they would be only 2 behind us and 4 behind hearts (if they were also to win their game in hand).

They are nowhere close to being out of the race for 3rd.

HendoDelivered
10-12-2023, 05:16 PM
Nah. Soon as they bin Robson and appoint someone with half a clue, they will climb the table. Just look at last season, all it takes is a winning streak and your back in amongst the top 3/4

10-12-2023, 05:18 PM
Would honestly love it if they did get relegated though. Prefer them down to hearts. Miss the derbies too much.

Never going to happen, they’ll punt Robson soon I reckon.

Mcbizz1998
10-12-2023, 05:31 PM
Nah. Soon as they bin Robson and appoint someone with half a clue, they will climb the table. Just look at last season, all it takes is a winning streak and your back in amongst the top 3/4

They appointed Robson last season though! Did he have half a clue then and has lost that half to leave him with none!?

10-12-2023, 05:51 PM
They appointed Robson last season though! Did he have half a clue then and has lost that half to leave him with none!?

They won a good few games in the run in 1-0. In a lot of those games they weren’t great in fact they were really poor but managed to beat the better team. I reckon Robson won’t see the season out.

HendoDelivered
10-12-2023, 06:03 PM

New manager bounce worked well for them

14-12-2023, 03:24 PM

I think there’s a rule somewhere that says Aberdeen can never be relegated no matter how bad they are.

15-12-2023, 08:20 AM
Sheep's recent league results against the big 4

They really do hate the Currant Buns.

15-12-2023, 08:24 AM
They really do hate the Currant Buns.

I'm pleased they've finally started beating Rangers again, McInnes really was a *****bag against the OF back in the day.

Bridge hibs
15-12-2023, 08:38 AM
I'm pleased they've finally started beating Rangers again, McInnes really was a *****bag against the OF back in the day.

More surprising that he has beaten celtc twice and the rangers once already this season

15-12-2023, 11:09 AM
That was a brilliant result for the sheep last night and surely puts any talk of relegation to bed.

15-12-2023, 11:37 AM
That was a brilliant result for the sheep last night and surely puts any talk of relegation to bed.

It puts talk of Robson leaving to bed which is excellent.

15-12-2023, 04:33 PM
It puts talk of Robson leaving to bed which is excellent.

True. 😁