View Full Version : Thoughts on the Jambos

montys_menXI
05-12-2023, 10:16 AM
Hi there, its me the guy writing my dissertation on the social identities of Hibs and Hearts fans. Another question that I'd love to hear your responses to...

How would you describe the relationship between Hibs and Hearts?

What do you make of the rivalry between the two clubs? Has this changed much whilst you have supported Hibs?

05-12-2023, 10:25 AM
The Wallace Mercer buy out attempt and the Romanov years certainly made the relationship much more strained. Their obvious over-spending and buying the success they couldn't afford caused understandable bitterness and obviously Merecer trying to close us down meant that it went from local rivalry to metaphorical daggers drawn.

Obvious favouritism towards them by the council on various occasions and EEN being pretty biased in their favour for years also added to the above.

WeAreHibs
05-12-2023, 10:27 AM
hi there, its me the guy writing my dissertation on the social identities of hibs and hearts fans. Another question that i'd love to hear your responses to...

How would you describe the relationship between hibs and hearts?

What do you make of the rivalry between the two clubs? Has this changed much whilst you have supported hibs?

fth

DanishJohn
05-12-2023, 10:40 AM
Got taken to Easter Road in early 60's

1. I just viewed Hearts as the other team from Edinburgh
2. Started to learn of a small underbelly of religious bigotry spewing from Tynecastle terraces towards Hibs and fans
3. Began to notice the surge from them of " Big Club " mentality.

05-12-2023, 10:44 AM
The Mercer stuff was before my time; my personal perspective is that I don't dislike Hearts as a club or their fans (for the most part) but I do want them to lose every game they play and consider derby victories the high point of a season.

We'd be worse off if they weren't around, unlike the OF.

05-12-2023, 10:55 AM
I think interestingly while I absolutely hate them on derby day and relish in them suffering on results wise, I think as a community Hibs and Hearts fans are really good at co-existing together in a civil manner. I wouldn't particularly like to sit in a pub with any of my Jambo mates and watch the derby with them but I have on occasion sat with them during a different fixture or met them for a few pints after a derby depending on the result that day. Not sure that is something that can be easily labelled at the two uglies across the road.

For avoidance of doubt though FTH.

05-12-2023, 11:22 AM
Hi there, its me the guy writing my dissertation on the social identities of Hibs and Hearts fans. Another question that I'd love to hear your responses to...

What do you make of the rivalry between the two clubs? Has this changed much whilst you have supported Hibs?

I wouldn't go so far as to call it a friendly rivalry, but I do think he's a pretty healthy one. I've left derby matches at Tynecastle and went straight up to the Mill to have pints with my Hearts supporting mates, in a pub full of Hearts fans. Scarf on. Nae problems. I'd probably take the scarf off if we skelpt them though :greengrin

Hearts fans have a more delusional sense of superiority than Hibs fans, in my opinion. They definitely see themselves as the 3rd biggest/best/force in Scotland. Just because. There's no basis to it other than it's what they say and that's how it is. It ignores the fact that in the last 6 seasons (since we've both been SPL again) they've only finished above us twice. Haven't won the Scottish cup for over 11 years. Haven't won the league cup for over 50 years.

05-12-2023, 11:42 AM
When I first started going to matches in the 80s, I felt Hearts hated Hibs more than the other way round. Possibly because they had spent 7/8 years being relegated/fighting for promotion or maybe it's because i grew up in West Edinburgh and felt it a bit more. I'd say the hatred became more equal after Mercer's takeover bid. I think the takeover bid also played into the Hearts delusion of being "the big team". On a personal basis, I don't really hate them nowadays (aside from derby days). The rest of the time I pity them a bit because they are always going to end up disappointed with such high expectations and little to back it up. All in all, I think the rivalry is a healthy one with only a small number of eejits taking things too far.

DIXIHIBS
05-12-2023, 11:43 AM
I reckon the relationship between the fans is as low as its ever been. As a youngster in the 70s both sets of fans mixed easily at derby games. Late 70s violence increased and segregation was brought in and definitely brought a different dynamic to the games. By the late 80s and the Mercer take over any chance of "friendly" vibe between the fans was well and truly gone. Add in social media and everything is magnified tenfold. Hertz fans undoubtedly have delusions about their importance ie big team/wee team, call themselves "the famous" etc. Away from games i think both sets of fans get on okay ie at work/ pub etc but even that is getting more difficult imho.

05-12-2023, 11:45 AM
I don’t like them.

But in all seriousness - I absolutely hate the old firm more. And it’s a more rational and justified hatred.

I know and understand that others see it differently.

05-12-2023, 11:58 AM
My first game was a Derby at ER where both sets of fans mingled with no issues. When the fans were segregated the atmosphere soured. 86 and the cult of the Born Again Jambo started. Most Mondays at work there was a resurgence the Club Tie being worn in the office. Made those eejits easier to spot. None went to games but could talk at large about the way they played. Which was interesting as there was a TV ban for a huge chunk of that season. When your club exec starts calling your rival team out as Dockers, you've then jumped the shark. I genuinely couldn't wait to see the back of them after they bought the merde Romanov was selling then. I applaud FOH but the holier than thow guff emmiting still from the club fans generally biggliying themselves up makes them very hard to like.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

05-12-2023, 11:59 AM
Can’t stand them, but hate the old firm more - in a different way I suppose.

Find their obsession with us weird.

05-12-2023, 12:01 PM
Dislike them greatly and are our biggest rivals without doubt, apart from sharing the same city we are similar sized clubs in this small goldfish bowl we call Scottish Football and are basically competing with them for the same goals, which also makes us natural rivals.
However, my desire for Hearts to lose is greater than that of the OF clubs but hate the OF more if that makes sense?

05-12-2023, 12:02 PM
As a collective I thought 70s 80s jambos were a herd of weirdo, bigoted flumps. They aren't as bigoted these days.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Hibs3-2
05-12-2023, 12:15 PM
Cant stand them.

I do however hate the OF more although i always want OF to beat hearts (more so in cup finals).

A load of my mates are hearts fans and generally have good banter. Can also meet them post derby for a pint no issues. The “hun” element in their support however are utter ****.

05-12-2023, 12:22 PM
Can't stand them.

Hate them far more than I hate Rangers or Celtic.

badabing67
05-12-2023, 12:25 PM
Think we will be above them by the winter break

05-12-2023, 12:25 PM
A blooded jobbie that won't flush away.

05-12-2023, 12:38 PM
Not from Edinburgh so to me it's a football rivalry and nothing more.

I do find it interesting that Hearts fans tend to have this weird superiority complex. I can understamd it to an extent in football terms but it goes further tham that. Go on any hearts website and you'll see numerous uses of the word "vermin" to describe hibs and well as 'peg sellers', 'Dock siders' etc.

Hibs fans laugh at their pompous delusions of grandeur but you don't get anything like that in reference to hearts fans generally.

Given that there would be little if any difference these days in the socio economic demographics of the two fan bases I do wonder if it is a lingering legacy from the distant past - Hibs humble outsider origins as the Irish immigrant team vs Hearts as the face of established and 'respectable' Edinburgh. Its interesting.

05-12-2023, 12:42 PM
I look on Hearts as kind of the odd wee cousin that everyone has, daft as a brush and usually found licking windows and to be treated with a sympathetic pat on the head. Sevco and Celtic on the other hand are a stain on Scottish culture.

05-12-2023, 12:59 PM
Diet **** to me. I have experienced a lot of bigotry from them over many years, while it may not be as overt as the **** you don't have to scratch too deeply to find it. Maybe not them all, but that is also true of rangers fans. I detest them and their bull****. Thankfully living in Glasgow means I don't meet any of them other than on Derby day in Edinburgh.

Bay Area Hibees
05-12-2023, 01:07 PM
I really only “hate” two teams in Scotland

Jambos
Full fat ****

Have friends who support both - mostly just like us (no surprise) albeit what we say privately or with other like minded fans is def much different.

They have some pond life like all clubs.

I can’t have maroon in the house !!!

Dmas
05-12-2023, 01:10 PM
A hibby from gorgie I actually think it’s much like the way you see an English football fan, you can chat about football and you can agree on a lot but the second you talk about their team the inflated arrogance raises its head and your left dumbfounded at how you ever managed to talk to them before.

They actually think they are close to breaking the OF and miles ahead of the rest of us the fact they’ve been relegated 3 times and been on the brink of total collapse twice in recent memory doesn’t seem to register

05-12-2023, 01:12 PM

I do find it interesting that Hearts fans tend to have this weird superiority complex. I can understamd it to an extent in football terms but it goes further tham that. Go on any hearts website and you'll see numerous uses of the word "vermin" to describe hibs and well as 'peg sellers', 'Dock siders' etc.

Hibs fans laugh at their pompous delusions of grandeur but you don't get anything like that in reference to hearts fans generally.

Given that there would be little if any difference these days in the socio economic demographics of the two fan bases I do wonder if it is a lingering legacy from the distant past - Hibs humble outsider origins as the Irish immigrant team vs Hearts as the face of established and 'respectable' Edinburgh. Its interesting.
Quite possible but I think their delusions of grandeur as Edinburgh's "big team" and false sense of superiority over Hibs is more the legacy of Mercer's attempted takeover/merger/liquidation of Hibs. Given that at the time we were very near down and out I can accept that as an understandable trait at that time, but it's well over 20 years ago. Works both ways mind. Like many, I still harbour a grudge against everything Jambo because of Mercer. So I love it when they get beat or things don't go their way, almost as much as the Sticky Buns.
Also, I use the term Jambo as an adjective for anything I don't like or when things go wrong for me. Drop my toast butter side down on the floor - it's a Jambo piece of toast. Sit waiting at a junction only for a car coming from my right to turn left with no indicator - must be a Jambo driver. Bin bag bursts when being removed from the bin - it's a Jambo bin bag. Winning bet goes down with a last fence faller - bloody Jambo horse/jockey etc etc.

05-12-2023, 01:13 PM
I'm conflicted.

I loathe Hearts as a club largely because of the upset I saw the Mercer takeover inflict on close family members. Trying to buy out and close down your biggest rivals is pretty unprecedented in Scottish football and far beyond. Add to that all the superiority stuff that really went into overdrive during the Romanov years and largely emanated from within the club. On the flip side I have a couple of mates and a wider group of acquaintances who are Hearts fans and I largely respect people who go along and support their local club even if it is Hearts. On match days they are very much the 'enemy' but I work and socialise alongside them day in and day out and for the most part who we support is not an issue beyond a bit of banter. I've never really encountered any bigotry from the Hearts fans I know, indeed a few are old school pals and as such I'm fairly sure their religion, at least on paper, is the same as mine.

I have little regard for Celtic or Rangers as clubs either but I absolutely can't stand a lot of their fans. Rangers in particular because their own prejudices target my own beliefs in a way Celtic fans don't; even among the guys you think are fairly decent it's usually lurking not far below the surface and the 'jokes' start to get closer and closer to the line until they cease to be jokes. Celtic fans rub me up the wrong way with their bipolar attitude towards us; we go from their favourite wee cousins to treacherous soup takers depending on their mood at any given moment. I can almost stomach OF fans who are Glasgow based or have strong familial ties to the clubs but my real loathing is reserved for the glory hunters who sneer at those of us who know what it is to stick with a club through thick and thin. In Scotland those types can only really be fans of 2 clubs and they tend to be the biggest bigots as well because that is as much an attraction for them as the trophies.

05-12-2023, 01:22 PM
Can't stand them.

Hate them far more than I hate Rangers or Celtic.

My sentiments too !

Victor
05-12-2023, 01:30 PM
Strangely I don’t have a problem with the majority of the fans and always enjoy the banter with Hearts supporting mates. But I cannot stand the current club directors and management. Possibly down to their delusions of grandeur mindset fuelled by an over enthusiastic media pack. The mouthings of Stephen Craigan during last year’s Euro campaign were beyond satire.

05-12-2023, 01:43 PM
Quite possible but I think their delusions of grandeur as Edinburgh's "big team" and false sense of superiority over Hibs is more the legacy of Mercer's attempted takeover/merger/liquidation of Hibs. Given that at the time we were very near down and out I can accept that as an understandable trait at that time, but it's well over 20 years ago. Works both ways mind. Like many, I still harbour a grudge against everything Jambo because of Mercer. So I love it when they get beat or things don't go their way, almost as much as the Sticky Buns.
Also, I use the term Jambo as an adjective for anything I don't like or when things go wrong for me. Drop my toast butter side down on the floor - it's a Jambo piece of toast. Sit waiting at a junction only for a car coming from my right to turn left with no indicator - must be a Jambo driver. Bin bag bursts when being removed from the bin - it's a Jambo bin bag. Winning bet goes down with a last fence faller - bloody Jambo horse/jockey etc etc.[emoji1787]

05-12-2023, 03:30 PM
A few points.

Don’t believe in hating anyone over football-on the other hand I despise the Old Firm who encourage division among their supporters. Mercer ,of course,did Hibs a favour. He wasn’t the hot shot business man that he thought he was and coming from Glasgow and being a Rangers supporter didn’t understand Edinburgh. If he’d stood back we were well on the way to going bust because of the chancers that owned us without any outside help. As it was he generated massive support for our continuation as a football club.
As a kid like many,because of the difficulty of away game travel,Iwent almost week about to ER and Tynecastle.Hearts were an attractive team so it was the case of going to see a decent game without caring about the result. This continued into the mid 1960s. At derby matches as with all other games there was no fan segregation and most of us knew how to look after ourselves if there was any low grade trouble.After we beat them 7-0 relations became less cordial! With a certain amount of segregation it became easier to start trouble ,easier to be “brave” if you’re in a large group.
What I find very strange is that over the last 15/20 years it has become very important for the ownership/managership of Hearts to try and project themselves as bigger and better than Hibs and this rubs off on their supporters. On the other hand I struggle to remember anyone in authority at Hibs behaving like that.
Personally I think the bad feeling between the two sets of supporters is because of the football and not like the OF attitudes who disgrace the country not just the sport.

05-12-2023, 04:05 PM
What I find very strange is that over the last 15/20 years it has become very important for the ownership/managership of Hearts to try and project themselves as bigger and better than Hibs and this rubs off on their supporters. On the other hand I struggle to remember anyone in authority at Hibs behaving like that.

The only time I've ever read Hibs official comms mentioning Hearts is when we are going to play them.

Can't say the same for the jumbos, a few years back every second announcement from them mentioned Hibs. Absolutely obsessed.

05-12-2023, 04:13 PM
Can't stand them, and even the thought of a glimmer of weekend happiness for them sickens me to be honest.

That's very much a match day and online thing though.

Same for Rangers and Celtic, but I'd be far more averse to them in my day to day - particularly groups of them ****s -than I would the average Hearts fan I know.

Still Rangers or Celtic winning a trophy over Hearts anytime, mind you.

05-12-2023, 04:42 PM
I love the way they think they are better than any other team, some hilarious threads over the road. They are 💩 full stop.

05-12-2023, 04:43 PM
I love beating Hearts, I love Hearts getting beaten by anybody.

But doesn't compare to the joy I feel when we win.

Suppose I think of them as our annoying neighbours.

babahibs
05-12-2023, 05:09 PM
I find Hearts as a club and fanbase absolutely hilarious.
Collective wee man syndrome.

Hillsidehibby
05-12-2023, 05:10 PM
Jambo cants. Continually one win away from world domination and one defeat away from calamity.

05-12-2023, 05:27 PM
Inert, supine, compliant, big in their own golf club/garden shed.

The contrast between Hibs fans taking ownership of, and driving the protest against the snake that was Wallace Mercer, and the Maroon balloons love in with Vladimir Romanov whilst he was suckering them and everyone else around them is the real and enduring difference between us.

Last team in Edinburgh to win both major trophies isn't Hearts.

Hearts tend to massively overspend other people's money and achieve proportionately not very much in the process.

They are amusing to have around for their post Mercer pomposity and nowhere near as toxic as celtc and sevco but maybe they'd like to be if they ever do achieve the dominance Romanov promised them, and they swallowed hook line and sinker.

05-12-2023, 05:49 PM
I just come out with this….. I detest them and everything about them.

For decades they’ve spent other folks money, never ever have they lived within their means.

Their constant bigliest look at what we’ve got is insane.

Folk need to remember though…… they are The Famous and famous for bumping the Lady Haig Poppy Fund and their very own MacCraes battalion. Don’t let them tell you any different as they are on the list of creditors which will never ever go away.

In a word **** them and everything about them!

05-12-2023, 06:31 PM
I just come out with this….. I detest them and everything about them.

For decades they’ve spent other folks money, never ever have they lived within their means.

Their constant bigliest look at what we’ve got is insane.

Folk need to remember though…… they are The Famous and famous for bumping the Lady Haig Poppy Fund and their very own MacCraes battalion. Don’t let them tell you any different as they are on the list of creditors which will never ever go away.

In a word **** them and everything about them!

I’ve got some lifelong friends who are Hearts fans Aldo, most if not all are realistic and don’t ever goad or disrespect Hibs other than for 90 minutes in a derby which is absolutely to be expected - they were chuffed as anything when we won the cup (for me and our Hibs mates). For me and my mates it’s a friendly rivalry with banter which never extends to bitterness.

That said, the Hearts fans I’ve met who I don’t know and on chance encounters, to a fan, are self entitled, arrogant, self important, and deluded about Hearts. I remember being out for dinner and a guy at the neighbouring table had been asked the difference between Hibs and Hearts supporters and his response was ‘Hearts fans have money, Hibs fans don’t “ 😂

They went bust soon after, face painting, bake sales, and selling plastic owls to survive 😂👍

05-12-2023, 06:36 PM
Two results I look for. Hibs and Hearts. I'm only really truly happy with my football weekend if Hibs win and Hears lose. Just being honest.

05-12-2023, 06:39 PM
I’ve got some lifelong friends who are Hearts fans Aldo, most if not all are realistic and don’t ever goad or disrespect Hibs other than for 90 minutes in a derby which is absolutely to be expected - they were chuffed as anything when we won the cup (for me and our Hibs mates). For me and my mates it’s a friendly rivalry with banter which never extends to bitterness.

That said, the Hearts fans I’ve met who I don’t know and on chance encounters, to a fan, are self entitled, arrogant, self important, and deluded about Hearts. I remember being out for dinner and a guy at the neighbouring table had been asked the difference between Hibs and Hearts supporters and his response was ‘Hearts fans have money, Hibs fans don’t “ [emoji23]

They went bust soon after, face painting, bake sales, and selling plastic owls to survive [emoji23][emoji106]

TH I totally get your first paragraph and respect that. Unfortunately the ones I know (barring 1 who doesn’t know who he supports but goes to pars home game [emoji2369]) are exactly as you’ve mentioned.

I actually excused myself one evening whilst in company because one guy knew I was a Hibs fan and all he went on about was how big and great they were with the majority of the pish he spouted was about money.

Another thing they don’t like is FACT. Smallest pitch, smallest stadium, rented training facilities (however they say the use the Oriam but we all know it’s not) so they have inferiority complexes about size and thus everything is the Bigliest.

05-12-2023, 06:42 PM
Every now and then we get this type of question, they are irrelevant.
**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

05-12-2023, 06:51 PM

Have you posted similar on Kickback? 🤔

Crunchie
05-12-2023, 07:08 PM
Two results I look for. Hibs and Hearts. I'm only really truly happy with my football weekend if Hibs win and Hears lose. Just being honest.
Same here :aok:

Bridge hibs
05-12-2023, 07:17 PM
If it smells like a jambo, looks like a jambo, walks like a jambo, dresses like a jambo, has 6 fingers and webbed feet like a jambo then it is a jambo

**** them all

I actually dont mind them, as long as they are at least a mile away from me

05-12-2023, 07:29 PM
They went bankrupt in 1905 due to some dodgy debts, so had to start as a new co.

https://www.londonhearts.com//scores/images/1905/1905050606.jpg

After Archibeld Leitch desiged and the commenced the build on their old main stand, they fell out with him then stiffed him.

There's a theme there.

05-12-2023, 07:31 PM

05-12-2023, 07:52 PM
They went bankrupt in 1905 due to some dodgy debts, so had to start as a new co.

https://www.londonhearts.com//scores/images/1905/1905050606.jpg

After Archibeld Leitch desiged and the commenced the build on their old main stand, they fell out with him then stiffed him.

There's a theme there.

Ha, cracker.

It's on their website too:

"Financial Crisis

During season 1904-05 the club ran into financial difficulties because the original limited company, formed in 1903, was unable to continue, after debts amounting to £1,400 had accumulated. Accordingly, in March 1905 at the Quarterly General Meeting, a resolution was presented: “A Proposal for Temporary Loans from Present Shareholders.” This was defeated by 94 votes to 72, but later that month, three resolutions were passed and the company was voluntarily wound-up.

On 29 April 1905, a fresh organization was incorporated on the Register of Companies and the new concern accepted the debt which had increased to £1,600. Despite problems selling all the new shares, the new company cleared this debt within a reasonably short period."

They have a nerve slagging rangers about 2012, or indeed us regarding our little blip in 1892 (which I've heard them do also)

05-12-2023, 08:14 PM
*****....and *********.

He's here!
05-12-2023, 08:20 PM
I'd have happily seen them liquidated and Tynie replaced by Stewart Milne's flats.

Their complete and utter non existence would make the world a better place.

05-12-2023, 08:26 PM
Ha, cracker.

It's on their website too:

"Financial Crisis

During season 1904-05 the club ran into financial difficulties because the original limited company, formed in 1903, was unable to continue, after debts amounting to £1,400 had accumulated. Accordingly, in March 1905 at the Quarterly General Meeting, a resolution was presented: “A Proposal for Temporary Loans from Present Shareholders.” This was defeated by 94 votes to 72, but later that month, three resolutions were passed and the company was voluntarily wound-up.

On 29 April 1905, a fresh organization was incorporated on the Register of Companies and the new concern accepted the debt which had increased to £1,600. Despite problems selling all the new shares, the new company cleared this debt within a reasonably short period."

They have a nerve slagging rangers about 2012, or indeed us regarding our little blip in 1892 (which I've heard them do also)The new co started up changed their old club name to "The Heart of Midlothian" rather than "Heart of Midlothian", a name the probably chored in the first place.

05-12-2023, 08:28 PM
F*** the Hertz

BS44
05-12-2023, 08:34 PM
Charity thieves.

05-12-2023, 09:21 PM
Inert, supine, compliant, big in their own golf club/garden shed.

The contrast between Hibs fans taking ownership of, and driving the protest against the snake that was Wallace Mercer, and the Maroon balloons love in with Vladimir Romanov whilst he was suckering them and everyone else around them is the real and enduring difference between us.

Last team in Edinburgh to win both major trophies isn't Hearts.

Hearts tend to massively overspend other people's money and achieve proportionately not very much in the process.

They are amusing to have around for their post Mercer pomposity and nowhere near as toxic as celtc and sevco but maybe they'd like to be if they ever do achieve the dominance Romanov promised them, and they swallowed hook line and sinker.

Think I would consider the league a major trophy.

05-12-2023, 09:49 PM
Think I would consider the league a major trophy.[emoji106]

I meant cups

05-12-2023, 10:17 PM
At different times I have had different feelings towards them. When I started going to games myself derbies were fairly rare as they or us were in the division below. They seemed to beat us regardless of who played well and there was a strong dislike for them borne out of not beating them. When the Mercer takeover started that quickly turned to hatred. I can't remember too many sympathetic Hearts fans and I think that was the real start of their superiority complex and all the big club nonsense. When Romanov came in my hatred became stronger as it was clear he was a crook and charlatan and they proceeded to win a few Cups on stolen money. I was fine with the thought of Hearts ceasing to exist when they went into admin and even that annoyed me as the process seemed heavily weighted in their favour and the valuations gave them an opportunity to survive they probably didn't deserve. Back then if they were in a cup final against teh Uglies I always wanted them to lose.

However, during all that time I had plenty mates who were Jambos and for the most part they were like me supporting my local club as their family had done before them. When their foundation started and they were living within their means albeit with Mr Ben E Factor a big part of that my views soften. My hatred for the Uglies got worse year on year as society moves on and they stay in the past. However, I don't feel as strongly as I did about Hearts. I love when we beat them and have anything we can rip the mick out of them. But I don't hate them any longer and when they play the Uglies in a cup final I probably begrudgingly want them to win. At least then supporters would actually value the win and there were quite a few Jambo mates who congratulated us on our Scottish Cup win.

So my views have changed but that may be as much about the circumstances changing too. We are fairly evenly balanced with them now, beat them as much as they beat us and since their admin we have a better cup and league finishing record I think. Both clubs now live within their means so the contest is now fair. We have both maintained the full stand behind the goals for away fans and see the importance of a proper sporting rivalry and for me that is a phrase that probably sums my current feeling up. A proper sporting rivalry

05-12-2023, 10:19 PM
Dislike Rangers and Celtic more than them.

Enjoy beating them more than beating Rangers and Celtic.

Would rather talk to a Hearts fan than a Celtic or Rangers fan.

05-12-2023, 11:41 PM
They are one of the other three teams that play in the Spfl in Edinburgh my only thoughts about them.

06-12-2023, 01:09 AM
:casper: :lolyam:

cocteautwin
06-12-2023, 05:38 AM
This incarnation of Hearts has spent more than £50m of additional donated money and won zero trophies despite being the third best funded club in Scotland by a large margin. Their Chairperson Director who spent all this money for no success wears a tartan jacket and stands on the pitch with arms outstretched as if she were Jesus and signs herself off as Dr Budge despite it being an honorary degree. Embarrassing. That's what one should think of them.

06-12-2023, 05:53 AM
Who?

06-12-2023, 05:56 AM
I want them to lose every game at every level to every other team, Old Firm included. Mercifully they've no idea how to spend the Benny Factor's money properly or they could be out of sight as the third force.

But outside of the 90 minutes of a Derby, I have no animosity for their fans whatsoever really, some good mates are Jambos.

06-12-2023, 05:58 AM
I'd have happily seen them liquidated and Tynie replaced by Stewart Milne's flats.

Their complete and utter non existence would make the world a better place.
Was one of my favourite wind up songs for a good while........
"Flats, flats, glorious flats,
It's down at Tynecastle they build.......

06-12-2023, 11:29 AM
From my experiences, “banter” is not something I’ve ever known Hearts fans to be able to engage with.

They enjoy dishing out insults and digs, “5-1”, “wee team” and other such childish retorts, but there is a zero tolerance for any digs back in their direction.

It’s not banter with them as they are way too conceited, humourless with a distinct lack of self deprecation to enjoy a good laugh with.

Any Hearts fans I know I just instinctively avoid any Hibs/Hearts chat when meeting. It’s always for the best.

Saint Hibee
06-12-2023, 11:42 AM
My feeling towards Hearts is one of immense gratitude that they still deign to play us despite their indisputable massive, colossal, bigglieness.

Mcbizz1998
06-12-2023, 12:02 PM
Don’t like them, want to beat them more than any other team but overall they aren’t hugely different to us. I have many friends who are hearts fans who are all good lads.

I despise the 2 in Glasgow, I don’t have a single friend who supports them. That’s not by choice, I just naturally have never befriended one of them.

Superfurry72
06-12-2023, 01:02 PM
Want to beat them more than any other team, and they are the games I look forward to most. They are our city rivals, we're quite evenly matched and the atmosphere at the matches between us is always great. But I dislike Celtic, and especially Rangers, far more.

It's a healthy sporting rivalry between us and them – there is a section of the Hearts support who refer to us as "vermin" etc, which I think is taking it a bit far, and we've got a group who sing the Mercer song. But on the whole it's all fairly civil.

06-12-2023, 01:23 PM
From my experiences, “banter” is not something I’ve ever known Hearts fans to be able to engage with.

They enjoy dishing out insults and digs, “5-1”, “wee team” and other such childish retorts, but there is a zero tolerance for any digs back in their direction.

It’s not banter with them as they are way too conceited, humourless with a distinct lack of self deprecation to enjoy a good laugh with.

Any Hearts fans I know I just instinctively avoid any Hibs/Hearts chat when meeting. It’s always for the best.

That's pretty much my view too.

CB Hibs 68
06-12-2023, 01:24 PM
Thoughts on the Jambos.Growing up in the sixties and seventies it was great being a Hibs fan as Hearts were frankly hopeless.When I was at school it was about fifty fifty in terms of Hibs and Hearts and barely an old firm fan in sight.Banter was good humoured and still have Hearts supporting pals.Mercer taking over at Tynie changed everything as Hearts and their fans started spouting this Big Team wee Team nonsense.Continues to this day and this superiority complex they have gets right on my t::ts.Nowadays love seeing Hearts getting shafted and the only time I don’t is if it is to Hibs benefit.

06-12-2023, 02:02 PM
Some of my best mates are jambos. The best sort of people who just happen to support the wrong team and who have managed to both give and take a fair bit from me over the years.

Those of you who don't engage with fans of a particular team for whatever reason - you're missing out on the absolute joy of experiencing when you meet an absolute throbber who comes out with the biggest pile of drivel you've ever heard, whether they're a fan of Hearts, Rangers, Celtic or any other team.

06-12-2023, 02:23 PM
I really only “hate” two teams in Scotland

Jambos
Full fat ****

Have friends who support both - mostly just like us (no surprise) albeit what we say privately or with other like minded fans is def much different.

They have some pond life like all clubs.

I can’t have maroon in the house !!!

I've never had any hatred or even dislike for HMFC. In a lifetime supporting Hibs, Hearts have always been an irrelevance to me. I just see them as another run of the mill Scottish football club. I don't get too down or up after Edinburgh derby results, at least not any more so than results against any other provincial club. I'd take a win over the Rangers, or even Celtic any day, than a win over Hearts.

Having said that, like you, I can't stand the colour maroon, so maybe I have a subconscious hatred of them :greengrin

Jakhog1
06-12-2023, 03:07 PM
Was out at the pub at the weekend with pals, met up with a couple of my mates pals who I have never met before, one jambo and one a Hibee, Hibee boy was one of the soundest guys you could meet, had a good blether but his pal the jambo was an angry arrogant fud, no humour, boring and he was wearing a Christmas jumper, thing is, at my old job it was exactly the same with the guy's I worked with, they also seemed to have an unhealthy hatred towards anything hibs

06-12-2023, 03:23 PM

I know some decent hearts fans, but collectively, they’re very thin skinned. They like dishing it out, but can’t take it back at all: as noted earlier in the thread, thought they were funny with the docksiders comment, but spat the dummy when ‘Taxman’ was played at Easter road.

They have an undeniable superiority complex based on nothing, and cannot just do something quietly (or efficiently), it’s always got to be the biggest glass curtain, or the gigantic season ticket waiting list.

Partyraiser
06-12-2023, 03:29 PM
Puddle drinking mutants

Next!

Johnny Clash
06-12-2023, 11:03 PM
I’ve always thought that had they not been the first Sectarian club in Scotland then Hibernian might never have been formed. Weird, eh?

07-12-2023, 09:09 AM
I’ve always thought that had they not been the first Sectarian club in Scotland then Hibernian might never have been formed. Weird, eh?

Agreed

07-12-2023, 01:53 PM

you forgot "spoon burners"

I used to read (and post) on Keechback but every thread on there, no matter the subject, had comments about Hibs. and there were not compliments.

weird bunch of people. I don't mind the ones I know and have relatives who support them, but it probably helps that I am 500 miles away from them.

Love to see them lose. every time.

07-12-2023, 02:17 PM
I don't mind the ones I know and have relatives who support them, but it probably helps that I am 500 miles away from them.

Without a shadow of a doubt, I detest them.

147lothian
08-12-2023, 08:01 AM
They have a 'big team' mentality that easily surpasses anyone anywhere on the planet.

Rumble de Thump
08-12-2023, 08:14 AM
you forgot "spoon burners"

I used to read (and post) on Keechback but every thread on there, no matter the subject, had comments about Hibs. and there were not compliments.

weird bunch of people. I don't mind the ones I know and have relatives who support them, but it probably helps that I am 500 miles away from them.

Love to see them lose. every time.

Legally, surely spoon burners, vermin, peg sellers and dock siders are all sectarian terms now as it is well known that Hibs was founded by Catholics.

08-12-2023, 08:53 AM
Hearts supporters define themselves by their results against Hibs, all else is secondary to them and I think that tells you all you need to know about them.

Big fish in a small pond, but with grandiose ideas that they could do a free willy and jump the wall whenever they want.

As individual people I have lots of mates and acquaintances who are Hearts fans and some of them are the nicest people I know.