View Full Version : Happy St Andrews Day

badabing67
30-11-2023, 12:29 PM
More than half the day gone and ashamedly I have or just noticed. If it was St Patricks day it would be every where. How come we are not all off on holiday to celebrate our Saint.

Anyway all the best on our Saints day.

30-11-2023, 01:15 PM
More than half the day gone and ashamedly I have or just noticed. If it was St Patricks day it would be every where. How come we are not all off on holiday to celebrate our Saint.

You make some good points there
Its not a date that is etched on every Scots mind. November 30th
It was when i was at school .but it seems that has faded somewhat
Unlike St Patrick Of course ,
The USA made a bigger thing of St Patrick many years ago in NY, Chicago and Boston with colour, pipe bands and parades.
More about a sing song,the booze ,greeting for a far off land the never saw ,rather than the chapel !!
It then over the years spread to daft hats,leprechaun outfits and pretendy Irish theme bars here and in European holiday spots . Drink companies like Guinness filling their bank accounts during all this commercialism
Not sure St Patrick would approve of that avarice...Or St Andrew.
Summary
St Patrick's Day is more an excuse for an all day bevvy session for many,than a commemoration/remembrance of a Saint.

My secondary School was called St Andrew's,so am no likely to forget date.
He is the patron Saint of many places too .The Greeks commemorate Andrew as well.
Our Saltire represents the X shaped cross Andrew was hung and martyred on.
Happy St Andrews Day to you too bada..... and all on the forum !

StevieT
30-11-2023, 01:49 PM
Latha fèill Anndrais sona dhuibh. This should be pronounced lah fail Andra suna yiv.

30-11-2023, 01:51 PM
You make some good points there
Its not a date that is etched on every Scots mind. November 30th
It was when i was at school .but it seems that has faded somewhat
Unlike St Patrick Of course ,
The USA made a thing of St Patrick many years ago in NY Chicago and Boston with colour and parades.
More about a sing songthe booze ,greeting for a far off land the never saw ,rather than the chapel !!
It just over the years spread to daft hats,leprechaun outfits and pretendy Irish theme bars here and in European holiday spots . Drink companies like Guinness filling their bank accounts during all this commercialism
Not sure St Patrick would approve of that avarice...Or St Andrew
Summary
St Patrick's Day is more an excuse for an all day bevvy session for many,than a commemoration/remembrance of a Saint.

My secondary School was called St Andrew's,so am no likely to forget date.
He is the patron Saint of many places too .The Greeks commemorate Andrew as well.
Our Saltire represents the X shaped cross Andrew was hung and martyred on.
Happy St Andrews Day to you too bada..... and all on the forum !

Think Russia as well

30-11-2023, 01:59 PM
Latha fèill Anndrais sona dhuibh. This should be pronounced lah fail Andra suna yiv.

Superb !!

30-11-2023, 02:00 PM
Think Russia as well

Indeed along with Robert Burns !!!

30-11-2023, 02:04 PM

Guinness can take much of the accolades for that.

Maybe something for Brewdog to look at.

30-11-2023, 02:16 PM

Anyway all the best on our Saints day. Public Servants got a holiday today. It should be recognised more imo. Declared a bank holiday in 2006

30-11-2023, 02:21 PM
Think Russia as well
Greece also I believe.

30-11-2023, 02:33 PM
Public Servants got a holiday today. It should be recognised more imo. Declared a bank holiday in 2006

I think a lot of it is just historical legacy. Catholics go to Mass on feast days. Calvinists aren't mad keen on invocation or veneration of the saints seeing it as idolatry.

Bear in mind Christmas was banned by law in Scotland in 1640 and was largely treated with suspicion for centuries afterwards, it only became a Scottish public holiday in 1958!

For all the chat about Guinness creating St Patrick's Day (not a claim entirely without merit) I think it goes deeper than that. Overtly celebrating religious holidays and feast days just isn't, or certainly wasn't, a thing in Scotland in the same way it was in Ireland or much of the rest of Europe. You can't just manufacture that out of nothing after saying it was fundamentally wrong for 400+ years.

We might have embraced a pretty niche and joyless form of Protestantism but we made up for it by having an almighty sesh at new year so it's swings and roundabouts really.

30-11-2023, 02:35 PM

St Andrews day easily remembered. It’s my Brothers birthday.
St Patrick’s day easily remembered. It’s my Grandaughters birthday .

30-11-2023, 02:49 PM
We might have embraced a pretty niche and joyless form of Protestantism but we made up for it by having an almighty sesh at new year so it's swings and roundabouts really.

I hate Hogmanay with a passion and I'm not even sure why.

30-11-2023, 02:52 PM
Burns Day easily remembered for me, my daughters birthday...

30-11-2023, 02:54 PM
I hate Hogmanay with a passion and I'm not even sure why.

Same but then I think I'm too young to remember it in it's heyday in Scotland.

Plenty relatives tell tales of how it was back in their day. First footing, dancing at the Tron, sharing a bottle on the way to the game on New Years Day etc etc. In my lifetime it's always been corporate, contrived and plastic, particularly in Edinburgh. A night out for people who don't get out very often. A bit like St Patrick's Day really:greengrin

30-11-2023, 02:54 PM
Happy Birthday to both
May they have a great day:thumbsup:
:saltireflag:partyhibb:music:

Ma faither and i shared the same birthday .27th January
Born on different years though :greengrin

30-11-2023, 03:10 PM
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/af/0c/dc/af0cdcddee9f514b39bdfbeb6336bba3.jpg

30-11-2023, 03:12 PM
I hate Hogmanay with a passion and I'm not even sure why. I'm probably the same since it became a paid entry festival in Edinburgh. Before that it was my favourite day of the year. Like most things capitalism and the pursuit of money ruined it. Now you could have Edinburgh New Year anywhere in the world if you weren't bothered about the backdrop

30-11-2023, 03:16 PM

Plenty relatives tell tales of how it was back in their day. First footing, dancing at the Tron, sharing a bottle on the way to the game on New Years Day etc etc. In my lifetime it's always been corporate, contrived and plastic, particularly in Edinburgh. A night out for people who don't get out very often. A bit like St Patrick's Day really:greengrin

Very much so.

30-11-2023, 03:17 PM
I'm probably the same since it became a paid entry festival in Edinburgh. Before that it was my favourite day of the year. Like most things capitalism and the pursuit of money ruined it. Now you could have Edinburgh New Year anywhere in the world if you weren't bothered about the backdrop

True enough Si.

30-11-2023, 03:19 PM
I'm having a Hogmanay and St Andrew's Day to myself in Carlisle today and it's all going a bit too nicely.

5 hours until the train. 🍺🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🍺

30-11-2023, 03:27 PM
I think a lot of it is just historical legacy. Catholics go to Mass on feast days. Calvinists aren't mad keen on invocation or veneration of the saints seeing it as idolatry.

Bear in mind Christmas was banned by law in Scotland in 1640 and was largely treated with suspicion for centuries afterwards, it only became a Scottish public holiday in 1958!

For all the chat about Guinness creating St Patrick's Day (not a claim entirely without merit) I think it goes deeper than that. Overtly celebrating religious holidays and feast days just isn't, or certainly wasn't, a thing in Scotland in the same way it was in Ireland or much of the rest of Europe. You can't just manufacture that out of nothing after saying it was fundamentally wrong for 400+ years.

Good read PB
As Michael Caine might have said "not a lot of people know that "!
Yes...
They (Guinness)didnt create it of course or have anything to do with mainly Irish Catholics celebrating mass on 17th March.
What they did do ,as cocal cola did with the red Santa Claus/ reindeers flying across globe image.
They both wrapped up and sold popular dates/religious holidays for profit to the masses (no pun intended)
Your last sentence clearly defines the differences between the faiths over centuries.

The heretics must have been a dour unhappy bunch back in the day of Christmas bans in Scotland :greengrin
Along with forcing a foreign language upon the Scots
Christmas was still celebrated by the Catholics anyway , despite the Calvanistic scrooges:na na:

But jesting apart..
You are correct in the differences in Europe back in the day:greengrin
Although France would be heavily on the side of the Irish.
The Scots/Ulster anti Catholic lobby would be onside with the ever successful divide and rule policy of successive undemocratic London govts(and navies) for centuries .
The Empire strikes back !

Now in a few days ,we can celebrate the Catholic martyr,Guy Fawkes:greengrin
Even all though he was betrayed and sadly failed his mission !

30-11-2023, 03:58 PM
Think Russia as well

Yes
The Eastern Orthodox Church is spread thoughout Russia(and elsewhere) and many of its.(Russia) former satellite Countries from the Soviet Era.
So Oor Andy got around !!
Even if he was born in Palestine !

Strange talking of St Andrew at this time when war is raging in Countries he is revered by many believers.

30-11-2023, 04:08 PM
Good read PB
As Michael Caine might have said "not a lot of people know that "!
Yes...
They (Guinness)didnt create it of course or have anything to do with mainly Irish Catholics celebrating mass on 17th March.
What they did do ,as cocal cola did with the red Santa Claus/ reindeers flying across globe image.
They both wrapped up and sold popular dates/religious holidays for profit to the masses (no pun intended)
Your last sentence clearly defines the differences between the faiths over centuries.

The heretics must have been a dour unhappy bunch back in the day of Christmas bans in Scotland :greengrin
Along with forcing a foreign language upon the Scots
Christmas was still celebrated by the Catholics anyway , despite the Calvanistic scrooges:na na:

But jesting apart..
You are correct in the differences in Europe back in the day:greengrin
Although France would be heavily on the side of the Irish.
The Scots/Ulster anti Catholic lobby would be onside with the ever successful divide and rule policy of successive undemocratic London govts(and navies) for centuries .
The Empire strikes back !

Now in a few days ,we can celebrate the Catholic martyr,Guy Fawkes:greengrin
Even all though he was betrayed and sadly failed his mission !

I got the Guinness shout in first, but I can cope 🥃

30-11-2023, 04:27 PM

I did not know that about the public holiday, that’s really interesting (to saddos like me anyway :greengrin), did that mean folk were still off to work and school when Christmas fell on a weekday?

30-11-2023, 04:35 PM
I did not know that about the public holiday, that’s really interesting (to saddos like me anyway :greengrin), did that mean folk were still off to work and school when Christmas fell on a weekday?

I'm not sure about every profession but my grandad was a painter and decorator and spoke about the trades working Christmas Day. I could be wrong but I think he said even after it was a public holiday there was work for those that wanted it and he worked the odd half day at Christmas.

30-11-2023, 04:40 PM

Those were the days my friend !!
Me and ma 3 brothers in our jammies.slippers and bathrobes (we called them housecoats then) went "first fitting" wae oor ma a dad to a few neighbours in same street
Took a lump of coal(traditional keep the fire going)
The bottle of course and maybe some black bun,
(nae thought of baby sitters then/
They youngsters were all up at the Tron Clock for the bells !!)
We would sit in a corner or under the dinner/living room table with the children of other houses eating our black bun and shortbread and listen to our parents talking daft,telling porkies about rent arrears and the provie man and belting out teary eyed songs about times past.!! But we kept oot the road and stuffed our faces.
Introduced to the good old pickled onion too !!
Great times and a long lie in the morning(mibbee) if not going to Mass.
Our mother was not a drinker, so off to Mass we would go down in Davidsons Mains.

Yes its certainly changed in Edinburgh.
Maybe wee toons and villages hopefully still have the old socially friendly neighbourly nights like we experienced in Clermiston late 50s/60s
Ma granny and grranda would have been doing the same in the Grassmarket/West Port wae their neighbours.
Not a tourist or theme pub in sight !!
Whaes like us !! Or was !

30-11-2023, 05:29 PM
I got the Guinness shout in first, but I can cope ��

So you did ,Hutchy:thumbsup:
My apologies !

Happy St Andrews Day !!:greengrin
If its your shout !
Al have a large Jamesons with ma stout please !

Edit ;
I got the Guinness shout in first :cheers:
Did you not read the first reply on this thread :greengrin

30-11-2023, 05:51 PM
Greece also I believe.
He is the patron saint of Cyprus, Scotland, Greece (City of Patras), Romania, Russia, Ukraine, the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople, San Andres Island (Colombia), Saint Andrew (Barbados) and Tenerife (Spain).

30-11-2023, 07:00 PM

30-11-2023, 07:05 PM
So you did ,Hutchy:thumbsup:
My apologies !

Happy St Andrews Day !!:greengrin
If its your shout !
Al have a large Jamesons with ma stout please !

That's not very Scottish 🤭

30-11-2023, 07:37 PM
I'm not sure about every profession but my grandad was a painter and decorator and spoke about the trades working Christmas Day. I could be wrong but I think he said even after it was a public holiday there was work for those that wanted it and he worked the odd half day at Christmas.

That’s fascinating, cheers :aok:

I know some businesses/organisations stay open on Christmas Day, either offering incentivised rates, or simply drawing the short straw for some, but most places are closed

30-11-2023, 07:38 PM
That's not very Scottish 🤭
Well i dont like blended whisky that much in my old age !!
But seeing as i mentioned Guinness before you did a wee Glenmorangie or Bowmore will do !!

It would be nice if our patron Saint could be remembered more.
Maybe its just old folk like me who went to schools that made sure you did !

I asked a schoolboy to name two Saints.
He said Mirren and Johnstone:greengrin

30-11-2023, 07:42 PM
Well i dont like blended whisky that much in my old age !!
But seeing as i mentioned Guinness before you did a wee Glenmorangie or Bowmore will do !!

It would be nice if our patron Saint could be remembered more.
Maybe its just old folk like me who went to schools that made sure you did !

I asked a schoolboy to name two Saints.
He said Mirren and Johnstone:greengrin

Why not drink malts without any link to the old country.

I enjoy a Laphroaig, without anyone else doing similar.