03-12-2023, 05:04 PM
All aboard the Monty hype train :hyper
03-12-2023, 05:04 PM
Rode our luck 2nd half but overall a good performance 👏
bringbackbenny
03-12-2023, 05:05 PM
Had to laugh when he said David Marshall mi**** the ball over for the first goal
Heard it is well, what an *rse. The Dons fans can't stand him and he's panicking and waiting on the inevitable P45 🤡
allmodcons
03-12-2023, 05:11 PM
Freak first goal for Hibs and sheep should have scored 5 or 6 according to Robson. Havering under-pressure manager.
Heard it is well, what an *rse. The Dons fans can't stand him and he's panicking and waiting on the inevitable P45 🤡
He's managed 6 wins in 27 games since he was appointed and will be out of work soon.
Talks absolute crap at times and is always looking for excuses. Have rarely heard him praise the opposition.
Completely deluded.
03-12-2023, 05:14 PM
Willie Miller very honest in my view, saying he likes watching hibs play.
Makes hime more honest than me at times then :wink:
03-12-2023, 05:17 PM
Another good win today. Great to see us starting to beat the teams we might expect to beat :thumbsup:
ElginHibee
03-12-2023, 05:17 PM
1 loss in 10 in the league - at IbroxWhen folks were panicking over draws I always thought we were losing a LOT less (does that make me an optimist? [emoji16]). I don't think we're folding like we did the first few games of the season.
Still a long way to go but I'm happy with the direction.
Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk
Hibees1973
03-12-2023, 05:19 PM
Great 3 points today.
I'm actually really pleased we won the game and they had more shots at goal than us. Makes a refreshing change as this normally happens to us.
Goals against has improved over the last few weeks which is a huge positive. We do look iffy at the back, but most sides have times in games when they are under pressure. It's getting through these times without conceding which is key.
The dark side say we are eye bleeding to watch. Have to laugh at that with the brand of football they are playing. They are not a good watch either based on comments from some of the more sensible Yams I know.
03-12-2023, 05:20 PM
Just listened to Barry Robson on the radio. Apparently they “ran over the top” of us. It was a freak goal and it should have been five or six nil for them. The man is deluded. Even Richard Gordon and Willie Miller are saying the man is talking rubbish.
That message is for the Aberdeen Board and fans, from a man who knows he's under real pressure. Hope he remains Dons boss for many weeks to come.
LewysGot2
03-12-2023, 05:22 PM
When folks were panicking over draws I always thought we were losing a LOT less (does that make me an optimist? [emoji16]). I don't think we're folding like we did the first few games of the season.
Still a long way to go but I'm happy with the direction.
Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk
Trust the process said Nick. Looks like the players are trusting him, too.
Criswell
03-12-2023, 05:27 PM
I can understand Aberdeen's frustration but they only have themselves to blame, plus an inspired goalkeeping performance!
LewysGot2
03-12-2023, 05:28 PM
I can understand Aberdeen's frustration but they only have themselves to blame, plus an inspired goalkeeping performance!
They lucked out at Hampden - no sympathy for them.
03-12-2023, 05:31 PM
For all the chat about Aberdeen’s missed sitters and DMs fine saves, I think we could also have scored a few more. Some very poor decision making during several dangerous second half breakaways. Could have been much more comfortable. Lovely to give that mob something back for the semi defeat. Great three points 🙌
How we kept a clean sheet I'll never know - maybe our luck is changing?
But your right, we could have had a couple more goals ourself. We really missed Miller and Obita going forward. Quite a few promising attacks broke down when the ball went wide to Whitaker or Stevenson.
03-12-2023, 05:34 PM
Absolutely delighted with the result. That was a weakened Hibs side so credit to them for getting the win. Oh aye and **** Aberdeen
Torto7
03-12-2023, 05:35 PM
They are outnumbered, they need help. Yes we won, but jeezo we let them have far too many chances today, our keeper was brilliant.
Campbell needs to drop in and help them during periods like that.
03-12-2023, 06:00 PM
Deffo think we need an upgrade at centre half. Fair play to Fish for scoring but he got caught outta position too often. And I still think Rocky needs his eyes checked (I’m being serious). The amount of times he misjudges high balls is frightening.
yerauldda
03-12-2023, 06:01 PM
Deffo think we need an upgrade at centre half. Fair play to Fish for scoring but he got caught outta position too often. And I still think Rocky needs his eyes checked (I’m being serious). The amount of times he misjudges high balls is frightening.
I think they’re improving all the time. Rocky, especially. Both still young and a lot to like about the pair of them.
03-12-2023, 06:07 PM
Campbell needs to drop in and help them during periods like that.
Perhaps, sometimes it's ok to do that or even take a forward off and put another midfielder on, it's not against the law. :greengrin
It might even save my blood pressure from shooting through the roof too.:wink:
03-12-2023, 06:13 PM
03-12-2023, 06:14 PM
We all thought Fish was outstanding.
03-12-2023, 06:15 PM
Perhaps, sometimes it's ok to do that or even take a forward off and put another midfielder on, it's not against the law. :greengrin
It might even save my blood pressure from shooting through the roof too.:wink:
We got through but I thought the subs were poor. We just needed the extra body in midfield and taking Levitt off meant we were unlikely to get a foot on the ball. He looks utterly dejected as soon as he see Jeggo getting stripped because he knows what coming. I think Monty is doing far more right than wrong but the refusal to ever change, even in the last 10 minutes is just bizarre.
Still, he seems to have a very motivated team that are determined to do well. There is real genuine improvement there and that’s without him having had the opportunity to change anything.
03-12-2023, 06:16 PM
I think 2 better full backs would help them, no disrespect to the two that played today.
03-12-2023, 06:16 PM
at least three times he overcommitted on the edge of the box allowing them to play in behind. Stuff he can learn I suppose. But a top notch defender would make a huge difference to our term.
03-12-2023, 06:17 PM
I thought Fish was really good. He had to cover for Whittaker a fair bit when he was out of position as well.
03-12-2023, 06:18 PM
https://x.com/aberdeenfc/status/1731371940458176567?s=46&t=4lfV_VlQGh_liQh27oduRg
Wow
He said if it was a boxing match it would have been stopped, and doubles down confirming Hibs goal was just a big kick up the pitch.
What a walloper
03-12-2023, 06:20 PM
https://x.com/aberdeenfc/status/1731371940458176567?s=46&t=4lfV_VlQGh_liQh27oduRg
Wow
He said if it was a boxing match it would have been stopped, and doubles down confirming Hibs goal was just a big kick up the pitch.
What a walloper
Makes it even sweeter. Love it.
03-12-2023, 06:23 PM
He was.
03-12-2023, 06:23 PM
So did we. Good positioning for alot of the crosses coming in that side
Mikey_1875
03-12-2023, 06:25 PM
Delighted with that result. I still think Aberdeen will be there or thereabouts come the end of the season (maybe without Robson) so it was important to beat them today.
Glad to see Vente back on the scoresheet and Boyle put in an improved performance. Hopefully Obita isn’t out for too long.
03-12-2023, 06:36 PM
I think they’re improving all the time. Rocky, especially. Both still young and a lot to like about the pair of them.
👍
03-12-2023, 06:43 PM
Wow
What a walloper
Grade A ********.
03-12-2023, 06:56 PM
Fish and Rocky seem to be building a good partnership. Hopefully it means we can finally have a decent base to build from now going forward.
03-12-2023, 07:05 PM
Delighted with that result. I still think Aberdeen will be there or thereabouts come the end of the season (maybe without Robson) so it was important to beat them today.
Glad to see Vente back on the scoresheet and Boyle put in an improved performance. Hopefully Obita isn’t out for too long.
Boyle was far like his old self today. Worked much harder and hopefully he is returning back to full fitness and confidence in his body after so long out
03-12-2023, 07:12 PM
24 shots on goal Barry aye? Replays dinnae count son.
03-12-2023, 07:21 PM
Interesting that Calum Davidson and Mikey Stewart both thought the penalty was harsh
03-12-2023, 07:22 PM
Just watched the highlights on sportscene.
They actually forgot to include the huge aberdeen miss/Marshall save before halftime - though they included it in the post match analysis of Aberdeens chances. Scottish football is a hoot.
03-12-2023, 07:23 PM
Wow
What a walloper
Makes it all the sweeter. They did a smash and grab on us at Hampden. If they were as good as he thinks in his deluded head theytd have won the game.
Robson is a slavering clown who doesn't have two brain cells to rub together.
churchie16
03-12-2023, 07:31 PM
Very very harsh think the two of them defended well, headed most balls into the box away and done well think the 2 of them have a decent partnership going got to remember what Rocky used to look like sometimes night and day from back then clears, heads and defends pretty well the last wee while under Montgomery
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2023, 07:37 PM
Makes it even sweeter. Love it.
Seen somebody put this up on the dons forum .
Number of points after 13 games under the last 6 managers in there last season with Aberdeen.
McInnes ( 26 ) .
Goodwin ( 22 ) .
Brown ( 21).
McGhee. (18 ) .
Glass. (15).
Robson. (13).
O Barry you’ve made a right Mike Hunt of yourself post match! Clearly a man under pressure and playing to the fans.
Let’s face it, you just weren’t good enough!
03-12-2023, 07:51 PM
Fish and Rocky seem to be building a good partnership. Hopefully it means we can finally have a decent base to build from now going forward.
They were both excellent today 👍 agreed. The passion Rocky now has for defending and winning battles is clear to see. There’s a proper team spirit and that’s down to the manager. Today was a real team performance defensively when we were under the cosh, they all fought for each other.
03-12-2023, 07:52 PM
How we kept a clean sheet I'll never know - maybe our luck is changing?
But your right, we could have had a couple more goals ourself. We really missed Miller and Obita going forward. Quite a few promising attacks broke down when the ball went wide to Whitaker or Stevenson.
We are long, long overdue a rub of the green!
03-12-2023, 07:57 PM
NM has made us a far sterner side. We've probably drawn some games we should have won, but we haven't lost many recently under him.
Amazing what actually coaching a team how to defend can do
Mr Johnson is an actual fraud who is completely reliant on his coaching ability, no credentials as an actual manager or tactitian
03-12-2023, 08:01 PM
Good to see Marsh prove the doubters wrong. Like Jair clearly a confidence player, NM has transformed him back to his old self!
Hears a theory - Hibs over the years has had more than its fair share of confidence players - might be revolutionary but maybe if we didn’t jump in too soon to judge we might do them and ourselves a favour?
03-12-2023, 08:05 PM
amazing what actually coaching a team how to defend can do
mr johnson is an actual fraud who is completely reliant on his coaching ability, no credentials as an actual manager or tactitian and pumped out the fa cup.
ftfy
03-12-2023, 08:15 PM
Seen somebody put this up on the dons forum .
Number of points after 13 games under the last 6 managers in there last season with Aberdeen.
McInnes ( 26 ) .
Goodwin ( 22 ) .
Brown ( 21).
McGhee. (18 ) .
Glass. (15).
Robson. (13).
Basketcase of a club living on delusions of grandeur based on the Fergie years.
I was working there when the protests started with Alex “Smithy must go” and it was a pretty much revolving door until MacInnes/Paw Broon.
They are reverting to type a wee bit.
Their list of managers would give us nightmares. Skovdahl / Pele (bundled out Pittodrie in the boot of a car)… Alex Miller, Aitken, Porterfield, TangoMan, Hegarty, Aitken, Glass amongst others.
Although they can point to some higher finishes they’ve consistently bottled it whilst vying for 3rd with the uglies. Until recently we seemed to have the upper hand other semis of cups over them. I was gutted we went down with Hearts with our infrastructure we should really have kicked on. The Dons effectively had a free run at 2nd / 3rd without The Gers and Hearts - and Us :/
03-12-2023, 08:19 PM
Amazing what actually coaching a team how to defend can do
Mr Johnson is an actual fraud who is completely reliant on his coaching ability, no credentials as an actual manager or tactitian
but he has over 500 games under his managerial belt he’ll tell anyone that listens.
that may well be true but it’s staggering what he seems to have learned (very little) from that.
he may well study teams before he arrives and get caught up in their history but that’s for nothing if he doesn’t see what recent history can teach him about how to tackle things… too sat up his one ‘arris
03-12-2023, 08:33 PM
but he has over 500 games under his managerial belt he’ll tell anyone that listens.
that may well be true but it’s staggering what he seems to have learned (very little) from that.
he may well study teams before he arrives and get caught up in their history but that’s for nothing if he doesn’t see what recent history can teach him about how to tackle things… too sat up his one ‘arris
He’s a car salesman. Lots of talk, slogans and grand proclamations designed for self preservation and to mask what he actually delivers on the park.
Look at what Montgomery is getting out of Johnson’s tools and the the night and day difference in terms of a structured and recognisable team. Johnson talked about identifying 80odd (or however many it was) problems that needed fixed, needing 3 windows (on top of the 1 or 2 he had already had), needing to clear out the squad, how he was going to do this and that with the youngsters etc etc. Johnson talked an awful lot out of self preservation and trying to disguise from the job he was actually doing.
Compare all that to Montgomery. He told us how he sees football, how he likes to set up a team and his preference for bringing youngsters through. He then did his talking on the park and is being proven true to his every word. Though we’re still a work in progress.
I wasn’t overly fond of someone like Jack Ross but harbour no grudge towards him. With Johnson I find him easier to actively dislike than someone as polarising as Neil Lennon.
03-12-2023, 09:00 PM
He’s a car salesman. Lots of talk, slogans and grand proclamations designed for self preservation and to mask what he actually delivers on the park.
Look at what Montgomery is getting out of Johnson’s tools and the the night and day difference in terms of a structured and recognisable team. Johnson talked about identifying 80odd (or however many it was) problems that needed fixed, needing 3 windows (on top of the 1 or 2 he had already had), needing to clear out the squad, how he was going to do this and that with the youngsters etc etc. Johnson talked an awful lot out of self preservation and trying to disguise from the job he was actually doing.
Compare all that to Montgomery. He told us how he sees football, how he likes to set up a team and his preference for bringing youngsters through. He then did his talking on the park and is being proven true to his every word. Though we’re still a work in progress.
I wasn’t overly fond of someone like Jack Ross but harbour no grudge towards him. With Johnson I find him easier to actively dislike than someone as polarising as Neil Lennon.
Still a work in progress that’s 2 points of third place. I like the sound of that.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2023, 09:05 PM
Skysports highlights here .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13022192/hibernian-2-0-aberdeen-scottish-premiership-highlights
03-12-2023, 09:38 PM
Today was a strange game to summarise.
First half hour, I thought Aberdeen were hands down the worst team we'd seen this season at ER. Totally unable to deal with our long ball to Boyle, awful ball retention, my only complaint was we we didnt get the second goal our play deserved. Last 15 mins of the first half we had a few self inflicted problems giving the ball away and Marsh and bad sheep finishing save us. But 1-0 was a fair reflection at the half.
Second half we start well but Aberdeen come into it and from 55 on we were on the ropes. Marsh, Fish and Rocky totally exposed but all three were absolutely outstanding and that and a combination of luck and the sheep unable to hit a coos erchie with the proverbial banjo gives us the three points. When i saw the stats i was surprised they had more possession and so many shots, but as ever stats can be deceptive; its about quality of the shots and the quality of the possession. The crying and moaning about 'lucky Hibs' from that mob is absolutely hilarious, considering the ****ing larceny that took place at Hampden last month. **** them.
I was also struggling to think of a player today in a Hibs shirt that had a poor game. I think we're building something.
Mcbizz1998
03-12-2023, 09:46 PM
Today was a strange game to summarise.
First half hour, I thought Aberdeen were hands down the worst team we'd seen this season at ER. Totally unable to deal with our long ball to Boyle, awful ball retention, my only complaint was we we didnt get the second goal our play deserved. Last 15 mins of the first half we had a few self inflicted problems giving the ball away and Marsh and bad sheep finishing save us. But 1-0 was a fair reflection at the half.
Second half we start well but Aberdeen come into it and from 55 on we were on the ropes. Marsh, Fish and Rocky totally exposed but all three were absolutely outstanding and that and a combination of luck and the sheep unable to hit a coos erchie with the proverbial banjo gives us the three points. When i saw the stats i was surprised they had more possession and so many shots, but as ever stats can be deceptive; its about quality of the shots and the quality of the possession. The crying and moaning about 'lucky Hibs' from that mob is absolutely hilarious, considering the ****ing larceny that took place at Hampden last month. **** them.
I was also struggling to think of a player today in a Hibs shirt that had a poor game. I think we're building something.
A good summary. I was also surprised by the stats as overall I felt we had the better of the game, albeit we had to ride our luck for a spell.
Overall we are, and were today, a better team than Aberdeen. That’s 10-0 aggregate score over the last 4 league games, going back to our 4-1 loss at Pittodrie in November 2022.
03-12-2023, 10:10 PM
Thought Boyle was more like his old self today. More of a threat and just seemed sharper than he has been for me.
04-12-2023, 08:17 AM
Indeed. Just feel he is fair to both teams regardless of incompetence.
My mistake....
Trinity Hibee
04-12-2023, 09:25 AM
Wasn’t at the game yesterday so only caught the highlights.
Looks like we played pretty well over all. Rode our luck at times with Aberdeen hitting the woodwork but it’s a complete reverse of the game at Hampden.
An important win against a fellow European challenger. Need to be looking to beat Livi away on Saturday as getting anything from CP is notoriously difficult. If we can continue turning draws into wins against the other 10 clubs we’ll be doing well. The derby at end of the month is looking very important for the race for 3rd.
04-12-2023, 11:09 AM
Skysports highlights here .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13022192/hibernian-2-0-aberdeen-scottish-premiership-highlights
Incredibly one sided highlights. We apparently had two attacks.
04-12-2023, 12:21 PM
The whining from Robson is ridiculous. Hibs had a two goal lead. Hibs lead for most of the game so it’s natural that his team were pushing harder. Doesn’t mean they were in control though.
04-12-2023, 12:25 PM
Wow
What a walloper
Someone should tell him that boxing matches are only stopped when a boxer actually lands a punch.
Victor
04-12-2023, 12:45 PM
The whining from Robson is ridiculous. Hibs had a two goal lead. Hibs lead for most of the game so it’s natural that his team were pushing harder. Doesn’t mean they were in control though.
What a fud. If a Hibs manager came out with that nonsense after getting beat 2-0 he would rightly get pilloried. Quick summary of that ‘interview’ ……”If his auntie had b**s she would be his uncle.”
04-12-2023, 06:54 PM
Basketcase of a club living on delusions of grandeur based on the Fergie years.
I was working there when the protests started with Alex “Smithy must go” and it was a pretty much revolving door until MacInnes/Paw Broon.
They are reverting to type a wee bit.
Their list of managers would give us nightmares. Skovdahl / Pele (bundled out Pittodrie in the boot of a car)… Alex Miller, Aitken, Porterfield, TangoMan, Hegarty, Aitken, Glass amongst others.
Although they can point to some higher finishes they’ve consistently bottled it whilst vying for 3rd with the uglies. Until recently we seemed to have the upper hand other semis of cups over them. I was gutted we went down with Hearts with our infrastructure we should really have kicked on. The Dons effectively had a free run at 2nd / 3rd without The Gers and Hearts - and Us :/
Quite sad looking at some of the names on that list and realising how many are no longer with us.