View Full Version : Block 7
ArmadaleHibs
26-11-2023, 07:14 AM
Did anyone see the scenes just before kick off with fans trying to take their allocated seats but could not because block seven refused to move. Chaos
26-11-2023, 07:27 AM
Have Hibs even had a word about them with this or are they accountable to no one? :dunno:
ArmadaleHibs
26-11-2023, 07:34 AM
Have Hibs even had a word about them with this or are they accountable to no one? :dunno:
From what I seen yesterday there was a lot of intimidation towards a few women trying to take their seats. Not suggesting block 7 were starting matters or throwing punches first but the intimidation and refusal to move and the constant banging into fans trying to take their seats instigated this minor brawl. It was embarrassing
26-11-2023, 07:36 AM
From what I’m hearing, the neds seeking close proximity to Block 7 are accountable to no one.
We can’t have a bunch of folk deciding where they will sit, regardless of allocated tickets.
Can’t get your seat because someone has taken it.
Go to another seat.
Now you’re sitting in someone else’s allocated seat
Cue people getting up and down and arguing with each other just because some pillock has nicked it.
Chaos as the OP says.
26-11-2023, 07:43 AM
This wasn’t bona-fire members of Block Seven, just hangers on who have attached themselves to the group.
26-11-2023, 07:44 AM
The club are letting down the wider Hibs support by not taking action to stop disrespectful behaviour from a particular group.
From communication with the club, I didn’t personally get the impression that they were taking it seriously enough, but that’s just my opinion.
Won’t be B7 though, just hangers on, blah blah, ultra culture, blah blah…
ArmadaleHibs
26-11-2023, 07:52 AM
The club are letting down the wider Hibs support by not taking action to stop disrespectful behaviour from a particular group.
From communication with the club, I didn’t personally get the impression that they were taking it seriously enough, but that’s just my opinion.
They create an atmosphere which we all love but when they are taking over an allocated area and will not move, leaving people with no where to go, then you clearly get the intimidation which was coming from regular block seven members and there hangers on, then that’s unacceptable. This will always end up with trouble. From where I was and what I seen yesterday they showed absolutely zero respect for anyone around them including women and children. This is not the first time I’ve seen this happen yet it’s still happening which means the club have done and will do nothing
26-11-2023, 07:52 AM
This wasn’t bona-fire members of Block Seven, just hangers on who have attached themselves to the group.
Noted I’ve edited my post for now.
26-11-2023, 07:59 AM
What's the answer to it? Seems to be happening most away games now, so what can actually be done about it? It's harsh on Block 7, because whether they like it or not, the assumption will be that it's their group that's doing it. Folk don't care whether these guys are formally part of a group or not, they see them all together and draw their own conclusions.
It needs to stop, though - going to football shouldn't be a hassle or a fight waiting to happen because you're unlucky enough to have bought a seat that these guys want, that's unacceptable.
26-11-2023, 08:03 AM
What's the answer to it? Seems to be happening most away games now, so what can actually be done about it? It's harsh on Block 7, because whether they like it or not, the assumption will be that it's their group that's doing it. Folk don't care whether these guys are formally part of a group or not, they see them all together and draw their own conclusions.
It needs to stop, though - going to football shouldn't be a hassle or a fight waiting to happen because you're unlucky enough to have bought a seat that these guys want, that's unacceptable.
Didn’t we used to be able to specific “singing section” tickets when buying?
This takes us into priority ticket territory, but I genuinely see no way around it other than to take a full stand for example, put block 7 on the left and start selling normal tickets on the right side to make sure there’s no one in seats where they don’t want to be.
Logie Green
26-11-2023, 08:04 AM
I had a ticket for a seat in the area they commandeered; when I saw it had descended into a brawl I found another seat. Unsurprisingly I had to move when the seat holder arrived. This must’ve happened to dozens of folk going by the numbers standing in the aisle (something we criticise the OF for doing).
It seems to me that the club seem willing to accommodate them but don’t have any ‘power’ to bring them to account when situations like this happen. Also it would be nice to see the police taking a more active role instead of leaving it to stewards.
I’ve no doubt it will continue to happen as those involved have no respect for anyone as it’s all about them.
26-11-2023, 08:06 AM
Make them give a list of all official B7 members to the club, and they will receive tickets together in their own section for away games. Where possible give Hibs fans the opportunity to sit elsewhere in the away end by publishing where the ultras section will be.
For a bit, have someone from the club at that section and ensuring the wider Hibs support can actually take their seats/head up aisles.
Actually make self policing important by making the group responsible for the actions in that area. If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it’s a duck and not a hanger on. If someone is causing trouble in B7 attire or in the B7 section then the “it’s a hanger on” doesn’t wash.
Basically - if they behave then they’re rewarded with their own section. If not then they’re not welcome and someone else can look to start their own version.
26-11-2023, 08:06 AM
If these are just the "hangers on" as people say then surely Block 7 should be intervening to get people in their allocated seats? The "hangers on" will listen to them and if they don't then that's Block 7's problem as the "hangers on" wouldn't be causing trouble if Block 7 didn't exist.
It's amazing how much violence and intimidation in football is always 100% as a result of "hangers on" and never actually the people who are seen doing it.
26-11-2023, 08:12 AM
My post suggesting it was hangers on isn’t to be taken seriously.
Just regurgitating the narrative that will be wheeled out after yet another misdemeanour. It’s never anything to with them, and the club seems to swallow it.
26-11-2023, 08:15 AM
Yesterday could have been dangerous if emergency medical help was needed to get to someone, or a swift evacuation had to be made.
LewysGot2
26-11-2023, 08:19 AM
Yesterday when it, predictably, happened - as seems to be the case now most away games - there were actually boos. The main away support are getting sick of this nonsense. Folk are standing their ground more. They'll get the backing of most right minded fellow fans.
These wee dafties need to grow up. The Hibs support doesn't revolve around them. It will soon show them and we don't want a situation to develop where they end up ostracised completely. Those who remember the casual era will also remember being a "scarfer" was a thing as the silent majority took a stance. Let's not get to the point they're standing outside waving flags and setting off pyro as Charlie Reid arrives with a one fingered salute (for the avoidance of doubt that's a metaphor). The main Celtc support call their lot the Gangrene Brigade - let's not get to that place.
LewysGot2
26-11-2023, 08:23 AM
At the time they came in, folk with the drum, wearing B7 gear, dodged under the yellow tapes sectioning off the lowest few rows. Stewards and police redirected them saying "nope, yer no going there".
So clearly, very obviously B7 were going to try and occupy a cordoned off space of their choice that wasn't to be occupied at all. It wasn't hangers on. It 100% wasn't hangers on in that situation. It was B7
26-11-2023, 08:27 AM
Does there need to be allocated seating for away games? I know the clubs like it because it's possible to link a ticket to an account and identify who was sitting there. However if people aren't sitting in their own seats anyway then is that a workable system? Add to that there are cameras trained on you from the moment you leave your house to the moment you arrive home again so anyone causing bother is identifiable anyway.
That stand wasn't close to sold out yesterday, there was a whole section almost empty and the front rows were also largely deserted. Could unallocated seating at certain away games be trialled? That would allow people to find their own areas and families would naturally gravitate together, Block 7 and those who want to be near them likewise and so on.
EastStandGates
26-11-2023, 08:32 AM
Chaos lol. Was hardly Heysel.
If only there was 1300 empty seats in that stand yesterday that could be utilised to accommodate everyone...
People massively overestimate numbers of these groups too. Sitting next to B7 at ER in East 44, yer lucky if 2-3 dozen have the merch on and take the first 2-3 rows of their section. An away day will probably be less. The vast majority behind and to the side of them aren't directly involved in them, if 100 people are piling into block 44 at ER, or standing on the stairs, with similar scenes at away matches, I don't get how 20 members of a supporters group can be accountable to 200 random others..?
Also don't get how people can be so precious about a seat. I kinda get it at Ibrox and Tynie as there is nowhere else to go, but every other stadium there's going to be somewhere else to sit/stand. People have been squeezing into rows/seats long before B7 and will do so after.
Clubs don't half make it hard for themselves too. Again out with Rangers and Hearts away there is nothing to stop whole sections being dedicated to the ultras/wanna be ultras and police it accordingly.
Also love the change in narrative. Can mind it was always ccs getting blamed for any issues involving trouble with Hibs fans, now it's B7 that's the scrapegoat.
26-11-2023, 08:37 AM
If only there was 1300 empty seats in that stand yesterday that could be utilised to accommodate everyone...
People massively overestimate numbers of these groups too. Sitting next to B7 at ER in East 44, yer lucky if 2-3 dozen have the merch on and take the first 2-3 rows of their section. An away day will probably be less. The vast majority behind and to the side of them aren't directly involved in them, if 100 people are piling into block 44 at ER, or standing on the stairs, with similar scenes at away matches, I don't get how 20 members of a supporters group can be accountable to 200 random others..?
Also don't get how people can be so precious about a seat. I kinda get it at Ibrox and Tynie as there is nowhere else to go, but every other stadium there's going to be somewhere else to sit/stand. People have been squeezing into rows/seats long before B7 and will do so after.
Clubs don't half make it hard for themselves too. Again out with Rangers and Hearts away there is nothing to stop whole sections being dedicated to the ultras/wanna be ultras and police it accordingly.
Also love the change in narrative. Can mind it was always ccs getting blamed for any issues involving trouble with Hibs fans, now it's B7 that's the scrapegoat.
If someone’s gotten there in good time, is happy with where they are sat and the view they have, then why should they move because some tosser thinks they can take over any area they want and to hell with who was there before?
LewysGot2
26-11-2023, 08:38 AM
Folk with children, older folk, folk with disabilities or limited mobility, folk who just wanted a particular view and bought it (like at Parkhead where many seats have restricted views and cost less) or where, like the Bus Shelter,folk pay for cheaper or dearer seats depending on which "tier'. People buy seats all together with their pals
All those are valid things.
This is about entitlement of one sub section of the support thinking what they want is most important and to hell with other supporters.
26-11-2023, 08:42 AM
If someone’s gotten there in good time, is happy with where they are sat and the view they have, then why should they move because some tosser thinks they can take over any area they want and to hell with who was there before?
Exactly. If someone’s bought and paid for a seat, it’s their seat.
Let’s just keep making excuses for the wee fannies that cause issues at every single game now though because they have a drum and a few copied songs that naebody else wants to sing.
EastStandGates
26-11-2023, 08:44 AM
Does there need to be allocated seating for away games? I know the clubs like it because it's possible to link a ticket to an account and identify who was sitting there. However if people aren't sitting in their own seats anyway then is that a workable system? Add to that there are cameras trained on you from the moment you leave your house to the moment you arrive home again so anyone causing bother is identifiable anyway.
That stand wasn't close to sold out yesterday, there was a whole section almost empty and the front rows were also largely deserted. Could unallocated seating at certain away games be trialled? That would allow people to find their own areas and families would naturally gravitate together, Block 7 and those who want to be near them likewise and so on.
But if you go with a common sense approach like that, what else can there be a moan about on the internet the day after a fine away victory with 10 men?
Suppose we could go back to lack of hot water in the bogs...
EastStandGates
26-11-2023, 08:50 AM
Exactly. If someone’s bought and paid for a seat, it’s their seat.
Let’s just keep making excuses for the wee fannies that cause issues at every single game now though because they have a drum and a few copied songs that naebody else wants to sing.
And you've just proven my earlier point...
To you they're a bunch of wee fannies with a drum..
To the wee fannies with a drum yous are a bunch of boring auld weirdos on an internet forum.
Hence clubs need to utilise space that is available in nearly every stadium in Scotland to properly accommodate everyone.
26-11-2023, 08:52 AM
But if you go with a common sense approach like that, what else can there be a moan about on the internet the day after a fine away victory with 10 men?
If you were there with your wife and kids got in your ticketed seat in good time then ten minutes before the game you get physically harassed out of your seat would you not be a little bit annoyed about it? Particularly when the onus is then on you to find spare seats rather than ones where someone has a ticket for. Selfish dickish behaviour and definitely should be called out. Behaviour which is likely to have influenced decent fans not to go to away games. Club need to sort it simple as.
26-11-2023, 08:54 AM
To the wee fannies with a drum yous are a bunch of boring auld weirdos on an internet forum.
Hence clubs need to utilise space that is available in nearly every stadium in Scotland to properly accommodate everyone.
Or supporters can have some respect for fellow Hibs fans, regardless if they think each other is a fanny / weirdo.
26-11-2023, 08:56 AM
They are entitled to think that and may well be correct.
It doesn’t change the fact that the only people in the wrong, in this scenario, are those forcing people out of seats that do not have tickets for those seats.
It’s really simple.
StevieT
At least auld weirdos can show respect to fellow supporters whereas a wee fanny will always be a wee fanny.
Everyone that attends a game, particularly away, is there to see their team win and shows their support by being there. It's about time that these guys grasped this concept and realised that everyone is there for the same thing. It would appear that they go out of the way to annoy as many fellow supporters as they can.
I note the B7 twitter account is scared to show pic of B7 members, blurring all their faces.
Forget all the what aboutery, hangers on chat etc. If, as a group, they don't want easily identified, then that tells everything you need to know about their outlook on things.
The Tubs
26-11-2023, 09:02 AM
The benefit of raising the compliant here has been a couple of decent suggestions about how friction can be avoided in the future. In order to build goodwill about the group, it might be worth looking into self-policing and how the club could make the group's section known when tickets are put on sale.
Chorley Hibee
26-11-2023, 09:04 AM
I asked one of them to move out the way as I was making my way up the stairs to my seat (a stairway a crowd of them were blocking).
The little runt barged into me and told me to **** off.
Not best pleased, I let the little **** know that he'd be best advised to **** off out of my sight before I done something stupid.
This resulted in being rounded upon by another 3 or 4 of these so called Block 7 muppets. Not for backing down, the little ****s soon got the message I wouldn't be intimated by them.
I also heard, from a fellow long time Hibee, that one of the Block 7 group took a swing at a woman arguing with them.
The entitlement of them is off the scale, and they quickly need brought into line.
The club can stop pandering to them too.
I say all of the above as someone who has no beef with the Ultra scene, and is an avid supporter of standing/singing sections too.
None of the above entitles these little fannies to think they're better than the next Hibee though, and certainly not treat fellow fans in the manner they currently do.
I see a few of them getting a bloody nose off someone soon.
26-11-2023, 09:04 AM
The benefit of raising the compliant here has been a couple of decent suggestions about how friction can be avoided in the future. In order to build goodwill about the group, it might be worth looking into self-policing and how the club could make the group's section known when tickets are put on sale.
At least one of those suggestions have been forwarded to the club before, but no sign of it being taken on board.
Genuinely feel that the club have fallen way, way short on this one so far.
26-11-2023, 09:07 AM
Dunno why they don’t have an ultra section even for away games problem solved worked for the sheep at hampden
If you were there with your wife and kids got in your ticketed seat in good time then ten minutes before the game you get physically harassed out of your seat would you not be a little bit annoyed about it? Particularly when the onus is then on you to find spare seats rather than ones where someone has a ticket for. Selfish dickish behaviour and definitely should be called out. Behaviour which is likely to have influenced decent fans not to go to away games. Club need to sort it simple as.
No no, can’t have common sense and common decency like that, we should all cowtow to entitled selfish people who think they should get whatever seats and section they want, because ‘ultra culture’… time after time there’s people making excuses for them, saying other fans should just move and give up the seats they’ve paid for, and ignoring the intimidation and unacceptable behaviour from them.
26-11-2023, 09:15 AM
I went for a pee at half time and there were quite a few lads smoking in the toilets. Nothing to do with B7 until the stewards tried to chuck one out. At that point there was a few black clad boys started giving the stewards hassle and I think the boy that was being chucked out made his escape. Also nothing to do with block 7 but there were at least another two very heated arguments I witnessed that could easily have resulted in some pavement dancing. All this in a backdrop of a team scoring a great goal, winning despite having 10 men for a good chunk of the game and in a stand where everyone who wanted a ticket got one. Whether it is B7 or not the behaviour of our away support is very poor. Another smoke bomb at teh start of play yesterday too from the area where B7 were located.
There is definitely a discussion to be had on B7 but there is also a wider discussion on the way our support behaves away from home.
May21/05/216
26-11-2023, 09:16 AM
I wouldn't move
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
26-11-2023, 09:29 AM
If you want to talk about 'auld wierdos', look no further than the Fagan character in his mid-50's who is the Block 7 leader....who for some strange reason is not allowed to be named on here. WTF is a grown man doing running around with these children?
26-11-2023, 09:30 AM
They are entitled to think that and may well be correct.
It doesn’t change the fact that the only people in the wrong, in this scenario, are those forcing people out of seats that do not have tickets for those seats.
It’s really simple.Having a bit of human decency goes a long way, if its not your seat and another Hibs fans in it what kind of person thinks its okay to just muscle or intimidate someone out the way?
What other aspects of their life do they think this approach is okay in?
Life experience tends to tell me it won't end well, not everyone give in when faced with this sort of behaviour
Keepthefaith
26-11-2023, 09:49 AM
At least one of those suggestions have been forwarded to the club before, but no sign of it being taken on board.
Genuinely feel that the club have fallen way, way short on this one so far.
is anyone making representation of this to Kieran Power? be good to know what communication is being passed up the chain when this is such a recurrent problem. for any Hibs fan to be intimidated out of their seat by a fellow fan is just not acceptable. we do have a conduit to make our views known?
will take those affected to get in touch with him and give direct accounts of what problems they faced.
26-11-2023, 09:49 AM
I had a ticket for a seat in the area they commandeered; when I saw it had descended into a brawl I found another seat. Unsurprisingly I had to move when the seat holder arrived. This must’ve happened to dozens of folk going by the numbers standing in the aisle (something we criticise the OF for doing).
It seems to me that the club seem willing to accommodate them but don’t have any ‘power’ to bring them to account when situations like this happen. Also it would be nice to see the police taking a more active role instead of leaving it to stewards.
I’ve no doubt it will continue to happen as those involved have no respect for anyone as it’s all about them.
This is 2024 in a month or so. Can the club not just sell them a block of tickets in the middle?
26-11-2023, 09:53 AM
is anyone making representation of this to Kieran Power? be good to know what communication is being passed up the chain when this is such a recurrent problem. for any Hibs fan to be intimidated out of their seat by a fellow fan is just not acceptable. we do have a conduit to make our views known?
will take those affected to get in touch with him and give direct accounts of what problems they faced.
I've messaged Kieran about this before who was very polite in his response. He's a decent chap, however I feel like people more senior at the club need to be taking visible responsibility for finding a resolution.
Helensburghhibs
26-11-2023, 09:54 AM
We can do unallocated seating. It wont change the problem as they wont turn up early to secure the seat they want. They will swan in 10 minutes before kick off and do exactly what they do now. There are right and wrong ways for people to behave. We have had several groups over the past few years, none as toxic as the current one.
26-11-2023, 10:02 AM
I know I am in the absolute minority here absolutely bemused why I am having to move out of section 18 in the FFL with my girls to accommodate these so called fans.
It’s actually beginning to cause tension between my oldest and I at away games - yet again upon seeing this yesterday I am getting hit with the same question over and over why do we have to move our seats (we didn’t have middle section seats yesterday but she seen the aggression bordering on near violence to the left of us).
Edit - could the old guy that runs them not at least post on here to tell us which section at Celtic Park and Almondvale they will be taking over so we don’t buy seats there?
26-11-2023, 10:03 AM
I know I am in the absolute minority here absolutely bemused why I am having to move out of section 18 in the FFL with my girls to accommodate these so called fans.
It’s actually beginning to cause tension between my oldest and I at away games - yet again upon seeing this yesterday I am getting hit with the same question over and over why do we have to move our seats (we didn’t have middle section seats yesterday but she seen the aggression bordering on near violence to the left of us).
The singing section isn't being created for Block 7.
26-11-2023, 10:04 AM
Will they be staying in the East stand?
26-11-2023, 10:05 AM
Will they be staying in the East stand?
Probably not, I'd imagine they'd move to the signing section along with other fans not part of their group.
They might sit in the section but it's not being created for them.
If the FFL is changed to the singing section it will be in existence long after B7 are gone.
26-11-2023, 10:06 AM
This needs sorted.
That Fagan character should be having a word if it is just the hangers on
I've been sat near them numerous times and now will make sure I am nowhere near them in the future.
Utter embarrassment to the club.
26-11-2023, 10:06 AM
Probably not, I'd imagine they'd move to the signing section along with other fans not part of their group.
They might sit in the section but it's not being created for them.
If the FFL is changed to the singing section it will be in existence long after B7 are gone.
Other fans as in the ones that cause all the trouble at away games?
26-11-2023, 10:07 AM
26-11-2023, 10:08 AM
Other fans as in the ones that cause all the trouble at away games?
Causing trouble is a seperate issue.
It doesn't change the fact that FFL potential change is not being done for B7 as you seemed to suggest. Its not, as I said that will be the singing section in 10-15 years time, by which time it's highly unlikely they'll even exist in their current format.
So from your reckoning the first 2-3 rows of grounds are ‘your territory’ (their section your words) and if you have unfortunately been allocated a seat in this section then tough.
Like it or lump it but we are block 7 and we are sitting where we want and if you moan about it or stand up to us we will have the numbers to deal with it.
What is clear though is a lack of respect for others supporters and again parts of your post confirm this.
Sioux
26-11-2023, 10:21 AM
This is 2024 in a month or so. Can the club not just sell them a block of tickets in the middle?
For some games, Hibs have no input to the selling of tickets, they are sold directly by the home club.
But even then, selling 20/30 tickets to B7 won't stop other yobs congregating in adjacent seats for which they don't have a ticket.
A few Hibs away fans are now becoming a major issue. Their behaviour is similar to what we get when the erse cheeks have attended ER, and then page after page of people wanting the club to ban them (nowt wrong with that). But no one is calling for these B7 etc neds to be banned........hypocrisy rules.
26-11-2023, 10:23 AM
Section 43 brought the fans together and built an atmosphere. These clowns are causing division constantly with their behaviour. Appears the club couldn’t care less either.
Helensburghhibs
26-11-2023, 10:24 AM
Section 43 brought the fans together and built an atmosphere. These clowns are causing division constantly with their behaviour. Appears the club couldn’t care less either.
100 percent
26-11-2023, 10:24 AM
Fantastic summarisation of the sense of self entitlement B7 believe they have.
26-11-2023, 10:25 AM
So the core of the argument is effectively "it's just a seat lmao get over it?" Aye ok nae bother I'm sure you'll be fine if some kid and his mates force your family to sit apart from each other.
26-11-2023, 10:33 AM
The bunch of wee fannies with a drum which is exactly what they are, need to learn some respect towards fellow Hibs supporters. It’s them that should move to an empty area so they can all be together rather than force other fans to be inconvenienced and intimidated.
26-11-2023, 10:37 AM
The bunch of wee fannies with a drum which is exactly what they are, need to learn some respect towards fellow Hibs supporters. It’s them that should move to an empty area so they can all be together rather than force other fans to be inconvenienced and intimidated.
It's mental that you even have to explain that.
StevieT
26-11-2023, 10:42 AM
Well said, couldn't agree more. After all, a seat is a seat according to them.
Chorley Hibee
26-11-2023, 10:44 AM
Here's a radical idea.
If there's 1300 empty seats in the stand, why don't their group congregate in those empty seats?
It's then an inconvenience to nobody.
I'll tell you why they don't, it's because they think they've a god given right to the prime seats in the stand, and that every other Hibs fan doesn't deserve the same entitlement that Block 7 have decided they're worth.
Well they're going to start meeting a lot more folk, like me, who aren't going to back down to their behaviour.
It needs sorted ASAP.
26-11-2023, 10:51 AM
They are a bunch of absolute fannies. I’ve had zero time for them for ages and it seems the wider support now seem to feel the same. They show zero respect to folk that have travelled home and away since before half of them were born and I personally cannot wait til they gtf out the East and get their own wee section for waving their pishy wee flags and singing the same tiktok garbage as every other Ultras group.
No doubt it wisny Block 7 again though, and just a couple wee hangers on.
LeithMike
26-11-2023, 10:52 AM
They are still going to be the immediate prime beneficiaries so the general perception cannot be anything other than this is a reward for them from the club.
My son is 9 and hasn’t been to an away game yet (other than Hampden). I wouldn’t take him due to the carry on I’ve witnessed and seldom go to away games myself now. Football grounds are like a lawless part of society now and it’s like the police have given up policing away crowds.
Hibs not the only club by all means but find the whole thing puts me off going to the football.
Hibee_Craig7062
26-11-2023, 10:57 AM
We got to our seat yesterday to find the main B7 faces a few rows infront of us, there were lads standing at our seats but to be fair to them, they moved when asked but only into the stairwell which made it difficult to pass them
26-11-2023, 11:08 AM
Absolutely spot on.
Get B7 to ****. Causing far too much trouble just for a bunch of wee fannies to bang a drum for 90 minutes. Sick of them.
Aye, not all of them are at it, obviously, but it’s almost every game now and shows no signs of getting better.
26-11-2023, 11:12 AM
Have to say that while I am getting on a bit, did used to go to away games but put off by all the wee phanneys trying to be something they see on the t.v.
Stopped going to away games as it just not worth the hassle.
26-11-2023, 11:13 AM
Have to say that while I am getting on a bit, did used to go to away games but put off by all the wee phanneys trying to be something they see on the t.v.
Stopped going to away games as it just not worth the hassle.
My old man is the same. Yet on all the social media stuff, the wee YouTube access all videos stuff, the club give them so much coverage whilst long time Hibs supporters are being forced out.
Greenio
26-11-2023, 11:23 AM
My old man is the same. Yet on all the social media stuff, the wee YouTube access all videos stuff, the club give them so much coverage whilst long time Hibs supporters are being forced out.
Like this one? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=042Zs0kXA0Q
(Which is a beautiful piece of film btw)
It's allocated seating imo, if its not allocated to you you have zero right to take it
26-11-2023, 11:26 AM
Like this one? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=042Zs0kXA0Q
(Which is a beautiful piece of film btw)
It's allocated seating imo, if its not allocated to you you have zero right to take it
Yep. Think the club are tone deaf on the actual feeling towards it all just now, including moving ST holders and families out of the FF potentially.
HFC93
26-11-2023, 11:32 AM
My reading of this is it's fair game to chase off women, children, and elderly folk who have paid to sit in a certain seat. Wild take.
26-11-2023, 11:36 AM
Edit - could the old guy that runs them not at least post on here to tell us which section at Celtic Park and Almondvale they will be taking over so we don’t buy seats there?
The famous five change isn’t going to happen to accommodate B7. It’ll just be an area they choose to sit, same as section 44 currently is. But absolutely anyone who wants to can sit there.
26-11-2023, 11:40 AM
The famous five change isn’t going to happen to accommodate B7. It’ll just be an area they choose to sit, same as section 44 currently is. But absolutely anyone who wants to can sit there.
Unless they choose a place that B7 want!
LewysGot2
26-11-2023, 11:44 AM
Yep. Think the club are tone deaf on the actual feeling towards it all just now, including moving ST holders and families out of the FF potentially.
I think we know why. It's above the pay grade of Kieran Power
the_ginger_hibee
26-11-2023, 11:52 AM
Anyone who seen Ben, 'Fagan' and a +1 B7er cuddling and cozy chatting at the F5 consultation know exactly what the situation is here.
Don't expect any changes for real fans - only a blind eye being turned while Ben gets to live out his fantasy of being in a crap version of The Firm.
26-11-2023, 12:15 PM
J Why should they get the middle. That gives them the best view and less likelihood of staying clear of them. For games we don't sell out I would give them a side near the bottom and let them have that. The rest of us can then decide whether we want the centre or as far away as possible
26-11-2023, 12:16 PM
At Ibrox a few weeks ago, B7 was pushing past me and my dad to get into any seat and just standing anywhere.
tonyrougier123
26-11-2023, 12:16 PM
Stewards should surely take some responsibility on the issue of seat allocation at grounds to avoid intimidating fellow supporters ,Then moved along by police if not adhering to seats they actually bought. No one should have to barter for the seats they paid for.
This is a stewarding issue and police will only get involved if a crime has taken place. Were there police on duty inside the ground yesterday?? I know that some games are Police Free inside the ground!
declan macmanus
26-11-2023, 01:09 PM
I was in the ground just after two with my daughter and two grandkids. It was the youngest’s (9 year old) first away game.
He ended up in tears when all the B7 fuds came barging in standing 3 to a seat all around us so that he couldn’t see a thing. When they set off the pyrotechnics he went into a full blown panic attack as he couldn’t breathe.
Needless to say he doesn’t want to go back again.
Until Hibs do something about them all four of us won’t go to another away game.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
26-11-2023, 01:13 PM
I was in the ground just after two with my daughter and two grandkids. It was the youngest’s (9 year old) first away game.
He ended up in tears when all the B7 fuds came barging in standing 3 to a seat all around us so that he couldn’t see a thing. When they set off the pyrotechnics he went into a full blown panic attack as he couldn’t breathe.
Until Hibs do something about them all four of us won’t go to another away game.
You'd think there'd be atleast 1 or 2 of them that would be considerate enough to try and reign things in.
Ridiculous that young kids are being scared by fellow Hibs fans.
26-11-2023, 01:14 PM
This is a stewarding issue and police will only get involved if a crime has taken place. Were there police on duty inside the ground yesterday?? I know that some games are Police Free inside the ground!
There were plenty of police both inside and outside Dens yesterday. A surprising amount tbh with a number trackside at a corner of our end and two police vans and two police cars positioned outside the Hibs exit at the end of the game. As someone old enough to remember the polis wading into packed terracings to huckle fans the present day polis seem scared to get involved in anything physical ie essentially doing their job.
As for the stewards I don't blame a minimum wage, minimum-trained person not wanting to risk being assaulted trying to enforce what imo should be the police's job.
Thankfully as pay-at-the-gate people we were well away from directly behind the goals so didn't witness any of the nonsense but would have been raging if some wee neds had tried to take seats we'd specifically chosen for ourselves.
You'd think there'd be atleast 1 or 2 of them that would be considerate enough to try and reign things in.
Ridiculous that young kids are being scared by fellow Hibs fans.
It wasn’t B7 though it was a hanger on.
Zero respect and zero manners seem to be a common theme.
Chorley Hibee
26-11-2023, 01:25 PM
I hope Hibs are reading this.
This is what the club are helping to enable.
I hope your wee boy gets over this and is back supporting Hibs in the near future.
There were plenty of police both inside and outside Dens yesterday. A surprising amount tbh with a number trackside at a corner of our end and two police vans and two police cars positioned outside the Hibs exit at the end of the game. As someone old enough to remember the polis wading into packed terracings to huckle fans the present day polis seem scared to get involved in anything physical ie essentially doing their job.
As for the stewards I don't blame a minimum wage, minimum-trained person not wanting to risk being assaulted trying to enforce what imo should be the police's job.
Thankfully as pay-at-the-gate people we were well away from directly behind the goals so didn't witness any of the nonsense but would have been raging if some wee neds had tried to take seats we'd specifically chosen for ourselves.
This was a Dundee FC event and it’s their job to provide a sufficiency of appropriately trained staff to manage the event. The Police will only get involved if their assistance etc is requested or needed to support the stewards.
Its then up to the Event Commander to decide if officers need to enter the relevant area and in doing so does and would it cause more issues and put others in the area (innocent bystanders) at risk.
There are many factors now prior to what you would say is ‘wading in’ and why put officers well-being at risk too when it’s minor and evidence can be gathered via cctv etc. it’s not the Police’s job to be assaulted no more than a stewards.
It is however the responsibility of those supporters attending to behave in the appropriate manner however you hear more and more of the bully boy tactics of this block which is unacceptable.
Tbh the club will have representatives there who will see first hand the behaviour of the minority
26-11-2023, 01:30 PM
I hope your wee boy gets over this and is back supporting Hibs in the near future.
They get on my tits, but I don’t think the club can do much to manage them in another stadium. It’s only at away games that we have these problems. It’s annoying and they’ve got no regard for anybody else, but I don’t really see what Hibs can do away from home.
declan macmanus
26-11-2023, 01:37 PM
They get on my tits, but I don’t think the club can do much to manage them in another stadium. It’s only at away games that we have these problems. It’s annoying and they’ve got no regard for anybody else, but I don’t really see what Hibs can do away from home.
The club know who they are. Stop selling them tickets for a period and only allow them back if they agree to sit in their allocated seats.
26-11-2023, 01:48 PM
The club know who they are. Stop selling them tickets for a period and only allow them back if they agree to sit in their allocated seats.
That ain’t going to happen and I don’t think it should. It’s someone else’s stadium and it’s up to them to make sure allocated seats are complied with. It’s an unnecessary hassle that they cause. Happened to me at Ross County but we just moved as there were hundreds of empty seats. I shouldn’t need to but in the grand scheme of things it wasn’t the end of the world. Even yesterday my laddie couldn’t see, not because of Block 7, but folk standing. He moved 10 yards along and watched from somewhere that folk weren’t standing and then stood up the back behind the last row of seats where we are so he was a bit higher.
I find them annoying and ignorant but nothing that would stop me going, obviously others will see it differently which they’re entitled to.
26-11-2023, 02:03 PM
That ain’t going to happen and I don’t think it should. It’s someone else’s stadium and it’s up to them to make sure allocated seats are complied with. It’s an unnecessary hassle that they cause. Happened to me at Ross County but we just moved as there were hundreds of empty seats. I shouldn’t need to but in the grand scheme of things it wasn’t the end of the world. Even yesterday my laddie couldn’t see, not because of Block 7, but folk standing. He moved 10 yards along and watched from somewhere that folk weren’t standing and then stood up the back behind the last row of seats where we are so he was a bit higher.
I find them annoying and ignorant but nothing that would stop me going, obviously others will see it differently which they’re entitled to.
In a couple of weeks time I anticipate a very big Hibs crowd traveling to Livingston.
It’s environments like that where commandeering areas of their choosing has potential to get ugly where others have to move to find very limited free seats, particularly those with kids who can’t split up.
The more you allow them to do so when there is a good number of free seats to move to just cements that sense of entitlement that will cause problems at future away games where seats are shorter in supply.
26-11-2023, 02:08 PM
In a couple of weeks time I anticipate a very big Hibs crowd traveling to Livingston.
It’s environments like that where commandeering areas of their choosing has potential to get ugly where others have to move to find very limited free seats, particularly those with kids who can’t split up.
The more you allow them to do so when there is a good number of free seats to move to just cements that sense of entitlement that will cause problems at future away games where seats are shorter in supply.
The more awareness it gets of it happening the more risk there is of it kicking off as more people will get involved.
26-11-2023, 02:32 PM
Anyone who seen Ben, 'Fagan' and a +1 B7er cuddling and cozy chatting at the F5 consultation know exactly what the situation is here.
Don't expect any changes for real fans - only a blind eye being turned while Ben gets to live out his fantasy of being in a crap version of The Firm.
Yep this will be the thing that stops anything happening. So long as Ben can march with them to Tynecastle with a bottle of Corona in his hand, that’s the main thing, eh!
26-11-2023, 02:34 PM
This was a Dundee FC event and it’s their job to provide a sufficiency of appropriately trained staff to manage the event. The Police will only get involved if their assistance etc is requested or needed to support the stewards.
Its then up to the Event Commander to decide if officers need to enter the relevant area and in doing so does and would it cause more issues and put others in the area (innocent bystanders) at risk.
There are many factors now prior to what you would say is ‘wading in’ and why put officers well-being at risk too when it’s minor and evidence can be gathered via cctv etc. it’s not the Police’s job to be assaulted no more than a stewards.
It is however the responsibility of those supporters attending to behave in the appropriate manner however you hear more and more of the bully boy tactics of this block which is unacceptable.
Tbh the club will have representatives there who will see first hand the behaviour of the minority
We'll agree to disagree about what's minor and what's not. I'd suggest that the intimidation experienced by some Hibs fans yesterday wasn't minor to them and wonder how minor you'd have felt it was if you'd been in their situation.
We'll also agree to disagree about whether it's part of the risk of signing up to be a Police Officer to possibly be assaulted. I'd argue that risk is part of the job description and they will be far better placed and trained to deal with that and defuse potentially violent situations than a steward. I'd also suggest that retrospective CCTV policing does nothing to help those feeling intimidated or threatened at the time of an incident.
Where we can agree is that the Club need to address the actions of that minority who are spoiling the experience of the majority.
tonyrougier123
26-11-2023, 02:45 PM
We'll agree to disagree about what's minor and what's not. I'd suggest that the intimidation experienced by some Hibs fans yesterday wasn't minor to them and wonder how minor you'd have felt it was if you'd been in their situation.
We'll also agree to disagree about whether it's part of the risk of signing up to be a Police Officer to possibly be assaulted. I'd argue that risk is part of the job description and they will be far better placed and trained to deal with that and defuse potentially violent situations than a steward. I'd also suggest that retrospective CCTV policing does nothing to help those feeling intimidated or threatened at the time of an incident.
Where we can agree is that the Club need to address the actions of that minority who are spoiling the experience of the majority.
If it gets rooted out it will soon stop. Even some of the more mature guys in block7 should maybe be a wee bit vigilant in some cases. Ultras don’t have to be a group of absolute rockets.
We'll also agree to disagree about whether it's part of the risk of signing up to be a Police Officer to possibly be assaulted. I'd argue that risk is part of the job description and they will be far better placed and trained to deal with that and defuse violent situations than a steward. I'd also suggest that retrospective CCTV policing does nothing to help those feeling intimidated or threatened at the time of an incident.
Did anyone complain to a steward what was taking place? Did any stewards intervene? Also those intimated could have asked to speak with police. Again it’s the stewards responsibility to highlight issues accordingly. Minor was the wrong wors but you get what I mean. Tbh hindsight is great thing but I’d have made a complaint to the steward snd if nothing was done I’d have asked the Police. FWIW I’ve been I that situation many years ago where someone threatened to stab me because I challenged him making racial comments to Latapty.
It’s not nice and again I am in no way criticising those in that position
As for signing up to possibly get assaulted, how wrong is that. It’s not their job to get assaulted surely? Officers put themselves in harms way and if this can be avoided then it will it’s a decision or the powers that be.
. If and if it’s deemed necessary police will intervene however this can cause issues whilst doing this. It’s not just the roasters causing the issues that you need to contend with it’s those nearby.
What has happened is out of order and those responsible should hang their heads in shame
26-11-2023, 02:56 PM
If it gets rooted out it will soon stop. Even some of the more mature guys in block7 should maybe be a wee bit vigilant in some cases. Ultras don’t have to be a group of absolute rockets.That's what I don't get, if it's genuinely hangers on that are causing the issues why don't they (B7) police them?
Are they scared of them or summat? If B7 are getting bullied by these guys then they could either ask the club for help or try to deal with it and many of the other hibs fans will possibly help.
Thats of course if B7 are telling the truth and aren't the cause.
Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 03:05 PM
I think it's quite sad to read that Hibs fans would bullying or abuse there own supporters , though I'm not really surprised about it tbh as it seems to be happening alot now ! .
tonyrougier123
26-11-2023, 03:06 PM
That's what I don't get, if it's genuinely hangers on that are causing the issues why don't they (B7) police them?
Are they scared of them or summat? If B7 are getting bullied by these guys then they could either ask the club for help or try to deal with it and many of the other hibs fans will possibly help.
Thats of course if B7 are telling the truth and aren't the cause.
Block7 have a great chance to be a very good influence for hibs going forward.
As it stands it’s all very st mirren Motherwell vibes from them unlike since1875 which had a bit of ingenuity to it whilst involving the whole crowd.
It’s not clever or even different to be disrespectful to fellow supporters. There could be a chance on the cards to make the famous five bouncing and grow the numbers,but that will only happen if they are smart and unlike the other generic ultra nonsense on show in Scottish football.
26-11-2023, 03:49 PM
Did anyone complain to a steward what was taking place? Did any stewards intervene? Also those intimated could have asked to speak with police. Again it’s the stewards responsibility to highlight issues accordingly. Minor was the wrong wors but you get what I mean. Tbh hindsight is great thing but I’d have made a complaint to the steward snd if nothing was done I’d have asked the Police. FWIW I’ve been I that situation many years ago where someone threatened to stab me because I challenged him making racial comments to Latapty.
As for signing up to possibly get assaulted, how wrong is that. It’s not their job to get assaulted surely? Officers put themselves in harms way and if this can be avoided then it will it’s a decision or the powers that be.
. If and if it’s deemed necessary police will intervene however this can cause issues whilst doing this. It’s not just the roasters causing the issues that you need to contend with it’s those nearby.
What has happened is out of order and those responsible should hang their heads in shame
It might be wrong but its a fact of life. In the same way that someone joining the Army is signing up knowing they could be shot at, someone joining the Police should know that part of signing up for that job potentially involves being assaulted. Of course its not their job to get assaulted but the possibility that might happen is part of the risk of doing that particular job.
Those that were out of order should hang their heads in shame but that doesn't change my opinion that Police were and always would be a better deterrent in stadiums than the cheaper option of the inadequately trained, low-paid stewards that all clubs now predominately rely on.
26-11-2023, 03:52 PM
It might be wrong but its a fact of life. In the same way that someone joining the Army is signing up knowing they could be shot at, someone joining the Police should know that part of signing up for that job potentially involves being assaulted. Of course its not their job to get assaulted but the possibility that might happen is part of the risk of doing that particular job.
Those that were out of order should hang their heads in shame but that doesn't change my opinion that Police were and always would be a better deterrent in stadiums than the cheaper option of the inadequately trained, low-paid stewards that all clubs now predominately rely on.
Agree with this. Police know what they are signing up for and are reasonably well compensated for it with salary and pension. That's not the same for stewards.
26-11-2023, 03:53 PM
I think it's quite sad to read that Hibs fans would bullying or abuse there own supporters , though I'm not really surprised about it tbh as it seems to be happening alot now ! .
Its not really happening outside the issues with Block 7 as far as I know, so to say it's happening a lot is a bit of a stretch.
Ok.
This is where something should be done however the Stewards need to be taking action and pointing this out.
26-11-2023, 04:04 PM
A job for Ben Kensall?
26-11-2023, 04:05 PM
The police have basically sat or stood and watched crowds become more and more unruly. It will just continue to get worse and worse until there are more and more flashpoints. Someone will end up getting hurt. It used to be reserved mostly for Hampden but it is happening all the time now. At some point the Police need to act, if not at the time, then very visually by highlighting convictions and making sure that fans know they are being watched.
When an argument kicked off near me the steward did his best to calm the situation down. I think he was minded to chuck them both out and when he went to a fellow, and presumably more experienced steward, I head him say what are we meant to do if it kicks off. They then just left the boy and monitored it. There were definitely ejections yesterday and that should be the case for anyone stopping someone sitting in their seat. Steward asks nicely, then asks again threatening ejection and if the fan refuses to give up the seat then get the Police to eject.
It is a bit of a "Cop" out saying they won't intervene as this can cause issues as it is there lack of intervention that has lead to the emboldenment of B7, the hangers on and just generally fans being coked up, drunk and complete idiots at games. How some of them even get admitted to games the state they are in is a mystery to me.
26-11-2023, 04:06 PM
Don’t the club have to pay for Police inside the ground, hence why we go for the cheaper option?
The police have basically sat or stood and watched crowds become more and more unruly. It will just continue to get worse and worse until there are more and more flashpoints. Someone will end up getting hurt. It used to be reserved mostly for Hampden but it is happening all the time now. At some point the Police need to act, if not at the time, then very visually by highlighting convictions and making sure that fans know they are being watched.
When an argument kicked off near me the steward did his best to calm the situation down. I think he was minded to chuck them both out and when he went to a fellow, and presumably more experienced steward, I head him say what are we meant to do if it kicks off. They then just left the boy and monitored it. There were definitely ejections yesterday and that should be the case for anyone stopping someone sitting in their seat. Steward asks nicely, then asks again threatening ejection and if the fan refuses to give up the seat then get the Police to eject.
It is a bit of a "Cop" out saying they won't intervene as this can cause issues as it is there lack of intervention that has lead to the emboldenment of B7, the hangers on and just generally fans being coked up, drunk and complete idiots at games. How some of them even get admitted to games the state they are in is a mystery to me.
I am aware that days of old the police would intervene at the sign of any trouble. I am a believer in nipping it in the bud asap however looks like those in the higher echelons don’t agree and won’t deploy police until it’s past that point.
Proactive in these cases rather than reactive should be the case.
Btw this is by no way criticism of those fans in a position at any game and agree more needs to be done to protect them by taking positive action
Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 05:15 PM
Its not really happening outside the issues with Block 7 as far as I know, so to say it's happening a lot is a bit of a stretch.
I've heard fans mentioning on here the same issues before maybe " a lot " is a bit of a stretch though seems to be a problem that's happened before and needs dealt with by the club . Pity some in our support can't show fellow Hibs fans abit more respect tbh ! .
declan macmanus
26-11-2023, 05:27 PM
We and a number of others spoke to the stewards and they said that they didn’t have the numbers to deal with them. They helped my daughter and the youngest grandson to move to another area. I stayed initially to try and complain but it was a waste of time. I eventually moved to where my daughter was as the wee Ned’s were really getting on my nerves. They were more interested in watching me than watching the game.
The police did come in when the woman was punched but were not interested in engaging in any conversation about the fact that too many people were in the area and standing 3 to a seat in a part of the ground that they didn’t have tickets for.
Police treat all football fans the same they are not interested in hearing any complaints
26-11-2023, 05:42 PM
They are a bunch of absolute fannies. I’ve had zero time for them for ages and it seems the wider support now seem to feel the same. They show zero respect to folk that have travelled home and away since before half of them were born and I personally cannot wait til they gtf out the East and get their own wee section for waving their pishy wee flags and singing the same tiktok garbage as every other Ultras group.
No doubt it wisny Block 7 again though, and just a couple wee hangers on.
Hang ‘em high
26-11-2023, 05:46 PM
Hang ‘em highOnly the ****, the good guys, the ones genuinely trying to create a Hibs supporting culture with an "edge" should be encouraged
Keepthefaith
26-11-2023, 06:24 PM
I've messaged Kieran about this before who was very polite in his response. He's a decent chap, however I feel like people more senior at the club need to be taking visible responsibility for finding a resolution.
I'm not saying he needs to resolve it, but it surely is his role to communicate the strength of feeling and let us know he's done it? Agree someone in a senior role needs to say something to get a message across.
26-11-2023, 07:03 PM
So, in summary: it's everyone's fault except the people that actually did it.
LewysGot2
26-11-2023, 07:10 PM
So, in summary: it's everyone's fault except the people that actually did it.
It's ridiculous this is even a thing. A female fan is punched when this group/extended group decide they'll do what they want but somehow that is completely lost in the bizarre attempt to excuse this tiresome antisocial stuff.
Ibrox disaster stickers. Nope, not shameful enough for some.
Wrecking Fir Park seating. Nope, a big boy done it and ran away. Boys will be boys.
Punch a fellow Hibs fan. A female fan. Still trying to excuse this stuff.
26-11-2023, 07:10 PM
So, in summary: it's everyone's fault except the people that actually did it.Nearly said a big boy done it and ran away...........but maybe there weren't any there?
declan macmanus
26-11-2023, 07:53 PM
I have been going home and away for over 40 years and I have never been in a situation where I am now considering giving up. That on Saturday was the first time I’ve really been raging in and amongst my fellow fans.
If this is the new normal then I am out.
26-11-2023, 08:05 PM
I have been going home and away for over 40 years and I have never been in a situation where I am now considering giving up. That on Saturday was the first time I’ve really been raging in and amongst my fellow fans.
If this is the new normal then I am out.
That’s just not acceptable. When it’s getting to the stage where you are seriously considering not attending games due to the actions of other Hibs fans then it’s gone too far. I have a lot of time for KP, I hope he’s aware of posts like yours and is feeding back to the board.
skankomcphee
26-11-2023, 10:03 PM
Just been a wee bit sick in my mouth.
I’d hope that one of the first things a new owner might do is consider a spell of performance management for Ben.
Tarrahib
27-11-2023, 08:15 AM
Due to the poor seating arrangements at away grounds my wife and I have stopped attending away games as we got fed up moving around the stand to obtain a seat with a view of the match.
We will be in Dingwall the day of the Ross County game and in Glasgow the day of the Kilmarnock game both away games so have decided to attend the games.
My question is Can someone tell me where the B7 hangers on intend to hi Jack seats that days so we can purchase our seats away from them and get a reasonable seat with a view to watch the games?
27-11-2023, 08:33 AM
Due to the poor seating arrangements at away grounds my wife and I have stopped attending away games as we got fed up moving around the stand to obtain a seat with a view of the match.
We will be in Dingwall the day of the Ross County game and in Glasgow the day of the Kilmarnock game both away games so have decided to attend the games.
My question is Can someone tell me where the B7 hangers on intend to hi Jack seats that days so we can purchase our seats away from them and get a reasonable seat with a view to watch the games?
They stand where they want but usually the worst seats are far enough away so they aren't an issue. I've started buying tickets late in the day now as I'd rather sit in a worse seat as far away from them as possible and it means if some work comes in I can take that instead and am not left with a ticket. Like another poster I have went to 100s of away games over the last 40 odd years and I am thinking of not bothering any more. The behaviour of our fans means the enjoyment isn't there.
27-11-2023, 08:44 AM
We and a number of others spoke to the stewards and they said that they didn’t have the numbers to deal with them. They helped my daughter and the youngest grandson to move to another area. I stayed initially to try and complain but it was a waste of time. I eventually moved to where my daughter was as the wee Ned’s were really getting on my nerves. They were more interested in watching me than watching the game.
The police did come in when the woman was punched but were not interested in engaging in any conversation about the fact that too many people were in the area and standing 3 to a seat in a part of the ground that they didn’t have tickets for.
Police treat all football fans the same they are not interested in hearing any complaints
A woman was actually punched? Surely no
Fuzzywuzzy
27-11-2023, 09:22 AM
By reading what's on here, I get the impression that B7 is a closed shop. There's also going to be B7 members on this forum that are reading this and probably quite enjoying it.
Tarrahib
27-11-2023, 11:13 AM
By reading what's on here, I get the impression that B7 is a closed shop. There's also going to be B7 members on this forum that are reading this and probably quite enjoying it.
Surely if they were genuine fans they would not gain any enjoyment from seen other fans getting their match experience restricted.
zitelli62
27-11-2023, 11:56 AM
Surely if they were genuine fans they would not gain any enjoyment from seen other fans getting their match experience restricted.
Do you think that bothers them course it dosnt they will love all this attention, children women they don't care who they hit to be beside there so called pal's and don't expect the club to do anything there all buddies, because of them people are now stopping going to away games for fear or intimidating well done lads.
They should be hanging there heads in shame but they won't be they will be lapping all this up.
27-11-2023, 12:03 PM
Do you think that bothers them course it dosnt they will love all this attention, children women they don't care who they hit to be beside there so called pal's and don't expect the club to do anything there all buddies, because of them people are now stopping going to away games for fear or intimidating well done lads.
They should be hanging there heads in shame but they won't be they will be lapping all this up.
Certain figures at the club (and I’d like to point out, absolutely not Kieran Power who is a top guy and is always good) need a long hard look in the mirror too.
27-11-2023, 12:03 PM
What's the rationale for supporting B7 pushing people out of their seats against their will?
Mcbizz1998
27-11-2023, 01:28 PM
As someone who rarely attends away games these days, this is really disappointing to read. I have been looking for an away game to get a long to but I'm now completely put off by it. If one of these nyaffs was in my seat and refusing to move I would struggle to restrain myself and end up in some kind of bother - it just doesn't sound worth it to me. Following the Ibrox disaster disgrace and Fir Park damage, it is clear to me that this group need to be put in their place.
To make matters worse, the claim that B7 improve atmosphere is a complete myth in my opinion. From my experience of them at Easter Road, they spend their time banging a drum and singing songs that nobody else in the support knows or likes. The best atmospheres these days at ER come when we have a big crowd in a big game, and the East Stand starts singing proper Hibs songs and well known chants. If a good atmosphere is songs that nobody else knows and singing about dead people then I would happily forget it and watch the game in silence.
27-11-2023, 01:49 PM
As someone who rarely attends away games these days, this is really disappointing to read. I have been looking for an away game to get a long to but I'm now completely put off by it. If one of these nyaffs was in my seat and refusing to move I would struggle to restrain myself and end up in some kind of bother - it just doesn't sound worth it to me. Following the Ibrox disaster disgrace and Fir Park damage, it is clear to me that this group need to be put in their place.
To make matters worse, the claim that B7 improve atmosphere is a complete myth in my opinion. From my experience of them at Easter Road, they spend their time banging a drum and singing songs that nobody else in the support knows or likes. The best atmospheres these days at ER come when we have a big crowd in a big game, and the East Stand starts singing proper Hibs songs and well known chants. If a good atmosphere is songs that nobody else knows and singing about dead people then I would happily forget it and watch the game in silence.
I don’t think you should let it put you off.
I attend every week and have very, very rarely had an issue. We had it once at Ross County, moved 20 yards along the stand and problem was solved. Had I been on my own I probably wouldn’t have bothered but my 7 year old couldn’t see. That said, he couldn’t see on Saturday at Dundee (nothing to do with Block 7). Sometimes that just happens at the fitbaw.
Hibs away crowds are good at the moment. Block 7 make up a tiny percentage and, whilst I find them to be a pain in the arse and pretty ignorant, I don’t find that it makes it particularly miserable having them in the away end for the most part.
27-11-2023, 04:04 PM
Go to Livi. We get 3 stands, you'll have no problem.
27-11-2023, 04:17 PM
Go to Livi. We get 3 stands, you'll have no problem.
Only if you know with confidence where B7 are going to do their breenge.
HFC93
27-11-2023, 04:36 PM
Absolutely, B7 creating an atmosphere is a myth. You can generally never hear them at games and when you do they're just singing inaudible songs no one else knows.
27-11-2023, 04:37 PM
Only if you know with confidence where B7 are going to do their breenge.
They usually go in the north/east corner there. Just get tickets on the halfway line, you'll be nowhere near then.
27-11-2023, 04:45 PM
Totally agree mate, Hibs and other clubs are virtually enabling this shambles . It will definitely put supporters off going to away games and cup semis and finals. It absolutely has to be dealt with and brought to an abrupt halt before some real trouble breaks out.
hibsforeurope
27-11-2023, 04:53 PM
If they aren’t members of b7, b7 should move them on as they are giving them a bad rep. If the hangers in want to be b7 why don’t they join and officially get in the b7 allocated area.
27-11-2023, 04:56 PM
This is exactly where I am at. Unless they themselves share which part of the stand they intend to take over or the club share which part they will be taking over, my daughter and I are going to leave going to away games.
27-11-2023, 05:05 PM
This is exactly where I am at. Unless they themselves share which part of the stand they intend to take over or the club share which part they will be taking over, my daughter and I are going to leave going to away games.
As MW said they will gather in the corner at Livi so you'll be fine getting seats in the centre. It's the one ground where you can safely predict where they'll be.
27-11-2023, 05:09 PM
I expect there's also problems caused by people that aren't (officially at least) members of B7, so I'd label it more generally as an Ultras/Lads issue.
We've had troublesome parts of our support for quite a while, and it long pre-dated B7, it's just that it's got a lot worse recently.
27-11-2023, 05:10 PM
As MW said they will gather in the corner at Livi so you'll be fine getting seats in the centre. It's the one ground where you can safely predict where they'll be.
And then the St Johnstone game the following week they’ll gather down the front as close to the wee St Johnstone version of them as they can. Especially if going with kids, you usually get the cheap deal in the side stand up there so don’t even need to share a stand.
They’re no worth missing games for when it’s easy enough to avoid if you want to.
27-11-2023, 05:11 PM
I actually enjoyed sitting at the opposite corner the last time, especially since that's where the best atmosphere was.
snedzuk
27-11-2023, 05:35 PM
Make them give a list of all official B7 members to the club, and they will receive tickets together in their own section for away games. Where possible give Hibs fans the opportunity to sit elsewhere in the away end by publishing where the ultras section will be.
For a bit, have someone from the club at that section and ensuring the wider Hibs support can actually take their seats/head up aisles.
Actually make self policing important by making the group responsible for the actions in that area. If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it’s a duck and not a hanger on. If someone is causing trouble in B7 attire or in the B7 section then the “it’s a hanger on” doesn’t wash.
Basically - if they behave then they’re rewarded with their own section. If not then they’re not welcome and someone else can look to start their own version.
This - every away game we need to guess where B7 will be so we can sit elsewhere - just tell us!
zitelli62
27-11-2023, 05:41 PM
This is going to end up being very messy at an away game there seems to be a lot of bad blood simmering away in some people hibs need to step in before it all kicks off.
27-11-2023, 06:01 PM
Why is this antisocial behaviour being tolerated?
27-11-2023, 06:16 PM
I've seen many people on here claim B7 get tickets all together and before anyone else so why would they be in someone else's seat? I think its clear the troublemakers are hangers on who didn't get ticket's with the main group in this case
27-11-2023, 08:20 PM
Absolutely, B7 creating an atmosphere is a myth. You can generally never hear them at games and when you do they're just singing inaudible songs no one else knows.
Yip, even the European games in the FFL. That was down to the 1k non B7 members who were in there.
skankomcphee
27-11-2023, 10:24 PM
Why is this antisocial behaviour being tolerated?
Seems to be that Ben Kensall is a big supporter of Fagin.
28-11-2023, 04:45 AM
A lot of people on here getting mixed up thinking the section behind the goals is going to be the ‘B7’ section’. It’s not and will be there long after B7 are no longer existing.
28-11-2023, 06:00 AM
Being wee phannies wi a drum, is only part of it. It’s they’re thinking that they can just shove anyone out their seats that’s the issue.
As a result of these chats on the internet as you call them, it will likely lead to the victims of these wee fuds behaviour contacting the club and the more that do will trigger the club into doing something.
At the end of the day, this behaviour won’t be allowed to carry on and the club will take action against them, just like Celtic did wi the Gangrene Brigade.
28-11-2023, 06:12 AM
A lot of people on here getting mixed up thinking the section behind the goals is going to be the ‘B7’ section’. It’s not and will be there long after B7 are no longer existing.:agree: and the initial steps/discussion started before they were a thing.
28-11-2023, 08:58 AM
A lot of people on here getting mixed up thinking the section behind the goals is going to be the ‘B7’ section’. It’s not and will be there long after B7 are no longer existing.
Exactly my point. Doesn't stop some of them thinking its gonna be their section and that their gonna be in control of it like the twat brigade at celtic.
You can see how well that's panning out and pretty sure in a recent poll amongst celtic fans they've voted to get rid and want them out.
28-11-2023, 09:28 AM
This - every away game we need to guess where B7 will be so we can sit elsewhere - just tell us!
They always sit directly behind the goals,which is tbe worst view imo.
I attend most away games and prefer to be nearer the back of the stand and have never had any problems.
Maybe its time for an allocated area for say a hundred seats behind the goals for them and the pals. This would stop the bad feeling as the said area would be avoided by fans who are not part or wanting to be part of the group as after all, we are all Hibs fans.
JasonC1875
28-11-2023, 10:11 AM
Is it their fault people don’t bother to learn the words? Some brilliant new songs kicking about for Jair and Vente to name a few.
Mcbizz1998
28-11-2023, 11:00 AM
Is it their fault people don’t bother to learn the words? Some brilliant new songs kicking about for Jair and Vente to name a few.
Bother to learn the words? People don't sit around doing homework on the songs before each game! if they are good, catchy songs, that other fans like then they will be learnt organically. That isn't happening so it tells you all you need to know about these apparently brilliant new songs.
Most of the time they seem to focus on the one that Hearts sing but have replaced it with '**** HMFC', sung over and over again.
28-11-2023, 11:53 AM
28-11-2023, 11:54 AM
Bother to learn the words? People don't sit around doing homework on the songs before each game! if they are good, catchy songs, that other fans like then they will be learnt organically. That isn't happening so it tells you all you need to know about these apparently brilliant new songs.
Most of the time they seem to focus on the one that Hearts sing but have replaced it with '**** HMFC', sung over and over again.Do a trade off? Everyone else will learn the words when they get to sit in the seats they've booked and paid for without being crowded out?
Mcbizz1998
28-11-2023, 12:11 PM
Do a trade off? Everyone else will learn the words when they get to sit in the seats they've booked and paid for without being crowded out?
ok, deal! :greengrin
28-11-2023, 12:49 PM
Here's an idea mate, if you let us sit in the seats we've paid for (i.e. the ones next to the rest of you) we'll be able to hear and sing these songs too.
28-11-2023, 12:50 PM
Well, when the drum drowns out any singing then, yes it's their fault. 🙄
JasonC1875
28-11-2023, 02:40 PM
Here's an idea mate, if you let us sit in the seats we've paid for (i.e. the ones next to the rest of you) we'll be able to hear and sing these songs too.
Considering I’ve got nothing to do with them and sat two sections away (in my allocated seat) on Saturday, I’m not sure there’s much I can do there for you but I’ll look into it.
HFC93
28-11-2023, 02:54 PM
If a song you sing at the football requires homework then it's not a good start.
28-11-2023, 03:44 PM
If a song you sing at the football requires homework then it's not a good start.
And can't believe this bunch are coming out with the most literate of ditties, unless one is the unlikely love child of Bernie Taupin.
Still am sure they have some great songs about the Ibrox disaster and the likes that we should all learn.
28-11-2023, 04:04 PM
Maybe they could pass around song sheets and put up a hymn board. Or a big screen with karaoke like lyrics with a background video message from their glorious leader.
28-11-2023, 04:17 PM
Maybe they could pass around song sheets and put up a hymn board. Or a big screen with karaoke like lyrics with a background video message from their glorious leader.
They should do "You've got to pick a pocket or two", which could include some dance steps.
28-11-2023, 08:34 PM
What the Dickens are you on about?
28-11-2023, 08:35 PM
What the Dickens are you on about?
Please don’t shut him up sir, I want to hear some more.
28-11-2023, 08:37 PM
Please don’t shut him up sir, I want to hear some more.
Your reply is disappointing, not your fault that I had such Great Expectations.
28-11-2023, 09:11 PM
Your reply is disappointing, not your fault that I had such Great Expectations.
Is this a tale of two Hibbies?
28-11-2023, 10:56 PM
Maybe if the “new” songs were audible and understandable , then people would slowly catch on and join in . I sit in the east and all I hear is the drum and a vocal noise without any recognisable words . Then when someone in the East starts one of the old chants , nearly everyone joins in.
29-11-2023, 07:54 AM
Maybe if the “new” songs were audible and understandable , then people would slowly catch on and join in . I sit in the east and all I hear is the drum and a vocal noise without any recognisable words . Then when someone in the East starts one of the old chants , nearly everyone joins in.
Maybe use the drum to get a song started but then let the voices be heard.
nickwhibs
29-11-2023, 09:30 AM
Tbf the Vente song is a belter. And the Tavares one was certainly appreciated by the man himself at Dens (even though i don’t know the words!)
I think it’s too black and white to blame all behaviour on Block 7 (the worst behaviour I saw on Saturday was a middle-aged man arguing with a fellow hibs fan and then verbally abusing a young female steward). Though I agree that some kind of better planning and involvement from the club needs to be had to try sort out the seating situation. Unallocated seating would be great but don’t think it’ll happen. Also although not everyone’s cup of tea, I think block 7 do have a place - we have to encourage young fans. Also no need for the snobbery calling folk neds
29-11-2023, 09:37 AM
Tbf the Vente song is a belter. And the Tavares one was certainly appreciated by the man himself at Dens (even though i don’t know the words!)
I think it’s too black and white to blame all behaviour on Block 7 (the worst behaviour I saw on Saturday was a middle-aged man arguing with a fellow hibs fan and then verbally abusing a young female steward). Though I agree that some kind of better planning and involvement from the club needs to be had to try sort out the seating situation. Unallocated seating would be great but don’t think it’ll happen. Also although not everyone’s cup of tea, I think block 7 do have a place - we have to encourage young fans. Also no need for the snobbery calling folk neds
Is punching people, bullying them out of their seats, smashing seats, mocking the dead from a football disaster etc, not the behaviour of the neddish ****? whether they are teenaged uber fandans or middle aged gits?
Maybe they, BLock 7, need to sort themselves out rather than the club pandering to their whims and demands. Why should they get favourable treatment?
nickwhibs
29-11-2023, 11:56 AM
Is punching people, bullying them out of their seats, smashing seats, mocking the dead from a football disaster etc, not the behaviour of the neddish ****? whether they are teenaged uber fandans or middle aged gits?
Maybe they, BLock 7, need to sort themselves out rather than the club pandering to their whims and demands. Why should they get favourable treatment?
To me "ned" is akin to "chav" in being a bit of a classist insult, but yes that kind of behaviour from anyone is not on.
My point is that many are quick to say it's all Block 7 causing these issues or acting out of turn. Should the members of Block 7 be collectively punished? I just think there could be a better way of dealing with this. The ultras scene, certainly in Scotland, is not really for me but to completely vilify these young guys doesn't really help imo. And yes, I agree that whoever is causing trouble need to be a bit more considerate of fellow fans.
29-11-2023, 12:16 PM
To me "ned" is akin to "chav" in being a bit of a classist insult, but yes that kind of behaviour from anyone is not on.
My point is that many are quick to say it's all Block 7 causing these issues or acting out of turn. Should the members of Block 7 be collectively punished? I just think there could be a better way of dealing with this. The ultras scene, certainly in Scotland, is not really for me but to completely vilify these young guys doesn't really help imo. And yes, I agree that whoever is causing trouble need to be a bit more considerate of fellow fans.
I suggested that they could start by policing themselves, is that beyond the wit of those involved? They're not all young guys, some at least are middle aged.
Shame, but I've no sympathy for them and social class doesn't enter into my thinking on their behaviour.
My take is yes, collective punishment is fine. They get preferential treatment and privileges not afforded to other supporters, they need to do more than be a bit considerate of fellow fans, but that would be a start.
GreenGray
29-11-2023, 12:49 PM
Aye exactly. Increasingly thinking we would be better off without them. Atmosphere is usually the best when the old chants get going, which isn't something they do.
hibsforeurope
29-11-2023, 01:15 PM
I suggested that they could start by policing themselves, is that beyond the wit of those involved? They're not all young guys, some at least are middle aged.
Shame, but I've no sympathy for them and social class doesn't enter into my thinking on their behaviour.
My take is yes, collective punishment is fine. They get preferential treatment and privileges not afforded to other supporters, they need to do more than be a bit considerate of fellow fans, but that would be a start.
Agree with this, B7 (if they condone the 'hangers on' causing issues)need to start making a bigger deal of this with the club. it seems they are happy to have them involved during a game but if there's any agro or kick back from them B7 are quick to distance themselves from them without really doing anything to stop it.
It's like how these ultra's are doing the wider Hibs support a disservice and are getting called out for it/looking to the club to do something to solve the issue.
Having read this thread, I don't think anyone has blamed B7 but more the wee neds who join onto B7 and aren't part of that official group.
29-11-2023, 02:02 PM
Having read this thread, I don't think anyone has blamed B7 but more the wee neds who join onto B7 and aren't part of that official group.
I think you need to re-read the thread.
29-11-2023, 02:47 PM
The wee fat guy I had an argument with at Paisley?
29-11-2023, 04:03 PM
Aye exactly. Increasingly thinking we would be better off without them. Atmosphere is usually the best when the old chants get going, which isn't something they do.
Atmosphere at ER is mostly pish. B7 might not be the best "ultras" out there, but ER would be even quieter without them.
29-11-2023, 04:33 PM
Nope.
29-11-2023, 06:32 PM
On the subject of atmosphere, recently the "singing section" we're allocated seats in ff lower. Created a reasonable atmosphere, however...with them out of the East it was noticeable that the East started more of the older chants/ songs.
zitelli62
29-11-2023, 07:04 PM
On the subject of atmosphere, recently the "singing section" we're allocated seats in ff lower. Created a reasonable atmosphere, however...with them out of the East it was noticeable that the East started more of the older chants/ songs.
100% great atmosphere that night like going back in time.
29-11-2023, 07:54 PM
I certainly don't want them encouraging my son or influence him.
LewysGot2
29-11-2023, 08:37 PM
The Vente song is just a change of some lyrics of the Fernando Torres song. Considering he was at Liverpool over a decade ago it’s not original or new. :wink:
malcolm
29-11-2023, 09:01 PM
Can rely on .net to throw up some interesting things. 😉. ‘Chav’ is derived I think from Romany language where it was used simply to refer to youngsters which seems appropriate here. My perception is it came to be used mostly in the south to also infer some misbehaviour and a bit of a downmarket insult. It will have crept up here.
A lot of Edinburgh words come from Romany too but we would have used ‘Ned.’ I don’t think it was derived from ‘non-educated delinquent’ but that may not be far away in particular if dropping the first two. Ned definitely seems Scottish, perhaps originally referring to weegie gangs of youths.
From the thread it seems a fair bit of neddish behaviour has been going on regardless of the class or education of those involved.😂
From what I seen yesterday there was a lot of intimidation towards a few women trying to take their seats. Not suggesting block 7 were starting matters or throwing punches first but the intimidation and refusal to move and the constant banging into fans trying to take their seats instigated this minor brawl. It was embarrassing
I think you need to re-read the thread.
There seems to be a bit of confusion as to whether or not it is B7 or the hangers on neds who attach themselves to B7, either way it needs sorted out by either the B7 guys or the club itself as it shows the club and supporters in a bad light. My away days are long gone but I can imagine the frustration from the every day fan getting grief and hassle at these games, it's a shame these eejits spoil it for our fans.
scottish_sleepy
29-11-2023, 11:46 PM
We had to move to the far side of the stand at Dundee because B7 had taken the seats we'd booked. The having to move is bad enough but then wherever you sit you're likely to be in someone else's seats which pisses them off as well.
30-11-2023, 07:26 AM
Can rely on .net to throw up some interesting things. . ‘Chav’ is derived I think from Romany language where it was used simply to refer to youngsters which seems appropriate here. My perception is it came to be used mostly in the south to also infer some misbehaviour and a bit of a downmarket insult. It will have crept up here.
A lot of Edinburgh words come from Romany too but we would have used ‘Ned.’ I don’t think it was derived from ‘non-educated delinquent’ but that may not be far away in particular if dropping the first two. Ned definitely seems Scottish, perhaps originally referring to weegie gangs of youths.
From the thread it seems a fair bit of neddish behaviour has been going on regardless of the class or education of those involved.
Chav is indeed a Romany word. in The 1970's when I first heard it, it wasn't pejorative. As you say, it's taken on a different meaning.
It sits alongside the like of shan, radge, barri, nash, dik, plank (to hide), pagger, chorey(steal), gadge, mort (a female, possibly one's girlfriend), jugal (dog), horny (police) as words introduced into the Edinburgh vernacular by settled travelling folk.
Interestingly, although the travelling community often emphasise that they aren't Gypsies (there are some with well known Gypsy names, like Blyth) the "cant" is largely made up of Romany words.
linlithgowhibbie
30-11-2023, 09:54 AM
Chav is indeed a Romany word. in The 1970's when I first heard it, it wasn't pejorative. As you say, it's taken on a different meaning.
It sits alongside the like of shan, radge, barri, nash, plank (to hide), pagger, chorey(steal), gadge, mort (a female, possibly one's girlfriend), jugal (dog), horny (police) as words introduced into the Edinburgh vernacular by settled travelling folk.
Interestingly, although the travelling community often emphasise that they aren't Gypsies (there are some with well known Gypsy names, like Blyth) the "cant" is largely made up of Romany words.
Hadn't heard mort, jugal or horny before. Bought up in Leith in the 50s,60s and 70s. Know and still use occasionaly all the rest.
https://i.ibb.co/PCzrvjm/Romanyhindu.jpg (https://ibb.co/x582tLC)
Some Romany words collected in East Lothian in 1865. Linked to Hindu according to this guy.
The dalmeny
30-11-2023, 11:27 AM
It sits alongside the like of shan, radge, barri, nash, dik, plank (to hide), pagger, chorey(steal), gadge, mort (a female, possibly one's girlfriend), jugal (dog), horny (police) as words introduced into the Edinburgh vernacular by settled travelling folk.
I'm sure pagger comes from thr French se bagarrer, to brawl
30-11-2023, 11:34 AM
I'm thinking of starting a Block 65 of moaning old gets.
30-11-2023, 11:44 AM
I'm thinking of starting a Block 65 of moaning old gets.Get it done, never seen the point of one drum, but I've got access to an old piano I could bring along.
Bridge hibs
30-11-2023, 11:59 AM
Get it done, never seen the point of one drum, but I've got access to an old piano I could bring along.
Ive got one of those rub a dub boards that my Great Gran used for her washing that I could bring along
30-11-2023, 12:04 PM
Ive got one of those rub a dub boards that my Great Gran used for her washing that I could bring alongIt's coming, I can feel it in my bones.
All we need is a triangle player and some Maracas.
Either that or we just go full Mariachi band?
bring our own deck chairs to save shoving people out their seats?
Bridge hibs
30-11-2023, 12:18 PM
It's coming, I can feel it in my bones.
Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkI will email hibs to ask if we can request priority for our allocation of deck chairs
30-11-2023, 12:19 PM
I will email hibs to ask if we can request if we can request priority for our allocation of deck chairs[emoji106]
If we can get the Mariachi band going no chairs needed, we can just crowd out everyone else and stand in front of them.
30-11-2023, 12:24 PM
It's been worth wading through this awful thread just for wee nuggets of info like this :top marks
I will email hibs to ask if we can request priority for our allocation of deck chairs
Don't have a deck chair, will a folded director's chair be OK?
Eaststand
30-11-2023, 12:34 PM
I used to be a dab hand at playing the thin paper wrapped over a comb thingy, sort of like a kazzooo.
So I'd be happy to dig my comb out and join the band
Bridge hibs
30-11-2023, 12:42 PM
Don't have a deck chair, will a folded director's chair be OK?
Perfect mate, Ive just found an old vuvuzela too
nickwhibs
30-11-2023, 12:57 PM
Haha!
nickwhibs
30-11-2023, 01:02 PM
The Vente song is just a change of some lyrics of the Fernando Torres song. Considering he was at Liverpool over a decade ago it’s not original or new. :wink:
I never said it was new or original - just that I like it. You’d be hard pushed to find many football songs that haven’t been sung before
30-11-2023, 01:45 PM
Don't have a deck chair, will a folded director's chair be OK?If our yet to be elected leader can be carried in on a sedan chair there'll be plenty space for your directors chair.[emoji6]
30-11-2023, 02:28 PM
If our yet to be elected leader can be carried in on a sedan chair there'll be plenty space for your directors chair.[emoji6]
Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalk To maintain the B7 age differential of member to leader an urn may be more appropriate
30-11-2023, 02:53 PM
To maintain the B7 age differential of member to leader an urn may be more appropriate[emoji23]
An effigy might do a turn then?
Plenty room for a totem pole if we boot a few pensioners out their seats? I can see the club going for that if we model it on the appropriate club official?
A bit of adulation goes a long way it seems
30-11-2023, 03:08 PM
If they aren’t members of b7, b7 should move them on as they are giving them a bad rep. If the hangers in want to be b7 why don’t they join and officially get in the b7 allocated area.
It's either B7 that are taking over the seats that they want and the hangers on following, or the other way round, whichever one it is, is wrong and needs sorted before this kicks off hugely and gets us in the papers again for the wrong reasons.
30-11-2023, 03:29 PM
If the designated compulsory look is pishy breeks, egg yolk down the jumper, grey stubble, at least one tooth missing and a flasher's grubby raincoat then count me in. Wouldn't need to breenge in and throw folk out of their seats. Seats will be willingly vacated by non-B65 folk.
30-11-2023, 03:53 PM
If the designated compulsory look is pishy breeks, egg yolk down the jumper, grey stubble, at least one tooth missing and a flasher's grubby raincoat then count me in. Wouldn't need to breenge in and throw folk out of their seats. Seats will be willingly vacated by non-B65 folk.So we are having a uniform as well? Love it.
I wonder if they could replace the drum with another instrument. Maybe a Harp:flag:
30-11-2023, 07:35 PM
So we are having a uniform as well? Love it.
I'm in if there's a Block 65 travel rug to keep my legs warm.
30-11-2023, 07:37 PM
It's coming, I can feel it in my bones.
Can I join?
I can play the spoons. If they're not loud enough, I can just take my teeth out and use them as a castanet.
30-11-2023, 07:38 PM
I'm in if there's a Block 65 travel rug to keep my legs warm.There's got to be a limited edition black, in keeping with our traditions and heritage?
30-11-2023, 07:40 PM
Can I join?
I can play the spoons. If they're not loud enough, I can just take my teeth out and use them as a castanet.Jews harp or just a 10p comb and some Izal toilet paper? All welcome.
30-11-2023, 07:42 PM
There's got to be a limited edition black, in keeping with our traditions and heritage?
Then we can look just like all the other Ultr'aged :greengrin
30-11-2023, 07:47 PM
Could you send me an application form?
https://i.ibb.co/PCzrvjm/Romanyhindu.jpg (https://ibb.co/x582tLC)
Some Romany words collected in East Lothian in 1865. Linked to Hindu according to this guy.Which book is that out of interest?
The link between Hindi (the language, not Hindu the religion) and Romany is that both are Indic languages as the Romanies migrated from India. Hindi for thief is "chor", same as Romany/Edinburgh dialect for example.
One word that always interested me is "callydosh" or "cally" for short, which meant "money" in my 1970s Portobello childhood. Anyone heard of that or still use it?
Sent from my moto g(30) using Tapatalk
30-11-2023, 08:33 PM
Which book is that out of interest?
The link between Hindi (the language, not Hindu the religion) and Romany is that both are Indic languages as the Romanies migrated from India. Hindi for thief is "chor", same as Romany/Edinburgh dialect for example.
One word that always interested me is "callydosh" or "cally" for short, which meant "money" in my 1970s Portobello childhood. Anyone heard of that or still use it?
Definitely a term used in Porty in my youth in the same time frame you are referring to.
30-11-2023, 08:50 PM
First meeting to decide on songbook gets heated
https://i.postimg.cc/MKbKV8ZX/Photo-Room-20231130-214725.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Xpqb6mC0)
Not heard that in many years and had forgotten about it. Well used in my youth in the 70s and early 80s
30-11-2023, 08:55 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/MKbKV8ZX/Photo-Room-20231130-214725.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Xpqb6mC0)
:applause:
30-11-2023, 08:56 PM
I used to use cally and callydosh. I've no idea of the etymology.
Bridge hibs
30-11-2023, 09:07 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/MKbKV8ZX/Photo-Room-20231130-214725.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Xpqb6mC0)Brilliant 🤣
30-11-2023, 09:09 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/MKbKV8ZX/Photo-Room-20231130-214725.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Xpqb6mC0)[emoji106][emoji23]
But drop me a line for permission before you use my image next time[emoji6]
babahibs
30-11-2023, 09:12 PM
Me and all my mates when we were teens, late 80's, called each other chav and chavi.
Awright chav, awright chavi.
Still do when we see each other.
linlithgowhibbie
30-11-2023, 09:13 PM
Cally was common for me from Leith Links area in the 60s and 70s, I still used it with my mates up till early 80s then it seemed to die a death.
Haven't heard it for a long while but I remember callydosh and most of the others mentioned.
I'll also chuck into the mix shotty for look out/lookout.
Yes, that's another one we used as kids too.
30-11-2023, 11:31 PM
Haven't heard it for a long while but I remember callydosh and most of the others mentioned.
I'll also chuck into the mix shotty for look out/lookout.
We pronounced it "Shoaty" or "shoats".
Sent from my moto g(30) using TapatalkRecognise callydosh but not heard it for ages, bud. Great one.
More pages of that book along with title page. The guy used to travel eastwards out edinburgh and try to engage romany people, travellers in conversation - gathering words.
https://i.ibb.co/KqGHktW/title.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/bLn43gC/IMG-20130523-00705.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/C9Kd7X6/City-of-Edinburgh-20111222-00360.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/mD2gBfd/could.jpg
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
01-12-2023, 12:13 AM
If the designated compulsory look is pishy breeks, egg yolk down the jumper, grey stubble, at least one tooth missing and a flasher's grubby raincoat then count me in. Wouldn't need to breenge in and throw folk out of their seats. Seats will be willingly vacated by non-B65 folk.
Rules me out I don't like runny eggs
Recognise callydosh but not heard it for ages, bud. Great one.
More pages of that book along with title page. The guy used to travel eastwards out edinburgh and try to engage romany people, travellers in conversation - gathering words.
https://i.ibb.co/KqGHktW/title.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/bLn43gC/IMG-20130523-00705.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/C9Kd7X6/City-of-Edinburgh-20111222-00360.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/mD2gBfd/could.jpg
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkLooks an interesting book, thanks. I wonder why Edinburgh dialect was so influenced by Romany compared with other cities. Interesting how some of these words fall out of use, and others stay.
01-12-2023, 10:19 AM
Sent from my moto g(30) using Tapatalk I was a porty lad and used that and still do. Does anyone know where coupon, meaning face, comes from
01-12-2023, 10:23 AM
01-12-2023, 10:36 AM
That's a cracker D! That could be me and your old man in a couple of years.
😄👏
malcolm
01-12-2023, 10:52 AM
All the barrie posts on this thread that I may have instigated got me recalling an old thread on here where the jambo poster son of haggard posted this:
My favourite Edinburgh book, from which I took my user name, is full of Romany derived words which were taken into slang.
It can be read here - it's an enjoyable romp and the report of his trial in the Scotsman is a hoot if you can find it . George Borrow refers to him in Lavengro - his Romany novel, though Haggart himself Ii don't think was of Romany extraction. I have an 1821 copy of the book which also has a phrenologist report which he allowed to happen while he awaited execution.
https://archive.org/details/b24930052/page/56
https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Haggart,_David_(DNB00)
There's a glossary at the end full of the slang of the day
https://archive.org/details/b24930052/page/172
It includes words like 'kipping' for playing truant which we still used at porty school in the 60s/ 70s
01-12-2023, 10:56 AM
All the barrie posts on this thread that I may have instigated got me recalling an old thread on here where the jambo poster son of haggard posted this:
My favourite Edinburgh book, from which I took my user name, is full of Romany derived words which were taken into slang.
It can be read here - it's an enjoyable romp and the report of his trial in the Scotsman is a hoot if you can find it . George Borrow refers to him in Lavengro - his Romany novel, though Haggart himself Ii don't think was of Romany extraction. I have an 1821 copy of the book which also has a phrenologist report which he allowed to happen while he awaited execution.
https://archive.org/details/b24930052/page/56
https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Haggart,_David_(DNB00)
There's a glossary at the end full of the slang of the day
https://archive.org/details/b24930052/page/172
It includes words like 'kipping' for playing truant which we still used at porty school in the 60s/ 70s Kipping school was still in use most days when I left after registration in the 80s
01-12-2023, 11:09 AM
Kipping school was still in use most days when I left after registration in the 80sSame here, Porty annex and the big school - but in the 70's [emoji16]
01-12-2023, 11:31 AM
Rules me out I don't like runny eggs
If Carol Beardsley reads that, you'll be in deep trouble!
01-12-2023, 12:22 PM
Same here, Porty annex and the big school - but in the 70's [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkWe may have met ....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
01-12-2023, 12:27 PM
We may have met ....
Sent from my SM-G990B using TapatalkI used to head down porty high street straight after skipping off[emoji16] Then to the Seabeach Hotel as we reached 5th year.
01-12-2023, 01:04 PM
I used to head down porty high street straight after skipping off[emoji16] Then to the Seabeach Hotel as we reached 5th year.
Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalk Hammy Lodge in my day.
01-12-2023, 01:21 PM
Looks an interesting book, thanks. I wonder why Edinburgh dialect was so influenced by Romany compared with other cities. Interesting how some of these words fall out of use, and others stay.
Areas of Edinburgh that had travellers camps or places where travellers would park up/camp anyway
So East Edinburgh,Duddingston and down by Gypsy Brae towards Silverknowes i can mention.
The travellers would use local pubs, meet hawkers,tinkers and and assorted minks who already settled in the housing schemes nearby and do deals ,find work and bevvy!
Some of these camps had easy acess to the tattie howkin and berry pickin in East Lothian and thereabouts.
Goes from there i would say over many years,others then picking up the words/phrases from the settled folk/kids at school.
I can "mang the cant" quite well, or could when i was younger .
Ma berry picking days !!:wink:
01-12-2023, 01:25 PM
Hammy Lodge in my day.Aye, went there too. Seabeach was known as the Each as there was always the B missing off the sign.
Fanforlife
01-12-2023, 07:37 PM
Same here, Porty annex and the big school - but in the 70's [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalk60,s for me right auld gadgie now🤣🤣
alhibby
01-12-2023, 08:56 PM
I see that a few of the Block 7 guys teamed up with their counterparts in Marseille last night for the Ajax game, invited them over here sometime
Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk
01-12-2023, 08:59 PM
I see that a few of the Block 7 guys teamed up with their counterparts in Marseille last night for the Ajax game, invited them over here sometime
Franck Sauzee mutual appreciation society?
"Let me tell ya about the time le god lost two teeth against hearts.."
1875Sean
01-12-2023, 09:51 PM
Wasn’t them, it was the hangers on
01-12-2023, 10:25 PM
I used to use cally and callydosh. I've no idea of the etymology.
I remember my Dad using the term Cally when referring to money.. Definitely didn’t pass through to my generation though..
02-12-2023, 07:19 AM
What do you mean by teamed up?
02-12-2023, 07:26 AM
What do you mean by teamed up?
I think it’s like how in the old days casuals would go and team up with other mobs to fight against another mob. But with singing instead of fighting.
02-12-2023, 07:28 AM
I think it’s like how in the old days casuals would go and team up with other mobs to fight against another mob. But with singing instead of fighting.
:greengrin So a few more French songs on the go
02-12-2023, 07:29 AM
:greengrin So a few more French songs on the go
😂 more songs that the majority won’t know the words to.