View Full Version : Any Auldies remember Bobby Hogg?

20-11-2023, 09:15 PM
Apparently played for us between 64-67 before moving on to Motherwell.

Played as a full back in Oz in early 70’s and always has 1 appearance for Hibs listed against his clubs.

I can’t find any listing of any appearances on fitba stats though?

I remember Davie Hogg from around that time, but not Bobby Hogg.

Any of my vintage or older recall him?

20-11-2023, 09:21 PM
Don’t remember a Bobby Hogg playing for the first team.

Davy Hogg I felt could have been a worthwhile player for us but never ever got a long run in the team.

20-11-2023, 09:59 PM

Davy Hogg I felt could have been a worthwhile player for us but never ever got a long run in the team.

Aye I mind Blink too.

He's here!
21-11-2023, 11:08 AM
https://www.motherwellnet.com/database/player-archive/h/bobby-hogg/

Bradford
21-11-2023, 03:57 PM
Apparently played for us between 64-67 before moving on to Motherwell.

Played as a full back in Oz in early 70’s and always has 1 appearance for Hibs listed against his clubs.

I can’t find any listing of any appearances on fitba stats though?

I remember Davie Hogg from around that time, but not Bobby Hogg.

Any of my vintage or older recall him?

As I move through my 70s my memory is not as sharp as it used to be. However I do remember a Bobby Hogg playing for the Reserves. I did keep some newspaper cuttings from that time and I think that Davie Hogg, Colin Grant, Colin Stein, Derek Whiteford and George Mc Neill played in the same team. However I am happy to be corrected if I have got this wrong.

21-11-2023, 04:05 PM
No, but it seems there are plenty lassies out there who are familiar with a different Hogg's bobby. :wink:

King Cosell
21-11-2023, 04:23 PM
I remember Boss Hogg, if that's any help.

21-11-2023, 04:45 PM
I remember a Newman AN Other Junior and Trialist playing for the Reserves if that is any good ?

Yes I remember a Bobby Hogg

21-11-2023, 04:50 PM
He's not in Jim Jeffrey's book which lists all first team players from 1946 to 2009.

21-11-2023, 06:22 PM
Just a thought
Brog on these boards went to School with and played alongside Davie Hogg and Jimmy O'Rourke (who both would have known Bobby)
Brog maybe has an insight to Bobby,as Brog would have been palling about with Jimmy and Davie at the time .
Or if any one on here is in touch with Pat Stanton. Give him a wee bell !
He might recall Bobby !

21-11-2023, 08:47 PM
Just a thought
Brog on these boards went to School with and played alongside Davie Hogg and Jimmy O'Rourke (who both would have known Bobby)
Brog maybe has an insight to Bobby,as Brog would have been palling about with Jimmy and Davie at the time .
He might recall Bobby !

It’s no that important tbh Mick…it was just as a result of a Sydney Lord Mayor function that was held for the first Socceroo squad to reach the World Cup finals in 1974.

I saw that one guy that attended had in his history that he played 1 first team game for Hibs…..now I have a vague memory of a Bobby Hogg, but Cannae mind him playing in the first team and wondered exactly which game it was if it did occur…….can’t find any record of it.
So, it’s something I think that probably just needs somebody who kens his way around the statistical/historical stuff to find….I Cannae as I said.

21-11-2023, 08:49 PM
https://www.motherwellnet.com/database/player-archive/h/bobby-hogg/

Thanks, but I found that one……that supports the fact that he played one first team game…..buggered if I can find which one though

21-11-2023, 08:50 PM
He's not in Jim Jeffrey's book which lists all first team players from 1946 to 2009.

Yep…..he’s not listed in fitba stats either.

Bridge hibs
21-11-2023, 09:20 PM
Can only see this from the reserves where he scored in the cup semi in a 2-1 win over Aberdeen 27411

21-11-2023, 09:28 PM
Bobby did play in our reserve team for a whiles.
I have been trying to find the official team photo that was always taken at start of season with all players in the frame
1st team and reserves. I remember him slightly. 2 Hoggs !! 3 Stevensons !!
Bobby never broke through to become a regular in the 1st team.
I guess the puzzle is .......
Against which team was his debut and only first team game ?

Motherwell Archive on Bobby Hogg.(for those that cannot open the link already posted)

Bobby Hogg arrived at Fir Park on a free transfer from Hibernian in 1967.
The winger had made little impact at Easter Road having only made the solitary league appearance.
Early in his first season at Motherwell he featured in four League Cup ties and made his league debut on the opening day. of the 1967/68 season versus Lanarkshire rivals Airdrieonians, despite Bobby getting on the scoresheet he couldn’t prevent the side from slipping to a 1-2 defeat.

He faded out of the team quickly after making the bulk of his appearances early in the season.
Bobby would get on the scoresheet again in a draw against Raith Rovers ,but he struggled to command a regular place in the side.
After only one season with the Steelmen he left, his next port of call was to join Stenhousemuir.

After Stenny he emigrated to Australia.
He became a naturalised Australian and Fred mentions his role there .

BillyHibs hopefully can find team photo from back then 64/65 or 65/66 ?

21-11-2023, 09:31 PM
Just a thought
He might recall Bobby !

Mick you're right I knew Davie Hogg well tho not as well as Jimmy and Pat. I saw Davie score against Falkirk in the Summer Cup and also in an 11 1 win against Hamilton. Davie moved to Canada I think. Our pal Stan V played in the 1st game. I have a very faint recall of a Bobby Hogg but I may be imagining and I used to watch reserves a lot at that time.

21-11-2023, 09:40 PM
Mick you're right I knew Davie Hogg well tho not as well as Jimmy and Pat. I saw Davie score against Falkirk in the Summer Cup and also in an 11 1 win against Hamilton. Davie moved to Canada I think. Our pal Stan V played in the 1st game. I have a very faint recall of a Bobby Hogg but I may be imagining and I used to watch reserves a lot at that time.

He might have been the reason Jock Stein left !!!!:greengrin

21-11-2023, 09:57 PM
He might have been the reason Jock Stein left !!!!:greengrin

By the time he reached Stenhousemuir he had reverted to playing at full back .
The number 9 in that Stenny team was a guy named Martin Boyle !!:greengrin

21-11-2023, 10:08 PM
Bobby did play in our reserve team for a whiles.
I have been trying to find the official team photo that was always taken at start of season with all players in the frame
1st team and reserves. I remember him slightly. 2 Hoggs !! 3 Stevensons !!
Bobby never broke through to become a regular in the 1st team.
I guess the puzzle is .......
Against which team was his debut and only first team game ?

Motherwell Archive on Bobby Hogg.(for those that cannot open the link already posted)

Bobby Hogg arrived at Fir Park on a free transfer from Hibernian in 1967.
The winger had made little impact at Easter Road having only made the solitary league appearance.
Early in his first season at Motherwell he featured in four League Cup ties and made his league debut on the opening day. of the 1967/68 season versus Lanarkshire rivals Airdrieonians, despite Bobby getting on the scoresheet he couldn’t prevent the side from slipping to a 1-2 defeat.

He faded out of the team quickly after making the bulk of his appearances early in the season.
Bobby would get on the scoresheet again in a draw against Raith Rovers ,but he struggled to command a regular place in the side.
After only one season with the Steelmen he left, his next port of call was to join Stenhousemuir.

After Stenny he emigrated to Australia.
He became a naturalised Australian and Fred mentions his role there .

BillyHibs hopefully can find team photo from back then 64/65 or 65/66 ?

Your word is my command

Few well kent young faces in here 1965-66

https://i.ibb.co/cQXYvFJ/IMG-2261.png (https://ibb.co/5LxK98T)
san ramon regional medical center (https://nonprofitlight.com/ca/san-ramon/san-ramon-regional-medical-center-staff)

Been trying to find an image of Bobby Hogg been doin ma nut in man !

21-11-2023, 10:14 PM
Can only see this from the reserves where he scored in the cup semi in a 2-1 win over Aberdeen 27411

Good spot

21-11-2023, 10:45 PM

Interesting that Hibs reserve team goalie in this match also ended up in Oz and played for them in the World Cup finals in 1974

22-11-2023, 09:52 AM

Do you know date of that game? Subs weren't introduced iirc until 1966/7 season. I suspect they were travelling party rather than actual subs! Ironically I remember every player there except Bobby Hogg!

Bridge hibs
22-11-2023, 10:17 AM
Do you know date of that game? Subs weren't introduced iirc until 1966/7 season. I suspect they were travelling party rather than actual subs! Ironically I remember every player there except Bobby Hogg!Hi Brog yes info here

23-11-2023, 06:05 AM
Your word is my command

san ramon regional medical center (https://nonprofitlight.com/ca/san-ramon/san-ramon-regional-medical-center-staff)

Bobby Hogg is first left, front row…..source Bobby Hogg.

23-11-2023, 06:07 AM

Can you not get a better source? :greengrin

23-11-2023, 06:19 AM

👍

Thanks Fred from the horses’ mouth

Will sleep tonight now 😀

23-11-2023, 06:58 AM
👍

Thanks Fred from the horses’ mouth

Will sleep tonight now 😀

Still dunno who his only first team appearance was against though………

23-11-2023, 07:36 AM

And Davie Hogg in same row, 3rd right. Some legends in that pic. Jim O, Pat S, Peter Cormack, Willie Hamilton, Big Bad John and of course Stan Vincent! 😉

23-11-2023, 07:54 AM
Is that Pat Quinn front row 3rd from left ?

23-11-2023, 08:02 AM
Is that Pat Quinn front row 3rd from left ?

Aye

23-11-2023, 08:19 AM
Colin Stein John Fraser Willie The Man In Black Wilson

23-11-2023, 08:59 AM
And Davie Hogg in same row, 3rd right. Some legends in that pic. Jim O, Pat S, Peter Cormack, Willie Hamilton, Big Bad John and of course Stan Vincent! 😉

And unless I’m mistaken, the tall goalie is Jack Reilly, who a few years later moved to Australia and played for Australia in their first ever World Cup Finals appearance in 1974.

23-11-2023, 09:46 AM
Aye

There's only about 3 I don't know. One is guy in front with ball at his feet, anyone?

23-11-2023, 09:48 AM
And unless I’m mistaken, the tall goalie is Jack Reilly, who a few years later moved to Australia and played for Australia in their first ever World Cup Finals appearance in 1974.

It is, and our other reserve keeper, Thomson Allan was capped for Scotland while at Dundee.

23-11-2023, 09:52 AM
Hi Brog yes info here

Thanks! Pretty sure was only 1 sub for 1st season or so.

23-11-2023, 09:54 AM
I'll be surprised if many, or any, know the player between Stan Vincent and Big Bad John. He was a Southside boy and in common with many in that squad was Hibs through and through.

25-11-2023, 02:28 AM
I'll be surprised if many, or any, know the player between Stan Vincent and Big Bad John. He was a Southside boy and in common with many in that squad was Hibs through and through.

Was gonna say George McNeil, but not sure...and he was from Tranent, not Edinburgh.

Remember most of the squad from then, so will be interesting to see who it is.

25-11-2023, 07:50 AM
There's only about 3 I don't know. One is guy in front with ball at his feet, anyone?

Was before my time Brog besides I was a jambo until 1968 then my long suffering Dad took me to the Holy Ground and I could see the future was bright it was green and white :greengrin

inglisavhibs
26-11-2023, 03:29 PM

Davy still attends our home games.

Roxyhibee
26-11-2023, 07:49 PM
Your word is my command

If this was the game where our goalie Willie Wilson took a head injury, Cormack went in goals, Willie played out on the right wing with a bandaged heid and we won 1-0, then this was my very first game.

26-11-2023, 08:19 PM
If this was the game where our goalie Willie Wilson took a head injury, Cormack went in goals, Willie played out on the right wing with a bandaged heid and we won 1-0, then this was my very first game.

Eric Stevenson scored the winner

26-11-2023, 08:21 PM

George Gartshore ?

Roxyhibee
26-11-2023, 09:00 PM

Eric Stevenson scored the winner

Cheers. I’ll remember that 👍🇳🇬

27-11-2023, 10:59 AM
George Gartshore ?

No George G is next to Willie Hamilton & George McNeill. Close Freddy! Pretty sure it's Bernard Cullerton, a Prestonfield boy. His brother Michael signed for Port Vale, manager Stan Mathews & made history as a member of youngest ever forward line in English League. Another member was Roddy Georgeson from Edinburgh & IIRC another hibee!

27-11-2023, 11:26 AM
No George G is next to Willie Hamilton & George McNeill. Close Freddy! Pretty sure it's Bernard Cullerton, a Prestonfield boy. His brother Michael signed for Port Vale, manager Stan Mathews & made history as a member of youngest ever forward line in English League. Another member was Roddy Georgeson from Edinburgh & IIRC another hibee!

its been a long time but I think Cullerton was a left winger and Roddy Georgeson an inside right?

There was something else about Georgeson that sticks in my mind...but cannae remember what it was.

he didn't work in the civil service back then did he?....or did we end up playing against him maybe?

and I seem to remember Cullerton had a brother....

27-11-2023, 11:30 AM
its been a long time but I think Cullerton was a left winger and Roddy Georgeson an inside right?

There was something else about Georgeson that sticks in my mind...but cannae remember what it was.

he didn't work in the civil service back then did he?....or did we end up playing against him maybe?

He married a pal of mine. He did indeed work in the Civil Service. IIRC, something to do with employment advice? Manpower Srrvices Commission?

He played against us for Berwick, a weeknight cup tie?

He and his daughter are regulars at ER.

27-11-2023, 11:43 AM
Mike and Bernie ? :greengrin

27-11-2023, 11:48 AM
Doing a wee bit digging and someone mentioned a Billy Brown 1965-66

Ring any bells ?

inglisavhibs
27-11-2023, 04:27 PM

Roddy also played a lot of games for Raith, Dunfermline and Meadowbank. Terrific player and great guy who scored a fair number of goals.

27-11-2023, 05:31 PM
He married a pal of mine. He did indeed work in the Civil Service. IIRC, something to do with employment advice? Manpower Srrvices Commission?

Glad I remembered Roddy as a Hibs boy and even more pleased he's still part of our community. Sure I played against him as a boy, either at bc level or even in Pilrig Park. I have a memory of Roddy at Broughton/Bellevue and think he was linked with us before he went to Raith. Nice thread!

27-11-2023, 06:15 PM
Good memory for faces on a photo from all those years ago,Brian.
I can hardly make out the faces in the photo to comment.. But you got it sorted awright !!
I went to school with a Michael Cullerton.
Cousin or nephew i think he was/is

27-11-2023, 06:16 PM

It seems it was against a Hibs side that included George Best !
0-0 was the result down there.
Replay at ER. 1-0 nil win for us
Wee search indicates George lives in Midlothian

More info on George
https://www.wikiwand.com/en/Roddy_Georgeson

27-11-2023, 06:43 PM
It seems it was against a Hibs side that included George Best !
0-0 was the result down there.
Replay at ER. 1-0 nil win for us
Wee search indicates George lives in Midlothian

More info on George
https://www.wikiwand.com/en/Roddy_Georgeson

From the first game at Shieldfield Park (Georgeson hit the bar IIRC) comes a favourite quiz question of mine.

On the park that day was a player that won the European Cup, a player that won the Cup Winners Cup and a player that won the UEFA Cup. Name the three players.

27-11-2023, 06:57 PM
Mike and Bernie ? :greengrin

There was a couple of terrible Winters back then !

27-11-2023, 07:44 PM
From the first game at Shieldfield Park (Georgeson hit the bar IIRC) comes a favourite quiz question of mine.

On the park that day was a player that won the European Cup, a player that won the Cup Winners Cup and a player that won the UEFA Cup. Name the three players.

I know it was Cormack and Best for us and I think Dave Smith for Berwick. Won it with Der *** in 73?

27-11-2023, 08:21 PM
From the first game at Shieldfield Park (Georgeson hit the bar IIRC) comes a favourite quiz question of mine.:greengrin

Brog answered before i could ......
Despite that

We still got relegated that season!
An awful season ,to say the least. Dismal is to good a word for it.
I think Eddie had lost all passion he showed in his earlier years as gaffer.
Its said he also fell out with Tom Hart over(behind his back) Best's arrival.
He passed the reigns to another Hibernian Great,Willie Ormond, who sadly very soon after had to retire due to health concerns .

Love this snippet from a Herald article about George Best /Tom Hart

<Nor did Best make any pretence of being a reformed character.
He agreed with Hart that he would attempt to refrain, or at least moderate his intake, on the night before matches,
but he didn't always make it to the starting line-up.
The chairman found him one Saturday curled up fast asleep outside his office. !!!
''I'm afraid you can't go out there today, George,'' said Hart, a kind man who never said a bad word about Best until his dying day.
''In that case,'' came the smiling reply, ''can I have a large one from your cupboard?'':greengrin

George cracking goal v Celtic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBXa7rmOqrw

DanishJohn
30-11-2023, 10:32 AM
A quick one on Davy Hogg.

As a young boy growing up I remember Davy Hogg coming to my street. I always wanted to go over and get his autograph but my dad wouldn't allow it as he viewed it as pestering him when he was away from his work ie Easter Road. Davy was visiting his girlfriend who he was "winching" at the time. Always thought it was funny because her family name was Hogg too ! Often wondered if he ended up marrying the young lady.

ps What part of Edinburgh did Davy come from ?

30-11-2023, 11:27 AM
A quick one on Davy Hogg.

As a young boy growing up I remember Davy Hogg coming to my street. I always wanted to go over and get his autograph but my dad wouldn't allow it as he viewed it as pestering him when he was away from his work ie Easter Road. Davy was visiting his girlfriend who he was "winching" at the time. Always thought it was funny because her family name was Hogg too ! Often wondered if he ended up marrying the young lady.

ps What part of Edinburgh did Davy come from ?

I think Davy lived at The Inch when I knew him. I suspect his family moved to the Southside, like many others, from central Edinburgh. You should have said hello, Davy's a gent.

30-11-2023, 11:28 AM
I think Davy lived at The Inch when I knew him. I suspect his family moved to the Southside, like many others, from central Edinburgh. You should have said hello, Davy's a tent.

I remember him as living at Fox Covert.

30-11-2023, 11:33 AM
There were two Hoggs.

30-11-2023, 11:38 AM
I remember him as living at Fox Covert.

I'm talking early 60s, possibly before he joined Hibs. We used to play in take ons at Inch and Prestonfield Park. Players included The Cullertons, mentioned above, John Greig, Jocky Robertson, Jimmy and Tommy Millar, Dougie Johnstone and many well known Juniors. Unsurprisingly I was usually last pick!

30-11-2023, 11:40 AM
I'm talking early 60s, possibly before he joined Hibs. We used to play in take ons at Inch and Prestonfield Park. Players included The Cullertons, mentioned above, John Greig, Jocky Robertson, Jimmy and Tommy Millar, Dougie Johnstone and many well known Juniors. Unsurprisingly I was usually last pick!

Gotcha.

I'm thinking about when he was a pro.

Although.... I may be talking about someobody else completely :greengrin:greengrin

30-11-2023, 03:05 PM
Gotcha.

I'm thinking about when he was a pro.

Although.... I may be talking about someobody else completely :greengrin:greengrin
My Family moved to Clermiston mid 1950s .
Long before the Clerry Inn/Drum Brae Drive side was built.
I do remember a Davie Hogg that Jimmy O was pally with in their early teens who also stayed in Clerry
Forget the street name he stayed in though.
Racking ma brain but cannae mind.

30-11-2023, 04:34 PM
My Family moved to Clermiston mid 1950s .
Long before the Clerry Inn/Drum Brae Drive side was built.
I do remember a Davie Hogg that Jimmy O was pally with in their early teens who also stayed in Clerry
Forget the street name he stayed in though.
Racking ma brain but cannae mind.

Jimmy and Davie are much the same age and were in same year, but different classes at Holy X. They were both such good footballers that they played in U15 team which won the league, when they were 13. Pat S was of course also in that team but was 2 years older. I've maybe got this completely wrong but I never remember Jimmy and Davie getting on bus home to the west side together.

30-11-2023, 04:55 PM
Jimmy and Davie are much the same age and were in same year, but different classes at Holy X. They were both such good footballers that they played in U15 team which won the league, when they were 13. Pat S was of course also in that team but was 2 years older. I've maybe got this completely wrong but I never remember Jimmy and Davie getting on bus home to the west side together.
No Brian
I agree with you/
i wrote in response to other post about two Hoggs!!
There was a Davie Hogg lived near us in Clerry who James knew well ,but not THE Davie Hogg ! :thumbsup:

I read when trying to find out more of Bobby Hogg that there was a Bobby Hogg (goalkeeper) on Hertz books around same time !

30-11-2023, 06:15 PM
Just had a lightbulb moment.

It wasn't Davie Hogg that lived in Fox Covert.... it was Davie Holt.

Carry on, chaps :greengrin

30-11-2023, 06:29 PM

When i was a laddie i delivered Hearts Davie Holt's milk every morning for quite some time.

He stayed near where the QM college was built(i worked there too) Now no longer there.
On a saturday morning we milk laddies collected the milk money in person at the customers door.
Davie Holt if he answered the door, and he usuallty did if hertz were at home, was one of my biggest tippers .
And i use to go to his door with my Hibs scarf on ,as i would be going straight to the game after the milk run !
Gentleman was Davie .
Oh and a wonderful player he was too.

PS
i also delivered the great Hearts legend Tommy Walker his milk when he stayed in the Barnton Estate ,just off the Queensferry Road nr Parkgrove:greengrin

30-11-2023, 08:28 PM
When i was a laddie i delivered Hearts Davie Holt's milk every morning for quite some time.

He stayed near where the QM college was built(i worked there too) Now no longer there.
On a saturday morning we milk laddies collected the milk money in person at the customers door.
Davie Holt if he answered the door, and he usuallty did if hertz were at home, was one of my biggest tippers .
And i use to go to his door with my Hibs scarf on ,as i would be going straight to the game after the milk run !
Gentleman was Davie .

PS
i also delivered the great Hearts legend Tommy Walker his milk when he stayed in the Barnton Estate ,just off the Queensferry Road nr Parkgrove:greengrin
Davie Holt and Gordon Marshall snr lived very close to each other.I am sure that Davie Clunie of Hearts also stayed locally as well.

30-11-2023, 09:15 PM

Gentleman was Davie .

PS

Davie Holt was a very good player a solid fullback watched him at very close quarters growing up in the early sixties

01-12-2023, 09:38 AM
Davie Holt was a very good player a solid fullback watched him at very close quarters growing up in the early sixties

I remember a game at ER where for our 1st goal the Scotsman reported, 'Scott dragged Holt out to the touchline where he duly destroyed him before crossing for Cormack to score'!
You're right though Holt was a good player, not unlike our own Joe Davis.

01-12-2023, 09:40 AM

Phew!! Was starting to seriously doubt myself though my memory from the 60s is far better than my memory of yesterday!