View Full Version : NHC Gordon Wallace. R. I. P.
Gordon Wallace, played for Penicuik Athletic, then Raith Rovers and for a period played for Dundee United before finishing his career in Australia.
Settled in Safety Bay near Perth W. A. Passed away today after a long period of illness. A good friend of mine and a massive Hibby.
Sleep well Gordon.
12-11-2023, 12:54 PM
RIP Gogo. Went through to the Junior Cup final 1970 with the family. Condolences to all family and friends.
12-11-2023, 01:07 PM
Thats sad to hear. Remember him most as a prolific striker with Dundee. Didn’t realise he was a Hibby. Very good player. RIP Gordon.
Not the same Gordon Wallace. Gogo Wallace was from Clermiston.
12-11-2023, 01:10 PM
Not the same Gordon Wallace. Gogo Wallace was from Clermiston.
Ah sorry. The Gordon Wallace I was thinking of also played for Raith and United. Apologies.
12-11-2023, 01:13 PM
Ah sorry. The Gordon Wallace I was thinking of also played for Raith and United. Apologies.
It was strange that they almost followed the same path. Gogo was a neighbour of Mick O'Rourkes.
12-11-2023, 01:16 PM
It was strange that they almost followed the same path. Gogo was a neighbour of Mick O'Rourkes.
Yes just found a bit about Gogo on Wiki. Only 6 years between them and quite uncanny how their careers mirrored each other.
Yes played close to each other time wise and in career path, many people mix them up because of that.
12-11-2023, 01:40 PM
Sad news
Gordon was brought up a few doors along from us in Clermiston Park. Lovely family.
Great street and barry neighbours back then in our childhood/teenage days.
Gordon and a few others nearby went on to play Junior level and Gordon was the best of that crop.
Yes ,he went to Oz a long time ago.
Was back a few year ago for his brother Gary's funeral.
Another lovely guy was Gary.
His son went to school and played juvenile with my grandson.
Sad times.
I mind a very big crowd left Clerry for that Penicuik v Blantyre Vics.Junior Cup Final, 1970 that had iirc 3/4 Clerry boys in the team.
RIP Gordon Wallace.
12-11-2023, 02:07 PM
RIP Gogo. Went through to the Junior Cup final 1970 with the family. Condolences to all family and friends.
Aye gb
The old Fox Covert public bar would have bouncing that day.
Great memories of old Clerry and absent friends.
12-11-2023, 02:15 PM
Gordon Wallace, played for Penicuik Athletic, then Raith Rovers and for a period played for Dundee United before finishing his career in Australia.
Settled in Safety Bay near Perth W. A. Passed away today after a long period of illness. A good friend of mine and a massive Hibby.
Sleep well Gordon.
Sad news ,but thanks for announcing the passing of a great wee guy that i remember from all those years ago.
RIP Gordon
12-11-2023, 02:55 PM
Sad news
Gordon was brought up a few doors along from us in Clermiston Park. Lovely family.
Great street and barry neighbours back then in our childhood/teenage days.
Gordon and a few others nearby went on to play Junior level and Gordon was the best of that crop.
Yes ,he went to Oz a long time ago.
Was back a few year ago for his brother Gary's funeral.
Another lovely guy was Gary.
His son went to school and played juvenile with my grandson.
Sad times.
I mind a very big crowd left Clerry for that Penicuik v Blantyre Vics.Junior Cup Final, 1970 that had iirc 3/4 Clerry boys in the team.
RIP Gordon Wallace.
Mick, didn't know that Gary had passed, great guy as well. To think the crowd for that Junior cup final was bigger than our recent semi against Aberdeen.
Sad news ,but thanks for announcing the passing of a great wee guy that i remember from all those years ago.
RIP Gordon
Your very welcome, he was my next door neighbour here in Kirkcaldy when he played for Raith and we became friends through a love of football and Hibs in particular. My late wife also was a friend of his wife Diane and we kept in touch even after their move to Australia, the last time they visited was when they came over for his brother Gary's funeral, he was starting to struggle a little even then, but in her message to me today, she said simply, that he was really struggling at the end.
13-11-2023, 09:56 AM
Your very welcome, he was my next door neighbour here in Kirkcaldy when he played for Raith and we became friends through a love of football and Hibs in particular. My late wife also was a friend of his wife Diane and we kept in touch even after their move to Australia, the last time they visited was when they came over for his brother Gary's funeral, he was starting to struggle a little even then, but in her message to me today, she said simply, that he was really struggling at the end.
It would be nice if you could..
Please send to Diane memorable childhood thoughts and sincere condolences from myself and others in Clerry on here who knew or met Gordon before they moved to Australia.
His pal from Clerry, Rickie Reeves was also in the Penicuik side at Hampden.
He lived in next street to us.
I think some of the Reeves family also went to Australia(or Canada?), but returned to Edinburgh soon after.
Robert Reeves did .
I cherish some memories,though fading through time, of Sunday and summer night games/kickabouts up the park which was on our doorstep. .
And the old Clermiston YMCA in Parkgrove,opposite St Kentigerns RC church at the time, where Gordon also played for their very good football side.
RIP Gordon and Gary Wallace
H18S NX
13-11-2023, 10:10 AM
RIP Gordon,sleep well.
13-11-2023, 11:02 AM
Mick, didn't know that Gary had passed, great guy as well. To think the crowd for that Junior cup final was bigger than our recent semi against Aberdeen.
He was a very nice man,Gary
Gave me a lift to matches and home from a number of the school/juvenile games our boys were involved in.
Aye and the replay on the following Tuesday had over 15.000 in attendance
Remarkable for Penny. Truly was.
The road to the final wisnae easy,either.
Most opponents in that run were the hardened West of Scotland/Ayrshire,Junior sides.
Tough route in them days ,but alas,sadly fell at the final (replay) hurdle.0-1
Some of they Cuikie boys,Hibs ones anyway, would have been at Hampden a few months before that(testing the water,so to speak) ,as Hibs fell 2-6 tae Celtic in LC Final, that itself had been delayed for months due to a stand fire at Hampden .
Hibs were flying at the time of original game/date.
So we all thought Celtic fans caused the fire and delay !!:dunno:
As Elvis once said "Suspicious Minds !"
Or the Celtic chant
"Our defence is terrified
So Hampdens on fire ! :fuming::devil:s"
13-11-2023, 12:13 PM
Please send to Diane memorable childhood thoughts and sincere condolences from myself and others in Clerry on here who knew or met Gordon before they moved to Australia.
His pal from Clerry, Rickie Reeve was also in the Penicuik side at Hampden.
I think some of the Reeves family also went to Australia(or Canada?), but returned to Edinburgh soon after. Robert Reeve did .
I cherish some memories,though fading through time, of Sunday and summer night games/kickabouts up the park which was on our doorstep. .
And the old Clermiston YMCA in Parkgrove,opposite St Kentigerns RC church at the time, where Gordon also played for their very good football side.
RIP Gordon and Gary WallaceMick
I second that. Got to know all these guys through the Clermiston YMCA football team my dad and Jackie Printy ran the team. Gordon was a guy my dad said would make it as a professional.
RIP Gordon and Gary
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
I think some of the Reeves family also went to Australia(or Canada?), but returned to Edinburgh soon after. Robert Reeve did .
I will certainly do as you ask, Diane will be so pleased to know how well thought of Gordon was and still remembered from his early days. The last couple of years have not been easy for Diane as Gordon was totally dependent on her for all aspects of his care, fortunately Karen, their daughter, has been on hand to give her mum much needed help.
Can I also draw your attention to Raith Rovers Facebook page as they have just put up a lovely tribute to Gordon Wallace (MK11), covers his career from Penicuik to Australia.
13-11-2023, 01:15 PM
I will certainly do as you ask, Diane will be so pleased to know how well thought of Gordon was and still remembered from his early days. The last couple of years have not been easy for Diane as Gordon was totally dependent on her for all aspects of his care, fortunately Karen, their daughter, has been on hand to give her mum much needed help.
Can I also draw your attention to Raith Rovers Facebook page as they have just put up a lovely tribute to Gordon Wallace (MK11), covers his career from Penicuik to Australia.
Some photos Junior Cup Final team 1970
https://jamesdickscotland.tripod.com/final.htm
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=3295947483762699&set=a.657950970895710
Gordon and Ricky Reeves in front row (i think!)
Ricky kneeling on the left.
Gordon ,3rd player from left.
Raith Rovers obituary/tributes.
https://www.raithrovers.net/65263/a-tribute-to-gordon-wallace.htm
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=724734499679153&set=pb.100064278296728.-2207520000&locale=en_GB
hibeg
13-11-2023, 03:21 PM
Some photos Junior Cup Final team 1970
https://jamesdickscotland.tripod.com/final.htm
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=3295947483762699&set=a.657950970895710
Gordon and Ricky Reeves in front row (i think!)
Ricky kneeling on the left.
Gordon ,3rd player from left.
Raith Rovers obituary/tributes.
https://www.raithrovers.net/65263/a-tribute-to-gordon-wallace.htm
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=724734499679153&set=pb.100064278296728.-2207520000&locale=en_GB
Is that Murray McDermott, the keeper in the line up ?
13-11-2023, 04:39 PM
Is that Murray McDermott, the keeper in the line up ?
Yes
Penny and Rovers he played for
Did he come from the Grassmarket area ?
Lago here and Gordon of course would have known Murray well at Raith Rovers.
Murray sadly passed away the age of 53, around 20 yrs ago.
https://alchetron.com/Murray-McDermott
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/lifestyle/legendary-goalie-murray-joins-raith-rovers-hall-of-fame-1229699
I'll finish up my contributions to the thread with a little detail of how Gordon and Diane came in to our life here in Kirkcaldy. I met my late wife Margaret while working at Ferranti at Dalkeith & Robbie Ave and when asked by her Dad if I would like to go to a Hibs game of course I said yes, Margaret knew a few Hibs players thought the dancing at Bonnyrigg Regal, Eric Stevenson, Pat Stanton etc, plus the Smith family live near them in Woodburn, Bobby's sister was in my wife's class at Dalkeith high school. So that explains the reason I started supporting Hibs in 1970.
My wife and I moved to Kirkcaldy in 73 and across the back garden lived Gordon and family, you get talking and we both followed Hibs so a friendship developed. My wife's mum and dad would visit on a Saturday, but it had to be when Hibs were away from home and Raith at home so we would go to Starks Park. Always impressed watching Gordon, fast, direct and an eye for goal. My wife worked for a time behind the bar of the Dunnikier House Hotel, Saturday night in would come Gordon with his great pal Ronnie Duncan, a winger with Raith, of course the 2 of them had the place in an uproar in no time.
Gordon achieved his big ambition when he moved to Dundee Utd, but injuries and Jim McLean soured his time there. His move to Australia came about when he and Diane visited his sister Dot in Melbourne, got a short term contract and then headed home, stopped in Perth loved it so immediately turned round and went back after only a short period back in Kirkcaldy. Gordon and Diane came back and visited on 3 or 4 occasions but the last time you could see a different Gordon, not quite the happy go lucky chap I'd always known previously.
I'll leave it there because it's true what they say about getting old, your friends and other loved ones leave you and it can become a little lonely.
Yes
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/lifestyle/legendary-goalie-murray-joins-raith-rovers-hall-of-fame-1229699
Murray was a much under rated keeper and loved at at Starks Park.
Mick, as you asked I've passed on your condolences, memories of times passed, Diane thanks you and the others that remember him from those days, she says she remembers Gordon talking to your brother Jimmy at so point. I asked about the Gogo nick name and she says he was just a wee thing when she met him, always known as Gogo or gogs.
13-11-2023, 08:47 PM
I'll finish up my contributions to the thread with a little detail of how Gordon and Diane came in to our life here in Kirkcaldy. I met my late wife Margaret while working at Ferranti at Dalkeith & Robbie Ave and when asked by her Dad if I would like to go to a Hibs game of course I said yes, Margaret knew a few Hibs players thought the dancing at Bonnyrigg Regal, Eric Stevenson, Pat Stanton etc, plus the Smith family live near them in Woodburn, Bobby's sister was in my wife's class at Dalkeith high school. So that explains the reason I started supporting Hibs in 1970.
My wife and I moved to Kirkcaldy in 73 and across the back garden lived Gordon and family, you get talking and we both followed Hibs so a friendship developed. My wife's mum and dad would visit on a Saturday, but it had to be when Hibs were away from home and Raith at home so we would go to Starks Park. Always impressed watching Gordon, fast, direct and an eye for goal. My wife worked for a time behind the bar of the Dunnikier House Hotel, Saturday night in would come Gordon with his great pal Ronnie Duncan, a winger with Raith, of course the 2 of them had the place in an uproar in no time.
Gordon achieved his big ambition when he moved to Dundee Utd, but injuries and Jim McLean soured his time there. His move to Australia came about when he and Diane visited his sister Dot in Melbourne, got a short term contract and then headed home, stopped in Perth loved it so immediately turned round and went back after only a short period back in Kirkcaldy. Gordon and Diane came back and visited on 3 or 4 occasions but the last time you could see a different Gordon, not quite the happy go lucky chap I'd always known previously.
I'll leave it there because it's true what they say about getting old, your friends and other loved ones leave you and it can become a little lonely.
Thanks for sharing
13-11-2023, 08:55 PM
RIP Gordon. I think I was quite possibly in your company in December 2003, watching Celtic v Hibs on a Saturday night in Northbridge: we all went to see Perth Glory defeat Brisbane Strikers 6-1 in the afternoon - sadly, little did we know we’d then see another team score six goals at Parkhead later that day…
Thanks for sharing
Your very welcome.
hibeg
13-11-2023, 09:41 PM
Yes
Tragically taken far too early. I was a classmate of his brother Tom.
Murray occasionally had a few drinks in Leslie’s with Bobby Ford and a few others. He was a gentleman
14-11-2023, 08:09 AM
Mick, as you asked I've passed on your condolences, memories of times passed, Diane thanks you and the others that remember him from those days, she says she remembers Gordon talking to your brother Jimmy at so point. I asked about the Gogo nick name and she says he was just a wee thing when she met him, always known as Gogo or gogs.
Fred in Oz on here will remember well when Jimmy and his wife were guests of the Australian HSC a number years ago .
Fred would have been the organiser of Jimmy going over..
Possibly Gordon and Diane attended one of the organised events/dinners at the time,in Perth ?
So i hope Gordon once again met an old neighbour and pal .
Aye "gogo" or "goags" was the nicknames i remember we called Gordon .
Fred in Oz on here will remember well when Jimmy and his wife were guests of the Australian HSC a number years ago .
Fred would have been the organiser of Jimmy going over..
Possibly Gordon and Diane attended one of the organised events/dinners at the time,in Perth ?
So i hope Gordon once again met an old neighbour and pal .
Aye "gogo" or "gogs" was the nicknames i remember we called Gordon .
Di & her daughter Karen say thanks for the Penicuik cup final piece, neither of them had seen it before, Karen also finding out about her dad pre Raith Rovers is delighted, and tells me it has helped a lot. Again many thanks.
14-11-2023, 10:54 AM
Di & her daughter Karen say thanks for the Penicuik cup final piece, neither of them had seen it before, Karen also finding out about her dad pre Raith Rovers is delighted, and tells me it has helped a lot. Again many thanks.
Thats very nice of them both .
I sent you PM
Thats very nice of them both .
I sent you PM
Responded to your Pm, hopefully 👍
14-11-2023, 03:18 PM
Responded to your Pm, hopefully ��
Yes, its a long thread and its nice that you reminded us who knew Gordon .
Am sure others on here would agree with that.
Gordon would most certainly have made his way in todays Scottish professional game.
My first away game as a wee boy, apart from Tynie ,would have been to Starks Park on the old choo choo train.!
Jimmy and cousin Dennis took me there before he signed for Hibs.
The Hibs team were in the next train carriage.
He played in a relegation/battle game there in 1962/63
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1962%E2%80%9363_Hibernian_F.C._season
My entire family were in the main stand !! Ma as well !
I dreeped down from that old stand in exuberance and ran on to the pitch .
I thought it was all over .
It was !! We won 4 nil !
There may have been a Wallace alongside us there on the pitch that day,too !
But it certainly wasn't Lee !!
Happy Days (sometimes!)
Gordon would most certainly have made his way in todays Scottish professional game.
My first away game as a wee boy, apart from Tynie ,would have been to Starks Park on the old choo choo train.!
It was !! We won 4 nil !
Happy Days (sometimes!)
14-11-2023, 06:17 PM
You probably saw this tribute in Fife press.
Just in case you didnt. !
The photo of Gordon i do recognise now !
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/gordon-wallace-tributes-paid-after-death-of-much-loved-raith-rovers-forward-who-made-over-300-appearances-4408605
You probably saw this tribute in Fife press.
Just in case you didnt. !
The photo of Gordon i do recognise now !
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/gordon-wallace-tributes-paid-after-death-of-much-loved-raith-rovers-forward-who-made-over-300-appearances-4408605
I did and it's well written, skips over his Dundee Utd spell, let's just say Gordon and Jim McLean didn't see eye to eye. The photo is good as Gordon had that boyish look, the photo is perfect.
14-11-2023, 07:48 PM
I did and it's well written, skips over his Dundee Utd spell, let's just say Gordon and Jim McLean didn't see eye to eye. The photo is good as Gordon had that boyish look, the photo is perfect.https://images.app.goo.gl/Y8MH2sSDbPQfedpJ7
Kept his boyish looks at Dundee Utd
https://images.app.goo.gl/Y8MH2sSDbPQfedpJ7
Kept his boyish looks at Dundee Utd
Do you know, he was so chuffed to get to play at that level, it's a good photo caches him perfectly, don't know if Diane has seen that one, but I'll send over, I certainly hadn't seen it.
Thanks
Do you know, he was so chuffed to get to play at that level, it's a good photo caches him perfectly, don't know if Diane has seen that one, but I'll send over, I certainly hadn't seen it.
Thanks
Gordon's funeral live streamedand available for viewing now and for a further 2 days.
https://livestream.com/accounts/10040291/events/11020876
20-11-2023, 02:34 PM
Gordon's funeral live streamedand available for viewing now and for a further 2 days.
https://livestream.com/accounts/10040291/events/11020876
Thanks for sharing
20-11-2023, 04:47 PM
Thanks for sharing
From me as well
Thanks for sharing
Welcome
From me as well
Your welcome Mick.
stuart-farquhar
20-11-2023, 07:19 PM
It was !! We won 4 nil !
Happy Days (sometimes!)
I remember that game. First trip away too.