View Full Version : The crowd

12-11-2023, 07:13 AM
Notable in Derek McInnes comments he mentioned that the “there was frustration from the home supporters”. Also mentioned in the match reports from a couple journalists. Thats what opposition teams want, when the home crowd are doing a better job at disrupting the team than visiting teams and fans it’s not ideal. People need to lighten up and maybe just let this management team get on with it.

Trinity Hibee
12-11-2023, 07:14 AM
Haha. Another person preaching to fans. Lovely.

Fans get cheesed off when the team isn’t performing. Deal with it.

Paulie Walnuts
12-11-2023, 07:16 AM
Were the crowd doing a job of disrupting the team? We won the game and Killie offered nothing really. Not sure where the disruption was coming from other than in McInnes’ head.

12-11-2023, 07:17 AM

He is absoltely spot on though. At times in the second half the fans created more problems for us than Killie.

12-11-2023, 07:17 AM

The team was performing. Constantly shouting at them to “shell it” helps no one.

12-11-2023, 07:19 AM
Notable in Derek McInnes comments he mentioned that the “there was frustration from the home supporters”. Also mentioned in the match reports from a couple journalists. Thats what opposition teams want, when the home crowd are doing a better job at disrupting the team than visiting teams and fans it’s not ideal. People need to lighten up and maybe just let this management team get on with it.

Agree totally. Clearly wasn't our best game yesterday however the reaction to Marshall when he held onto the ball was poor imo. We are one up in a tight game and pretty comfortable.

12-11-2023, 07:19 AM
He is absoltely spot on though. At times in the second half the fans created more problems for us than Killie.

There was a very nervous atmosphere and getting on top of Marshall for slowing it all down wasn’t ideal.

12-11-2023, 07:20 AM
The team was performing. Constantly shouting at them to “shell it” helps no one.

Then when we do complain about that also.

12-11-2023, 07:20 AM

Na, us passing the ball backwards too often caused us problems. The crowd were frustrated and when you’ve not won in 7 games that’s always going to come across. Wasn’t just the fans that were frustrated, the likes of Boyle was going off his head about us not playing forward enough or quickly enough.

12-11-2023, 07:23 AM
Some really bizarre grumbles from sections of the crowd today at times when we were one nil up, and being patient and retaining posession.

The strangest were the several bursts of outrage at Marshall for not throwing the ball out quickly enough for peoples liking when there wasn't even an option available to do so.

12-11-2023, 07:23 AM
There was a very nervous atmosphere and getting on top of Marshall for slowing it all down wasn’t ideal.

Given our last week the nervous atmosphere was always going to be the case though some of the reactions didn't help.

12-11-2023, 07:26 AM
Some really bizarre grumbles from sections of the crowd today at times when we were one nil up, and being patient and retaining posession.

The strangest were the several bursts of outrage at Marshall for not throwing the ball out quickly enough for peoples liking when there wasnt even an ootion available to do so.

I thought he was slow to release a couple of times when Youan and others were in space after a Killie corner.

We won the game so I can have no complaints but I felt at 1-0 we were riding our luck a little and wanted to use the pace in the team to try and break away for a 2nd.

12-11-2023, 07:28 AM
Na, us passing the ball backwards too often caused us problems. The crowd were frustrated and when you’ve not won in 7 games that’s always going to come across. Wasn’t just the fans that were frustrated, the likes of Boyle was going off his head about us not playing forward enough or quickly enough.

Don't think it did to me in the main it was controlling the game. We weren't great at it though shelling it to Boyle didn't help either as he isn't great with his back to goals especially agaibst big defenders. Personally thought we were fine second half relatively comfortable defensively and broke well on occasions which we should have done better with.

LewysGot2
12-11-2023, 07:28 AM

At the end of the game he gestured by beating his chest towards the crowd. I read that as "be brave" as if he knew folk had been OTT at times about what he is clearly being asked to do. I'm glad he has the experience and thick enough skin to block out all the background noise. It might really impact a younger, less experienced keeper.

On Wednesday night our second goal came about because Marshall held on a little longer instead of going long.

12-11-2023, 07:29 AM

The strangest were the several bursts of outrage at Marshall for not throwing the ball out quickly enough for peoples liking when there wasn't even an option available to do so.

Totally agree they didn't really help the team.

Helensburghhibs
12-11-2023, 07:29 AM

Why do you give mcinnes and brian mclaughlins comments more credibility than montys?
He got asked by the fat roaster after the game about the crowd being nervy and from his point of view the crowd helped carry the team over the line? Im guessing it was somewhere in between the 2 points of view but you have chosen to believe the opposite manager and the bbc agenda

12-11-2023, 07:32 AM
I thought he was slow to release a couple of times when Youan and others were in space after a Killie corner.

We won the game so I can have no complaints but I felt at 1-0 we were riding our luck a little and wanted to use the pace in the team to try and break away for a 2nd.

Dont think there was ever a time where he missed an opportunity to quickly throw a ball to a player in space. Always looked like they would risky throw outs and he was far better to wait and safely give it to someone else.

Might be that situations look different in different parts of the stadium sometimes but we were laughing at the grumbles because they seemed so strange.

hibee1875
12-11-2023, 07:38 AM
Dont think there was ever a time where he missed an opportunity to quickly throw a ball to a player in space. Always looked like they would risky throw outs and he was far better to wait and safely give it to someone else.

Might be that situations look different in different parts of the stadium sometimes but we were laughing at the grumbles because they seemed so strange.

It’s exactly that. What pass out to Youan/Boyle/Jair when maybe they have a little space but there is no one else near them all that would happen is the ball would be straight back on top of us.

The boos from the crowd were a disgrace tbh

12-11-2023, 07:42 AM
Don't think it did to me in the main it was controlling the game. We weren't great at it though shelling it to Boyle didn't help either as he isn't great with his back to goals especially agaibst big defenders. Personally thought we were fine second half relatively comfortable defensively and broke well on occasions which we should have done better with.

There is a middle ground between playing back the way and retaining the ball to simply shelling it up the park. There were times when there were forward passes on and we opted to go back to the centre halves then back to the goalie and just let Kilmarnock get back in.

hibee1875
12-11-2023, 07:47 AM
There is a middle ground between playing back the way and retaining the ball to simply shelling it up the park. There were times when there were forward passes on and we opted to go back to the centre halves then back to the goalie and just let Kilmarnock get back in.

In those instances it might just be the player on the ball isn’t confident in making the pass.

We now have 2 players who can take the ball in tight situations and turn away in Jair and Levitt. Would be great if we had another one or two

12-11-2023, 07:48 AM

Agree with that though when ahead probably more inclined to play safer option. Killie were good at winnng the ball back when we did try and play forward.

Posh Swanny
12-11-2023, 07:49 AM
One that stuck out to me was the crowd berating Marshall for not giving it to Campbell wide left. Campbell FFS - not even someone with pace like Boyle or Youan. Yes, he was in space but totally isolated from the rest of the team with three Killie players bearing down on him. Suicidal option.

12-11-2023, 08:05 AM
Got to admit the whole screaming at Marshall when he doesn't release it immediately every time does my head in.

It's not just this game it's been constant for a year. Fans need to calm down a bit and realise we can't play like it's a game of basketball all the time.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

12-11-2023, 08:05 AM
I thought the crowd was fairly rubbish yesterday. Booing when we're winning and going about the game plan - admittedly with some nerves - is pretty rotten behaviour. You're basically saying you don't want to watch what the manager is coaching the team to do.

He's also being generous to say the crowd helped the team over the line. Didn't really get a sense of that bar a couple of muted sing songs late on. We don't win much at the moment, but getting to 90 minutes in the lead in a tight game and making it to full time feels a bit underwhelming these days - not like it used to be.

12-11-2023, 08:13 AM
The most bizarre thing is folk piling out before the end, particularly in a tight game that could go either way.
You wouldn't go to the theatre or cinema and bugger off before the end.
Obviously this doesn't apply to folk who need to beat the traffic for whatever reason.

12-11-2023, 08:16 AM
The most bizarre thing is folk piling out before the end, particularly in a tight game that could go either way.
Obviously this doesn't apply to folk who need to beat the traffic for whatever reason.

Never really get that, especially in a game like that. The crowd must have about halved after 85 minutes.

Keepthefaith
12-11-2023, 08:52 AM
I thought the crowd was fairly rubbish yesterday. Booing when we're winning and going about the game plan - admittedly with some nerves - is pretty rotten behaviour. You're basically saying you don't want to watch what the manager is coaching the team to do.

He's also being generous to say the crowd helped the team over the line. Didn't really get a sense of that bar a couple of muted sing songs late on. We don't win much at the moment, but getting to 90 minutes in the lead in a tight game and making it to full time feels a bit underwhelming these days - not like it used to be.

I thought the crowd were very quiet too, can't say I heard booing as such, more like grumbling/ frustration. Didn't help that block 7 sang be few songs anyone knows!

IMO there were a few opportunities missed from Marshall not releasing the ball to Boyle and youan in particular, which folk then generalise as missed opportunities every time which as you pointed out wasn't the case.

Equally when we did work it out well through the press, there was appreciation from the crowd...as we improve both performance and results wise I think folk will learn to see the method and not overreact as much.

Anyone else remember how much we moaned about getting the ball forward too quickly and losing possession each time?!

Skol
12-11-2023, 08:59 AM
I do find the demand of some in the crowd to be very frustrating. They want quick balls played but you can bet your live that if poorly executed they will be on the back of the same players. You have to trust the judgement and if Marshall (or anyone els3)thinks it’s a risk, then retain the ball.

12-11-2023, 09:03 AM
Have to agree, wasn't a great around me yesterday (myself included). Loads of moaning and complaints. Atmosphere was honking as well. But really who cares? We won

12-11-2023, 09:05 AM
So it's the Hibs fans fault for getting restless/worried when we've have lost so many goals after going ahead recently and also the Hibs fans fault for not entirely trusting Marshall who has also lost us lots of goals in the last season and a half(great save at the end though)

Got it

12-11-2023, 09:08 AM
So, it’s the fans fault we don’t play well? Ok then.

How delicate do you think the players are? They have to take responsibility for not performing, not the people who spend their hard earned money coming to watch them.

As for people leaving early. It is a strange one, but it’s their choice what they do with their time. And if they want to miss the last 5-10 mins, so be it.

12-11-2023, 09:09 AM

I think it’s a large part to do with the traffic as you allude to. As an out of town branch member our bus got back to Alloa 50 mins later than when I first started on the bus many years ago. The road layout is a bit better now with tramlines complete but still the sheer volume of traffic makes getting out of the city horrendous.

On the rare occasion I travel by car, leaving even a minute or two ahead of the crowd can cut your travel time down considerably. Although I would only do it if a game is done and dusted.

12-11-2023, 09:11 AM

How delicate do you think the players are? They have to take responsibility for not performing, not the people who spend their hard earned money coming to watch them.

As for people leaving early. It is a strange one, but it’s their choice what they do with their time. And if they want to miss the last 5-10 mins, so be it.

They did perform and won.

12-11-2023, 09:16 AM
I actually said to my dad at about 75 minutes ‘if we win, I wonder if some fans will boo’ such was the reaction from some at that point.

Weird behaviour.

12-11-2023, 09:21 AM
I actually said to my dad at about 75 minutes ‘if we win, I wonder if some fans will boo’ such was the reaction to some at that point.

Weird behaviour.

Was bizarre eh? Even the folk around me who are usually quiet or positive were pretty negative today. Don't get me wrong, wasn't a great performance, but hasn't been that negative in a good while

12-11-2023, 09:33 AM
I get folks frustrations with all the kicks in the teeth we’ve had recently but we’re winning 1 nil, at home, in a tight game, getting on the players backs is the last thing they need.

12-11-2023, 09:43 AM
I get folks frustrations with all the kicks in the teeth we’ve had recently but we’re winning 1 nil, at home, in a tight game, getting on the players backs is the last thing they need.

Absolutely think it was just a symbol of people's nevervousness given the last three games. Hopefully the fact we win this one will help next time.

Keepthefaith
12-11-2023, 09:50 AM

this is fundamentally it. no one is saying the team are perfect or folk don't have the right to feel nervous - I know I did and I'm generally positive! however we do have a choice about how we express it and the wee bit of singing that took off right at the end was more supportive. its only human nature to be impacted by some of the negativity prior to that, justified or not.

guess what we're saying is if we encourage rather than criticise, the players are more likely to play better and see the win out. its not rocket science!

12-11-2023, 09:51 AM

As for people leaving early. It is a strange one, but it’s their choice what they do with their time. And if they want to miss the last 5-10 mins, so be it.It's not the fault of the fans whether we play well or not. Screaming and booing at the players while they are carrying out their orders and generally taking out frustration , while the team were winning, is down to the fans. If I stood behind you at your work and constantly slated what you do, how you do it and point out how it could be done better, it would affect how you work no matter how informed or deserved my comments were.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

12-11-2023, 10:16 AM
Why do you give mcinnes and brian mclaughlins comments more credibility than montys?
He got asked by the fat roaster after the game about the crowd being nervy and from his point of view the crowd helped carry the team over the line? Im guessing it was somewhere in between the 2 points of view but you have chosen to believe the opposite manager and the bbc agenda

I must have wax in my ears because aside from moaning when Marshall didn't release the ball, maybe a few mutterings when the ball went backwards when perhaps there was a viable forward option, the crowd was quiet. After the disappointment of last week, understandably so, especially in the face of a performance that was largely pretty grim.

Team plays well, fans get on board. |Team underperform and there will be disquiet. So it has always been.

12-11-2023, 10:24 AM
There were times the crowd was getting nervous and it is understandable but there were quite a few times yesterday where we had the ball, were managing the game really well, and the crowd made a player play it quicker than they needed, or at least that is what it looked like.

12-11-2023, 10:31 AM

Im not. It was clear how the crowd were. Monty is just being positive and rightfully so to get everyone pulling together.

12-11-2023, 10:34 AM
Im not. It was clear how the crowd were. Monty is just being positive and rightfully so to get everyone pulling together.

I like Monty.

12-11-2023, 10:58 AM
I only heard the crowd getting frustrated a couple of times in the second half. Not ideal but it wasn't exactly a major issue.

What struck me more than that was how quiet the home end was for most of the game (apart from the noise from the drums).

HendoDelivered
12-11-2023, 12:10 PM
Pre relegation I remember this used to be a big issue/factor. Opposing teams managers would publicly say they tried to get the Hibs fans frustrated/turn on the team a bit which the opposition would use to their advantage. Stuart McCall said this a couple times when he was at Well.

Lets not get back to this 👍🏼

12-11-2023, 12:35 PM
I find I have increasingly less tolerance for some fans at games.

I can moan with the best of them on here, in the pub, in WhatsApp groups with mates and whatever but at a game screaming and shouting at players is counterproductive. Every away manager wants to get the crowd to turn, how often have we said it when going to Glasgow or Tynecastle? Keep it tight, shut the crowd up and get them edgy.

I've actually challenged people a couple of times this season, including yesterday. You can spot the guys who have never played the game a mile off, having no concept that some players are happy receiving the ball under pressure is usually the absolute give away. 99% of the time when you challenge these loudmouths and ask them what a player should have done instead of what they did do they simply can't answer because they have no clue.

I'll mutter the odd '**** sake' when a simple pass is overhit or whatever and I don't mind the pantomime booing at HT but this incessant howling every time a pass doesn't go forward and targeted abuse at certain players is draining.

GreenGray
12-11-2023, 01:11 PM
If we’re being completely honest the crowd at Easter Road is pretty poor and has been for a while now.

Decent attendances but not much noise unless it’s grumbles or boos.

Torto7
12-11-2023, 02:47 PM

Every Scottish club has those guys. They just want the ball hoofed all the time, the St Mirren fans were coming over clear and loud as well midweek.

12-11-2023, 03:33 PM
If we’re being completely honest the crowd at Easter Road is pretty poor and has been for a while now.

Decent attendances but not much noise unless it’s grumbles or boos.

I was at Sunderland game a while back and considering how guff they have been for years the crowd were so positive. It really surprised me tbh. Maybe that’s the norm and we are all moaning twats!

GreenGray
12-11-2023, 03:35 PM
I was at Sunderland game a while back and considering how guff they have been for years the crowd were so positive. It really surprised me tbh. Maybe that’s the norm and we are all moaning twats!

Hibs crowd has a major problem imo, couldn’t pin point why though. Amount of grumbles and moans you hear when the team are simply keeping the ball is baffling.

12-11-2023, 04:53 PM

Exactly this. People criticise our poor game management and then go nuts when we do exactly that.

12-11-2023, 05:16 PM
We have a lot of fans who don’t have the patience for patient football.

Silky
12-11-2023, 05:57 PM

Aye. I think it contributes to it! Trying to manage a game, keeping the ball and there is nothing but howls of derision to "get it up the park". Same as when a player maybe takes a risk and tries something which doesn't come off, he gets it tight for giving the ball away, never is there any acknowledgement for trying it in the first place!

There are fans, we've all heard them, who are on the players back right from kick off. All that does is play into the oppositions hands, imo. We've had a poor record at ER for a while now. That can't be a coincidence.

12-11-2023, 06:12 PM

I don’t know what it’s like in the West (where I sit) but the East seems to empty quicker almost every week. Even the Celtic game when it was 0-0 it was basically half empty at about 87 mins.

Each to their own and I’m sure everyone has their reasons but it seems weird for such a big percentage of the crowd to commit to attending the match but not be there at its conclusion. The last 5-10 mins is generally the most exciting when the game could go either way- also a chance to celebrate with the team of the result goes our way.

mcohibs
12-11-2023, 06:18 PM
I don’t know what it’s like in the West (where I sit) but the East seems to empty quicker almost every week. Even the Celtic game when it was 0-0 it was basically half empty at about 87 mins.

Each to their own and I’m sure everyone has their reasons but it seems weird for such a big percentage of the crowd to commit to attending the match but not be there at its conclusion. The last 5-10 mins is generally the most exciting when the game could go either way- also a chance to celebrate with the team of the result goes our way.

The East stand is a nightmare to get out of if you’re in the higher rows. Leaving 2 minutes early can sometimes save you 20 minutes all in.

There’s not enough exit tunnels. If there was ever an emergency situation in that stand it would be pandemonium.

12-11-2023, 06:21 PM

If you sit high up in the east, because there’s only exits at the very bottom, if you’re still in your seat at the full time whistle, it can take aaaaaages to get out the ground. Which would mean by the time I’m back to my car it can end up adding another half an hour getting back home in fife as the traffic will be busier too.

I tend to get up at 90 minutes and start to slowly go down the steps (I don’t stop as not fair to block anyone’s view) normally busy as you get to the bottom so normally find the full time whistle is just going as I’m at the concourse tunnel.

TrinityHFC
12-11-2023, 06:37 PM
We have a lot of fans who don’t have the patience for patient football.

I don’t think our fans are as uneducated about the finer points of football as many are suggesting. Yes, there are always some at the extreme end but I think the atmosphere yesterday reflects what we are being served up. There’s patient, possession football and then there’s just dull, safe football with little purpose. We are currently nearer the latter and until we get nearer to entertaining the fans then there will be reaction.

Think we need to step back and realise that we’re trying to rationalise lumping over the line against one of worst teams in the league at home. Yes it’s also about that being an improvement on recent results which doesn’t help really.

In the whole we’re not a daft lot. We haven’t been seeing that sort of reaction in the crowd for some time.

12-11-2023, 06:43 PM
If you sit high up in the east, because there’s only exits at the very bottom, if you’re still in your seat at the full time whistle, it can take aaaaaages to get out the ground. Which would mean by the time I’m back to my car it can end up adding another half an hour getting back home in fife as the traffic will be busier too.

I tend to get up at 90 minutes and start to slowly go down the steps (I don’t stop as not fair to block anyone’s view) normally busy as you get to the bottom so normally find the full time whistle is just going as I’m at the concourse tunnel.

I guess that’s a downside of only one tier. Very worrying though if it feels like it’s a safety hazard.

12-11-2023, 06:48 PM
The Killie keeper was pretty good at taking in a corner & within seconds bowling it wide left, to where their best forward was already in place.

Coaching.

We'll get there but this is currently an area where we don't maximise the assets in our team (marsh's distribution & forwards pace) on the turnover

Gordy M
12-11-2023, 07:04 PM
I don’t think our fans are as uneducated about the finer points of football as many are suggesting. Yes, there are always some at the extreme end but I think the atmosphere yesterday reflects what we are being served up. There’s patient, possession football and then there’s just dull, safe football with little purpose. We are currently nearer the latter and until we get nearer to entertaining the fans then there will be reaction.

Think we need to step back and realise that we’re trying to rationalise lumping over the line against one of worst teams in the league at home. Yes it’s also about that being an improvement on recent results which doesn’t help really.

In the whole we’re not a daft lot. We haven’t been seeing that sort of reaction in the crowd for some time.

We have scored more goals than anyone outwith the Old Firm(joint with St Mirren) so not exactly playing boring dull football. If you watch most good teams and i include the old firm in our league, they very rarely just lump it. All good teams try and posses the ball and play out. I can see what NM is trying to do. Now the argument is whether we have the players to do that? Im not sure, but at least he is trying something that good teams do.

12-11-2023, 07:13 PM
I guess that’s a downside of only one tier. Very worrying though if it feels like it’s a safety hazard.

As I've said before, they need to look at building exit only stairs on the back of the East.

scm70nyd1973
12-11-2023, 07:14 PM

I dare say it will e the sane at every ground - nothing new in what he is saying - probs trying to be the psychy master but failing

12-11-2023, 08:12 PM

The game was rubbish. Really, really boring. Fans need something to react to and glacial paced passing in our own half is not going to get pulses racing.
Let's hope that was an off day and I get there are going to be nerves in the team with only two league wins prior to yesterday... We were definitely more positive in the loss to Aberdeen and draw at St Mirren.
We've got some good forwards, we need to get them on the ball in dangerous positions more often.

12-11-2023, 09:10 PM
I think he was talking a bout the short goal kicks rather in general.

Callyballybe
13-11-2023, 05:37 AM
I know that what McInnes said has been levelled at the Hibs crowd before, but in this particular circumstance, the frustration would've been based on the fact that we've seen our team throw away leads consistently over the past six weeks or so. I think a level of frustration would be expected when 1-0 up with ten minutes to go.

I wasn't at the the game this time round, but I imagine there was huge collective sigh of relief around ER when the final whistle went.

13-11-2023, 06:07 AM
I find I have increasingly less tolerance for some fans at games.

I can moan with the best of them on here, in the pub, in WhatsApp groups with mates and whatever but at a game screaming and shouting at players is counterproductive. Every away manager wants to get the crowd to turn, how often have we said it when going to Glasgow or Tynecastle? Keep it tight, shut the crowd up and get them edgy.

I've actually challenged people a couple of times this season, including yesterday. You can spot the guys who have never played the game a mile off, having no concept that some players are happy receiving the ball under pressure is usually the absolute give away. 99% of the time when you challenge these loudmouths and ask them what a player should have done instead of what they did do they simply can't answer because they have no clue.

I'll mutter the odd '**** sake' when a simple pass is overhit or whatever and I don't mind the pantomime booing at HT but this incessant howling every time a pass doesn't go forward and targeted abuse at certain players is draining.

Excellent post. Have the same near where I am. Everyone moans at times but the constant loud nonsense guy was shouting for a pass back when Killie guy thighed it back and abuse to players who clearly wouldn't be able to hear them but everyone around them does is as you say draining. One clear downside of all seater stadiums. :greengrin

13-11-2023, 06:11 AM

Clearly Killie are not one of the worst teams.