View Full Version : McInnes football
Cat Stanton
11-11-2023, 06:24 PM
Cynical and dirty.
I admit I was initially keen for him to get the Hibs job - and you can certainly argue that Hibs need a bit more physicality in this league - but his teams are just horrible. Any player that gets past their player is cynically brought down. Every single time. Not just today, but every match.
Glad we don't have him as manager.
11-11-2023, 06:26 PM
Cynical and dirty.
I admit I was initially keen for him to get the Hibs job - and you can certainly argue that Hibs need a bit more physicality in this league - but his teams are just horrible. Any player that gets past their player is cynically brought down. Every single time. Not just today, but every match.
Glad we don't have him as manager.
Maybe if we did that we might be a couple of points better off and in a final this week alone. Kilmarnock played well today.
I didn’t enjoy watching Kilmarnock today. I am glad we didnt get sucked into the hype.
11-11-2023, 06:28 PM
I thought Kilmarnock played well today, particularly in the 2nd half, and were decent to watch for long spells.
Talking them down talks down how well we did to dig deep and get the 3 points. You can see why they are so high up the table imo.
11-11-2023, 06:32 PM
McInnes reported a fan after the game for something said to him. Not sure what and not sure if it was to the club or the police.
11-11-2023, 06:32 PM
Thought Killie played some really good stuff today. Definitely nowhere near as direct as I thought they'd be.
Wish we went for Findlay, thought he looked solid.
11-11-2023, 06:33 PM
Complete anti-football by that clown Mcinnes, it was a joy watching him go nuts on the touchline. Dont know how many times one of the killie boys dragged back a hibs man, to stop the play, call it what you want but that is not the kind of Football I pay go maney to go and watch.
Some wanted him at Hibs, no thank you.
11-11-2023, 06:34 PM
I thought Kilmarnock played well today, particularly in the 2nd half, and were decent to watch for long spells.
Talking them down talks down how well we did to dig deep and get the 3 points. You can see why they are so high up the table imo.
I thought Kilmarnock were decent too. Organised, play a bit of football at times and look to use the good wingers they have. Certainly Armstrong who would be a good, if no idea how realistic, a signing.
They are good at taking a booking, which is frustrating but a dark art we could improve upon and partly why they’re doing as well as they are.
11-11-2023, 06:34 PM
McInnes reported a fan after the game for something said to him. Not sure what and not sure if it was to the club or the police.
Someone obviously called him something rhyming with fun. What else could it be? Orange and he'd just think you were complimenting his tan.
11-11-2023, 06:35 PM
Long ball 1980s football. No attempt to play it out from the back.
supermcginn
11-11-2023, 06:37 PM
I wouldn't be totally surprised if he ends up at us yet, good manager
11-11-2023, 06:39 PM
I wouldn't be totally surprised if he ends up at us yet, good manager
He'll never manage hibs and Doidge will be back.
Just saying.
LeithMike
11-11-2023, 06:43 PM
You watched a different game from me. Kilmarnock didn’t hit one long ball to a striker and played the ball around the back in much the same way as Hibs (albeit didn’t go back as much).
Thought Kilmarnock were decent, particularly given they have not invested a lot of money in their team.
McInnes is a very good manager and isn’t judged fairly in my opinion. Also comes across as a really decent guy.
11-11-2023, 06:44 PM
I think they are quite effective at what they do and for the most part they’ll get away with it for now. I do think it’s a dying breed of football though and over the next 5 years or so, teams will play it less and less, for good reason.
I thought they were alright today but never actually created anything really. Physically it was men against boys at times but it’s not a wrestling match and when it came down to a footballing battle we were better than them. I’m delighted we never appointed him.
mvteng
11-11-2023, 06:44 PM
It was to a steward. Immediately in front of the home dug out. He was absolutely raging
Paul1642
11-11-2023, 06:45 PM
Maybe if we did that we might be a couple of points better off and in a final this week alone. Kilmarnock played well today.
Maybe we would be however long time it wouldn’t last. We are a club on the up and Monty’s results don’t yet reflect the progress we have made since his appointment.
By the end of the season there won’t be anybody wishing we should have went for Mcinnes
11-11-2023, 06:45 PM
You watched a different game from me. Kilmarnock didn’t hit one long ball to a striker and played the ball around the back in much the same way as Hibs (albeit didn’t go back as much).
Thought Kilmarnock were decent, particularly given they have not invested a lot of money in their team.
McInnes is a very good manager and isn’t judged fairly in my opinion. Also comes across as a really decent guy.
If they were that decent they would have created more chances with all the possession they had.
11-11-2023, 06:48 PM
It was to a steward. Immediately in front of the home dug out. He was absolutely raging
:greengrin he is just another Atilla, scratch the surface and thats what you will find, only time I would want him anywhere near Easter Road is in the away dugout.
Cream bun and classless with it.
supermcginn
11-11-2023, 06:51 PM
He'll never manage hibs and Doidge will be back.
Just saying.
Wrong on one count for sure , more than likely two
I thought towards the end it was a nervous hibs trying not to lose a lead rather than a positive Kilmarnock looking more likely.
11-11-2023, 06:58 PM
I can’t believe folk thought Killie played well today. They did very little until the last 10 minutes when the bombarded us with balls in to the box a bit but they played very little decent stuff IMO.
We weren’t good by any stretch, but we were still better and the few moments of quality in the game were from us.
Interestingly, there were 5 Killie fans sitting next to us in the Hibs Club before the game. When their team came through they were having a good rant about that, and a good rant about McInnes.
11-11-2023, 06:59 PM
They got away with a lot of fouls before the ref finally found his yellow card.
While Hibs had some poor spells in the game, there were a number of times we might have created something were it not for the continual fouling by the opposition.
11-11-2023, 07:00 PM
Him and Monty were giving each other serious verbals towards the end of the game.
11-11-2023, 07:01 PM
Wrong on one count for sure , more than likely two
What's the story with Doidge?
11-11-2023, 07:08 PM
What's the story with Dodge?
It's a US car manufacturer, founded in 1900 by two brothers with the name 'Dodge', and based in Michigan.
Why do you ask?
babahibs
11-11-2023, 07:10 PM
He'll never be Hibs manager
11-11-2023, 07:12 PM
He'll never be Hibs manager
He would be like Alex Miller wi a suntan, no thank you.
Crunchie
11-11-2023, 07:14 PM
I agree totally, yet some would have you believe they're a poor team.
11-11-2023, 07:16 PM
So not as thrilling as Hibs current style then?
LunasBoots
11-11-2023, 07:16 PM
Wonder if he'll report the 50,000 rangers when he's next at Ibrox 🙄
NC1875
11-11-2023, 07:21 PM
Could say his teams are streetwise. Something we’re definitely not.
One point from six against hibs and only one point ahead despite our very poor start and mediocre recent form.
11-11-2023, 07:30 PM
So not as thrilling as Hibs current style then?
Hibs style produced much more than what Kilmarnock’s did today. And I don’t think we played well by any stretch.
11-11-2023, 07:35 PM
Hibs style produced much more than what Kilmarnock’s did today. And I don’t think we played well by any stretch.
Do you enjoy the current style? We seem to muck around at the back then lump it, or muck around and go all the way back to Marshall. I don't see what we're trying to do when we're breaking forward either.
Happy to give it time but a lot of games recently have been horrible so I just think it's a bit rich us slagging off Killie.
11-11-2023, 07:37 PM
Long ball 1980s football. No attempt to play it out from the back. I was at a different game. They may be more direct than us but they are far from a hoof it up the park team. In terms of all the anti football comments in this thread, while it is frustrating when a team is doing it to you it is far less frustrating when your player takes one for the team. Nearly every team does it to some extent, we are unable to do it because for some reason we are far, far more likely to be booked for similar fouls than every team we play. I only have 50 years of anecdotal evidence for that though
Do you enjoy the current style? We seem to muck around at the back then lump it, or muck around and go all the way back to Marshall. I don't see what we're trying to do when we're breaking forward either.
Happy to give it time but a lot of games recently have been horrible so I just think it's a bit rich us slagging off Killie.
I thought mcanns analysis on sportscene was pretty good. More positive than mine, but when it works, it creates chances. The issue is that it comes with risk and sometimes our players are not quite capable enough of the quick thinking and crisp passing control and movement required.
11-11-2023, 07:39 PM
Thought they looked decent in the first 15 mins or so, then they had a wee spell of possession and pressure in the 2nd half, but they never really threatened us.
Don't remember any dirty play from either side, it was a pretty low-key match, without much incident.
11-11-2023, 07:41 PM
Watch tonight’s sportscene on bbc iPlayer. Neil Mc Cann explains it far better than I could type on a message board.
Can't say I saw a lot of lumping it today.
11-11-2023, 07:42 PM
I thought mcanns analysis on sportscene was pretty good. More positive than mine, but when it works, it creates chances. The issue is that it comes with risk and sometimes our players are not quite capable enough of the quick thinking and crisp passing control and movement required.
Great minds:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin my issue with it is we do it far too slowly. It needs to be sharper. It might just be that we don’t have the players to do it properly.
11-11-2023, 07:44 PM
I didn’t particularly enjoy it today but it’s early days and I think there are clear signs that we’re trying to do something. And I think with a few tweaks and probably a couple of additions in January we’ll improve. Ironically, I think it’s the poorest we played in the last week but the only game we won.
I think we’ve got miles to go but actually trying to build something will give us a better chance of being successful than just playing percentage football and hoping for the best.
As I say, we weren’t good today. But we were better than Killie.
11-11-2023, 07:45 PM
They'll probably go for Robinson but McInnes is the most oven ready Hearts manager
And he'd do well there
11-11-2023, 07:59 PM
They'll probably go for Robinson but McInnes is the most oven ready Hearts manager
And he'd do well there
Anti football with an anti football club, perfect fit and he being a diet Atilla would fit in perfect as well.
Horrible thought for the future.
**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
Keepthefaith
11-11-2023, 08:01 PM
I didn’t particularly enjoy it today but it’s early days and I think there are clear signs that we’re trying to do something. And I think with a few tweaks and probably a couple of additions in January we’ll improve. Ironically, I think it’s the poorest we played in the last week but the only game we won.
I think we’ve got miles to go but actually trying to build something will give us a better chance of being successful than just playing percentage football and hoping for the best.
As I say, we weren’t good today. But we were better than Killie.
well summised, this along with the comment re McCann analysis really does show the benefit of playing the way monty wants us to play. I thought we looked nervous today, crowd were nervy and there were times in the second half we were looking to hastily get rid rather than have composure. as for killie playing well, folk on here are having a laugh - first shot on target in the 90th minute. if we'd been on our game we'd have smashed them
11-11-2023, 08:03 PM
well summised, this along with the comment re McCann analysis really does show the benefit of playing the way monty wants us to play. I thought we looked nervous today, crowd were nervy and there were times in the second half we were looking to hastily get rid rather than have composure. as for killie playing well, folk on here are having a laugh - first shot on target in the 90th minute. if we'd been on our game we'd have smashed them
We will get better with better quality players and time.
john rossi
11-11-2023, 08:20 PM
I thought Killie flooded the midfield 5 against our 2 tactically mcinnes and many others in the spl know how to dominate Hibs in this area, we were very fortunate to get 3 pts today.
why oh why won’t the manager play 3 at the back which would push our full backs further up the park to support the midfield my god Levitt was playing sweeper crazy tactics. IMO I would have taken mcinnes over Montgomery any day of the week hope he doe’s end up at ER.
11-11-2023, 08:24 PM
I thought Killie flooded the midfield 5 against our 2 tactically mcinnes and many others in the spl know how to dominate Hibs in this area, we were very fortunate to get 3 pts today.
why oh why won’t the manager play 3 at the back which would push our full backs further up the park to support the midfield my god Levitt was playing sweeper crazy tactics. IMO I would have taken mcinnes over Montgomery any day of the week hope he doe’s end up at ER.
What did Killie have to show for tactically out thinking us today? Apart from a few more corners obviously. Our goalie made his first save in the 90th minute.
Think about what you just said. Lol.
Our full backs play very wide and push up. The midfielders drop back and. At times make three at the back as we try to workt he ball into space. Still needs work but it’s not a bad approach.
11-11-2023, 08:36 PM
It's a US car manufacturer, founded in 1900 by two brothers with the name 'Dodge', and based in Michigan.
Why do you ask?
Very good 👍
11-11-2023, 09:08 PM
Yeah let's take the losing manager over our winning one!
The "crazy tactics" got us a win today. He plays a 442 you know, so that's why we don't play 3 at the back.
11-11-2023, 09:16 PM
I'm amazed people thought Killie were good to watch today.
They did absolutely nothing as an attacking force until the last 20 minutes and even then, it was just chucking balls into the box.
I'm also really happy with how we are trying to play under the new manager. Yes it's not working all the time at the moment but we want to pass the ball. Sometimes it has to go back but that's what happens when you don't just lump it forward at the first sign of trouble.
We are in no way the finished article but I appreciate a manager with a clear style and tactics. LJ talked constantly but it had no resemblance to how we played. I don't even know what Maloney was trying to do.
I'm really excited to see what Monty can do once he's had a couple of windows to bring in his own players.
11-11-2023, 09:23 PM
well summised, this along with the comment re McCann analysis really does show the benefit of playing the way monty wants us to play. I thought we looked nervous today, crowd were nervy and there were times in the second half we were looking to hastily get rid rather than have composure. as for killie playing well, folk on here are having a laugh - first shot on target in the 90th minute. if we'd been on our game we'd have smashed themIt was the crowd that got nervy. We had a long spell of possession and every time the ball went back to keep possession, the crowd -nerves' got worse and got on the back of the players.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
11-11-2023, 09:32 PM
It was the crowd that got nervy. We had a long spell of possession and every time the ball went back to keep possession, the crowd -nerves' got worse and got on the back of the players.
I thought it was more frustration than nerves from the crowd.
There were times we played back the way when we didn’t need to. Wasn’t just the crowd who got frustrated, the forwards were as well. Boyle was cracking up at one point in the second half.
They'll probably go for Robinson but McInnes is the most oven ready Hearts manager.
Are you saying he's a roaster?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
why oh why won’t the manager play 3 at the back which would push our full backs further up the park to support the midfield my god Levitt was playing sweeper crazy tactics. IMO I would have taken mcinnes over Montgomery any day of the week hope he doe’s end up at ER.Crazy tactics. More like you're on the crazy tictacs.
11-11-2023, 10:18 PM
Good manager
Donegal Hibby
11-11-2023, 10:26 PM
Good manager
I agree though brand of football his team's play is rank imo .
1875Sean
11-11-2023, 10:36 PM
Interesting take in playing well! Thankful he isn’t the Hibs manager
Keepthefaith
11-11-2023, 10:37 PM
It was the crowd that got nervy. We had a long spell of possession and every time the ball went back to keep possession, the crowd -nerves' got worse and got on the back of the players.
don't really disagree, though there were a few rash attempts at clearances late in the game which did look like the players were nervous on the back of the draw on weds. at least there was some appreciation from the crowd when the playing through the high press worked. think most fans can see there's a method trying to be improved there.
Keepthefaith
11-11-2023, 10:43 PM
so you'd rather have a manager where we've taken 4/6 points from his team, and should have won both. the manager whose team is ranked 8th in the world I believe for being direct?
were you at the Celtic game when monty showed how effective we can be with competing in midfield in this formation? you're living in the dark ages if you think McInnes is the answer, maybe you just think the Scottish game needs Scottish players and Scottish managers? I applaud the club for looking at something more daring, something that can push the club on. IMO you'll never get what you want as I'm confident Monty has the ability to improve us and be successful, way beyond anything Mcinness could achieve. go ask Aberdeen fans how much they loved his footy...
11-11-2023, 10:43 PM
They got away with a lot of fouls before the ref finally found his yellow card.
While Hibs had some poor spells in the game, there were a number of times we might have created something were it not for the continual fouling by the opposition.
Referee was pathetic no wonder the spfl is such a poor spectacle at times when teams can cynically foul over and over. Should have been about 4 yellows but no he gives them a warning so they can do again. Ends up with Findlay who should have been booked able to rip off Jairs top second half.
12-11-2023, 12:43 AM
Was an absolute nap that folk would be on here tonight deriding Killie’s style of play - based on nothing other than who their manager is. In terms of quality of football played, there wasn’t much between the sides today.
Killie were decent, they were the team on the front foot for the first 25 mins and could have been ahead before we scored. Don’t recognise the style of play that some are describing, we went long more than Killie did, until the dying minutes.
As for the cynical fouls, they didn’t commit a single one that I wouldn’t want a Hibs player to commit in the same situation. Indeed, if we were more cynical we might have a cup final to look forward to next month.
12-11-2023, 03:20 AM
Was an absolute nap that folk would be on here tonight deriding Killie’s style of play - based on nothing other than who their manager is. In terms of quality of football played, there wasn’t much between the sides today.
Killie were decent, they were the team on the front foot for the first 25 mins and could have been ahead before we scored. Don’t recognise the style of play that some are describing, we went long more than Killie did, until the dying minutes.
As for the cynical fouls, they didn’t commit a single one that I wouldn’t want a Hibs player to commit in the same situation. Indeed, if we were more cynical we might have a cup final to look forward to next month.
Yup. I’d agree. I thought they were a decent footballing team today. I actually thought they were better team despite what stats say. They definitely didn’t come across as the 7th most direct team in the world behind Sean Dyche’s Everton. I think a lot of people on here are snobbish of McInnes.
12-11-2023, 04:33 AM
He was not playing sweeper, and we weren't lucky. They created zero.
Crunchie
12-11-2023, 06:21 AM
Countless posts saying the same thing, how boring.
12-11-2023, 06:56 AM
Can't say this enough. Levitt dropped deep to pick up the ball from our defence. Same thing happens at every game around the country. If he was playing sweeper he'd be behind the two CBs when Killie were attacking!
I don't know if people on here are trolling but I can't believe someone who watched that game would want McInnes over Monty.
They only started to attack in the last twenty minutes, and even then they just chucked balls into the box and hardly troubled Marshall.
We are still very much a work in progress but I love that Monty is getting us to always try and pass the ball and actually play football. Fans are going to need to stop being so impatient and understand we'll need to go back sometimes to go forward.
Bushiri, Miller and especially Tavares have all improved under manager.
This has been said umpteen times about Hibs but I honestly feel we're 3-4 good players away from being both a successful and great to watch side. We might need a couple windows though before we get there.
12-11-2023, 07:02 AM
McInnes has an absolutely abysmal away record with Kilmarnock. 4 wins in 33 away matches (two of those wins in the championship). It’s almost as if they have something on their side in the home fixtures that gives them quite a big advantage…
12-11-2023, 07:04 AM
My frustration was more at the ref. They can play how they want though should receive the yellow cards when deserved so that they don't get two goes at chopping someone down. Killie were fine but didn't create much imo. Surprised Kennedy didn't start as he was very good against Aberdeen recently.
12-11-2023, 07:05 AM
McInnes has an absolutely abysmal away record with Kilmarnock. 4 wins in 33 away matches (two of those wins in the championship). It’s almost as if they have something on their side in the home fixtures that gives them quite a big advantage…
Absolutely fair point.
Can't say this enough. Levitt dropped deep to pick up the ball from our defence. Same thing happens at every game around the country. If he was playing sweeper he'd be behind the two CBs when Killie were attacking!
I don't know if people on here are trolling but I can't believe someone who watched that game would want McInnes over Monty.
They only started to attack in the last twenty minutes, and even then they just chucked balls into the box and hardly troubled Marshall.
We are still very much a work in progress but I love that Monty is getting us to always try and pass the ball and actually play football. Fans are going to need to stop being so impatient and understand we'll need to go back sometimes to go forward.
This has been said umpteen times about Hibs but I honestly feel we're 3-4 good players away from being both a successful and great to watch side. We might need a couple windows though before we get there.
It is hard to argue with anything you have said. Plenty will though.
Kilmarnock aim was to frustrate hibs. They didn’t ever really look like scoring. Hibs did especially in the first half.
12-11-2023, 07:14 AM
So is our manager a clown or imposter this week? And Levitt wasn't playing as a sweeper, you are clearly at it
12-11-2023, 07:15 AM
Agree with all of this I like that we are trying to be a possession based team it to me is a braver and harder style to implement than being organised defensively. Much better that fans weren't so impatient at times especially yesterday in the second half when leading against a team ahead of us in the league. Totally agree we aren't fair off being a good team.
12-11-2023, 08:07 AM
Never wanted McInnes and pleased we didnt take him.
12-11-2023, 08:11 AM
He was raging the whole game. Arguing with 4th official, Montgomery, referee and fans. Think he might be going through the MENopause.
12-11-2023, 08:11 AM
Countless posts saying the same thing, how boring.
Thread is about Derek McInnes mate, not you.
12-11-2023, 08:35 AM
What's the story with Doidge?
I'd be interested to know as well
12-11-2023, 08:47 AM
12-11-2023, 08:51 AM
The first 25 minutes? We had 3 or 4 chances and they had nothing whatsoever.
Strange place this forum.
Mcbizz1998
12-11-2023, 09:30 AM
I don’t want to hear about this guy as a potential Hibs manager ever again. Boring, cynical, ant-football. And a currant bun to boot!
percy veer
12-11-2023, 10:00 AM
Thought they played no bad as for then pulling people down , I wish we would do this sometimes instead of letting them waltz through the whole midfield and defence and have a shot been saying this for years sometimes you just need to take a yellow
12-11-2023, 12:34 PM
The first 25 minutes? We had 3 or 4 chances and they had nothing whatsoever.
Strange place this forum.
The game was played predominantly in our half for the first 20 mins, they won several corners and Liam Donnelly should have scored from his chance early on. Armstrong got in good positions a couple of times and shot over the bar when he should have done better.
All we had during that time was the attempt from Tavares, which was a lovely bit of skill. We got better as the half went in on, and were the better team by HT - and Boyle should have scored his chance before we did go ahead. Killie started the game better than us though.
12-11-2023, 01:44 PM
There is no way you actually watch football. This is just nonsense.
12-11-2023, 01:57 PM
The game was played predominantly in our half for the first 20 mins, they won several corners and Liam Donnelly should have scored from his chance early on. Armstrong got in good positions a couple of times and shot over the bar when he should have done better.
All we had during that time was the attempt from Tavares, which was a lovely bit of skill. We got better as the half went in on, and were the better team by HT - and Boyle should have scored his chance before we did go ahead. Killie started the game better than us though.
That's pretty much how I saw it as well.
In the early stages of the game, I was really impressed with Armstrong and thought he would be a threat. Plus we were giving him a lot of space, which we (thankfully) sorted out after about the half hour mark
12-11-2023, 02:14 PM
This thread is hilarious 😂
14-11-2023, 09:37 AM
I thought he spoke well after the game on Saturday. Couldn’t argue with much of his assessment.
Always get the sense he’s got a lot of admiration for Hibs.
https://youtu.be/XFd8oC8a-SA?si=WjdpME4NCJH6yh2G
Victor
14-11-2023, 10:29 AM
Kilmarnock can play football, but what made them difficult to play against was their physicality and constant fouling that went mostly unpunished. Jair and Boyle were fouled nearly every time they got the ball, whether with a shirt pull or attempt to trip. I don’t know if they are instructed to do this, or if it is just how they play, but it is disruptive and definitely hampered Hibs on Saturday.
14-11-2023, 10:53 AM
Kilmarnock can play football, but what made them difficult to play against was their physicality and constant fouling that went mostly unpunished. Jair and Boyle were fouled nearly every time they got the ball, whether with a shirt pull or attempt to trip. I don’t know if they are instructed to do this, or if it is just how they play, but it is disruptive and definitely hampered Hibs on Saturday.
They definitely do it under instruction. His Aberdeen team was exactly the same. Difference with them was that he had better players than his Killie team so were more capable when they did get the ball.
Kilmarnock can play football, but what made them difficult to play against was their physicality and constant fouling that went mostly unpunished. Jair and Boyle were fouled nearly every time they got the ball, whether with a shirt pull or attempt to trip. I don’t know if they are instructed to do this, or if it is just how they play, but it is disruptive and definitely hampered Hibs on Saturday.Given how St Johnstone and Aberdeen played under him I'd reckon its instructed.
14-11-2023, 01:59 PM
I thought he spoke well after the game on Saturday. Couldn’t argue with much of his assessment.
Always get the sense he’s got a lot of admiration for Hibs.
https://youtu.be/XFd8oC8a-SA?si=WjdpME4NCJH6yh2G
I really don’t mind him to be honest and don’t get the haters. Knows the game very well.
15-11-2023, 10:34 AM
Any idea what was said to him by the Hibs fan that he reported to the police?
15-11-2023, 11:24 AM
I really don’t mind him to be honest and don’t get the haters. Knows the game very well.
Tend to agree. I’ve never wanted him as hibs manager but don’t get this obsession with disliking him and needing to prove he doesn’t play good football.
15-11-2023, 12:25 PM
Definitely speaks well and is s consistently good manager
King Cosell
05-12-2023, 05:49 PM
He's just signed Gary Mackay-Steven on a short-term deal until the winter break.
Cat Stanton
05-12-2023, 07:24 PM
He's just signed Gary Mackay-Steven on a short-term deal until the winter break.
no rivers in Kilmarnock so he should be ok.
05-12-2023, 07:31 PM
Tend to agree. I’ve never wanted him as hibs manager but don’t get this obsession with disliking him and needing to prove he doesn’t play good football.
Probably down to the horrible way his teams played. He built some impressive sides, but they always over indulged the petty, niggling, negative side of the game.
hibbydog
06-12-2023, 04:10 PM
Och, its up to him how he wants his teams to play, and its up to club chairmen to decide if they want that.
You dont have to play entertaining, attractive football. And you can be dirty and cynical if you want. He's made a career out of it. Getting his players to take turns at kicking your best player is pretty clever, or cynical, depending on how you look at it. I personally dont like it. Its not in the spirit of the game, and not something I want Hibs to be associated with. I want to be entertained.
Glad we've stayed clear