3 mins + whatever added can we do it :hyper
Yes we can :aok:

11-11-2023, 03:48 PM
Yes we can 👀

11-11-2023, 03:48 PM
Once again it's all down to game management here, a lot more composure and we cruise this game, far too many misplaced passes and panicking around the box area. I was very disappointer with Levitt and not surprised he was taken off, a lot of stray passes, Jair should be off, he looks goosed.

11-11-2023, 03:49 PM
Campbell gets booked for that (quite rightfully) but a Killie player earlier done the exact same and the ball didn't go out of play for an age. Did the Killie player get booked in that instance?

Save by Marshall.

Our line coming out there was laughably bad.

HarpOnHibee
We're making the same mistake again, going on the attack when we should be holding onto possession. It makes the game unnecessary open in the final stages.

good save marshall, out for the corner though

Paulie Walnuts
Good stop by Marshall.

11-11-2023, 03:50 PM
5 minutes added time

Campbell MOTM

Save by Marshall.

Our line coming out there was laughably bad.

Same issue cost us against St Mirren when we gave the ball away for their equaliser.

5 mins

Once again it's all down to game management here, a lot more composure and we cruise this game, far too many misplaced passes and panicking around the box area. I was very disappointer with Levitt and not surprised he was taken off, a lot of stray passes, Jair should be off, he looks goosed.

It's phycological now. Holding out here would be a massive confidence boost.

Defending well here. :flag:

Great save Marshall

5 mins added

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

In what way?

There's just very little in the way of positive forward play. Holding onto the ball for the sake of it just to punt it up the park. Actually think the problem is the midfield, it doesn't move the team up the park. Very very little connecting either end of the pitch.

11-11-2023, 03:51 PM
Huge three points Well done Monty and the players

11-11-2023, 03:52 PM

Have you got a Greys Sports Almanac on you Ronnie?

USA_Hibee

Is it FT?

ffs thought it was FT

Ft? Radio is decades behind

Why do people think it's FT?

killie pushing here

11-11-2023, 03:53 PM
It’s not FT

Ft? Radio is decades behind

Nope. Hibs player down injured too so probably a couple of minutes more yet.

USA_Hibee
Anyone who thought it was FT - which scores app are you using so I can avoid it?

Is it FT?

aye never in doubt

If they score you’re a marked man.:greengrin

2 posts suggesting it was full time.

every hibs player in the box

11-11-2023, 03:54 PM
Anyone who thought it was FT - which scores app are you using so I can avoid it?

Hibs.net 😂😂

11-11-2023, 03:54 PM
They think it’s all over it is now

11-11-2023, 03:55 PM
Now it's full time.

FT

what a team

never in doubt

etc :cb

Jesus,.we are really leaving ourselves stupidly open on occasion here

Yass, thanks guys

11-11-2023, 03:56 PM
There it is. Finally. Well played Hibs.

Phew!

Yassssss we held a lead!!!!!

3 points!

Big, big win.

If they score you’re a marked man.:greengrin
Lol am just super confident no idea why but we are due a win imo

HarpOnHibee
Vital 3 points. We don't half make it difficult on ourselves though. I'm away to take a Valium.

Turned into a real struggle but it's a big, important win

Clean sheet too [emoji106]

Paulie Walnuts
A much needed win that.

Not a vintage performance by any means and we looked nervy towards the end but probably just about deserved the win. :agree:

11-11-2023, 03:57 PM
Good three points, that ws always going to be a tough game.

11-11-2023, 03:57 PM
FT Hibs win 1-0, what can we moan about now. :flag:

pollution
11-11-2023, 03:58 PM
Yass, thanks guys

Well played Hibs. Psychologically important !

Crunchie
Brilliant 3 points Hibs, anyone calling killie a poor team knows nothing about football.

Important win, not a great performance but when you consider we had yet another VAR decision unbelievably go against us then it's pretty decent.

Stonewaller not given but we'll not hear a peep about it.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

11-11-2023, 03:59 PM
Far from vintage in the second half but a big 3 points.

Jair again at times was brilliant.

Good win, shows why we need players in to give some of these lads a bit of a rest, 2-3 looked knackered after 60 mins.

Paulie Walnuts
Far from vintage in the second half but a big 3 points.

Jair again at times was brilliant.

Player wise Jair was yet again the huge positive. Very good again :agree:

11-11-2023, 04:00 PM
And a fifth shut-out in the league. The Hibs Iron Curtain developing......

11-11-2023, 04:01 PM
Good win and glad we held on

We need to start taking our chances and making games more comfortable

11-11-2023, 04:01 PM
We let them play far too much of their football in our half. And we seem to play most of our good football in our own half. Not 100% convinced our style of play / tactics are setting us up effectively.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

MagicSwirlingShip
11-11-2023, 04:03 PM
And a fifth shut-out in the league. The Hibs Iron Curtain developing......

Hahaha this gave a laugh

Hibees1973
11-11-2023, 04:04 PM
...and breathe.

Vital win as we only one home fixture out of the next 5 games.

Break for a couple of weeks which is a relief.

Enjoy tonight.

11-11-2023, 04:04 PM
Well deserved win

11-11-2023, 04:10 PM
Seem to be missing a few posters from midweek. Maybe they're off on holiday or something.

H18S NX
11-11-2023, 04:11 PM
good to get the three pts but not impressed with the second half.

11-11-2023, 04:13 PM
Win is all that mattered today. Hopefully do the boys some good that we managed to soak up late pressure and keep a clean sheet

11-11-2023, 04:15 PM
It was a battle, Hibs won it.

11-11-2023, 04:15 PM
Win is all that mattered today. Hopefully do the boys some good that we managed to soak up late pressure and keep a clean sheetAgree, I even liked Marshall today lol

scm70nyd1973
11-11-2023, 04:19 PM
All about the win and development of mentality - happy bunny this evening 🤭

babahibs
11-11-2023, 04:22 PM
Big 3 points against a hard, well organised, typical McInnes side.
2nd half was a battle but I can't really remember them making any clear cut chances.
Rocky immense.

GreenGray
11-11-2023, 04:24 PM
Fish and Bushiri looking pretty solid together

11-11-2023, 04:24 PM
Seem to be missing a few posters from midweek. Maybe they're off on holiday or something.

Or on their way home from the game.

You’re just waiting to have a pop at someone for something eh. Can’t help yourself

11-11-2023, 04:27 PM

You’re just waiting to have a pop at someone for something eh. Can’t help yourself

Aye I'm sure you're right.

11-11-2023, 04:28 PM
Brilliant 3 points Hibs, anyone calling killie a poor team knows nothing about football.

They were nothing brilliant and deserved to lose. Don’t think they had a single shot at goal / on target.

Wull
11-11-2023, 04:28 PM
Agree, I even liked Marshall today lol

I actually thought he commanded his box well today, and a good save near the end, :greengrin

11-11-2023, 04:35 PM
Good win against a team that would get football banned as an entertainment. Rocky and fish stood up will to the industrial style of football. Jair might just make me change my mind. Levitt and Newell done OK in midfield. Vente just didn't look right all game. Campbell and Boyle worked their socks off.

11-11-2023, 04:35 PM
Hibs saw the game out, its what we need to learn how to do. Big 3 points.

11-11-2023, 04:36 PM
Wins a win. Much needed too!

Get in.

JammyDoidger
11-11-2023, 04:37 PM
Thought that was Fish and Rocky's most composed game together. Job done, I'd take that every week tbh.

11-11-2023, 04:37 PM
What game was wee Pat watching ??? Killie “battered us second half” - think your eyes were on backwards Pat.

babahibs
11-11-2023, 04:38 PM

He has a point, though

11-11-2023, 04:40 PM
Fish and Bushiri looking pretty solid together

They gave Killie nothing. Absolutely colossal from Rocky in particular.

He's here!
11-11-2023, 04:43 PM
...and breathe.

Vital win as we only one home fixture out of the next 5 games.

Break for a couple of weeks which is a relief.

Enjoy tonight.

Yep, very important win. So little breathing space in this league from 3rd to 12th, particularly now it looks like Potter has made St Johnstone competitive.

Well done Hibs.

11-11-2023, 04:44 PM
They were nothing brilliant and deserved to lose. Don’t think they had a single shot at goal / on target.

Good save by Marshall in the 90th minute. That was it.

Hard watch today. Huge 3 points but we have to be miles better than that.

xyz23jc
11-11-2023, 04:45 PM
Hahaha this gave a laugh

On a par with 'Fortress Tynie....' Lol! :greengrin

11-11-2023, 04:45 PM
He has a point, though

So instead of having a pop at posters, he’s complaining that these same posters are nowhere to be seen?

You think that’s a fair point? I think it sucks.

If anything he should be happy that they’re not posting “negative” opinions that he dislikes so much!!

Honestly, some folk are only happy on here when scoring points at fellow fans expense.

We should all be able or offer our options on the performances and results, good or bad, without facing abuse from other posters.

11-11-2023, 04:46 PM
Looks like Monty is learning. :cb

babahibs
11-11-2023, 04:48 PM
So instead of having a pop at posters, he’s complaining that these same posters are nowhere to be seen?

If anything he should be happy that they’re not posting “negative” opinions that he dislikes so much!!

Honestly, some folk are only happy on here when scoring points at fellow fans expense.

We should all be able or offer our options on the performances and results, good or bad, without facing abuse from other posters.

Abuse?
Really?
You have a weird way of looking at things

11-11-2023, 04:50 PM

They were very poor. Offered nothing.

ehf
11-11-2023, 04:55 PM
It was a must-win game and we won it, nothing else matters.

McInnes made a right dick of himself at the end.

USA_Hibee
11-11-2023, 04:57 PM
It was a must-win game and we won it, nothing else matters.

McInnes made a right dick of himself at the end.

What did he do?

He's here!
11-11-2023, 04:57 PM
The BBC seem to obsess over our 'winless run'. Sure, some of the draws have been frustrating but the other way of looking at is that Monty has lost just one league game so far. Its not like the awful losing runs which his predecessors went on.

TrinityHFC
11-11-2023, 04:58 PM
A big 3 points given where we are. Killie I tonight were pretty poor but we managed things a bit better and both centre halfs I thought were good.

Can’t say I enjoyed the game though. Tavares apart we were dull and hopefully we can find a way to be solid but also a bit more attacking and entertaining. While we are developing Tavares we’re in danger of totally ruining Youan unfortunately.

11-11-2023, 05:06 PM
Foul on Newell but looks like the ball was already out of play

What's actually the rules regarding that?? If an offence occurs when the ball is not in play, this does not change how play is restarted. So if the ball is already out then it would be a corner but potentially the offending player could be booked for the foul. Just like when a free kick or corner hasn't been taken and a defender shoves and attacker over. The free kick or corner still happens and the ref has to decide if it is a booking or not. If Newell had kept the ball in it would have been a pen as it is it sounds like the ball was out when contact was made. Must have been pretty close though

11-11-2023, 05:07 PM
Good save by Marshall in the 90th minute. That was it.

Hard watch today. Huge 3 points but we have to be miles better than that.
Thought that was going wide but couldn’t be 100%

Not a classic by any means, but hopefully it’s a monkey off our back in terms of seeing out a game when we’re in front.

Richibee
11-11-2023, 05:13 PM
The BBC seem to obsess over our 'winless run'. Sure, some of the draws have been frustrating but the other way of looking at is that Monty has lost just one league game so far. Its not like the awful losing runs which his predecessors went on.

It should also be noted that if we had managed to hold out for a win in just half of our drawn games we would be in 3rd place just 3 points behind Rangers

Greenworld
11-11-2023, 05:16 PM
It should also be noted that if we had managed to hold our for a win in just half of our drawn games we would be in 3rd place just 3 points behind RangersIt's a good point for A good kilmarnock and st mirren have been so far were right up there. If we can kick on and have good spell we will be right in the mix

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

11-11-2023, 05:20 PM
Such an important 3 points. 3rd place still well in touch and players now know that even when playing poorly we can win. Centre Halves and Jair were my picks for our best players and Campbell seems to have the Ally McCoist knack of hitting target and the ball somehow going in. The crowd were poor today and a couple of times at least made players doing teh right thing nervous unnecessarily. Hopefully the start of a decent run.

raeburnhibs
11-11-2023, 05:20 PM
According to Pat Nevin on Sportsound, 'Killie battered Hibs second half.' Apart from a few corners and a good Marshall save at the end, don't think so, nowhere near, we were relatively comfortable throughout. Clearly losing it or adhering to the usual tired BBC tropes

supermcginn
11-11-2023, 05:21 PM
Rocky and Obita are streets ahead of Hanlon and Stevenson

LewysGot2
11-11-2023, 05:22 PM
Positive is we are 4 points better off this quarter than after the same games last quarter.

11-11-2023, 05:24 PM
What game was wee Pat watching ??? Killie “battered us second half” - think your eyes were on backwards Pat.

They had loads of crosses into our box in the 2nd half, too many really, but we defended them well and Killie never looked like scoring.

11-11-2023, 05:34 PM

What game?

11-11-2023, 05:42 PM

When you're on a long winless run the performance doesn't really matter. Just need to grind a win out. It's very reassuring we can win those kind of games.

Superfurry72
11-11-2023, 05:45 PM
Positive is we are 4 points better off this quarter than after the same games last quarter.
Three better off, I think

Mikey_1875
11-11-2023, 05:47 PM
3 points and a clean sheet hopefully gives the players a bit of confidence from leading positions in games. It wasn’t pretty but we definitely needed it.

Bit of a breather now before the xmas period. Kicking off with 4 out of 5 games away from home. I think the league will start to take shape after this period so hopefully we can get kick on from today. I think we are now at least settled on our best GK and defence until January.

11-11-2023, 05:51 PM
Great to get the win, but as an attacking force we were hopeless today in my opinion.

There’s nae game plan evident in the final third to me. You can see what we’re trying to do out from the back, but up top it’s just everyman for himself.

Also, it might seem weird to point it out after a clean sheet, but Marshall just constantly does my head in.

ehf
11-11-2023, 05:56 PM
What did he do?

Sparked a melee that Miller got involved in (and, I think, booked for), then started mouthing off at the fans behind the dug-out, then asked a steward to take action against someone in the crowd who gave him some back.

raeburnhibs
11-11-2023, 05:56 PM
Great to get the win, but as an attacking force we were hopeless today in my opinion.

There’s nae game plan evident in the final third to me. You can see what we’re trying to do out from the back, but up top it’s just everyman for himself.

Also, it might seem weird to point it out after a clean sheet, but Marshall just constantly does my head in.

except for the good save obvs

11-11-2023, 05:57 PM
except for the good save obvs

Was it even going in? Didn’t look it to me.

BlackSheep
11-11-2023, 05:58 PM
I’m find it interesting and frustrating to read so many folks saying that today was a hard watch…!

I felt like the game was well managed today, which was a criticism of many of our recent games.

Once it clicks up top I think we will be onto a great thing, less unforced errors today (perhaps cos Youan didn’t start!) and we absorbed the pressure form Killie, who IMO offered very little in the way of causing us too much panic… at times our nerves showed and that made them look slightly better than they were…. 1 shot on target the whole game from them.

Youan looked to play a much more composed and mature game when he came on, I just wish he was consistently like that.

Another poster said on this thread that our attack doesn’t seem to have a plan and I would kind of agree… hopefully they can form a partnership like we have seen with MacLaren and Kamberi or Doidge, Nisbet and Boyle for a period.

Good 3 points, let’s hope our next game is a great 3 points!

I’ll add that I thought the ref wasnt bad today… not great in some decisions but overall one of the better officiating performances today. (Except when he booked Campbell for his lunge to stop a counter but only warned Kennedy for the same thing, even though Kennedy makes contact!)

11-11-2023, 05:59 PM
except for the good save obvsYup, he was actually OK today

raeburnhibs
11-11-2023, 06:00 PM

we were close, on the 18 yard line in the east, dunno, assumed it was on target. He was solid and absolutely fine today, a few times he could have released a bit earlier the only thing to criticise today.

11-11-2023, 06:01 PM
Was it even going in? Didn’t look it to me.As a keeper you've got to "save" it regardless of which side of the post it might be going?

11-11-2023, 06:01 PM
Sparked a melee that Miller got involved in (and, I think, booked for), then started mouthing off at the fans behind the dug-out, then asked a steward to take action against someone in the crowd who gave him some back.

Saw McInnes having a go at Miller for going down too easily which, to be fair, is what most of us were doing last week.

11-11-2023, 06:02 PM
As a keeper you've got to "save" it regardless of which side of the post it might be going?

Do you? Why?

DinkyTwo
11-11-2023, 06:03 PM

Also, it might seem weird to point it out after a clean sheet, but Marshall just constantly does my head in.But, we've battered the last few teams we've played against and came away with a point at least from each.

LewysGot2
11-11-2023, 06:03 PM

I'd rather we didn't know the hard way.

raeburnhibs
11-11-2023, 06:09 PM
I’m find it interesting and frustrating to read so many folks saying that today was a hard watch…!

I felt like the game was well managed today, which was a criticism of many of our recent games.

Once it clicks up top I think we will be onto a great thing, less unforced errors today (perhaps cos Youan didn’t start!) and we absorbed the pressure form Killie, who IMO offered very little in the way of causing us too much panic… at times our nerves showed and that made them look slightly better than they were…. 1 shot on target the whole game from them.

Youan looked to play a much more composed and mature game when he came on, I just wish he was consistently like that.

Another poster said on this thread that our attack doesn’t seem to have a plan and I would kind of agree… hopefully they can form a partnership like we have seen with MacLaren and Kamberi or Doidge, Nisbet and Boyle for a period.

Good 3 points, let’s hope our next game is a great 3 points!

well managed is spot on; my thoughts exactly

I’ll add that I thought the ref wasnt bad today… not great in some decisions but overall one of the better officiating performances today. (Except when he booked Campbell for his lunge to stop a counter but only warned Kennedy for the same thing, even though Kennedy makes contact!)

well managed is spot on; my thoughts exactly

11-11-2023, 06:13 PM
If your leaving then leave, don't just stand on the stairway blocking everyone's view. My only moan from today.

The lady in the east seemed to have a good time, I'm sure plenty noticed lol

11-11-2023, 06:22 PM
A big 3 points given where we are. Killie I tonight were pretty poor but we managed things a bit better and both centre halfs I thought were good.

Can’t say I enjoyed the game though. Tavares apart we were dull and hopefully we can find a way to be solid but also a bit more attacking and entertaining. While we are developing Tavares we’re in danger of totally ruining Youan unfortunately.

Centre-halves were largely solid, although Killie offered very little.
But that was so boring…
We were much better in games we didn’t win against Aberdeen & St Mirren.
Vente was pretty poor but I want to see him leading our attack. Boyle on the shoulder didn’t really work. The goal came from him driving on from deep.

MKHIBEE
11-11-2023, 06:38 PM

It was going in, good reflex save

If your leaving then leave, don't just stand on the stairway blocking everyone's view. My only moan from today.

The lady in the east seemed to have a good time, I'm sure plenty noticed lol

What was she doing?

babahibs
It was all about winning 3 points today, nothing else mattered.
Job done.

11-11-2023, 06:39 PM
Just back and FFS it turned cold, but the 3 points helps warm up a freezing night. Dont care so much about the performance we have played better and not got the win, all that mattered was the win, the fact we got it against that classless fud McIness was all the better, with his anti-anti-football, we can build on this when the break is over. Another goal for that Campbell fellow, not a bad goalscoring midfielder eh.

11-11-2023, 06:49 PM
👏 ggtth

11-11-2023, 06:57 PM
Very good and much needed win.

Probably our worst performance over the past couple of weeks imo.

Quite slow, laboured and really struggled to control the game. Killie pressed us and made it hard for us to play out.

Thought the defence, Rocky and Fish in particular were solid. Levitt and Newell pretty quiet and struggled to get on the ball and make any meaningful contributions.

What I’d say is possession football needs to be played in the opposition half and today it almost felt like we were the away side trying to counter - I think it’s almost on the players mind with Boyle up top just to chuck it in behind.

When we actually actually played with a bit of intensity we managed to create decent opportunities, Boyle should have done better on two occasions when he was through.

Tavares showing he’s similar to Youan in that he has that moment of sheer quality with a turn and then the WTF moment when he loses the ball. But he was really brave, always trying to get on the ball and even when players were tight against him - probably our best attacking player and biggest threat.

Vente - was he unwell? Looks shattered 20 minutes in and then raging at half time and when he was subbed?

One of the centre half’s MOTM for me which probably tells its story.

11-11-2023, 07:04 PM

Quite slow, laboured and really struggled to control the game. Killie pressed us and made it hard for us to play out.

Thought the defence, Rocky and Fish in particular were solid. Levitt and Newell pretty quiet and struggled to get on the ball and make any meaningful contributions.

What I’d say is possession football needs to be played in the opposition half and today it almost felt like we were the away side trying to counter - I think it’s almost on the players mind with Boyle up top just to chuck it in behind.

When we actually actually played with a bit of intensity we managed to create decent opportunities, Boyle should have done better on two occasions when he was through.

Tavares showing he’s similar to Youan in that he has that moment of sheer quality with a turn and then the WTF moment when he loses the ball. But he was really brave, always trying to get on the ball and even when players were tight against him - probably our best attacking player and biggest threat.

Vente - was he unwell? Looks shattered 20 minutes in and then raging at half time and when he was subbed?

One of the centre half’s MOTM for me which probably tells its story.thought saw Montgomery point to his stomach when vente was being subbed as if to say vente had a stomach problem.

11-11-2023, 07:06 PM
That’s a clear pen on Newell.

11-11-2023, 07:13 PM
What was she doing?

I'm intrigued. 🤔

Donegal Hibby
11-11-2023, 07:23 PM
McInnes post match interview here . He reported Hibs fan for comments.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13005874/kilmarnock-derek-mcinnes-reports-hibernian-fan-for-offensive-comment-following-loss

Monty post match.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13005880/nick-montgomery-hibernian-owed-fans-win-over-kilmarnock

HIBS NUTS
11-11-2023, 07:44 PM
I'm intrigued. 🤔

She was doing a very strange dance, and making a woo woo noise.

11-11-2023, 08:27 PM
She was doing a very strange dance, and making a woo woo noise.

That wasn't really worth the wait! ☺️

11-11-2023, 08:28 PM
That wasn't really worth the wait! ☺️
You should have seen the dance.:greengrin:greengrin

11-11-2023, 08:35 PM
You should have seen the dance.:greengrin:greengrin

Worse or better than Theresa May's effort in Africa? ☺️

11-11-2023, 08:50 PM
Worse or better than Theresa May's effort in Africa? ☺️

11-11-2023, 09:24 PM
didn't realise Lewis Miller got booked for this, he's only pointing out the final score

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/398588413_10231505357481550_905803061547533568_n.j pg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5f2048&_nc_ohc=XolhnPXYnC8AX-qRvtR&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfAoRb9S2ftp_9sz2kr5quWeBndIRRVUyocyXtHzzbkA eQ&oe=6554FF94

11-11-2023, 09:25 PM
didn't realise Lewis Miller got booked for this, he's only pointing out the final score

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/398588413_10231505357481550_905803061547533568_n.j pg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5f2048&_nc_ohc=XolhnPXYnC8AX-qRvtR&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfAoRb9S2ftp_9sz2kr5quWeBndIRRVUyocyXtHzzbkA eQ&oe=6554FF94

Hahaha based

11-11-2023, 09:37 PM

You sound utterly miserable. Unsurprisingly perhaps.

Corstorphine Hibby
11-11-2023, 09:54 PM
McInnes post match interview here . He reported Hibs fan for comments.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13005874/kilmarnock-derek-mcinnes-reports-hibernian-fan-for-offensive-comment-following-loss

Monty post match.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13005880/nick-montgomery-hibernian-owed-fans-win-over-kilmarnock

Fingers crossed that the Hibs fan that upset Mciness shouted that he was 'up to his knees in fenian blood' or 'No pope of Rome or, both.

BlackSheep
11-11-2023, 10:01 PM

One of the centre half’s MOTM for me which probably tells its story.

Have to say I think you’re in for a long season under Monty if you think today seemed laboured and slow and not in our control.

I’ve heard a lot of fans recently passing comment on their dislike of us playing out from the back and retaining possession in our own third…. But I have to point out, this is exactly how Montgomery wants us to play!

We pass the ball around the back and the opposition needs to press, thus making space in the midfield and more importantly in their final third. We then make a few passes cutting through the centre of the pitch or we play down the wings and exploit that space. It’s not a hard system to understand!

Playing this way will ultimately mean there are large parts of the game where we look slow and laboured but it’s being played this way with purpose.

Once we cut out the unforced errors and the front players find their scoring grooves we should be a hard team to beat.

11-11-2023, 10:24 PM
Have to say I think you’re in for a long season under Monty if you think today seemed laboured and slow and not in our control.

I’ve heard a lot of fans recently passing comment on their dislike of us playing out from the back and retaining possession in our own third…. But I have to point out, this is exactly how Montgomery wants us to play!

We pass the ball around the back and the opposition needs to press, thus making space in the midfield and more importantly in their final third. We then make a few passes cutting through the centre of the pitch or we play down the wings and exploit that space. It’s not a hard system to understand!

Playing this way will ultimately mean there are large parts of the game where we look slow and laboured but it’s being played this way with purpose.

Once we cut out the unforced errors and the front players find their scoring grooves we should be a hard team to beat.

Correct.

People yelling at Marshall 2nd half to get a move on were cracking me up. Why on earth would he do that? They weren't pressing him, he can just stand there.

11-11-2023, 10:30 PM

Lots of people understand it and what he's trying to do but don't like it, which they are allowed to do, pretty condescending thinking they just don't realise it

I totally get it but find some of it boring as **** at times

AL-Qaholik
11-11-2023, 10:40 PM
A well needed 3 points but mindnumbingly tedious football.
Don’t think I’ve ever been quite so bored with a win in my chuff.

11-11-2023, 10:53 PM
Correct.

People yelling at Marshall 2nd half to get a move on were cracking me up. Why on earth would he do that? They weren't pressing him, he can just stand there.

Same here especially when we were winning. Pretty pathetic

11-11-2023, 10:55 PM
Thought we were fine Killie were decent though toothless but ref let them off with cynical fouls. All about winning after recent decent performances but not seeing the game out. Great three points

Keepthefaith
11-11-2023, 11:03 PM
Lots of people understand it and what he's trying to do but don't like it, which they are allowed to do, pretty condescending thinking they just don't realise it

I totally get it but find some of it boring as **** at times

tbh I used to get frustrated as hell when we'd boot it up the park and lose possession immediately putting us under more pressure. there were moments today when playing this way resulted in a pass which cut through the midfield, ending up in a good attacking position. Jair in particular was great at receiving the ball after a period of possession play, then spinning his man and suddenly loads of space in front of him.

I hate praising Neil McCann but watch his bit on sportscene - I wonder if part of the problem is not so much the passing at the back but sometimes feeling like we're too slow. if the players look unsure / play a shorter pass then understandably the crowd get edgy. but the more we do it, the slicker it'll get. the more chances we create from it might mean a bit more patience and appreciation from the support too? we do tend to attack with pace - I'd much rather that than just work it upfield anyhow in the hope we can get a head onto a cross...

11-11-2023, 11:15 PM
You sound utterly miserable. Unsurprisingly perhaps.

Stop quoting me and leave me in peace. I've no interest in your posts.

11-11-2023, 11:28 PM
tbh I used to get frustrated as hell when we'd boot it up the park and lose possession immediately putting us under more pressure. there were moments today when playing this way resulted in a pass which cut through the midfield, ending up in a good attacking position. Jair in particular was great at receiving the ball after a period of possession play, then spinning his man and suddenly loads of space in front of him.

I hate praising Neil McCann but watch his bit on sportscene - I wonder if part of the problem is not so much the passing at the back but sometimes feeling like we're too slow. if the players look unsure / play a shorter pass then understandably the crowd get edgy. but the more we do it, the slicker it'll get. the more chances we create from it might mean a bit more patience and appreciation from the support too? we do tend to attack with pace - I'd much rather that than just work it upfield anyhow in the hope we can get a head onto a cross...

I'm hoping a combination of things will make it better to watch for an entire game rather than 10/15 minute cameo, better players or the players getting more used to it, being a bit more pragmatic and actually getting the ball forward a wee bit quicker when someone is on rather than playing it backwards again

I like NM and have faith in him, it's too early doors for me to criticise much of what he's doing but having said that some of our play has been pedestrian, slow and pretty uninspired at times for my liking

Donegal Hibby
11-11-2023, 11:29 PM
Short highlights of the game here , no penalty incidents though.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13005798/hibernian-1-0-kilmarnock-scottish-premiership-highlights

12-11-2023, 08:05 AM
Saw McInnes having a go at Miller for going down too easily which, to be fair, is what most of us were doing last week.

Can't actually remember him going down easily at all yesterday. Mcinnes should focus on his own team especially ones not shy about kicking players.

12-11-2023, 08:09 AM
Like to see the late tackle on Joe Newall again.
Was up the other end from me but looked like the defender caught him.

12-11-2023, 09:55 AM
Watching the highlights basically confirmed what I saw yesterday. We were the better side and created a few good chances. Killie were barely in the game. Should’ve had a penalty for the Newell challenge and maybe Fish too although I’ve not seen it again.

12-11-2023, 10:05 AM
I usually like Pat nevin and think he sees the game quite well

However on listening to bbc on the radio on the way home.

You would think hibs had three cleared off the line and clinging on for dear life.

Killie had probably the better of the second half but only had one shot in the 90th minute to show for it.

It really annoys me when a losing team has a slightly better second half than the winning team and the said first half performance is just forgot about or not worthy.

Anyway. 3 points and a great clean sheet

12-11-2023, 10:25 AM
I usually like Pat nevin and think he sees the game quite well

However on listening to bbc on the radio on the way home.

You would think hibs had three cleared off the line and clinging on for dear life.

Killie had probably the better of the second half but only had one shot in the 90th minute to show for it.

It really annoys me when a losing team has a slightly better second half than the winning team and the said first half performance is just forgot about or not worthy.

Anyway. 3 points and a great clean sheet

Thought Killie had the better of both half’s to be honest. They were certainly in our half more than we were in theirs.

As you say though the only thing that matters is three pints and we
Secured them

12-11-2023, 10:34 AM
Thought Killie had the better of both half’s to be honest

I know we all see the game differently but come oan

12-11-2023, 10:37 AM
I know we all see the game differently but come oan

Don’t get me wrong I don’t think they were great or anything, just thought they had the better of both half’s.

To be honest I couldn’t care less, we needed a win today and we got it. That’s all that matters.

12-11-2023, 11:01 AM
Recent results made a lot of us very nervous,we don't normally see out games very well. Apart from a 5 minute spell in the 2nd half where we just hacked everything away in what looked like a blind panic, we then settled down and saw it out well bar the odd scare. I'm not sure we have enough about us for a European place with this lot especially the way the manager wants us to play, but hopefully in January he will bring in better players for this system.

Crunchie
12-11-2023, 01:01 PM
Recent results made a lot of us very nervous,we don't normally see out games very well. Apart from a 5 minute spell in the 2nd half where we just hacked everything away in what looked like a blind panic, we then settled down and saw it out well bar the odd scare. I'm not sure we have enough about us for a European place with this lot especially the way the manager wants us to play, but hopefully in January he will bring in better players for this system.
We're down to the bare bones atm, we'll be fine when we're at full strength and even better when he gets some of his own players in.

12-11-2023, 01:54 PM
We're down to the bare bones atm, we'll be fine when we're at full strength and even better when he gets some of his own players in.

I am sure we will be fine at full strength, but i'm looking for better than fine.

I'm excited at who he will bring in, and perhaps the link up with Foley will bring us a better standard of recruit, but as we stand i'm a bit meh, but cautiously optimistic for the future.

12-11-2023, 02:18 PM
A well needed 3 points but mindnumbingly tedious football.
Don’t think I’ve ever been quite so bored with a win in my chuff.

First half I thought we played some decent stuff, second half was a tough watch but 3 points is all that matters.

13-11-2023, 12:26 AM
Hibs were comfortable winners. We were strong defensively but still need to sharpen up in the forward positions. But Monty is making progress

13-11-2023, 02:16 PM
Reading Killie are to install a grass pitch for season 25/26, as their new training centre should be ready by then

13-11-2023, 05:19 PM
Great weekend as usual up the road, hopefully be back for Aberdeen in December.

13-11-2023, 05:44 PM
Great weekend as usual up the road, hopefully be back for Aberdeen in December.

Remember it’s been moved to the Sunday