View Full Version : January can’t come quick enough
08-11-2023, 09:28 PM
I rate the manager, many before him have suffered this ‘draw syndrome’ notably Lennon and Stubbs. But he needs to recruit leaders at the back and centrally in midfield - priority areas for the next window. Far too weak defensively and a real lack of leaders in the spine/core of the team.
He’ll come good if these areas are fixed.
BobbyT1875
08-11-2023, 09:32 PM
I’ve no faith in us having a strong window
08-11-2023, 09:50 PM
The current team with a few real good quality players in certain areas would be very decent indeed. No need to touch the forward line or wide players. Levitt is proving to be the missing piece that see us play out from the back abit more comfortably and with control.
We absolutely need to get an upgrade on Jeggo though, I'd have him replaced along with a new centre half or two.
It's January so expectations need to be realistic, if we can get 3 or 4 proper good players in between centre midfield and centre defense I think we'll be ok till the summer.
08-11-2023, 09:50 PM
We don't need a strong window.
We just need better than 16 year olds as back up.
08-11-2023, 09:53 PM
I think we need a more experienced centre half and a new goalkeeper. That experienced centre half needs to have a fair bit of pace though given how much ground we cover in defence.
Partyraiser
08-11-2023, 09:55 PM
Agreed. The lack of depth in the squad is killing us
BobbyT1875
08-11-2023, 09:57 PM
Our starting eleven isn’t good enough. We need to sign starters
LunasBoots
08-11-2023, 10:08 PM
Think we'll sign players but it's a difficult window so not expecting Miracles.
TrinityHFC
08-11-2023, 10:11 PM
Never heard of him anyway.
LunasBoots
08-11-2023, 10:12 PM
Never heard of him anyway.
😄
08-11-2023, 10:13 PM
Any manager will say that it's difficult to sign good players in January. That won't drop the usual suspects blaming Hibs management of course.
08-11-2023, 10:15 PM
Keeper, athletic left sided centre back, midfielder with drive and dig and a partner to compliment Vente are my first team priorities. Probably more realistically for the summer. That and squad depth.
08-11-2023, 10:21 PM
Jesus and Miracles might help us along. Arsenal likely won't sell though.
uwxm07
08-11-2023, 10:29 PM
I’m sure we will have
uwxm07
08-11-2023, 10:34 PM
We just signed a record fee striker -who is excellent.
We signed another in Youan for only slightly less .
Time you either came up with some cash or came out !
Jdawg
08-11-2023, 10:39 PM
Keeper urgently required along with a good experienced CB and a defensive midfielder. Maybe even a LB and RB.
08-11-2023, 10:49 PM
Griffiths is free, knows how to win, scores loads of goals which we need to put games to bed.
Get him in and we will not need to wait to boost one area of this thin squad.
08-11-2023, 10:53 PM
I rate the manager, many before him have suffered this ‘draw syndrome’ notably Lennon and Stubbs. But he needs to recruit leaders at the back and centrally in midfield - priority areas for the next window. Far too weak defensively and a real lack of leaders in the spine/core of the team.
Yep. January and the summer transfer windows will be when we see if he's going to be a success. At the moment he's having to work with what he's got and I think bar his subs he's doing not a bad job.
08-11-2023, 10:54 PM
Griffiths is free, knows how to win, scores loads of goals which we need to put games to bed.
:hyper
09-11-2023, 07:10 AM
Any manager will say that it's difficult to sign good players in January. That won't drop the usual suspects blaming Hibs management of course.
Reshaping the whole squad is very difficult by we should be able to get 2-3 players of quality in.
We may need to look at loans, which I'm not a huge fan of but right now we can't continue with this thin a squad.
I fully back the manager but he either needs to get this group winning or we need reinforcements.
09-11-2023, 07:17 AM
Keeper, left back, centre half, midfielder (or 2) are needed. And all that are good enough to go straight into the team.
Another attacking player for options if being greedy.
Our team is pretty poor at the moment and nowhere near able to challenge for 3rd.
Trinity Hibee
09-11-2023, 07:28 AM
Keeper, left back, centre half, midfielder (or 2) are needed. And all that are good enough to go straight into the team.
Our team is pretty poor at the moment and nowhere near able to challenge for 3rd.
I agree with you but there is no way we have to the funds to get all of this. Might get 2 players who can improve the starting XI at best.
BobbyT1875
09-11-2023, 07:30 AM
We just signed a record fee striker -who is excellent.
We signed another in Youan for only slightly less .
Time you either came up with some cash or came out !
You’ve lost me?? What cash and I’ve to come out ?
Trinity Hibee
09-11-2023, 07:37 AM
I agree with you but there is no way we have to the funds to get all of this. Might get 2 players who can improve the starting XI at best.
09-11-2023, 07:39 AM
This nonsense that we haven't got a strong enough squad is nonsense. If he brings Lewis on instead of Landers then that is a win. We need a leader at the top first.
09-11-2023, 07:42 AM
16 years old did nothing wrong last night. It was 2 of our better players.
Chorley Hibee
09-11-2023, 07:45 AM
Sorry, but Landers attempt (or non-attempt) at tracking his man was terrible.
Not good enough when you're just on the park.
09-11-2023, 07:58 AM
Sorry, but Landers attempt (or non-attempt) at tracking his man was terrible.
Not good enough when you're just on the park.
On the second goal? I'll need to watch it again. I didn't even think he was involved.
09-11-2023, 07:58 AM
This nonsense that we haven't got a strong enough squad is nonsense. If he brings Lewis on instead of Landers then that is a win. We need a leader at the top first.
Are you arguing that the squad is strong enough based on rather than bringing on a 16 year old, who was our only available striker on the bench, we bring a 35 year old left back on in midfield?
09-11-2023, 08:10 AM
Landers only involvement was to try to outrun Gogic instead of making a simple pass to put Jair through on goal. Can't really blame him, he's only a kid. Should never have been brought on.
09-11-2023, 08:11 AM
Are you arguing that the squad is strong enough based on rather than bringing on a 16 year old, who was our only available striker on the bench, we bring a 35 year old left back on in midfield?
No. I'm arguing the squad is good enough because it is. Said this many times...
Marshall, Miller, Fish, Rocky, Obita - Jeggo, Levitt, Newall - Boyle, Vente, Youan.
Squad sizes are typically 23 players and we have cover for every one of those positions. We could probably improve on quality at GK and CB but our squad is more than good enough to compete with anything outside the uglies.
09-11-2023, 08:20 AM
No. I'm arguing the squad is good enough because it is. Said this many times...
Marshall, Miller, Fish, Rocky, Obita - Jeggo, Levitt, Newall - Boyle, Vente, Youan.
Squad sizes are typically 23 players and we have cover for every one of those positions. We could probably improve on quality at GK and CB but our squad is more than good enough to compete with anything outside the uglies.
That’s a first 11 you’ve listed. With only one of those out (Boyle) our bench was Wollacot, Stevenson, Hanlon, Jeggo, Delfierre, Rudi & Landers last night. With the exception of Jeggo in certain circumstances every other sub would weaken us.
We’ve got a good 11 when we can get them on the park. The quality outwith the 11 then drastically falls off, added to the fact we’re down to the bare bones.
09-11-2023, 08:30 AM
That’s a first 11 you’ve listed. With only one of those out (Boyle) our bench was Wollacot, Stevenson, Hanlon, Jeggo, Delfierre, Rudi & Landers last night. With the exception of Jeggo in certain circumstances every other sub would weaken us.
We’ve got a good 11 when we can get them on the park. The quality outwith the 11 then drastically falls off, added to the fact we’re down to the bare bones.
That's the same with every club. We're no Man City.
Wollacot, Cadden, Harbottle, Hanlon, Stevenson - JDH, Campbell, Delefierre - McKirdy, Doidge, Jair.
They all probably wouldn't get in Hearts or Aberdeen's side but they certainly would walk into anyone else.
09-11-2023, 08:40 AM
Wollacot, Cadden, Harbottle, Hanlon, Stevenson - JDH, Campbell, Delefierre - McKirdy, Doidge, Jair.
They all probably wouldn't get in Hearts or Aberdeen's side but they certainly would walk into anyone else.
That’s a very green tinted outlook.
Cadden and McKirdy are injured, with McKirdy still to show anything and JDH is never available.
Wollacot & Harbottle are unknowns but the fact they have had such little opportunity doesn’t bode well.
Jair is one of the starting 11.
Delfierre looks like a cheap squad filler.
Not sure Hanlon or Stevenson would start for any other club, certainly not one with top 6 aspirations.
Campbell & Doidge probably the only two who would get a game for most other non Aberdeen & Hearts sides
09-11-2023, 08:51 AM
That’s a very green tinted outlook.
Cadden and McKirdy are injured, with McKirdy still to show anything and JDH is never available.
Wollacot & Harbottle are unknowns but the fact they have had such little opportunity doesn’t bode well.
Jair is one of the starting 11 you listed.
Delfierre looks like a cheap squad filler.
Not sure Hanlon or Stevenson would start for any other club, certainly not one with top 6 aspirations.
Campbell & Doidge probably the only two who would get a game for most other non Aberdeen & Hearts sides
Cadden, McKirdy and JDH are due back before January so whether January comes quick enough makes no difference.
I've said we could probably improve at GK and CB but Wollocot is a Ghananian international and would've been their number 1 goalkeeper at the last World Cup if it wasn't for injury. Harbottle has just left an EPL club and just had a decent season for Mansfield. Hardly unknown.
Stevenson has done well when played this season and NM obviously rates Hanlon or he wouldn't keep bringing him on for Rocky.
Rumble de Thump
09-11-2023, 09:18 AM
Time to see if CJ Egan-Riley is ready for action again.
09-11-2023, 09:23 AM
Time to see if CJ Egan-Riley is ready for action again.
Even just for the song to come back
09-11-2023, 09:24 AM
Cadden, McKirdy and JDH are due back before January so whether January comes quick enough makes no difference.
I've said we could probably improve at GK and CB but Wollocot is a Ghananian international and would've been their number 1 goalkeeper at the last World Cup if it wasn't for injury. Harbottle has just left an EPL club and just had a decent season for Mansfield. Hardly unknown.
Stevenson has done well when played this season and NM obviously rates Hanlon or he wouldn't keep bringing him on for Rocky.
The fact you think Stevenson has done well this season immediately negates every other point made.
09-11-2023, 09:27 AM
The fact you think Stevenson has done well this season immediately negates every other point made.
Aye ok
09-11-2023, 09:27 AM
Stevenson looks done from what I’ve seen of him this season. Ross County was a truly dreadful performance.
09-11-2023, 09:41 AM
Stevenson looks done from what I’ve seen of him this season. Ross County was a truly dreadful performance.
That's one game mate. From the games I've seen that he's started like St Johnstone & Dundee he definitely didn't look passed it. He was absolutely superb in both games v Luzern.
09-11-2023, 04:55 PM
Think a good experienced centre half in his prime should be a priority.
Rocky and fish are both good but I think it’s when we need to hold on to games they both lack that bit of experience and leadership to drag us through games.
K-Zazu
09-11-2023, 05:35 PM
Expect a couple of Central Coast Mariners players
09-11-2023, 05:38 PM
They really wouldn't. Green tinted glasses there.
09-11-2023, 05:40 PM
They really wouldn't. Green tinted glasses there.
Who wouldn’t?
09-11-2023, 05:42 PM
Didn't most of the good ones move on?
Who's still there that could do a job?
09-11-2023, 05:43 PM
Who wouldn’t?
Well I suppose the easiest way to answer it would be, if half of them can't get in the starting 11 for a team sitting 8th, how are they suddenly walking into starting 11s of teams above us?
We've won 2 league games all season and they aren't even getting in our side. To suggest they'd walk into other teams is not backed up by any kind of logic.
09-11-2023, 05:47 PM
Putting my money on Nisbet and Tulio.
Wouldn’t be surprised to see Kaltak either. 30 year old left sided centre back.
09-11-2023, 05:51 PM
Two have looked good any time I watched CCM play, which was a surprising amount after Cummings joined them.
09-11-2023, 05:53 PM
If our entire first team were playing at other clubs in Scotland, how many would we be saying we should sign?
Not many is my guess.
If NM is the right man, then it follows that we need better players or we'd be winning more games. If the players were as good as some on here seem to think, we wouldn't be perpetually looking towards the next window or having threads like this.
The squad needs completely overhauled. I know it won't happen in January but we need to make several changes if we want anything out of this season. Next summer needs to see major changes.
The last 3 years' recruitment was been woefully poor and the squad hasn't improved one bit since Ross was in charge.
Really hoping this new investment happens and the guy has a ruthless approach to things.
09-11-2023, 06:08 PM
Well I suppose the easiest way to answer it would be, if half of them can't get in the starting 11 for a team sitting 8th, how are they suddenly walking into starting 11s of teams above us?
We've won 2 league games all season and they aren't even getting in our side. To suggest they'd walk into other teams is not backed up by any kind of logic.
Dunno even where to start wi that nonsense. It’s November.
By that logic Martin Boyle, Youan, Vente, Newall, Fish etc wouldn’t get in the Dundee side.
09-11-2023, 06:10 PM
Might be the easiest way to answer but it's right up there with the daftest. Come on mate you can better than that.
09-11-2023, 06:11 PM
Dunno even where to start wi that nonsense. It’s November.
By that logic Martin Boyle, Youan, Vente, Newall, Fish etc wouldn’t get in the Dundee side.
But they are already starting for us and are our best players, you're coming out with absolutely nonsense logic that players who aren't even as good as them would start walking into sides.
They are not playing for a team currently in terrible form. They aren't going to start walking into teams who've had a better start than us. Anyone with any sense of perspective could figure that out.
09-11-2023, 06:12 PM
If our entire first team were playing at other clubs in Scotland, how many would we be saying we should sign?
Not many is my guess.
If NM is the right man, then it follows that we need better players or we'd be winning more games. If the players were as good as some on here seem to think, we wouldn't be perpetually looking towards the next window or having threads like this.
The squad needs completely overhauled. I know it won't happen in January but we need to make several changes if we want anything out of this season. Next summer needs to see major changes.
The last 3 years' recruitment was been woefully poor and the squad hasn't improved one bit since Ross was in charge.
Really hoping this new investment happens and the guy has a ruthless approach to things.
Vente, Youan, Boyle, Fish, Levitt, Obita, Newall, Miller, Jeggo?
Difference is if they were there and in contract, we likely couldn’t afford to sign them if they were somewhere else, so we probably wouldn’t be talking about signing them, unless they were out of contract.
Guarantee if Montgomery was managing someone else, we’d be saying bullet dodged.
09-11-2023, 06:15 PM
Might be the easiest way to answer but it's right up there with the daftest. Come on mate you can better than that.
You really need to do better. If our squad players were good enough to walk into sides in better form, then we wouldn't have 2 wins out of 12, because, simply put, the players would be far better than they actually are in reality as results show.
09-11-2023, 06:53 PM
This. It’s an utter shambles and I’m disappointed with myself for bothering to answer it.
09-11-2023, 07:06 PM
This. It’s an utter shambles and I’m disappointed with myself for bothering to answer it.
Your obviously struggling to understand so I'll try another way.
You've named our best players (Boyle, Newell, Vente,Fish ect), with those players we are sitting 8th with 2 wins out of 12, a win percentage of 16%.
If we were to take those players out and replace them with some of the squad players you mentioned like Hardbottle, Delfierre, Stevenson, Doidge ect do you think we'd have more or less points? Let's say you agree that the overwhelming likelihood is we'd have less points than 12.
If we say we'd have managed 3 less points if we'd replaced our best players with those not so good, then we'd have 9 points. Less than Livingston in 11th and 1 point above St Johnstone who are bottom.
Yet your logic is these same players would currently walk into other sides, who are already above us when we've played our best players.
If you can't see how daft that logic is then there's nothing really more to add.
09-11-2023, 07:12 PM
You've named our best players (Boyle, Newell, Vente,Fish ect), with those players we are sitting 8th with 2 wins out of 12, a win percentage of 16%.
If we were to take those players out and replace them with some of the squad players you mentioned like Hardbottle, Delfierre, Stevenson, Doidge ect do you think we'd have more or less points? Let's say you agree that the overwhelming likelihood is we'd have less points than 12.
If we say we'd have managed 3 less points if we'd replaced our best players with those not so good, then we'd have 9 points. Less than Livingston in 11th and 1 point above St Johnstone who are bottom.
Yet your logic is these same players would currently walk into other sides, who are already above us when we've played our best players.
If you can't see how daft that logic is then there's nothing really more to add.
You are absolutely correct. Not sure there's any debate to be had.
09-11-2023, 07:45 PM
Genuinely cannae believe we’re discussing player quality and using a teams stats and positions in November as reasoning to measure it.
09-11-2023, 08:07 PM
Vente, Youan, Boyle, Fish, Levitt, Obita, Newall, Miller, Jeggo?
I don't mean to sound all negative, but these are the kind of players I'm talking about.
They're meant to be our best. I guess I just don't rate them too highly. Whilst I'm not saying they're rubbish, I wouldn't lose any sleep if any of them left and went to other clubs in Scotland.
I think our squad has gradually got weaker the last few years and don't share the belief that that things will turn around and that we'll go on a winning run.
I'm also not blaming NM and I don't know what the problem is, but my way of thinking is that it's either the players, the manager or a combination of both not being good enough for where we want to be!
It's not bad luck, dodgy refs or VAR.
hhibs
09-11-2023, 08:17 PM
Landers only involvement was to try to outrun Gogic instead of making a simple pass to put Jair through on goal. Can't really blame him, he's only a kid. Should never have been brought on.
Either he is very slow or Gogic is hell of faster than I remember,he blasted through Landers.
09-11-2023, 08:24 PM
Either he is very slow or Gogic is hell of faster than I remember,he blasted through Landers.
I think the occasion and excitement got the better of landers and he was shattered.
From the moment he came on he was sprinting after everything, Gogic also has a 5 yard head start on him.
Landers is quick though, once he settles he’ll show it
JammyDoidger
09-11-2023, 08:30 PM
Nisbet is 5'3, no sure that's what we need in midfield in this country, tidy player though, Monty had Garang Kuol at mariners, the boy that was at Hearts on loan from Newcastle, Hearts never got the best out of him, he's on loan at Volendaam just now. Might be one that would be of interest.
09-11-2023, 08:42 PM
Central Coast have lost so many players from last season that they are struggling this season.
They do though have a left back who in my opinion, is worthy of pursuit…whether Monty/ Brian McDermott think that way is another matter I guess.
.I like Obita there just now but he is a loan player, and obviously a temporary solution……I know we have right backs coming through the ranks….not sure about left backs.
09-11-2023, 08:44 PM
Central Coast have lost so many players from last season that they are struggling this season.
They do though have a left back who in my opinion, is worthy of pursuit…whether Monty/ Brian McDermott think that way is another matter I guess.
.I like Obita there just now but he is a loan player, and obviously a temporary solution……I know we have right backs coming through the ranks….not sure about left backs.
Pretty sure Obita is a permanent signing.
09-11-2023, 08:45 PM
:agree: Two year contact with an option for a third year.
09-11-2023, 09:31 PM
I’d go straight back to Paisley
Few good players I wouldn’t mind hibs seeing have a look at
Strain
Tanser
Baccus
Would all be welcome additions to our squad imo.
09-11-2023, 09:33 PM
Strain
Tanser
Baccus
Baccus looked good for Australia against England, he won't be staying in Scotland imo.
09-11-2023, 09:36 PM
Baccus looked good for Australia against England, he won't be staying in Scotland imo.
Why wasn’t he starting for St Mirren last night?
09-11-2023, 09:37 PM
He might if Bournemouth see potential 👀
10-11-2023, 06:30 AM
Why wasn’t he starting for St Mirren last night?
Do you think I'm going to know the answer to that?
Need a left back to compete with Obita that’s for sure, I’d imagine this will be LS last year as a player with us so unless Macintyre is ready we will be down to one LB
10-11-2023, 07:15 AM
Three.
10-11-2023, 07:45 AM
Oops!
Ta.
GreenPJ
10-11-2023, 07:55 AM
Strain
Tanser
Baccus
Strain is decent, however, would he not just then limit Miller's progress/chances who has shown significant development this season? Tanser, is he any/much better than Obita? Baccus is he a better DM than Jeggo based on Jimmy's performances over the last 7-8 weeks?
I wonder if some of the loaners will return and then be in and around the squad. We have seen some 16yo in the squad, but you have to believe those out on loan and a bit older might be worth a shot as well
10-11-2023, 08:14 AM
Strain is decent, however, would he not just then limit Miller's progress/chances who has shown significant development this season? Tanser, is he any/much better than Obita? Baccus is he a better DM than Jeggo based on Jimmy's performances over the last 7-8 weeks?
To be fair, Tanser looked excellent offensively the other night. However, our second goal came from his side.
Edinburgh Green
10-11-2023, 08:56 AM
Three.
I've been told we are looking at 3 as well.
Forward (Tulio)
Midfielder (Nisbet)
Left back (Farrell?)
Also interested in a youngster who Bayern are after, im guessing Nestory Irankunda?
10-11-2023, 09:02 AM
I can't get my head around the last paragraph.
St Mirren and Killie are 3rd and 4th respectively but you think Harbottle, Delefierre and McKirdy would walk into their teams? Harbottle can't even get in our match day squad, McKirdy was a disaster for us and Delferriere was at Edinburgh City last season.
We've barely even seen Wallacot play so to make the same comment is odd to say the least.
Do you honestly think the two clubs I've mentioned would drop their whole first team for our backs ups? You see how mad that is right?
Donegal Hibby
10-11-2023, 09:03 AM
Probably asked this before and forgot though what kind of Midfielder is josh Nisbet? . Midfield I think is are main problem as it imo needs a strong aggressive ball winning Midfielder who puts himself about .
10-11-2023, 09:04 AM
Your last paragraph is hugely arrogant and has no basis in reality.
St Mirren and Killie are 3rd and 4th respectively but you think Harbottle, Delefierre and McKirdy would walk into their teams? Harbottle can't even get in our match day squad, McKirdy was a disaster for us and Delferriere was at Edinburgh City last season.
We've barely even seen Wallacot play so to make the same comment is odd to say the least.
Do you honestly think the two clubs I've mentioned would drop their whole first team for our backs ups? You see how mad that is right?
Think trying to explain it is a lost cause to be honest.
EVENTUALLY
10-11-2023, 09:15 AM
Think a good experienced centre half in his prime should be a priority.
Rocky and fish are both good but I think it’s when we need to hold on to games they both lack that bit of experience and leadership to drag us through games.
I posted this on another thread and think this guy would be perfect.
IMHO Ricardo Santos of Bolton would solve our Centre Back situation.
Steadied up from a fair bit of movement in his early career to be in the EFL League one team of the year for the last 3 years in a row. 28 years old, 6ft 5ins tall and built like a mountain. Decent pace and passing and very calm.
Under contract till 2025 but this is where the Foley investment could make a difference. Hopefully Brian McDermot is aware.
Bridge hibs
10-11-2023, 09:31 AM
Forward (Tulio)
Midfielder (Nisbet)
Left back (Farrell?)
Also interested in a youngster who Bayern are after, im guessing Nestory Irankunda?I mentioned Irankunda on the A league thread, cracking talent
10-11-2023, 09:37 AM
Need a left back to compete with Obita that’s for sure, I’d imagine this will be LS last year as a player with us so unless Macintyre is ready we will be down to one LB
If we were wanting to sign competition for Obita we need to go after the lad Dundee have on loan from Liverpool.
Owen Beck, 21 year old left back and has looked very good every time I’ve seen him, both offensively and defensively
10-11-2023, 09:58 AM
Probably asked this before and forgot though what kind of Midfielder is josh Nisbet? . Midfield I think is are main problem as it imo needs a strong aggressive ball winning Midfielder who puts himself about .
Half bulldog half Iniesta.
I’m not sure he’s the type of player we need if I’m being honest as Newell, Levitt, Jeggo and JDH are all very decent players imo.
If we were to improve on the starting 2 (Levitt and Newell) they’d have to be some player and probably offer more athleticism whilst still having the quality on the ball.
I’d rather a centre half.
The boy Tulio is sheer class though.
10-11-2023, 10:12 AM
Think trying to explain it is a lost cause to be honest.
Well, it is if you're going to use league positions in November as a measure of individual players quality.
Once you work out some credible measures, I'm sure you'll get better at it.
Donegal Hibby
10-11-2023, 10:27 AM
Half bulldog half Iniesta.
I’m not sure he’s the type of player we need if I’m being honest as Newell, Levitt, Jeggo and JDH are all very decent players imo.
If we were to improve on the starting 2 (Levitt and Newell) they’d have to be some player and probably offer more athleticism whilst still having the quality on the ball.
I’d rather a centre half.
The boy Tulio is sheer class though.
Looks good alright , says his main position is RW though can play as a striker or AM . Monty seemed to be after him for awhile at CCM and was delighted to sign him .
https://youtu.be/PoqUWwrH388?si=vaB7OYlLY9hrg6Gk
10-11-2023, 10:30 AM
Well, it is if you're going to use league positions in November as a measure of individual players quality.
Yip. Far better to claim guys who were at Edinburgh City last season would walk into top 6 Premier League sides 😅
You've given me a good laugh today to be fair. Set me up for the weekend, cheers lad.
10-11-2023, 10:36 AM
Strain
Tanser
Baccus
I'd certainly do that rather than going to sign 3 players form the Mariners!!
If NM likes these players so much he should have stayed there instead of trying to turn Hibs into CCM!!
Wtf is happening to our club.
If Foley money comes into play could we get an Egan Riley permanent?
10-11-2023, 10:37 AM
If NM likes these players so much he should have stayed there instead of trying to turn Hibs into CCM!!
Well it hasn’t actually happened for a start.
And a manager looking at a player, or players, that he’s worked with and likes would hardly be unusual.
Donegal Hibby
10-11-2023, 10:47 AM
Well it hasn’t actually happened for a start.
And a manager looking at a player, or players, that he’s worked with and likes would hardly be unusual.
Most managers look at players at previous clubs they were at or leagues they know , Ange done it with signing Japanese players , Maloney tried to get a couple from us when he went to Wigan . As you say it's not unusual .
10-11-2023, 10:48 AM
Guys who haven’t contributed much, or their contribution is on the wane, over a number of seasons, but who would walk into every team outwith the Old Firm, Hearts & Aberdeen should be easy to move on with lots of suitors. Guys like Delfierre, Hanlon, Stevenson, JDH, Doidge, Campbell, Henderson, Kenneh, Mackay, McKirdy (injury permitting), Melkerson & to slightly lesser extents Wollacot & Harbottle.
That’s 13 players taking up a big chunk of the budget for little to no contribution on the park. Other than maybe Campbell & Doidge and probably Melkerson & possibly Kenneh (both of who I’d not be against seeing what Montgomery can get out of them) based on potential, I think we’d struggle, and have already struggled, to move on permanently.
10-11-2023, 11:01 AM
Guys who haven’t contributed much, or their contribution is on the wane, over a number of seasons, but who would walk into every team outwith the Old Firm, Hearts & Aberdeen should be easy to move on with lots of suitors. Guys like Delfierre, Hanlon, Stevenson, JDH, Doidge, Campbell, Henderson, Kenneh, Mackay, McKirdy (injury permitting), Melkerson & to slightly lesser extents Wollacot & Harbottle.
That’s 13 players taking up a big chunk of the budget for little to no contribution on the park. Other than maybe Campbell & Doidge and probably Melkerson & possibly Kenneh (both of who I’d not be against seeing what Montgomery can get out of them) based on potential, I think we’d struggle, and have already struggled, to move on permanently.
I think Henderson could still do well.
I'd hope that we could look at getting all thoes player back in January
10-11-2023, 12:58 PM
Yesterday's man. Tired, overweight, and judging by the posts on the thread dedicated to him, the fanbase are hostile.
10-11-2023, 10:25 PM
Yesterday's man. Tired, overweight, and judging by the posts on the thread dedicated to him, the fanbase are hostile.
JammyDoidger
11-11-2023, 05:32 AM
Forward (Tulio)
Midfielder (Nisbet)
Left back (Farrell?)
Also interested in a youngster who Bayern are after, im guessing Nestory Irankunda?
Tulio would be ideal in that second striker role. A Brazilian playing for Hibs sounds superb also.
NC1875
11-11-2023, 06:54 AM
Forward (Tulio)
Midfielder (Nisbet)
Left back (Farrell?)
I was working in a house in South Queensferry and the family said they were friends of Jacob Farrells family. The guy said Farrell will defo be coming to Hibs. Sure I mentioned it on here a while back.
andrew70
11-11-2023, 09:33 AM
I was working in a house in South Queensferry and the family said they were friends of Jacob Farrells family. The guy said Farrell will defo be coming to Hibs. Sure I mentioned it on here a while back.
Farrell is good but a bit raw.
Was actually brought on last season to man mark Irankunda. Which he done relatively well.
11-11-2023, 10:08 AM
How much do you know about the players he may be interested in from his previous club?
thebausburst
11-11-2023, 12:15 PM
Tulio would be ideal in that second striker role. A Brazilian playing for Hibs sounds superb also.
Will bringing in a bunch of players from the A League actually notably improve us, question not a statement.
11-11-2023, 01:00 PM
Will bringing in a bunch of players from the A League actually notably improve us, question not a statement.
If they’re better than what we have then yes they will.
11-11-2023, 04:34 PM
Return of Cumdingo
11-11-2023, 09:26 PM
Only three guys will know. The ones that see them and have seen them close up on a daily basis.
11-11-2023, 10:19 PM
Only three guys will know. The ones that see them and have seen them close up on a daily basis.
That's not really worked out too well the last few years though!
We're now hoping that between NM and McDermott we'll see better signings, but we should be learning from past mistakes like Bojangles and all the others we've already forgotten about.
chippy
12-11-2023, 05:17 AM
That's not really worked out too well the last few years though!
We're now hoping that between NM and McDermott we'll see better signings, but we should be learning from past mistakes like Bojangles and all the others we've already forgotten about.
Absolutely this is no time got risky projects. Tried and tested only from good leagues
thebausburst
12-11-2023, 11:02 AM
Liam Kelly free to speak to other clubs from January 🤔
Bad Habits
12-11-2023, 12:36 PM
Would be happy with that.
JammyDoidger
12-11-2023, 12:42 PM
That would be a solid move, good for us and good for him.
12-11-2023, 03:04 PM
O Hara
Cummings
Farrell
12-11-2023, 03:45 PM
Think Motherwell paid a fee for him in the hope of making some money on him.
12-11-2023, 03:50 PM
I think he’s a really average goalie to be honest. Better than we have just now but I’d hope there is better out there we could attract.
I’m not sure I’d waste any transfer budget on a keeper. Top of the list has to be a LCH and leader.
12-11-2023, 05:35 PM
O Hara
Cummings
Farrell
Would 100% take O’Hara. And Baccus
No chance of Cummings. I would have taken him when he couldn’t get a game at Dundee but it was cool to slate him back then
Never heard of Farrell
12-11-2023, 05:40 PM
O Hara
Cummings
Farrell
Who's Farrell?
Bridge hibs
12-11-2023, 05:42 PM
Who's Farrell?
Young left back who plays for CCM
12-11-2023, 05:43 PM
I think he’s a really average goalie to be honest. Better than we have just now but I’d hope there is better out there we could attract.
Having brought in Wollacott and Boruc in the summer and with Murray Johnson out on loan I doubt recruiting another goalie is high on the list of priorities at the moment.
15-11-2023, 10:25 PM
Monty saying we need to move players on before we sign anyone.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-nick-montgomery-lifts-lid-on-january-window-plans-but-admits-we-dont-have-a-budget-to-sign-players-4411637
15-11-2023, 10:27 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-nick-montgomery-lifts-lid-on-january-window-plans-but-admits-we-dont-have-a-budget-to-sign-players-4411637
Does this mean the investment isn't happening??
chippy
15-11-2023, 10:42 PM
What you expect him to say.’ We’ve got a few million from an American bloke and I’ll be flashing the cash in January. I’ll just pile up signings ‘
15-11-2023, 10:49 PM
I don’t really read too much in to that to be honest. You hear it every year. January helped us last year even though we only signed Jeggo plus CJ and Hoppe on loan. I’d hazard a guess this window won’t be too dissimilar numbers wise.
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2023, 11:30 PM
Makes sense , I'm sure there's players who he sees not fitting into his plans or not good enough. We can't just go out and sign more without some going imo , worrying thing is if the ones he wants to move on are either not wanting to leave or we can't get clubs to take them .
15-11-2023, 11:58 PM
I don’t really read too much in to that to be honest. You hear it every year. January helped us last year even though we only signed Jeggo plus CJ and Hoppe on loan. I’d hazard a guess this window won’t be too dissimilar numbers wise.
Exactly, he's hardly going to be suggesting we are going in gung ho with money no object.
PHeffernan
16-11-2023, 01:46 AM
How do you figure that. He doesn't say anything specific.
It's the January window so nothing much will happen.
Maybe a couple out on loan and a couple in on loan.
16-11-2023, 09:57 AM
Having brought in Wollacott and Boruc in the summer and with Murray Johnson out on loan I doubt recruiting another goalie is high on the list of priorities at the moment.
He's not out on loan. We recalled him after the game Wollacott and Marshall both got injured in/before and never sent him back out. I'm guessing we'll send him back out on loan in Jan.