View Full Version : Food and drink guilty pleasures

07-11-2023, 11:21 AM
Things that a foodie would turn their nose up to, but you wholeheartedly love.

Here are a few of mine:
Rustlers BBQ rib burgers
Tim Hortons Apple fritters
Chicken and mushroom pot noodle
Chicken super noodles
Deep fried pizza from the chippy. A friend of mine introduced me to a gourmet version where a Glasgow pizzeria took a really good pizza that they made then deep fried and it was all wrong. Has to be the worst quality pizza
Skips
Hooch. I’ve given up the booze but there’s no version of lemonade that comes close.

Bridge hibs
07-11-2023, 11:41 AM
Bombay Bad Boy pot noodles
Well grilled chops
Beef super noodles
Bacon fries
Jonnys onion rings
Caramac bar
Jaffa cakes
Black pudding on well fired rolls
Well fired bran scones with cheese
Sparkling water chilled

Thats my starters, main meal to follow 😃

07-11-2023, 11:54 AM
Ham and pineapple pizza, I'll sometimes add my own banana to that too for the extra tropical touch.

07-11-2023, 12:04 PM
Bacon Fries
Scampi Fries
Jonny’s Spicy Rings
Jonny’s Pickled Onion Rings
Crispy Pork Belly
Very Crispy Streaky Bacon
Pringles
Barbecue Peanuts
Chilli Peanuts
Matthesons Smoked Sausage
Pork and Pickle Pies
Haslet
Bacon and Black Pudding Rolls
Fried bread with fried egg on top
Fudge Doughnuts
Fudge
Tablet
Empire Biscuits

07-11-2023, 12:26 PM
Bacon and tattie scone roll.

07-11-2023, 12:29 PM
Lorne sausage.

Vimto.

07-11-2023, 01:05 PM
Condensed milk. Straight from the tin with a teaspoon. Sorry, I'm ashamed 😔

Fuzzywuzzy
07-11-2023, 01:12 PM
Dirty dinner of curry super noodles (with added brown sauce) with a smoked sausage

07-11-2023, 02:04 PM
Empire Biscuits

They are called German biscuits and I will die on this hill.

07-11-2023, 02:21 PM
A lot of the stuff already mentioned seems pretty normal to me, maybe I need to start feeling guiltier about my food choices.

Anyway I'll add:

Cheese and soy sauce sandwiches
Super noodles with grated cheese and a smashed up bag of crisps thrown in
Sriracha sauce on ice cream (apparently this one is actually a 'thing' that other people do)

07-11-2023, 02:28 PM
Crisp sandwich with HP sauce. Crisps are plain.

07-11-2023, 03:51 PM
A lot of the stuff already mentioned seems pretty normal to me, maybe I need to start feeling guiltier about my food choices.

Anyway I'll add:

This sounds great. I'm having that soon.

07-11-2023, 03:52 PM
Pie on a roll.

Egg mashed up in a cup with a ton of butter, salt and pepper.

07-11-2023, 04:14 PM

They are Empire END OF……..GSTK 😂

Paulie Walnuts
07-11-2023, 04:18 PM

Anyway I'll add:

Sriracha sauce on ice cream (apparently this one is actually a 'thing' that other people do)

I thought the same. Yours are the first I’ve been appalled with :greengrin

Other than your ice cream one. If you haven’t tried it, hot honey on ice cream is excellent. Also excellent with cheese.

07-11-2023, 04:35 PM
Onion lorne on a well fired roll with broon sauce.
A smoked ham sandwich on plain bread with salt n vinegar mccoys.
A pack of indomie noodles
A Rustlers chicken burger with mayo…

07-11-2023, 05:40 PM
Thickly cut cheddar cheese, crisp - variable flavours but the old Walkers BBQ or Worcestershire Sauce were best - and ketchup on cooncil breid.

Oh, and enough butter to bring on a coronary.

07-11-2023, 05:48 PM
Thickly cut cheddar cheese, crisp - variable flavours but the old Walkers BBQ or Worcestershire Sauce were best - and ketchup on cooncil breid.

Oh, and enough butter to bring on a coronary.

... never tried this with cheese.:aok:
Though it might interfere with the soft, yet crunchy comfort vibe. Will try it.

07-11-2023, 05:51 PM
... never tried this with cheese.:aok:
Though it might interfere with the soft, yet crunchy comfort vibe. Will try it.

You won’t regret it. We called them Aidan sandwiches after my brother who first came up with it - in our circle anyway.

07-11-2023, 05:53 PM
Lorne sausage.

Vimto.

Two of my very favourites!

I’ll add quavers and lion bars.

On another note, just had macaroni cheese/chilli con carne… it was cracking. Much better than traditional macaroni cheese.

07-11-2023, 05:56 PM
Two slices of pitta bread heated up in the microwave until they puff up, then using them as the bread in a sandwich for ham and cheese with tomato sauce, the heat in the pittas starts to melt the cheese a bit, I've done it since I was a kid and it's still dynamite to this day

07-11-2023, 06:03 PM
Two slices of pitta bread heated up in the microwave until they puff up, then using them as the bread in a sandwich for ham and cheese with tomato sauce, the heat in the pittas starts to melt the cheese a bit, I've done it since I was a kid and it's still dynamite to this day

Do you damp the pitta bread?

07-11-2023, 06:04 PM

Anyway I'll add:

Sriracha sauce on ice cream (apparently this one is actually a 'thing' that other people do)Cheese and soy sauce?

I'm more of a cheese and Worcestershire sauce toastie guy... with some Chillie flakes as well.

Other one is pauper pizza

Toast one side, flip over,
Add cheese, tomato sauce, some ham
Toast again
Sorted!

07-11-2023, 06:09 PM
Do you damp the pitta bread?

Nah it kinda steams up with being in the microwave and goes soft and pliable

07-11-2023, 06:46 PM
Not necessarily a guilty pleasure but I'll ask it here rather than start another food thread.

What is everyone's thoughts on the best supermarket to buy steak? Got a ribeye from the butcher section at Morrisons a month or so back and it was brilliant, went back 2 weeks ago and it was crap.

Tried the large ribeye matured steak from Sainsbury's which was great but it was about 11 quid.

Anyone tried Aldi?

Stairway 2 7
07-11-2023, 07:00 PM
Aye lots seem like pretty unguilty. I'm going to try cheese and soy but the message saying your an animal is pre written. Ice cream and good balsamic is lovely will try siracha.

Haggis from a tin is lovely.
Tennents lager
Love a high quality burger place but a frozen burger, cheddar cheese on a stories roll is beaut
Kebab pizza
Anything the bairns have left on their plate

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-11-2023, 07:11 PM
Buckfast. Fair few of you know this already, but I ****in love Buckfast.

Tomato sauce sandwiches.
Deep fried mars bar.
Chippy haggis.

07-11-2023, 07:12 PM
Cheese and soy sauce?

I'm more of a cheese and Worcestershire sauce toastie guy... with some Chillie flakes as well.

Other one is pauper pizza

Toast one side, flip over,
Add cheese, tomato sauce, some ham
Toast again
Sorted!

Cheese and soy sauce was discovered in a drunken cooking attempt years ago when I grabbed the wrong bottle and thought I had the Worcestershire sauce. Flip between the 2 now.

Donegal Hibby
07-11-2023, 07:13 PM
Scampi fries
Tayto crisps
Beef hula hoops
Hand cooked crisps ( lightly salted)
Pickled onions, cheese and crisps .
Whole Nut chocolate.
Spring rolls.
Any type of salami.
Sports mixtures.
Wine Gums
McDaids banana lemonade / football special .
Coke cola
Iron bru .

I've got more though have got hungry now and need a snack 😂

07-11-2023, 07:14 PM
Buckfast. Fair few of you know this already, but I ****in love Buckfast.

Tomato sauce sandwiches.
Deep fried mars bar.
Chippy haggis.

I like Buckfast too. It's particuly nice right out the freezer when it goes really syrupy.

It is a very specific kind of drunk it gets you though.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-11-2023, 07:25 PM
I like Buckfast too. It's particuly nice right out the freezer when it goes really syrupy.

It is a very specific kind of drunk it gets you though.

Just as some frost is starting to develop on the bottle, that’s the time to crack it open. Do you also elbow/knee the bottom of the bottle to get the “toenails” all mixed in?

Bridge hibs
07-11-2023, 07:35 PM
Tinned spam, thickly sliced and grilled until its bubbly and crispy, de****inglicious

07-11-2023, 07:46 PM
You just can’t beat a roll with a burger and an egg on it

07-11-2023, 07:54 PM
‘Guilty’ as in not really good for you - a square of dark chocolate and a square of white chocolate at the same time. Just let them melt in my mouth. Best to pop the dark one in first for a little while as it has a longer melt factor. I’m happy to go low-cost here with own-brand cooking chocolate.

Walkers Sensations wasabi flavour. They came out a few years ago then disappeared then came back for a little bit, then gone,
leaving a void of despair. I am reduced to online orders of alternative and ultimately unsatisfactory wasabi snacks.

Grosvenor pie (gala pie to some). A rare treat which has the added value of posing the condiment question - I can take it with Branston pickle, piccalilli, Dijon or English mustard or with salad cream. Given I only have it maybe twice a year it has been hard to choose the best.

hibby19
07-11-2023, 08:01 PM
Corner shop/garage pre packaged sandwiches and rolls. Not as much choice as your supermarket meal deals but there’s some random brands out there that are superb.

As for the make at home, Philadelphia cheese and strawberry jam sandwich. Love it.

07-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Currywurst pimped with Madras powder.

07-11-2023, 09:26 PM
Tinned spam, thickly sliced and grilled until its bubbly and crispy, de****inglicious

Yep, in a roll with a fried egg and hot sauce.

07-11-2023, 09:34 PM
Nah it kinda steams up with being in the microwave and goes soft and pliable

07-11-2023, 09:39 PM
They are Empire END OF……..GSTK [emoji23]Holy Roman Empire aka German Biscuits.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-11-2023, 10:11 PM
Super noodle sandwiches are quality too, forgot to mention them.

Had a pizza at Nonna Said in Glasgow that had haggis and tattie smilies on it, was top notch.

08-11-2023, 06:12 AM
Cheese and soy sauce was discovered in a drunken cooking attempt years ago when I grabbed the wrong bottle and thought I had the Worcestershire sauce. Flip between the 2 now.That's dinner sorted
one night this week :-)

08-11-2023, 07:06 AM
Pie on a roll.

Egg mashed up in a cup with a ton of butter, salt and pepper.

Both of these are incredible.

Tuc crackers with Primula

I'll add another for condensed milk (you can get it as a "drizzle" out a squeezy bottle.

Sweet, milky tea.

Most types of cooked eggs, but only just cooked like a loose scrambled egg or soft poached/fried/boiled, or an omelette that's just ready.

Dairylea on toast

08-11-2023, 09:01 AM
Aye lots seem like pretty unguilty. I'm going to try cheese and soy but the message saying your an animal is pre written. Ice cream and good balsamic is lovely will try siracha.

Haggis from a tin is lovely.
Tennents lager
Love a high quality burger place but a frozen burger, cheddar cheese on a stories roll is beaut
Kebab pizza
Anything the bairns have left on their plate

Haggis in a tin, sacrilege!

Stairway 2 7
08-11-2023, 09:59 AM
Haggis in a tin, sacrilege!

Tidy, the cheap ones most chip shops do are braw too. Vegi haggis is very descent if anyone swings that way.

08-11-2023, 11:36 AM
Bovril on toast! mmmmmm

08-11-2023, 12:42 PM
Sandwich spread on heavily buttered white bread or a good morning roll. Lovely.

70s standard beach picnic fare coupled with a choice of paste sandwiches.

08-11-2023, 12:43 PM
Ham on a baguette, with brown sauce to dip it into :greengrin

Jakhog1
08-11-2023, 01:25 PM
Both of these are incredible.

Tuc crackers with Primula

I'll add another for condensed milk (you can get it as a "drizzle" out a squeezy bottle.

Sweet, milky tea.

Most types of cooked eggs, but only just cooked like a loose scrambled egg or soft poached/fried/boiled, or an omelette that's just ready.

Dairylea on toast

Tuc crackers and Primula are my go to snack, chuck a pickled onion on top for next level

Donegal Hibby
08-11-2023, 01:47 PM
Curry chip sandwich.

Bridge hibs
08-11-2023, 02:31 PM
Used to enjoy the remainder of my beef curry and fried rice after a session, freezing cold and congealed but boy it hit the spot, similarly with a Topkapi doner kebab which Ive scraped off the bedroom wall or carpet

Keyser Sauzee
08-11-2023, 04:31 PM
Sandwich spread on heavily buttered white bread or a good morning roll. Lovely.

70s standard beach picnic fare coupled with a choice of paste sandwiches.

I use Sandwich Spread when I’m making crisp sandwiches, unbelievable

08-11-2023, 07:15 PM
I use Sandwich Spread when I’m making crisp sandwiches, unbelievable

Especially cheese and onion. Golden Wonder.

08-11-2023, 07:43 PM
Quite like a caramac. Just found out they've stopped making them though do once the ones in the shops have been sold, that's them gone 😯.

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-11-2023, 08:03 PM
Quite like a caramac. Just found out they've stopped making them though do once the ones in the shops have been sold, that's them gone [emoji54].

Love caramacs. Cadbury Caramilk is a decent replacement but not quite as good.

Love calamari, no one else I know can stand it.

08-11-2023, 08:35 PM
Love caramacs. Cadbury Caramilk is a decent replacement but not quite as good.

Love calamari, no one else I know can stand it.

Caramac now is crap, nothing like it used to be.

Bridge hibs
08-11-2023, 08:48 PM
Quite like a caramac. Just found out they've stopped making them though do once the ones in the shops have been sold, that's them gone 😯.You can get Caramac buttons, I demolished a bag earlier tonight

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-11-2023, 10:11 PM

Blasphemer

Fuzzywuzzy
09-11-2023, 12:15 PM
Super noodle sandwiches are quality too, forgot to mention them.

Had a pizza at Nonna Said in Glasgow that had haggis and tattie smilies on it, was top notch.

Actually quite fancy a supernoodle toasty now.

Also, I miss toast toppers😭

09-11-2023, 12:47 PM

You're right. They used to taste caramely and velvety when I were a lad. In recent years they've tasted more like white chocolate.

09-11-2023, 02:56 PM
Quite partial to a Nong Shim Shin Pot, far superior to pot noodles, you can thank me later. 🍜

Fuzzywuzzy
09-11-2023, 03:55 PM
Quite partial to a Nong Shim Shin Pot, far superior to pot noodles, you can thank me later. 🍜

Is that the red and black pot? Tasty but a **** ton of salt

09-11-2023, 07:06 PM
Is that the red and black pot? Tasty but a **** ton of salt

Aye, that's the one.

10-11-2023, 09:11 AM
When I was a bairn, 65 years ago, ……… plain bread, thickly buttered, sugar sandwiches. I’m now type 2 diabetic so wouldn’t recommend it.:greengrin

Bridge hibs
10-11-2023, 09:28 AM
When I was a bairn, 65 years ago, ……… plain bread, thickly buttered, sugar sandwiches. I’m now type 2 diabetic so wouldn’t recommend it.:greengrin

Or going to work on a dripping piece Jim, 2 slices of plain bread (4 on a good day) plastered in solidified dripping with burnt remnants of black pudding, bacon sausage and egg and probably a few mouse droppings to add texture as the frying pan lay uncovered on top of the cooker for days until all the dripping had gone and ready for another weeks pieces 🫣

10-11-2023, 09:41 AM
Or going to work on a dripping piece Jim, 2 slices of plain bread (4 on a good day) plastered in solidified dripping with burnt remnants of black pudding, bacon sausage and egg and probably a few mouse droppings to add texture as the frying pan lay uncovered on top of the cooker for days until all the dripping had gone and ready for another weeks pieces 🫣

My mother had a chip pan on top of the stove for weeks on end……… her chips were to die for.

10-11-2023, 09:46 AM
Inspired by this thread I had a pizza crunch last night from the chippy. Not had one in years. Feel a bit guilty and queezy this morning in equal measures!!

Bridge hibs
10-11-2023, 10:03 AM
My mother had a chip pan on top of the stove for weeks on end……… her chips were to die for.

My Grandad never used a frying pan but his chips were class from his chip pan, home grown spuds chipped and cooked in beef dripping, you could never not like big fat juicy chips, nae wonder I carried a bit of lumber when I was a kid 🤣

Bridge hibs
10-11-2023, 02:47 PM
Anyone tried these ? I believe they sell them in Iceland 27384

20-08-2024, 06:45 AM
Last night I was raking through the freezer as I could only be arsed having a “bung something in the airfryer” night. Got a chippy style battered sausage that I got a pack of at Tescos.

Had a thought halfway through the airfryer time - made a hot dog with it. Nice soft hot dog bun, ketchup, mustard, pickles. Battered sausage.

Not a word of a lie - sensational. Soft, squidgy, crispy, meaty, sweet, pickly, absolutely superb. Unreal.

20-08-2024, 01:39 PM
Inspired by this thread I had a pizza crunch last night from the chippy. Not had one in years. Feel a bit guilty and queezy this morning in equal measures!!

We'll quite often get one to share as a side to a chippy. Absolutely outstanding. To think I would have a half deep fried pizza supper (not quite a pizza crunch) from the chippy for lunch most days at secondary school. I was rake thin as well despite my massive appetite. Caught up with me now though.

Something I've not had in a while but have a craving for just now is a scotch pie on a roll.

20-08-2024, 01:39 PM
Last night I was raking through the freezer as I could only be arsed having a “bung something in the airfryer” night. Got a chippy style battered sausage that I got a pack of at Tescos.

Had a thought halfway through the airfryer time - made a hot dog with it. Nice soft hot dog bun, ketchup, mustard, pickles. Battered sausage.

Not a word of a lie - sensational. Soft, squidgy, crispy, meaty, sweet, pickly, absolutely superb. Unreal.

A Scottish version of a corndog I guess :greengrin

20-08-2024, 02:30 PM
We'll quite often get one to share as a side to a chippy. Absolutely outstanding. To think I would have a half deep fried pizza supper (not quite a pizza crunch) from the chippy for lunch most days at secondary school. I was rake thin as well despite my massive appetite. Caught up with me now though.

Something I've not had in a while but have a craving for just now is a scotch pie on a roll.

I like a deep fried pizza now and again, especially folded in half, salt and a wee drop chippy sauce in the middle :greengrin

20-08-2024, 02:31 PM

I laugh now when I think how deluded I was that I just had a 'good metabolism' when I ate utter crap and never gained weight. I was training 3 nights a week for football, playing once, sometimes twice if I broke club rules and played school football. I was also never out the gym and walked everywhere.

As soon as I stopped all that but didn't amend my eating habits weight piled on. I can keep it off now but it takes a real effort with diet and exercise.

20-08-2024, 07:57 PM
Was diagnosed as type 2 diabetic back in December last year so now my guilty pleasure is probably quite boring/a staple to most...

A slice of white bread, toasted, with butter :greengrin

20-08-2024, 10:06 PM

Lidls empire :greengri biscuits are lovely.

20-08-2024, 11:40 PM
As a crisp fanatic who could demolish a family bag no bother every time or a multipack in one fell swoop, I decided to stop eating crisps. It was really easy as we just stopped buying them with our weekly shop. Haven’t bought crisps now for about 8 months and feel better for it. My guilty pleasure is buying a pack in the pub after a few pints.

Bridge hibs
21-08-2024, 04:57 AM
Pork Scratchings, simple delicious, not the imitation efforts but the big chunky tooth breaker ones that sometimes bare a hair or two that you have to suck to a jelly to avoid a trip to the dentist

21-08-2024, 07:00 AM
Was diagnosed as type 2 diabetic back in December last year so now my guilty pleasure is probably quite boring/a staple to most...

A slice of white bread, toasted, with butter :greengrin

Sometimes simple is best though! [emoji736]

Godsahibby
23-08-2024, 03:26 PM

My grave will be beside yours on the hill!!

24-08-2024, 08:24 AM
My grave will be beside yours on the hill!!

And mine.

If you shop at Costco you get a box of 12 huge ones for a fiver.

24-08-2024, 09:59 AM
And mine.

If you shop at Costco you get a box of 12 huge ones for a fiver.

They’re not as good as the Empire Biscuits at Lidl though.

24-08-2024, 10:25 AM
My mum makes the best cheesy pasta bar none.

She made some for the kids the other day, and we had some left over so for lunch yesterday I did some bacon in the air fryer, then took it out, cheesy pasta in, put the bacon on top and extra cheese on top of that. It was class.

If you’ve got an air fryer like mine that is a basket get yourself some silicone liners.

24-08-2024, 10:32 AM
Making my own pizza with a sweet chilli base sauce rather than tomato, loaded with mozzarella,parmesan, smoked mozzarella, Gorgonzola and pepperoni, absolutely superb

24-08-2024, 06:30 PM
They’re not as good as the Empire Biscuits at Lidl though.

To die for.

30-08-2024, 11:30 AM
My latest members only box from my favourite hot sauce company arrived. One of them which is due for a release at a later date is a mild hot sauce flavoured with ginger, miso paste, and ramen broth.

It’s spectacular and if it does go to a proper production I’ll post the link, made some satay noodles last night and liberally splashed this stuff over the top.

30-08-2024, 12:16 PM
My mum makes the best cheesy pasta bar none.

She made some for the kids the other day, and we had some left over so for lunch yesterday I did some bacon in the air fryer, then took it out, cheesy pasta in, put the bacon on top and extra cheese on top of that. It was class.

If you’ve got an air fryer like mine that is a basket get yourself some silicone liners.

I do it with a sliced up smoked sausage in the air fryer rather than bacon.

30-08-2024, 12:18 PM
I love an almond croissant.

The ones from Lidl are decent and mega-cheap. Got one from Margiotta this morning, £1.45 and really pretty good.

The almond croissants from Patina are outstanding. They're almost a fiver, which is just mental for a croissant, but they taste great.

30-08-2024, 12:57 PM
I do it with a sliced up smoked sausage in the air fryer rather than bacon.

That’s what we do as well

patch1875
30-08-2024, 04:03 PM
I love an almond croissant.

The ones from Lidl are decent and mega-cheap. Got one from Margiotta this morning, £1.45 and really pretty good.

The almond croissants from Patina are outstanding. They're almost a fiver, which is just mental for a croissant, but they taste great.

Do like them Costa do a good one.

Chocolate peanuts are my vice but have to be high end M&S or Waitrose. CO OP best of the rest.

30-08-2024, 04:53 PM
Do like them Costa do a good one.

Chocolate peanuts are my vice but have to be high end M&S or Waitrose. CO OP best of the rest.

Dunno if it’s a new thing or if I’ve only just seen them, but M&S do dark chocolate covered sour cherries and they’re great.

Bridge hibs
30-08-2024, 05:17 PM
Spam, so underrated, I can literally open a tin and chow on it. Grilled with some fried onions on a crispy roll with a dod of brown sauce, heaven

speedy_gonzales
30-08-2024, 05:17 PM
Dunno if it’s a new thing or if I’ve only just seen them, but M&S do dark chocolate covered sour cherries and they’re great.

Also spotted at Tesco (Colinton Mains), the Mrs is mad for them!

30-08-2024, 05:53 PM

Their chocolate covered pistachios are amazing 🥰

31-08-2024, 07:52 AM
Most of the last dozen or so posts just sound nice rather than guilty pleasures.

I'll be trying a few.