View Full Version : Hibs Fans Contemporary Social Identity

montys_menXI
05-11-2023, 02:21 PM
Hi, I am writing my dissertation on the social identity of hibs fans and I'm interested to know...

Do you feel there is a sense of “Irishness” amongst hibs supporters today?

How does Hibs embrace its Irish heritage in Scotland without being inevitably labelled ‘sectarian’?

Do you see Leith as having a separate identity from Edinburgh?

05-11-2023, 02:34 PM
Hi, I am writing my dissertation on the social identity of hibs fans and I'm interested to know...

How does Hibs embrace its Irish heritage in Scotland without being inevitably labelled ‘sectarian’?

1. No
2. There's a harp in our badge
3. A wee bit.

05-11-2023, 02:39 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

Agreed

Hibs4185
05-11-2023, 02:41 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

Second that

05-11-2023, 02:49 PM
Second that

Thirded.

Mcbizz1998
05-11-2023, 02:51 PM
Thirded.

Fourthed

Widhibs
05-11-2023, 02:51 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

Agreed

05-11-2023, 03:02 PM
1. No
3. Yes.

babahibs
05-11-2023, 03:05 PM
1. No.
2. The harp in the badge.
3. Yes.

05-11-2023, 03:14 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

I’d actually go as far to say that a tricolour is something I’d happily never see at a Hibs game again.

05-11-2023, 03:22 PM

Answers to first question may/would be different depending on age/background of the supporter.
2nd question maybe ties in with first.
Embrace it in our history ...founding fathers/Cowgate /St Patricks parish.Name/colours/badge.
The sectarian label is a nonsense.
Yes, We started off as a purely Catholic club because no one else in the City would take on Irish Catholics in their football teams in the early days.
Thousands of non Catholics do and have supported Hibernian for decades and i dont think gave a thought about religion/Hibs.

Anyone born/bred raised in Leith will identify as a Leither .
First,second,third and last !!:greengrin
Someone once said
"Leith is a state of mind" !

Our roots lie in both The Cowgate area and Leith.
Both had sizeable Irish Immigrant populations at the birth of Hibernian.

The 1930s was an interesting period (local politics/anti Irish parties) both in Leith and Edinburgh.

https://www.academia.edu/1079621
https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/church-history/article/abs/edinburgh-divided-john-cormack-and-no-popery-in-the-1930s-by-tom-gallagher-edinburgh-polygon-1987-xi-208-pp-995/43CDBA9A2380D762E31E8512996D6EDD

https://benmacpherson.scot/2020/08/23/theleithersummer2020/
Some interesting listening

https://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/newstalk-documentary/sunshine-leith-hibernian-f-c-documentary-newstalk

Good luck with your research:thumbsup:

05-11-2023, 03:27 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

Exactly this.

There's a tiny minority that like to imagine our club, and the world in general, is the same as it was around a century ago but the rest of us have long since moved on.

05-11-2023, 03:28 PM
1. No
2. Harp in the crest, name & colours reflect our heritage
3. No, but I’ve never lived in Leith/Edinburgh

DIXIHIBS
05-11-2023, 03:34 PM
1. No.
2. The harp in the badge.
3. Yes.

stuart-farquhar
05-11-2023, 03:45 PM

Enough of this. Go and do something useful.

05-11-2023, 03:55 PM
1. No, we're open to all potential fans regardless of their background.

2. We have our name and the harp in our badge, which is sufficient for a 21st century Scottish club with almost 150 years of history since we were founded by excluded Irish Catholics.

3. It was in the past but not now.

Lendo
05-11-2023, 04:11 PM

1. I’m a Hibs support who has never visited Ireland and has absolutely no Irish heritage.
2. The Harp on the badge is enough. We should be embracing our working class Leith identity more in 2023
3. Time for a rerun on the Leith plebiscite I say. Leith voted overwhelmingly to remain independent from Edinburgh in 1920 but the results were ignored.

05-11-2023, 04:24 PM
I feel that Leith is becoming increasingly indistinguishable from Edinburgh. Maybe 30 or even 20 years ago there was a palpable sense of two distinct identities but - in common with many high profile cities - gentrification has smoothed all the edges away.

05-11-2023, 04:25 PM
1. I’m a Hibs support who has never visited Ireland and has absolutely no Irish heritage.
2. The Harp on the badge is enough. We should be embracing our working class Leith identity more in 2023
3. Time for a rerun on the Leith plebiscite I say. Leith voted overwhelmingly to remain independent from Edinburgh in 1920 but the results were ignored.

Indeed,Lendo
I also made reference/link to that injustice !!
Ron Brown use to call out for that a lot.:greengrin
Some guy was Ron !! He loved his Leith !!

TelaStella
05-11-2023, 04:27 PM

Maybe something like survey monkey would be beneficial for you and your research on this matter, just to open it up to a wider audience and avoid any potential dispute or debate that may arise here like any online forum page. Interesting topic to choose and wish you all the best going forward. My own responses would be, yes I feel our club has a somewhat Irish element to our identity but more of a historical context. It’s something I personally like to celebrate without a sense of over-pushing like another club. Personally I’ve never accepted that an Irish identity can be labelled sectarian. Finally, Leith has always had a different identity from Edinburgh, speaking as somebody who was born and bred there and a leith family going back 7 generations. Unfortunately from what I see now much of that identity has become far more aligned with the city than ever before and doesn’t appear to be slowing down anytime soon. I left the east coast sometime ago and very happily settled on the other side. Leith and Hibs will always be my first love but I do find myself more disassociated with my home each time I come back to visit. Hope this helps for your research and good luck going forward. Feel free to drop me a message should you wish to speak more[emoji1303].

eezyrider
05-11-2023, 04:42 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

This as well.

EZ

05-11-2023, 04:45 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

Me and all.

PolmontHibby
05-11-2023, 04:48 PM

1. No
2. Recognise it as a historical part of our background, but of no current significance
3. No, but it is the best part of Edinburgh

05-11-2023, 04:50 PM
1. A number of Hibs fans are proud of their families Irish roots and their connection to the early days of the club. I include myself in that.

2. In a ‘normal’ country e.g. Australia or the USA it’s not a problem e.g. Notre Dame, Boston Celtics etc. If some can’t cope with our Irish Catholic background that’s their problem.

3. Yes. I lived there for 30 years it’s definitely different to the rest of Edinburgh.

05-11-2023, 05:05 PM

No, Hibs were always a Scottish club playing in Scotland, our founders had Irish roots but the club has always been a Scottish one.

Our colours are primarily green and we have a harp in our club emblem. As long as Hibs are named Hibernian, we will always embrace our Irish founder's roots.

Leith is part of Edinburgh but different, the same can be said for any quarter that makes up the city. The same applies to any city that has different quarters, those quarters will all be part of the sum total but have their own individual character.

05-11-2023, 05:11 PM
Maybe something like survey monkey would be beneficial for you and your research on this matter, just to open it up to a wider audience and avoid any potential dispute or debate that may arise here like any online forum page. Interesting topic to choose and wish you all the best going forward. My own responses would be, yes I feel our club has a somewhat Irish element to our identity but more of a historical context. It’s something I personally like to celebrate without a sense of over-pushing like another club. Personally I’ve never accepted that an Irish identity can be labelled sectarian. Finally, Leith has always had a different identity from Edinburgh, speaking as somebody who was born and bred there and a leith family going back 7 generations. Unfortunately from what I see now much of that identity has become far more aligned with the city than ever before and doesn’t appear to be slowing down anytime soon. I left the east coast sometime ago and very happily settled on the other side. Leith and Hibs will always be my first love but I do find myself more disassociated with my home each time I come back to visit. Hope this helps for your research and good luck going forward. Feel free to drop me a message should you wish to speak more[emoji1303].

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkLeith was part of Edinburgh until 1830, was seperate from then to the 1920's. Saying that 90 years apart is maybe enough to build a distinct identity but it hasn't always been seperate.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

05-11-2023, 05:33 PM
No, Hibs were always a Scottish club playing in Scotland, our founders had Irish roots but the club has always been a Scottish one.

Our colours are primarily green and we have a harp in our club emblem. As long as Hibs are named Hibernian, we will always embrace our Irish founder's roots.

Leith is part of Edinburgh but different, the same can be said for any quarter that makes up the city. The same applies to any city that has different quarters, those quarters will all be part of the sum total but have their own individual character.

Yes,of course,always a Scottish club.
Our founders did not just have Irish roots,though.
They themselves had came here from Ireland.
Our founding father and first captain,for example, both born in Ireland.
And our first football sides would have mostly included Irish born immigrants.

05-11-2023, 05:39 PM
For people who are originally from Leith they definitely see it as seperate to Edinburgh. As more local people are priced out of the area that will change, but for the majority of Leithers who grew up in the area it's very much its own distinctive place.

Hibs4185
05-11-2023, 05:59 PM

I’d actually go as far to say that a tricolour is something I’d happily never see at a Hibs game again.

Seconded again

Hibees1973
05-11-2023, 06:01 PM

100% agree with this.

Do we really think these people who bring the Irish tricolour along to Hibs games is because our founder was Irish.

It's because they want to try and antagonise opposition support with the tricolour flag and is brought along for political reasons.

05-11-2023, 06:05 PM

Wouldn't bother me if I didn't see it again. Wouldn't bother me if I did either. It doesn't offend me in the slightest.

TelaStella
05-11-2023, 06:21 PM
Leith was part of Edinburgh until 1830, was seperate from then to the 1920's. Saying that 90 years apart is maybe enough to build a distinct identity but it hasn't always been seperate.

Yep, ken the history mate. I refer to Since 90+2’s response above^.

05-11-2023, 06:27 PM
Seconded again

Thirded again.

05-11-2023, 06:28 PM
Wouldn't bother me if I didn't see it again. Wouldn't bother me if I did either. It doesn't offend me in the slightest.

It’s not offensive. It ****s me off that they only appear when we play rangers and hearts. They’re purely there to wind up opposing fans.

babahibs
05-11-2023, 06:35 PM
1. A number of Hibs fans are proud of their families Irish roots and their connection to the early days of the club. I include myself in that.

2. In a ‘normal’ country e.g. Australia or the USA it’s not a problem e.g. Notre Dame, Boston Celtics etc. If some can’t cope with our Irish Catholic background that’s their problem.

3. Yes. I lived there for 30 years it’s definitely different to the rest of Edinburgh.

'Normal' countries like USA? :faf:

05-11-2023, 06:45 PM
Hibs Irishness is very important to me and my family. I'm sure there is a wide spectrum from it being important to couldn't care less.

I think we do fine displaying the harp but Irishness in this country is always going to be perceived as having some sectarian slant.

Leith does feel a bit different from the rest of Edinburgh, but I'm sure Leith punters will say they are from Edinburgh when they are not at that moment in Edinburgh. When on holiday for example.

05-11-2023, 07:04 PM
Hibs Irishness is very important to me and my family. I'm sure there is a wide spectrum from it being important to couldn't care less.

I think we do fine displaying the harp but Irishness in this country is always going to be perceived as having some sectarian slant.

Leith does feel a bit different from the rest of Edinburgh, but I'm sure Leith punters will say they are from Edinburgh when they are not at that moment in Edinburgh. When on holiday for example.

Nope l always say I am from Leith, the Port of Edinburgh.
The Irish part not so much as it was so long ago, but never forget where you started out.

05-11-2023, 07:04 PM
It’s not offensive. It ****s me off that they only appear when we play rangers and hearts. They’re purely there to wind up opposing fans.

I saw a few yesterday at hampden and we were playing neither

05-11-2023, 07:06 PM

I was not going to comment on that.
But since you have:greengrin

I was in Denver in 1999 visiting cousins who were brought up in Edinburgh.
In conversation i happened to ask
"Would you go back and live in Edinburgh?

Oh No, Mick !
"You dont see the drunken violent behaviour here in Denver like back hame"
They had lived in Muirhouse near the Gunner ,btw
So it was their memory of saturday nights when the pubs emptied.
I was struck dumb ,though.
I arrived in Denver that trip on the day of the Columbine School shootings.
Which is not far from where my cousins lived back then !
And they were on about drunks in Embra!:drunk:

On the tricolour at the Holy Ground.
I took one regular to the Cave back in my youth,as did other supporters.
Nothing to do with noising up the neighbours,then.
There was an element at ER back in those days that would have wished it away.
Police foremost in the Cave confiscating all sorts of banners/flags:greengrin
Pure badness from them at the time.
It maybe was not the only flag of our founders.
It was around,but not the official flag as Ireland was not Independant then.

But is the flag now of our founders Country.
So maybe the young team do want to noise up some other fans.
Good for them !
If it riles up the Zombies,fine by me:greengrin

Hibernian
Erin Go Bragh
Harp on the badge
St Patrick's church ,Cowgate
Cant really escape it, can you? !!

Maybe the one in question is for JDH !!:greengrin

And those at Hampden 2016 for Anthony Stokes !!

GreenGray
05-11-2023, 07:09 PM

Seen plenty yesterday tbf. Definitely a small core of the support keen to get that going, fair play to them imo.

05-11-2023, 07:12 PM

Not sure if your tutor will see Hibs.net as a reliable opinion source!
I am 1/8th Irish brought up in Leith. 3 means far more to me than 1.
No need to do any more than already stated re the Irish connection in eatablishing the club.

05-11-2023, 07:59 PM

1) No not really, 99% of Hibs fans are umpteenth generation Scots.

2) We acknowledge the fact the club was founded by Irishmen in Edinburgh, nobody has a problem with that and we would go absolutely mental if anybody messed with the name, the colours, or the harp in the badge as it now is. But for 99% of our fans Hibs are a Scottish football club.

Seen a flag at yesterday's game that had Cannon Hannan as it's centre piece ... represented the club's founders brilliantly.

3) Slightly, These days it probably is recognised as part of Edinburgh, but it retains a wee bit of otherness that keeps it's identity ... for now at least.

05-11-2023, 08:22 PM

1) Undoubtably some are very proud of our Irish heritage - I'd say though that for the majority it's not a big deal and not core to their support of the club.

2) Having Irish roots should not imply sectarianism. Hibs as a club ditched it's affiliation with the Catholic Church in the Cowgate way back in the 19th Century when we became professional. If our Irish roots are perceived as sectarian then it's more a sad reflection on 21st Century Scotland than anything else. I certainly know that our support as a whole don't give a monkeys about the faith - or lack thereof - of either the players on the pitch or their fellow fans - it's simply not even thought about.

3) Leith definitely has a separate identity to Edinburgh even if that's not reflected by administrational boundaries - but Hibs embrace both Edinburgh and Leith as part of our identity - the badge says Hibernian FC, Edinburgh.

05-11-2023, 08:54 PM

Yeah that is a ridiculous comparison.

In USA everyone goes on about their roots to disguise the fact they are all immigrants who built a country on someone’s land.

And l love America.

05-11-2023, 09:30 PM
1 - I spend a lot of time in Ireland as my wife is Irish and I have a real affection for the country.
However, at no point when watching Hibs have I ever felt anything “Irish heritage” or even thought about Ireland. I know the history of our early years and a proud history it is too, but the club has evolved into a long established Scottish club based in the capital city and while the history should never be forgotten, I don’t think many now would claim that we are an Irish club.

2 - The club crest acknowledges our foundations. The name of the club and maybe to a lesser degree the colours (green isn’t exclusive to Ireland!), the balance is relight for me.

3 - I’m not from Edinburgh so will leave that to Leithers and other capital residents to answer.

FC1875
05-11-2023, 09:45 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

This. I'll also add we are nothing like Celtic.

FC1875
05-11-2023, 09:47 PM

Well said.

05-11-2023, 09:50 PM
1. No.
2. Harp and name is enough.
3. Not from there nor lived there so couldn't say.

05-11-2023, 10:16 PM
This. I'll also add we are nothing like Celtic.Celtic fans have a stunted , narrow way of portraying their version of "Irishness". Glad we aren't like them.

mcohibs
05-11-2023, 11:25 PM
As someone with Irish heritage, I’m very proud of the history of the club and its connection to Ireland.

I often think as a fan base and club generally we are too cautious not to overplay our Irish roots at the risk of being likened to Celtic, which is a shame.

Imagine a club called ‘Caledonia’ founded by Scots, playing in blue with a thistle on their badge that never mentioned their Scottishness :greengrin

05-11-2023, 11:36 PM

1. No
2. The badge
3. No

Lester B
06-11-2023, 08:43 AM

Interesting questions

1. No
2. I think most of us are aware of the history of the club and are proud of that history. We're not defined by it or in thrall to it unlike other clubs that could be mentioned.
3. I don't particularly but then I don't live in Leith and never have done. My predecessors definitely did. I come from what I term a Leith mixed marriage; "He's fae Leith. she's no'" Like most port towns Leith can have a proud, distinct view of itself as unique. In the early 90s I was going to Glasgow for the weekend to see my then girlfriend. I told my grandad, who was born and bred in Leith. "Oh aye. Glasgow eh? I've been there. It was alright. But it wasnae Leith"

Hibs4185
06-11-2023, 09:13 AM
I’m a Hibs fan because I’m from Leith and could see the stadium from my house growing up. I respect the Irish tradition but it’s a scottish club playing in Scotland with a predominately scottish set of fans.

I utterly hate Celtic fans playing up to the Irish thing even and I hate rangers and hearts playing up to the British thing and Northen Ireland thing.

I also hate how people align their political views dependent on which football team they support. It’s utterly depressing.

Hibs have a great balance where we respect and honour the heritage without playing up to it. I just hope the future generation don’t become a diet Celtic thing with tri colours etc

06-11-2023, 09:35 AM

This is where I am, can't see 3 happening though. Leith has been comfortably absorbed into the city and I'm just about okay with that.

06-11-2023, 09:41 AM
100% agree with this.

Do we really think these people who bring the Irish tricolour along to Hibs games is because our founder was Irish.

It's because they want to try and antagonise opposition support with the tricolour flag and is brought along for political reasons.

I saw a kid at the semi final with a tri colour and thought to myself why not just bring a hibs flag along. Im not a fan of national flags at club matches. I identify Hibs as a Scottish club from Leith.
As im from Leith, Leith will always be seperate from Edinburgh despite what all the young trendy folk think.

06-11-2023, 10:22 AM
Seen plenty yesterday tbf. Definitely a small core of the support keen to get that going, fair play to them imo.

Fair play to them for...what exactly?

hibbie02
06-11-2023, 10:36 AM

1. No. My DNA tells me I’m some sort of cross new Vikings and Border Reivers. Brought up in a Scottish Prod house full of Jamboids.
2. The badge.
3. Raised in EH7 so not quite Leith. I could see a difference though. Was brought up closer to Easter Road Stadium than actual Leith. That should muddy the water…

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

06-11-2023, 11:13 AM
1/ I see Hibs as a Scottish club founded by Irishmen, with a long association with Scots-Irish families.

I suspect the club's wider appeal (Ie: to non-Catholics)was slow to develop initially, although there's no doubt that it also had a strong Leith association. I did some university research in the early 90's, interviewing people for an oral history project. I spoke to some interesting characters, including Jock Wilson, who was a veteran of WW1. He was also an auld Leither. He told me that Hibs were a unifying factor when Protestant Action was at it's most active, in the 1930's. Hibs had a big Leith support, but we also elected a PA councillor in Leith.

2/ Take the pronunciations of Glasgow -centric groups, like Nil by Mouth with a pinch of salt. They have long been taken to task for misrepresenting Hibs and contemporary issues with sectarianism. I think Hibs boards have always slightly stepped back from overly cultivating their profile in Ireland due to a desire to avoid being tainted by the sectarian issue. With the end of the "troubles", there was more lee-way and we saw the re-introduction of the harp to our crest and a great deal more comfort in acknowledging our early history.

3/ As someone who moved to Leith, aged 8, c 1972, there was a strong local identity. I saw myself as a Leither first and foremost. My team was Hibs, they were a huge part of that sense of separateness. We had Lawrie Reilly's pub across the street, another title winner, John Paterson worked at Thomson's sports shop in Gt Junction St. I loved buying stuff there as a boy, he wasn't shy about talking about Hibs. Almost every one I knew supported Hibs, apart from the odd die hard Celtic and a single Hearts fan.

jakeshibs
06-11-2023, 11:34 AM

No there is no sense of irishness and and dislike the association with the Tricolour

Our history can never been altered and that is in the past, as we were also non religious, and must ensure we embrace these so never sectarian

I class hibs as leith, edinburgh, the pride of Edinburgh

06-11-2023, 11:45 AM
No there is no sense of irishness and and dislike the association with the Tricolour

Our history can never been altered and that is in the past, as we were also non religious, and must ensure we embrace these so never sectarian

I class hibs as leith, edinburgh, the pride of Edinburgh

Hibs were very much sectarian in our early years. It was a football club for young catholic men, the vast majority of whom were of Irish descent. That stood until the troubled years following professionalism and the rise of Celtic, but prior to that it was a part of the club's constitution that you needed to be a practising catholic to represent the football team.

TrinityHFC
06-11-2023, 11:47 AM
A shame that so many appear to link Ireland with sectarianism.

06-11-2023, 11:55 AM

Understandable to a degree due to celtic. Anything celtic promote, I instinctively recoil from.

For the record, I'm irish, and live in Belfast. That has nothing to do with my love for hibs.

06-11-2023, 12:45 PM
Hibs were very much sectarian in our early years. It was a football club for young catholic men, the vast majority of whom were of Irish descent. That stood until the troubled years following professionalism and the rise of Celtic, but prior to that it was a part of the club's constitution that you needed to be a practising catholic to represent the football team.

All true. But the subtle difference is that when the club was founded Irish Catholics in Edinburgh had to found their own institutions because they would find it hard, if not impossible, be accepted by local ones. It wasn't so much a case of choosing to be sectarian as being forced to be sectarian.

Whatever the history it's an absolute fact that nobody who follows Hibs these days could give a rats arse what religion anybody is, in fact it's a question nobody would even ask, especially in an increasingly secular society.

The same goes for the makeup of the club's support. In it's early years almost exclusively Irish Catholic, but these days almost 100% Scottish and identifying as such. Which kind of goes towards the flag debate ... the Irish tricolour in no way represents me or my nationality, why would anybody wave one at a fitba match, apart from to wind up fans of certain clubs.

06-11-2023, 01:02 PM
1. Not among the vast majority. Some seem to be Irish for certain games
2. There's a harp in our badge and that is plenty for me.
3. Nowhere near as much as there was and there is no going back now unfortunately.

For me we should acknowledge our Irish History but not dwell on it. Our identity should be Leith and Edinburgh but also widen that to Midlothian/East Central Scotland especially as our Training Ground is a good deal away from Edinburgh. I think the club generally get the right balance

06-11-2023, 01:12 PM
All true. But the subtle difference is that when the club was founded Irish Catholics in Edinburgh had to found their own institutions because they would find it hard, if not impossible, be accepted by local ones. It wasn't so much a case of choosing to be sectarian as being forced to be sectarian.

Whatever the history it's an absolute fact that nobody who follows Hibs these days could give a rats arse what religion anybody is, in fact it's a question nobody would even ask, especially in an increasingly secular society.

The same goes for the makeup of the club's support. In it's early years almost exclusively Irish Catholic, but these days almost 100% Scottish and identifying as such. Which kind of goes towards the flag debate ... the Irish tricolour in no way represents me or my nationality, why would anybody wave one at a fitba match, apart from to wind up fans of certain clubs.

I agree with everything you say.

I was replying to another poster who said the club was never religious or sectarian. It clearly was in it's infancy.

Our first non Catholic director was Harry Swan, I think he was initially appointed to the board in the early 1930's, so it's fair to say that our Irish heritage was still a prominent element in the club's identity for the first 50 years.

On a personal note, I feel drawn to our wonderful history and Irish roots, it's a part of my own family heritage. That said I'm not sure national flags are required at any club football match.

The club's stance on our history has changed in recent decades, the various initiatives, like Dan McMichael headstone or the unveiling of the bust of Canon Hannan had involvement or representation from the club. That would never have happened in the 70's 80's or 90's.

All we need to do is bring back the pre-season tours of Ireland, they would be a good way of promoting our club.

06-11-2023, 02:00 PM
1. No
3. A wee bit.

End of thread

Mcbizz1998
06-11-2023, 02:13 PM
1. I certainly don't feel Irishness or know anyone that does but there may be a minority that do.
2. I think we have the balance right currently, wouldn't want anything more being done.
3. I am originally from Barnton but moved to Leith, I am probably counted as one of these no-good gentrifiers (if that's even a word)! I moved to Leith partly because of Hibs, I became a fan in my early teens having never previously having much interest in football, and I can't remember ever going to Leith before my first trip to Easter Road. Since then I have always loved the area, partly due to my love for Hibs but also because I did feel it had a different vibe to other parts of Edinburgh. I bought my first flat here in my mid-twenties and now have a house and I barely leave Leith due it feeling like its own self contained place, it has everything so I barely go into central Edinburgh. I am very proud to live here now, even if the original Leithers think folk like me are ruining the place! :boo hoo:

06-11-2023, 02:17 PM
1. I certainly don't feel Irishness or know anyone that does but there may be a minority that do.
2. I think we have the balance right currently, wouldn't want anything more being done.
3. I am originally from Barnton but moved to Leith, I am probably counted as one of these no-good gentrifiers (if that's even a word)! I moved to Leith partly because of Hibs, I became a fan in my early teens having never previously having much interest in football, and I can't remember ever going to Leith before my first trip to Easter Road. Since then I have always loved the area, partly due to my love for Hibs but also because I did feel it had a different vibe to other parts of Edinburgh. I bought my first flat here in my mid-twenties and now have a house and I barely leave Leith due it feeling like its own self contained place, it has everything so I barely go into central Edinburgh. I am very proud to live here now, even if the original Leithers think folk like me are ruining the place! :boo hoo:

Have you noticed a change in Leith from your first experiences compared to now?

Mcbizz1998
06-11-2023, 02:32 PM
Have you noticed a change in Leith from your first experiences compared to now?

Not hugely tbh but if anything I think it has improved even in the 7 or so years I have lived here. The area around the shore just seems to be getting better and better (if you are someone like me), with great independent bars, cafes and restaurants - I would strongly argue that Leith has the best food/drink scene in Edinburgh, and therefore Scotland.

However, I do understand that's not for everyone and some people feel that these types of establishments and the new housing in the area are pricing out people originally from Leith. I believe there is still a really good mix of people and places in the area though, just my opinion.

06-11-2023, 05:35 PM

No, virtually non-existent. It's rare to hear an Irish accent at ER. I was brought up being made to go Leith Methodist Church by my mum in the 1970's (when it still existed, it wad own Junction place on the left as you went down to Leith Baths) and I never had the slightest feeling even then that I was going to a catholic or an Irish club. Hibs is Scottish.

We aren't labelled sectarian because we aren't sectarian ! we haven't been in anyones living memory. As others have pointed out Harry Swan was not catholic and he ran the club in the 1930's. We have our name, the harp on the badge and our green kit as a nod to our founders., that's it. All welcome at ER

It certainly used to. I left to live in England back in 1986, but my daughter now lives 1 minute walk from the East stand, and she feels it's different. I always felt both a Leither and from Edinburgh.

06-11-2023, 05:43 PM

Ireland isn’t really anything to do with my reasons for supporting Hibs although I obviously respect those for whom it’s a different story.

Our perceived Irishness does lead to quite a lot of sectarianism experienced at the hands of a particular demographic within Scottish society though. I can be fairly astonished at how different the Hibs-supporting experience is to what the perception of it might be to those who prefer their football supporting experience to be framed by bigotry.

06-11-2023, 06:16 PM

I certainly don't, and I'd be very surprised if any other Hibs Fan thought that.

Like many other Hibs supporters, though, I find a large part of the Celtc support's portrayal of their Irish 'identity' as being very close to sectarianism and would hate to see our support go down the same route.

superbam
06-11-2023, 06:21 PM

1. Yes for many but not all. It's a club founded by the Irish diaspora of which myself and others are descended. For some that's part of our identity, for others its irrelevant,no problem there. Having moved from Edinburgh to Dublin I know many Irish hibees who travel regularly to Easter Road and the main reason many started following us was our history and connection to the Irish diaspora in Edinburgh.

2. I think most of us do it fine. Celtic and the **** live rent free in some folks heads and unfortunately they can only view anything to do with Irish identity through the prism of old firm bigotry and what they see ad performative nationalism of the British and Irish variety. Its a pity but understandable i suppose if you grow up in Scotland

3. Yes but see us as a Leith and Edinburgh club, personally I'd add Arthur's Seat to the harp, castle and ship if I had my way

06-11-2023, 06:30 PM

The real shame is the very small minority of clowns in our support that link us with sectarianism through Ireland.

06-11-2023, 06:52 PM
As someone with Irish heritage, I’m very proud of the history of the club and its connection to Ireland.

I often think as a fan base and club generally we are too cautious not to overplay our Irish roots at the risk of being likened to Celtic, which is a shame.

Imagine a club called ‘Caledonia’ founded by Scots, playing in blue with a thistle on their badge that never mentioned their Scottishness :greengrin

Would depend on where 'Caledonia' played though. In Scotland fine, in the league of Ireland, maybe not. I don't know.

06-11-2023, 07:02 PM

1. My ethnicity is predominantly Irish (70%), but I was born in Scotland so consider myself Scottish. Hibs being a Scottish club with Irish roots suits me perfectly. I'm proud of Hibs Scottish/Irish identity.

2. By continuing to build links with our local community in Edinburgh, whilst at the same time building links with relevant communities in the ROI, e.g., Canon Hannan's and Michael Whelehan's birth towns - the club has already started building links with the Ballingarry, Co Limerick community which is a great start. We also have a sizeable amount of supporter's in Dublin, who the club should reach out to more.

3. I think Leith once had a different identity but that is now much more diluted with Leith's demographics changing over the years. There are many more affluent people living in Leith these days.

06-11-2023, 07:19 PM

I agree, it's very strange as Scots and Irish history is so intertwined. The Scots were an Irish tribe after all 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇮🇪

06-11-2023, 09:29 PM
1. Yes for many but not all. It's a club founded by the Irish diaspora of which myself and others are descended. For some that's part of our identity, for others its irrelevant,no problem there. Having moved from Edinburgh to Dublin I know many Irish hibees who travel regularly to Easter Road and the main reason many started following us was our history and connection to the Irish diaspora in Edinburgh.

2. I think most of us do it fine. Celtic and the **** live rent free in some folks heads and unfortunately they can only view anything to do with Irish identity through the prism of old firm bigotry and what they see ad performative nationalism of the British and Irish variety. Its a pity but understandable i suppose if you grow up in Scotland

3. Yes but see us as a Leith and Edinburgh club, personally I'd add Arthur's Seat to the harp, castle and ship if I had my way

Then you have your wish mate ... the white background to the castle on the clubs badge represents Arthur's seat :aok:

The Pointer
06-11-2023, 10:16 PM

100%!

Mcbizz1998
06-11-2023, 10:21 PM
Then you have your wish mate ... the white background to the castle on the clubs badge represents Arthur's seat :aok:

Wait, really!?

06-11-2023, 10:24 PM

News to me too!

FC1875
06-11-2023, 10:35 PM
The real shame is the very small minority of clowns in our support that link us with sectarianism through Ireland.

Becoming worse as well with Celtic like behaviour from an element of our support.

07-11-2023, 12:35 AM
No - we're a very different club from 100+ years ago.

Colours and crest well reflect the origins of the Club without over commercialising the Club as being Irish or worse sectarian.

Leith v Edinburgh - I can get why people from Leith might want to encourage this because some people like to be "different" but it's part of Edinburgh in the same way other outlaying areas like Colinton or Portobello used to be but are now part of Edinburgh.

ddoc
07-11-2023, 06:53 AM
Despite not having lived in Leith sine I left to join the RAF 50 years ago I still identify myself as a Leither, particularly when being asked where I am from by a fellow Scot. I generally say Edinburgh when asked by anyone else as I got tired of the blank looks when I said Leith.
I certainly miss Leith, but I think the rose tint on my glasses have something to do with that.
The Leith of the 60’s and 70’s is a different place entirely from what it is now.
For what it is worth, I have never gave any consideration to Hibs Irish heritage and just cannot remotely relate to those waving the Tricolour at ER.

07-11-2023, 07:15 AM
Wait, really!?

News to me too!

Its true, I first read about it maybe 5 or 6 years ago on here. Now that I've seen it I can't unsee it.

07-11-2023, 07:20 AM
Don’t doubt you got a minute mate and now you’ve mentioned it I can’t unsee it, where did you get this info from?

scm70nyd1973
07-11-2023, 08:26 AM
100%!

Me too - we are a Scottish football club after all ( I am Scottish with no family links to Ireland) but happened to be formed by Irish people who came to our country- so glad they did come and what they did - also very happy to acknowledge this too and be eternally grateful - but it’s a Scottish flag for me any day of the week.

07-11-2023, 10:24 AM
Don’t doubt you got a minute mate and now you’ve mentioned it I can’t unsee it, where did you get this info from?

Cant be exact, but pretty sure it was during a debate about the badge a few years back where the club were quoted as having said so.

07-11-2023, 10:43 AM

I don't link Ireland with Sectarianism, I recognise that our founders and our name are very much a nod to our roots. I find Tricolours at Hibs games as strange as I find Union Jacks at Hearts games.

In the context of a derby/game against Rangers there is no doubt in my mind that they are there to stoke up a kind of Celtic/Rangers Catholic/Protestant bull ****.

07-11-2023, 10:50 AM

I think that in the last twenty-odd years the Club as an institution has become more comfortable in acknowledging our Irish origins, firstly through reinstating the Harp on our crest and various other initiatives that the Club has been part of (often initiated by the excellent St Pats branch) the most recent being the late Stephen Dunn representing Hibs at the unveiling of a plaque to commemorate our founder Canon Hannan in his birthplace Ballingarry last year. We're a Scottish club playing in Scotland in front of predominately Scottish-born fans so don't think theres any particular Irishness in the ground other than our name and colours. I think its more a case of Hibs recent owners being more comfortable with our club's origins than certain previous owners and the fan base of all backgrounds and beliefs being comfortable with that.

As someone whose family connections go back to Little Ireland and St Pats CYMS where Hibs were founded I think that the right balance is being struck between acknowledging our early history and origins and being a 21st-century Scottish football club. Our name and colours are sufficient that they will always attract negative comments from certain sections and we shouldn't rewrite or play down our origins to accommodate them. We have the balance right in recognizing our Irish origins but recognizing that we are a Scottish football club.

Leith has its own distinct identity and atmosphere but I think lots of other areas of the city have that as well. I've lots of pals who are very proud of their Leith origins and it has often been the catalyst for them supporting their local Club but I dont personally know anyone nowadays who views Leith as a separate entity from Edinburgh.

07-11-2023, 11:13 AM
I think that in the last twenty-odd years the Club as an institution has become more comfortable in acknowledging our Irish origins, firstly through reinstating the Harp on our crest and various other initiatives that the Club has been part of (often initiated by the excellent St Pats branch) the most recent being the late Stephen Dunn representing Hibs at the unveiling of a plaque to commemorate our founder Canon Hannan in his birthplace Ballingarry last year. We're a Scottish club playing in Scotland in front of predominately Scottish-born fans so don't think theres any particular Irishness in the ground other than our name and colours. I think its more a case of Hibs recent owners being more comfortable with our club's origins than certain previous owners and the fan base of all backgrounds and beliefs being comfortable with that.

As someone whose family connections go back to Little Ireland and St Pats CYMS where Hibs were founded I think that the right balance is being struck between acknowledging our early history and origins and being a 21st-century Scottish football club. Our name and colours are sufficient that they will always attract negative comments from certain sections and we shouldn't rewrite or play down our origins to accommodate them. We have the balance right in recognizing our Irish origins but recognizing that we are a Scottish football club.

Leith has its own distinct identity and atmosphere but I think lots of other areas of the city have that as well. I've lots of pals who are very proud of their Leith origins and it has often been the catalyst for them supporting their local Club but I dont personally know anyone nowadays who views Leith as a separate entity from Edinburgh.

Good post, sums up my take on 21st century Hibs perfectly :top marks

07-11-2023, 11:24 AM
I don't link Ireland with Sectarianism, I recognise that our founders and our name are very much a nod to our roots. I find Tricolours at Hibs games as strange as I find Union Jacks at Hearts games.

In the context of a derby/game against Rangers there is no doubt in my mind that they are there to stoke up a kind of Celtic/Rangers Catholic/Protestant bull ****.

Yeh, me as well .... the funny thing is that the two most fervent Jambos I know wouldn't be caught dead waving a union Jack :greengrin

The pub we stopped at on Saturday .. can't remember the name, it's in Rutherglen .. was packed with Hibs fans and there was fine display of Hibs flags pinned up on the walls, none of which were tricolours that I can recall, but the one I mentioned earlier with cannon Hannan as it's centre piece was an absolute belter .. if you wan't to acknowledge the clubs Irish founders thats the way to do it.

I sometimes think there's a bit of confusion about Hibs ... we were founded by Irishmen, we weren't founded in Ireland ... a subtle but important point IMO.

07-11-2023, 11:36 AM
I feel that Leith is becoming increasingly indistinguishable from Edinburgh. Maybe 30 or even 20 years ago there was a palpable sense of two distinct identities but - in common with many high profile cities - gentrification has smoothed all the edges away.

I still think there's a bit of a distinct identify, if you look at the Scottish Index of Multiple Deprivation map you can see all of our major cities have extremely classist historical town planning - with all of the richer, less deprived areas kept completely separate from the poorer more deprived areas.

However in Leith you have some of the most deprived postcodes in the nation right next to some of the least deprived ones, all mixed up with no clear boundaries.

This creates quite a unique culture and atmosphere compared to the rest of the city, as every other part of Edinburgh is much more clearly defined as being badly deprived or not.

https://simd.scot/#/simd2020/BTTTFTT/12.804712041264114/-3.1963/55.9531/

07-11-2023, 11:44 AM
Yeh, me as well .... the funny thing is that the two most fervent Jambos I know wouldn't be caught dead waving a union Jack :greengrin

The pub we stopped at on Saturday .. can't remember the name, it's in Rutherglen .. was packed with Hibs fans and there was fine display of Hibs flags pinned up on the walls, none of which were tricolours that I can recall, but the one I mentioned earlier with cannon Hannan as it's centre piece was an absolute belter .. if you wan't to acknowledge the clubs Irish founders thats the way to do it.

I sometimes think there's a bit of confusion about Hibs ... we were founded by Irishmen, we weren't founded in Ireland ... a subtle but important point IMO.

Me too, I know several. One is catholic, one avoids games against the old firm because the atmosphere is so toxic and another was on facebook questioning other Hearts fans as to why they were bringing UJ's to games.

I think between the two sets of fans, we both have an element who want to make us more like a Celtic/Rangers rivalry and the vast majority would detest it.

07-11-2023, 12:45 PM
I tippled that this thread, for many,would turn into a flag/Irish debate :agree:
I am happy with the Irish flag, just as i am with the Erin Go Bragh flags .
Our first motto right there.
I am also proud of the St Patrick's Branch members and others who keep our history alive,and their pilgrimage to our founding father, Edward Joseph Hannon, who we all know as Canon Hannon, home town,Ballingarry in County Limerick and the recognition more people here and in Ireland will have of Hibernian FC., Edinburgh ,through their work/ efforts and devotion.
Also our dear departed friend and comrade,Alan Lugton,devoted many years of his life painstakingly writing our history in his wonderful trilogy.
Copies of which i took to America to spread the Hibernian Gospel.:greengrin
I recommend Alan's titles to the original poster and all Hibs fans who have not yet read them.

This is my view being a descendant of Devlin's (Mothers name)and Flynn's (Granny's name) who lived in the Cowgate/Grassmarket/Canongate areas at the time of our founding.
Italians and Jews too, so Europes poor and dispossessed ended up in "Little Ireland".
All became Hibbys. of course.
One of the first Hibs fan i knew to have an ST at the Holy Ground was an Italian from the High Street.
Hibernian FC to them was much more than a football club.
I understand others will not share my views. .....Glory Glory !!

"If you know your history"!
Erin Go Bragh
HGSP
SOL

Pedant Alert !!
Canon Hannan
It is Canon ,as in Priest/cleric.
Not Cannon ,as in Mons Meg !!:greengrin

Edit:
Just an afterthought.
How about The Canon Hannan Gate at The Holy Ground Entrance?
A nod to the obvious...Canongate, in our birth parish.

07-11-2023, 12:52 PM
Me too, I know several. One is catholic, one avoids games against the old firm because the atmosphere is so toxic and another was on facebook questioning other Hearts fans as to why they were bringing UJ's to games.

I think between the two sets of fans, we both have an element who want to make us more like a Celtic/Rangers rivalry and the vast majority would detest it.

Indeed ... Leave the tricolour union jack waving pish to the uglies. In recent years there's been a rise in the use of saltires in club colours throughout our game, what could be better for any Scottish football club.

07-11-2023, 01:03 PM
Indeed ... Leave the tricolour union jack waving pish to the uglies. In recent years there's been a rise in the use of saltires in club colours throughout our game, what could be better for any Scottish football club.

Aesthetically it certainly beats the green and white union flag ... (in my opinion of course)

07-11-2023, 01:06 PM

I see you are a wee younger than me
But i agree that i dont want our younger fans emulating Celtic fans in some ways.
We are Hibernian FC !!
Of course, the Green Brigade sing rebel songs
But many "rebels" they sing about in thoser songs were Protestants Republicans !
Now sevco fans/loyalists, they are a different beast !!
The only fans of the Edinburgh teams i ever heard singing sectarian songs were not Hibs fans.

Back in the day there was anti orange/ anti masonic chants/ditties at ER
But "up to yer knees in my blood song" could be heard at Tynie.
In some hearts pubs you could also hear the Sash being sung,along with other Orange songs.
One i knew in particular in Gorgie Road was rife with Loyalist Jambos around the time you were born.
Some of them still use the word Fenian in their "hello hello/gorgie boys" tripe.
I have never heard any Hibs choir singing anti -Protestant songs.
I would not have joined in that ,had there been.

We are a club supported by all faiths and none !

I loved those great pictures in the EEN of the Leith Singhs with their Green Turbans at the 2016 Final !!

07-11-2023, 01:08 PM
I still think there's a bit of a distinct identify, if you look at the Scottish Index of Multiple Deprivation map you can see all of our major cities have extremely classist historical town planning - with all of the richer, less deprived areas kept completely separate from the poorer more deprived areas.

However in Leith you have some of the most deprived postcodes in the nation right next to some of the least deprived ones, all mixed up with no clear boundaries.

This creates quite a unique culture and atmosphere compared to the rest of the city, as every other part of Edinburgh is much more clearly defined as being badly deprived or not.

https://simd.scot/#/simd2020/BTTTFTT/12.804712041264114/-3.1963/55.9531/

That's not unique to Leith though. You have some of the most deprived areas close to affluent areas everywhere in Edinburgh.

Blackhall and Drylaw, Trinity and Granton, Duddingston and Bingham being 3 off the top of my head.

07-11-2023, 01:22 PM
That's not unique to Leith though. You have some of the most deprived areas close to affluent areas everywhere in Edinburgh.

Blackhall and Drylaw, Trinity and Granton, Duddingston and Bingham being 3 off the top of my head.

When i was a bairn in the Grassmarket,it would have ranked among the deprived areas.
1950s Cowgate/West Port .likewise.
Look at it now .
My Grannys rented hoose is now worth a small fortune!!! .
17 Grassmarket,,next to The Vennel.
Changed days,eh?
Nae tourist traps /rip off Irish theme bars back then.
Lodging houses and sawdust pubs..... and a great Italian owned chippy near the fit o the West Port !!
Anyway, sorry ,I digress from the OP theme !

07-11-2023, 01:26 PM
When i was a bairn in the Grassmarket,it would have ranked among the deprived areas. 1950s
Look at it now My Grannys hoose is now worth a small fortune 17 Grassmarket
Changed days,eh?
Nae tourist traps /rip off Irish theme bars back then.
Lodging houses and sawdust pubs..... and a great Italian owned chippy near the fit o the West Port !!Was in the new Virgin Hotel which is in Greyfriars Hall last week. Spent a pretty penny on it. At one time a skin clinic for the jakies, who have moved on from the area. It also encompasses what was Nicky Tams and all the dive premises below which were divided up into little club rooms.

07-11-2023, 01:39 PM
Was in the new Virgin Hotel which is in Greyfriars Hall last week. Spent a pretty penny on it. At one time a skin clinic for the jakies, who have moved on from the area. It also encompasses what was Nicky Tams and all the dive premises below which were divided up into little club rooms.

Aye, Indeed.
My Uncle was manager of the lodging hoose in the West Port (lived in tied flat)

Victoria Hostel for Working Men it was called.
But he barred drinking alcohol in the place.
And he could street fight. so he rarely got an argument.
The two mens kips in the Market were sad places to be
As was the Womens Sally Ann one next to The Vennel.
My mother despised the cruel people that ran that place.

My Granny's brother and his family lived in the same stair.
Big family, house well overcrowded, even by poor housing standards then.
Most of them eventually left for America.
Helped each other get there over a number of years
Anytime they return the kick themselves for not having the old hoose.
But i said ,you moved out of poverty/poor paid work.
So that was the good thing.
Nostalgia ,eh?
Sometimes the good old days really were not,if when you were skint by the Monday and Tuesdays family allowance kept ye gaun till Friday.
Spam and chips.
If you were lucky !!

07-11-2023, 01:46 PM
I see you are a wee younger than me
But i agree that i dont want our younger fans emulating Celtic fans in some ways.
We are Hibernian FC !!
Of course, the Green Brigade sing rebel songs
But many "rebels" they sing about in thoser songs were Protestants Republicans !
Now sevco fans/loyalists, they are a different beast !!
The only fans of the Edinburgh teams i ever heard singing sectarian songs were not Hibs fans.

Back in the day there was anti orange/ anti masonic chants/ditties at ER
But "up to yer knees in my blood song" could be heard at Tynie.
In some hearts pubs you could also hear the Sash being sung,along with other Orange songs.
One i knew in particular in Gorgie Road was rife with Loyalist Jambos around the time you were born.
Some of them still use the word Fenian in their "hello hello/gorgie boys" tripe.
I have never heard any Hibs choir singing anti -Protestant songs.
I would not have joined in that ,had there been.

We are a club supported by all faiths and none !

I loved those great pictures in the EEN of the Leith Singhs with their Green Turbans at the 2016 Final !!

I don't disagree with any of that, and I too love the fact we are of many and faiths and backgrounds.

My point is that I believe that there is a small section of our fanbase who would want our rivalry with Hearts to become are hate-filled and fanatical as that of the Old Firm. I don't know if sectarianism would come in to that, but you never know.

I don't doubt your experience at all and I've even seen videos of the Gorie flute band playing the same songs as their *** cousins in the West.

07-11-2023, 02:04 PM
I don't disagree with any of that, and I too love the fact we are of many and faiths and backgrounds.

My point is that I believe that there is a small section of our fanbase who would want our rivalry with Hearts to become are hate-filled and fanatical as that of the Old Firm. I don't know if sectarianism would come in to that, but you never know.

I don't doubt your experience at all and I've even seen videos of the Gorie flute band playing the same songs as their *** cousins in the West.

Yes... thanks for response.
And i hope any descent into hate filled nonsense/activity will be put down(i dont mean violently) by the majority around them .

This bullying/stealing seats i read on here of groups at away games angers this auld yin.
I would have been huckled back when i was younger if that happened to me or mine .
Need fixing .Cannae go on ,dividing support and bringing grief to the club.
That Ibrox stunt was despicable too .Shamed us all.