View Full Version : Let's get behind Monty and the team

Donegal Hibby
05-11-2023, 09:41 AM
After having time to reflect on the game my thoughts on it is that it was always going to be a tight game that could swing either way though I genuinely thought we played the better football and were much the better team which makes the defeat abit harder to take along with some dubious decisions like Boyles goal which I'm still not sure about one way or the other , I do think Vente had a good shout for a penalty too,why VAR never looked at it is abit of a mystery also.

Yesterday was just one of those days that things just don't fall for you in missed chances, decisions that you don't get. Imo it was in no way the managers fault , turning on the guy so early in the job or the team doesn't help anyone .We have players to comeback from injury and hopefully Monty will bring in a few players in January that will improve us too . After a disappointing result I think Monty and the team need our support now . 👍

BS44
05-11-2023, 09:48 AM
They will get the support back when they deserve it. Yesterday wasn't a one-off - it's the second time in a week.

05-11-2023, 09:58 AM
After having time to reflect on the game my thoughts on it is that it was always going to be a tight game that could swing either way though I genuinely thought we played the better football and were much the better team which makes the defeat abit harder to take along with some dubious decisions like Boyles goal which I'm still not sure about one way or the other , I do think Vente had a good shout for a penalty too,why VAR never looked at it is abit of a mystery also.

Yesterday was just one of those days that things just don't fall for you in missed chances, decisions that you don't get. Imo it was in no way the managers fault , turning on the guy so early in the job or the team doesn't help anyone .We have players to comeback from injury and hopefully Monty will bring in a few players in January that will improve us too . After a disappointing result I think Monty and the team need our support now . 👍

When two evenly matched teams meet in a semi final it isn’t even about being the better team it’s about getting the breaks, getting the decisions and taking your limited chances when they come along and above all else being lucky. Aberdeen certainly got all that.

Said before the game it was one we could win or one we could lose. Really couldn’t call it. When our goal was disallowed and we were controlling the game without getting the penetration we needed I started to get a bad feeling in my gut that we were going to be sucker punched and so it proved.

05-11-2023, 10:04 AM
When two evenly matched teams meet in a semi final it isn’t even about being the better team it’s about getting the breaks, getting the decisions and taking your limited chances when they come along and above all else being lucky. Aberdeen certainly got all that.

Said before the game it was one we could win or one we could lose. Really couldn’t call it. When our goal was disallowed and we were controlling the game without getting the penetration we needed I started to get a bad feeling in my gut that we were going to be sucker punched and so it proved.

I thought we reacted well to the disallowed goal. Good play and good chance for a Tavares and Vente should have scored. When Vente’s one didn’t go in we completely lost belief though.

As for the support they’ve had plenty and will continue to get plenty. I want something back when I go to Paisley on Wednesday. Over to them.

05-11-2023, 10:06 AM
This is where I am at. Let’s support the team and Monty.

No good comes from the frustration and anger shown by some.

Donegal Hibby
05-11-2023, 10:14 AM
They will get the support back when they deserve it. Yesterday wasn't a one-off - it's the second time in a week.

Getting behind the team and manager after a couple of difficult weeks is more important than giving it when things are going good and we are winning games. That's when it's most needed imo .

May21/05/216
05-11-2023, 10:17 AM

Yesterday was just one of those days that things just don't fall for you in missed chances, decisions that you don't get. Imo it was in no way the managers fault , turning on the guy so early in the job or the team doesn't help anyone .We have players to comeback from injury and hopefully Monty will bring in a few players in January that will improve us too . After a disappointing result I think Monty and the team need our support now . [emoji106]Agree
Now be prepared for the usual posters saying that you are a happy clapper

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

05-11-2023, 10:21 AM
Saying things are not going well on a fans forum doesn’t mean people aren’t getting behind the manager and team on match day. It’s just fact.

Not having the unlucky stuff. This line is trotted out far too often and there comes a time you have to say that you can’t always be unlucky. We’re just not a good team.

Montgomery needs time to bring in his own team. Can’t do much with this lot as they’re just not good enough.

Hibees1973
05-11-2023, 10:24 AM
I'm 100% with Montgomery. However, it's difficult to stomach some of the players in and around the club.

Montgomery will be given more time than Johnson & Maloney. Working alongside McDermott I'm convinced we will get better, but I don't expect to see a marked improvement until next year. Loads of work to be done with goalkeeping & defending. We need better players, that's obvious.

Let's be honest prior to Montgomery coming in it was a shambles. There was no coherent transfer strategy and at times under Maloney & Johnson it was a farce.

05-11-2023, 10:26 AM
The fans have what I feel are realistic demands for Hibs.

Right now we are slightly below those expectations and if we slip further below those then we are surely quite entitled to be asking questions why we are not where we want to be.

The support continues to back the club buying ST’s in big numbers and can always be relied upon to back the team on the road in good numbers.

We can be forgiven I think if our patience does tend to be on the thin side.

05-11-2023, 10:28 AM
It’s pathetic fans of a club expecting to be 3rd or 4th most seasons get really peed off with the last two results.

Farcical really.

05-11-2023, 10:30 AM
100% get behind the manager and the players.

Absolutely gutted about yesterday but on another day we are winning that game 2-0. I watched the game against last night (I know) and we have a lot of chances, two very marginal decisions (borderline corrupt) and played fairly well for most of the game. Semis all about result as we know but can’t hide the balance of game, chances, moments.

05-11-2023, 10:33 AM
100% get behind the manager and the players.

Absolutely gutted about yesterday but on another day we are winning that game 2-0. I watched the game against last night (I know) and we have a lot of chances, two very marginal decisions (borderline corrupt) and played fairly well for most of the game. Semis all about result as we know but can’t hide the balance of game, chances, moments.

It always seems to be ‘on another day’

That’s my gripe, always next time, never now. We don’t have a winners mentality it’s quite clear to see. Results don’t lie.

05-11-2023, 10:38 AM
One of the main issues here is the new manager is working with a set of players who are generally substandard due to our stupendously awful recruitment of the last few years.
We have nothing on the bench whatsoever that he can rely on.
I was raging yesterday but there's no doubt we should have won the game comfortably but didn't due to a cocktail of bad luck, lack of precision in the final third and yet more VAR shafting.
It's nothing to do with the formation as these players have shown themselves to be inadequate regardless of where they happen to be standing on the park.
Our summer recruitment there was our best in a while and this needs to continue to be the case.
In summation I don't think it's unreasonable to be annoyed we didn't win yet also be cognisant of the reasons we are in the situation we are.
Our supporters are brilliant at the matches and will no doubt continue in that manner.

05-11-2023, 10:40 AM
It’s pathetic fans of a club expecting to be 3rd or 4th most seasons get really peed off with the last two results.

Farcical really.

We should never be expecting 3rd or 4th, we have never consistently finished high up the league to expect that, maybe some fans need a reality check

05-11-2023, 10:45 AM
We should never be expecting 3rd or 4th, we have never consistently finished high up the league to expect that, maybe some fans need a reality check

Fans are right to expect the team to perform in line with the budget we provide. In the league we are far below that.

05-11-2023, 10:46 AM
Fans are right to expect the team to perform in line with the budget we provide. In the league we are far below that.

No we aren't, we have the 5th biggest budget almost every year(may be wrong) so we should be finishing 5th

TrinityHFC
05-11-2023, 10:46 AM
Same pattern just repeats.

Some fans noise up about current manager, it builds when we hit bad patch, talk that manager should be getting much more from the group of players.

New manager comes in, initially those same fans asking for patience as there’s no way anyone could do better with those same players….

05-11-2023, 10:49 AM

Hibs as a club should point out each season if we get top 6 we’ve had a great season in that case.

05-11-2023, 10:52 AM
Hibs as a club should point out each season if we get top 6 we’ve had a great season in that case.

Now you are just being daft, we have the 5th biggest budget so should be expecting to finish around 5th, if we push on and finish 3rd then great but to expect that when we have never consistently done it is just silly

Skol
05-11-2023, 11:01 AM
I cannot believe the reaction to yesterday. We have some really strange people in our support and the internet makes things even worse.

Hibs were the better side for most of the game. We didn’t make the most of being on top and we got a few unlucky breaks.

Towards the end when we started to do what the fans wanted, we lost any threat we had.

05-11-2023, 11:06 AM
Now you are just being daft, we have the 5th biggest budget so should be expecting to finish around 5th, if we push on and finish 3rd then great but to expect that when we have never consistently done it is just silly

I think not expecting a club the size of hibs, hibs fan or not to be expecting to challenge for minimum 4th is silly

Opinions I guess, no mallace.

bordergreen
05-11-2023, 11:07 AM
Absolutely. We are moving in the right direction. I really like Monty and his management team.

05-11-2023, 11:09 AM
I like Monty and the management team too. But it's about results and we really need to start winning games. We seem to struggle to create any clear cut chances.

Scunnered by yesterday. Been looking forward to every game so far but can't say I'm looking forward to Wednesday.

Donegal Hibby
05-11-2023, 11:14 AM
I cannot believe the reaction to yesterday. We have some really strange people in our support and the internet makes things even worse.

Hibs were the better side for most of the game. We didn’t make the most of being on top and we got a few unlucky breaks.

Towards the end when we started to do what the fans wanted, we lost any threat we had.

The second bit of your post is absolutely spot on , we were the better team and did indeed get a few unlucky breaks . I thought Neil Lennon summed it up well in there was one team trying to play football and the other trying to get the ball forward as quickly as possible . Even though we went out I still think there were far more encouraging signs from the football Hibs played than theirs TBH.

LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 11:16 AM
I like Monty and the management team too. But it's about results and we really need to start winning games. We seem to struggle to create any clear cut chances.

Scunnered by yesterday. Been looking forward to every game so far but can't say I'm looking forward to Wednesday.

That first 2 sentences says it all.

Being strong of conviction and brave in sticking to it is one thing...admirable attributes. However, results really matter. Momentum matters. We have no momentum at the moment. We're kind of drifting a little results wise. Draws too frequently, would be better win one, lose one, draw one than draw 3.

It feels like we need a bit more leadership on the park and a get it done however you can attitude - as there's plenty poorer squads in the league able to do that

05-11-2023, 11:17 AM

The reaction to yesterday isn’t a surprise although the reaction isn’t just to yesterday in isolation. I enjoyed my trip to Switzerland and the first few games after LJ got the bullet but this season has been abysmal otherwise.

When you get an absolute sickener like we did yesterday, there was never going to be anything other than an extremely negative reaction to it. I disagree with some of the analysis on the reasons for it, but ultimately there was only one thing that mattered yesterday.

05-11-2023, 11:24 AM
Totally agree with the shout to get behind Monty and the team.

Not going to lie though, I have the absolute fear that he is going to struggle to win games. Probably the most rigid manager in my lifetime (I’m 45) in terms of how he sets up his team. His decision making around substitutions had caught my attention as well, although Brian McDermott touched upon this in a recent interview commenting that Monty is fearless.

I hope that this year will be experimental for him, that’s not an issue as long as next season we are bang on the button - I do worry though.

Gut feeling is one of fear.

HarpOnHibee
05-11-2023, 11:31 AM
I like Monty but he doesn't strike me as somebody who is prepared to learn from his mistakes. He's convinced that making as many passes as possible in a move is the best way to get results in this league. It isn't. And unless he learns and learns quickly, he'll be yet another passer by.

05-11-2023, 11:33 AM
I think not expecting a club the size of hibs, hibs fan or not to be expecting to challenge for minimum 4th is silly

Opinions I guess, no mallace.

To expect a challenge and to expect us to finish there are 2 different things though, anyone expecting us to finish there clearly hasn't looked at our league finishes over the last 30 odd years, it doesn't really happen but at the start of the season I always expect to challenge as much as we can

05-11-2023, 11:45 AM
Hopefully McDermott unearths a couple of gems for Montgomery in January to change our season. Top six is very much in the balance. Even St Johnstone are starting to pick up wins.

05-11-2023, 11:47 AM
It always seems to be ‘on another day’

That’s my gripe, always next time, never now. We don’t have a winners mentality it’s quite clear to see. Results don’t lie.

What else do we do? We were unlucky but also short of the type of players and leaders who wouldn’t have lost that match. The manager has zero opportunity to bring anyone in. We have to accept it will be a rollercoaster until he can do that and then hope it makes a big enough difference.

05-11-2023, 12:20 PM
For me it's never been about backing this or that manager. I'm a Hibs supporter and I turn out to support the team no matter what.

That doesn't mean I wont come on here and moan like **** if the team manager, club don't perform as well as I think they should.

So aye .... lets get behind the team and the manager. At least there's a wee bit of hope with the possible new investment, we could clearly do with it.

05-11-2023, 12:28 PM
One of the main issues here is the new manager is working with a set of players who are generally substandard due to our stupendously awful recruitment of the last few years.
We have nothing on the bench whatsoever that he can rely on.
I was raging yesterday but there's no doubt we should have won the game comfortably but didn't due to a cocktail of bad luck, lack of precision in the final third and yet more VAR shafting.
It's nothing to do with the formation as these players have shown themselves to be inadequate regardless of where they happen to be standing on the park.
Our summer recruitment there was our best in a while and this needs to continue to be the case.
In summation I don't think it's unreasonable to be annoyed we didn't win yet also be cognisant of the reasons we are in the situation we are.
Our supporters are brilliant at the matches and will no doubt continue in that manner.

You're right.

We're all hurting and it's tempting to lash out but the foundations of last night's debacle were laid over the past few summers.

We actually made a bit of progress this summer but the problem we had was that we simply had too much business to do.

This isn't a squad anywhere near capable of finishing top 4 or winning anything and people need to get real. We'll be closer next year (I believe) and probably getting close to where we need to be in a couple of years but that's no consolation when we have ambitions and targets for where we want to be right now.

Just as long as we don't go hounding out any more managers in the meantime, like they're to blame.

Donegal Hibby
05-11-2023, 12:34 PM
What else do we do? We were unlucky but also short of the type of players and leaders who wouldn’t have lost that match. The manager has zero opportunity to bring anyone in. We have to accept it will be a rollercoaster until he can do that and then hope it makes a big enough difference.

I honestly think we are only maybe 3 or 4 players away from having a really good squad even yesterday when you consider we had Cadden , Mckirdy , JDH , Alf and Jeggo out which if they had been available our bench would have been looking much stronger too . Has there been any news on why Boyle had to go off btw?.

05-11-2023, 12:37 PM
I honestly think we are only maybe 3 or 4 players away from having a really good squad even yesterday when you consider we had Cadden , Mckirdy , JDH , Alf and Jeggo out which if they had been available our bench would have been looking much stronger too . As there been any news on Boyle going off btw?.

I agree with your 3-4 players comment, but that is a significant chunk of a team.

We're actually an injury or two away from being in big trouble imo.

05-11-2023, 01:23 PM
This is where I am at. Let’s support the team and Monty.

No good comes from the frustration and anger shown by some.

That’s one good reason for getting behind the manager, we might not get anywhere who knows, but as you say anger and vitriol sure isn’t going to change anything.

05-11-2023, 01:28 PM

Jeez

05-11-2023, 01:29 PM
Absolutely. We are moving in the right direction.

Could you elaborate on this point please?

05-11-2023, 01:46 PM

Couldn't agree more. The guy is just in the door and to me there has been more than enough promise to see that things can get better. He certainly could do with some support before he gets a proper chance to improve the team. Some of the criticism has been unfair imo.

LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 01:51 PM
Couldn't agree more. The guy is just in the door and to me there has been more than enough promise to see that things can get better. He certainly could do with some support before he gets a proper chance to improve the team. Some of the criticism has been unfair imo.

Leaving the ground yesterday there was one loud sarcastic fan mimicking him, predicting what he would say as if somehow he was a caricature of himself. Clearly decided already its time for a change...completely weird stuff. There's almost some fans getting a wee rush out of being first to predict the demise of the managerial incumbent...

darwenhibby
05-11-2023, 02:03 PM
A sensible post by the OP
I think NM will get it right
In his interview after the game he hinted at the element of weakness we have at Hibs and what a lot of folk have said for sometime
We needs a new spine in the team
Keeper
Centre half ( captain)
A driving forward midfielder and mixu type forward up front
We won’t get 4 in Jan but a keeper and leader at centre half to build from is needed

h1bs4life
05-11-2023, 02:05 PM
For me it's never been about backing this or that manager. I'm a Hibs supporter and I turn out to support the team no matter what.

That doesn't mean I wont come on here and moan like **** if the team manager, club don't perform as well as I think they should.

So aye .... lets get behind the team and the manager. At least there's a wee bit of hope with the possible new investment, we could clearly do with it.

Exactly where I am , brought up a Hibs supporter and will turn out to support the team no matter what .
I will moan like #### to my mates , in the pub and on here when things not going well but will be at Hampden next time we are there .
Bar during COVID never missed a Hampden trip since 1972.
My dad now 85 1st Hampden trip was 1958 Cup Final has and hardly missed a Hampden trip since then he was with us yesterday although due to failing eyesight he couldn’t see the goal we were attacking in the 1st half he could see better in 2nd half as we were sitting in South Stand in line with goal line.
Fully behind Monty he has big job on his hands there are lots players not good enough and looks like he is going to be the manager that will move Hanlon and Stevenson on . ( Not a dig at either player)

shamo9
05-11-2023, 02:33 PM
We're bottom 6, out of the cup and on to our second manager of the season. We've dropped points at home to Livingston, St Mirren, Dundee and Ross County and we've barely touched November. :rolleyes:

05-11-2023, 02:48 PM
We're bottom 6, out of the cup and on to our second manager of the season. We've dropped points at home to Livingston, St Mirren, Dundee and Ross County and we've barely touched November. :rolleyes:

Apart from all that we are doing OK though. :greengrin

05-11-2023, 02:57 PM
Apart from all that we are doing OK though. :greengrin

Ah but we are learning, dont forget that.:rolleyes: