View Full Version : Fans
04-11-2023, 09:55 PM
Absolute brilliant today , look forward to semi in Scottish cup
04-11-2023, 10:40 PM
I'll feel different in a day or two, but right now, if I never see the inside of Hampden ****ing Park again it'll be too soon
davym7062
04-11-2023, 10:43 PM
most were!!! spent half the time listening to folk moan how ***** we are
05-11-2023, 05:11 AM
Don’t need to go through to Hamppden for that.
Just need to come on here.
05-11-2023, 05:57 AM
I have to apologise for going to Hampden when I actually know I am the jinx. I missed the 2016 SC final. Says it all for me, I’ll stay away next time if I can 😖
scm70nyd1973
05-11-2023, 06:05 AM
Don’t need to go through to Hamppden for that.
Just need to come on here.
🤭so true
05-11-2023, 07:01 AM
Another great turnout from the Hibs support and another complete letdown.
Totally sickened with them and came out of Hampden wondering how many more times I can be bothered putting myself through it. Will be at Paisley on Wednesday as normal but yesterday just felt like a real bad one.
05-11-2023, 07:06 AM
Another great turnout from the Hibs support and another complete letdown.
Totally sickened with them and came out of Hampden wondering how many more times I can be bothered putting myself through it. Will be at Paisley on Wednesday as normal but yesterday just felt like a real bad one.
The danger with results like this is that apathy sets in amongst the fans after it. Every game a big game but the next huge one is the derby on 27 Dec. A win for Monty in that is vital.
05-11-2023, 07:25 AM
I had a good day minus the football, often the case at Hampden.
Good crowd on our buses, enjoyed a few drinks and had a good crowd around us at the game too. I've heard horror stories about the East Stand but I couldn't have any complaints, group of young lads in front of us were boisterous but friendly.
A lack of support from the stands is rarely the problem when it comes to Hibs failures at Hampden.
scuttle
05-11-2023, 07:30 AM
Absolute brilliant today , look forward to semi in Scottish cup
Apart from the one clown in a green sweatshirt who ran down the stairs to give Martin Boyle an absolute volley of verbal abuse as he was down injured. Icouldnt believe what I was hearing
05-11-2023, 07:33 AM
The danger with results like this is that apathy sets in amongst the fans after it. Every game a big game but the next huge one is the derby on 27 Dec. A win for Monty in that is vital.
I thought he needed the win to buy himself time with elements of the support (although I’m not sure if that is more the keyboard warrior section or the actual match going section).
Ross had a couple of shockers against Hearts inside his first 12 months and followed that up with two even bigger shockers against St Johnstone at Hampden. The Hearts ones made it difficult for him and the St Johnstone ones made it impossible. Managers need results in games like this, it’s what is remembered above all else.
swin82
05-11-2023, 07:37 AM
And the constant fighting in the first half😩
05-11-2023, 07:38 AM
I thought he needed the win to buy himself time with elements of the support (although I’m not sure if that is more the keyboard warrior section or the actual match going section).
Ross had a couple of shockers against Hearts inside his first 12 months and followed that up with two even bigger shockers against St Johnstone at Hampden. The Hearts ones made it difficult for him and the St Johnstone ones made it impossible. Managers need results in games like this, it’s what is remembered above all else.
I think the keyboard warrior element and the match going fans have a large crossover. The internet isn't the home of a niche group of fans now. I see names crop up on Twitter and Facebook nipping away at the club and a decent chunk of them are guys I know are home and away regulars.
The reaction of a large section of the fans both on Tuesday night and at FT yesterday suggests there isn't a lot of patience around among those who attend games. I feel sorry for Monty in that regard (and indeed any new Hibs manager). They all inherit our collective scars when it comes to derby defeats and Hampden letdowns and it's not one defeat they oversee, it's a culmination of literally dozens.
05-11-2023, 07:40 AM
I have to apologise for going to Hampden when I actually know I am the jinx. I missed the 2016 SC final. Says it all for me, I’ll stay away next time if I can 😖
Please do. :greengrin
05-11-2023, 07:52 AM
I think the keyboard warrior element and the match going fans have a large crossover. The internet isn't the home of a niche group of fans now. I see names crop up on Twitter and Facebook nipping away at the club and a decent chunk of them are guys I know are home and away regulars.
The reaction of a large section of the fans both on Tuesday night and at FT yesterday suggests there isn't a lot of patience around among those who attend games. I feel sorry for Monty in that regard (and indeed any new Hibs manager). They all inherit our collective scars when it comes to derby defeats and Hampden letdowns and it's not one defeat they oversee, it's a culmination of literally dozens.
Pretty fair that I’d say. I just find views so polarised these days. Once folk have a view on something that seems to be that and anything that goes wrong is down to that view. Don’t get me wrong, I was pissed off on Tuesday and last night but I thought our failings were completely different. Tuesday was on the manager, 100% for me but I don’t think he could have done much different last night (sub of Vente at the end being the one thing I found odd).
05-11-2023, 08:03 AM
Not impressed with the way the bairns from block 7 behave.
Little Bassas with no respect for other fans in the stadium.
I'll be making sure I'm nowhere near them in the future.
LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 08:20 AM
5.15pm kick off was always going to be messy and bring day trippers drinking all day, others drinking on empty heids, other stimulants in the mix...perfect recipe for folk to potentially be affected negatively by those around them. The come down afterwards for anyone in the above descriptions also make for the kind of reactions we see and read...
It'll be forever till folk are ever allowed to drink alcohol inside a Scottish football stadium outside hospitality.
BobbyT1875
05-11-2023, 08:22 AM
What were they up to yesterday? Struggled to hear them in the south stand
05-11-2023, 08:28 AM
:agree: Yesterday was the ugly yet familiar ghost of Aberdeen 2000, Dundee United 2004, Dunfermline 2007 and Falkirk 2015 making a reappearance.
05-11-2023, 08:49 AM
Thought the fans were decent - good buzz around the stadium before the game.
Didn't hear a song from Aberdeen except when they scored - their fans knew how poor they had been and probably couldn't believe their luck when they scored.
Block 7 - what happened with the megaphone?
Hampden is just far too big for these games - such a crap view from behind the goals and so far from pitch - hard to see any key incidents - plus the TV screens were crap as the pitch view was so small and they didn't show any replays - which I know isn't allowed but really should be.
05-11-2023, 08:54 AM
My Aberdeen supporting step son’s bus was attacked after the game & had a window smashed. They had to drive back to aberdeen with it broken. He said it was Block 7 and from his description, I don’t doubt him.
ErinGoBraghHFC
05-11-2023, 08:59 AM
[/B]
:agree: Yesterday was the ugly yet familiar ghost of Aberdeen 2000, Dundee United 2004, Dunfermline 2007 and Falkirk 2015 making a reappearance.
Dunfermline 2007 broke my heart as a wee laddie. Yesterday felt very similar.
05-11-2023, 09:00 AM
Dunfermline 2007 broke my heart as a wee laddie. Yesterday felt very similar.
Yesterday was similar to Dunfermline and Falkirk in that as soon as the ball hit the net you knew it was game over.
05-11-2023, 09:10 AM
[/B]
Think you missed Livingston 2003, Ross County 2016 and St Johnstone 2021 x2. There have been some amount of missed opportunities over the years.
05-11-2023, 09:13 AM
Repeat post
05-11-2023, 09:13 AM
Think you missed Livingston 2003, Ross County 2016 and St Johnstone 2021 x2. There have been some amount of missed opportunities over the years.
Hearts 2020..
05-11-2023, 09:17 AM
Best experience in terms of my fellow fans I have had at Hampden for a long time. Never really had any bother despite so many youngsters walking around like Zombies. No fights where I was and a pretty positive crowd around me too. Makes such a difference to watching the game especially when it isn't going well on the park.
05-11-2023, 09:19 AM
My Aberdeen supporting step son’s bus was attacked after the game & had a window smashed. They had to drive back to aberdeen with it broken. He said it was Block 7 and from his description, I don’t doubt him.
Pathetic thing to do
Exuberance1875
05-11-2023, 09:20 AM
Very tough one to take, nothing else for it but to go again though. Win on Wednesday and we can get back on track
GreenGray
05-11-2023, 09:22 AM
Yup, rightly or wrongly a lot of fans who attended yesterday will have made their mind up on him purely based on that game.
Amount of “I’ll not be back” shouts I heard from the fans after the game, I get the impression the patience is wearing thin and people who are debating spending the money to follow Hibs especially as we get to winter are more than likely going to decide not to.
Mcbizz1998
05-11-2023, 09:49 AM
Was anyone else unfortunate enough to be on Bus 5 from Easter Road? 2 bampots having a brawl on the M8, grown men the both of them!
05-11-2023, 10:49 AM
Was anyone else unfortunate enough to be on Bus 5 from Easter Road? 2 bampots having a brawl on the M8, grown men the both of them!
On the bus? Before or after the game?
Mcbizz1998
05-11-2023, 11:23 AM
On the bus? Before or after the game?
Yeah on the bus and before the game. No idea what caused it, an older bloke and a guy who looked in maybe his 40’s. Old guy ended up with a bloodied nose and the bus had to pull into the hard shoulder. Luckily the driver was sound and didn’t call the police or anything, otherwise might not have made the game!
He's here!
05-11-2023, 11:32 AM
I had a good day minus the football, often the case at Hampden.
Good crowd on our buses, enjoyed a few drinks and had a good crowd around us at the game too. I've heard horror stories about the East Stand but I couldn't have any complaints, group of young lads in front of us were boisterous but friendly.
A lack of support from the stands is rarely the problem when it comes to Hibs failures at Hampden.
A great uncle of mine (he passed away in the 1990s), who had seen the Famous Five, the great European nights etc, used to sometimes join us for a bite to eat and a pre-match drink before getting the bus home once the rest of us got up to go to the match. His health wasn't all that great to be fair but he used to say he had better things to do than spend his money and time watching Hibs. This would have been around the early/mid-80s so he had a point, but as a teenager it was all about the excitement of getting to the match for me. These days I've come to think that must have been quite a pleasant way to approach things. All the pre-match warmth, chat etc without the football spoiling things!
05-11-2023, 12:41 PM
Was talking about just semi's. But thanks for reminding me of those horror shows too:greengrin
05-11-2023, 01:15 PM
Shout out to the guy who lobbed flare into a section further down, could have resulted in a nasty injury
05-11-2023, 01:19 PM
Shout out to the guy who lobbed flare into a section further down, could have resulted in a nasty injury
I was in D1, and saw something get thrown from high up in D2
Someone must know who through it
05-11-2023, 01:19 PM
The South was like a fin library 😡 will be in the North or the East next visit.
WestCoastHibby
05-11-2023, 01:22 PM
I think I’m the jinx, my last five trips to Hampden have involved defeat for Hibs and Scotland
scm70nyd1973
05-11-2023, 01:41 PM
I think I’m the jinx, my last five trips to Hampden have involved defeat for Hibs and Scotland
I think we can virtually all claim to be a jinx - living in NZ at the time and the 2016 SCF was the only one I’ve missed since being alive (born 1962) and guess what happened 😡
05-11-2023, 03:36 PM
Was in Glasgow yesterday afternoon for other reasons and damn, obviously not representative of us all, but the Hibs fans in my train carriage were an utter embarrassment.
From the older guys that were smashed, scaring children and dogs alike, to the array of wee bams doing coke in the toilet the entire way, nobody was leaving that train with a positive view of the club!
He's here!
05-11-2023, 04:46 PM
Was talking about just semi's. But thanks for reminding me of those horror shows too:greengrin
Nobody mentioned Ayr United 2002? That was arguably the worst of the lot.
LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 04:47 PM
Nobody mentioned Ayr United 2001? That was arguably the worst of the lot.
Sin bin for you 😆🙈
05-11-2023, 04:50 PM
And the coldest 🥶
05-11-2023, 06:04 PM
I was on bus 5. couple of idiots, was embarrassing, not least of all for the guys daughter.
linlithgowhibbie
05-11-2023, 06:05 PM
And the coldest 🥶
And t add to that our bus was a bit late and was directed by PC Plod into the Ayr Utd fans bus park, great fun,,,,,NOT!
05-11-2023, 06:16 PM
Was in Glasgow yesterday afternoon for other reasons and damn, obviously not representative of us all, but the Hibs fans in my train carriage were an utter embarrassment.
From the older guys that were smashed, scaring children and dogs alike, to the array of wee bams doing coke in the toilet the entire way, nobody was leaving that train with a positive view of the club!
As much as the early kick-offs suck, they tend to do a good job at preventing most folks from getting absolutely tanked on booze.
Coked up bams is all too common these days, seems to be a bit of a rite of passage these days, go to the fitba and have a line of Colombia's finest
05-11-2023, 06:19 PM
Jesus had forgotten all about that.:bitchy:
Willis1875
05-11-2023, 06:26 PM
Jesus had forgotten all about that.:bitchy:
At least Jesus has….
CB Hibs 68
05-11-2023, 06:27 PM
Truth is if you are a Hibs supporter yesterday is just another huge disappointment but it comes with the territory.I saw a guy at the game yesterday who I remember well after the Ayr defeat saying he had enough .Once Hibs are in your blood there is no way despite getting beat that you want love this team..Scunnerd yesterday .Couldn’t watch Fitba last night.Today we need to back the team and beat SM which will be hard..
05-11-2023, 06:36 PM
And the coldest 🥶
And on a ploughed field.