View Full Version : Positives from today.
Keepthefaith
04-11-2023, 09:31 PM
Another reactionary catastrophising on here I see! It's still early days for the manager but for me there's a few positives to take from today.
Levitt played well overall and showed that he and Joe can play together.
Rocky had a great game looked good bringing the ball forward.
Fish looked more assured, good partnership with rocky
Tavares, improving every game, showing good skills and forward thinking
Obita, good game overall won most headers/ flick ons.
Let's see where we are by the winter break/ end of Jan transfer window. I think we'll have picked up more wins through greater consistency and have the basis of a good team to compete for top 4 this season
04-11-2023, 09:34 PM
Another reactionary catastrophising on here I see! It's still early days for the manager but for me there's a few positives to take from today.
Let's see where we are by the winter break/ end of Jan transfer window. I think we'll have picked up more wins through greater consistency and have the basis of a good team to compete for top 4 this season
That would be similar to my take too. I would add that Jair also works harder than Boyle or Youan and I would have him in front of both at the moment. I'd also applaud Rocky for the progress he has made on the left of defence. He was a stumbling statue on the ball against Hearts but has came a long way quickly and did well today.
andrew70
04-11-2023, 09:34 PM
I agree wholeheartedly. It will come good. A positive January window and we’ll motor on.
Can over analyse the game.
Better team for long spells
created a few chances
dubious disallowed goal
LOST the game but everyones seen a game like that in football its just hard to swallow when its your own one.
The Squad is a little thin, we lack depth and maybe some quality in areas but I strongly believe we are not too far away.
Must stick with Monty for a prolonged period and get some real stability back at the club, the merry go round of managers hasn't or won't help.
zitelli62
04-11-2023, 09:41 PM
A good drive through good space for car and back in house for 8.20 that's about it really.
04-11-2023, 09:46 PM
We lost at Hampden. Again.
This just needs written off. That's as positive as it gets.
Halmyre Hibee
04-11-2023, 09:51 PM
Not long back. Still not over the result. No luck plus ran out of ideas near the end when trying to equalise. At the end of the day Aberdeen found a way to win we didn’t.
GreenGray
04-11-2023, 09:53 PM
My kebab pie, that’s about it.
04-11-2023, 10:00 PM
Take no positive at all from that. Another crap Hampden performance. Fed up of it.
04-11-2023, 10:17 PM
Nothing positive from today. There’s only one thing that matters in games like that and it’s never us that manage to ****house or fluke our way to a 1-0 win in them.
FC1875
04-11-2023, 10:45 PM
Nothing positive about today.
04-11-2023, 11:43 PM
None. Amazed any Hibs fan can think of any positives from today. It was Hampden and we lost....again!
04-11-2023, 11:47 PM
24 hours closer to Hampden Park crumbling to dust and disappearing from the memory of the last human being alive.
JammyDoidger
05-11-2023, 02:43 AM
I don't feel confident watching us, we are pish. Monty has somehow Made us worse.
05-11-2023, 05:55 AM
I don't feel confident watching us, we are pish. Monty has somehow Made us worse.
This is complete and utter nonsense.
05-11-2023, 06:04 AM
It's not really though.
05-11-2023, 06:22 AM
We lost the game but that doesn’t mean there wasn’t any positives, there 100% was.
Aberdeen played a 5311/3511 to try and overrun the midfield. They failed, we outplayed them by moving the ball, good movement and mixing it up.
We got in behind them several times and played good football.
We have a clear style under Montgomery and again he showed he can assemble a team in his preferred formation that competes well in games.
Defensively we limited them to next to nothing until the goal, they hardly had a sniff.
Now we need to start converting our chances, creating more and being alot more clinical. Outwith the obvious lack of personnel, I think a slight issue is just how unpredictable Youan is, to the point team mates rarely know what he’ll do
05-11-2023, 06:23 AM
Well said.
scm70nyd1973
05-11-2023, 06:38 AM
Well said.
I agree - totally
05-11-2023, 06:49 AM
No positives from another hampden let down soft as s***
05-11-2023, 07:32 AM
There were positives to take from the performance but it's largely irrelevant in the short term.
Cup football is all about the result. Right now there will be minimal discussion about the performance on Aberdeen forums or in Aberdeen pubs, they will be basking in the glow of having a cup final to look forward to and that's all that really mattered yesterday.
I think over the course of Monty's time here there has been some positives and some things that are cause for concern. I'm not judging him yet but he's like any manager; he needs to start getting results soon. 'There were plenty positives and it just didn't go our way' only stands up to scrutiny for so long.
coldingham hibs
05-11-2023, 07:40 AM
Your probably correct in your assessment, however when chasing the game you don’t take off a creative player (Jair) and your expensive forward (Vente) and a player who can potentially take a long throw into the box and has height at the back post. Replace them with a couple of 16 year olds who are miles away from first team football. We threw away any opportunity we had of getting that goal back.
tonyrougier123
05-11-2023, 07:44 AM
Agree with all above.
Rocky is definitely coming on to a game under Montgomery,there’s positives that weren’t there during Johnson’s reign despite results still being a bit disappointing. Tavares is a player and I like how teams seem a bit perplexed when we attack through the middle,we seem to create a lot of space at times.
I’m still excited to see where Montgomery can take us in time.
05-11-2023, 07:45 AM
There were positives to take from the performance but it's largely irrelevant in the short term.
Cup football is all about the result. Right now there will be minimal discussion about the performance on Aberdeen forums or in Aberdeen pubs, they will be basking in the glow of having a cup final to look forward to and that's all that really mattered yesterday.
I think over the course of Monty's time here there has been some positives and some things that are cause for concern. I'm not judging him yet but he's like any manager; he needs to start getting results soon. 'There were plenty positives and it just didn't go our way' only stands up to scrutiny for so long.
Great post
05-11-2023, 07:46 AM
Possibly the most relaxed I’ve been in a long time watching Hibs at Hampden. I’m not sure if that says more about us or Aberdeen.
buktapurple79
05-11-2023, 07:58 AM
Not feeling as bad today, a good January window is important though. Will console myself when the Yams get ripped this afternoon and there smug 'develop from within' policy sees 'Naisy' drag them down for the rest of the season. We're going in the right direction.
05-11-2023, 08:01 AM
It's not really though.
It is.
05-11-2023, 08:07 AM
I thought we played well. I remember thinking with an hour gone we were in control and couldn't have asked for much more.
I thought Rocky was excellent. Tavares played well. Youan was playing well. Miller battling well. Newell looked like he could produce something.
Just how ****ing naïve have you got to be caught like that from the half way line. 15 to go in a cup semi playing against 10men. If it goes to ET there is a high chance there would only be one winner.
For me the manager went desperate far too early after conceding the goal. We were 4/5/6 across the front at times and pretty much bypassed the midfield with Levitt and Newell playing from deep. More odd subs.
Mcbizz1998
05-11-2023, 12:08 PM
There are no positives. A complete disaster.
TrinityHFC
05-11-2023, 12:14 PM
We are worse. Maybe not from the first three league games, where I think there were some understandable circumstances, but we are worse than we were last year and say the games v Lucerne too. We had a decent window, we are really not at the point we need a whole new squad. We need to use this one better. Outside the European games David Gray probably had the best league performance out of them.
I really don’t think a season of just bumping along was being envisaged when we changed manager 3 league games in.
HFC93
05-11-2023, 12:16 PM
I thought Rocky had a good game.
05-11-2023, 12:46 PM
Better team lost yesterday, simple.
Jair seems to have turned it around, though could perhaps stand to be a little more physical at times.
Rocky is very good at CB, barely put a foot wrong.
Levitt and Newell will make a good partnership in games where we can expect to dominate possession and be more on the front foot. Jeggo may be the better option for games that are more even or where our opponents will have more of the ball.
LewysGot2
05-11-2023, 12:47 PM
I think the centre halves both did well.
The quality of passing from Levitt was good.
Jair was solid if not spectacular- which is progress.
We made a fair bit of money*
* no consolation but definitely a plus when the dust settles.
Donegal Hibby
05-11-2023, 12:54 PM
Thought we were the better team .
Levitt looked good .
Rocky once again had a good game .
Seem to have a good crop of young players beginning to come through like Whittaker, Rudi and Landers .
05-11-2023, 03:50 PM
"Positives from today"
We don't have to watch Hibs getting humiliated by The Govan Bigots in the final
05-11-2023, 03:56 PM
Rocky, Levitt and to a lesser extent Jair. Then we look at Marshall and Miller and Joe f***** Newell disapearing up his own erse again, and Vente playing midfield, Boyle injured and Youan still lost somewhere at Hampden, and i think to myself positives, what positives?
05-11-2023, 03:59 PM
I couldn’t make the game
05-11-2023, 05:27 PM
Never any positives getting beat in a national cup semi final imo.
The positive would have been getting through at any cost like the sheep done.
cubehindthegoal
05-11-2023, 06:31 PM
Agree … we still need to accept we don’t have a team the new manager wants to be putting on the park. If it was this time next year and the same happening, then we could be justified in criticising.
05-11-2023, 08:34 PM
We've got a free weekend the week before Christmas now and can go shopping with our other halves.
05-11-2023, 08:55 PM
We've got a free weekend the week before Christmas now and can go shopping with our other halves.
Oh brilliant, well done Hibs!
TrinityHFC
05-11-2023, 08:58 PM
Agree … we still need to accept we don’t have a team the new manager wants to be putting on the park. If it was this time next year and the same happening, then we could be justified in criticising.
We didn’t sack a manager 3 league games in to give another one a year to get up to speed. There’s a good squad here, it is up to Monty to get more out of them quickly or he will be next to pay the price.
05-11-2023, 09:39 PM
:top marks- we may have dominated for large spells and were arguably denied a good goal but there was only really one thing that mattered and that was winning the game - somehow and anyhow!
We didn't only fail to win but did so by conceding from a position of strength being a man up - effectively undoing anything good we'd done up to that point and making it feel like a double kick in the nads for the fans. I struggle to take anything positive from that experience - only frustration at yet another Hampden chance at glory spurned.
06-11-2023, 08:06 AM
We didn’t sack a manager 3 league games in to give another one a year to get up to speed. There’s a good squad here, it is up to Monty to get more out of them quickly or he will be next to pay the price.
Surely deserves the opportunity to bring in his own players. He is basically wearing another guys suit at the moment. He has certainly improved some of the players and to me i find his style of play much more pleasing on the eye than the last coach. Also showed he can set up s team well given after Rangers everyone was petrified we would get hammered v Celtic. Team was also good on Saturday for the bulk of the game.
06-11-2023, 11:03 AM
"Positives from today"
We don't have to watch Hibs getting humiliated by The Govan Bigots in the final
That thought did cross my mind yesterday when they easily brushed aside the gimps. I'm much happier they won than Hearts, that would have been hard to take. However, they've not beaten us at Hampden since the 1970's I'm sure. We would have had over a month of psychologically tormenting every *** we could, planting the seeds of doubt in their heads. Would have been great fun.
*Is *** censored now?
06-11-2023, 11:14 AM
I thought Rocky had a good game.
He did
jakeshibs
06-11-2023, 11:28 AM
what a terrible post
06-11-2023, 04:14 PM
Sorry but that's a negative.
06-11-2023, 04:18 PM
That thought did cross my mind yesterday when they easily brushed aside the gimps. I'm much happier they won than Hearts, that would have been hard to take. However, they've not beaten us at Hampden since the 1970's I'm sure. We would have had over a month of psychologically tormenting every *** we could, planting the seeds of doubt in their heads. Would have been great fun.
*Is *** censored now?
A new addition to the swear filter (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?364359-A-new-Addition-to-the-Swear-Filter)
06-11-2023, 04:25 PM
How about Josh Landers who at the tender age of 16 made his first team debut in a semi final at our National stadium. ?
What a fantastic achievement which augers well for both Josh and the future of our Club.
Bridge hibs
06-11-2023, 04:29 PM
How about Josh Landers who at the tender age of 16 made his first team debut in a semi final at our National stadium. ?
What a fantastic achievement which augers well for both Josh and the future of our Club.
He looks a big laddie, or was I watching the wrong player ?
06-11-2023, 04:35 PM
He looks a big laddie, or was I watching the wrong player ?
Very well built for his age. 👍
06-11-2023, 08:53 PM
A new addition to the swear filter (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?364359-A-new-Addition-to-the-Swear-Filter)
Those ****ing *** *******s ruin all the fun 😉
JammyDoidger
06-11-2023, 09:02 PM
what a terrible post
In your opinion. My opinion is we aren't any better off, we haven't even had a new manager bounce. We looked better under David Gray. Infact we comfortably beat Aberdeen on their own patch under Gray, Game of opinions but that's mine. Infact I'll go as far as saying I believe we would have picked up more points under Johnson. Monty has won 1 league game out of 7, and that came against the team rooted to the bottom of the league that sacked their manager also, that continues we are in serious bother.
07-11-2023, 01:14 PM
Those who are saying it’s only the result that matters are absolutely correct especially in a cup competition. Fact.
However, the points the OP made are valid and positives for the team going forward. Certain players are starting to show their true value and may benefit us in the future both on the park and financially by selling on.
Looking forward to some decent results in the second round of league games hopefully starting tomorrow.
07-11-2023, 01:25 PM
Yes, good for him but let's just hope these 16 year old's are decent and he's not just shoehorning them in to the team because they're young and he thinks it'll get him credit. They need to be better than the players they're replacing. Especially in a semi final that's on a knife edge. Landers seems to have appeared out of nowhere.