View Full Version : Lewis Miller

04-11-2023, 06:32 PM
Cracking player but he needs to learn to stay on his feet [emoji85] , constantly going down like he has been shot

04-11-2023, 06:34 PM
Cracking player but he needs to learn to stay on his feet [emoji85] , constantly going down like he has been shot

He's a cheat.

04-11-2023, 06:44 PM

He’s a liability hopefully the manager will source better in the next window.

04-11-2023, 06:45 PM
He’s a liability hopefully the manager will source better in the next window.

I think he is decent , he just needs to man up a little and stop going down so easily , prob cost us the game today

PH91
04-11-2023, 06:46 PM
As clear a foul as you will ever see at the goal. Miller gets in front, shinnie leans in, kicks his foot, and doesn't touch the ball at all. Unbelievable that goal was given.

LunasBoots
04-11-2023, 06:46 PM
He's done it since he's been here, remember when he was playing in a pre season game when he first camenand he was doing the same thing then. Good player though just needs to cut that rubbish out.

04-11-2023, 06:48 PM
No surprise he got hooked straight after his ridiculous attempt to win a foul. Cost us big time.

04-11-2023, 06:49 PM
As clear a foul as you will ever see at the goal. Miller gets in front, shinnie leans in, kicks his foot, and doesn't touch the ball at all. Unbelievable that goal was given.

That's what I thought until I saw the replay. It was dreadful by Miller.

04-11-2023, 06:51 PM
Such as frustrating player as he does a lot right. But he had 3-4 other occasions before their goal where the exact same thing happened - he wanted too much time on the ball in a dangerous part of the pitch, got put under pressure and just collapsed.

That can absolutely be coached out of him and Monty should be coming down on him like a ton of bricks to stop it from happening.

He's a big lad - there is zero excuse.

seanshow
04-11-2023, 06:51 PM
He's actually decent full back imo,
But he tries the "get in front and fall over move" far to many times during a game and it came back to bite him this time as it evolved into a crucial error.

04-11-2023, 06:53 PM
Was hopeless from about the first minute of the game

04-11-2023, 06:54 PM
Was hopeless from about the first minute of the game

[emoji85][emoji85] behave

04-11-2023, 06:57 PM
He's a cheat.

Goes doon quicker than Romanovs sub

PH91
04-11-2023, 06:58 PM
That's what I thought until I saw the replay. It was dreadful by Miller.

I've seen the replay, it is definitely a foul.

I'd have preferred to see him simply haul shinnie down and take a yellow, as shinnie did you youan, but that's what you get from an inexperienced player.

04-11-2023, 06:59 PM

I'd have preferred to see him simply haul shinnie down and take a yellow, as shinnie did you youan, but that's what you get from an inexperienced player.

Never a foul in a million years. He's been brilliant for us since he became a regular but he started poorly today and got into falling over mode. Poor.

I'm Spartacus
04-11-2023, 07:04 PM
If he stays on his feet and plays like a strong midfielder then we don't lose that game, plays the diving game to win the ball, just be aggressive and strong.

Pathetic stuff.

04-11-2023, 07:05 PM
I think I watch a different Lewis Miller to you all. He gets kicked about the park every week with little to no protection from the refs.

He’s definitely not a cheat.

seanshow
04-11-2023, 07:05 PM
Leviitt was also so slow on the chase back and never tried to cut off the angle. Stokes 2016

...and the goalie is saving hehaw, ( here's a big gap to my left, fill your boots sheepie) need someone like Marciano who actually makes saves, to see what we are missing.

04-11-2023, 07:07 PM
Leviitt was also so slow on the chase back and never tried to cut off the angle. Stokes 2016

...and the goalie is saving hehaw, ( here's a big gap to my left, fill your boots sheepie) need someone like Marciano who actually makes saves, to see what we are missing.

Marshall should have been out to narrow the angle, awful yet again.

Hibees1973
04-11-2023, 07:08 PM
He's raw and to be honest is a bit of a daftie at times.

Cadden is back soon and will be interesting who nails down the right back slot.

Ray Donovan
04-11-2023, 07:10 PM
On the bus back, not read previous comments on Miller, however, take the yellow and don't let them counter us.

Shinnie done what Miller should have on Youan about 5/10 minutes later.

04-11-2023, 07:11 PM
Thought he was terrible tonight. Gave needless free kicks away and more interested in trying to nutmeg folk than play properly. Thought he should have just dealt with the ball in lead up to the goal.

04-11-2023, 07:12 PM
Miller sold that goal, really poor from him.

04-11-2023, 07:13 PM
I think I watch a different Lewis Miller to you all. He gets kicked about the park every week with little to no protection from the refs.

He falls over at the slightest touch trying to get free kicks all the bloody time, and it puts us in trouble when the ref wises up and stops giving them, in my book thats cheating, so he's a cheat.

04-11-2023, 07:13 PM

It was never a foul.

Even by the incredibly low standards of football where a foul is given if a player falls over because an opponent breathed on him.

04-11-2023, 07:14 PM
[emoji85][emoji85] behave

He was. No sure your point

04-11-2023, 07:16 PM
He was poor today. Needs to stop this going down every time he feels a touch. Beaton is not to be trusted. Sometimes he gives them, sometimes he doesn’t

04-11-2023, 07:17 PM
Played well but at the same time cost us the game.

A contradiction ? Maybe, but his strengths outweigh his weaknesses and he'll continue to improve hopefully.

McGruber
04-11-2023, 07:21 PM
Marshall should have been out to narrow the angle, awful yet again.

Weird goal celebration knee slide and not closing the obvious angle. That said, boy allowed to run from half way when we have a man advantage just stupid

supermcginn
04-11-2023, 07:27 PM
Massively overrated.

04-11-2023, 07:31 PM
If he stays on his feet and plays like a strong midfielder then we don't lose that game, plays the diving game to win the ball, just be aggressive and strong.

Pathetic stuff.

Just needed to stick on Miovski's tail and get a proper challenge in...

7Hero
04-11-2023, 07:33 PM
The goalie should have saved it..

end of..

stevie-bee
04-11-2023, 07:37 PM
If I was a Hibs player I would be in that dressing room giving him a ****ing bollicking

1875M
04-11-2023, 08:25 PM
The goalie should have saved it..

end of..

Never one to be harsh on keepers, it’s the most difficult position on the pitch but having watched it back, I agree.

THESHIP
04-11-2023, 08:27 PM
Massively overrated.

Thank god somebody else can see this. Should be doing everything we can to get Egan Riley back in January.

04-11-2023, 08:28 PM
Never one to be harsh on keepers, it’s the most difficult position on the pitch but having watched it back, I agree.

Whilst I wouldn’t say I thought he should have saved it, I was left scratching my head at why he tried to save it the way he did.

It was like he never wanted it to go through his legs?

Is the general coaching technique not to make yourself as big as possible?

Looks very odd to me

Re Miller - he cost us that. He should have learnt 10 minutes into the game Beaton wasn’t buying his antics. We need to stop treating refs like complete idiots and that they don’t discuss players, they will all know Miller always falls looking for a foul. But to do it 3 minutes after the opposition went down to 10 men and in that position is criminal and I’m happy Monty hooked him. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Whittikar start midweek

04-11-2023, 08:32 PM
Miller sold that goal, really poor from him.
Youan sold the goal gave the ball away cheaply and put miller under pressure.

NC1875
04-11-2023, 08:33 PM

Yup, Youans decision making is terrible.

04-11-2023, 08:35 PM

And he could have dealt with it but didn’t, not sure how that’s Youans fault.

04-11-2023, 08:54 PM
He's a cheat.

Some take:rolleyes::rolleyes:

nickwhibs
04-11-2023, 08:56 PM
He’s a good player

04-11-2023, 08:56 PM

:agree::agree:

04-11-2023, 08:57 PM
For someone of his size and build, he goes down awful easily

04-11-2023, 09:07 PM
As he's not exactly quick, he tends to use his upper body strength to get him out of difficulties but it doesn't always work. I still prefer him to Cadden as a right back however, - he's better employed further up the park.

18Craig75
04-11-2023, 09:10 PM
Pound shop Porteous.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-11-2023, 09:17 PM
Pound shop Porteous.

Aye, Porteous was a quality right back for us. Put the Buckfast away n go to bed.

04-11-2023, 09:18 PM
Aye, Porteous was a quality right back for us. Put the Buckfast away n go to bed.

:agree::agree:

04-11-2023, 09:20 PM
Pound shop Porteous.

He's nothing like Porteous FFS

18Craig75
04-11-2023, 09:21 PM

Porto knew when to go down and buy a foul. Miller was warned in the first half by the referee, then decided to do it again costing us a shot at a final. No buckfast for me pal, he’s not the boy wonder some would have you believe, and maybe he has started believing himself.

04-11-2023, 10:39 PM
His diving and overreactions were always going to cost us a goal. Gutting it's today. His nippy style had just put us a man up but he has got to be so much smarter. Stay on your feet FFS.

McSwanky
04-11-2023, 10:46 PM
Was there not video footage a few weeks back of our assistant manager going radge at him and screaming "get up"? He needs to learn and learn quick.

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

04-11-2023, 10:55 PM
Lewis is a very good player and an even better prospect. So long as he learns from his mistakes, he’ll continue to earn call ups and progress with his career. The blame can’t be placed on him alone today.

Crunchie
04-11-2023, 11:00 PM
Never a foul in a million years. He's been brilliant for us since he became a regular but he started poorly today and got into falling over mode. Poor.
That's it in a nutshell, he's been excellent of late but tonight he had his worst game yet. The Hampden jinx strikes again.

Crunchie
04-11-2023, 11:02 PM
He falls over at the slightest touch trying to get free kicks all the bloody time, and it puts us in trouble when the ref wises up and stops giving them, in my book thats cheating, so he's a cheat.
You're old enough to know better, based on some of your posts today I'd say you've had one too many.

Stokesy's on fire
04-11-2023, 11:40 PM
Miller was fouled...watched it a few times now. Foul clear as day.

04-11-2023, 11:59 PM
He's a cheat.

Don't talk rubbish

05-11-2023, 07:50 AM
I must watch a different game. I thought he was excellent and still think he was fouled. Youans loose pass was way worse but everyone jumps on Lewis.

05-11-2023, 07:53 AM
He's nothing like Porteous FFS

He chucks himself to the ground just as easily as Porteous used to.

05-11-2023, 07:55 AM
Aye it's cheating but these days they all do it as soon as they feel the slightest contact (a la Porto) and most of the time it wins a free kick. But sometimes you learn a severe lesson that it's better to stay strong.

05-11-2023, 07:59 AM
I like Miller. He's one of the few I have no real concerns about. He made a mistake yesterday and that diving thing is something he needs to cut out but he's young and he'll learn a lesson from that. The instant substitution will have left him in no doubt what the coaching team thought of his decision making. Worth pointing out he was left totally exposed for the goal by a ridiculously sloppy pass by one of our much vaunted forward line.

Big positive for me is young Megwa is doing well at Airdrie so we may well have ready made competition for him next season too.

RB is not something I think we have to worry about it.

05-11-2023, 09:04 AM
Miller was fouled...watched it a few times now. Foul clear as day.

Shinnie got a similar foul late in the game to waste time.

Stokesy's on fire
05-11-2023, 09:10 AM
Shinnie got a similar foul late in the game to waste time.

Yup

05-11-2023, 09:12 AM
That's it in a nutshell, he's been excellent of late but tonight he had his worst game yet. The Hampden jinx strikes again.

Nah, apparently he is a cheat, a poundland porteous, massively overrated. I agree with you, good player who just happened to have a bad game, as for the goal, there was still a lot of work and space on the park for Aberdeen to get forward, the fact no one got near him is another issue

05-11-2023, 01:09 PM
Nah, apparently he is a cheat, a poundland porteous, massively overrated. I agree with you, good player who just happened to have a bad game, as for the goal, there was still a lot of work and space on the park for Aberdeen to get forward, the fact no one got near him is another issue

Agreed. The rubbish on here about being a cheat etc. Why do some bother following us?

05-11-2023, 01:16 PM
He's definitely raw and I think there's a player there, he's also had a few really good games. Against the bigger teams funnily enough. But he doesn't seem to make the most of his attributes

Also goes down far too easily and loves cutting back/inside for some reason.

Definitely good enough for us and is only going to get better.

05-11-2023, 02:20 PM
Agreed. The rubbish on here about being a cheat etc. Why do some bother following us?

I banged on about Pressley falling over at the slightest touch when he was a gimp, he was a cheat simple as that a cheat.

Miller does exactly the same, maybe even more, its a joke and its starting to affect us because the refs are aware of it now and not falling for it.

PS i support Hibs because i love all the defeats and the clutching defeat from victory moments.

05-11-2023, 02:28 PM
Pound shop Porteous.

Laughable comment

Greenworld
06-11-2023, 10:23 AM
Wow quick read through the comments [emoji15] a very good young player getting destroyed [emoji122]

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

06-11-2023, 10:50 AM
Wow quick read through the comments [emoji15] a very good young player getting destroyed [emoji122]

Probably been our best player recently. Huge potential

Greenworld
06-11-2023, 11:04 AM
Probably been our best player recently. Huge potential100% he has...the team are playing really well just not scoring goals .
So a adjustment up front is required

06-11-2023, 12:01 PM

He has been very good for us this season, but he's a diver and he needs to cut it out.

Crunchie
06-11-2023, 01:25 PM
He has been very good for us this season, but he's a diver and he needs to cut it out.

At least you’re not calling him a cheat now. Boyle dives, lots of players dive, it’s an unfortunate part of football.

Greenio
06-11-2023, 01:29 PM
Miller is good and will only get better.

2 recent mom awards and an international debut in the past few weeks....

Some folk are clearly at it. Smells suss

06-11-2023, 01:36 PM
At least you’re not calling him a cheat now. Boyle dives, lots of players dive, it’s an unfortunate part of football.

Yep, gamesmanship is a huge part of football, whether it is feigning injury, cramp, diving or the traditional getting wide and winding-up your opponent (Lewis is good at this). He is also one of our most fouled players, taking lots of physical abuse every time he's on the field.

Miller is a good player for our level. He's raw and learning the game still. he had a quiet game on Saturday, it happens. Hopefully, he learns a bit about when and where to throw himself to the ground, he didn't cover himself in glory with Saturday's effort.

06-11-2023, 01:41 PM
Miller has been mostly excellent for us since end of last season when he finally got a run in the team. Can't believe how much stick he is getting for the goal the other day when there were at least 2 other players more at fault.

06-11-2023, 01:57 PM

He is a cheat, and its starting to cost us now. Dress diving up all you like, but when you are doing it as often as he does, everyone notices, and saturdays ref certainly did.

06-11-2023, 04:49 PM
He is a cheat, and its starting to cost us now. Dress diving up all you like, but when you are doing it as often as he does, everyone notices, and saturdays ref certainly did.

Gamesmanship is part of the modern game and it isn't going away. They all cheat, one way or another. Miller will learn from his mistake on Saturday, he's daft, but far from stupid. Not aware of him having been booked for diving so far? Unlike the Aberdeen prick on Saturday. Miller's timing was poor, after the sending off. No way was he getting that decision minutes later.

Miller will learn and keep improving.

Crunchie
06-11-2023, 05:45 PM
Do you consider Boyle a cheat? he's dived countless times in a Hibs shirt.

Labelling one of our young players a cheat takes you to a whole new level of attention seeking imo.

06-11-2023, 06:39 PM
Shinnie clips LM in the build up to goal, he then looks at Beaton, who waves play on......Not sure how that is cheating from LM:rolleyes:

07-11-2023, 10:46 AM
Do you consider Boyle a cheat? he's dived countless times in a Hibs shirt.

Labelling one of our young players a cheat takes you to a whole new level of attention seeking imo.

All diving is cheating, but when you do it on an industrial scale like Miller is doing now, it's starting to cost us.

He needs to cut it out.

Attention seeking. :faf:

07-11-2023, 11:02 AM
I don’t mind defenders going down to try and buy fouls, it’s almost part and parcel with the game.

But there was I think 3 instances in the game before the goal where Miller went down trying to buy a foul and Beaton never gave the foul.

Why you would then try it for a fourth time, in that position, in that minute of the game and just after the opposition have went down to 10 men in a semi final is beyond me.

07-11-2023, 11:04 AM
He’s got a touch of the Porteous about him. He can draw people into making a foul when he’s in a difficult position, but referees are beginning to get side and he needs to be a bit more clever.

I really rate him but he’s at his best when he’s no nonsense.

07-11-2023, 11:10 AM
I don’t mind defenders going down to try and buy fouls, it’s almost part and parcel with the game.

But there was I think 3 instances in the game before the goal where Miller went down trying to buy a foul and Beaton never gave the foul.

Why you would then try it for a fourth time, in that position, in that minute of the game and just after the opposition have went down to 10 men in a semi final is beyond me.

Can't say I noticed that. I did notice him winning quite a few fouls though.

There are posters saying that Shinnie clipped his heels, maybe he was actually fouled?

If he wasn't fouled then he made a stupid decision. He will have been roasted by his manager and team mates, if so.

07-11-2023, 11:13 AM
Can't say I noticed that. I did notice him winning quite a few fouls though.

There are posters saying that Shinnie clipped his heels, maybe he was actually fouled?

If he wasn't fouled then he made a stupid decision. He will have been roasted by his manager and team mates, if so.

The way I saw it Miller tried to get in front of the Aberdeen player..there was definitely contact..and Miller went down.

He's been getting pelters on here but the one who I think deserves the most criticism is Levitt...he made no attempt to tackle the guy who scored..and seemed even to slow down in the box just before he shot.

Have a look at the tape of his éffort' to stop the goal.

07-11-2023, 11:22 AM
The way I saw it Miller tried to get in front of the Aberdeen player..there was definitely contact..and Miller went down.

He's been getting pelters on here but the one who I think deserves the most criticism is Levitt...he made no attempt to tackle the guy who scored..and seemed even to slow down in the box just before he shot.

I watched the highlights once and can barely bring myself to look again Fred.

I made the point to one of his fiercest critics on this thread that all players are cheating in the modern game, one way or another. That's the way of football just now. Play acting, time wasting, diving, faking injury.....

Miller plays on the edge, he's also good at giving verbals and likes to wind-up his opponent, sometimes it gets the desired reaction, as on Saturday or v Celtic last season when Maeida got himself sent off.

He sometimes goes down easily, not the way I want the game played but that's what it is.

07-11-2023, 11:31 AM

Sorry read this a few times and its really unfair. Levitt simply isn't fast enough. There is no way he is getting close to Miovski no matter what he does. Levitt is too far away to begin with, he's never getting over.

How are people not seeing how bad Obita was. He is the guy that can actually stop the goal if he tracks his man. Look at these photos of where Miovski starts and where Obita ends up in relation to him.

07-11-2023, 11:33 AM
Lewis Miller is a player I've been impressed with this season. He's been far from perfect but there was moments last season you thought it was another recruitment dud and would be back in Aus by now and yet here he is arguably one of our better players on the season over the whole.

Hopefully he learns from this and maybe tries to stay on his feet a bit more but like others have said I have seen fouls given there. The problem is you make our refs have to make a decision if you play that way.

07-11-2023, 11:40 AM
Sorry read this a few times and its really unfair. Levitt simply isn't fast enough. There is no way he is getting close to Miovski no matter what he does. Levitt is too far away to begin with, he's never getting over.

How are people not seeing how bad Obita was. He is the guy that can actually stop the goal if he tracks his man. Look at these photos of where Miovski starts and where Obita ends up in relation to him.

Agree regarding Obita however Levitt is in his own half when Miovski gets the ball. He could also have done a lot better.

Too many players you could put at fault for the goal:

Youan with a poor pass
Miller for trying to be too clever
Obita as stated above
Levitt as above
Marshall who made no attempt to do anything

07-11-2023, 11:40 AM
Shinnie clips LM in the build up to goal, he then looks at Beaton, who waves play on......Not sure how that is cheating from LM:rolleyes:

Its not - he was tripped. Now what I would say is - he needs to get his arse up and running right away. Too many switched off and thats why we lost the goal. Never put your arm up and just keep running as hard as you can to retrieve the ball.

07-11-2023, 11:52 AM

This is where we really miss Lee Johnson imo. If the players had the mindset of a lion chasing them, they would have made it back

07-11-2023, 11:53 AM
Your talking nonsense, doubling down on it won't make you right.

07-11-2023, 12:00 PM
Agree regarding Obita however Levitt is in his own half when Miovski gets the ball. He could also have done a lot better.

Too many players you could put at fault for the goal:

Youan with a poor pass
Miller for trying to be too clever
Obita as stated above
Levitt as above
Marshall who made no attempt to do anything

If anything, I think Levitt could be criticised for his starting position being too central. Im with you on the others.

This is where we really miss Lee Johnson imo. If the players had the mindset of a lion chasing them, they would have made it back

07-11-2023, 12:51 PM
Your talking nonsense, doubling down on it won't make you right.

We slaughter every other team in the land when their players dive, but should turn a blind eye when it's one of ours.:rolleyes:

07-11-2023, 01:29 PM
We slaughter every other team in the land when their players dive, but should turn a blind eye when it's one of ours.:rolleyes:

He was tripped tho.

07-11-2023, 02:47 PM
He was tripped tho.

Ive never said he wasnt, if you are talking about the goal?:confused: