View Full Version : The Beatles new single.
02-11-2023, 01:10 PM
That’s The Beatles just released their much hyped new single, Now and Then. I didn’t particularly like Free as a Bird or Real Love but this one is a proper Beatles song, I love it.
02-11-2023, 01:23 PM
That’s The Beatles just released their much hyped new single, Now and Then. I didn’t particularly like Free as a Bird or Real Love but this one is a proper Beatles song, I love it.
Definitely got John Lennon written all over it.
02-11-2023, 01:57 PM
Got me a bit emotional.
I was just thinking "would this be any more than a bit of wallpaper these days?"..... and then George's solo kicked in.....
02-11-2023, 02:14 PM
Got me a bit emotional.
I was just thinking "would this be any more than a bit of wallpaper these days?"..... and then George's solo kicked in.....
It was the guitar that got me as well.
02-11-2023, 02:26 PM
https://youtu.be/AW55J2zE3N4?si=Dcon1fpsNRl_cHcL
02-11-2023, 02:40 PM
Got me a bit emotional.
I was bubbling for about 10 minutes earlier 🙈
Something very overwhelming hearing a new John vocal like this. They’ve done a great job, it belongs in their discography
02-11-2023, 02:46 PM
I was bubbling for about 10 minutes earlier 🙈
Something very overwhelming hearing a new John vocal like this. They’ve done a great job, it belongs in their discography
Was it not written long after the Beatles disbanded, or maybe I’m wrong?
02-11-2023, 03:12 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F975uqpb0AAsS9x?format=jpg&name=medium
02-11-2023, 03:22 PM
Aye, it was a Lennon demo.
Was it not written long after the Beatles disbanded, or maybe I’m wrong?It was. Yoko gave the cassette to McCartney in the 90s along with other demos. There's some disagreement but the tape box had "for Paul", written on it. Some say in Lennons handwriting some say one of Yoko's staff may have written it.
They had buried the hatchet by that time, so maybe apt the others finished it. It certainly has Yoko's blessing.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
02-11-2023, 03:44 PM
I can’t say I’m a big Beatles fan but like them to be fair. I know the background of the track and it is quite a thing they’ve produced. There is a big however here and I might be alone. I think it’s more ELO than the Beatles. A wee bit over produced for my liking but can understand why.
02-11-2023, 04:04 PM
I can’t say I’m a big Beatles fan but like them to be fair. I know the background of the track and it is quite a thing they’ve produced. There is a big however here and I might be alone. I think it’s more ELO than the Beatles. A wee bit over produced for my liking but can understand why.
Thank you, i was racking my brain on who it sounded like. Yes i agree with every word you say. :agree:
To be fair I always thought ELO pretty much took over where the Beetles left off. Then there was the Traveling Wilburys 😆
Egg, chicken, egg.
To be fair I always thought ELO pretty much took over where the Beetles left off. Then there was the Traveling Wilburys [emoji38]
Egg, chicken, egg.Yeah, you have to wonder what ELO might have sounded like if The Beatles didn't exist. Lennon used to rage at the similarities on certain tracks.
02-11-2023, 04:14 PM
Well ELO were pretty good at ripping off the Beatles.
And Jeff Lynne was involved in the production.
02-11-2023, 04:15 PM
Yes, along with Free as a Bird and Real Love. Lennon demos but unmistakably Beatles tracks in the end.
02-11-2023, 04:15 PM
To be fair ELO we’re pretty much a Beatles tribute band in style off so there’s bound to be similarities in sound.
Stairway 2 7
02-11-2023, 05:24 PM
I really like it George didn't like it previously ha
Guardian
"The new film discussed technical issues hampering the surviving Beatles’ intention to rework Now and Then in the mid-90s as well: there were meant to be three “new” Beatles songs, one for each volume of the Anthology compilations, but the sessions for this song were abandoned as Lennon’s vocals and piano couldn’t be separated for the new mix. This was a slightly different version of events to the one given by McCartney a decade ago. Then, he claimed the late George Harrison – always the most unbiddable ex-Beatle – had singlehandedly drawn the sessions to a close by describing Now and Then as “****ing rubbish”. (“But it’s John!” McCartney had apparently protested, to no avail: “This is ****ing rubbish,” Harrison countered.) Indeed, Harrison seemed unsure about the whole idea of reworking Lennon’s material. “I hope someone does this to all my crap demos after I’m dead – turn them into hit songs,” he subsequently remarked, which perhaps wasn’t the promotional boost for the new songs Apple was after.
Ironic that George's work on the track really stands out.
02-11-2023, 06:42 PM
Ironic that George's work on the track really stands out.
"There’s something similarly moving about the sound of a very Harrison-esque slide guitar solo being played by McCartney ..... Harrison’s actual presence seems to be restricted to acoustic rhythm guitar."
02-11-2023, 07:26 PM
"There’s something similarly moving about the sound of a very Harrison-esque slide guitar solo being played by McCartney ..... Harrison’s actual presence seems to be restricted to acoustic rhythm guitar."
There a few electric parts from him as well but aye, the slide solo is Paul copying George.
"There’s something similarly moving about the sound of a very Harrison-esque slide guitar solo being played by McCartney ..... Harrison’s actual presence seems to be restricted to acoustic rhythm guitar."Ah, well.
Am thinking of it as a new Beatles track rather than a single. It would never have been a 7" back in the day.
02-11-2023, 07:36 PM
I'm really going against the grain here but I agree with George Harrison on this one.
02-11-2023, 08:37 PM
It's just brilliant.
MountcastleHibs
02-11-2023, 08:46 PM
I really like it George didn't like it previously ha
Guardian
"The new film discussed technical issues hampering the surviving Beatles’ intention to rework Now and Then in the mid-90s as well: there were meant to be three “new” Beatles songs, one for each volume of the Anthology compilations, but the sessions for this song were abandoned as Lennon’s vocals and piano couldn’t be separated for the new mix. This was a slightly different version of events to the one given by McCartney a decade ago. Then, he claimed the late George Harrison – always the most unbiddable ex-Beatle – had singlehandedly drawn the sessions to a close by describing Now and Then as “****ing rubbish”. (“But it’s John!” McCartney had apparently protested, to no avail: “This is ****ing rubbish,” Harrison countered.) Indeed, Harrison seemed unsure about the whole idea of reworking Lennon’s material. “I hope someone does this to all my crap demos after I’m dead – turn them into hit songs,” he subsequently remarked, which perhaps wasn’t the promotional boost for the new songs Apple was after.
Ken McNab, who has written a few Beatles books, was on Good Morning Scotland on BBC Radio Scotland this morning. He said that Harrison’s widow and son have suggested that he meant that the quality of the recording was rubbish and they couldn’t do anything with it. Whether that’s true or not, I don’t suppose we’ll ever know, but McNab seemed to suggest it wasn’t about the content.
FWIW, I love it.
02-11-2023, 08:59 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=APJAQoSCwuA
02-11-2023, 10:27 PM
Thought it was a very decent track and got quite emotional listening to it. Clearly there's only so much treatment they can do with the original source but it sounded like a Beatles track and not "their" worst
02-11-2023, 10:52 PM
The Love Me Do remix is pretty damn good as well.
The Love Me Do remix is pretty damn good as well.Like it. They should ai those early albums and get some separation. I'm sure they could sound beefier.
02-11-2023, 11:07 PM
I'm really going against the grain here but I agree with George Harrison on this one.
Snap
Stairway 2 7
03-11-2023, 04:27 AM
Like it. They should ai those early albums and get some separation. I'm sure they could sound beefier.
Giles Martin has done a brilliant job remixing. He is doing the red and blue albums next
03-11-2023, 09:06 AM
There a few electric parts from him as well but aye, the slide solo is Paul copying George.
In that case, I hate it :greengrin
****ing Wings. The band The Beatles could have been.....
03-11-2023, 10:02 AM
In that case, I hate it :greengrin
****ing Wings. The band The Beatles could have been.....
Band on the Run was pretty good…..and Wings Over America made the Venus and Mars songs sound decent. So not all bad. :greengrin
03-11-2023, 03:26 PM
https://youtu.be/Opxhh9Oh3rg?si=HN5ijn8MvEI4JZE5
03-11-2023, 05:10 PM
Apart from Imagine I wasn't keen on anything Lennon and McCartney produced post Beatles. I reckon George and Ringo gave folk as much pleasure in those years.
Ringo released a new EP today in fact. Paul was involved to an extent. Four nice toe-tappers and more upbeat than The Beatles dirge!
https://youtu.be/Opxhh9Oh3rg?si=HN5ijn8MvEI4JZE5
That’s incredibly well done
06-11-2023, 08:29 PM
Wife and I are huge beatles fans, she was in tears the other day listening to it, we were in Liverpool this year and done all the beatles stuff, our guide was actually the brother of Holly Johnson, listening to him talk about music made it even better
Stairway 2 7
06-11-2023, 09:25 PM
Good little 15 minute documentary on Disney plus about the making of the song
07-11-2023, 01:40 PM
Wife and I are huge beatles fans, she was in tears the other day listening to it, we were in Liverpool this year and done all the beatles stuff, our guide was actually the brother of Holly Johnson, listening to him talk about music made it even better
Jay is fantastic as the tour guide on the magical mystery tour.
07-11-2023, 06:36 PM
On a side note, I think George Harrison was a decent and underestimated guitarist. Outwith the Beatles and his own solo career, he did a few cameos on other artists’ work. Check out his slide guitar work on Alvin Lee’s ‘The Bluest Blues’ ( 2.14 minutes ) …. very special in my opinion.
07-11-2023, 08:43 PM
On a side note, I think George Harrison was a decent and underestimated guitarist. Outwith the Beatles and his own solo career, he did a few cameos on other artists’ work. Check out his slide guitar work on Alvin Lee’s ‘The Bluest Blues’ ( 2.14 minutes ) …. very special in my opinion.
All Things Must Pass was a masterpiece but Living in the Material World is my favourite GH album when it comes to his guitar work. His work with The Beatles really is underestimated as well. He never played ten notes when one would do.
08-11-2023, 09:33 AM
Jay is fantastic as the tour guide on the magical mystery tour.
Yeah he was really good,we ended up driving back to some of the areas on our own the next again day but he has an amazing knowledge of music
Cuikyhibs
10-11-2023, 10:14 AM
That’s incredibly well done
its brilliant:top marks
Great video if the Beatles mixed with old and new but for me the song is pants, I loved the Beatles back in the day but this song does nothing for me, just my opinion mind.
11-11-2023, 08:32 AM
Great video if the Beatles mixed with old and new but for me the song is pants, I loved the Beatles back in the day but this song does nothing for me, just my opinion mind.
Agree, it's just not the Beatles at all as far as I'm concerned.
pollution
11-11-2023, 09:43 AM
Yawn
11-11-2023, 01:51 PM
It's made number 1 in Germany.
16-11-2023, 05:04 PM
Having listened to it quite a few times, I don’t think it sounds like a Beatles recording. For me it’s the type of song that John Lennon would have sung in his purely solo career.