View Full Version : NHC Dundee Call Out Sectarianism from Rangers
02-11-2023, 12:54 PM
From their club statement post match last night:
'.....Despite robust practices by all clubs in the SPFL and the SFA at Hampden, flares, offensive banners and signing of sectarian songs continue to be a problem......'
Good on them and it's over to Rangers now; their (rightful) anger after our game at Ibrox and Hibs swift response has set a precdent.
Time for other clubs to keep the pressure on. If everyone starts to call it out then the powers that be can't continue to ignore it. They can't hide behind friendly sheriffs and false equivalences forever.
02-11-2023, 01:03 PM
Would like the same statement to be issued by all other clubs outwith the old firm. Time for the other clubs to grow a pair. Well done Dundee.
02-11-2023, 01:05 PM
Really pleased to hear this and we absolutely should be joining them in condemning the usual song book next time we face Sevco.
I think it's telling though that the BBC coverage of this is exclusively focused on the flares. They include the Dundee statement mentioning sectarianism but no mention in the article.
HIBS NUTS
02-11-2023, 01:06 PM
Hibs should have made a statement after, the vast majority of rangers fans sang the billy boys at Ron gordon’s tribute.
They are quick to call other teams out, absolutely horrendous mob.
I noticed their end was jam packed at Dundee, from obviously rushing gates , with no tickets AGAIN.
02-11-2023, 01:07 PM
Well spotted ,PB
Statement reads as follows......
Dundee Football Club are investigating and working with the relevant authorities after a series of unacceptable actions in the stands at last night’s match at Dens Park against Rangers.
Despite robust practice by all clubs in the SPFL and the SFA at Hampden, flares, offensive banners and singing of sectarian songs continue to be a problem all across our game in Scottish Football.
As we are working with the authorities we are unable to comment on the situation at this time.
The club will comment further once the ongoing investigation has taken place and concluded.
02-11-2023, 01:07 PM
Not a chance Rangers will condemn their own support. There’ll probably be something from them about how the security was poor and it put their own fans at risk.
02-11-2023, 01:08 PM
Well done Dundee. All clubs need to do the same including specifically ours.
02-11-2023, 01:15 PM
Well done Dundee.
The time for us to have done the same was after the last time we played them at ER when their sectarian bile was a match for any Hibs v Rangers game I have ever attended.
02-11-2023, 01:16 PM
Well done Dundee.
The time for us to have done the same was after the last time we played them at ER when their sectarian bile was a match for any Hibs v Rangers game I have ever attended.
Agree was despicable and should absolutely have been called out.
02-11-2023, 01:18 PM
Well done Dundee.
I emailed hibs regarding the last game and just got standard reply saying it’s a Scottish problem even tho we get zero tolerance crap over the tannoy at every home game.
02-11-2023, 01:24 PM
The huge pyro nonsense last night could have ended badly in such a small space.
It was like the 12th in East Belfast.
This need a stop putting to it.
Somebody is gonna get seriously hurt, a life changing injury or killed,
Enough with these hazards .
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-fc/4801103/dundee-0-5-rangers-traffic-and-flares-delay-kick-off-as-dee-rage-at-referee-and-gers-run-out-easy-winners/
02-11-2023, 01:45 PM
From their club statement post match last night:
'.....Despite robust practices by all clubs in the SPFL and the SFA at Hampden, flares, offensive banners and signing of sectarian songs continue to be a problem......'
Good on them and it's over to Rangers now; their (rightful) anger after our game at Ibrox and Hibs swift response has set a precdent.
Time for other clubs to keep the pressure on. If everyone starts to call it out then the powers that be can't continue to ignore it. They can't hide behind friendly sheriffs and false equivalences forever.
They will probably feel that they can given Scottish clubs voted against strict liability.
02-11-2023, 02:34 PM
Every club, after every single game, should call it out. Release footage after every game proving it .
02-11-2023, 02:34 PM
Well done Dundee.
I don't think anything will change with statements like this but hopefully this is a catalyst for change.
02-11-2023, 03:06 PM
Strict liability not being in place is a nonsense imo. No responsibility isn't a great position to be in.
02-11-2023, 03:10 PM
Still no statement from The Rangers then ? Funny that 😂
02-11-2023, 03:18 PM
Still no statement from The Rangers then ? Funny that 😂
They will complain about the lack of stewarding which allowed flares in.
02-11-2023, 04:03 PM
Best thing would be hibs v the Rangers league cup final and as soon as the singing starts hibs refused to continue playing, tell the ref that the game will only go ahead with no sectarian songs, a list of which will be provided for clarification.
02-11-2023, 04:07 PM
Best thing would be hibs v the Rangers league cup final and as soon as the singing starts hibs refused to continue playing, tell the ref that the game will only go ahead with no sectarian songs, a list of which will be provided for clarification.
Cup awarded, celebration held and Hibs banned from next year's competition. Minimum.
Crunchie
02-11-2023, 04:12 PM
The late Frank Carson's catchphrase comes to mind reading that :faf:
02-11-2023, 04:19 PM
Cup awarded, celebration held and Hibs banned from next year's competition. Minimum.
Let it be that then.
The publicity in the UK and further afield such action would get might unnerve sevco and maybe their sponsors ,when its out and shouted from the rooftops that this clubs is supported by sectarian bigots and the club itself play along with this corrosive cult in our society.
They wear,nay covet as their own , the Red Poppy, to commemorate those that died for democracy, justice and freedom.
Yet many of the bigots would deny such to a section of its own Country and the 6 Counties.
They show the Red Card against Racism. Token gesture.
But they always play, yes always , The Orange Card
Chorley Hibee
02-11-2023, 04:23 PM
Let it be that then.
The publicity in the UK and further afield such action would get might unnerve sevco and maybe their sponsors ,when its out and shouted from the rooftops that this clubs is supported by sectarian bigots and the club itself play along with this corrosive cult in our society.
They wear the Red Poppy
They show the Red Card against Racism
But they always play The Orange Card
Couldn't agree more.
Needs something of this magnitude to happen.
02-11-2023, 04:28 PM
The sevco manager said "We need the great supporters but please keep the fires outside the stadium" perhaps it was a translation thing.
Yet another roaster joins Atilla and the hordes.
:lolrangers:
02-11-2023, 04:32 PM
Couldn't agree more.
Needs something of this magnitude to happen.
Cheers mate... I was doing an edit as you replied.
But yes i would support such a stance .
Its a sacrifice for club and players
I doubt it will happpen.
Too many spineless ones who are content with the staus quo.
That saddens me.
But what a real "statement"! that sure as hell would make.
Would shake those ostriches at Hampden to the core
02-11-2023, 04:35 PM
It's pleasantly surprising that the media are highlighting Dundee's statement and additionally the BBC commented in the Gossip column that Sevco are short of funds for the January transfer window. Not something they generally admit out loud. Maybe the authorities/media have grown a set of knackers with the malignant influence of Supreme Leader Park gone and it's time to move the game forward. Or give Sevco a realistic chance of being invited to join a European league even in the future. One can only hope.
02-11-2023, 04:37 PM
It's pleasantly surprising that the media are highlighting Dundee's statement and additionally the BBC commented in the Gossip column that Sevco are short of funds for the January transfer window. Not something they generally admit out loud. Maybe the authorities/media have grown a set of knackers with the malignant influence of Supreme Leader Park gone and it's time to move the game forward. Or give Sevco a realistic chance of being invited to join a European league even in the future. One can only hope.
They should just go, an join the Dutch league and let us get on with the football.
02-11-2023, 04:40 PM
They should just go, an join the Dutch league and let us get on with the football.
I'd fly over and drive them there myself. Would be Scottish fitba's finest hour if those bams left.
02-11-2023, 04:47 PM
The sevco manager said "We need the great supporters but please keep the fires outside the stadium" perhaps it was a translation thing.
Fireman Sam and the Sevco Bams.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLUGsn-NOis
02-11-2023, 06:30 PM
It's pleasantly surprising that the media are highlighting Dundee's statement and additionally the BBC commented in the Gossip column that Sevco are short of funds for the January transfer window. Not something they generally admit out loud. Maybe the authorities/media have grown a set of knackers with the malignant influence of Supreme Leader Park gone and it's time to move the game forward. Or give Sevco a realistic chance of being invited to join a Europea4n league even in the future. One can only hope.
New share issue incoming.
For a club who top the statement league their silence is deafening regarding last night.
02-11-2023, 06:43 PM
Well done Dundee
This is a weekly occurrence and meekly accepted by the other clubs, the MSM and the football authorities.
Hibs... and all other clubs... should join Dundee in calling out sectarianism.
02-11-2023, 06:49 PM
I think fire and flare are the same word in Dutch which I guess he speaks.
02-11-2023, 06:55 PM
I wonder if the game had been called off and the 3 points awarded to Dundee, would the Atillas then do something about the hordes.
02-11-2023, 06:57 PM
Hence I said it could be a translation thing, He is Belgian is he not, could be dutch speak dont know and dont care, so its better to have the flares in the streets.....he is still a roaster.
02-11-2023, 07:02 PM
Flemish I would have thought but in fairness I believe it's pretty close to Dutch.
02-11-2023, 07:07 PM
Flemish I would have thought but in fairness I believe it's pretty close to Dutch.
Does it matter, are we now sticking up for managers of the Atillas, he is just another roaster. Belgians speak any one of 3 languages I think but could be wrong. Bit like the Swiss speak 4.
02-11-2023, 07:08 PM
Does it matter, are we now sticking up for managers of the Atillas, he is just another roaster. Belgians speak any one of 3 languages I think but could be wrong. Bit like the Swiss speak 4.
:greengrinI'm guessing he will maybe be a walloon, or some kind of a loon anyway.....
02-11-2023, 07:09 PM
Hell will freeze over before I defend anything connected with that shower of w*****s.
02-11-2023, 07:11 PM
Hell will freeze over before I defend anything connected with that shower of w*****s.
Ho ho ho, thats more like it.
02-11-2023, 07:13 PM
This thread seems to have gone off on a tangent.
Unusual for hibs.net :)
02-11-2023, 07:17 PM
Oh oh, don't you live in Germany or have I mixed you up with someone else? Don't you go off causing trouble and invading Belgium at the weekend now....
02-11-2023, 07:18 PM
No really, just saying if they gave the 3 points to Dundee, after the game was called off then would the Atillas and the sfa start to do something about them.
Do that enough times and they would have to ban all the wee phanneys and start acting like humans for a wee while (90mins) or so.
02-11-2023, 07:19 PM
Well done Dundee. I really wish Hibs and all other clubs called out the behaviour from the old firm fans. They have gotten to the stage where they think they can do anything and get away with it
02-11-2023, 07:20 PM
No really, just saying if they gave the 3 points to Dundee, after the game was called off then would the Atillas and the sfa start to do something about them.
Do that enough times and they would have to ban all the wee phanneys and start acting like humans for a wee while (90mins) or so.
I was referring to the Dutch/Flemish/Waloon conversation
02-11-2023, 07:23 PM
I was referring to the Dutch/Flemish/Waloon conversation
Who cares aboot that, its all double dutch to me anyways.
02-11-2023, 07:23 PM
Well done Dundee, bigger set of balls than our board👏
stuart-farquhar
02-11-2023, 07:33 PM
I think that that Atillas and the Plastic platoon need to be policed far more rigorously.
02-11-2023, 07:40 PM
Who cares aboot that, its all double dutch to me anyways.
02-11-2023, 07:50 PM
Well done Dundee
This is a weekly occurrence and meekly accepted by the other clubs, the MSM and the football authorities.
Hibs... and all other clubs... should join Dundee in calling out sectarianism.
Yes ,some are even frightened or ashamed to use that word.
Good on ye Dundee F.C.
:music:We are Hibernian FC :singing:
:singing:We hate Jamtarts, and we love Dundee :music:
(and dear old Albert!)
Sorry couldnae help masel :greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXB4QzZ8l_E
02-11-2023, 08:42 PM
Well done Dundee. Other clubs including Hibs must do more. You
K-Zazu
02-11-2023, 08:59 PM
Nothing will change
02-11-2023, 09:34 PM
Take note, Hibs.
02-11-2023, 09:40 PM
The SFA and SPFL will never support any attack or criticism of the ugly sisters, especially their beloved Rangers. They see them as the backbone of Scottish football and, while they won’t admit it, they actually enjoy and support the bigotry of Rangers. And of course, in their eyes, Rangers without Celtic would render Scottish football worthless.
K-Zazu
02-11-2023, 09:47 PM
The SFA and SPFL will never support any attack or criticism of the ugly sisters, especially their beloved Rangers. They see them as the backbone of Scottish football and, while they won’t admit it, they actually enjoy and support the bigotry of Rangers. And of course, in their eyes, Rangers without Celtic would render Scottish football worthless.
This, it’s a waste of time even talking about it. Be saying the same thing in about 5 years
McHibby
03-11-2023, 12:18 AM
I emailed hibs regarding the last game and just got standard reply saying it’s a Scottish problem even tho we get zero tolerance crap over the tannoy at every home game.
This type of response makes my blood boil.
First of all, the only way this could conceivably be described as a "Scottish problem" is because Rangers' fans travel throughout Scotland for away games.
Second, even if for arguments sake we say it genuinely was a "Scottish problem" - so what?! That still wouldn't be a reason to do nothing. Domestic abuse occurs across the country, child poverty is a nationwide problem, drink driving offenses happen in every region of Scotland, should we also just file all those under "Scottish problem" and do nothing.
Every single club should do what Dundee have done, and we should do it again and again and again.
03-11-2023, 06:25 AM
Hunbelievably, Police Scotland made no arrests for the flares. Probably too busy singing sectarian songs themselves to notice.
And I assume there is still no response from the zombie, sevco board?
03-11-2023, 06:36 AM
The lack of response from The Rangers is the most disgusting thing. They’re the first to condemn any slight against them with opposition fans. Pricks.
03-11-2023, 06:41 AM
The lack of response from The Rangers is the most disgusting thing. They’re the first to condemn any slight against them with opposition fans. Pricks.Atillans being Atillans.
Always victims never the cause of the problem.
03-11-2023, 07:17 AM
Well done Dundee. Other clubs including Hibs must do more. You
They need banned from every away ground but too
many clubs will just turn a blind eye towards it unfortunately they need the income.
Without any direct action they will be back at the next away game and continue to do what they want while the media, police & goverment ignore that there is a problem
03-11-2023, 07:22 AM
The lack of response from The Rangers is the most disgusting thing. They’re the first to condemn any slight against them with opposition fans. Pricks.
This. The problem is they don't get challenged. We need journos and other clubs to point out this hypocrisy every time.
HarpOnHibee
03-11-2023, 09:10 AM
I think it's telling though that the BBC coverage of this is exclusively focused on the flares. They include the Dundee statement mentioning sectarianism but no mention in the article.
Of course they didn't. Why would the British Broadcasting Corporation shed light on the horrors of British Nationalism and the sectarian bile that typically accompanies it? Why do people in this country still pretend that the BBC are credible?
03-11-2023, 09:42 AM
He does know that Rangers fans often get trapped outside right? Could be dangerous :greengrin
DIXIHIBS
03-11-2023, 12:19 PM
Hunbelievably, Police Scotland made no arrests for the flares. Probably too busy singing sectarian songs themselves to notice.
And I assume there is still no response from the zombie, sevco board?
This is the worst part for me. Same happens at ER. They are challenging the police to do something about, and every time the police bottle it. They now think they are untouchable which will make them even worse. If Hibs/anyone else had done the same thing the police would have been right in there. The police do not want to confront them for fear of what would happen. Sad state of affairs tbh.
03-11-2023, 12:25 PM
This is the worst part for me. Same happens at ER. They are challenging the police to do something about, and every time the police bottle it. They now think they are untouchable which will make them even worse. If Hibs/anyone else had done the same thing the police would have been right in there. The police do not want to confront them for fear of what would happen. Sad state of affairs tbh.
I think it's right that the police don't wade into the crowd and endanger themselves, however in these CCTV days there should be multiple arrests and court cases in the days following the game.
03-11-2023, 12:30 PM
They need to get Keith Jackson and the daily ranker onto this and have the polis kept on this for at least 2 years, as they have done before, lets use the tax money well.
Or banish them to Holland.
03-11-2023, 04:04 PM
Reading pyro detection dogs will be in operation at Hampden let's see how that works on Sunday. 🤔
Probably the smells from the manky lot from Glasgow will confuse the dogs.
03-11-2023, 04:07 PM
Reading pyro detection dogs will be in operation at Hampden let's see how that works on Sunday. 🤔
Good for us, if there are no rockets allowed in Aberdeen will have no fans at the game...
Bridge hibs
03-11-2023, 04:23 PM
Probably the smells from the manky lot from Glasgow will confuse the dogs.Poor ****ing dogs, imagine having to sniff a load of hearts and the rangers fans, ****ing animal cruelty 🤬
03-11-2023, 04:58 PM
Not sure how you can try to educate the Rangers fans, they seem to pride themselves on being horrible.
The irony of them overcrowding away ends, after the disaster at their own ground is breathtaking. Horrific accident and hopefully nothing like that happens at any game going forward.
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 05:19 PM
Poor ****ing dogs, imagine having to sniff a load of hearts and the rangers fans, ****ing animal cruelty 🤬
Hope they have had there vaccinations ? 🤔
03-11-2023, 05:36 PM
Hope they have had there vaccinations ? 🤔
You do mean the dogs?
03-11-2023, 05:46 PM
Poor ****ing dogs, imagine having to sniff a load of hearts and the rangers fans, ****ing animal cruelty 🤬
Oh I don't know, when my dug finds something that smells that foul he rolls in or on it.
Bridge hibs
03-11-2023, 06:00 PM
Oh I don't know, when my dug finds something that smells that foul he rolls in or on it.🤣
03-11-2023, 07:05 PM
Of course they didn't. Why would the British Broadcasting Corporation shed light on the horrors of British Nationalism and the sectarian bile that typically accompanies it? Why do people in this country still pretend that the BBC are credible?Although I'm very happy to witness the lesser greens woes, and their numpty social misfits being dragged all over the news down here, there has been the square root of zero coverage of the attilas recent behaviour unless you look well below the main headline level.
They wave union Jack's, sometimes the right way round, so all good I guess
03-11-2023, 07:14 PM
Not sure how you can try to educate the Rangers fans, they seem to pride themselves on being horrible.
The irony of them overcrowding away ends, after the disaster at their own ground is breathtaking. Horrific accident and hopefully nothing like that happens at any game going forward.
When you look at the game on Sportscene from the other night, the stand holding Rangers fans was packed to the rafters
03-11-2023, 07:40 PM
The currant buns were terrified when Stokes was on fire
A real Pyro of a goal !!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMOg0n_rVnA
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 07:53 PM
You do mean the dogs?
Of course , hard to beat a good dog !.
https://images.app.goo.gl/aFSNkmYHPVJ6FioZ8
https://youtu.be/6rJo9yJxd5M?si=pLPGm2nhHCXZj3uR