View Full Version : Jeggo and Rocky

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2023, 09:23 PM
I thought things went wrong when both went off , Jeggo does a lot that I think goes unnoticed , he works really hard for the team and probably doesn't get the credit he deserves . Rocky has improved a lot since he first signed and i thought he was excellent tonight and one of our best players . I think they are two big players for us tbh .

LewysGot2
31-10-2023, 09:32 PM
The impact of Jeggo going off was massive. We started with a fair % of fringe players and ended up almost losing because we brought on even more.

Miller also had a relatively quiet 2nd half.

31-10-2023, 09:34 PM
The impact of Jeggo going off was massive. We started with a fair % of fringe players and ended up almost losing because we brought on even more.

Miller also had a relatively quiet 2nd half.

Miller looked to be struggling a bit second half. I think the knock he took in the first half may have affected him.

31-10-2023, 11:34 PM
Two of the worst decisions I’ve seen in a long time, subbing Rocky and Jeggo. Absolutely ridiculous

01-11-2023, 05:35 AM
Subs for subs sake

01-11-2023, 05:56 AM
Also, bringing on Hanlon vs County where he gets outmuscled every season?

It was 2-0 at the time but I'd have taken 2-2 from the minute Hanlon came on

Skol
01-11-2023, 06:05 AM
The Jeggo change was odd. However I thought out of the corner of my eye I saw him spew on the halfway line.

01-11-2023, 06:06 AM
Having one eye on the semi is just disrespecting the opposition. He can add it to the list of things he's learning.

01-11-2023, 06:07 AM
The Jeggo change was odd. However I thought out of the corner of my eye I saw him spew on the halfway line.

The subbing of Jeggo was ok, it was who he brought on that was the issue.

Trinity Hibee
01-11-2023, 06:08 AM
Having one eye on the semi is just disrespecting the opposition. He can add it to the list of things he's learning.

We are Hibs. We can’t afford to have one eye on anything other than the game we are playing. Sorry to say looks like Monty will just be another na e to come and go within a year.

01-11-2023, 06:14 AM

01-11-2023, 06:46 AM
Also, bringing on Hanlon vs County where he gets outmuscled every season?

It was 2-0 at the time but I'd have taken 2-2 from the minute Hanlon came on

Which goal did he get outmuscled for?

01-11-2023, 06:59 AM
Miller looked to be struggling a bit second half. I think the knock he took in the first half may have affected him.

Which one? The ref appeared to think it was open season on Miller in the first half and then ridiculously Levitt was the first yellow of the match !

County are thugs, and a couple of early (deserved) yellows would have altered their approach.

01-11-2023, 07:13 AM
Which goal did he get outmuscled for?

Guessing he means the second which was Fish.

Having said that the left side of our defence was like the Chuckle Brothers after he came on.

01-11-2023, 07:22 AM
Which one? The ref appeared to think it was open season on Miller in the first half and then ridiculously Levitt was the first yellow of the match !

County are thugs, and a couple of early (deserved) yellows would have altered their approach.

Yes that's very true. The ref didn't even speak to the thug who shouldered Youan in the face. Our players got no protection. I thought both linos were useless too.

01-11-2023, 07:24 AM
Guessing he means the second which was Fish.

Having said that the left side of our defence was like the Chuckle Brothers after he came on.

Our midfield disappeared. Newell coming on earlier would have helped. Delf didn’t help at all and we ended up just going deeper and deeper. It’s a Hibs habit and I thought Monty would get us past that.

01-11-2023, 07:26 AM
Our midfield disappeared. Newell coming on earlier would have helped. Delf didn’t help at all and we ended up just going deeper and deeper. It’s a Hibs habit and I thought Monty would get us past that.

I think Monty is the sort of manager that will give everyone an opportunity to show that they should be here, but when there’s such a large drop off in quality from first team to bench, that has some huge risks and yesterday led to our midfield becoming calamitous.

We all remember what the defensive record was like before Jeggo came in under LJ and I think we seen that again yesterday. They got no protection whatsoever after he went off.

01-11-2023, 07:27 AM
No other teams change a centre half without a reason. I’ll eat some humble pie regarding Rocky as he is improving week by week.

As someone else said, making subs just for the sake of it. Shouldn’t be happening with 25 or so minutes left.

Hopefully he’s a quick learner

01-11-2023, 07:28 AM
NM needs to understand that Hibs being 2-0 up is NEVER game over.

01-11-2023, 07:32 AM
I thought things went wrong when both went off , Jeggo does a lot that I think goes unnoticed , he works really hard for the team and probably doesn't get the credit he deserves . Rocky has improved a lot since he first signed and i thought he was excellent tonight and one of our best players . I think they are two big players for us tbh .

It was a mad decision to take off both and replace with Hanlon and Delferriere. When you're two-nil up and know the opposition are going to throw everything at you route one, I'd have thought it would have been best to keep the same defensive formation and replace the forward minded players.

Hanlon - great servant and all that, but he needs replaced.

01-11-2023, 07:34 AM
It was a mad decision to take off both and replace with Hanlon and Delferriere. When you're two-nil up and know the opposition are going to throw everything at you route one, I'd have thought it would have been best to keep the same defensive formation and replace the forward minded players.

Hanlon - great servant and all that, but he needs replaced.

I love Hanlon and Stevenson to bits - two of my all time favourite Hibs players - but age is catching up with Lewis and injuries with Paul. Asking them to play a faster paced, higher pressure game doesn’t suit them and Rocky and Obita have superceded them.

01-11-2023, 07:48 AM
Nothing wrong whatsoever with taking Jeggo off, particularly if he was struggling a bit as somebody suggested.

The problem occurred when it wasn't Newall who replaced him.

01-11-2023, 07:51 AM
I wonder if NM could get more of a tune out of Kenneh, in the same way he has with Jair?

SickBoy32
01-11-2023, 02:10 PM
We are Hibs. We can’t afford to have one eye on anything other than the game we are playing. Sorry to say looks like Monty will just be another na e to come and go within a year.

Give the guy a chance FFS, he's just in the door and we could be in a cup final in a few days

01-11-2023, 02:33 PM

I never saw that but he did go straight down the tunnel when he went off which suggests something was wrong .

01-11-2023, 03:29 PM
I'm hoping that Monty will have learnt a bit about who he can trust to do a job and who he can't trust when he's having to use the wider squad a bit. It's unrealistic to play the same players in all the games especially in December so I wouldn't be too harsh on him for making some changes.

01-11-2023, 03:40 PM
Rocky is proving the doubters wrong, myself included, for the second time now. Unreal.

01-11-2023, 06:32 PM
I’m telling you, Rocky will score the winner for us in this years LC final.

01-11-2023, 06:39 PM
Think people forget Rocky is a right sided defender playing on the left.

He has his wtf moments but for the majority of teams who have strikers who are big/strong or quick, Rocky handles them well and limits their strengths.

It’s the strikers a bit tidier on the ball, skillfull or good movement I think he struggles a bit more with.

Jeggo has been brilliant since the Villa game imo. Good on and off the ball and really organises those around him.

Skol
01-11-2023, 06:46 PM

Newell came on ! Delferriere was for Levitt

01-11-2023, 06:49 PM

No it wasn’t.

Jeggo off for Delf.

Newell on for Levitt

01-11-2023, 06:50 PM

Nope.

Delferriere replaced Jeggo after about 70 minutes. Newell replaced Levitt with about 5 to go.

LewysGot2
01-11-2023, 06:50 PM
No it wasn’t.

Jeggo off for Delf.

Newell on for Levitt

Yup.

At that point my laddie said Campbells bum must really be oot the windae...

01-11-2023, 06:55 PM
Think people forget Rocky is a right sided defender playing on the left.

He has his wtf moments but for the majority of teams who have strikers who are big/strong or quick, Rocky handles them well and limits their strengths.

It’s the strikers a bit tidier on the ball, skillfull or good movement I think he struggles a bit more with.

Jeggo has been brilliant since the Villa game imo. Good on and off the ball and really organises those around him.

Would I be right in thinking that some of the posters complaining about the subs were wanting them punted at one time.

Skol
01-11-2023, 06:59 PM
Lol, my memory not half playing tricks on me

01-11-2023, 10:49 PM
Jeggo was playing one of his best games for Hibs, we lost the midfield as soon as he went off. I understand when 2-0 up you feel you're able to bring a player off but I would have kept Jeggo on the pitch.

02-11-2023, 04:19 AM
Fair play to both players for the improvement in their form.

Both have been out of the team for long periods and plenty (myself included) would have been happy to see the back of them.

Now they are integral to the side to the point that they go off and we collapse.

02-11-2023, 07:48 AM
Jeggo’s reaching “first name on the team sheet” territory for us now imo. We could do with giving him a new contract for a year or two.

02-11-2023, 09:42 AM
Would I be right in thinking that some of the posters complaining about the subs were wanting them punted at one time.

I'd probably fall into that category although it's not something I was too stressed out about.

I was on the fence with Jeggo last season but think he's been brilliant since LJ left, and Rocky I'm still not sure about but thought he was outstanding 2nd half v Celtic and was absolutely dominant on Tuesday. Couldn't believe Rocky got taken off.

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 11:02 PM
Jeggo’s reaching “first name on the team sheet” territory for us now imo. We could do with giving him a new contract for a year or two.

I agree , it's hard to see past Jeggo and Newell as our two main picks for Midfield now , really hope we get Jeggo to sign a new contract too .

04-11-2023, 06:02 AM
I agree , it's hard to see past Jeggo and Newell as our two main picks for Midfield now , really hope we get Jeggo to sign a new contract too .

Problem is Levitt played well on Tuesday, does he deserve to go back to the bench.

04-11-2023, 06:21 AM
Montgomery confirming Jeggo wasn’t feeling well on Tuesday before the game and was sick on the pitch hence why he was subbed.

04-11-2023, 06:55 AM
These two to start then? Surely?

Donegal Hibby
04-11-2023, 11:30 AM
Montgomery confirming Jeggo wasn’t feeling well on Tuesday before the game and was sick on the pitch hence why he was subbed.

Heres the article on it .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/aussie-battler-jeggos-work-in-the-trenches-appreciated-by-monty-4397553

Donegal Hibby
04-11-2023, 11:40 AM
Problem is Levitt played well on Tuesday, does he deserve to go back to the bench.

Levitt did indeed play well though problem is who do you drop for him ? . Personally I'd love to see us play all 3 of them in a game . A Midfield of Jeggo, Newell and Levitt on paper looks impressive.

04-11-2023, 12:03 PM

Gie the guy a chance ffs.

As a support we are often wont to act like a neurotic spinster - forever searching for a perfect man(ager) that does not exist.

Every manager has strengths AND weaknesses. We need to show a wee bit patience to allow the strengths to emerge before chucking him on the proverbial scrapheap.

04-11-2023, 12:46 PM
Levitt did indeed play well though problem is who do you drop for him ? . Personally I'd love to see us play all 3 of them in a game . A Midfield of Jeggo, Newell and Levitt on paper looks impressive.

Unfortunately that won't happen as Monty likes his 442 with one striker dropping into midfield, personally I'd rather see a midfielder in midfield and not a striker.

Donegal Hibby
08-11-2023, 11:19 AM
Short Rocky interview here . player I like a lot , I think since we signed him he's one of our most improved players and delighted he's got another call up for his country . It's well deserved 👏
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/rocky-relishing-consistent-game-time

08-11-2023, 11:34 AM
Gie the guy a chance ffs.

As a support we are often wont to act like a neurotic spinster - forever searching for a perfect man(ager) that does not exist.

Every manager has strengths AND weaknesses. We need to show a wee bit patience to allow the strengths to emerge before chucking him on the proverbial scrapheap.

Spot on