View Full Version : Celtic Suspend Green Brigade from Matches
badabing67
31-10-2023, 04:41 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-67277186
31-10-2023, 04:47 PM
Interesting , let’s see how long the indefinite ban lasts for.
Will this discourage a certain type of fan from behaving in a fannyish manner at ER?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
LunasBoots
31-10-2023, 04:55 PM
I imagine it'll backfire, they'll just gather the support and protest I'd imagine. Some suggestion doing the rounds that they caused issues outside ER with police and stwards photographed and that was the last straw.
31-10-2023, 05:03 PM
I imagine it'll backfire, they'll just gather the support and protest I'd imagine. Some suggestion doing the rounds that they caused issues outside ER with police and stwards photographed and that was the last straw.
They’ve been photographing the police at their games for years. This is the Celtic board wanting their sponsors to see them taking action in response to GB’s show of solidarity with the innocent people of Palestine.
31-10-2023, 05:18 PM
They’ve been photographing the police at their games for years. This is the Celtic board wanting their sponsors to see them taking action in response to GB’s show of solidarity with the innocent people of Palestine.
In fairness, the Celtc board are concerned about much more than just the Palestinian flags.
They've engaged in intimidating behaviour towards stewards and police, have broken into stadiums through fire doors, have gained access to games without a ticket by doubling up in turnstyles and have also been involved in violent incidents before and after matches (last season's LC Final being one example).
31-10-2023, 05:23 PM
In fairness, the Celtc board are concerned about much more than just the Palestinian flags.
They've engaged in intimidating behaviour towards stewards and police, have broken into stadiums through fire doors, have gained access to games without a ticket by doubling up in turnstyles and have also been involved in violent incidents before and after matches (last season's LC Final being one example).
They’ve been doing all that other stuff for years and that sort of behaviour amongst the Celtic support isn’t limited to the Green Brigade. If they were so concerned with all that other stuff, why are they only taking action now?
Paul1642
31-10-2023, 05:24 PM
All the Celtic fans I know have zero time for the green brigade (although admittedly the ones I know are generally a decent bunch which I wouldn’t say about their fans as a collective).
They will not lose any ticket sales over this as selling out Parkhead won’t be an issue any time soon.
Grown men wearing balaclavas whilst abusing folk just doing their jobs at the game. What a miss they will be.
31-10-2023, 05:32 PM
They’ve been doing all that other stuff for years and that sort of behaviour amongst the Celtic support isn’t limited to the Green Brigade. If they were so concerned with all that other stuff, why are they only taking action now?
We all know why.
Steven79
31-10-2023, 05:33 PM
They’ve been doing all that other stuff for years and that sort of behaviour amongst the Celtic support isn’t limited to the Green Brigade. If they were so concerned with all that other stuff, why are they only taking action now?I wonder why!
Thou shall not criticise Israel...
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
HFC93
31-10-2023, 05:36 PM
It will zero impact on Celtic's results or finances. I'm trying to think how it will it backfire?
LunasBoots
31-10-2023, 05:42 PM
It will zero impact on Celtic's results or finances. I'm trying to think how it will it backfire?
Fan base is split, the last thing they need is trouble outside the stadium, already on Celtic fans socials they are organising boycotts and protests.
Crunchie
31-10-2023, 05:44 PM
Fan base is split, the last thing they need is trouble outside the stadium, already on Celtic fans socials they are organising boycotts and protests.
Jobless twits with too much time on their hands, who cares.
Hibees1973
31-10-2023, 05:46 PM
Jobless twits with too much time on their hands, who cares.
Exactly.
I reckon they are banning them because they were going to get points deducted from European games.
31-10-2023, 05:48 PM
I never saw many protests from the Green Brigade against their right wing billionaire owner.
31-10-2023, 05:56 PM
Just don't give them or the other rse-cheek any tickets for Easter Road. Yes I know we would take a big finiancal hit 4 times a season.
Costs to police the games would cover a chunk of this, if parents knew those buckfast fuelled idiots weren't there I am sure quite a few more parents would bring their kids along.
31-10-2023, 06:01 PM
The Green Brigade should be delighted by their ban.
It will mean they don't have the triviality of attending Parkhead and can instead focus on their politics.
31-10-2023, 06:08 PM
Exactly.
I reckon they are banning them because they were going to get points deducted from European games.
I genuinely can't ever remember a team being deducted points for behaviour of their fans in Europe? Could be wrong but I can only recall fines and or partial / full stadium bans.
31-10-2023, 07:10 PM
They just need to find some form of useful employment, or opportunity to give something back to the society they live in / take from?
31-10-2023, 07:59 PM
Here's the list of issues given in the Celtc statement for the suspension.
-- "The widespread and unsafe use of pyrotechnics in Feyenoord on 19 September, which resulted in a fine for the club from UEFA and safety issues for, and complaints from, other Celtic supporters;
-- "The unsafe behaviour at Fir Park on 30 September, including rushing turnstiles and forcing open fire exits to permit access to individuals without tickets and pitch incursions;
-- "Illegally gained access to Celtic Park in advance of the match against Lazio on 4 October to bring in an unauthorised banner, including deliberate circumvention of safety and security rules and protocols, and intimidating and threatening behaviour towards staff;
-- "Abuse of matchday access at Celtic Park in advance of the match against Kilmarnock on 7 October and another unauthorised display, breaching the restrictions previously communicated, and intimidating and threatening behaviour towards staff;
-- "Abuse of matchday access at Celtic Park in advance of the match against Atletico Madrid on 25 October and another unauthorised display, breaching the restrictions previously communicated, including circumvention of safety and security procedures and the migration of many members of the group (some of whom were wearing face coverings) out of the Rail Seating Section across the North Stand prior to kick off;
-- "Unsafe behaviour at Easter Road on 28 October, including violent and intimidating behaviour towards stewards."
-- "The widespread and unsafe use of pyrotechnics in Feyenoord on 19 September, which resulted in a fine for the club from UEFA and safety issues for, and complaints from, other Celtic supporters;
-- "The unsafe behaviour at Fir Park on 30 September, including rushing turnstiles and forcing open fire exits to permit access to individuals without tickets and pitch incursions;
-- "Illegally gained access to Celtic Park in advance of the match against Lazio on 4 October to bring in an unauthorised banner, including deliberate circumvention of safety and security rules and protocols, and intimidating and threatening behaviour towards staff;
-- "Abuse of matchday access at Celtic Park in advance of the match against Kilmarnock on 7 October and another unauthorised display, breaching the restrictions previously communicated, and intimidating and threatening behaviour towards staff;
-- "Abuse of matchday access at Celtic Park in advance of the match against Atletico Madrid on 25 October and another unauthorised display, breaching the restrictions previously communicated, including circumvention of safety and security procedures and the migration of many members of the group (some of whom were wearing face coverings) out of the Rail Seating Section across the North Stand prior to kick off;
-- "Unsafe behaviour at Easter Road on 28 October, including violent and intimidating behaviour towards stewards."
So with this statement from them it’s clear that Police Scotland and both clubs tried to prevent some of these actions by the GB implementing what they did.
GB obviously not happy they couldn’t get their ticketless chums in so let’s moan about it
31-10-2023, 09:14 PM
Good that was cringeworthy on Saturday morons as bad as Each other Glasgow two would happily see them go to another league
FC1875
31-10-2023, 09:15 PM
Interesting , let’s see how long the indefinite ban lasts for.
Will this discourage a certain type of fan from behaving in a fannyish manner at ER?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Really wish Hibs called out their previous behaviour and did so with Rangers also, to make a stand against the bile and hatred that they bring every time.
FC1875
31-10-2023, 09:16 PM
Horrible behaviour in this day and age.
LewysGot2
31-10-2023, 09:45 PM
Oh my.
Well played Celtc - predominantly around the behaviour towards others, the disregard for safety of others and the breaking into grounds. It makes a mockery of their whining about how they were allegedly treated at the weekend- whine away.
Rebels will be the martyrs no doubt though...as is their playbook anyway
Torto7
31-10-2023, 10:29 PM
Usually I'd say well done to the smelltic board as the Green brigade are utter welts who absolutely love themselves. It does kind of fit the you must not criticise Israel bracket though. They've been **** in that corner for years(the Boyd episode being the worst) why only act now?
He's here!
01-11-2023, 08:23 AM
Usually I'd say well done to the smelltic board as the Green brigade are utter welts who absolutely love themselves. It does kind of fit the you must not criticise Israel bracket though. They've been **** in that corner for years(the Boyd episode being the worst) why only act now?
No place for anti-Semitism in any walk of life. As the Celtic statement says, though, the ban looks to be due to an accumulation of issues.
01-11-2023, 09:03 AM
One positive I can see is that Police Scotland and people at ER are aware these eejits are doubling up at turnstiles and cracking Fire Escapes and put a stop to it. (Which obviously upset the poor souls)
01-11-2023, 11:37 AM
Could this be to pre-empt any actions taken by UEFA? UEFA have given out fines after fines to Celtic, so maybe now it's playing matches with no fans in attendance or even being banned from European competitions. Fines are obviously not working.
01-11-2023, 11:40 AM
From an earlier thread:
"Ahead of our post match debrief and in order that we may raise with Hibernian and Police Scotland, can fans who encountered issues during the access phase today at Easter Rd please provide details of your experience in writing to
[email protected] thank you." "All the fan organisations - including the independent buses - need to come together early next week to decide what action to take against @HibernianFC (https://twitter.com/HibernianFC) and @PoliceScotland (https://twitter.com/PoliceScotland) for the risk to life and limb that the away support have just been subjected to. Watch this space."
We're still watching :cb.
01-11-2023, 12:05 PM
From an earlier thread:
"Ahead of our post match debrief and in order that we may raise with Hibernian and Police Scotland, can fans who encountered issues during the access phase today at Easter Rd please provide details of your experience in writing to
[email protected] thank you." "All the fan organisations - including the independent buses - need to come together early next week to decide what action to take against @HibernianFC (https://twitter.com/HibernianFC) and @PoliceScotland (https://twitter.com/PoliceScotland) for the risk to life and limb that the away support have just been subjected to. Watch this space."
We're still watching :cb.If I was a Green Brigade plum affected by this I'd be considering suing whoever organises the Green Brigade masterplan for doubling up and breaking into football grounds.
Maybe they could also contact celtc football club and point them in the direction of the other offenders the football club are concerned about.
Come on Green Brigade, help your club out.
01-11-2023, 04:16 PM
Would be funny if they formed their own club 😂
01-11-2023, 04:21 PM
Would be funny if they formed their own club [emoji23]Could maybe borrow some tops from a generous club somewhere, just to get them started.
01-11-2023, 04:24 PM
Green Brigade responding by saying this is not a balanced view and does not take into account that at every stadium they have visited they have left the soap dispensers in the toilets untouched.
hibby rae
01-11-2023, 04:25 PM
No place for anti-Semitism in any walk of life. As the Celtic statement says, though, the ban looks to be due to an accumulation of issues.
Clearly, but needs to be said criticising Israel isn't that. I know the thread isn't about that, but that should be pointed out.
The Green Brigade are bellends though.
01-11-2023, 04:52 PM
Green Brigade responding by saying this is not a balanced view and does not take into account that at every stadium they have visited they have left the soap dispensers in the toilets untouched.
Can't argue with that
StockbridgeGoat
01-11-2023, 05:23 PM
They are total ****ing neds. Can’t stand them and their virtue-signalling pish.
Crunchie
01-11-2023, 05:39 PM
01-11-2023, 05:46 PM
So with this statement from them it’s clear that Police Scotland and both clubs tried to prevent some of these actions by the GB implementing what they did.
GB obviously not happy they couldn’t get their ticketless chums in so let’s moan about it
Feeling that we are totally vindicated by our actions last week and their cry baby response is and was utterly laughable.
01-11-2023, 07:15 PM
They were banned last weekend. Didn't seem to bother them as plenty of them at ER.
01-11-2023, 07:22 PM
I saw one of them on Twitter claiming the Celtic players let st Mirren score as some sort of protest against the ban :faf:
01-11-2023, 07:29 PM
No Green Brigade tonight (officially), but a banner and statement that will have Police Scotland quacking in their boots.
https://i.postimg.cc/DyCqMHyr/IMG-0006.jpg (https://postimg.cc/zVgbLdhv)
Maybe getting their Halloweens and circus’s mixed up mind you.
01-11-2023, 07:30 PM
No Green Brigade tonight (officially), but a banner and statement that will have Police Scotland quacking in their boots.
I think that's another group.
Green Brigade section is at the other end
01-11-2023, 07:37 PM
100%. Victim culture entitled establishment plastic posing rsoles.
Two cheeks of the same arse along with their Ugly Sister. Their IRA singing was as clear as day at the weekend and yet they have the gall to try and pretend they are somehow different and better. It's why I vastly prefer the blue ones, at least they're open and honest about what they really think.
Oh, and they're patronising ****s too. Edinburgh cousins my arse.
01-11-2023, 07:38 PM
They were banned last weekend. Didn't seem to bother them as plenty of them at ER.
And apparently that is how there was bother.
The Celtic Safety guy was there and likely in contact with our guy and head stewards/bosses.
They wirnie ,if possible getting in wae their flags/swag/paraphernalia that they usually have with them.
So they GB and others lost the plot and carried out the abuse we have been reading about.
They have morphed in to an entitled lot with bad attitude now ,disliked by many of their own, coked up, bevvied, creating havoc at other grounds.
There are a tragedy waiting to happen .or cause one if this is not nipped in the bud right now.
What the done at Fir Park was madness. Opening Fire Exits/ escapes to let unticketed fans in.
It wont just be Celtic FC who are calling for this.
Now next up, get a leash round the zombie hordes when they come to town.
Rons Tribute night was the last straw for us to continue suffering that hateful despicable gang of bigots
01-11-2023, 07:43 PM
And apparently that is how there was bother.
The Celtic Safety guy was there and likely in contact with our guy and head stewards/bosses.
They wirnie ,if possible getting in wae their flags/swag/paraphernalia that they usually have with them.
So they GB and others lost the plot and carried out the abuse we have been reading about.
They have morphed in to an entitled lot with bad attitude now ,disliked by many of their own, coked up, bevvied, creating havoc at other grounds.
THere is a tragedy waiting t#o happen if its not nipped in the bud right now.
What the done at Fir Park was madness. Opening Fire escapes to let unticketed fans in.
It wont just be CelticFC who are calling for this.
Now next up, get a leash round the zombie hordes when they come to town.
Rons Tribute night was the last straw for us to continue suffering that hateful despicable gang of bigots See the fire escape episode. I don’t know how that would have been beneficial for unticketed fans. When we go there’s a barrier up well up from the turnstiles and I’m sure tickets are usually checked there.
edit- maybe it’s just a pat down. They’re still the **** of the earth
Bridge hibs
01-11-2023, 07:46 PM
Maybe getting their Halloweens and circus’s mixed up mind you.Och water of a ducks back to the weegie Polis
LunasBoots
01-11-2023, 07:50 PM
See the fire escape episode. I don’t know how that would have been beneficial for unticketed fans. When we go there’s a barrier up well up from the turnstiles and I’m sure tickets are usually checked there.
Both OF clubs fans have been doing the fire escape thing for a couple years now, I know a couple stewards who refuse to do the away end gate area after being assaulted in the past.
01-11-2023, 08:01 PM
Criticising the Israeli Government and being anti-Semitic are not the same thing; not least because 27% of Israeli citizens are not Jewish.
01-11-2023, 08:07 PM
See the fire escape episode. I don’t know how that would have been beneficial for unticketed fans. When we go there’s a barrier up well up from the turnstiles and I’m sure tickets are usually checked there.
Is that right,the bampots who were involved likely didnt know that.
I should talk, I blagged my way into 5 wembleys !!:greengrin
But that was youthful exuberance and national pride ....and some booze !
Sounding a bit like Chick Young now:greengrin
Chorley Hibee
01-11-2023, 08:34 PM
Every away end they attend is over capacity.
The amount that were in the away end at Fir Park a few weeks ago was absolutely ridiculous.
They frequently turn up late, in huge numbers, and overwhelm the stewards and ticket checks. Hundreds are getting in without tickets each week.
01-11-2023, 08:36 PM
Maybe getting their Halloweens and circus’s mixed up mind you.
A big hose would be ideal at that mob
Are clowns synonymous with Halloween? Their heids must be mush, taking all that time making that but no one says anything.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
01-11-2023, 08:54 PM
Are clowns synonymous with Halloween? Their heids must be mush, taking all that time making that but no one says anything.
https://i.postimg.cc/cL3NYvP9/rs-1080x1920-170908112750-1080x1920-it-clown-cm-9817.jpg
https://i.postimg.cc/cL3NYvP9/rs-1080x1920-170908112750-1080x1920-it-clown-cm-9817.jpgMakes me think of Steven King, Halloween not so much.
01-11-2023, 09:12 PM
Kinda ironic that they don't get the Celtic origins of Hallowe'en :cb
01-11-2023, 09:42 PM
Every away end they attend is over capacity.
The amount that were in the away end at Fir Park a few weeks ago was absolutely ridiculous.
They frequently turn up late, in huge numbers, and overwhelm the stewards and ticket checks. Hundreds are getting in without tickets each week.
And that has been a long standing tactic down the years.
Celtic fans used that long before the Green Brigade came along.
I know, i was raised with many Celtic fans who did this.
Maybe not as organised as the GB,but still crowd intimidation and mass entrance ...free.
Older fans here will remember they, Celtic,smashed a whole huge gate down at the back of the old big terracing.
East Stand Area.... They streamed in !!
Smaller grounds,in the past, long before all seater ,could not control them getting into grounds far smaller in capacity to cope with those numbers.
Mayhem and their drunken thoughtless actions partly responsible for many having to be attended by medics during games or carted away to the hospital.
Mind waving the white hankies to signal for help!
I mind people leaving grounds with one or no shoes,such was the surge and crush at many of the big games.
Usually games involving them 2 or hertz.
The mess on the terraces at end of match,littered with beer bottles .whisky .wine ,you name it thousands of them.
And the smell of pish !! And evading the stuff some poor guy just emptied oot his stomach !
Images of Woodstock !
Or any large open air concert you can think of before people starting getting bin bags and clearing up !
A post on another thread recently pointed out how little the crowds were back in the 60s/70s .True to an extend .
Not all were.
lift overs/bunging turnstile guys/doubling up all skewed final figures.
Jumping over turnstiles,so not recorded.
Bit of creative accountancy in action back then also for tax reasons and players bonuses, directors wives hairdos and gin parties ,wee caravan in the Perthshire fur the bairns, and soirees for the board at some links GC .:greengrin:greengrin
Not counting the...
:singing:Summer Holiday!
No more working for a week or two:singing:
Some local "characters" ran our clubs back in the day !
Some good yins too:agree:
Our record attendance v hertz it is said is about 10,000 short !
And i mind some older Hibbys saying ,it wasn/t the only time the Holy Ground was packed like sardines in a tin.
Hundreds and more getting in for nought,or even paying
The club,not just us , didnt care until authority came down on them.
Some "stadiums", sorry, tips/grounds . looking like building or demolition sites.
Crumbling concrete and ash terracing steps.
Railway sleepers for steps, The list goes on.
People use to go gto games with their suits on too.as they were going out straight after ,fish supper
Couple pints and into the dance hall. Bars closed at 10 o'clock!
Dancing partner says .........
!State yer shoes are in! Been working the day .
Naw wiz it Easter Road" !
The stairways at Ibrox ,though much longer and higher than most :singing:were replicated in many grounds.
.Straight and steep staircases.
The Ibrox Disasters were awful, but thankfully there were not many more on that scale.
How .....i dont know ?
01-11-2023, 10:16 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/cL3NYvP9/rs-1080x1920-170908112750-1080x1920-it-clown-cm-9817.jpg
I don’t recognise that strip.
Who has Shankland signed for?
02-11-2023, 08:17 AM
Watching the Rangers highlights - looks like the away end is over crowded.
Add in the delay with the flares - they should be heavily punished.
The sooner clubs and Scottish football grow a backbone and sort their fans out the better.
Hibs have been weak in the past calling it out and as a result many fans don’t bother to attend these games anymore.
Chorley Hibee
02-11-2023, 09:13 AM
Watching the Rangers highlights - looks like the away end is over crowded.
Add in the delay with the flares - they should be heavily punished.
The sooner clubs and Scottish football grow a backbone and sort their fans out the better.
Hibs have been weak in the past calling it out and as a result many fans don’t bother to attend these games anymore.
Massively overcrowded.
How long are the two of them going to get away with this?
How long before the other clubs speak out and put a stop to it?
How long before the MSM call them both out?
The authorities, the other clubs, and the MSM, have all enabled this behaviour, and the likely result will be serious injuries and potential fatalities.
Cowards, the lot of them.
02-11-2023, 10:19 AM
Massively overcrowded.
How long are the two of them going to get away with this?
How long before the other clubs speak out and put a stop to it?
How long before the MSM call them both out?
The authorities, the other clubs, and the MSM, have all enabled this behaviour, and the likely result will be serious injuries and potential fatalities.
Cowards, the lot of them.
Can you just imagine Hibs fans done the same it would be all over the news within minutes.
02-11-2023, 11:10 AM
I genuinely can't ever remember a team being deducted points for behaviour of their fans in Europe? Could be wrong but I can only recall fines and or partial / full stadium bans.
Interesting point, it reminded me of when we played Barcelona years ago and I'm sure their fans invaded the pitch or something like that and the game was replayed. No points deduction obviously. Maybe somebody else could refresh my exact memory on that though.
02-11-2023, 11:21 AM
Interesting point, it reminded me of when we played Barcelona years ago and I'm sure their fans invaded the pitch or something like that and the game was replayed. No points deduction obviously. Maybe somebody else could refresh my exact memory on that though.
The Battle of Easter Road 1961
Hibernian 3-2 Barcelona (February 1961)
At the start of 1961 Barcelona were, in playground terms, the best team in Europe, having become the first club to knock Real Madrid out of their European Cup in November 1960. (Barça striker Luis Suarez was the star of that tie, unless you're of a mind to blame the English referee Reg Leafe, who, in the second leg, disallowed three legitimate Real goals.
But that's a wild accusation for another day.)
So confident of their abilities were the Catalans, the reigning champions of Spain, that they were also competing in the Fairs Cup in the same season – and were strongly fancied to win both European prizes.
Hibernian, however, were nobody's idea of a great side.
The 1950s heyday of the Famous Five were long gone, with the team languishing in the lower reaches of the Scottish First Division.
Hibs had been invited into the Fairs Cup partly thanks to their efforts in reaching the 1956 European Cup semi-finals, but mainly because the Edinburgh Festival was technically classified as a trade fair.
But they could boast Joe Baker – later of Torino, Arsenal and Nottingham Forest fame – and the striker would prove a thorn in barça's side when the two teams met in the quarter-final.
Baker scored twice in a ridiculous match at Camp Nou, Hibs leading 4-2 with six minutes to go before Sandor Kocsis upstaged him by completing his hat-trick and Evaristo equalised in the game's final throes.
The return at Easter Road would be even more memorable.
Baker started the scoreboard ticking over for the second time, but Eulogio Martínez and Kocsis turned the tie in Barça's favour before the break.
This time it was Hibs' turn to hit back.
Tommy Preston equalised with 16 minutes remaining, and with five minutes to go, Hibs having two big penalty shouts turned down already, a spot kick was finally awarded when John McLeod was pulled down in the box.
Barcelona clearly wanted the Fairs Cup desperately, because the decision caused them to lose the place totally.
The game was held up for seven minutes as their players set about first the referee, then the policemen who rushed on to save the official.
When order was eventually restored, Bobby Kinloch slotted away a famous winner.
Still aggrieved, Barcelona chased the referee down the tunnel after the match and into his room;
Spanish stud marks could still be seen on the door in the early 2000s, until it made way for a new stand.
Benfica later broke Barça hearts in the European Cup final, too, but there were no similar tantrums there.
This Hibs game was the defeat that really seemed to hurt. :greengrin
GGTTH !!:hibees
Changed days .
They set aboot the ref ,yet they came out and played on
Must have been a police decision 45.000 plus at the game
Some body was terrified ,Hibs were on fire !!
Might have been a bigger battle wae Barca being chased awe the way to Turnhoose !!
02-11-2023, 11:25 AM
The Battle of Easter Road 1961
Hibernian 3-2 Barcelona (February 1961)At the start of 1961 Barcelona were, in playground terms, the best team in Europe, having become the first club to knock Real Madrid out of their European Cup in November 1960. (Barça striker Luis Suarez was the star of that tie, unless you're of a mind to blame the English referee Reg Leafe, who, in the second leg, disallowed three legitimate Real goals.
But that's a wild accusation for another day.)
So confident of their abilities were the Catalans, the reigning champions of Spain, that they were also competing in the Fairs Cup in the same season – and were strongly fancied to win both European prizes.
Hibernian, however, were nobody's idea of a great side.
The 1950s heyday of the Famous Five were long gone, with the team languishing in the lower reaches of the Scottish First Division.
Hibs had been invited into the Fairs Cup partly thanks to their efforts in reaching the 1956 European Cup semi-finals, but mainly because the Edinburgh Festival was technically classified as a trade fair.
But they could boast Joe Baker – later of Torino, Arsenal and Nottingham Forest fame – and the striker would prove a thorn in Barça's side when the two teams met in the quarter-final.
Baker scored twice in a ridiculous match at Camp Nou, Hibs leading 4-2 with six minutes to go before Sandor Kocsis upstaged him by completing his hat-trick and Evaristo equalised in the game's final throes.
The return at Easter Road would be even more memorable.
Baker started the scoreboard ticking over for the second time, but Eulogio Martínez and Kocsis turned the tie in Barça's favour before the break.
This time it was Hibs' turn to hit back.
Tommy Preston equalised with 16 minutes remaining, and with five minutes to go, Hibs having two big penalty shouts turned down already, a spot kick was finally awarded when John McLeod was pulled down in the box.
Barcelona clearly wanted the Fairs Cup desperately, because the decision caused them to lose the place totally.
The game was held up for seven minutes as their players set about first the referee, then the policemen who rushed on to save the official.
When order was eventually restored, Bobby Kinloch slotted away a famous winner.
Still aggrieved, Barcelona chased the referee down the tunnel after the match and into his room;
Spanish stud marks could still be seen on the door in the early 2000s, until it made way for a new stand.
Benfica later broke Barça hearts in the European Cup final, too, but there were no similar tantrums there.
This was the defeat that really seemed to hurt.
GGTTH !!!!! Get intae thum !!!Terrific read Mick, thanks for posting.
I was surprised to read that none of the games mentioned involved a penalty being awarded to the now defunct Glasgow rangers, what were the refs thinking?[emoji6]
02-11-2023, 11:42 AM
Can you just imagine Hibs fans done the same it would be all over the news within minutes.
To be fair it is!!
02-11-2023, 11:44 AM
Would be funny if they formed their own club [emoji23]AFC Celtc?
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Rick Rude
02-11-2023, 11:57 AM
Do wonder if any of them will be asking rangers if they wish to apologise or condemn the actions of their fans or is that just something asked of other teams.
02-11-2023, 01:31 PM
AFC Celtc?
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk[emoji16]
Change their name to Green Brgade and claim to be nothing to do with the previous gang, might get all their season tickets reinstated by celtc?
03-11-2023, 09:34 AM
What on earth are these guys doing going to a football match and carrying on like that? Are they even watching the game?
03-11-2023, 12:34 PM
Terrific read Mick, thanks for posting.
I was surprised to read that none of the games mentioned involved a penalty being awarded to the now defunct Glasgow rangers, what were the refs thinking?[emoji6]
Nae good chapel going Spanish or Italian ref is going to award sevco,newco/oldco or whoever they are this month, if not currants,stickys,and zombies, a penalty.:greengrin
Back to that game !:not worth
In the first leg,and mind players had routinely numbered strips 1 to 11
(Squad numbers were a very much later invention)
.Joes number of course was #9.
Barca knew that, but didnt know the good looking Joe .:greengrin
Joe didn't play in the number #9 jersey at the Camp,so they gave another player a chasing and Joe and scored 2 !!
I think that is correct on what happened that night with the jersey swap.
Brog or Ancient Hibee will correct me if need be,
More delighful reading of a very famous night/nights and memorable moments.
To say the least !!
The Holy Ground under the famous old lights.
Packed to the rafters with 45.000 plus.
Magic !!:greengrin
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2019/06/when-hibs-put-four-goals-past-barcelona/
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibee-history-barca-beaten-in-fairs-cup-quarter-final-823079
03-11-2023, 04:54 PM
Nae good chapel going Spanish or Italian ref is going to award sevco,newco/oldco or whoever they are this month, if not currants,stickys,and zombies, a penalty.:greengrin
Back to that game !:not worth
In the first leg,and mind players had routinely numbered strips 1 to 11
(Squad numbers were a very much later invention)
.Joes number of course was #9.
Barca knew that, but didnt know the good looking Joe .:greengrin
Joe didn't play in the number #9 jersey at the Camp,so they gave another player a chasing and Joe and scored 2 !!
I think that is correct on what happened that night with the jersey swap.
Brog or Ancient Hibee will correct me if need be,
More delighful reading of a very famous night/nights and memorable moments.
To say the least !!
The Holy Ground under the famous old lights.
Packed to the rafters with 45.000 plus.
Magic !!:greengrin
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2019/06/when-hibs-put-four-goals-past-barcelona/
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibee-history-barca-beaten-in-fairs-cup-quarter-final-823079
It was the first leg away against Roma that Joe and Bobby Kinloch swapped jerseys.As the tie finished all square there was a third game. It’s alleged that it was to be played at Easter Road but Roma paid Hibs/Harry Swan a fee to switch the game. The whole competition seemed to go on for a long time-two seasons I think. Hope that’s justified your faith in me Mick:greengrin.
04-11-2023, 08:35 AM
PSG ultras had a massive banner in support of the green goons at their game last night. World has gone mad 🙄