View Full Version : Dylan Vente

28-10-2023, 05:02 PM
He may well get overlooked in the mentions for individual performances today but how much work did he put in today?

Was dropping deep all day and was all over McGreggor, never let him dictate the game the way he can do and when he does that makes Celtic tick.

I was worried with no Doidge or ALF there would be no one to naturally drop in but he did it with distinction. Totally changed our shape when we didn't have the ball, for the better, and put any concerns about what was nominally a 442 to bed.

28-10-2023, 05:11 PM
We were saying that at the game, his work rate is incredible.

28-10-2023, 05:15 PM
He may well get overlooked in the mentions for individual performances today but how much work did he put in today?

Was dropping deep all day and was all over McGreggor, never let him dictate the game the way he can do and when he does that makes Celtic tick.

I was worried with no Doidge or ALF there would be no one to naturally drop in but he did it with distinction. Totally changed our shape when we didn't have the ball, for the better, and put any concerns about what was nominally a 442 to bed.

He's a genuinely good footballer, I'm surprised we managed to get a goalscorer and someone with all-round talent.

Most of our clever moments involve his link up.

Bridge hibs
28-10-2023, 05:18 PM

I was worried with no Doidge or ALF there would be no one to naturally drop in but he did it with distinction. Totally changed our shape when we didn't have the ball, for the better, and put any concerns about what was nominally a 442 to bed.I really like Vente, my brain is probably full of cob webs but I see a similarity in Zitelli whom I also rated very highly

LewysGot2
28-10-2023, 05:19 PM
My MotM. McGregor only got let loose once he went off. Bet his stats are excellent in terms of workrate, heat map of ground covered etc. Phenomenal shift

28-10-2023, 05:25 PM
Work rate is very good

Also think his all round game/link up play is very good and underrated, played a brilliant pass to Boyle in behind in the first half.

The thing that frustrates me is we don’t get the ball to him enough in the final third, something I hope we improve on. He’s got the quality to score or create a goal of given the ball.

Give him the ball more and create more chances for him and we’ll put teams away a lot more comfortably

28-10-2023, 06:14 PM
I like him but thought he was okay at best today. A lot of effort, some engine. But though he let us down a few times in an attacking sense with a poor first touch or poor decision making

28-10-2023, 06:29 PM

I agree with what you are saying but doing that work means he rarely gets near the opposition box. That has been the case for teh last 3 or 4 games for me and not just this one. I know we play a 442 but for me today it was more like 4411 and Vente was the deeper of our forwards. It worked well but I want to see Vente as near the opposition goals as possible and whatever system we play should have that as an aim. I'd love to see his heat map to see where he was on the pitch as it might look like a midfielders

28-10-2023, 06:32 PM
The guy is real quality, and as soon as he goes off you can see the hole left behind, superb performance in a role that Monty has him playing.
No wonder he dont go for the full 90mins, he would need to be superman to do that.

28-10-2023, 06:51 PM
Great work rate, some strikers would say that wasn't their job, but he did it v well.

28-10-2023, 07:08 PM
At one point in the first half, he was back in line with bushiri and fish.

So yes, his work rate was great, but honestly, I'd rather he was a bit further up the pitch most of the time.

28-10-2023, 07:12 PM
At one point in the first half, he was back in line with bushiri and fish.

So yes, his work rate was great, but honestly, I'd rather he was a bit further up the pitch most of the time.

I think when we play Ross County on Tuesday and in other similar games then he'll be staying a lot higher up the park.

Today he was instructed to almost man mark their main man and he did it close to perfectly.

If he had stayed higher up the park I would argue it becomes a lot easier for Celtic to win the midfield, they do that and we probably don't get a point.

28-10-2023, 07:24 PM
He was superb. Can we stop trying to force players into holes.

28-10-2023, 07:24 PM
0 goals in the last few matches but can't deny his work rate and good touch when he does get involved, was involved much more today than recent games dropping deep.

I'm sure he'll be back in the goals soon enough but do think we need to create more for him.

28-10-2023, 07:25 PM
I think when we play Ross County on Tuesday and in other similar games then he'll be staying a lot higher up the park.

Today he was instructed to almost man mark their main man and he did it close to perfectly.

If he had stayed higher up the park I would argue it becomes a lot easier for Celtic to win the midfield, they do that and we probably don't get a point.

Aye, I get that. I just find it wild that out centre forward is man marking a midfielder to the extent he's making a back three with the centre backs!

28-10-2023, 07:31 PM
Aye, I get that. I just find it wild that out centre forward is man marking a midfielder to the extent he's making a back three with the centre backs!

I have faith in Monty, he knows what he is doing, and his doing along with huge effort from his players is what got us a point today, when most of us myself included fancied us for another thumping from the smellie ones.
I dont care where he plays the players I care about the final result. Would you rather he had Vente as an out and out forward, and perhaps us being beat, I find that kind of thought a wee bit wild, imho.

davym7062
28-10-2023, 10:02 PM
thought he was brilliant today

29-10-2023, 12:16 AM
Works really hard.

I think he’s a player, but we’re needing a bit more threat than we’ve had the last few weeks.

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2023, 12:31 AM
Hasn't scored the last few weeks though we played the two best teams in the league and chances have been limited for our team , his work rates been really good though . Boys a player , fancy him to get a a goal or two on Tuesday .

LewysGot2
29-10-2023, 07:16 AM
I think the job he was very obviously given yesterday precluded too many opportunities opening up for him. I watched closely for about 50 mins as he shadowed McGregor everywhere he went. It was a shrewd move by the team management as he had the pace, physicality and technical ability to compete with McGregor. It shackled him until the last 15 muns when Vente was removed. You look at others in the team and it's obvious he was the man for that job - no way you're asking anyone else other than maybe Joe to do that number on the most influential player in their side. Came at the cost of him being deep most of the time but definitely worked. McGregor was everywhere in the last 10 mins - no coincidence.

Fully expect our No9 to be playing No9 proper on Tuesday.

29-10-2023, 09:18 AM
Hibs to win and Vente to score against Ross County - 11/4

I’ll be on that

29-10-2023, 09:39 AM
He’s put in a lot of great defensive type work off late, I hope he’s rewarded with the team creating him chances for him, especially against teams where we should be on the offensive more often.

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 04:38 PM
He's getting an easy ride, blame systems all you want but he needs to offer more of a threat. Never feel like he's going to score, plenty balls going across the face and never onto any them, he needs to try and create more for himself.

LewysGot2
02-01-2024, 04:59 PM
Anonymous today, sadly

02-01-2024, 05:00 PM
He's getting an easy ride, blame systems all you want but he needs to offer more of a threat. Never feel like he's going to score, plenty balls going across the face and never onto any them, he needs to try and create more for himself.

This. He’s hard working but we’ve signed another player based on hype from another countries lower leagues and he’s exceptionally poor value for money.

VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 05:01 PM

Vente is a fox in the box type of striker, he's not a modern striker than can play across the front three. His limitations are pretty obvious but his work rate and clinical finishing, imo, can't really be criticised. The system doesn't suit him. Allied to the fact that Youan and Boyle, when they get a run into the opposition box, are a pair of greedy gets and 9 times out of ten try and go solo, then he's on a hiding to nothing. Feed him 5 chances a game on a regular basis and I'll put money on him burying 2 or 3. Another player that the system is killing.

HendoDelivered
02-01-2024, 05:01 PM
Box to box midfielder

02-01-2024, 05:03 PM
Vente is a fox in the box type of striker, he's not a modern striker than can play across the front three. His limitations are pretty obvious but his work rate and clinical finishing, imo, can't really be criticised. The system doesn't suit him. Allied to the fact that Youan and Boyle, when they get a run into the opposition box, are a pair of greedy gets and 9 times out of ten try and go solo, then he's on a hiding to nothing. Feed him 5 chances a game on a regular basis and I'll put money on him burying 2 or 3. Another player that the system is killing.[emoji106]exactly this, manager needs to manage him and play him as the type of striker we thought we'd signed. Then we will find out if he's good enough.

02-01-2024, 05:03 PM
He was crap today. Ball just bounced off him multiple times. There is definitely a player in there but he’s struggling, and it’s not all to do with the system.

VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 05:08 PM
He was crap today. Ball just bounced off him multiple times. There is definitely a player in there but he’s struggling, and it’s not all to do with the system.

I think it's everything to do with the system, the boys ground down and demoralised, pretty obvious. And, on that subject, none of the team look very happy. Body language is poor all over the pitch. Even Boyler, usually Mr Irrepressible, looks vaguely peed off. Sign of a squad that aren't enjoying what they're being asked to do.

02-01-2024, 05:12 PM
Waste of money tbh.

02-01-2024, 05:13 PM
I think it's everything to do with the system, the boys ground down and demoralised, pretty obvious. And, on that subject, none of the team look very happy. Body language is poor all over the pitch. Even Boyler, usually Mr Irrepressible, looks vaguely peed off. Sign of a squad that aren't enjoying what they're being asked to do.

Disagree, he needs to do basic things like take the ball in better. Players have to take some responsibility. Whatever we think of our league, it’s a step up from the Dutch second division and I think that’s been overlooked because we spent a lot of money on him.

21sMay
02-01-2024, 05:17 PM
He's a poacher, who's asked to play as a an attacking midfielder basically . Vente will score goals if asked to play as a poacher.

02-01-2024, 05:22 PM
He's a poacher, who's asked to play as a an attacking midfielder basically . Vente will score goals if asked to play as a poacher.

Agreed. I think he's a player.

How many chances has he actually missed for us? There simply isn't enough service. He also needs someone playing alongside him. Boyle, Campbell or Doidge are not the answer.

Davy Mac
02-01-2024, 05:39 PM
Unusually i sat in the famous five today and Vente when subbed, went off behind the goals and he looked mightly pxssed off, in fact he looked like he's done either with the club/system/tactics/quality.

But we need to get more out him but it would'nt surprise me if he is sold/angles a move in January tbh

Mikey_1875
02-01-2024, 05:51 PM

Bang on. It’s obvious that it’s a bit of both. The set up may not play to his strengths fully but I don’t really think he is doing all he can to make it work either. I would probably argue that the work rate has fallen off from his first lot of games as well. That’s not to say he isn’t trying but maybe just fed up and demoralised which shows.

Hopefully the break acts as a reset for him and we can get him happy and firing again.

VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 05:52 PM
Unusually i sat in the famous five today and Vente when subbed, went off behind the goals and he looked mightly pxssed off, in fact he looked like he's done either with the club/system/tactics/quality.

But we need to get more out him but it would'nt surprise me if he is sold/angles a move in January tbh

I don't think it's a happy camp at East Mains right now. Nor should it be given results, but these are not a group of players that are playing like they believe in this system. And I honestly can't blame them. If I went to work every day to be told by my boss that I had to do my job in a way that negated whatever talents I have, irrespective of the outcome, I sure as hell wouldn't be performing at my best level. The player are only human, money helps but its not the be all and end all on a day to day basis. either NM changes tactics, or we go on an expensive splurge this month, or he's out of a job come March. It's really that simple. I love Hibs, but jeezo it's hard work at times.

02-01-2024, 05:54 PM
So far off what we need. Thought he’d fare better in a two today but he was arguably worse.

Slow, can’t tackle, can’t hold the ball up, drops far too deep (appreciate that’ll be instructed) and pish in the air.

snedzuk
02-01-2024, 06:39 PM

This - I'm in the west lower and thought the same. However, I've concerns over Ventes stamina and don't think he can work for more than 60 minutes and if that's right, a move for him may be difficult.

02-01-2024, 06:44 PM
This - I'm in the west lower and thought the same. However, I've concerns over Ventes stamina and don't think he can work for more than 60 minutes and if that's right, a move for him may be difficult.

Has he actually ever played the full game for us? He always seems to get subbed off.

He was really poor today.

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 06:47 PM
Has he actually ever played the full game for us? He always seems to get subbed off.

He was really poor today.

Not the first time he's been subbed off for a young laddie when we've been behind. Hardly inspiring when we paid nearly 1m for him. He's toiling.

02-01-2024, 06:49 PM
I don't think it's a happy camp at East Mains right now. Nor should it be given results, but these are not a group of players that are playing like they believe in this system. And I honestly can't blame them. If I went to work every day to be told by my boss that I had to do my job in a way that negated whatever talents I have, irrespective of the outcome, I sure as hell wouldn't be performing at my best level. The player are only human, money helps but its not the be all and end all on a day to day basis. either NM changes tactics, or we go on an expensive splurge this month, or he's out of a job come March. It's really that simple. I love Hibs, but jeezo it's hard work at times.
Never the players fault eh!

02-01-2024, 06:49 PM
He never looks fit for some reason, no doubt he can play but something isn't quite right,hopefully we see some difference at the end of January

TrinityHFC
02-01-2024, 06:52 PM
He never looks fot for some reason, no doubt he can play but something isn't quite right,hopefully we see some difference at the end of January

With strikers like him you don’t want them wasting too much energy doing anything other than getting in the box and scoring goals. We had a lot of crosses today but most of them too early and our forwards had been back somewhere else.

He's here!
02-01-2024, 07:34 PM
I think he's understandably just suffering from a drop in confidence. Honestly feel he has the ability to offer us more than Nisbet.

02-01-2024, 07:35 PM
I think he's understandably just suffering from a drop in confidence. Honestly feel he has the ability to offer us more than Nisbet.

I’d hate to see the abuse Nisbet would get if he put in some of the performances Vente has.

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 07:37 PM

Hate to say it but from what I've seen from him so far, He couldn't lace Nisbets boots.

02-01-2024, 08:22 PM
I’d hate to see the abuse Nisbet would get if he put in some of the performances Vente has.

There’s a lot of talk about us not playing him high enough at times. But the amount of crosses in to the box today that he was nowhere near, and it wasn’t because he was out linking the play deep. Doidge (and I’m not a Doidge fan) was breaking his neck to try and get on the end of things. All right, he didn’t manage to get on the end of them, but I want to see a bit more of that from Vente. If you go and attack things then you will get some joy. Feels like he’s waiting for the perfect ball or perfect chance and doesn’t look like he’s going to make something for himself either.

02-01-2024, 08:25 PM
There’s a lot of talk about us not playing him high enough at times. But the amount of crosses in to the box today that he was nowhere near, and it wasn’t because he was out linking the play deep. Doidge (and I’m not a Doidge fan) was breaking his neck to try and get on the end of things. All right, he didn’t manage to get on the end of them, but I want to see a bit more of that from Vente. If you go and attack things then you will get some joy. Feels like he’s waiting for the perfect ball or perfect chance.

I really like him, looked a great signing initially, whatever the reasons he’s not looking the same player. Today was by far his worst performance in a Hibs jersey.

TrinityHFC
02-01-2024, 08:28 PM
There’s a lot of talk about us not playing him high enough at times. But the amount of crosses in to the box today that he was nowhere near, and it wasn’t because he was out linking the play deep. Doidge (and I’m not a Doidge fan) was breaking his neck to try and get on the end of things. All right, he didn’t manage to get on the end of them, but I want to see a bit more of that from Vente. If you go and attack things then you will get some joy. Feels like he’s waiting for the perfect ball or perfect chance and doesn’t look like he’s going to make something for himself either.

It does make a difference doing a lot of work deep. You can’t do that and be one of the first in the box all the time. Doidge was playing higher than him for the most part. Wrong way round.

Cat Stanton
02-01-2024, 08:39 PM
I really like him, looked a great signing initially, whatever the reasons he’s not looking the same player. Today was by far his worst performance in a Hibs jersey.

He's played too deep. A million people have said it. He's a finisher but is often not in the right place because of - I think - the system we play. Look at Shankland last week. Didn't have a sniff the whole game but was in the right place when one chance came. Vente is simply played in the wrong place.

02-01-2024, 08:40 PM

I absolutely think there is a player in there. I just don’t think all of the things that are currently lacking in his game are down to the system. Keep going back to it and, even when he first came in pre Monty, he hardly had a shot. The big thing, when he scored three goals in Monty’s first three games was about how clinical he was having five from five shots overall. There were people questioning (whatever the reason for it) if it was a good thing and being shot down at the time.

Even if you think of Nisbet as an example, he was capable of taking the ball in and getting a shot away from distance or whatever. I think strikers need to be able and/or looking to do that at times but, as I said in my last post, it’s almost as if Vente is waiting for the perfect chance.

As much as I think he’s a good player, he is a player that has come from the Dutch second division. Even for a lot of money, don’t think that should be under estimated.

AL-Qaholik
02-01-2024, 08:42 PM
Somebody on twitter this week did a touch map comparison for him last season vs this.
Last season, about 50% of his touches were around the penalty spot.
This season, around 60% in the centre circle.
Utterly baffling misuse of a player.
But he’s not the only one.

02-01-2024, 08:42 PM
He's played too deep. A million people have said it. He's a finisher but is often not in the right place because of - I think - the system we play. Look at Shankland last week. Didn't have a sniff the whole game but was in the right place when one chance came. Vente is simply played in the wrong place.

Shankland also had to go and fight to win the ball from an 80 yard punt. There was a bit more to it than just being in the right place. He didn’t have anything created for him, he made something out of nothing.

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 08:45 PM
Somebody on twitter this week did a touch map comparison for him last season vs this.
Last season, about 50% of his touches were around the penalty spot.
This season, around 60% in the centre circle.
Utterly baffling misuse of a player.
But he’s not the only one.

Cat Stanton
02-01-2024, 08:45 PM
Shankland also had to go and fight to win the ball from an 80 yard punt. There was a bit more to it than just being in the right place. He didn’t have anything created for him, he made something out of nothing.

Fair.

But also the case that the system doesn't suit Vente either?

02-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Fair.

But also the case that the system doesn't suit Vente either?

Not so much the system but more so the way he is being asked to play or is playing IMO.

That said, he had two chances in the middle of the box against Hearts. I thought he should have scored the one that led to the penalty but ended up not really hitting it right. And today, he was in the box plenty but he doesn’t look like one of those strikers that just has an instinct for being in the right place. I’d back him going 1v1 with the goalie but most teams sit so deep that’s going to happen pretty rarely. I just think he need to be doing a bit more to try and get himself on the end of things.

02-01-2024, 09:02 PM
I think Vente isn't playing badly at all. Still some real quality touches from him, but they are all far too far from goal. When ALF was in the team Vente was far better - they linked up so well together. We have to find a way to get the ball to Vente in the box though. If we do that 2 or 3 times a game then he will score more often than not.

Plus get him on penalties.

Crunchie
02-01-2024, 09:04 PM
I think Vente isn't playing badly at all. Still some real quality touches from him, but they are all far too far from goal. When ALF was in the team Vente was far better - they linked up so well together. We have to find a way to get the ball to Vente in the box though. If we do that 2 or 3 times a game then he will score more often than not.

Plus get him on penalties.

02-01-2024, 09:06 PM

Yes :agree:
I have been saying that to my grandson for weeks. He is a poacher. First and last !!

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 09:09 PM

Exactly, we've had plenty strikers over the years that can create their own chances, score a goal out of nothing, Vente isn't that player. If he's a poacher play him as one or get rid, don't play him so deep it's not working for him or us.

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 09:21 PM
This. He’s hard working but we’ve signed another player based on hype from another countries lower leagues and he’s exceptionally poor value for money.

He’ll not have cost £700k either. That’ll be the total cost of the deal…transfer fee, signing on fee, agents costs and wages IF he sees out the whole length of his contract.

Surprised people still fall for Kensell’s BS when it comes to transfers, and if the new money from Foley comes in, I really hope there’s a hard-nosed review of the recruitment team and how they go about their business in bringing players in.

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 09:32 PM
He’ll not have cost £700k either. That’ll be the total cost of the deal…transfer fee, signing on fee, agents costs and wages IF he sees out the whole length of his contract.

Surprised people still fall for Kensell’s BS when it comes to transfers, and if the new money from Foley comes in, I really hope there’s a hard-nosed review of the recruitment team and how they go about their business in bringing players in.

No chance. He’s on a 3 year deal. At £4k per week, which isn’t that huge a wage at Hibs anymore, that’s pretty much the whole £700k. £700k will be the fee.

02-01-2024, 10:10 PM
Honestly think he’s been a total waste of money. Hopefully he’ll make me eat my words but for money spent he’s been ***** IMO

02-01-2024, 10:21 PM
Vente is a fox in the box type of striker, he's not a modern striker than can play across the front three. His limitations are pretty obvious but his work rate and clinical finishing, imo, can't really be criticised. The system doesn't suit him. Allied to the fact that Youan and Boyle, when they get a run into the opposition box, are a pair of greedy gets and 9 times out of ten try and go solo, then he's on a hiding to nothing. Feed him 5 chances a game on a regular basis and I'll put money on him burying 2 or 3. Another player that the system is killing.

For a fox in the box he never seems to get on the end of anything thought very poor today. Seemed to be in the huff when went off

02-01-2024, 10:31 PM
He's playing like an attacking midfielder with his back to goal 90% of the game, it's madness. It's stuff like this that has me starting to lose confidence in the manager's ability.

Vente is not playing this way out of choice. I think he still looks like he's got something about him, but we're going to ruin the guy if we keep playing him this way.

Vente isn't the only one either, I could name most of the team and say they are playing all of their football far too deep. No wonder our strikers are struggling, we play our football in the wrong half of the pitch!

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

02-01-2024, 11:23 PM
Vente needs a partner beside him. Hopefully ALF is back soon.

03-01-2024, 07:24 AM
Top strikers always find a way to score…even if they aren’t in a poaching role.

Vente was in the box against Motherwell for a few crosses…..but didn’t seem aware enough to get on the end of them.

03-01-2024, 11:10 AM

Vente was in the box against Motherwell for a few crosses…..but didn’t seem aware enough to get on the end of them.

He isnt being used as a striker though so that's not fair IMO.

Also I would suggest that its more that people in wide positions arent finding players in the box with crosses.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 11:15 AM

Top strikers won’t find a way to score when they mainly touch the ball in the centre circle.

He’s not in the box nearly often enough. If that’s on instruction, then it’s NMs fault. I’d suggest it must be since he starts every week.

03-01-2024, 11:49 AM
You canny win as a striker, Riordan used to stay up and not track back, he scored a bucket load, he got called lazy by some

Vente runs about all day chasing things and doesn't get many chances as a result, he gets questioned on his prowess

In my book it's like getting Romario and saying right I want you in and around the center circle, mental

jakeshibs
03-01-2024, 11:51 AM
There are few players in that squad that are putting in as much effort than Dylan Vente, keep the faith

03-01-2024, 11:59 AM
He isnt being used as a striker though so that's not fair IMO.

Also I would suggest that its more that people in wide positions arent finding players in the box with crosses.

I think things are being slightly exaggerated with him. I’m not disputing he’s coming towards the ball too much, he drops off a fair bit, but he’s still up the park plenty. His lack of involvement in the final third yesterday wasn’t for lack of being in advanced areas. Against Hearts he had two chances in the middle of the box.

In his three league appearances prior to Montgomery coming in he hadn’t had a single shot. He’d had one shot and scored, about ten seconds after coming on, against Raith in the League Cup and one shot and scored against Luzern over the two legs. A lot is being made of how he’s being used but, to me, it’s pretty much what we’ve seen from him right from the get go. Whether it’s down to him, or others, he’s a striker that just doesn’t have many shots at goal.

LewysGot2
03-01-2024, 03:50 PM
For a fox in the box he never seems to get on the end of anything thought very poor today. Seemed to be in the huff when went off

Agree.

Hoping our real Fox in the Box is fit soon. We’ve missed him.

03-01-2024, 04:00 PM
I think huff is a bit strong. He was certainly disappointed as he should have been. Disappointed at his general play and the way the game was at the time.

03-01-2024, 04:23 PM
I think things are being slightly exaggerated with him. I’m not disputing he’s coming towards the ball too much, he drops off a fair bit, but he’s still up the park plenty. His lack of involvement in the final third yesterday wasn’t for lack of being in advanced areas. Against Hearts he had two chances in the middle of the box.

In his three league appearances prior to Montgomery coming in he hadn’t had a single shot. He’d had one shot and scored, about ten seconds after coming on, against Raith in the League Cup and one shot and scored against Luzern over the two legs. A lot is being made of how he’s being used but, to me, it’s pretty much what we’ve seen from him right from the get go. Whether it’s down to him, or others, he’s a striker that just doesn’t have many shots at goal.

You could be right mate. I said it previously but really think he's missing ALF.

03-01-2024, 04:32 PM
You could be right mate. I said it previously but really think he's missing ALF.

I agree with that. I think we miss him as a team. You could see him helping players through games earlier in the season and we miss that.

03-01-2024, 04:35 PM
I think huff is a bit strong. He was certainly disappointed as he should have been. Disappointed at his general play and the way the game was at the time.

You are probably right.

Daydreamer
03-01-2024, 07:39 PM
He is turning in to the anonymous man. He needs the Jimmy O'Rourke role or don't play him

03-01-2024, 07:43 PM
We shouldn't be spending that sort of money on a player who can only play one specific role in one specific position.

03-01-2024, 07:45 PM
There was a couple of occasions yesterday when I just thought he never wanted to get in the box enough.

He’d slowly make his way into the box whilst putting his hands up and looked like he wanted it cut back to the edge of the box.

Both Jair and Obita put some brilliant crosses in yesterday and he was nowhere near them.

Get in the box and let a Newell or Levitt hang about the edge. Youan got on a couple at the back post so there’s no excuse

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 08:04 PM
We shouldn't be spending that sort of money on a player who can only play one specific role in one specific position.

Not sure about that. He’s a striker. The best strikers generally cost the most money and more often than not, that’s the only place they should be playing.

03-01-2024, 08:04 PM
There was a couple of occasions yesterday when I just thought he never wanted to get in the box enough.

He’d slowly make his way into the box whilst putting his hands up and looked like he wanted it cut back to the edge of the box.

Both Jair and Obita put some brilliant crosses in yesterday and he was nowhere near them.

Get in the box and let a Newell or Levitt hang about the edge. Youan got on a couple at the back post so there’s no excuse

I totally agree with this.

If you look at the highlights from yesterday, you actually see that there are also times when he is in the box and comes away from goal towards the edge of the box looking for a cut back. On one hand you could argue that it’s decent movement but the ball is rarely coming his way. They two chances he had against Hearts were when he was going the opposite way, towards goal, and I think that’s what he needs to do more.

Don’t know if it was influenced by Doidge being in there, but I thought Obita in particular was crossing the ball a lot earlier. Tavares put 3 or 4 brilliant early balls in with his left leg as well, rather than cutting back, slowing down etc.

Hibees1973
03-01-2024, 08:05 PM
To be fair in his 5 months at the club, there has been a fair bit of turmoil.

A new club and new country. Under Johnson apparently tactics and training were either a shambles or non-existent. Dutch football even in the second division is structured and tactical, so it would have been a bit of an eye opener for him coming here.

There is no doubt about his work rate. He is always doing the basics such as closing down so I think his attitude is good. If he is in the cream puff at times, it's likely due to a lack of service he gets and others around him not having his ability.

Jair and Youan out wide are unpredictable and seldom find their man in the box, whether it's Vente or someone else.

I hope to see better and more reliable players coming in, in the next two windows. If we do Vente, more than anyone else will benefit from it.

It's up to Montgomery and McDermott to improve the squad. So many need to be shipped out and much better players brought in.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 08:06 PM

Is that on instruction though? There was one where he hung back on the edge of the box, Doidge just didn’t quite get on the end of it at the front post. It makes sense for one to go front post and the other to have dropped off for a cut back to allow options. Levitt and Newell are never getting forward to do it in this system.

03-01-2024, 08:09 PM
Is that on instruction though? There was one where he hung back on the edge of the box, Doidge just didn’t quite get on the end of it at the front post. It makes sense for one to go front post and the other to have dropped off for a cut back to allow options. Levitt and Newell are never getting forward to do it in this system.

Newell has got forward to score a couple of goals playing in the 4, home to Luzern and tap in at St Mirren. There’s definitely scope for one to go.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 08:33 PM
Newell has got forward to score a couple of goals playing in the 4, home to Luzern and tap in at St Mirren. There’s definitely scope for one to go.

Sorry, when I said never I meant they just never seem to be doing it, not that they couldn’t do it (although I’d question whether Levitt could).

03-01-2024, 08:47 PM
I think I was overly harsh on Vente after the game yesterday. I still think there’s a player there. I just don’t think we’ll see that unless his game becomes more selfish. Don’t think he’s quick enough to do the good work dropping deep then getting on the end of it in the box.

Obviously hope it comes good for him, seems like a good guy

03-01-2024, 08:50 PM
Sorry, when I said never I meant they just never seem to be doing it, not that they couldn’t do it (although I’d question whether Levitt could).

I’m not sure Levitt could. Or if he did, you’d no see him get back for a while.

It’s a real weakness for us but a lot of time it’s just down to unwillingness to actually have a go for me. There was one in the derby, I think when Levitt ended up booked, where we were well within range but nobody wanted to take any responsibility and it broke down.

03-01-2024, 08:52 PM
I think I was overly harsh on Vente after the game yesterday. I still think there’s a player there. I just don’t think we’ll see that unless his game becomes more selfish. Don’t think he’s quick enough to do the good work dropping deep then getting on the end of it in the box.

Obviously hope it comes good for him, seems like a good guy

That’s why ALF was a perfect partner for him. Doidge isn’t good enough on the ball and neither is Boyle IMO. We need someone else to do the dropping.

Malonga's Cat
03-01-2024, 09:36 PM
He is working hard. You can see that in how much he tracks back and tried to get involved around the middle of park.
He has quality - look at some of his goals so far and some the touches he pulls off. There was a wee through ball yesterday in the first half that was nothing short of sublime. He came through at Feyenoord - he can't be that bad!

I think he just needs to be played further forward and possibly have ALF or another supporting him.

ChuckNor
03-01-2024, 10:11 PM
Good analysis from Hibs Observer lads on the Vente situation. Got to hope Montgomery is seeing this. All the good work getting the wingers into position is failing because Vente is too busy being dragged out of position.

https://www.hibsobserver.co.uk/tactics/24025146.vente-issue-no-runners---hibs-couldnt-punish-well/

24-01-2024, 09:22 PM
Is he the answer? A clever player and clinical. However is the role and set up he needs too niche to get the best out of him? He has been anonymous for a long while now. Not sure formations, players he’s playing with can fully mitigate his clack of contribution as Nisbet still delivered last season with the same issues.

We paid £700k for him and I’m still none the wiser as to how to get the best out of him other than he scored 100% of his first 5 shots, outside of that he works hard but games pass him by.

24-01-2024, 09:26 PM
Completely not suited to this league. Not his fault as he tries hard but yet again a catastrophic waste of money like so many others since Mathie left.

The club need to be less arrogant and sign players we know work in this league and realise that we’ll make profit on players if they can be effective in the league and the team are winning.

sean04
24-01-2024, 09:27 PM
He's a goalscorer but we don't create chances for him. Spends all game defending from the front and dropping deep

Hibees1973
24-01-2024, 09:38 PM
Out of all that is going on at Hibs just now.....Foley, money, transfer window. This is what depresses me most.

The work rate from Vente is not in any doubt. Tonight, watching him, he was all over the park trying to get the ball and link up play. He looked completely done when he came off.

This guy is quality. I'm no fan of our owner or our dubious recruitment team, but somehow we got Vente in the door. However, we are wasting him. He should be in and around the box, shooting at goal, all the things he done in the Netherlands. From the touchline Montgomery was encouraging him and it appears Vente was in the positions Montgomery wanted him to be.

It seems just now when players arrive at Hibs they regress. Prime examples are Vente, Marshall & Levitt. For the fees paid out and wages these guys are on they should be our key players.

Something is amiss for these guys to be so poor.

24-01-2024, 09:42 PM
He needs to do more IMO. I don’t think everything can just be put down to tactics or whatever. Other forward players manage to get in to positions to get opportunities, he needs to offer more.

24-01-2024, 09:44 PM
Been watching him closely with great interest for weeks now

How many times in a game does he just fail to get on the end of something or a through ball

Happens time and time again

No doubting his work rate but the longer this dry spell continues must be getting to him not helping that he is usually spent by 60 minutes

Don’t know what the answer is ?

24-01-2024, 09:47 PM
Play a 352 and get him up-top with Youan with Marcondes just behind them.

ChuckNor
24-01-2024, 09:49 PM
Really concerning. He looks a man lost at this club in this system. A real shame after a positive start. He won’t be here after the summer.

24-01-2024, 09:51 PM

Agree with this.

24-01-2024, 09:52 PM

Do we even have enough centre backs to play 352 never mind if any of them are good enough?

Mikey_1875
24-01-2024, 09:56 PM
Haven’t seen him as particularly hard working or clever for a while now unfortunately. Drops deep when we are defending then stood up top static when we did have the ball. Not the best night to judge him on but it’s not very encouraging.

24-01-2024, 10:03 PM
Do we even have enough centre backs to play 352 never mind if any of them are good enough?

Obita looks like our best centre half.

24-01-2024, 10:07 PM

You could probably stick him in midfield and he'd be our best midfielder. Taking our new signing out the equation for a minute Obita is showing to be one of our greatest assets. Not happy with how we set up tonight and ultimately with how we played but if there's one positive it's that Obita done a good job out of position and looked relatively comfortable for most of the game. Appreciate we conceded 3 but he wasn't too blame for any of them.

24-01-2024, 10:08 PM
He's been terrible under Montgomery. I don't know if it's just down to formation or what's going on. Looks so slow aswel. A real tough watch of late.

24-01-2024, 10:12 PM

Did well tonight especially constantly getting put under pressure by Marshall’s lack of goal kick technique

Made it easy for The Rangers to regain possession almost as if they had had us watched

I don’t think they broke sweat all night

Pathetic really

24-01-2024, 10:13 PM
Doesn’t look to be enjoying his football at all just now, but I don’t blame him - and you could say the same about the whole squad right now.

Shame Maolida’s chance didn’t fall to Dylan. I’m certain he’d have buried it.

VoltaireHibs
24-01-2024, 10:22 PM
Dutch players aren't known for being backward in coming forward. He'll speak his mind at some point I think. Might not be pretty.

badabing67
24-01-2024, 10:27 PM

I think we would need to change the manager to see that.

hibee1875
24-01-2024, 10:31 PM
That chance he had just before half time where he mis controlled the ball at the edge of the box was criminal for a £700k striker.

Should be taking the ball in, turning and releasing a shot. Not letting the ball bounce off him

VoltaireHibs
24-01-2024, 10:37 PM
That chance he had just before half time where he mis controlled the ball at the edge of the box was criminal for a £700k striker.

Should be taking the ball in, turning and releasing a shot. Not letting the ball bounce off him

700k is chickenfeed. Relatively speaking. I've said it elsewhere - he's a fox in the box. Give him 5 chances a match, he'll bury at least two. The problem is, if you gave NM 700k to buy a striker, he would not buy Dylan Vente.

24-01-2024, 10:38 PM

Said that on another thread. His lack of goals is being almost entirely put down to service (which may have been fair in certain games) but he’s not doing enough. He can’t just be waiting on a chance in bang in front of goal, he needs to do a bit more. Every other attacking player is managing to get opportunities or shots away, he very rarely does and he has to be at least partly responsible for that.

VoltaireHibs
24-01-2024, 10:40 PM
Said that on another thread. His lack of goals is being almost entirely put down to service (which may have been fair in certain games) but he’s not doing enough. He can’t just be waiting on a chance in bang in front of goal, he needs to do a bit more. Every other attacking player is managing to get opportunities or shots away, he very rarely does and he has to be at least partly responsible for that.

I think he's probably regretting this move.

hibee1875
24-01-2024, 10:40 PM
700k is chickenfeed. Relatively speaking. I've said it elsewhere - he's a fox in the box. Give him 5 chances a match, he'll bury at least two. The problem is, if you gave NM 700k to buy a striker, he would not buy Dylan Vente.

Chicken feed for who? Certainly not any team outwith the OF in Scotland

Paulie Walnuts
24-01-2024, 10:41 PM

I don’t think a lot of players are enjoying being at Hibs just now. That team cannot be enjoying what they’re being asked to do.

24-01-2024, 10:42 PM

As might we be.

VoltaireHibs
24-01-2024, 10:46 PM
Chicken feed for who? Certainly not any team outwith the OF in Scotland

In relative terms for a striker. At that price it's still a lottery.

K-Zazu
24-01-2024, 11:04 PM
Actually feel sorry for him a bit having to play as a midfielder to
help Newell and levitt

Greenio
24-01-2024, 11:07 PM
Who knows why his form has dropped.

As someone said, you can't lay the blame completely at the tactics/strategy.

He's just now playing well.

Feel free to make stuff up about him being unhappy/regretful if you like, but know that's what it is... complete speculation

24-01-2024, 11:11 PM
Who knows why his form has dropped.

As someone said, you can't lay the blame completely at the tactics/strategy.

He's just now playing well.

Feel free to make stuff up about him being unhappy/regretful if you like, but know that's what it is... complete speculation

Hibs What’s App were saying they were getting good vibes from him in Training and he was hoping to be on the score sheet tonight

'mon the beers
24-01-2024, 11:25 PM
Good vibes in training and he wants to score!? Not wanting to sound all Roy Keane, but that’s his job!

Our system is killing us and the lack of ALF playing up top with him has really slowed him down.

Greenio
25-01-2024, 12:06 AM
Good vibes in training and he wants to score!? Not wanting to sound all Roy Keane, but that’s his job!

Our system is killing us and the lack of ALF playing up top with him has really slowed him down.

That's true. ALF was a great partner for him

He'll come good as will Hibs!

25-01-2024, 07:06 AM

If things don't improve over the next few months then probably in the summer he will be talking to his agent.

25-01-2024, 07:08 AM
He’s not even doing the basics well now. Looks a waste of cash so far. Fine when he’s putting in work and getting assists or others are scoring to get us results but even that’s dried up.

'mon the beers
25-01-2024, 08:21 AM

Agree with that, he had such a positive start and then tailed off but there’s a player there

ruthven_raiders
25-01-2024, 09:23 AM

So many times he was on shoulder of defender, looking for the ball to be played thru, you could see his frustration, missing ALF clever balls and movement, a Scott Allan type is what he needs to make the best of him. I get the feeling he is now giving up....maybe not the right attitude but you can see why....

Greenio
25-01-2024, 10:04 AM
So many times he was on shoulder of defender, looking for the ball to be played thru, you could see his frustration, missing ALF clever balls and movement, a Scott Allan type is what he needs to make the best of him. I get the feeling he is now giving up....maybe not the right attitude but you can see why....

Why would he give up. You dont get to his level by giving up every time you hit some bad form.

Looks like Marcondes might be the spark he needs, certainly looks like he wants to get in and around the goal which can only be good news for someone like Vente

25-01-2024, 10:08 AM
Actually feel sorry for him a bit having to play as a midfielder to
help Newell and levitt

This is whats been happening.
Hopefully Emiliano now fills that role of occasional link man and leaves him free to be the #9.

25-01-2024, 10:56 AM
Decent in the Dutch lower leagues. That’s it.

Think people are mistaken in thinking a large transfer fee for us automatically equates to a good player. Worth bearing in mind we have people running the.club who don’t appear to know much, if anything, about Scottish football.

VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 11:08 AM
Decent in the Dutch lower leagues. That’s it.

Think people are mistaken in thinking a large transfer fee for us automatically equates to a good player. Worth bearing in mind we have people running the.club who don’t appear to know much, if anything, about Scottish football.

Disagree. I think Vente scores for fun in a team where he can loiter in and around the box with a sharp strike partner, that is never happening in this system. I really feel for the guy, this system is hanging lots of players out to dry.

VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 11:11 AM
Why would he give up. You dont get to his level by giving up every time you hit some bad form.

Looks like Marcondes might be the spark he needs, certainly looks like he wants to get in and around the goal which can only be good news for someone like Vente

There are a lot of our players who currently look like they're going through the motions. It's pretty rubbish but also understandable. They know more about the league than NM appears to. They know this system doesn't work. The whole thing is a shambles.

25-01-2024, 11:13 AM
Disagree. I think Vente scores for fun in a team where he can loiter in and around the box with a sharp strike partner, that is never happening in this system. I really feel for the guy, this system is hanging lots of players out to dry.

Out of interest, based on what? He had a bright start but he’s shown nothing since.

25-01-2024, 11:22 AM
Out of interest, based on what? He had a bright start but he’s shown nothing since.

His bright start and his scoring record over the past few seasons suggest that he's a player who will score when in the right place and given chances.

At the moment though, he has to take his share of the blame for being a big part of a seriously malfunctioning attacking unit.

VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 10:06 PM

Based on his previous record, and on his scoring form at the start of the season. He's playing way too deep and the people who are meant to create for him are greedy and want to have a pop at goal themselves. He's not perfect but he'll score goals in the right set up. Intelligent player being asked to do the donkey work.

26-01-2024, 06:07 AM
Based on his previous record, and on his scoring form at the start of the season. He's playing way too deep and the people who are meant to create for him are greedy and want to have a pop at goal themselves. He's not perfect but he'll score goals in the right set up. Intelligent player being asked to do the donkey work.

26-01-2024, 06:21 AM
Vente is a goalscorer weve been screaming out for, hes not getting the supply as a previous poster mentioned, also if some players tried passing the ball more rather than trying to beat players for the second or third time and missing the pass he would score more, hes also being played too deep, if he were to leave us I would guarantee he would be top scorer .

26-01-2024, 06:44 AM

That's a very good point. Youan was one on one with Butland in the first 5 mins but shot from a tight angle that he was unlikely to score from. Vente had raced up half the pitch to get to the back post and would have had a tap in.

26-01-2024, 07:31 AM
That's a very good point. Youan was one on one with Butland in the first 5 mins but shot from a tight angle that he was unlikely to score from. Vente had raced up half the pitch to get to the back post and would have had a tap in.

Have thought that from day 1 Youan and Boyle are greedy bassas trying the impossible football is a simple game just square it to the man in space for a tap in ffs !

26-01-2024, 09:38 AM
Dylan just needs a goal playing with a lack of confidence. Will soon change when he scores.

JammyDoidger
27-01-2024, 12:22 PM
Just seen his heat map from the other nights game, hardly in the box pretty much everywhere apart from in the box, I'd like to know how we are playing 4-4-2 if our main striker doesn't go in the box. Baffles me why we try and play out from the back then hoof it long or run into players.. we stop playing when we get near halfway.

27-01-2024, 12:23 PM
Just seen his heat map from the other nights game, hardly in the box pretty much everywhere apart from in the box, I'd like to know how we are playing 4-4-2 if our main striker doesn't go in the box.

Can you link it?

JammyDoidger
27-01-2024, 12:24 PM
Can you link it?

Hibernian loan watch on twitter is where I came across it. Interesting viewing like.

Greensunshine
27-01-2024, 12:26 PM
I really like his style but unfortunately he’s not suited to playing alongside some of the absolute dross we currently have in our team.
If we bring in better quality players, I have no doubt whatever Dylan will thrive!

JammyDoidger
27-01-2024, 12:27 PM
I really like his style but unfortunately he’s not suited to playing alongside some of the absolute dross we currently have in our team.
If we bring in better quality players, I have no doubt whatever Dylan will thrive!

Doesn't matter who you bring in, if he's not in the box he's not going to score, that heat map is an eye opener, be interesting to see his heat map today or from previous games if it's relatively the same..it does feel like he's never in the box. If that's coming from Monty then it's not a 4-4-2 he's playing Christ knows what it is.
Would also like to have seen Maolida's from during the week because it felt like he was the same never in the box, we are told we play 2 upfront but we never really see the strikers link up it's strange, can't remember seeing anything like it before a 4-4-2 should be simple, should be more attacking but it feels like we aren't attacking.
Still stand by that Vente could do more though, we seen Van Veen in a poor Motherwell side last season he single handedly got them through games and stood out like a sore thumb, for the money we spent on Vente he should be doing more himself.

27-01-2024, 12:38 PM
Just seen his heat map from the other nights game, hardly in the box pretty much everywhere apart from in the box, I'd like to know how we are playing 4-4-2 if our main striker doesn't go in the box. Baffles me why we try and play out from the back then hoof it long or run into players.. we stop playing when we get near halfway.

Any time we went forward he was in the box the other night. Youan chance early on he was completely free at the back post. Made a good run for the Maolida chance across the front post. I thought he made better runs the other night, albeit didn’t get the ball.

Greensunshine
27-01-2024, 01:02 PM
Doesn't matter who you bring in, if he's not in the box he's not going to score, that heat map is an eye opener, be interesting to see his heat map today or from previous games if it's relatively the same..it does feel like he's never in the box. If that's coming from Monty then it's not a 4-4-2 he's playing Christ knows what it is.
Would also like to have seen Maolida's from during the week because it felt like he was the same never in the box, we are told we play 2 upfront but we never really see the strikers link up it's strange, can't remember seeing anything like it before a 4-4-2 should be simple, should be more attacking but it feels like we aren't attacking.
Still stand by that Vente could do more though, we seen Van Veen in a poor Motherwell side last season he single handedly got them through games and stood out like a sore thumb, for the money we spent on Vente he should be doing more himself.

Of course it matters who we bring in. Currently we have players in our team that can’t pass wind and have no clue how to link up with such a clever player as Vente. He hasn’t become a bad player over night. Bring in players that can link up better and get us further up the park and you’ll see Dylan get more goals.
For me he’s having to go hunt for the ball because we are so poor.

27-01-2024, 01:07 PM
He can only get in the box if we have the ball far enough up the f,n park, and when he is far enough up the park greedy twats like Youan dont pass to him.

27-01-2024, 04:23 PM
Needs dropped for a spell imo. Not been doing enough and Maolida showed him how to do it when he came on.

27-01-2024, 04:35 PM
Poor again today. Touch just isn’t there and no excuse about having to drop deep today.

27-01-2024, 04:39 PM
I think that he’s either not suited to this league or he just isnt very good sadly.

27-01-2024, 04:58 PM
Really needs to pack in the day job and give 100% concentration to Hibernian FC

https://i.ibb.co/ypYFcyz/A8-FDF8-E9-E752-4-F60-8-FA6-83-B6-C1-F3560-D.jpg (https://ibb.co/YXyBFk5)

Musselbound
27-01-2024, 05:07 PM
Needs dropped for a spell imo. Not been doing enough and Maolida showed him how to do it when he came on.

Seems to me that Vente is cut a lot of slack based on the fact that he cost 700k and therefore must be or has to be good. Wishful thinking? Whether he is not scoring or contributing enough or simply not fitting into the system, I'd agree with you.We have others we could try in that position.

Stanton Spence
27-01-2024, 05:27 PM
After initially thinking we had a player on our hands I’ve now gone full circle and just don’t think he’s any good at all and it won’t be the first time I’ve thought that about a player and been wrong . But he’s really went from one end of the scale to the other from excellent to poor and I just don’t see how he turns it around because he’s trying

ChuckNor
27-01-2024, 05:49 PM
Dreadful today. The ball just bounced off him constantly. He needs to be dropped.

JammyDoidger
27-01-2024, 07:05 PM
He needs a spell on the bench like, the most unstriker like striker I've ever seen.

GreenGray
27-01-2024, 07:08 PM
He needs a spell on the bench like, the most unstriker like striker I've ever seen.

He’s clearly being told to play that deep. Looked like a striker to me when he first joined and could barely miss.

27-01-2024, 07:18 PM
Dreadful today. The ball just bounced off him constantly. He needs to be dropped.
I’m putting a lot of that today on the surface. I think. He needs a wee spell on the bench. He’s an intelligent player who knows where the net is. There’s something going on with him. He will come good again.

28-01-2024, 12:37 AM
Have only seen the highlights so can’t comment on his overall performance, but if Marcondes and Jair could finish, he would have had two assists.

28-01-2024, 07:38 AM
Very clever player with lots of ability. I don’t think that’s up for debate imo.

It’s a cliche but I reckon that he just needs a goal; because I think it’s easy to see that his confidence is suffering after basically playing as a centre midfielder for a while. I also don’t think it’s any coincidence that his form took a dip after ALF got injured. Hopefully with Marcondes here now; Vente can go back be being the penalty box striker that he looked like at the start of the season.

28-01-2024, 08:12 AM
After initially thinking we had a player on our hands I’ve now gone full circle and just don’t think he’s any good at all and it won’t be the first time I’ve thought that about a player and been wrong . But he’s really went from one end of the scale to the other from excellent to poor and I just don’t see how he turns it around because he’s trying

Possibly, he wouldn't be the first signing who initially looked good before revealing themselves to simply not be up to much. Hopefully wrong, but it could just be that he's not very good.

Stanton Spence
28-01-2024, 08:23 AM
Possibly, he wouldn't be the first signing who initially looked good before revealing themselves to simply not be up to much. Hopefully wrong, but it could just be that he's not very good.

I think your spot on mate and as you say he wouldn’t be the first player to look good at first etc but his drop off is massive and it can’t just be down to formations. A really good player finds a way of fitting into systems and formations and he’s been poor for a long time now

28-01-2024, 08:46 AM
I think your spot on mate and as you say he wouldn’t be the first player to look good at first etc but his drop off is massive and it can’t just be down to formations. A really good player finds a way of fitting into systems and formations and he’s been poor for a long time now

Have said it before but strikers need to be able to create something for themselves every now and again, or at least make the most of half chances. Moalida’s goal yesterday is a good example. Decent pass from Levitt but he still had to control it, make a bit of space and finish. I don’t see Vente doing something like that, it seems to be that he’s going to need to get the ball bang in front of goal to score a goal. We’ll never be good enough to have a main striker where that’s the case. Obviously strikers do need service but he needs to do more himself. I actually think he’s made better runs in the last couple of games and there’s been no issue with him being too deep. He just doesn’t look a goal threat.

28-01-2024, 08:49 AM
Have said it before but strikers need to be able to create something for themselves every now and again, or at least make the most of half chances. Moalida’s goal yesterday is a good example. Decent pass from Levitt but he still had to control it, make a bit of space and finish. I don’t see Vente doing something like that, it seems to be that he’s going to need to get the ball bang in front of goal to score a goal. We’ll never be good enough to have a main striker where that’s the case. Obviously strikers do need service but he needs to do more himself. I actually think he’s made better runs in the last couple of games and there’s been no issue with him being too deep. He just doesn’t look a goal threat.

Was unlucky with his shot first half when linked with Emi. Needs a goal in the opposition net of course

sauzee1989
28-01-2024, 08:59 AM
Watched him in Holland before this move was actually at a game fc Eindhoven v Roda In which he scored a double. He was being used simply as a goal poacher for them. We are getting him to come into midfield too much and I have heard he’s been playing through an injury for weeks. The lad will come good.

Greenworld
28-01-2024, 09:20 AM
Now that have and are signing midfielders of good quality I think you'll find a change on his play where he will be able to stay up top more often

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

28-01-2024, 09:29 AM
For all I saw on Sportscene I thought his contribution was good. Involved in decent play and especially liked his header on for Jairs chance.

28-01-2024, 09:31 AM
If he’s still on the park and been given the chance Doidge had at the end we’d have won

JammyDoidger
28-01-2024, 09:52 AM
If he’s still on the park and been given the chance Doidge had at the end we’d have won

Or if Doidge wasn't on the park maybe we don't get that chance? Doidge has that knack of being in the right place.

28-01-2024, 09:53 AM
Watched him in Holland before this move was actually at a game fc Eindhoven v Roda In which he scored a double. He was being used simply as a goal poacher for them. We are getting him to come into midfield too much and I have heard he’s been playing through an injury for weeks. The lad will come good.

28-01-2024, 09:57 AM
Or if Doidge wasn't on the park maybe we don't get that chance? Doidge has that knack of being in the right place.

Maybe. It was a perfect ball into the position someone should’ve been in. Absolute sitter.

JammyDoidger
28-01-2024, 09:58 AM

Bang on the money, nisbet could shift and shoot from almost anywhere, Griffiths, Riordan also, Vente doesn't get himself involved enough he needs to start demanding the ball, you could see instantly Emi was demanding it through him.
Maolida made his goal look so easy when it was anything but..the touch took the killie players right out the game. Superb bit of strike play. Vente has a fight on his hands now. If he didn't come for such a high fee people wouldn't be as patient. Needs to end this drought next week. 1 goal in 17 is shocking, even for a centre midfielder you'd expect better than that.

28-01-2024, 12:26 PM

I think this is exactly it

Doidge isn’t a great striker of the ball or the most technical player, but he always seems to get a chance and be in the right area.

Vente doesn’t seem to ever really get on the end of anything

Donegal Hibby
28-01-2024, 12:49 PM
He’s clearly being told to play that deep. Looked like a striker to me when he first joined and could barely miss.

Totally agree, guys been asked to play a role that doesn't really suit him and his work rates been very good . Now that we have Marcondes hopefully we start to play him as a 9 again like when he first joined when he had 5 goals from 5 shots . Good striker imo .

VoltaireHibs
28-01-2024, 12:53 PM

That is literally Doidge's greatest talent. I love the big guy, but Vente is a superior footballer, by some distance.

28-01-2024, 01:07 PM
Doidge has always had the knack of adopting the correct positions even when he was going through a barren spell remember up at Aberdeen he missed about four then St Johnstone after Hecky left hitting a hat-trick then returning to Aberdeen to hit the only goal in a 1-0 win That is why I think he will always score goals wherever he goes

Love the big guy

Keepthefaith
28-01-2024, 02:35 PM

I presume you didn't see doiges header then?! Hibs have had some woeful strikers over the years, vente isn't one of them

FFS man you talk some generalised crap. He showed in his early games he's got a good football brain. Service to him hasn't been good. You're so negative all the effing time!

Mcbizz1998
28-01-2024, 02:37 PM
Very clever player with lots of ability. I don’t think that’s up for debate imo.

It’s a cliche but I reckon that he just needs a goal; because I think it’s easy to see that his confidence is suffering after basically playing as a centre midfielder for a while. I also don’t think it’s any coincidence that his form took a dip after ALF got injured. Hopefully with Marcondes here now; Vente can go back be being the penalty box striker that he looked like at the start of the season.

Clever? Is good at maths or something?

28-01-2024, 02:58 PM

Brian McDermott scouted him and then chased him to sign for Hibs.

Not infallible of course but he must have something about him. I’m minded to believe that Vente will come good.

Chipper1875
28-01-2024, 03:00 PM
Brian McDermott scouted him and then chased him to sign for Hibs.

Not infallible of course but he must have something about him. I’m minded to believe that Vente will come good.

Ian Gordon identified him before Brian
was at hibs

JammyDoidger
28-01-2024, 03:01 PM
I presume you didn't see doiges header then?! Hibs have had some woeful strikers over the years, vente isn't one of them

FFS man you talk some generalised crap. He showed in his early games he's got a good football brain. Service to him hasn't been good. You're so negative all the effing time!

We have watched hearts and Aberdeen reach European group stages, hearts are about to do it again, we have a striker who cost us nearly 1m pound that's scored 1 goal in 17 games, whilst our rivals have a striker that could score with a blindfold on and his hands tied behind his back, we have been on a rotten run of form, it's hard not to be negative🤣. I'd rather he was getting into the positions Doidge is but he's not.

28-01-2024, 03:04 PM
We have watched hearts and Aberdeen reach European group stages, hearts are about to do it again, we have a striker who cost us nearly 1m pound that's scored 1 goal in 17 games, whilst our rivals have a striker that could score with a blindfold in and his hands tied behind his back, we have been on a rotten run of form, it's hard not to be negative🤣. I'd rather be was getting into the positions Doidge was but he's not.

nearly a million? Glad you don't do the accounts.

28-01-2024, 03:04 PM
We have watched hearts and Aberdeen reach European group stages, hearts are about to do it again, we have a striker who cost us nearly 1m pound that's scored 1 goal in 17 games, we have been on a rotten run of form, it's hard not to be negative🤣. I'd rather be was getting into the positions Doidge was but he's not.

Unfortunately 1 goal in 17 games is awful for any striker in the league, for a player you're paying £750,000 for it's horrendous.

I do think he is a player but for whatever reason it just hasn't worked. My suspicion is he will be off in the summer. He'll likely want to get back to Holland and Hibs will probably try and recoup some of the fee and he'll also be on a hefty wage that would be freed up.

How much money we get for him is obviously the sticking point. If we could get back half of what we paid then I think Hibs might take that. Saying that, we got £1 million for Melkerson so anything is possible, but that transfer was bonkers so unlikely.

JammyDoidger
28-01-2024, 03:05 PM

What was it then 700k that was quoted? No a boot in the Staines away from it, then his wages will be high..

28-01-2024, 03:26 PM
Unfortunately 1 goal in 17 games is awful for any striker in the league, for a player you're paying £750,000 for it's horrendous.

I do think he is a player but for whatever reason it just hasn't worked. My suspicion is he will be off in the summer. He'll likely want to get back to Holland and Hibs will probably try and recoup some of the fee and he'll also be on a hefty wage that would be freed up.

How much money we get for him is obviously the sticking point. If we could get back half of what we paid then I think Hibs might take that. Saying that, we got £1 million for Melkerson so anything is possible, but that transfer was bonkers so unlikely.

I think there is an argument that he’s just not suited to the game here.

The argument for him seems to mainly be that ‘he’s a player’ but the reality is that he's just not showing enough as it stands. Hopefully Marcondes can make the difference and he can get himself in to more scoring positions. Ultimately he’s replaced Nisbet and, despite our issues, I think Nisbet would have more than three league goals to his name if he was still playing for us. The main issue is that the only other out and out 9 we have currently is Doidge which makes it more difficult to bench him.

28-01-2024, 03:29 PM
Or watch hibs:greengrin

28-01-2024, 03:31 PM

I couldn’t imagine we’d accept as big a loss as that on him. We’d probably be better keeping a hold of him & hoping he finds form than selling him for half of what we paid.

I don’t think we’re at that stage yet tbh. I reckon he’ll come good

Greensunshine
28-01-2024, 03:39 PM
We have watched hearts and Aberdeen reach European group stages, hearts are about to do it again, we have a striker who cost us nearly 1m pound that's scored 1 goal in 17 games, whilst our rivals have a striker that could score with a blindfold on and his hands tied behind his back, we have been on a rotten run of form, it's hard not to be negative🤣. I'd rather he was getting into the positions Doidge is but he's not.

I think you might be watching Hearts more than your letting on 😉

28-01-2024, 03:41 PM
Watching the highlights, Vente was more invovled than I realised at the time. Could have 2 assists to his name.

28-01-2024, 04:18 PM
I couldn’t imagine we’d accept as big a loss as that on him. We’d probably be better keeping a hold of him & hoping he finds form than selling him for half of what we paid.

I don’t think we’re at that stage yet tbh. I reckon he’ll come good

Possibly not, but I think it will depend on Vente himself. If he makes it clear to the club he wants back to Holland then I can't imagine the club are going to be massively keen to keep a player, who by the end of next season would only have 1 year left on his deal.

He's also probably the 2nd highest earner at the club after Boyle, so the chance to get back £375,000 and freeing up lot of wages might be considered the best way to go.

The ideal situation is he turns it around and goes on a run of scoring but with each week that passes that becomes less likely IMO.

28-01-2024, 05:17 PM
Clever? Is good at maths or something?

Aye that’s it mate.

What a ****ing waste of bandwidth that reply was (as is this tbf).

28-01-2024, 05:55 PM
So from these highlights, he had a really good effort on goal from around 25 yards just past the post, and from the Sportscene onee he would have had two assists if Marcondes and Jair could finish:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4PfvNMNsITs

If that’s him at his worst, I’m not really complaining.

I can understand why folk are getting all misty eyed for the Nisbet who left us in the summer - his form and finishing were superb. Worth remembering how few he scored in a struggling side in 2021-22 though.

Look at Kyoto’s form this season as well, think he was one goal in 12 at one point, and three in 17 or something like that.

If he was missing sitters I would be worried. As far as I can see he’s a hard worker with good movement, who is always looking to get involved.

His number of goal involvements in a team that’s been in far from good form all season, is still decent. He’s shown he can score regularly when the chances come along, and I have no doubts that he’ll deliver once again.

28-01-2024, 05:58 PM
DV started superbly I think he will be back to his best with new arrivals

Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 05:59 PM
So from these highlights, he had a really good effort on goal from around 25 yards just past the post, and from the Sportscene onee he would have had two assists if Marcondes and Jair could finish:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4PfvNMNsITs

If that’s him at his worst, I’m not really complaining.

I can understand why folk are getting all misty eyed for the Nisbet who left us in the summer - his form and finishing were superb. Worth remembering how few he scored in a struggling side in 2021-22 though.

Look at Kyoto’s form this season as well, think he was one goal in 12 at one point, and three in 17 or something like that.

If he was missing sitters I would be worried. As far as I can see he’s a hard worker with good movement, who is always looking to get involved.

His number of goal involvements in a team that’s been in far from good form all season, is still decent. He’s shown he can score regularly when the chances come along, and I have no doubts that he’ll deliver once again.

Agree with that mate 👍

28-01-2024, 06:13 PM
Once we have a settled front line and Mercondes builds a good understanding with Vente, the goals will come.

28-01-2024, 06:22 PM
I’d say now that Vente will bag 10 more goals before the season is out.

Maolida to match it too.

He's here!
28-01-2024, 06:23 PM
Once we have a settled front line and Mercondes builds a good understanding with Vente, the goals will come.

Fingers crossed. I don't think we should give up on him just yet.

JammyDoidger
28-01-2024, 06:52 PM
I’d say now that Vente will bag 10 more goals before the season is out.

Maolida to match it too.

Third is a stick on then, panic over!

29-01-2024, 03:28 AM
Even an established Dutch international with a career including Ajax and Milan found it difficult to adjust to the British game with Arsenal.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dennis_Bergkamp

went on to become club legend.

29-01-2024, 06:04 AM
Third is a stick on then, panic over!

Steady 😂

30-01-2024, 01:45 PM

How did Doidges Hibs career start off?
And to what extend do you believe that could have been down to what was going on inside his head?
Doidge was also being played in position.