View Full Version : 1991 League Cup Final.

Chorley Hibee
27-10-2023, 08:12 AM
32 year ago today!

The first trophy I saw Hibs win and many happy memories, even though I was only 12.

What's your memories?

27-10-2023, 08:13 AM
The team that would not die

Potty78
27-10-2023, 08:20 AM
32 year ago today!

The first trophy I saw Hibs win and many happy memories, even though I was only 12.

What's your memories?

I was 13 so same as u first trophy win, just mind the massive support we had that day but luckily we got in really early. Going back to Edinburgh was brilliant too👍

27-10-2023, 08:23 AM
The main memory was the celebrations back in Edinburgh afterwards, what a night. The game was a bit of an Alex Miller masterclass, we could really have given them a total gubbing as the Pars were awful but it was all a bit safety first. He got the job done though.

Trinity Hibee
27-10-2023, 08:27 AM
What a strip!

Auckland Hibs
27-10-2023, 08:27 AM
Massive day out. I traveled on the Pickies bus from Piershill.

Managed to get into the stadium before the turnstiles closed right behind me. Fans storming the gate when the police opened them - mental.

Bus arriving back into Edinburgh, driving along Princess Street with thousands of fans celebrating. CCS opposite the Balmoral Hotel on the statue singing.

Don't actually remember much about the game except the penalty.

27-10-2023, 08:32 AM
I must have played Keith Wrights goal, the pass and the finish over in my head a million times over the years.

27-10-2023, 08:38 AM

Managed to get into the stadium before the turnstiles closed right behind me. Fans storming the gate when the police opened them - mental.

Bus arriving back into Edinburgh, driving along Princess Street with thousands of fans celebrating. CCS opposite the Balmoral Hotel on the statue singing.

We left from Porters next door, early start!, we had a job getting in but we did.

A very emotional game given what preceded it. Miller deserved great credit for what he steered us through before the win and the win itself. Our group got broken up but 3 of us were near the statue as well.

Great memories for me because of the backdrop of Mercer's attempt to close us down.

hibstag
27-10-2023, 08:43 AM
I was 13 so same as u first trophy win, just mind the massive support we had that day but luckily we got in really early. Going back to Edinburgh was brilliant too👍

Was 16 I remember the cash gate looking for exact money as had no change but I had the ‘odds’in my pocket, think my dad still owes me that back…

We were in quite early didn’t realise it was a lock out until back in Edinburgh

27-10-2023, 08:44 AM
I was 10, posted a few pics over the years on twitter that I got after my gran died.

Great day for my first ever hibs game.

27-10-2023, 08:46 AM

My son ,he would have been 19 at the time and like thousands of others was locked out Think he caught the second half.
Authorities certainly misjudged the huge stark number of Hibs fans intent on travelling from all over for this game.

The game itself was no classic. Thats a fact ! Dire mostly bar the goals !
And the wee man tripping over his feet for the penalty was a highlight
A few months ago i asked my Grandson to get me THE Cup final keyring next time he was in the shop, as the one i have broke .

He bought me the LC W 1991 keyring. !!! Not 2016 !
But his Granny was at that 91 game
So he was thinking of her when he bought it
On the return to Embra
We just gave the bus a wave doon Drum Brae roundabout that day and retired to the Clerry Inn for the sing song.

My son ,he would have been 19 at the time and like thousands of others was locked out Think he caught the second half.
Authorities certainly misjudged the huge stark number of Hibs fans intent on travelling from all over for this game.
The game itself was no classic. Thats a fact ! Dire mostly bar the goals !
And the wee man tripping over his feet for the penalty was a highlight.

A few months ago i asked my Grandson to get me THE Cup final keyring next time he was in the shop, as the one i have broke .
He bought me the LC W 1991 keyring!!! Not 2016 !
But his Granny was at that 91 game
So he was thinking of her when he bought it
On the return to Embra.
We just gave the bus a wave doon Drum Brae roundabout that day and retired to the Clerry Inn for the sing song.

I sometimes reminisce about that day The non football bits !!
Same as i did after the 72 v Celtic win
Ahh... there was never enough victories given the amount of semis and finals since i went to my first semi final in Glasgow v Morton at Ibrox and the replay 63/64 season.

Hope the OP doesnt mind me digressing a bit !
Summary of those games with some interesting facts on tv coverage attendance etc
Article courtesy of Greenock Morton FC Archive

Older Morton fans will remember the two matches against Hibs at Ibrox.
TV highlights of the first game which was watched by 47,000 on a Monday evening showed Adamson putting Morton ahead after three minutes, but Hibernian’s Neil Martin headed the equaliser after 20 minutes.

Thereafter it was a typical semi-final with Morton’s Allan McGraw and Hibs’ Martin injured.
By the end, “both teams looked like boxers who had trained for 10 rounds and were faced with 15!”

The cameras were back for the replay a week later, by which time the crowd was 10,000 lower at 36,092.
Comedians amongst the Greenock support reckoned there were more Morton coach drivers than Hibs’ fans.
The Edinburgh side fielded new £30,000 signing Pat Quinn, a Scottish international.

On the stroke of half-time Morton “scored” through McGraw following a corner, but the referee disallowed the effort, claiming the kick was taken from outwith the arc! McGraw was not to be denied however, beating keeper Ronnie Simpson from the penalty spot in 64 minutes, and prompting wild celebrations on the pitch and the terraces.

Allan McGraw (with a heavily bandaged leg)would a few seasons later score the winning goal for us at tynie when we beat Dundee 2-1 in LC semi .Oct 68
Oor own George Stewart was in the Dundee team that day

27-10-2023, 08:59 AM
I was 12, it was my birthday a few weeks before so I used my birthday money to buy the away strip from Thompsons in Junction Street, think it was my first trip to Hampden and remember thinking the place was huge

27-10-2023, 09:08 AM
32 year ago today!

What's your memories?

Sat on a mountain top in the South Atlantic trying to avoid hearing the result until my old man sent me a tape of the game about 4 weeks later. Failed miserably but still enjoyed the game when I finally got to watch it.

27-10-2023, 09:11 AM
Went to the game with a guy who had moved up from London and had decided to follow Hibs

He thought it would always be games like that 😂

27-10-2023, 09:15 AM
That was a very nice birthday.

Got there early as I'd only been to Hampden once before, saw us win the cup, back to Edinburgh, then saw the trophy parade at Picardy Place before spending the evening in a sweat-filled mosh pit at the Venue for Wolfsbane.

Ah, to be young again ...

27-10-2023, 09:15 AM
Was not long turned 11, face paints, mini bus and 1st time at Hampden - found it to be massive and had a real sense of occasion.
The 2nd goal felt like relief more than anything, superb cup win after the tough times the club was having then and prior.
(In the same section of the ground, someone took unwell, this was a big downer from the whole day - If I remember well a man had a heart attack and possibly died, but I really don't know for sure...)

Taking my son (10, nearly 11) next week to the semi finals, hope he will enjoy it and have good memories of a 1st hampden game too.

27-10-2023, 09:34 AM
It was the Skol cup at the time and I worked at Alloa Brewery so got complimentary tickets for every round. I remember a particularly enjoyable trip to Ayr Utd and of course beating the original Rangers in the semi.

On the week running up to the final the Daily Record photographer turned up and all the employees were congregated in the brewhouse with the cup held aloft in front of us which was going to be a centrepage spread in an edition just before the final. I excitedly told my friends and family to look out for this but when it was published, the angle it was taken at meant all you could see of me was an ear sticking out from the side of the cup. Oh well, maybe for the best.:greengrin

Like the OP it was the first trophy I had seen Hibs win, being just too young to remember 1972. What a great day it was. Massive Hibs crowd, some left locked outside if I remember right.

Nervy game, not a great first half, but once we got the pen, which was never a pen imo, it was destined for ER.The magical Keith Wright sealing the deal. What a great player he was for us.

The celebrations back at Easter Road were amazing, the bus coming down ER then everybody piling into the stadium great memories.

Little did we know then we would have to wait another 16 years to see it’s like again.

scm70nyd1973
27-10-2023, 09:37 AM
Average game - I was nervous right up to the 2nd - just wished Brian Hamilton’s effort off the post had gone in as it would have been one of the all time great cup final goals.

Seem to recall clocks had changed early hours and Gordon Hunter turned up an hour early for the team bus departure 🤭

Didn’t go back to Edinburgh as I lived in Glasgow and didn’t think the celebrations would be mental - big mistake, huge in fact. Had the Monday off anaw ☹️Still got all the newspapers from the following day.

27-10-2023, 09:45 AM
Went on the bus from The Moat Bar, just got in before the gates were shut at the game, only had a couple of pints back there after the game as I was emotionally drained. 😳

Made up for it in The Four in Hand and Persevere the next day. 👍

Green Man
27-10-2023, 09:52 AM
Just before my 12th birthday. I remember my dad saying we didn’t need tickets as it was a cash gate, then on the morning of the game there was an advert in the Sunday Mail saying we had to buy tickets from the booth outside the ground. We got through extra early to make sure we got in.

I don’t know where we parked but it felt like miles from Hampden. On the way back to the car a local resident came up to us and hugged my dad, saying how nice it was to have a cup final without any bother from fans.

27-10-2023, 09:53 AM
I was four months old. Remember it as clear as day.

He's here!
27-10-2023, 10:20 AM
Tommy McIntyre's cool as-you-like penalty-taking style. Against a character like Andy Rhodes it was a brave way to go at such a crucial moment.

He scored a few like that but finally came unstuck against Airdrie in the quarter-final of the Scottish Cup later that season when John Martin guessed the right way and we ended up getting beat.

Airdrie actually should have been facing us in that LC Cup final as they were undone by an absurd penalty decision in the semi.

Hillsidehibby
27-10-2023, 10:21 AM
Went through early and we chapped the door of a pub in Rutherglen before opening time. Barman let us in and it was full of Hibbies! Mad dash at the only turnstile left open and just got in before it closed. Got home on a different bus and watched the open top bus outside the Balmoral. Great day

27-10-2023, 10:56 AM
So how many Hibs fans were there that day? The official attendance of just over 40k wasn't anything spectacular but the Hibs sections looked seriously overcrowded.

Bridge hibs
27-10-2023, 11:13 AM
So how many Hibs fans were there that day? The official attendance of just over 40k wasn't anything spectacular but the Hibs sections looked seriously overcrowded.

Especially with hundreds if not more hibs fans locked out, I was lucky enough to get in early

DIXIHIBS
27-10-2023, 11:41 AM
Especially with hundreds if not more hibs fans locked out, I was lucky enough to get in early

Many fans went back to their buses and listened to the game on the radio.

Chorley Hibee
27-10-2023, 11:47 AM
Every time I feel like throwing the towel in with supporting Hibs, or football in general, it's stories and memories such as these that keep me going.

Let's hope there's another League Cup final on the horizon.

27-10-2023, 11:52 AM
Had been out on a major sesh the night before and a couple of us had crashed at a mate’s. We were getting a lift through to the game and thought we had slept in for it - this was before mobiles were quite as ubiquitous. No taxis for love or money and we ended up sprinting from Bruntsfield down to Haymarket at breakneck speed, only to then be reminded the clocks had gone back during the night and we were comfortably early.

Don’t remember too much about the build up to the game, we found a pub that was rammed full of Hibbiea, probably the most jammed I’ve ever seen, but they were also doing a roaring trade in off-sales and we got a slab (24 tins) of Red Stripe and started setting about that.

Got into the game easily enough but it was clear we had taken a massive support through. I don’t remember huge amounts about the game other than Mickey Weir playing really well. Maybe the arrogance of youth (and Red Stripe etc) but it never really felt in doubt, which sadly hasn’t always been the case over the years…

Murphys Touch
27-10-2023, 11:52 AM
Easily my first memory of being a Hibs supporter - I must have just turned 4 when we won this trophy.

I wonder if someone on the board can help me with a question that has irritated me for the past 32 years:

The Team that Wouldn't Die (the video about this cup win) was never off in my gaff for the next 10/15 years. My old man still plays it the morning of every derby! But the Hibs song that plays through the duration of the video is not one I have heard anywhere else - certainly not on any supporters buses, clubs or CDs I ever owned with Hibs songs.

Anyone know anything about it and if it's available?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Ya4EqVYM1s

27-10-2023, 12:01 PM
Sadly, it was a final I missed, although I had been to the 74 and 85 League Cup finals. Young family and lack of dosh were the culprits.

The game was pretty dire, although Hibs looked in control pretty much throughout.

What I remember most was the celebrations in the stadium that night. The place was absolutely rocking. It was such an emotional night, so soon after the Mercer fiasco and it has stayed with me as one of my favourite ever times at Easter Road. Even Alex Miller had a smile on his face and he got a song from the Hibees fans. Such a pity that 2007 celebrations were cut short due to over zealous policing and the actions of a few dafties who felt the need to congratulate players personally.

27-10-2023, 01:33 PM
We left from Porters next door, early start!, we had a job getting in but we did.

A very emotional game given what preceded it. Miller deserved great credit for what he steered us through before the win and the win itself. Our group got broken up but 3 of us were near the statue as well.

Great memories for me because of the backdrop of Mercer's attempt to close us down.

I left from the Crown and Cushion so the Piershill area was well represented at that game. From memory we opened the boozer at 6am and were well gone by the time we got off the bus. Very lucky to get in as we were pretty late. I really enjoyed going back to ER after and not many on our bus did from memory.

In terms of the game it wasn't actually as exciting as beating Rangers in the semi. That was the biggest achievement in that cup win and if I could remember anything about it the most memorable.

27-10-2023, 01:37 PM
I left from the Crown and Cushion so the Piershill area was well represented at that game. From memory we opened the boozer at 6am and were well gone by the time we got off the bus. Very lucky to get in as we were pretty late. I really enjoyed going back to ER after and not many on our bus did from memory.

Knew the crown and cushion pretty well too.
We were in porters from 8 ish, meant to be a hush hush affair[emoji23] Anything but.

Those were the days.

27-10-2023, 01:38 PM
I was only just back from my first stint living abroad and joined by my future wife who knew NOTHING about football. She thought Hibs winning trophies must be a normal thing :greengrin I have a photo somewhere of the golden lab wearing a Hibs top too :greengrin

27-10-2023, 01:44 PM
My last game i attended with my dad, and my first game with my son.

Special memories. :cup:

He's here!
27-10-2023, 02:28 PM
Had been out on a major sesh the night before and a couple of us had crashed at a mate’s. We were getting a lift through to the game and thought we had slept in for it - this was before mobiles were quite as ubiquitous. No taxis for love or money and we ended up sprinting from Bruntsfield down to Haymarket at breakneck speed, only to then be reminded the clocks had gone back during the night and we were comfortably early.

Don’t remember too much about the build up to the game, we found a pub that was rammed full of Hibbiea, probably the most jammed I’ve ever seen, but they were also doing a roaring trade in off-sales and we got a slab (24 tins) of Red Stripe and started setting about that.

Got into the game easily enough but it was clear we had taken a massive support through. I don’t remember huge amounts about the game other than Mickey Weir playing really well. Maybe the arrogance of youth (and Red Stripe etc) but it never really felt in doubt, which sadly hasn’t always been the case over the years…

Gordon Hunter also forgot about the clocks going back and was an hour early for the team bus.

Silversand
27-10-2023, 03:29 PM
We got into the North stand, & never knew about some getting locked out till we got back to Edinburgh.

Ended up in the Hibs Club after seeing the team at ER, with the cup, was a great night [emoji16][emoji482]

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

27-10-2023, 03:34 PM
Polis inside the ground were a shower of *******s 😡

DIXIHIBS
27-10-2023, 03:44 PM
We got into the North stand, & never knew about some getting locked out till we got back to Edinburgh.

Ended up in the Hibs Club after seeing the team at ER, with the cup, was a great night [emoji16][emoji482]

North Stand still there in 91?

Hillsidehibby
27-10-2023, 04:01 PM
North Stand still there in 91?

I think he probably means the north terracing. The north stand was demolished in 82

27-10-2023, 04:12 PM
It was the Skol cup at the time and I worked at Alloa Brewery so got complimentary tickets for every round. I remember a particularly enjoyable trip to Ayr Utd and of course beating the original Rangers in the semi.

On the week running up to the final the Daily Record photographer turned up and all the employees were congregated in the brewhouse with the cup held aloft in front of us which was going to be a centrepage spread in an edition just before the final. I excitedly told my friends and family to look out for this but when it was published, the angle it was taken at meant all you could see of me was an ear sticking out from the side of the cup. Oh well, maybe for the best.:greengrin

Like the OP it was the first trophy I had seen Hibs win, being just too young to remember 1972. What a great day it was. Massive Hibs crowd, some left locked outside if I remember right.

Nervy game, not a great first half, but once we got the pen, which was never a pen imo, it was destined for ER.The magical Keith Wright sealing the deal. What a great player he was for us.

The celebrations back at Easter Road were amazing, the bus coming down ER then everybody piling into the stadium great memories.

Little did we know then we would have to wait another 16 years to see it’s like again.

The whole run was brilliant - away trips every round starting with Stirling Albion at McDiarmid Park of all places. Then the two Ayrshire clubs when the weather was very warm for both games. I had a superstition of wearing no socks with a pair of Italian leather espadrilles at the time. It was fine until the semi and the final but kept it up all the way 😀

Great memories especially after the turmoil unleashed by the FTB less than a year and a half before. Fantastic cup run and a fitting end to it all.

27-10-2023, 04:13 PM
Being born in 1970 it was the first major trophy I saw us win.

Crazy to think it was PATG and folk were arriving very early to ensure getting in. Many ended up having to go in the Dunfermline end so hard to say exactly how many Hibs fans were there.

A nervy game but it was a huge sense of relief when Keith Wright drilled home the second. He was never going to miss what was a trademark one on one. The less said the better about that penalty we got for Mickey Weir’s fresh air swipe. Maybe all those duff decisions that have went against us since was some kind of punishment for the award. I think our dues have more than be paid now..!

There was something more special about having the cup parade straight on return to Easter Road and the celebrations just carrying on from the afternoon into the night.

DIXIHIBS
27-10-2023, 04:14 PM
I think he probably means the north terracing. The north stand was demolished in 82

Ah okay. Thought it was a bit late for the North Stand:wink:

27-10-2023, 04:46 PM
Being born in 1970 it was the first major trophy I saw us win.

Crazy to think it was PATG and folk were arriving very early to ensure getting in. Many ended up having to go in the Dunfermline end so hard to say exactly how many Hibs fans were there.

A nervy game but it was a huge sense of relief when Keith Wright drilled home the second. He was never going to miss what was a trademark one on one. The less said the better about that penalty we got for Mickey Weir’s fresh air swipe. Maybe all those duff decisions that have went against us since was some kind of punishment for the award. I think our dues have more than be paid now..!

There was something more special about having the cup parade straight on return to Easter Road and the celebrations just carrying on from the afternoon into the night.

Mickey's stumble didn't even make up for Colin Campbell getting wiped out and the hoodoo potentially being broken 37 years earlier than it was. We still have hundreds of big decisions to go our way if things are to even out.

27-10-2023, 05:14 PM
Travelled through with my Dad and went to a pub outside Central Station. He was determined to sit there drinking until about 2:30, and said we'd have no trouble getting in because the crowd wouldn't be that big.

Fortunately I persuaded him to leave earlier and was glad we did, especially when we found out afterwards that the gates had to be shut and there were thousands locked out.

This was only my second Cup Final, having watched us lose meekly to Aberdeen in '85.

27-10-2023, 05:16 PM

It was a great run and some of the best memories I have of watching Hibs. The entire run being away from home made it even better. Me driving to Kilmarnock with a stookie on my leg, coming back from Ayr listening to celtic get knocked out on pens by Airdrie, the semi final being in the main stand, the two auld boys we argued with in the stand at Ayr. If I remember rightly we had comps for all games except the final as you worked for the brewery and that why we were in the stands at games. Memories that will last a lifetime!! I think you might even have bought a round during that run. Heady days🏆🇳🇬🏆

27-10-2023, 05:17 PM
The day before the game I was bouncing across the North Sea on a small cargo vessel willing it to go faster so I could pay off and get to the final. We’d been at anchor for a couple of days waiting for a break in the weather, I think the skipper just got sick of listening to me and made the run anyway. :greengrin

27-10-2023, 05:19 PM
The day before the game I was bouncing across the North Sea on a small cargo vessel willing it to go faster so I could pay off and get to the final. We’d been at anchor for a couple of days waiting for a break in the weather, I think the skipper just got sick of listening to me and made the run anyway. :greengrin

:)

Stanton Spence
27-10-2023, 05:43 PM
I was 19 and the first time I’d see hibs win a cup travelled through on a bus from the Willie Muir
Strangely enough I have more memories of the semi final against the huns than I do the final which probably says more about the game as spectacle or maybe I was steaming?

Auckland Hibs
27-10-2023, 05:48 PM
Tommy McIntyre's cool as-you-like penalty-taking style. Against a character like Andy Rhodes it was a brave way to go at such a crucial moment.

He scored a few like that but finally came unstuck against Airdrie in the quarter-final of the Scottish Cup later that season when John Martin guessed the right way and we ended up getting beat.

Airdrie actually should have been facing us in that LC Cup final as they were undone by an absurd penalty decision in the semi.

Was that the penalty conceded by Jimmy Sandison ex Jambo? IIRC it was a terrible decision, but it almost seemed to be our destiny to win the cup that year. So glad we didn't play Airdrie in the final as they were full of ex Jambos.

Auckland Hibs
27-10-2023, 05:53 PM

Was it a joint bus from both pubs? 🤔

Remember being with Tam Urquhart and his brother, fairly sure that the same bus left for the semi final game.

Remember more about the semi final game than the actual final.

27-10-2023, 06:06 PM
How come so many were locked out, did Hampden no hold about 80000 or so?

27-10-2023, 06:10 PM

Hibees here Hibees there Hibees every *****ing where

27-10-2023, 06:11 PM

Believe it was because of fans segregation. We were in the North terracing and it was pretty crowded and the police closed off the gates. Plenty of room in Dunfermline areas. Would have thought our s
locked out supporters could have gone there. Maybe disguise was necessary:greengrin.

Davy Mac
27-10-2023, 06:16 PM
I must have played Keith Wrights goal, the pass and the finish over in my head a million times over the years.

Funnily enough me too, with Jock Brown's commentary.

27-10-2023, 06:21 PM
Met up at a local pub that was owned by a friend for breakfast rolls and pints before heading through to Glasgow for more drinks.

I remember going down to ER after the game to see the players on the bus and getting into the comfy seat bit of the old main stand to see the cup being paraded. Was an amazing atmosphere.

Back to the local afterwards to watch the game again - someone taped it and brought their VCR to the pub. Finished up sometime in the early hours then all met back at the pub at lunchtime to watch the game again, and again.

Was also my first time seeing Hibs win something.

Good times.

27-10-2023, 06:23 PM
Strangely enough I have more memories of the semi final against the huns than I do the final which probably says more about the game as spectacle or maybe I was steaming?

Same. I was 18 I think.

Still one of my fav Hibs games and nights ever.

27-10-2023, 06:26 PM
I was 24 and over staying at my girlfriend’s in Glasgow. We both went along on the off chance and was lucky it was pay at the gate.

27-10-2023, 06:29 PM
Ended up

Me too, they couldnt get Fish off the stage at one point, the band were superb that night with the Hibs songs. :greengrin:top marks

DIXIHIBS
27-10-2023, 06:39 PM

Think capacity was about 50 odd thousand then. Problem was the hun end was half empty and hibs were crammed into the rest.

27-10-2023, 06:45 PM

It held around 74000 at that point. . Attendance at the game was just over 40000 so it was a segregation issue.

27-10-2023, 06:54 PM

Pretty sure the main stand was reduced capacity at that point ,not sure if it was about to be demolished but don't think it was very busy?

Skol
27-10-2023, 06:55 PM

In terms of the game it wasn't actually as exciting as beating Rangers in the semi. That was the biggest achievement in that cup win and if I could remember anything about it the most memorable.

I was on that same bus and like you was amongst the last to get in. I recall we got off the bus before it parked which was lucky as we wouldn’t have got in otherwise.

The bus home we were missing a few people who couldn’t find it and picked up a few others who couldn’t find their own bus

I recall little of the game or awarding the trophy which upsets me. I do recall having money on 3-0 and Brian Hamilton hit the post late on.

When we got back to town we saw the hibs players board the open top bus at maybury and were just ahead of it until the west end when we followed it along the road.

He's here!
27-10-2023, 07:01 PM
Was that the penalty conceded by Jimmy Sandison ex Jambo? IIRC it was a terrible decision, but it almost seemed to be our destiny to win the cup that year. So glad we didn't play Airdrie in the final as they were full of ex Jambos.

Yes, it was given for handball when he clearly chested the ball down and it wasn't even in the box. Absurd decision but with it being Sandison I found it funny at the time and like you I was glad we didn't face Airdrie in the final. They were most certainly potential party poopers.

27-10-2023, 07:14 PM

The East and West wings of the Main Stand were closed, as they were no longer safe, and the terracing capacity was massively reduced, due to the Hillsborough disaster in '89.

IIRC, the capacity had gone down from around 70k in the mid '80s to 48k in '91.

27-10-2023, 07:23 PM
The East and West wings of the Main Stand were closed, as they were no longer safe, and the terracing capacity was massively reduced, due to the Hillsborough disaster in '89.

72k at the 1989 cup final.
62K at 1990 league cup final . I thought the West terracing was seated after the 1991 final which would have reduced capacity but I am probably wrong about that.

27-10-2023, 07:34 PM
Still a sore one between my parents and I. I was 5 and a regular at ER but they didn't take me to the final.

Was at Easter Road to see the cup come back in the evening but it was another 16 years before I got my turn.

27-10-2023, 07:35 PM

Drank in The Crown for years and used to go in after games. Lived not far down the road in Mountcastle. Was a good Hibs pub, shame it isn't around as C&C anymore, not a fan of Limelites. I was only 14 in 1991 but remember going through to the Rangers semi on a bus ran by The Crown. Didn't go through for the final on their bus though, pretty sure went on one organised by the club that left ER.

As someone else said the prospect of Airdrie in the final would not have been good. Packed with ex Jambos and Alex MacDonald as manager. Obviously they were our bogeyteam as well. :rolleyes:

I remember being at the East End by Guildford Arms for the open top bus parade, shouting up at Mickey Weir who was drinking from a bottle of champagne. Went to Easter Road after it and remember the team coming out to Eye of the Tiger :faf:

Skol
27-10-2023, 07:35 PM
I don’t recall any parts being closed. The park end did have spaces and some hibbies got in there.

It also wasn’t packed on the terracing being post hillsborough. I was at hampden a few times for Scotland games when it was a very different experience and your feet barely touched the ground.

27-10-2023, 07:49 PM
Pretty decent highlights here.

https://youtu.be/2zBaxBhpBHU?si=nTuWfBndNRbGOdHf

Look at the replay for Leitch's chance at 5m.30s. Also the replays after Keezbo's goal.

Massive Hibs support. Probably driven by the takeover attempt being the season before.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

27-10-2023, 07:57 PM

With around 34,000 Hibs fans there, I wonder if Hampden has ever had more than that from one set of fans since.

It must have been around this time that they started splitting things more evenly?

Skol
27-10-2023, 08:04 PM
Some great memories there.

Big Tam took a good penalty. Very good in fact.

Forgot some of the Dunfermline players from that day.

Keith iirc had been on a run of a few missed chances when one on one with the keeper and was great to see him get back to what he was best at.

Mickey weir, what a player.

27-10-2023, 08:07 PM
Pretty decent highlights here.

https://youtu.be/2zBaxBhpBHU?si=nTuWfBndNRbGOdHf

Look at the replay for Leitch's chance at 5m.30s. Also the replays after Keezbo's goal.

Massive Hibs support. Probably driven by the takeover attempt being the season before.

27-10-2023, 08:08 PM
The first home game after the Skol Cup Final was a derby against Hearts a potential powder keg situation

The club asked the fans not to do anything to inflame the opposition

The teams ran out to the East brandishing thousands of card board cut outs of the League Cup covered in silver paper

20000 attended the match with Keef Keef Keef scoring for Hibs in a 1-1 draw

Skol
27-10-2023, 08:09 PM
The first home game after the Skol Cup Final was a derby against Hearts a potential powder keg situation

The club asked the fans not to do anything to inflame the opposition

The teams ran out to the East brandishing thousands card board cut outs of the League Cup covered in silver paper

20000 attended the match with Keef Keef Keef scoring for Hibs in a 1-1 draw

I forgot that. I had one of them

Silversand
27-10-2023, 08:57 PM
Ah okay. Thought it was a bit late for the North Stand:wink:Yes, North terracing [emoji106]

27-10-2023, 09:00 PM
I was on that same bus and like you was amongst the last to get in. I recall we got off the bus before it parked which was lucky as we wouldn’t have got in otherwise.

The bus home we were missing a few people who couldn’t find it and picked up a few others who couldn’t find their own bus

I recall little of the game or awarding the trophy which upsets me. I do recall having money on 3-0 and Brian Hamilton hit the post late on.

When we got back to town we saw the hibs players board the open top bus at maybury and were just ahead of it until the west end when we followed it along the road.

I remember the bus being just in front of the team. Some amount of bevvy used to get drunk on that bus.

27-10-2023, 09:13 PM
With around 34,000 Hibs fans there, I wonder if Hampden has ever had more than that from one set of fans since.

It must have been around this time that they started splitting things more evenly?

Probably us in the final v Livi!

27-10-2023, 09:21 PM
Some great memories there.

Big Tam took a good penalty. Very good in fact.

Forgot some of the Dunfermline players from that day.

Keith iirc had been on a run of a few missed chances when one on one with the keeper and was great to see him get back to what he was best at.

Mickey weir, what a player.
Davie Moyes was at fullback for Pars.

27-10-2023, 09:25 PM
Probably us in the final v Livi!Yes . Seem to remember 38 000 being mentioned for Livi final .

Just_Jimmy
27-10-2023, 09:39 PM
My last game i attended with my dad, and my first game with my son.

Special memories. :cup:Best post on the thread.

Magic stuff.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

MartinfaePorty
27-10-2023, 09:50 PM
Controversial opinion, but I enjoyed the aftermath of the 1991 cup final better than the 2016 one. Don't get me wrong, nothing will beat the moment the ref blew the final whistle and I realised we had witnessed what my Dad and Grandad had missed out on. But in 1991 we just had a fantastic experience, witnessing the bus going along Princes Street, down Easter Road and then meeting my mates 4th pillar in the East Stand inside the stadium, before heading back to the pub.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

27-10-2023, 10:17 PM

Huge Hibs support that day

27-10-2023, 10:20 PM
We knew we'd won it when we won the semi. As others have said, if it had been Airdrie we might not have been as confident.

Dunfermline were, I think, bottom of the division while we'd not long lost a swashbuckling match at Ibrox 4-2(?) which stopped an early challenge for league leadership.

Went to the match in expectation, but we made heavy weather of it. First half was bland. Penalty didn't look like a pen from the East but I was happy to think I wasn't watching as closely as the ref 🤣. Game was over then, even if we didn't really dominate.

Watched the parade at the GPO then hit the pub. Should have gone to ER, but hey ho. Next day wore my scarf round and about. Loved bathing in my first trophy win.

27-10-2023, 10:36 PM
Done this before but was driven through by my mate's girlfriend. We were meant to meet up with him but missed She drove me back home too Never saw her again.....
Meanwhile it was following the following day I discovered Derek Mc Williiam's lived in the house behind me...
At work the following day I was in and about 9:30 a shift leader finally arrived for an early shift and introduced himself with a huge ' HIBEES' and sent home as being under the influence...

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

EskbankHibby
27-10-2023, 10:50 PM
I was there.

Rough as a badger.

Delighted I didn’t miss it.

27-10-2023, 11:11 PM
Yes . Seem to remember 38 000 being mentioned for Livi final .

Aye. The single biggest congregation of Hibs supporters ever for a final was v Livi. Aware of the 67k record attendance and the 100k plus cup parade.

28-10-2023, 06:25 AM
Must have been more Hibs supporters at 1-1-1973 surely?

28-10-2023, 06:53 AM
I was 15 at the time and my abiding memory was arriving just in time for kick off and being amazed by the number of Hibs in the stadium. I’ve read about hibs fans not getting in but I’m 99% certain my dad and I had tickets for the game…..pretty sure I had the ticket stub lying about the house for a period of time.

28-10-2023, 07:02 AM
Pretty sure the main stand was reduced capacity at that point ,not sure if it was about to be demolished but don't think it was very busy?

Dont remember it like that - sure the main stand was full.

28-10-2023, 07:05 AM

Thought there was about 30k fans that day and 10k Pars.
We took close to 30k if not more v Ross County in 2016 LC final.

Cetic and Huns will have taken more several times. Eg Celtic v Inverness Scottish cup final last year.

28-10-2023, 08:12 AM
I've got a videotape of the whole Sportscene programme up in the attic. Studio guests were the great Jim Leishman and Gordon Durie. Billy McNeill was co-commentator. After the final whistle a young Hazel Irvine came on the pitch, grabbed a dazed Keith Wright and physically dragged him clear of his mates to set up an interview!
I was at the match of course, ten feet up a floodlight stanchion.

DIXIHIBS
28-10-2023, 08:15 AM
Controversial opinion, but I enjoyed the aftermath of the 1991 cup final better than the 2016 one. Don't get me wrong, nothing will beat the moment the ref blew the final whistle and I realised we had witnessed what my Dad and Grandad had missed out on. But in 1991 we just had a fantastic experience, witnessing the bus going along Princes Street, down Easter Road and then meeting my mates 4th pillar in the East Stand inside the stadium, before heading back to the pub.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

Not controversial mate....i felt the same. Definitely felt strangely flat after 2016. Our bus was quite quiet on way home and back at hibs club most folk looked drained. I think the whole experience of 2016 was overwhelming. Next day was a different story. The whole of Leith came to life....great day. 1991 was a bit mental as i remember...:flag:

28-10-2023, 08:26 AM
Yes . Seem to remember 38 000 being mentioned for Livi final .

The LC Final v Kilmarnock in 2007 was a full house ,52.000

Possibly we matched or close to the Livi game crowd at the 2007 final

28-10-2023, 08:32 AM
The LC Final v Kilmarnock in 2007 was a full house ,52.000

Possibly we matched or close to the Livi game crowd at the 2007 final

Killie had a good support themselves that day. Think we had around 30k in 2007

28-10-2023, 08:56 AM
Killie had a good support themselves that day. Think we had around 30k in 2007

Killie had nowhere near 20.000 there,though .
Rob Jones in an interview had it "near 40.000 Hibbys" Maybe his sums aint to good :greengrin
Am sure an old thread mentioned we sold 37.000 briefs for that game.

Our finals in 60s/70s? Its hard to estimate our attendance as these games were mostly pay at the gate,not all ticket .

But all those attendances were far higher than Hampdens current capacity of 52.000.

28-10-2023, 09:10 AM
Rob Jones in an interview had it "near 40.000 Hibbys" Maybe his sums aint to good :greengrin

Our finals in 60s/70s? Its hard to estimate our attendance as these games were mostly pay at the gate,not all ticket .

But all those attendances were far higher than Hampdens current capacity of 52.000.

Benji thought there were 50k v Killi 😉 next week he go national team

28-10-2023, 09:17 AM
Benji thought there were 50k v Killi ��

Aye, I remember that in his interview on the pitch.
But cmon, English is not his first language !
Moroccan Arabic might add up differently:greengrin

Good job he didnt play for hertz in a cup final.
Goodness knows how many it would have been,if so.

28-10-2023, 09:31 AM
Davie Moyes was at fullback for Pars.

Was he not centre half think he played Keith onside for the second?

DIXIHIBS
28-10-2023, 09:39 AM

106k at scottish 6-1 final v celtic. Double current hampden. Maybe 30k hibs 76k celtic as a guess?

He's here!
28-10-2023, 09:40 AM
I was 15 at the time and my abiding memory was arriving just in time for kick off and being amazed by the number of Hibs in the stadium. I’ve read about hibs fans not getting in but I’m 99% certain my dad and I had tickets for the game…..pretty sure I had the ticket stub lying about the house for a period of time.

I'm all but certain I've got a ticket stub from the game too.

There were definitely tickets available:

https://scontent.fgla3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/67418622_2358369780945170_5254389734964199424_n.jp g?stp=cp0_dst-jpg_e15_fr_q65&_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=890c28&_nc_ohc=5BizyuhqUaMAX_olyxE&_nc_ht=scontent.fgla3-1.fna&oh=00_AfAoXOjBNsaohhXU_Ib9dan38-qt9g9Ces_X6BbxborWlg&oe=656447BB

28-10-2023, 09:43 AM
I'm all but certain I've got a ticket stub from the game too.

There were definitely tickets available:

https://scontent.fgla3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/67418622_2358369780945170_5254389734964199424_n.jp g?stp=cp0_dst-jpg_e15_fr_q65&_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=890c28&_nc_ohc=5BizyuhqUaMAX_olyxE&_nc_ht=scontent.fgla3-1.fna&oh=00_AfAoXOjBNsaohhXU_Ib9dan38-qt9g9Ces_X6BbxborWlg&oe=656447BB

Assume there were tickets but probably also cash gates. There definitely were as I travelled for it and didn't have a ticket but got in.

28-10-2023, 09:44 AM
Assume there were tickets but probably also cash gates. There definitely were as I travelled for it and didn't have a ticket but got in.

I also got in without a ticket, lifted over the turnstile

DIXIHIBS
28-10-2023, 09:47 AM
My first final at hampden was 1979 v huns. To any older posters....did hibs take big numbers ie 30k etc to finals in the 60s/70s? My impression is that not as many travelled in those days and final crowds v old firm was made up mainly of them.

28-10-2023, 09:50 AM
Was he not centre half think he played Keith onside for the second?

Highlights on the link below

The commentator mentions the late Norrie McCathie ,who was number 4.
Moyes was number 5.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icRpkp33sdU

28-10-2023, 10:01 AM

Moyes was number 5.

28-10-2023, 10:15 AM
My first final at hampden was 1979 v huns. To any older posters....did hibs take big numbers ie 30k etc to finals in the 60s/70s? My impression is that not as many travelled in those days and final crowds v old firm was made up mainly of them.

Took big numbers in 1972 to the Scottish Cup Final because we thought we were going to win 😂

But we would be back

28-10-2023, 10:23 AM
106k at scottish 6-1 final v celtic. Double current hampden. Maybe 30k hibs 76k celtic as a guess?

My first final. Still gives me nightmares!

28-10-2023, 10:28 AM
I think the bus back from famous victories can often be a downer. Mainly fatigue and exhausted emotions would be the reason I'd say. Not that there have been too many opportunities to test the theory out!
Once back in an Edinburgh pub, however, the spirits soon recover.

28-10-2023, 10:32 AM

Moyes was number 5.

Memories, my sons first final, they were 9 and 11

28-10-2023, 11:01 AM
Thousands of Hibby's locked out at the game with the usual Glesgie polis help, some real *****bags amongst them, great result.
As for crowds the 1968/69 League Cup final, was 112,000 the game had been put off due to a small fire in part of the stand at Hampdump. Hibs were flying of course and would have romped that final, but by the time the game was played we had long run out of steam and Celic had a fantastic team way to good for us by then. Result was a 6-2 humping, huge crowd from menory we were housed under the covered end with lots of Glasgows finest people in amongst us, pissching all over the place in between the battles, and dodging the glass raining down off the roof, real nice people as they still are. We were no angels but they took knuckledragging to an even lower level.
Hope we can at least give them a battle today.

28-10-2023, 11:19 AM
Strange watching the highlights after so many years. That Keith Keith goal is clear as day in my mind. Even at the game he was never missing. You look at our team now and I think that cup winning team was miles better than our current team. Keith is a far better striker than we have. Weir I would probably put on a par with Boyle, McGinley is miles better than what we have in terms of an attacking Mid and I think I would put Murdo and Hamilton a good deal ahead of Jeggo. Budgie also gave a huge amount of grit and confidence to the team and the defenders were all pretty solid with some real aggression in there too. Nostalgia does do strange things through and I never imagined I would put Brian Hamilton above many midfielders.

28-10-2023, 11:25 AM

I think so yeah.

Somebody posted on here before that we sold 38k tickets for that, which is an incredible amount for us.

Due to my Dad being in charge of the ticket purchase, I actually had to sit in the Livi end. :rolleyes:

28-10-2023, 11:54 AM
Of course,times are different now re Hampden.
Both with lesser capacity than older times and all seated.

But my take is when we have made Hampden, semis or finals, demand for tickets has always been greater if the Glasgow 2 are not involved and or we are playing no bad at the time :greengrin
It was noticeable at the finals against Dunfermline, Killie, Livi and Ross County the greater amount of wee yins and women in attendance.
My wife,God bless her, came to that Dunfermline Final with me.
Had it been against oldco,after the 1979 experience of the cowardly hordes attacking our fans and smashing our buses, no way she would have went.
Those sevco hordes are even now threatening armageddon next time we meet ,after what happened at the last Ibrox fixture.

So if its them in the final (if we get there) i would not be taking wee yins to that.
The aforementioned finals were, as some times described in the press, "Family Finals"

28-10-2023, 04:13 PM
Thought there was about 30k fans that day and 10k Pars.

Official crowd was 43,000. Not counting those who strolled in or paid a fiver to the turnstile operator.

Look at the highlights where the camera is on the Hibs sections. Way more than 30,000.

28-10-2023, 04:20 PM
My first final. Still gives me nightmares!Same here, Hearts supporting uncle took me through on a Hibs supporters bus from the old station bar at abbeyhill. Never been in such rammed terraces, couldn't move.

Changed days.

28-10-2023, 04:37 PM
Official crowd was 43,000. Not counting those who strolled in or paid a fiver to the turnstile operator.

Look at the highlights where the camera is on the Hibs sections. Way more than 30,000.

That's not right mate - official attendance was 40,307 (including walk ups)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1991_Scottish_League_Cup_final

It was reported at the time that Hibs had 30k fans there - although I would agree with you it looks like it could be more from the tv footage

28-10-2023, 05:45 PM
That's not right mate - official attendance was 40,307 (including walk ups)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1991_Scottish_League_Cup_final

It was reported at the time that Hibs had 30k fans there - although I would agree with you it looks like it could be more from the tv footageFor enough. I held onto a cutting from the game for years and am sure it said 43,000.

Personally think it's was way more. Those terraces were non seated and there aren't many gaps.

28-10-2023, 06:03 PM
For enough. I held onto a cutting from the game for years and am sure it said 43,000.

Personally think it's was way more. Those terraces were non seated and there aren't many gaps.

Think it was bit less packed behind goals (def where we stood next close to the Main Stand), but certainly North Terrace was rammed.

Just noticed from that wiki link that Hibs never made a sub during the game - something that would surely never happen now!

Hibees1973
28-10-2023, 06:12 PM
I remember being very nervous about this game.

I was in my mid 20s in 1991 and although I did watch the Tornadoes (only a couple of times), the 80s' when I started to follow Hibs seriously, was dire most of the time. Apart from the odd cup run, when we beat the OF at Easter Road, Hibs were a difficult watch.

Always thought the Hibs penalty in the final was a bit soft, almost a mis-kick from Mickey Weir that brought him down. I could only relax when Keith Wright scored late on.

The most memorable thing about that cup run was beating Rangers in the semi at Hampden. Clearly remember Hibs were excellent that night.

28-10-2023, 06:16 PM
The most memorable thing about that cup run was beating Rangers in the semi at Hampden. Clearly remember Hibs were excellent that night.

We ended up in Fingers Piano Bar and a few of the players came in about 1am, got home about 4, made sure I went to my work as I was in the middle of being trained by a Rangers supporter 🥴

28-10-2023, 10:38 PM
32 year ago today!

What's your memories?

Strangely, one of them was listening to the Top 40 on the supporters bus on the way back and hearing "After The Watershed" by Carter USM. Icing on the cake that day to hear one of "my bands"on the radio 🙂

I honestly didn't know about Hibs fans being locked out of the final but it was a nightmare at the semi final - we only just got in in time to see Keith score when he "rose like an angel" as the guy next to us described the goal.

deludedfool
29-10-2023, 12:01 AM
This will sound bizarre, especially to the younger generation on this forum but 32 years ago in Perth Western Australia a bunch of hibbies ( about twenty I think ) all chipped in $10 each and listened to that cup final on a live broadcast on radio one or two . One of the guys got his sister in Edinburgh to phone us on a landline then put the phone handset next to her radio so we could listen to the live commentary of the game . One of the hibbies here was a Telstra technician and had an amplifier hooked up to our landline here in Australia.The $10 we all chipped in was to cover his sisters phone bill. From memory wanneroo British football club let us use their club rooms . Remember back then there was no internet foxtel sky or all the other numerous streaming services.
I hardly remember much about the game but clearly remember us disconeting the phone call at half time and bang on full time to save money on the cost of the telephone call as it was super expensive back then .
As we always say , being a Hibs supporter isn’t always easy !!!

29-10-2023, 10:31 AM
This will sound bizarre, especially to the younger generation on this forum but 32 years ago in Perth Western Australia a bunch of hibbies ( about twenty I think ) all chipped in $10 each and listened to that cup final on a live broadcast on radio one or two . One of the guys got his sister in Edinburgh to phone us on a landline then put the phone handset next to her radio so we could listen to the live commentary of the game . One of the hibbies here was a Telstra technician and had an amplifier hooked up to our landline here in Australia.The $10 we all chipped in was to cover his sisters phone bill. From memory wanneroo British football club let us use their club rooms . Remember back then there was no internet foxtel sky or all the other numerous streaming services.
I hardly remember much about the game but clearly remember us disconeting the phone call at half time and bang on full time to save money on the cost of the telephone call as it was super expensive back then .

Wow brilliant story that :aok: Thanks for sharing.

Bridge hibs
29-10-2023, 11:00 AM
As we always say , being a Hibs supporter isn’t always easy !!!Love that 😀👍

29-10-2023, 11:04 AM
As we always say , being a Hibs supporter isn’t always easy !!!We have a winner[emoji16]

Skol
29-10-2023, 11:21 AM

Love it

Hillsidehibby
29-10-2023, 12:12 PM
I'm pretty sure I would have known a few of them there. Used to live up there back in the day

deludedfool
29-10-2023, 01:16 PM
[QUOTE=Hillsidehibby;7496138]I'm pretty sure I would have known a few of them there. Used to live up there back in the day[/QUOTE

Fast forward to 2004 and the cup final against Livingston and we had the luxury of watching the game in a pub broadcast by setanta I think . That also had dramas as no pub here was willing to put it on because they feared a small turnout and they wouldn’t be able to recoup their costs. Sir Tom Farmer stepped in and personally guaranteed any shortfall. In truth if there was one final I would rather have just listened to than watch it would have been that one 🙄

linlithgowhibbie
29-10-2023, 01:55 PM
My memories of that great day started with organising 2 buses for the Linlithgow branch.
One left early for a long pre match booze up and a family bus left to go straight to the ground. I was on the family bus with my wife, a 9 year old, 7 year old and a 4 year old.
As we were on the motorway we saw a broken down bus up ahead with fans looking forlorn about not getting to the game so I asked the driver to stop so we could give some of the a lift. I was glad we did, they were Pars fans and were absolutely delighted that we stopped. One of them had an accordian and entertained our families with all sorts of songs and tunes.
As it turned out we all got in as there was a family area in the east terrace which was ticketed but about 10 of our "Boozers" bus missed out as the gate had been closed for them, others had managed to get in the Dunfermline end by taking off their Hibs scarves and hats.
After game we went straight back to our pub in Linlithgow which was run by a Jambo. I was early shift next day and remember my good lady marching into the pub and dragging me out about 10pm, much to the enjoyment of my pals, so that I could go to my work next day!

29-10-2023, 09:18 PM
My memories of that great day started with organising 2 buses for the Linlithgow branch.
One left early for a long pre match booze up and a family bus left to go straight to the ground. I was on the family bus with my wife, a 9 year old, 7 year old and a 4 year old.
As we were on the motorway we saw a broken down bus up ahead with fans looking forlorn about not getting to the game so I asked the driver to stop so we could give some of the a lift. I was glad we did, they were Pars fans and were absolutely delighted that we stopped. One of them had an accordian and entertained our families with all sorts of songs and tunes.
As it turned out we all got in as there was a family area in the east terrace which was ticketed but about 10 of our "Boozers" bus missed out as the gate had been closed for them, others had managed to get in the Dunfermline end by taking off their Hibs scarves and hats.
After game we went straight back to our pub in Linlithgow which was run by a Jambo. I was early shift next day and remember my good lady marching into the pub and dragging me out about 10pm, much to the enjoyment of my pals, so that I could go to my work next day!

As the 4 year old, all I can remember is Andy Rhodes giving us gyp before the penalty.

That and watching the team that wouldn't die on repeat on vhs.

30-10-2023, 02:31 PM

Great read that😂

On the theme of listening in to a game in strange way - I recall my dad driving us to a high point closer to Edinburgh, on the way up from the borders, to listen to an away European tie some time in the 90s🤔 I’m thinking it must’ve only been on a radio station available in the Lothian area and we lived in Galashiels. I’d have been in my early teens……my own 2 teens wouldn’t believe that!😂

30-10-2023, 09:44 PM
As we always say , being a Hibs supporter isn’t always easy !!!Superb story

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk