View Full Version : David Marshall

cameronw-hfc
25-10-2023, 11:48 AM
Not sure if anyone else has posted about it, but Pie and Bovril put up some interesting stats on twitter last night with save percentages across the league. Pretty worrying reading

SPFL Premiership
Goalkeeper Save %
As at 24/10

Dimitar Mitov 77.3%
Jack Butland 77.3%
Joe Hart 73.7%
Zander Clark 73.5%
Trevor Carson 73.1%
Will Dennis 73.0%
Kelle Roos 72.7%
Zach Hemming 71.4%
Liam Kelly 69.6%
Ross Laidlaw 69.4%
Shamal George 60.0%
David Marshall 59.4%

It doesn't look great, especially when last season he was bottom of this list as well(I think, he may have been second bottom).

What's the general concensus on him this season? I see a few comments here and there about how he's improved, personally I don't see it, I think he's been just as poor.

Surely Jojo is a better option?

Dalkeith Boy
25-10-2023, 11:57 AM
Not sure if anyone else has posted about it, but Pie and Bovril put up some interesting stats on twitter last night with save percentages across the league. Pretty worrying reading

SPFL Premiership
Goalkeeper Save %
As at 24/10

Dimitar Mitov 77.3%
Jack Butland 77.3%
Joe Hart 73.7%
Zander Clark 73.5%
Trevor Carson 73.1%
Will Dennis 73.0%
Kelle Roos 72.7%
Zach Hemming 71.4%
Liam Kelly 69.6%
Ross Laidlaw 69.4%
Shamal George 60.0%
David Marshall 59.4%

It doesn't look great, especially when last season he was bottom of this list as well(I think, he may have been second bottom).

What's the general concensus on him this season? I see a few comments here and there about how he's improved, personally I don't see it, I think he's been just as poor.

Not sure why but he has turned into a slow nervous wreck....

Paulie Walnuts
25-10-2023, 12:10 PM
Doesn’t surprise me to see him still where he is. He’s nowhere near good enough and that much became apparent very quickly last season.

Hopefully once Wollacott is fit he gets his chance.

25-10-2023, 12:12 PM
Not really a subjective thing. He is terrible. Stats show that over a long period now.

Macey was better. Marciano was playing a different sport compared to Marshall.

25-10-2023, 12:18 PM

SPFL Premiership
Goalkeeper Save %
As at 24/10

Dimitar Mitov 77.3%
Jack Butland 77.3%
Joe Hart 73.7%
Zander Clark 73.5%
Trevor Carson 73.1%
Will Dennis 73.0%
Kelle Roos 72.7%
Zach Hemming 71.4%
Liam Kelly 69.6%
Ross Laidlaw 69.4%
Shamal George 60.0%
David Marshall 59.4%

Any shot that's under a foot from either post is a goal.
Definitely time for DM to hang up his gloves.

25-10-2023, 12:31 PM
Final straw for me second half on Saturday he came out of his box to clear a ball but ended up making a weak pass straight to a The Rangers player leaving an exposed goal

Time is up unfortunately

Yes Sir I can boogie ��

Mcbizz1998
25-10-2023, 12:38 PM
Not good enough unfortunately. I wouldn’t even have him on the bench. Jojo to start and give Boruc the experience on bench and as cover.

25-10-2023, 12:42 PM
I thought we'd get a good couple of years out of him when he signed, we were lucky to get a couple of months.

Clearly not good enough for this standard anymore, and needs replaced now with Wallacott or if he's not up to it then someone better in January.

25-10-2023, 03:34 PM
Stats don't always tell the full story but it was the same last year and it's no co-incidence. Less than 60 percent is utterly abysmal.

I'm sick of folk saying 'aw you can't blame him for that goal' when it's not a howler, because he simply isn't stopping anything and letting in goals other keepers, even average ones, wouldn't.

If he was commanding his area or was good with the ball at his feet it wouldn't be so bad, but the opposite is true.

His footwork is absolutely abysmal and he is constantly being caught on his heels and not even diving for some shots that are well gettable. The amount of time I've seen him lean backwards in the opposite direction of a ball that's trickling the other way is ridiculous.

There was a few games recently when he did ok but a lot of the saves he was getting huge credit for were hard hit shots that were basically straight at him. He made a great save v St Johnstone but that has been a very rare occurrence.

My worry is that he will keep getting picked until it's untenable which could be at a time when we're in the bottom 2 and possibly missing out on a cup final. Hearts and Aberdeen have guys who win them points regularly and it's worth it's weight in gold.

25-10-2023, 03:51 PM
I think Montgomery will make the change sooner rather than later. He's not had the option to up to this point.

With Wollacott now fit and having some minutes under his belt it wouldn't shock me to see him start v Ross County, particularly if we lose heavily v Celtic.

The save % is an imperfect stat for a number of reasons but if someone is at the bottom consistently for a season and a bit then it suggests there is an issue.

Hibs4185
25-10-2023, 04:11 PM
Wollacot has to start and hopefully once he’s up to speed is an upgrade

Hibees1973
25-10-2023, 04:19 PM
Wollacot has to start and hopefully once he’s up to speed is an upgrade

Much as Marshall has been poor, there is no evidence yet that Wollacott is an upgrade.

I reckon Marshall will have to throw one in the net for Montgomery to drop him.

25-10-2023, 04:21 PM
Stats don't always tell the full story but it was the same last year and it's no co-incidence. Less than 60 percent is utterly abysmal.

I'm sick of folk saying 'aw you can't blame him for that goal' when it's not a howler, because he simply isn't stopping anything and letting in goals other keepers, even average ones, wouldn't.

If he was commanding his area or was good with the ball at his feet it wouldn't be so bad, but the opposite is true.

His footwork is absolutely abysmal and he is constantly being caught on his heels and not even diving for some shots that are well gettable. The amount of time I've seen him lean backwards in the opposite direction of a ball that's trickling the other way is ridiculous.

There was a few games recently when he did ok but a lot of the saves he was getting huge credit for were hard hit shots that were basically straight at him. He made a great save v St Johnstone but that has been a very rare occurrence.

My worry is that he will keep getting picked until it's untenable which could be at a time when we're in the bottom 2 and possibly missing out on a cup final. Hearts and Aberdeen have guys who win them points regularly and it's worth its decent weight in gold.

A Decent keeper would have saved both first half goals on Saturday. Going in 0-0 halftime at hunbrox and the natives would be revolting...

25-10-2023, 04:51 PM
Much as Marshall has been poor, there is no evidence yet that Wollacott is an upgrade.

I'd rather take a chance than stick with the worst goalie in the league. Monty is an idiot if he sticks with Marshall tbh.

25-10-2023, 04:55 PM
We need to be brave, paying wollacott a wage, now he is fit give the guy a chance to show us where he is on the sliding scale of Hibs goalkeepers.

Hibs4185
25-10-2023, 05:11 PM

If you sign a goalkeeper with international aspirations, he isn’t coming here to sit on the bench behind a poor and ageing David Marshall.

He’s been injured, so he might not be a world beater at first but he needs to start and get a few games so we can see what he’s all about

25-10-2023, 05:19 PM

How could we get that evidence if he’s never given a chance?

He’s an international keeper, would have been at the World Cup last year if he’d not picked up an injury. We need to give him a chance to prove himself.

Could he be any worse? Unlikely. Could he be better? There’s a decent chance. Could he be much better? Quite possibly.

25-10-2023, 05:26 PM
Wollacott needs to come in. He's played at a decent level already. Only concern being I fear he is maybe a bit injury prone.

Slateford Hibee
25-10-2023, 05:50 PM
Do they have the number of shots faced as well as the percentage saved? We have left him exposed at times.

25-10-2023, 06:13 PM
I dinnae need to see any stats on Marshall, he’s not been good enough and needs dropped/replaced. Has been this way for a good while now.

25-10-2023, 08:19 PM
Wollacott needs to come in. He's played at a decent level already. Only concern being I fear he is maybe a bit injury prone.

Based on what? He has only ever been out with a broken finger before now

25-10-2023, 08:29 PM
Not defending Marshall as he should be dropped but the guy at the top of the table' team is in bottom place

25-10-2023, 08:32 PM
Do they have the number of shots faced as well as the percentage saved? We have left him exposed at times.

In terms of shots faced, he ranks 7th for most faced per 90 minutes.

25-10-2023, 08:38 PM
Not defending Marshall as he should be dropped but the guy at the top of the table' team is in bottom place

That doesn’t really tell us anything, good players can play for bad teams. Aaron Ramsdale got relegated from the EPL in back-to-back seasons and went on to become an England international and join one of the best teams in Europe.

25-10-2023, 08:56 PM
That doesn’t really tell us anything, good players can play for bad teams. Aaron Ramsdale got relegated from the EPL in back-to-back seasons and went on to become an England international and join one of the best teams in Europe.

I must have missed that transfer, I thought he was at Arsenal.

25-10-2023, 09:08 PM
Based on what? He has only ever been out with a broken finger before now

Based on that! Missed the World Cup through injury. Out within minutes of his Hibs debut. Hopefully nothing more, just very unlucky for the guy.

25-10-2023, 09:12 PM
I dinnae need to see any stats on Marshall, he’s not been good enough and needs dropped/replaced. Has been this way for a good while now.

Fitba folk ken !

Whatever happened to him ?

Donegal Hibby
25-10-2023, 09:23 PM
I will probably get shot down for this though it's only a few weeks ago he was getting abit of praise and now after the Sevco game he's no good . Funny what a few weeks can do in football 🤔

25-10-2023, 09:39 PM
I will probably get shot down for this though it's only a few weeks ago he was getting abit of praise and now after the Sevco game he's no good . Funny what a few weeks can do in football 🤔

Wasn’t just him though we were poor all over the pitch you have got to go into the Bears Den be brave on the ball want the ball our lads couldn’t even do the basic things like pass the ball 10 yards into space in front of a Hibs shirt and be competitive in front of 50000 fans desperate for a new Manager bounce and a home team who looked vulnerable

If only Hanlon had connected with that early opportunity?

They weren’t great and were happy to let us to have the ball in our own half though I thought we played our way out of our box well at goal kicks

The better team won on the day but it doesn’t define our season

Playing 4-4-2 or 4-2-4 as it turns out is going to make for a long season against every team in our league not just the OF now we have set out our stall

Donegal Hibby
25-10-2023, 11:04 PM
Wasn’t just him though we were poor all over the pitch you have got to go into the Bears Den be brave on the ball want the ball our guys couldn’t even do the basic things like pass the ball 10 yards into space in front of a Hibs shirt and be competitive in front of 50000 fans desperate for a new Manager bounce and looked vulnerable

If only Hanlon had connected with that early opportunity?

They weren’t great and were happy for us to have the ball in our own half

The better team won on the day but it doesn’t define our season

Playing 4-4-2 or 4-2-4 as it turns out is going to make for a long season against every team in our league not just the OF now we have set out our stall

Unfortunately your right in it was more than just Marshall that was poor , normally after the game most of us have different players for MOTM , I couldn't pick one player tbh that I thought was good . I know going there normally we won't get anything though I did expect a lot more from us than we showed.

If Hanlon had of connected it might have rattled them abit , who knows!.

They weren't great but they were still better than us though do think we made it easy for them . Monty went on about how much possession we had though a lot of that was in our own half which doesn't really hurt them.

It definitely won't define our season though playing this one formation all season I think could make it a very long season as teams find ways to get the better of it . After our game against Sevco , Celtic hammering hertz and now drawing with Atletico Madrid I'm hoping our managers not going to be that naive to stick with the same formation against Celtic . If he does I feel for our keeper who will undoubtedly take alot of the blame again I think 😞

26-10-2023, 03:01 AM

Marshall has been getting (deserved) criticism for ages though. This isn't off the back of just one game. Pretty much everyone on here wanted him on the bench at the end of the last season.

A successful team simply cannot have a goalkeeper that makes as many mistakes as he does. We've seen enough bad keepers over the years at Hibs that as need to give Jojo at go ASAP.

I'd personally be playing Boruc ahead of Marshall at this point. Marshall might still have the odd good game and make some saves but the stats speak for themselves.

If we want to push up the table we need a keeper we can trust.

26-10-2023, 04:49 AM
Based on that! Missed the World Cup through injury. Out within minutes of his Hibs debut. Hopefully nothing more, just very unlucky for the guy.

So not really injury prone though, he has inly been injured twice in his career

26-10-2023, 07:05 AM

He looked ok for maybe one game, doesnt make up for his dreadful displays for the last year.

I know those P&B stats dont show everything, but they dont surprise me.

His distribution is fine.
He is slow to close down, struggles with any shots not straight at him, and just seems "slow" to get down to anything in the corners.
Opposition penalty? Might as well just give the goal these days. Feels like the last one he saved was that one at Pittodrie that had to be retaken !

I would put any of our other keepers in for him right now, he is finished.

I know this feels harsh, but he will be costing us a fair bit and we are not a flippin retirement home.

26-10-2023, 07:44 AM
He looked ok for maybe one game, doesnt make up for his dreadful displays for the last year.

He is slow to close down, struggles with any shots not straight at him, and just seems "slow" to get down to anything in the corners.
Opposition penalty? Might as well just give the goal these days. Feels like the last one he saved was that one at Pittodrie that had to be retaken !

I know this feels harsh, but he will be costing us a fair bit and we are not a flippin retirement home.

I absolutely disagree that his distribution is fine.

26-10-2023, 07:59 AM
I absolutely disagree that his distribution is fine.

I was trying to temper my overall negative commentary :greengrin

26-10-2023, 08:22 AM

Christ, he has his flaws but saving penalties isn't one of them. That is not what you judge a keeper on. Why are we giving them away in the first place?

He saved 2 Vs Livi last season.

26-10-2023, 09:02 AM
Christ, he has his flaws but saving penalties isn't one of them. That is not what you judge a keeper on. Why are we giving them away in the first place?

He saved 2 Vs Livi last season.

I have no confidence in him at penalties.

I have no idea if its comparable with other keepers (cba looking) but he has picked the ball out the net 13 times and saved 2 penalties (that same match v Livi last Dec) in his time with us.

26-10-2023, 09:07 AM
He moves like a keeper in one of the “legends” games you see at testimonials.

26-10-2023, 09:18 AM
He moves like a keeper in one of the “legends” games you see at testimonials.

The Polar Bear looked better than him last Sunday

A shut out against Man United what more could you ask for ? 😂

26-10-2023, 10:49 AM

I have no idea if its comparable with other keepers (cba looking) but he has picked the ball out the net 13 times and saved 2 penalties (that same match v Livi last Dec) in his time with us.

Why have we given away 15 penalties in just over a season? That's dreadful.

McSwanky
26-10-2023, 01:55 PM

Saving 2 out of 15 is only slightly below average from the stats I'm looking at. There are a few things you could level at him using stats, but I don't think that's one of them.

26-10-2023, 02:22 PM
Saving 2 out of 15 is only slightly below average from the stats I'm looking at. There are a few things you could level at him using stats, but I don't think that's one of them.

I actually agree, but there were a few last season that he really should have got.

cameronw-hfc
26-10-2023, 10:33 PM
I actually agree, but there were a few last season that he really should have got.

As big a critic I am of Marshall, I'd argue a goalkeeper should never save a penalty. Unless they literally catch it a throw it in, I'm not sure its fair to ever really say a keeper should have saved one, even if they get a hand on it.

26-10-2023, 11:11 PM
Our keeper being criticized for not saving enough penalties? Hahahahahaha. FFS. Hahahahaha. Jesus wept this place is mental at times...

Gloucester Hibs
27-10-2023, 12:14 AM
He was a great keeper but his agility has completely gone, any shot not fired directly at him he goes down in instalments. Like one of those robot goalies you see on YouTube. If Wollacott isn't available then I'd start Boruc v Celtic. He's already played in front of a packed Gorgie Rd end at the PBS and done fine, which is about as high pressure as it gets for a Hibs goalie domestically.

27-10-2023, 05:07 AM
I think Boruc is the best goalie at the club. I'd give him a chance.

Chorley Hibee
27-10-2023, 06:23 AM
As big a critic I am of Marshall, I'd argue a goalkeeper should never save a penalty. Unless they literally catch it a throw it in, I'm not sure its fair to ever really say a keeper should have saved one, even if they get a hand on it.

I can think of two (against Celtic and Motherwell) last season that he absolutely should have saved.

27-10-2023, 06:41 AM
I think Boruc is the best goalie at the club. I'd give him a chance.

Must admit I’ve been impressed with him, especially considering the games he’s had to come in and play. Think he has a real confidence about him too.

Hard to say with Wollacott because he’s hardly played, but I remember him making a couple of really impressive saves in pre season but not nearly as comfortable with the ball at his feet as Marshall.

27-10-2023, 06:47 AM

I can think of two (against Celtic and Motherwell) last season that he absolutely should have saved.

OK, it was me who introduced the theme of "Marshall is crap at penalty saves", and it has opened a bit of a can of worms !

I guess the issue for me is one of confidence - I understand that most fans think a pen should almost always lead to a goal, but there are some goalies where their all round agility and ability to make saves makes you think you at least have a chance of a save.

I felt this with Rocky (although I dont think thats borne out by any stats) but usually just go for a pee when Marshall is facing one.

I just dont feel any confidence with Marshall in his overall goalkeeping, and while it is actually unfair of me to pick on his pen saves, I still have no confidence in him as our main goalkeeper.

27-10-2023, 10:26 AM

These were the 2 I was thinking about.

May seem overly critical but they were actually howlers after he’d dived the right way.

Chorley Hibee
27-10-2023, 10:31 AM
These were the 2 I was thinking about.

May seem overly critical but they were actually howlers after he’d dived the right way.

They were dreadful, and it goes back to how slow he is at getting down to pretty much anything that isn't straight at him.

I'll be very disappointed if Montgomery persists with him this weekend.

Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2023, 11:04 AM

On a penalty by penalty basis, before the penalty is kicked I’d agree.

However if they concede 30 penalties in a row or something, I’d suggest that they absolutely should be saving some of those 30 on the presumption they’ve faced a fairly normal set of penalties.

On top of that, once the penalty is kicked, the situation changes. If someone takes a penalty and dinks it down the middle and the keeper reads that, they of course should at that point save it. Likewise if they dive the right way, the penalty is a few feet in the air and somewhere between the post and the middle of the goals, imo a goalie should be saving that.

27-10-2023, 12:56 PM
Our keeper being criticized for not saving enough penalties? Hahahahahaha. FFS. Hahahahaha. Jesus wept this place is mental at times...

Bring back Ronnie Simpson.

I have an uneasy feeling about Wollacott. Have only seen him briefly but seem to recall him on highlights against City that he was a bit jumpy and poorly positioned-maybe no worse than Marshall of course. Should play him on Saturday. We’re expected to lose heavily anyway.

27-10-2023, 02:58 PM
Bring back Ronnie Simpson.

I have an uneasy feeling about Wollacott. Have only seen him briefly but seem to recall him on highlights against City that he was a bit jumpy and poorly positioned-maybe no worse than Marshall of course. Should play him on Saturday. We’re expected to lose heavily anyway.
Ben Williams was pretty good with saving penalties as well IIRC.

28-10-2023, 09:47 AM
I'd argue the dynamics of penalties have changed a lot in recent years. Keepers are bigger, more athletic and more agile these days.

Watch the penalty shoot out from the 1990 World Cup between England and Germany. Peter Shilton doesn't even dive for the majority of the penalties, he just sort of flops over and the German players knew if they got it on target it was a goal. Shilton was past his best by then but he was still a fine goalkeeper and he got nowhere near a single penalty. I think it's the 2nd German penalty that is almost straight down the middle and he flops past it after the ball has long passed him by.

Compare that the the 2016 shoot out between Germany and Italy. The size of Neuer and Buffon must have been so intimidating for the taker and they covered so much ground in the goals, particularly Neuer. That caused the players to have to aim right for the side netting, hence several penalties missing the target, or hit it with massive power. Anything that didn't meet the above criteria was saved.

It's ultimately still a free shot from 12 yards and the odds are still stacked in the strikers favour. However every shot in a game from 12 yards doesn't go in and there are variables there that there isn't with a penalty. Before a penalty is struck there should be no real expectations on the keepers, albeit there should be more than there once were, but once it's hit then the parameters change. The penalties last season v Celtic and whoever else it was were routine saves and Marshall let both slip under his body, he'll save shots like that a dozen times a day in training drills. He should have saved both and he'll know that himself

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2023, 12:58 PM
Hibs boss singles out veteran for praise
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/a-calm-influence-on-the-team-hibs-boss-singles-out-veteran-for-praise-4391250

31-10-2023, 01:00 PM
We still need much better than Marsh.